多摄像头智能手机:优势和挑战

摄像头性能对智能手机制造商和用户的重要性与日俱增,因此制造商必须致力于开发新功能,并努力改善图像质量——但是,用户也想要纤薄的手机,如此一来,各个摄像头模块的尺寸就被大大地限制了。用户对于手机厚度的要求迫使设计者必须添加额外的摄像头,以便善加利用手机宽度和高度上的空间,从而保持极小的“Z高度”(手机厚度被业界昵称为“Z高度”)。

搭载多个摄像头可以提供诸如变焦、更好的HDR、人像模式、3D和低光摄影等一系列新功能,但这样做也使得制造商面临新的挑战。我们将在本文中探讨多摄像头手机的演进过程,并了解这些手机如何为手机用户带来更好的摄影体验,同时深究手机制造商使用多摄像头所面临的挑战。不过,在任何一种情况下我们都必须牢记,目前多摄像头智能手机仍然处于初期发展阶段,因此我们可以期待在未来几年中,其技术及功能还会继续迅速发展。

远摄和变焦

苹果公司于2016年推出iPhone 7 Plus后,在手机市场上大获成功。但在此之前,智能手机的变焦功能几乎全都是全数字化变焦。而自从三星推出Galaxy S4和S5 Zoom后,少数几款手机也通过增大手机尺寸来实现光学变焦;不过,大多数普及的机型仍然仰赖在拍摄后裁剪图像和调整尺寸的方法提供差强人意的变焦图像。

在镜头设计的物理局限下,高端智能手机很难将变焦镜头嵌入纤薄的手机机身中,因此,在过去两年中,几乎所有旗舰手机的后置摄像头都不曾尝试添加光学变焦,而是采用双镜头和双图像传感器的设计。大多数的机型(包括苹果、OnePlus、HTC、小米、摩托罗拉、诺基亚和Vivo等机型)均采用一个传统摄像头模块和一个2倍远摄模块组合,而华为Mate 20 Pro和P20 Pro则搭载了一个3倍远摄镜头。

使用华为Mate 20 Pro的主摄像头在1000万像素模式下拍摄的场景。

使用华为Mate 20 Pro的800万像素3倍远摄镜头拍摄相同场景。

搭载专用的远摄摄像头模块的最显著优势在于,它在远摄距上可以拍出更好的图像质量。在远摄摄像头的原始焦距上,摄像头在图像传感器的原始分辨率下使用典型流水线处理图像,然后呈现图像,其图像质量比主摄像头的裁剪图和放大图都更好。

这样做就可以混合两个不同的摄像头模块在各自的原始焦距上所拍摄的图像,以生成更好的图像效果。不过这也会使图像处理面临一些特定的挑战:例如,用户所见的预览图像仅来自其中一个摄像头模块,但是当用户向前推近或向后拉远所摄画面时,预览图像必须在两个摄像头模块之间流畅地切换,因此,两个模块的图像需要拥有类似的曝光、白平衡和焦距。此外,由于两个摄像头模块之间存在的距离极小,因此预览图像必须稍微重新对准,以便尽可能地减少切换两个摄像头模块时所造成的图像变动。这种设计所产生的结果当然不会像独立式相机的专用变焦镜头那样天衣无缝,不过在如此小巧的手机上可以实现这样的效果,其成就其实相当令人惊叹。

变焦的未来演变:折叠式镜头

一如变焦镜头难以被置入手机厚度内,同样的道理,手机厚度也会限制镜头在正常焦距方向上(即从手机表面朝外延伸的距离)的对焦距离,因此采用焦距较长的远摄镜头时,也必须巧妙地设计镜头并采用较小的图像传感器,方能实现较长的摄距。所以,如果手机制造商采用传统的图像传感器与镜头排列方向,那么智能手机只能实现2倍或3倍光学变焦。

