华为Mate 20 Pro摄像头评测:超级三摄像头手机王

DxOMark
Mobile
109

Mate 20 Pro的散景形状和点光渲染相当不错,不仅模糊了背景,还模糊了前景中的物体,实现了比某些竞争机型更自然的效果。美中不足的是,被摄体往往稍微不清晰,有时甚至失焦。
Mate 20 Pro是中国制造商华为的最新高端手机,是诸如苹果iPhone XS Max、谷歌Pixel 3 XL、三星Galaxy Note 9等重量级手机的直接竞争机型。Mate 20 Pro的摄像头配置基于P20 Pro技术,搭载徕卡三摄像头配置,但将P20 Pro的单色摄像头换成超广角模块,提供了等效35毫米焦距,对焦范围介于16至80毫米之间,这是目前视角最宽广的智能手机摄像头。(一如其他具有相似配置的智能手机,我们没有测试Mate 20 Pro的超广角模块,所以对DxOMark分数没有影响。)

Mate 20 Pro的IP68级镜面金属机身中的其他组件也都是高端装置:使用华为的新麒麟980芯片组以支持处理和其他工作;用户可以在大型6.39英寸HDR OLED显示屏上查看图像,分辨率1440 x 3120像素。请阅读我们的完整报告,以了解Mate 20 Pro在本评测中的表现。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 三摄像头
  • 4000万像素主摄像头,1/1.7英寸图像传感器、f/1.8镜头,27毫米等效焦距
  • 2000万像素超广角镜头,光圈f/2.2,16毫米等效焦距
  • 800万像素远摄镜头,光圈f/2.4,OIS,80毫米等效焦距
  • PDAF + 激光自动对焦
  • 双色LED闪光灯
  • 4K/30fps 视频(默认模式下为1080p/30 fps)

测试摘要

Mate 20 Pro图像显示出良好的演色性和宽广的动态范围。

华为Mate 20 Pro在DxOMark Mobile评测中的总体得分为109分,与同品牌的P20 Pro在DxOMark Mobile排行榜中并列第一。与P20 Pro一样,它的静止图像性能非常卓越,所以照片得分为114分;其视频分数为97分,仅比P20 Pro少一分,因此华为这款最新旗舰产品能够在几乎任何拍摄环境中提供一流的照片质量和视频效果。

在静止照片模式下,Mate 20 Pro的三摄像头为图像提供良好的测标曝光和宽广的动态范围,即使在困难的高对比度情况下也能记录良好的高光位和阴影细节;直到低光水平下,该摄像头都可以很好地控制噪点水平,其白平衡系统和演色性设置几乎在所有情况下都能产生悦目的色彩响应;再加上快速一致的自动对焦和出色的变焦功能,Mate 20 Pro在静止图像方面几乎立于不败之地。

不过,尽管Mate 20 Pro对此赞扬当之无愧,但仍有一些改进空间:在一个像素水平上观看图像时,我们经常发现精细纹理的勾勒有点不自然,也在锐利边缘周围检测到一些振铃效应;在散景模拟模式下拍摄时,脸部通常不太清晰,细节不多;使用LED闪光灯时,自动对焦也可能略微不一致。

该摄像头拍出了很好的细节,精细纹理也被勾勒得很漂亮(例如这个图像中的草地),没有任何过度锐化的问题。

Mate 20 Pro不仅是拍摄静止图像的杰出智能手机,它的视频也非常接近最好的表现水平。因为其快速流畅的自动对焦系统具有良好的跟踪性能,并且能够提供准确的白平衡以及悦目的演色性,噪点不多,尤其是在高光下。我们的测试人员还欣赏曝光系统能够根据照明变化而快速流畅地调整的特性。

在静止不动的情况下拿着摄像头录制影片时,视频防抖效果很好,但在边走边拍时,其保持图像稳定的性能还有改进的余地,尤其是在光线较暗的情况下。我们还在拿着摄像头摇拍时看到了抖动效应,一些精细纹理也丢失了细节,但是,这些问题都不是特别恼人。

