一加 7 Pro 音频评测

65
audio

一加在今年早些时候推出旗舰手机7 Pro。该手机的价格低于许多竞争品牌的高端手机,却拥有许多优势:首先是6.67英寸90Hz QHD+ Fluid AMOLED 流体屏,其他优势则包括骁龙855芯片组、6GB/12GB主存和128GB或256GB存储,可以处理多个应用程序的工作负载。除此之外,该手机还搭载了一个4800万像素主摄像头,涵盖两个独立的超广角和远摄摄像头模块。一如目前旗舰手机常见的音频规格,一加 7 Pro支持杜比全景声,并配备有专用的消声麦克风。

我们将一加 7 Pro放入DXOMARK Audio一系列严格测试中,通过其内置扬声器播放音频,并使用内置麦克风录音,以测量其播放和录制性能。在本评测中,我们将仔细分析它在各种测试和几种常见用例中的表现。

音频规格:

  • 杜比全景声双立体声扬声器
  • 专用消声麦克风

关于DXOMARK Audio测试:为了在我们的智能手机音频评测中进行评分和分析,DXOMARK工程师在受控的实验室条件下执行各种客观测试,并对20多个小时的样本进行感知评估,本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果。另请注意,我们仅使用手机的内置硬件和默认应用程序评鉴“播放”和“录制”。(有关播放基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处;有关录制基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处。)

测试摘要

65
audio
68
playback
56
recording

一加 7 Pro的总体音频得分为65分,与我们迄今测试过的安卓手机相比,这算是不错的表现。尽管此成绩远落后于华为Mate 20 X(75分),但远远领先于索尼Xperia 1(45分)和荣耀20 Pro(53分)。令人印象深刻的是,它的得分与体型更大、更新的三星Note 10+的总得分(66分)相去不远。不过,它的总体得分远低于苹果iPhone XS Max(74分),其所有测试项目的得分也都比苹果最新的旗舰手机iPhone 11 Pro Max低。

分析7 Pro总体得分的分类成绩,其播放得分为68分,播放音频显然是该手机的强项。它在我们所有的播放测试中的表现大致良好。扬声器的位置适当,可以避免手在无意间遮住扬声器,不过其不对称的位置会影响准确的声场呈现。低音有点不足,从而降低了该手机的音色和力度得分。

在用例方面,7 Pro在我们播放音乐、观看电影和游戏的测试场景中的表现均相当出色。它的音乐播放性能几乎与我们迄今测试过的顶级iPhone旗舰机型一样出色,但是在高音量下会出现一些恼人的高频共振。它在播放电影和音乐方面的性能显然要强于游戏音频。

使用OnePlus 7 Pro录制自拍视频。

一加 7 Pro的录制得分为56分。除了可以准确地再现高音量场景之外,该手机在录制方面的总体表现比播放更弱。该手机录制的声音通常听起来不自然,并且透着些许金属感,其声音包络也会因过度压缩而受损。在嘈杂的环境中录制视频时,无法很好地抑制背景声音。

人声和背景声音也都发生了失真问题。这一弱点出现在我们的所有使用场景中,尤其是在使用前置摄像头录制自拍视频时更是明显。它在录制语音备忘录和“一般生活”视频时的表现最好。7 Pro的全向麦克风还使该手机难以准确地再现音频源的方向。

各项测试分数说明

在DXOMARK Audio测试中,一加 7 Pro的总体得分为65分,此得分来自播放和录制得分以及两个类别下的各个测试项目的得分。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的音频质量评分,并分析这些得分对用户的意义。

播放

音色

OnePlus 7 Pro

61

我们的音色测试旨在测量手机在低音、中音和高音的各种音调范围内再现声音的能力。总体而言,7 Pro在整个测试范围内都可以准确地再现音调并维持音调之间的平衡,因此在音色测试项目中拿下了61分。但是,从下面的频率响应图可以看到,它的低音响应很弱。在最大音量下也会出现干扰听觉的高频共振。

音乐播放频率响应曲线

力度

OnePlus 7 Pro

65

我们的力度测试项目旨在测量手机再现声音源的能量水平和低音频率精度的能力。7 Pro的力度得分为65分,为此类别中得分最高的手机之一。它的声音力度在播放电影和音乐时的表现最佳,但在呈现游戏音频时的表现就没有那么好了。一般而言,低音是7 Pro在此测试项目中的一大弱点,其中包括压缩响应滞后导致低音在高音量下变得薄弱的问题