添加一个远摄镜头通常也必须增加手机厚度,或者采用更小的图像传感器或折叠式镜头。

采用折叠式镜头是克服手机厚度所造成的焦距限制的方法之一。摄像头模块的图像传感器被垂直地摆放在手机内,并沿着一条与手机机身平行的光学轴线对准镜头;一片反射镜或棱镜被放置于一个合适的角度上,以便把来自场景的光线反射到镜头和图像传感器上。最早的设计采用固定反射镜,可用于双镜头系统,例如Corephotonics的Falcon和Hawkeye产品在同一个模块中将一个传统摄像头和一个折叠式远摄镜头相结合,而Light.co等公司的设计则使用移动式反射镜以合成多个摄像头的图像,这些设计现在也开始进入市场中。

Illustration of folded optics used to create a dual-camera module -- Image by Oppo
双摄像头模块中的折叠式镜头图解。图片来源:Oppo

双摄像头模块中的折叠式镜头图解。(图片来源:Oppo)

拓宽视场:广角功能

虽然广角镜头的使用需求不如远摄镜头那么大,不过,舍弃独立式相机而改用手机拍照的摄影者也许也会很想拍摄广角照片。LG早在2016年就开始在G5手机上添加了第二个超广角摄像头,成了在手机上搭载广角镜头的先锋,而华硕也在Zenphone 5上搭载了一颗超广角摄像头。最近,LG和华为也分别推出了配备传统镜头、远摄镜头和超广角镜头的三重后置摄像头机型。

Standard image taken with Huawei Mate 20 Pro
使用华为Mate 20 Pro拍摄的标准图像
The same scene captured with the phone's wide-angle camera

使用该手机的广角摄像头拍摄同一场景

制造商在智能手机上添加了第二个摄像头模块后,远摄和广角图像的质量都变得更好了,但双摄像头技术的优势不止如此。

人像、深度估计和散景

拍摄人像时,远摄摄像头的有效焦距越长,脸部畸变就越少,因为在同样的取景下,您可以在两倍摄距上拍摄人像,以避免使用广角镜头拍摄人物特写时所产生的一些不雅观的效果。

此外,在手机上配置了两个彼此略微偏移的摄像头后,也可以对场景中的物体深度进行估计。此过程首先测量两个摄像头所产生的图像物体位置之间的距离——即所谓的“视差”效果:靠近摄像头的物体在两个图像中的位置差异看起来比较大,而远处物体的位置在两张图像中看起来会比较接近。您可以将一根手指放在面前,然后闭上一眼,用另一眼看着手指,再换另一眼看着手指,您会看到两眼各自看到的手指位置差异相当大;如果您将此差异与远处物体的位置差异相比,您会发现远处物体的位置几乎没有什么变化。

多摄像头手机获得了估计场景中的物体深度的能力之后,就可以增加一个专用的人像模式,以便在拍摄时为清晰呈现的被摄体的背景模拟出漂亮的模糊效果。具有大光圈镜头的独立式相机可以在光学原理的作用下自然地产生散景效果,但智能手机内的图像传感器尺寸较小,因此需要在摄像头内对图像进行一番后期处理后,方能呈现类似的散景效果。

这是iPhone 8 Plus在默认模式下拍摄的图像,其背景的模糊水平不高。

iPhone 8 Plus的人像模式使用第二个摄像头来进行深度估计,并模糊背景。

然而,智能手机制造商还必须解决几个大问题,方能创造出像样的人像模式:首先,智能手机测量深度的方法相当简单,因此摄像头可能会被愚弄,不小心把拍摄对象弄得模糊了,或者把背景中的物体变得清晰。其次,出人意料的是,散景(即大光圈镜头的光学作用所产生的自然模糊)很难以计算方式模拟,因此在背景上创造赏心悦目的模糊效果远非容易的事儿。其三,在多摄像头配置中,每个摄像头各自的视角都略微不同,甚至其快门速度也可能不同,因此仔细对准图像并消除重影伪像就成了持续存在的问题。最后,一如多摄像头的大多数应用程序,两个摄像头需要在仔细同步后,方能在同一时刻拍摄两个图像,从而最大限度地减少各种运动伪像。