人像模式的图像具有漂亮的散景形状,但是被摄体脸部的细节通常有点不清晰。
Mate 20 Pro可以在远距变焦下生成可用图像,目前这样的智能手机为数不多。

照片评分说明

华为Mate 20 Pro的总体照片得分为114分,与创纪录的华为P20 Pro得分相同。我们在不同的照明条件下测试手机在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试项目评分并计算总成绩,在本部分中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的图像质量的评分。

曝光(95)

华为Mate 20 Pro摄像头在曝光方面获得了出色的分数,这得益于其在几乎所有情况下都能提供非常好的测标曝光和非常宽广的动态范围,即使在困难的高对比度场景中也能拍出良好的高光位和阴影细节。在下面高对比度场景的比较中,所有摄像头的高光位细节水平都非常相似,但Mate 20 Pro在阴影区域挤出的细节明显多于P20 Pro和iPhone XS Max。

华为Mate 20 Pro,高对比场景
华为 P20 Pro,高对比场景
苹果iPhone XS,高对比场景

与P20 Pro相比,Mate 20 Pro更能在逆光场景中略微改善测标曝光。在下面的样张中,您可以看到Mate 20 Pro在被摄体上的曝光比P20 Pro稍亮;iPhone XS的曝光度介于两款华为智能手机之间。

华为Mate 20 Pro,逆光场景
华为 P20 Pro,逆光场景
苹果iPhone XS,逆光场景

Mate 20 Pro摄像头在极低光下的表现也非常出色,在低至1勒克斯的光线下能够产生良好的曝光,其表现非常令人印象深刻,因此对于任何偶尔必须在非常昏暗的条件下拍摄图像的人而言,华为的新款手机会是不错的选择。

色彩(87)

Mate 20 Pro在我们的色彩测试中的表现也很好:演色性和白平衡在所有条件下都很好,也没有任何真正的色彩问题需要报告。与P20 Pro一样,Mate 20 Pro的饱和度往往低于某些竞争机型,但也更自然些。在下面的比较中,您可以看到iPhone XS图像的饱和度明显高于两款华为手机,色彩也更加鲜艳。

华为Mate 20 Pro,户外色彩
华为 P20 Pro,户外色彩
苹果iPhone XS,户外色彩

我们在一些图像中观察到画面边缘出现了一些非常轻微的色彩渐晕,但是大多数时候这种效果几乎不可察觉。我们还发现华为的自动白平衡系统在人像中表现得特别好,Mate 20 Pro也比P20 Pro有进一步的改善,在大多数户外情况下都能产生温暖宜人的肤色。美中不足的是,我们在一些室内人像中观察到饱和度不高的肤色。

纹理(74)和噪点(78)

Mate 20 Pro的图像处理在细节保留和降噪之间找到了很好的折衷方案。在图像细节方面,新款手机的表现与P20 Pro非常相似,但应用了较低的锐化水平,使得图像看起来不那么锐利,但在100%下观看时,看起来更自然。iPhone XS也应用了比Mate 20 Pro更强的锐化,从而产生不错的边缘细节,但总体而言,Mate 20 Pro是最擅长于勾勒低对比度的精细纹理(例如在比较样张中的场景里的草地)的手机。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,户外场景细节
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 P20 Pro,户外场景细节
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
苹果 iPhone XS,户外场景细节
苹果 iPhone XS,裁剪图

在低光下,Mate 20 Pro比竞争对手略胜一筹:在20勒克斯下的比较中,Mate 20 Pro明显提供最佳细节。正如您在下方实验室图表的裁剪图中所看到的,Mate 20 Pro图像中的被摄体皮肤和帽子中的精细纹理保留比P20 Pro或iPhone的图像更加到位。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,20 勒克斯
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 P20 Pro,20 勒克斯
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
苹果 iPhone XS,20 勒克斯
苹果 iPhone XS,裁剪图