空间感

OnePlus 7 Pro

67

我们的空间感测试可衡量手机准确呈现录制的乐器或其他音源的原始位置的能力。总体而言,7 Pro呈现音源位置的性能很好,可保持不同位置的音源之间的平衡,并准确呈现它们之间的距离。尽管7 Pro可为古典音乐重现良好的声场,表现非常出色,但是在播放带有大量低音的曲目时,其不对称的扬声器位置会导致音频偏离中心,声场呈现薄弱。

在大多数情况下可保持良好的空间平衡
空间宽广度差

但是,其声场宽广度不大,将手机垂直放置时,很难找到音频源。7 Pro应该为手机垂直放置时的音频播放做特定的调试。

音量

OnePlus 7 Pro

65

我们的音量测试不仅测量手机可播放的整体响度,而且还测量手机根据用户的调节而提高或降低音量的流畅度。7 Pro可以非常平顺地更改音量,但是有些人也许会觉得它的分立音量级别太多。虽然它的最小音量听起来太大了,但它在小音量下的表现特别出色,其音量标度也非常精确。不过,它的最大音量表现不如我们测试过的其他旗舰手机那么好。

此图表显示了该手机的每个音量标度所产生的实际响度(声功率),您可以在此图表中看到音量设置范围的效应:请注意最小音量设置的响度相当大:

音乐音量一致性

我们在实验室中以用户可调节的最大音量标度播放嘻哈和古典音乐录音,并对其进行客观测量:

Hip-Hop Classical
74.9 dBA 71.4 dBA

音损

OnePlus 7 Pro

84

我们的音损评分旨在衡量手机扬声器播放源音频时的失真程度。失真可能是由于手机中的声音处理以及扬声器的质量引起的。7 Pro在限制失真方面的表现很好,因此在音损项目中拿下了84分。播放一些曲目时出现了音量抽吸效应,从而拉低了该手机的分数,但大多数音损是由于低音失真而造成的,在高音量下可能会相当恼人。7 Pro巧妙的扬声器位置可避免遮挡音损的出现,因为用手握住手机时,遮住扬声器的可能性较小。

播放音频时,失真得到了很好的控制。

录制

音色

OnePlus 7 Pro

64

7 Pro并未准确地保留音频源的音调范围,它在方面的表现并没有特别出色。中音听起来有些金属感,尤其是在使用录音应用程序时所录制的语音更是如此,而且缺少低音。自拍录像的录音出现了恼人的共振。

您可以在此图表中看到高音响应在录制时不一致,以及缺少低频低音的情况:

自拍视频频率响应曲线

力度

OnePlus 7 Pro

63

7 Pro可以在录制时准确地保留音乐和语音的能量水平,它在这方面的表现还算可以,因此在力度方面拿下63得分,排名居中。录制语音备忘录时,该手机可以很好地保留扬声器的声音包络,但是其性能在其他情况下会受到影响,因为在音量较大时,激进的音量压缩会使声音呈现变得不自然。录制电子音乐会时,这样问题会变得更加严重。

空间感

OnePlus 7 Pro

43

我们的空间感分数可衡量手机录制是否能够使听众准确地将音源放回实际声场的位置上。7 Pro在空间感测试项目中的表现相对较弱,仅拿下43分,低于我们测试过的大多数其他手机。

7 Pro的定位和宽广度得分不高,因为除了在使用主摄像头时以立体声录制视频之外,该手机在所有测试模式下均使用单声道录制。在录制视频时,声音往往不够精确且声音距离太远。不过录制会议时则没有这样的问题,因为声音会来自室内的不同地方。

空间定位能力差
空间方向性差

音量

OnePlus 7 Pro

73

录制音量是7 Pro的一大亮点,其音量得分为73分。在最大响度方面,该手机的表现特别好,这在很大程度上要归功于其激进的压缩功能降低了在高音量时产生失真的风险;反观语音备忘录应用程序中的录音音量往往太小。以下为本次测试结果,以LUFS(响度单位全标度)为单位;请注意,我们不能接受低于–24的结果。