不过,虽然搭载两个完整的摄像头也许是在智能手机上产生上述效果的最佳方式,但这并非唯一的途径。例如,谷歌的Pixel 2和Pixel 3手机使用索尼图像传感器上的全像素双核,从像素的左半和右半部分分别读取图像,从而创建两个彼此稍微偏移的虚拟摄像头。从像素左侧创建的图像会稍微向左偏移,与右侧仅相差一毫米,如此一来即可让该谷歌手机使用两个图像之间的差异进行初步的深度估计。然后,该手机再利用巧妙的人工智能将一连串图像组合起来,生成了更准确的深度图,最后产生了模糊的背景。

添加第二个摄像头以增强图像细节

由于摄像头的图像传感器不会自行记录色彩,因此需要在其上方放置一个与像素大小相同的滤色器阵列,如此一来,每个像素(也称为感光点)仅会记录一种色彩(通常为红色、绿色或蓝色),然后在称为“去马赛克”的过程中组合像素的输出结果,以创建一个可用的RGB彩色图像。不过,这种设计需要付出一些代价:首先,滤色器阵列会造成分辨率降低;其次,由于每个像素仅可接收部分光线,因此该摄像头的感光度比不上不带滤色器阵列的摄像头。所以诸如华为Mate 10 Pro和P20 Pro等智能手机便采用了第二个单色传感器,以便在全分辨率下捕捉和记录洒落在传感器上的所有光线。将单色摄像头输出的图像与彩色主摄像头输出的图像相结合,即可创造出细节更丰富的最终图像。

华为Mate 10 Pro的彩色传感器所捕获的图像。
裁剪图
华为Mate 10 Pro的2000万像素单色摄像头所拍摄的相同场景
裁剪图

 

搭配第二个单色传感器是这种应用方式的理想做法,但并非唯一的选项。Archos也采用了类似的做法,但不同的是,它使用了第二个分辨率更高的彩色图像传感器。在这两种设计中,由于两个摄像头之间存在些许距离,因此对准两个图像,然后将其组合为一张图像的过程非常复杂,所以输出的图像细节通常不如具有更高分辨率的单色图像传感器那么丰富,但其图像质量均优于单一摄像头模块。

A brightly-lit scene captured with only the RGB camera of the Huawei P20 Pro
仅使用华为P20 Pro的彩色摄像头拍摄的高光场景
The same scene using both RGB and Monochrome cameras.
使用彩色摄像头和单色摄像头拍摄相同场景。
A cropped area from the RGB-only image
仅使用彩色摄像头拍摄的图像裁剪图
A cropped area from the image using both cameras, showing more detail
使用两个摄像头拍摄的图像裁剪图,显示了更丰富的细节

双摄像头模块的另一种用途是,它可以将感光度更高的单色摄像头的单色图像与彩色摄像头的全色图像相结合。由于单色摄像头的感光度更高,因此在低光和高对比度场景中可以提供更好的图像质量,不过,对准两个图像时会衍生出一些伪像,这也成了这种成像方法的一大挑战。观察这些样张,您可以看到,添加单色图像传感器可以在各种光照条件下改善图像质量,特别是在低光条件下,其优势更加明显。

Low-light image using only the RGB camera on a Huawei P20 Pro
仅使用华为P20 Pro上的彩色摄像头所拍摄的低光图像
The same scene using both the RGB and Monochrome cameras
使用彩色摄像头和单色摄像头拍摄相同场景
A cropped area from the RGB only image
仅使用彩色摄像头拍摄的图像裁剪图
A cropped area using both cameras, showing improvement in details

使用两个摄像头拍摄的图像裁剪图,显示了更丰富的细节

增强现实(AR)应用程序

手机使用其摄像头中的图像差异来创建一个映射(通常称为深度图),以估计场景中的物体与摄像头之间的距离后,就可以使用此映射来强化各种增强现实(AR)应用程序的性能。例如,应用程序可以根据深度图将合成的物体放置在场景中的不同表面上,并依此显示这些物体。如果实时完成这一步骤,这些物体还可以四处移动,看起来活灵活现。带有ARKit的苹果系统和带有ARCore的Android系统都为搭载多摄像头(或者Pixel手机系列中使用全像素双核创建深度图的机型)的手机提供了AR平台。