Mate 20 Pro在不同光照水平上产生良好的图像细节,同时能够保持相当低的图像噪点水平。在户外高光拍摄条件下,噪点几乎无法察觉;在较低的光线下,一些细小的亮度噪点开始出现,但仍然得到很好的控制;5勒克斯的低光下拍摄的摄影棚图表显示,华为两款手机的表现非常接近,两者都拍出了比iPhone XS明显更清晰的图像。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,5勒克斯
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为P20 Pro,5勒克斯
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
苹果 iPhone XS,5勒克斯
苹果 iPhone XS,裁剪图

自动对焦(99)

华为Mate 20 Pro的自动对焦在所有光线水平下都具有快速、准确且可重复的特点,获得了极好的99分。如下图所示,即使在20勒克斯的低光水平下,自动对焦也会在按下快门后立即锁定,并始终如一地提供清晰的效果。然而,该系统并不完美,在一些低光和室内场景中,我们看到自动对焦锁定在背景上而不是前景的主要被摄体,我们希望这个问题在一定程度上可以通过软件更新来修复。

华为Mate 20 Pro,20勒克斯下的自动对焦性能

伪像(71)

华为Mate 20 Pro图像出现了一些伪像。可幸的是,这些伪像都不是很强烈,您必须仔细观察方能找到任何不完美之处。

放大到100%视图时,在某些情况下可以在某些锐利边缘的周围看到振铃效应,特别是在室内条件下。仔细观察,我们还可以在一些精细图案上看到一些摩尔纹,在高对比度场景中也在移动被摄体上看到一些轻微的重影。图像对角线上通常也会出现混叠伪像或“锯齿线”效应,例如下面样张中的建筑物。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,对角线上的混叠
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图

闪光灯(92)

就智能手机摄像头而言,华为Mate 20 Pro提供的闪光灯效果非常好。在完全黑暗中使用闪光灯时,图像显示良好的测标曝光,纹理与噪点之间的妥协也做得很好,但我们可以在肤色上观察到一些色彩渐晕和色彩量化,一系列照片之间的焦点也有些不一致。

在钨丝灯5勒克斯低光下使用闪光灯拍摄时,图像往往会出现浅黄色偏和色彩渐晕,画面边缘也存在明显的闪光落差;在某些图像中,我们还观察到红眼效应。不过总的来说,该摄像头可以拍摄到不错的细节,同时保持很低的噪点水平。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,0勒克斯下的闪光灯照片
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 Mate 20 Pro,5勒克斯下的闪光灯照片
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图

变焦(70)

华为Mate 20 Pro搭载3倍光学变焦镜头,可以实现我们在变焦类别中看到的最好的效果之一,但不是最好的。在下面的比较中,您可以看到在短距和中距变焦时,Mate 20 Pro的表现明显优于iPhone XS,但在图像细节方面,它并没有华为P20 Pro那么好,但是后者的图像有些噪点。这可能是因为该公司已在新机型上将P20 Pro的高分辨率单色图像传感器换成了超广角镜头所致。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,近距变焦
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 P20 Pro,近距变焦
华为 P20 Pro, 裁剪图
苹果 iPhone XS,近距变焦
苹果 iPhone XS,裁剪图

在中距变焦下,不同摄像头之间的差异变得更加明显:尽管比不上P20 Pro,Mate 20 Pro在户外和典型室内条件下拍摄变焦照片时,其细节非常到位,噪点也得到了很好的控制。然而,在某些图像中可以看到色彩饱和度相当低。在下图中,我们还可以看到一种色彩伪像,一些高对比度边缘的色彩完全不饱和,在P20 Pro图像上也可以看到相同的效果。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,中距变焦
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 P20 Pro,中距变焦
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
苹果 iPhone XS,中距变焦
苹果 iPhone XS,裁剪图

散景(60)