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-28.2 LUFS -16.3 LUFS -15.1 LUFS -23.6 LUFS

音损

OnePlus 7 Pro

47

除了录制语音备忘录之外,在我们测试的每种情况下,使用7 Pro录制的音频都会出现多种音损问题。录制语音时,我们经常听到音量抽吸效应以及声音失真的问题。它的压缩过于激进,尤其是在自拍模式下更是如此。

您可以在此采样录音中听到一些音损:

一项积极因素是,即使用户不小心将手放在麦克风上,7 Pro仍能正确地录制,反观在一些智能手机上,这种情况通常会造成遮挡效应(整体声音减弱)。

遮挡音损控制得当

背景

OnePlus 7 Pro

27

专业录音人员经常使用高方向性麦克风来隔离音源并排除背景噪声。但是,智能手机的所有功能都依赖于同一个小型麦克风,因此抑制背景噪声也非常依赖于手机的音频处理。7 Pro在这方面的表现非常差,无法很好地呈现背景声音。它的背景噪声失真,听起来不自然;自动音量(增益)控制也会引起干扰,取决于语音内容,背景音量经常会在下一秒间骤然改变。当背景噪声的音量较小时,有时听起来会比实际上安静得多。

背景方向性差。
背景声音失真。

结论

一加 7 Pro在播放大多数类型的音频时(尤其是电影和音乐)一般都有相当坚实的表现。尽管该手机的音量大体不错,但低音功率不足仍是一大问题。录制音频时,它的表现就没有那么好了,并且还会受到非常明显的音损的干扰。这些音损尤其会影响背景声音和语音。

播放

优点

  • 不错的整体播放性能
  • 相对较少的音损
  • 扬声器的位置主要可以避免手的遮挡

不足

  • 缺乏低音影响了音色和力度
  • 不对称的扬声器位置影响了空间感的表现

录制

优点

  • 整体录制表现不错
  • 可以录制声音响亮的场景,而不会发生失真的问题

不足

  • 语音通常听起来有点金属感
  • 压缩过于激进,从而降低了语音质量
  • 语音和背景声音失真太多

OnePlus 7 Pro Audio review

Reading Time: 10 min read
65
audio

Introduced earlier this year as OnePlus’s latest flagship, the OnePlus 7 Pro packs a lot of punch into a premium phone that is priced below many of its competitors, starting with a 6.67-inch Fluid AMOLED QHD+ display that can run at 90 Hz. A Snapdragon 855 SoC, along with 6GB/12GB of RAM and either 128GB or 256GB of storage ensure that it can handle a multi-application workload. Rounding out the specs are a 48MP main camera that includes separate ultra-wide-angle and telephoto camera modules. As is now common in audio specs for flagship devices, the OnePlus 7 Pro supports Dolby Atmos and has a dedicated microphone for noise cancellation.

We put the OnePlus 7 Pro through our rigorous DXOMARK Audio test suite to measure its performance both at playing audio back through its built-in speakers and at recording sound using its built-in microphones. In this review, we’ll break down how it fared in a variety of tests and in several common use cases.

Audio specifications include:

  • Dual stereo speakers with Dolby Atmos
  • Dedicated microphone for noise cancellation

About DXOMARK Audio tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone audio reviews, DXOMARK engineers perform a variety of objective tests and undertake more than 20 hours of perceptual evaluation under controlled lab conditions. This article highlights the most important results of our testing. Note that we evaluate both Playback and Recording using only the device’s built-in hardware and default apps. (For more details about our Playback protocol, click here; for more details about our Recording protocol, click here.)

Test summary

65
audio
68
playback
56
recording

The OnePlus 7 Pro scored well overall compared to the other Android phones we have tested so far, achieving an Overall Audio score of 65. That puts it well ahead of the Sony Xperia 1 at 45 and the Honor 20 Pro at 53, although significantly behind the Huawei Mate 20 X’s 75. Impressively, it nearly matches the Overall score of the larger and newer Samsung Note 10+ (66 points); however, it was definitely below the Apple iPhone XS Max (74), and weaker across the board than Apple’s newest flagship phone, the iPhone 11 Pro Max.