Dual cameras help make AR possible on phones
双摄像头有助于在手机上实现增强现实。(图片由苹果公司提供)

不过,除了配备第二个图像传感器的选项外,多摄像头模块也可以采用其他方法来测量深度:例如早在2014年,HTC就推出了带有专用的深度传感器的手机。时间也许会证明使用飞行时间(TOF)或其他技术的专用深度传感器,也许是生成增强现实需要所需的精细深度图的更有效方式——这也许是将多摄像头模块用于新兴的智能手机用途的另一用例。

摄像头供应商纷纷采用多摄像头解决方案

摄像头制造商为手机制造商的多摄像头智能手机提供了更简单的解决方案。除了诸如Corephotonics和Arcsoft等技术导向提供商之外,一些摄像头模块供应商(包括三星电机、Sunny Optical、O-Film、富士康夏普、Q-Tech、LuxVisions等公司)也为各种多摄像头组合提供了一系列解决方案和图像处理库,因此,我们将可以在时间推移中看到越来越多的新手机搭载多摄像头配置。

Samsung among others sells dual-camera modules
三星等公司销售双摄像头模块
A Corephotonics dual-camera smartphone module

Corephotonics智能手机双摄像头模块

使用多个摄像头拍摄立体视觉和光场

 

双眼为我们提供一个场景的立体视觉,因此双眼结构是我们在一个场景里创建3D模型的基础。一如我们的双眼结构,手机也可以利用两个水平排列的摄像头来创建立体视觉。2007年限量发行的三星SCH-B710算是最早可以产生立体视觉的双摄像头手机。此后,HTC、LG、夏普和中兴通讯也纷纷跟进,推出拥有类似功能的机型。这些手机和一些其他机型都会附上立体(3D)显示屏,以便查看摄像头生成的3D图像。

使用智能手机摄像头呈现立体视觉时,必须先解决手机体积小巧的难题,方能正常地呈现立体视觉图像。在专门拍摄立体视觉图像的设备上,两个摄像头之间的距离与我们眼睛之间的距离相似;但在智能手机上,两个摄像头模块之间的距离通常非常接近,因此造成了极大的限制。所以,如何模仿人类双眼观看世界的方式以创造出令人信服的立体视觉,就成为了这些公司的一大挑战。此外,这些公司还必须仔细地让两个摄像头同步,才不会因为摄像头在稍微不同的时间点上拍摄了两个图像而产生了明显的伪像。

Red's 4-View technology creates four separate perspectives from stereo images

Red Hydrogen One的4-View技术在立体视觉的基础上创建了四个独立视角

RED原来是摄像头制造商,现在也加入了手机制造商的行列,进一步将立体视觉摄像头的概念推至另一个境界。它在Hydrogen One手机上使用立体摄像头和HP的衍生公司Leia的专用软件,在该手机的两个不同方向上创建深度,并生成合成的散景效果,其输出图像可使用16种可能的视图。该公司将此技术称为“4-View”,因为它在每个方向上都提供了四种不同的视图,并在需要时仔细地映射高光位。然后,用户可以在该手机专用的“4V”显示屏上查看这些图像(和视频)——这也是Leia的技术。当用户的头部或手机移动时,就可以看到不同的视图。在4-View技术正常工作时,即可产生身临其境的逼真体验,而不需要特殊的VR(虚拟现实)或AR头戴设备。

Hydrogen手机通过以下方式生成3D图像:首先,两个手机摄像头拍摄一对标准的立体视觉图像,然后在这对立体视觉图像上计算出四张图像,每张图像各自对应于4个虚拟视点,以供3D显示屏使用。下面的GIF动画可以让您大致了解Hydrogen手机及Leia设计的Lightfield显示屏上所见的最终结果。

Hydrophone的Leia显示屏上的多视图动画示例(照片:Shane Ruiz)