华为Mate 20 Pro在人像模式下实现了良好的散景模拟效果,但其图像质量比P20 Pro稍微逊色些。更仔细地检查Mate 20 Pro时,会发现更多的深度伪像,但其中的差异非常小,Mate 20 Pro的被摄体隔离也大致非常准确。

Mate 20 Pro的散景形状和点光渲染相当不错,不仅模糊了背景,还模糊了前景中的物体,实现了比某些竞争机型更自然的效果。美中不足的是,被摄体往往稍微不清晰,有时甚至失焦。

华为 Mate 20 Pro,散景模式中的前景模糊
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 Mate 20 Pro,散景模式中的区域分离伪像
华为 Mate 20 Pro,裁剪图

视频评分说明

华为Mate 20 Pro在视频方面获得了97分的优异成绩,仅比P20 Pro少一分,唯一真正的弱点是防抖在低光下产生了明显的偏移和噪点。我们使用以下各个视频评测项目的分数来计算总体视频成绩:曝光(84)、色彩(90)、自动对焦(98)、纹理(58)、噪点(78)、伪像(84)、防抖(92)。

Mate 20 Pro录制的视频片段通常具有良好的测标曝光,曝光转换在变化的光线水平下也相当好,在低至5勒克斯的光照水平下仍有不错的曝光;其动态范围不如最佳摄像头那么好,但与P20 Pro的水平非常相似;在高对比度场景中,一些剪贴纹理在高光位和阴影区域都很明显;我们在录制时还观察到一些曝光不稳定性。

华为Mate 20 Pro,不同照明条件下的视频测标曝光

视频中的色彩通常很好,尽管有时会在非常精细的细节上看到轻微的色彩不饱和;我们也看到了一些白平衡转换的步进痕迹。在低光下,白平衡可以产生略呈粉红色的色偏,但照片仍然可用,整体白平衡系统表现良好。

与同为华为的P20 Pro相比,Mate 20 Pro在录制视频时纹理和噪点之间的折衷稍差。两者的细节表现几乎相差无几,但Mate 20 Pro影片存在更多噪点,特别是在低光下;但在更明亮的条件下,噪点表现看起来比较好。户外条件下画面非常干净,室内条件下噪点也不会太多。在低光下,我们也看到了边缘上出现一些噪点。我们还在Mate 20 Pro影片中发现诸如摇拍时的抖动效果、天空中的色彩量化和压缩伪像等问题。

华为Mate 20 Pro,不同光线水平下的视频锐度
华为Mate 20 Pro,不同光线水平下的视频噪点

就像在静止模式下一样,自动对焦对视频也起着很好的作用。我们在测试期间没有遇到任何对焦和跟踪失败的问题,而且对焦转换准确而流畅;一个小问题是,一些宏观场景略微失焦。

防抖系统还有一些改进的空间,因为它在边走边拍或边跑边拍时起不了什么作用,在影片中有很多高频摄像头运动痕迹。但总的来说,Mate 20 Pro是一款出色的视频手机。

结论

从各方面看来,华为Mate 20 Pro都是一款不折不扣的超级手机,其摄像头尤其如此。三镜头配置能够在所有拍摄环境中产生出色的照片和视频效果,其表现优于诸如iPhone XS Max、三星Galaxy Note 9和HTC U12+等其他知名竞争机型,与体型较小的华为P20 Pro在DxOMark Mobile排名中名列前茅。值得留意的是,Mate 20 Pro配备的超广角镜头对我们的分数没有影响,但与P20 Pro和其他没有这种配置的手机相比,超广角镜头提供了额外的灵活性,对许多摄影者来说可能非常重要。

Mate 20 Pro的静止图像显示出悦目的色彩、良好的曝光和动态范围,以及均衡的细节保留和降噪方法。Mate 20 Pro搭载一个三倍光学变焦镜头,也是最好的变焦智能手机之一。视频具有许多与静止图像相同的特征,但边走边拍时,防抖作用不大,我们还观察到一些视频伪像,但这些都不过是吹毛求疵的小毛病。总的来说,我们可以放心地将华为Mate 20 Pro推荐给手机摄影者和视频录像者。