Breaking down the 7 Pro’s Overall score, playing back audio is clearly the phone’s strong suit, with a Playback score of 68. It generally performed well across all our playback tests. Speakers are well-positioned to avoid being inadvertently muffled by a hand, but their asymmetric placement does interfere with accurate sound stage rendering. Bass is somewhat lacking, which pulls down the phone’s Timbre and Dynamics sub-scores somewhat.

In terms of use cases, the 7 Pro is strong across our tested scenarios of music playback, movie watching, and gaming. Its music playback performance is nearly as good as the top flagship iPhone models we have tested so far, although at high volumes there are some disturbing high-frequency resonances. Its performance for movies and music is definitely stronger than for gaming audio.

Using a OnePlus 7 Pro to record a selfie video.

Its Recording score of 56 is quite weak across the board compared to its Playback score, except for its ability to accurately reproduce loud scenes. Recorded voices often sounded unnatural and metallic, with their sound envelopes compromised by excessive compression. Background sounds are not well suppressed when recording video in noisy locations.

Both voices and background sounds also suffer from audible distortion. This weakness showed up in all of our use cases, especially when recording selfie videos with the front-facing camera. Its best performance was for memo recording and “general life” videos. The 7 Pro’s omni-directional microphone also makes it difficult to accurately reproduce the directionality of an audio source.

Sub-scores explained

The DXOMARK Audio overall score of 65 for the OnePlus 7 Pro is derived from the Playback and Recording scores and their respective sub-scores. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these audio quality sub-scores and explain what they mean for the user.

Playback

Timbre

OnePlus 7 Pro

61

77

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Timbre tests measure how well a phone reproduces sound across the audible tonal range, including bass, midrange, and treble. Overall, the 7 Pro does a good job of accurately reproducing tones and keeping them in balance across the full tested range, giving it a Timbre sub-score of 61. As you can see from the frequency response chart below, though, bass response is weak. There can also be disturbing high-frequency resonances at maximum volume.

Music playback frequency response

Dynamics

OnePlus 7 Pro

65

75

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Dynamics tests measure how well a device reproduces the energy level of a sound source, and how precisely it reproduces bass frequencies. With a Dynamics sub-score of 65, the 7 Pro achieves one of the higher scores we’ve seen for this category. Sound dynamics are best for movies and music, but not quite as strong for gaming audio. In general, bass is the 7 Pro’s major weakness here, including an issue when bass becomes sloppy at high volumes due to a lag in compression response.

Spatial

OnePlus 7 Pro

67

75

Apple iPhone XS Max

Our Spatial tests measure how well a device accurately portrays the original location of instruments or other sound sources used in a recording. The 7 Pro does a good job of placing sound sources overall, balancing them between locations and accurately representing their distance. When playing audio tracks with a lot of bass, however, the asymmetric speaker placement can lead to uncentered audio and a sloppy sound stage rendering, although the 7 Pro did an excellent job of reproducing a good sound stage for classical music.

Good spatial balance in most scenarios
Poor spatial wideness

However, the sound stage has little width and locating audio sources is difficult when holding the device in portrait mode. The 7 Pro would benefit from specific tuning of audio playback for portrait mode.

Volume

OnePlus 7 Pro

65

77

Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max

Our Volume tests measure both the overall loudness a device is able to reproduce and how smoothly volume increases and decreases based on user input. The 7 Pro does a good job of smoothly changing volume levels, although some may feel that it has too many discrete volume steps. It performs particularly well at low volumes, with accurate volume steps, although its minimum volume is perceptually too loud. Maximum volume performance is not as strong as that of other flagship phones we’ve tested.

You can see the effect of the range of volume settings in this chart showing the actual loudness (acoustic power) generated for each of the device’s volume steps. Note the high loudness level of the minimum volume setting:

We carried out objective measurements in our laboratories using recordings of both hip-hop and classical music played at the maximum user volume step:

Hip-Hop Classical
74.9 dBA 71.4 dBA

Artifacts

OnePlus 7 Pro

84

88

Honor 20 Pro

Our Artifacts tests measure how much source audio is distorted when played back through a device’s speakers. Distortion can occur both because of sound processing in the device and because of the quality of the speakers. The 7 Pro does a good job of limiting distortion, helping it achieve a very good Artifacts sub-score of 84. Some tracks demonstrate volume pumping, which detracts from the phone’s score here, but most of the audible artifacts occur because of bass distortion that can be annoying at high volume. The 7 Pro’s clever speaker positioning helps it avoid occlusion artifacts, as it is less likely that holding the phone with one’s hand will cover the speakers.