此外,Leia还为Hydrophone手机的3D图像开发了模拟散景效果。其困难在于,这种散景效果必须在生成的4个视图中保持一致。在当前版本中,这种效果并不太靠谱,但是当它真的起作用时,确实会产生身临其境的感觉。

更多的摄像头配置需要更强大的处理能力

智能手机中究竟可以安装多少个摄像头?事实上,空间和成本并非唯一的局限——处理能力也是需要考虑的因素。处理多个图像流比使用单个摄像头拍摄的图像要复杂得多:因为手机不仅必须像正常情况一样处理所有图像,同时还必须进行额外的处理,方能正确对准图像,以便在合并图像时尽可能地减少伪像,并执行所需的任何专门任务,例如生成散景或低光色调映射,以创建最终显示在屏幕上的照片。

未来展望:搭载更多摄像头也许会成为未来的手机趋势

激烈的角逐已在智能手机制造商之间展开了!他们竞相增加额外的摄影功能,将摄像头功能扩展到诸如“增强现实”(AR)等新领域,未来,我们也许会在手机上看到更多的前置和后置摄像头模块。得益于软件的进展,几个较小的摄像头组合越来越有可能完成一个较大的摄像头可完成的任务;由于智能手机(以及一般的移动设备)的体型必须保持小巧纤薄,因此使用小模块势必成为未来的必然趋势。

Multi-camera smartphones: Benefits and challenges

Reading Time: 15 min read

With the growing importance of camera performance to smartphone makers and users, manufacturers have worked hard to add features and to improve image quality. However, users also want thin phones, which greatly limits the size of the individual camera modules that can be used. The small Z-height, as the industry refers to the thickness of a phone, has caused designers to make use of the larger width and height of phones by adding additional cameras to their designs.

Having multiple cameras has made an array of new features possible—zoom, better HDR, portrait modes, 3D, and low-light photography—but it has also presented new challenges. We’ll take a look at how multiple camera phones have evolved, at how they’ve improved the photo experience for phone owners, and at the challenges that phone makers have had to tackle to make them work. In each case, it is important to keep in mind that it is still early in the development of multiple-camera smartphones, so expect to see rapid progress in the technology and the features it enables over the coming years.

Telephoto and zoom

Until the introduction and market success of the Apple iPhone 7 Plus in 2016, zooming in on a smartphone was almost always entirely digital. Starting with Samsung’s Galaxy S4 and S5 Zoom, a few specialized phones had an optical zoom (made possible by their bulky design), but most popular models offered only a limited-quality, digital zoom capability that used some combination of cropping and post-capture resizing.

The physics of lens design make it very complex to fit a zoom lens into the thin body of a high-end smartphone. So over the last two years, almost all flagship phones have moved to a dual-lens-and-sensor design for their rear-facing camera instead of trying to add an optical zoom. Most—including Apple, OnePlus, HTC, Xiaomi, Motorola, Nokia and Vivo models—use a traditional camera module paired with a 2x telephoto module, although the Huawei Mate 20 Pro and P20 Pro make use of a 3x telephoto.

Scene shot using the main camera of a Huawei Mate 20 Pro in 10MP mode.
The same scene shot using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro’s 8MP 3x telephoto module.

The most obvious advantage of having a dedicated telephoto camera module is better images at long focal lengths. At the native focal length of the telephoto camera, the camera uses a typical pipeline to process and render the image at the sensor’s native resolution. This provides a better result than cropping and scaling the image from the main camera.

Images from the two camera modules can be blended to create improved results even at non-native focal lengths, but this presents some unique image processing challenges. For example, the preview image displayed to the user is taken from one camera module or the other, but needs to switch smoothly between the two modules as the user zooms in or out. For that to happen, the images from the two modules need similar exposure, white balance, and focus distance. Because the two modules are slightly offset from each other, the preview needs some realignment to minimize the shift in the image when the phone switches from one camera module to the other. The results are definitely not as seamless as when using a dedicated zoom lens on a standalone camera, but it’s amazing that it’s possible at all for such a small device.