109
DxOMark mobile
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
114
photo
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
97
video
Huawei Mate 20 Pro

照片优点

  • 即使在低光下也能很好地控制图像噪点
  • 良好的测标曝光和宽广的动态范围
  • 悦目的白平衡和演色性
  • 在大多数情况下,自动对焦快速且可重复
  • 良好的变焦

视频优点

  • 快速流畅的自动对焦与不错的跟踪性能
  • 握住摄像头静止不动时,防抖可以起着很好的作用
  • 准确的白平衡和悦目的色彩
  • 噪点不多,特别是在高光下
  • 在不断变化的光线条件下,曝光调整的性能不错

照片不足

  • 不自然的细节勾勒
  • 散景模式下丢失脸部精细细节
  • 使用闪光灯时自动对焦不一致
  • 振铃效应

视频不足

  • 边走边录制时,摄像头会出现摇动效应,尤其是在室内
  • 缺乏精细细节
  • 抖动效应

Huawei Mate 20 Pro camera review: Triple-cam juggernaut

DxOMark
Mobile
109

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro is the Chinese manufacturer’s latest top-end device—one that is in direct competition with the Apple iPhone XS Max, the Google Pixel 3 XL, the Samsung Galaxy Note 9, and other heavy-hitters. Building on the P20 Pro’s camera technology, the Mate 20 Pro comes with a Leica-branded triple-camera setup, but swaps its stable-mate’s monochrome camera for a super-wide-angle module, offering a 35mm-equivalent focal length range from 16 to 80mm—the widest of all current smartphone cameras. (This said, as with other smartphones with a similar setup, we did not test the Mate 20 Pro’s super-wide-angle module, so it does not have an impact on its DxOMark scores.)

Other components housed in the IP68-rated glass and metal body are all worthy of a premium device as well. Processing and other tasks are powered by Huawei’s new Kirin 980 chipset, and users can compose and view images on a large 6.39-inch HDR OLED display with 1440 x 3120 pixel resolution. Read the full report to find out how the Mate 20 Pro performed in our camera tests.

Key camera specifications

  • Triple camera
  • 40Mp main camera with 1/1.7″ sensor; f/1.8-aperture, 27mm-equivalent lens
  • 20Mp super-wide-angle with f/2.2-aperture, 16mm-equivalent lens
  • 8MP tele with f/2.4 aperture, OIS, 80mm-equivalent lens
  • PDAF + laser AF
  • Dual-tone LED flash
  • 4K video at 30fps (1080p/30fps at default settings)

Test summary

Mate 20 Pro images show good color rendering and a wide dynamic range.

Achieving an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 109 points, the Huawei Mate 20 Pro shares the number one spot in our DxOMark Mobile ranking with its cousin, the P20 Pro. Like the latter, it delivers an outstanding still image performance, resulting in a Photo score of 114 points. At 97 points, the Mate 20 Pro’s video score is just one point lower than the P20 Pro’s, meaning that the latest Huawei flagship can provide top-quality photo and video results in almost any shooting situation.

In stills mode, the Mate 20 Pro’s triple-camera captures images with good target exposure and a wide dynamic range, recording both good highlight and shadow detail even in difficult high-contrast situations. Noise levels are well under control down to low light levels, and the camera’s white balance system and color rendering settings produce a pleasant color response in almost all circumstances. Add a fast and consistent autofocus and excellent zoom capabilities to the mix, and the Mate 20 Pro is hard to beat for stills.

Despite the well-deserved praise, there is still some room for improvement, of course. When viewing images at pixel level, we often found that the Mate 20 Pro rendered fine textures a little unnaturally, and we detected some ringing around hard edges. In images shot in bokeh simulation mode, faces are often quite soft, with low levels of detail; and the autofocus can be a little inconsistent when using the LED flash.