Distortion is well controlled on audio playback.

Recording

Timbre

OnePlus 7 Pro

64

81

Samsung Galaxy S10+

The 7 Pro doesn’t do a particularly good job of accurately preserving the tonal range of audio sources. Mid-range tones can sound metallic, especially voices when using the recording app, and bass tones are lacking. Selfie video recordings suffer from audible resonances that are distracting.

You can see in this graph the inconsistent treble response when recording, along with the lack of low-frequency bass:

Life video frequency response

Dynamics

OnePlus 7 Pro

63

68

Samsung Galaxy S10+

The 7 Pro does a reasonable job of accurately preserving the energy levels of both music and voice when recording, earning it mid-pack Dynamics sub-score of 63. The speaker’s voice envelope is well preserved when recording memos, but the phone’s performance is hampered in other situations because it alters energetic sounds, which come across as unnatural due to aggressive volume compression. The problem is worse when recording a concert with electronic instruments.

Spatial

OnePlus 7 Pro

43

68

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Spatial sub-score measures how well a device creates a recording that allows a listener to accurately place sound sources within the real-world soundscape. The 7 Pro does a relatively weak job here, with a Spatial sub-score of 43 that is below most of the other phones we’ve tested.

The 7 Pro’s low Localizability and Wideness sub-scores are attributable to the single-channel recording it uses in all tested modes except for video recording with the main camera, which is in stereo. When recording video, voices tend to be imprecise and sound too far away. The device performs better when recording meetings, where voices typically originate from a variety of places in the room.

Poor spatial localizability
Poor spatial directivity

Volume

OnePlus 7 Pro

73

76

Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max

Recording volume is something of a bright spot for the 7 Pro, which achieved a Volume sub-score of 73. Maximum loudness is particularly good, thanks in large part to the phone’s aggressive compression, which reduces the risk of distortion at high volumes. By contrast, however, recording levels in the Memo app tended to be too low. Here are our test results, measured in LUFS (Loudness Unit Full Scale); note that results lower than –24 are unacceptable.

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-28.2 LUFS -16.3 LUFS -15.1 LUFS -23.6 LUFS

Artifacts

OnePlus 7 Pro

47

82

Asus ROG Phone II

Audio recorded with the 7 Pro suffers from a variety of artifacts in every scenario we tested other than memo recording. We often heard volume pumping along with audible distortion when recording voices. Compression is too aggressive, especially in Selfie mode.

You can hear some of the artifacts for yourself in this sample recording:

One positive thing is that the 7 Pro was able to record appropriately even when the user accidentally placed a hand over the area of the microphone, which on some other smartphones causes occlusion (a drop in overall sound).

Occlusion artifacts are well controlled.

Background

OnePlus 7 Pro

27

58

Apple iPhone XS Max

Sound recording professionals often use highly-directional microphones to isolate sound sources and keep out background noise. Smartphones, however, rely on the same small microphones for everything, so suppressing background noise also relies heavily on the device’s audio processing. The 7 Pro does very poorly in this area, failing to render background sound well. Background noises are distorted and sound unnatural; there is also a disturbing effect caused by the automatic volume (gain) control that frequently alters the background volume from one second to the next, depending on the voice content. When background noise levels are low, they are sometimes more quiet than they should be.

Background sounds are distorted.

Conclusion

The OnePlus 7 Pro puts in a generally solid performance for playing most types of audio, especially movies and music. Lack of bass power is a problem, despite the device’s reasonable overall volume. Its performance when recording audio is not nearly as strong, and is hampered by very audible artifacts that especially affect background sounds and voices.

Playback

Pros

  • Decent overall playback performance
  • Relatively few artifacts
  • Speaker positioning mostly avoids hand occlusion

Cons

  • Lack of bass affects timbre and dynamics
  • Asymmetric speaker placement affects spatial performance

Recording

Pros

  • Decent overall recording performance
  • Can record loud scenes without distortion

Cons

  • Voices often sound metallic
  • Compression is too aggressive, lowering voice quality
  • Too much distortion of both voices and background sounds

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.