Huawei Mate 20 Pro zoom preview with abrupt transition between modules
LG G6 zoom preview with smooth transition between modules

The next step in zoom: Folded optics

In the same way that it is difficult to fit a zoom lens within the thickness of a phone, the longer focal lengths of telephoto lenses require a combination of clever lens design and smaller sensors to fit. This means that the thickness of the phone also limits lens focal lengths when they are oriented in the usual fashion—that is, facing out from the phone’s surface. As a result, phone makers have been able to achieve only 2x or 3x optical zoom by using the traditional sensor-lens orientation in a smartphone.

Adding a telephoto lens usually means a thicker phone, a smaller sensor, or the use of folded optics.

Folded optics is a way to overcome the focal length limit that the phone’s thickness imposes. The camera module sensor is placed vertically within the phone and aimed at a lens with an optical axis that runs along the body of the phone. A mirror or prism is placed at the correct angle to reflect light from the scene into the lens and sensor. Initial designs have a fixed mirror suitable for dual-lens systems such as the Falcon and Hawkeye products from Corephotonics, which combine a traditional camera and a folded telephoto design in a single module. But designs from companies such as Light.co, which use movable mirrors to synthesize the images from multiple cameras, are also beginning to enter the market.

Illustration of folded optics used to create a dual-camera module -- Image by Oppo
Illustration of folded optics used to create a dual-camera module. (Image courtesy of Oppo.)
Light.co touts a number of multi-camera designs for smartphones that make use of folded optics.

Zooming out: Wide-angle capability

While not as much in demand as telephoto capability, photographers moving from standalone cameras also missed the ability to shoot wide-angle photos. LG was a pioneer in adding a second, ultra-wide camera to phones as far back as its G5 in 2016, and Asus followed suit with an ultra-wide camera in its Zenphone 5. More recently, LG and Huawei have shipped models featuring a triple rear camera that includes traditional, telephoto, and ultra-wide lenses.

Standard image taken with Huawei Mate 20 Pro
Standard image taken with Huawei Mate 20 Pro.
The same scene captured with the phone's wide-angle camera
The same scene captured with the phone’s ultra-wide-angle camera.

Better telephoto and wide-angle images are only the beginning of what smartphone makers have accomplished with the addition of a second camera module.

Portraits, depth estimation, and bokeh

The longer effective focal length of the telephoto camera also makes for less distorted faces when shooting portraits, as you can photograph the subject from twice as far away for the same framing, removing some of the unpleasant effects of photographing people close-up using a wide-angle lens.

By having two slightly offset cameras, it is also possible for the phone to estimate the depth of objects in the scene. This process starts by measuring how far apart objects are in the images from the two cameras—an effect called parallax. Objects close to the cameras will be quite far apart in the two images, while objects further away will appear much closer together. You can see this for yourself by holding up a finger in front of your face and noticing how much it appears to move when you look at it first with one eye closed and then the other, compared to a distant object that hardly seems to move at all.

Adding the ability to estimate the depth of objects in a scene allowed the introduction of specialized Portrait modes in multi-camera phones to keep the subject sharp, while giving the background a pleasing blur. Standalone cameras with wide-aperture lenses automatically do this because of how the optics work, but the smaller smartphone sensors require in-camera post-processing of the images to achieve a similar effect.

In default mode, this iPhone 8 Plus image has very little background blur.
The iPhone 8 Plus’s Portrait mode uses the second camera to estimate depth and to blur the background.

Smartphone makers have had to solve several big challenges to create believable Portrait modes, though. First, the simple way depth is measured means the camera can be fooled, resulting in accidental blurring of the subject, or leaving objects in the background sharp. Second, bokeh—the natural blurring achieved by using wide-aperture optics—is surprisingly hard to replicate computationally. That makes creating a pleasing blur for the background difficult. Third, each of the multiple cameras has a slightly different perspective, and perhaps different shutter speeds, so the careful alignment of the images and removal of ghosting artifacts is an ongoing issue. Finally, as with most of the applications for multiple cameras, the two cameras need to be carefully synchronized to ensure that both images are taken at the same instant so as to minimize any motion artifacts.