The camera captures good detail, and nicely renders such fine textures as the grass in this image without any over-sharpening.

But the Mate 20 Pro is not only an outstanding smartphone for still images. It’s very close to the best for video as well, thanks to a fast and smooth autofocus system with good tracking performance, accurate white balance as well as pleasant color rendering, and low levels of noise, especially in bright shooting conditions. Our testers also liked the exposure system’s ability to adapt quickly and smoothly to changes in illumination.

Video stabilization is efficient when recording while holding the camera still, but it could be better at keeping things steady while walking, especially in lower light conditions. We also saw a judder effect while panning the camera and a loss of detail on some fine textures. None of these problems are particularly intrusive, though.

Portrait mode images have a nice bokeh shape, but details in the subject’s face are often soft.
The Mate 20 Pro is one of the few smartphones that can produce usable images at long-range zoom distances.

Photo scores explained

With a total photo score of 114, the Huawei Mate 20 Pro ties the record-setting score of its cousin, the P20 Pro. The overall Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure (95)

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro camera achieves an outstanding score for exposure, thanks to very good target exposure in almost all situations and a very wide dynamic range that ensures good highlight and shadow detail, even in difficult high-contrast scenes. In the high-contrast comparison scene below, all the cameras offer similar levels of highlight detail, but the Mate 20 Pro squeezes noticeably more detail out of the shadow areas than the P20 Pro and iPhone XS Max.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, high-contrast scene
Huawei P20 Pro, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone XS, high-contrast scene

Compared to the P20 Pro, the Mate 20 Pro improves slightly on target exposure in backlit scenes. In the sample shots below, you can see that the Mate 20 Pro has exposed the subject slightly more brightly than the P20 Pro. The iPhone XS exposure sits between the two Huawei smartphones.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, backlit scene
Huawei P20 Pro, backlit scene
Apple iPhone XS, backlit scene

The Mate 20 Pro camera also performs impressively well in very-low light conditions and is capable of producing good exposures down to 1 lux. This makes the new Huawei an interesting device for anyone who must occasionally capture images in very dim conditions.

Color (87)

The Mate 20 Pro also performed very well in our color tests. Color rendering and white balance are good in all conditions, and there aren’t any real color issues to report on. As with the P20 Pro, saturation tends to be a touch more natural and therefore lower than for some competitors’ smartphones. In the comparison below, you can see that the iPhone XS image is noticeably more saturated and vibrant than the two Huawei devices.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, outdoor color
Huawei P20 Pro, outdoor color
Apple iPhone XS, outdoor color

We observed some very slight color shading towards the edges of the frame in some images, but the effect is hardly noticeable most of the time. We also found that the Huawei’s auto white balance system works particularly well in portraits and improves over the P20 Pro, producing generally warm and pleasant skin tones in most outdoor situations. On the downside, we observed low levels of skin tone saturation in some indoor portraits.

Texture (74) and Noise (78)

The Mate 20 Pro’s image processing finds a good compromise between detail retention and noise reduction. In terms of image detail, the new device performs on a very similar level as the P20 Pro, but applies less sharpening, making images look a little less crisp but more natural when viewed at 100%. The iPhone XS also applies a little stronger sharpening than the Mate 20 Pro, resulting in good edge detail, but overall, the Mate 20 Pro is the best device for rendering fine low-contrast textures, such as the grass in this scene, in this comparison.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, outdoor detail
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, outdoor detail
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone XS, outdoor detail
Apple iPhone XS, crop

In low light, the Mate 20 Pro is capable of distancing itself slightly from the competition, visibly delivering the best detail in our 20 lux comparison. As you can see in the crops below of our lab chart, fine textures in the subject’s skin and hat are slightly better preserved in the Mate 20 Pro image than in either the P20 Pro or the iPhone image.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, 20 lux
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, 20 lux
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone XS, 20 lux
Apple iPhone XS, crop