While having two complete cameras may be the best way of achieving these effects in a smartphone, it isn’t the only way. Google’s Pixel 2 and Pixel 3 phones, for example, use the dual pixels on their Sony sensors to read images from both the left and the right halves of its pixels separately, essentially creating two virtual cameras that are slightly offset. The image created from the left side of the pixels is shifted by a mere millimeter in perspective from the right, but that is enough for Google to use the differences between the two of them as an initial estimate of depth. The phones then combine a burst of images with some clever AI to generate a more accurate depth map and then to finally blur the background.

Adding a second camera to enhance image detail

Because camera sensors don’t record color on their own, they require an array of pixel-sized color filters over them. As a result, each pixel (a.k.a. photosite) records only in one color—usually red, green, or blue. Pixel output is combined in a process called demosaicing to create a usable RGB image—but this design entails a couple of compromises. First is a loss in resolution caused by the color array; and second, since each pixel receives only some of the light, the camera isn’t as sensitive as one without a color filter array. So some smartphone models, such as the Huawei Mate 10 Pro and P20 Pro, have a second monochrome sensor that can capture and record in full resolution all the available light. Combining the image from the monochrome camera with the image from the main RGB camera creates a more detailed final image.

Image captured with the RGB sensor in the Huawei Mate 10 Pro.
Crop
The same scene captured with the Huawei Mate 10 Pro’s 20MP monochrome camera.
Crop

While a second monochrome sensor is ideal for this application, it isn’t the only alternative. Archos does something similar, but uses a second, higher-resolution RGB sensor. In both designs, because the two cameras are offset, the process of aligning and combining the two images is complex, so the output image typically isn’t as detailed as the higher-resolution monochrome version, but it is an improvement over an image captured with a single camera module.

A brightly-lit scene captured with only the RGB camera of the Huawei P20 Pro
A brightly-lit scene using only the Huawei P20 Pro’s RGB camera
The same scene using both RGB and Monochrome cameras.
The same scene using both RGB and monochrome cameras
A cropped area from the RGB-only image
A cropped area from the RGB-only image
A cropped area from the image using both cameras, showing more detail
A cropped area from the image using both cameras, showing more detail

Another way to use an additional camera module is to combine the image from the more light-sensitive monochrome camera with the full-color image from the RGB camera to provide better images in low-light and high-contrast scenes. Here, too, artifacts resulting from the alignment issues between the two images create challenges for implementing this imaging pipeline. Looking at the accompanying example images, you can see that while the addition of the monochrome sensor improves the image in any lighting condition, the difference is more noticeable in low light.

Low-light image using only the RGB camera on a Huawei P20 Pro
Low-light image using only the RGB camera on a Huawei P20 Pro
The same scene using both the RGB and Monochrome cameras
The same scene using both the RGB and monochrome cameras
A cropped area from the RGB only image
A cropped area from the RGB-only image
A cropped area using both cameras, showing improvement in details
A cropped area showing improved detail when using both cameras

Augmented reality (AR) applications

Once a phone has used the differences in images from its cameras to create a map of how far things are from it in a scene (commonly called a depth map), it can use that map to enhance various augmented reality (AR) applications. For example, an app could use the depth map to place and display synthetic objects on surfaces in the scene. If done in real time, the objects can move around and seem to come alive. Both Apple with ARKit and Android with ARCore have provided AR platforms for phones with multiple cameras (or in the case of Pixel phones, devices that can create depth maps using dual pixels).

Dual cameras help make AR possible on phones
Dual cameras help make AR possible on phones. (Image courtesy of Apple Inc.)

However, a second photographic sensor isn’t the only way to use multiple camera modules to measure depth: as far back as 2014, HTC shipped a model with a dedicated depth sensor. Over time, dedicated depth sensors using Time of Flight (TOF) or other technologies may prove to be a more efficient way to generate the relatively granular depth maps needed for AR, but that, too, would be another example of using multiple camera modules to address an emerging application for smartphones.