The Mate 20 Pro produces good image detail across light levels, and is at the same time capable of keeping image noise low. In bright outdoor shooting conditions, noise is pretty much unnoticeable. In lower light, some fine luminance noise becomes visible, but is still always well under control. In the image of our studio chart captured at very low light (5 lux), the Huawei models are very close, and both capture a noticeably cleaner image than the iPhone XS.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, 5 lux
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, 5 lux
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone XS, 5 lux
Apple iPhone XS, crop

Autofocus (99)

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro’s autofocus is fast, accurate, and repeatable across all light levels, earning itself an excellent score of 99 points. As you can see in the graph below, even at a low light level of 20 lux, the AF locks on instantly after pressing the shutter, and consistently delivers sharp results. The system is not quite perfect, however. In some low-light and indoor scenes, we saw the AF lock onto the background rather than the main foreground subject. Hopefully this can be fixed at some point via a software update.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, AF performance at 20 lux

Artifacts (71)

We found a range of artifacts in the Huawei Mate 20 Pro image output. However, the good news is that none of them are very strong and you have to look quite closely to spot any of the imperfections.

When viewing at 100%, you can see ringing around some hard edges on some occasions, especially in indoor conditions. On closer inspection, we also found some moiré in fine patterns and very slight ghosting on some moving subjects in high-contrast scenes. An aliasing or “jagged line” effect is often noticeable on diagonal lines in the image, such as on the building in the sample below.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, aliasing on diagonal lines
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop

Flash (92)

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro is capable of achieving very good flash results for a smartphone camera. When using the flash in complete darkness, images show good target exposure and a decent compromise between texture and noise. There is some color shading and color quantization visible on skin tones, however, and we also saw some slight focus inconsistencies between shots in a series.

When mixed with low 5 lux tungsten light, flash images tend to show a slight yellowish color cast as well as color shading and noticeable light fall-off towards the edges of the frame. We also observed a red-eye effect in some images, but the camera captures good levels of detail while keeping noise down.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, flash at 0 lux
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, flash at 5 lux
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop

Zoom (70)

Thanks to its 3x optical zoom lens, the Huawei Mate 20 Pro is one of the best performers we have seen in the zoom category, but not the best. In the comparisons below, you can see that at both short- and medium-range zoom, the Mate 20 Pro is noticeably better than the iPhone XS, but in terms of image detail, it is not quite on the same level as its Huawei stable-mate, the P20 Pro—likely due to the fact that the company replaced the P20 Pro’s high-resolution monochrome image sensor with a super-wide-angle variant on the newer model. The P20 Pro is a little noisier, though.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, short-range zoom
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, short-range zoom
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone XS, short-range zoom
Apple iPhone XS, crop

The differences between cameras become even more obvious at medium-range zoom distances. Although not quite on the level of the P20 Pro, the Mate 20 Pro’s detail is very good, with noise well under control in both outdoor and typical indoor conditions when zooming. This said, however, fairly strong desaturation is visible in some images. We can also see a color artifact in the Mate 20 Pro image below: notice how some high-contrast edges are completely desaturated. The same effect is also visible in the P20 Pro image.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, mid-range zoom
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, mid-range zoom
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone XS, mid-range zoom
Apple iPhone XS, crop

Bokeh (60)

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro achieves good bokeh simulation results in its Portrait mode, although the quality has decreased just a touch when compared to the P20 Pro. The newer model shows a few more depth artifacts under closer inspection, but the differences are quite small, and subject isolation in general is quite accurate on the Mate 20 Pro.

Bokeh shape and spotlight rendering are fairly good, and the Mate 20 Pro not only blurs the background, but also objects in the foreground, achieving a more natural effect than some competitor devices. On the downside, subjects are often a touch soft and sometimes even out of focus.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, foreground blur in bokeh mode
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, segmentation artifacts in bokeh mode
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, crop

Video scores explained

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro achieves a very good Video score of 97 points, just one point below the P20 Pro. Its only real weak points are the stabilization that generates a noticeable drift, and noise in low light. We calculate the overall video score using the following video sub-scores: Exposure (84), Color (90), Autofocus (98), Texture (58), Noise (78), Artifacts (84), and Stabilization (92).

Video footage recorded with the Mate 20 Pro generally shows good target exposure, with good exposure transition under changing light levels and good exposure down to light levels as low as 5 lux. Dynamic range is not as good as the best in class, but it’s on a very similar level to that of the P20 Pro. Some clipping is noticeable in high-contrast scenes in both highlight and shadow areas, and we also observed some exposure instabilities during recording.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, video target exposure across light levels

Color in video is generally good, although there is sometimes a slight desaturation visible on very fine details. We also saw some stepping in white balance transitions. In low light, the white balance can produce a slightly pink cast, but footage remains usable, and the white balance system performs well overall.

Compared to its stable-mate P20 Pro, the Mate 20 Pro comes with a slightly less happy compromise between texture and noise when shooting video. Detail is pretty much on the same level, but the Mate 20 Pro footage shows higher levels of noise, especially in low light. Things look better in brighter conditions, though. Footage is pretty clean in outdoor conditions, and in indoor conditions, noise is not too coarse. We also see some noisy edges in low light; other artifacts we found in the Mate 20 Pro footage include a judder effect when panning, color quantization in the sky, and compression artifacts.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro, video acutance by light level
Huawei Mate 20 Pro, video noise by light level

Just like in stills mode, the autofocus performs well for video. We did not experience any focus failures and tracking during our testing; moreover, focus transitions are accurate and smooth. One minor point of criticism is a slight loss of focus in some macro scenes.

The stabilization system has some room for improvement, as it isn’t very efficient when walking or running, with a lot of high-frequency camera motion noticeable in the footage. Overall, however, the Mate 20 Pro is an excellent device for mobile video recording.

Conclusion

The Huawei Mate 20 Pro is a super-phone in every sense, and that is especially true when looking at its camera. The triple-lens setup is capable of producing excellent photo and video results across all shooting situations and deservedly shares the top position in the DxOMark Mobile ranking with its slightly smaller sibling, the P20 Pro, outperforming prominent competitors such as the iPhone XS Max, the Samsung Galaxy Note 9, and the HTC U12+. It’s worth keeping in mind that the Mate 20 Pro comes with a super-wide-angle lens that does not have an impact on our score, but compared to the P20 Pro and other devices that don’t have this feature, the lens offers an added degree of flexibility that could be very important to many photographers.

Still images show pleasant colors, good exposure and dynamic range, and a well-balanced approach to detail retention and noise reduction. Thanks to its 3x optical zoom lens, the Mate 20 Pro is also one of the best smartphones for zooming. Videos display many of the same characteristics as still images. Stabilization isn’t terribly effective while walking, and we observed a few video artifacts, but those are all relatively minor quibbles. Overall, the Huawei Mate 20 Pro is an easy recommendation to pass on to both mobile photographers and video shooters.

109
DxOMark mobile
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
114
photo
Huawei Mate 20 Pro
97
video
Huawei Mate 20 Pro

Photo pros

  • Well-controlled levels of image noise, even in low light
  • Good target exposure and wide dynamic range
  • Pleasant white balance and color rendering
  • Fast and repeatable autofocus in most conditions
  • Good zoom

 Video pros

  • Fast and smooth autofocus with good tracking
  • Efficient stabilization when holding the camera still
  • Accurate white balance and pleasant colors
  • Low noise levels, particularly in bright light
  • Good exposure adaption to changing light conditions

Photo cons

  • Unnatural rendering of fine details
  • Loss of fine detail on faces in bokeh mode
  • Autofocus inconsistencies when using flash
  • Ringing

Video cons

  • Camera shake when walking while recording, especially indoors
  • Lack of fine detail
  • Judder

In the Press

DxOMark invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.