Module suppliers step up with multi-camera solutions

Makers of camera modules have made it much easier for phone manufacturers to add multiple camera module solutions to their designs. In addition to such technology providers as Corephotonics and Arcsoft, camera module vendors, including Samsung Electro-Mechanics, Sunny Optical, O-Film, Foxconn Sharp, Q-Tech, LuxVisions, and others, offer an array of solutions for various combinations of multiple cameras in a single module, complete with image processing libraries. So expect to see multiple camera modules in an increasing number of new phones over time.

Samsung among others sells dual-camera modules
Samsung, among others, sells dual-camera modules with a variety of uses.
A Corephotonics dual-camera smartphone module
A Corephotonics dual-camera smartphone module

Using multiple cameras to capture stereo and light fields

In the same way that our two eyes provide us with a stereo image of what is in front of us and allow us to create a 3D model of the scene, a phone with two aligned cameras can use them to create a stereo image. Phones with stereo cameras go back as far as the 2007 limited-distribution Samsung SCH-B710. HTC, LG, Sharp, and ZTE have also produced models. Those phones, and quite a few others, have shipped with stereoscopic (3D) displays for viewing the resulting 3D images.

To work well, stereo capture using a smartphone camera has to address the complications stemming from the phone’s small form factor. Unlike dedicated stereo capture devices that separate their cameras by a distance similar to that between our eyes, the two camera modules used on a smartphone are typically very close together, giving them a very small baseline. Thus creating believable images that mimic the way our two eyes would have captured them presents an additional challenge for these companies to solve. The two cameras also need to be carefully synchronized so that they don’t produce visible artifacts from capturing the two images at slightly different times.

Red's 4-View technology creates four separate perspectives from stereo images
Red Hydrogen One’s 4-View technology creates four separate perspectives from stereo images.

Camera and now phone maker RED has pushed this concept even further by using stereo cameras on its Hydrogen One phone, along with specialized software from HP spinout Leia, to create depth for the two different orientations of the device, along with a synthetic bokeh effect. The result is images with 16 possible views. The company calls the technology 4-View because it supports four different views in each direction, with highlights carefully mapped between views as needed. Users can then view these images (and video) on the phone’s specialized “4V” display, also powered by Leia technology. As users move their head or the phone, they see different views. When 4-View works well, the result is a very immersive experience that doesn’t require a special VR (virtual reality) or AR headset to view.

The 3D images are generated in the following way: the two cameras of the Hydrogen phone capture a standard stereo pair of images. Then, a total of four images are computed from the stereo-pair, each corresponding to 4 virtual points of view, to be used by the 3D display. The animated GIF below gives you an idea of what the final result looks like on the Hydrogen phone and its Leia-powered Lightfield display.

An animated example of the multi-view capability of the Hydrogen phone with Leia-powered display (Photo: Shane Ruiz)

Additionally, Leia has developed a simulated bokeh effect for the Hydrogen phone 3D images. What’s tricky is that the bokeh effect needs to be consistent across the 4 generated views. With the current version this does not always work reliably but when it works, it looks really immersive.

More cameras require a lot more processing power

Space and cost aren’t the only constraints on how many cameras can be packed into a smartphone. Processing power is also a limiting factor. Processing multiple image streams is substantially more complex than working with captures from a single camera. Not only do all the images have to be processed as they would normally, but additional work is needed to align them properly, to merge them in a way that minimizes artifacts, and then to perform whatever specialized actions are needed, such as creating bokeh or tone-mapping for low light, to create the final photograph for display.

Looking ahead: Expect more cameras on future phones

As smartphone makers compete to outdo each other with additional photographic capabilities, and to extend the power of their cameras into such new realms as AR, we’re likely to see additional camera modules on both the fronts and rears of future devices. Advances in software make it increasingly possible for several smaller cameras to do the work of one larger camera, and the small size and thin shape of smartphones (and mobile devices in general) make the use of small modules a necessity.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.