三星Galaxy S10+音频评测

65
audio

三星于今年早些时候推出了旗舰手机Galaxy S10+,其排名在三星手机阵容中仅落后于更新的S10 5GNote 10+。它采用6.4英寸AMOLED显示屏,成本和尺寸介于S10S10 5G之间。作为一款高端手机,它具有可靠的音频规格,包括使用专用麦克风的有源消声技术,其音频调试由AKG完成。

我们将S10+放入DXOMARK Audio一系列严格测试中,使用内置麦克风录音,并通过内置扬声器播放音频,以测量其性能。在本评测中,我们将仔细分析它在各种测试和几种常见使用场景中的表现。

音频规格:

  • 立体声扬声器位于手机的顶部和底部
  • 使用专用麦克风的有源消声技术
  • 支持杜比全景声(Dolby Atmos),包括杜比数字+(Dolby Digital and Plus)
  • AKG音频调试
  • 高AOP(声学过载点)麦克风

关于DXOMARK Audio测试:为了在我们的智能手机音频评测中进行评分和分析,DXOMARK工程师执行了各种客观测试,以及在受控的实验室条件下进行了20多个小时的感知评估。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果。请注意,我们仅使用设备的内置硬件和默认应用来评测播放和录制性能(了解更多扬声器播放质量评测基准请点击这里;了解更多音频录制质量评测基准请点击这里

测试摘要

65
audio
65
playback
65
recording

总体而言,S10+的得分与我们迄今测试过的其他安卓手机相当,总体音频得分为65分。尽管它明显落后于华为Mate 20X 的75分,但它远远领先于索尼Xperia 1(44分)和荣耀20 Pro(53分)。令人印象深刻的是,它的得分几乎与较大、较新的三星Note 10+的总得分(66分)相当。但是,它的得分远低于苹果iPhone XS Max的总体得分(74分),并且所有测试项目中的得分都比苹果最新的旗舰手机iPhone 11 Pro Max低。

仔细分析其总体得分,S10+的65分说明了其声音再现在我们所有的测试中都相当一致,相当接近Note 10+,领先于我们测试过的大多数其他安卓手机,但落后于苹果的旗舰产品。在我们整个测量的音调范围内,它的频率响应相当平整而准确。它还可以很好地表现音频源的声场(空间感),但在该测试项目中仍落后于iPhone XS Max ;反观荣耀20 Pro和索尼Xperia 1在这方面的表现很差。

S10+的力度得分(显示高能音频的能力)比Note 10+低3分,因此该款体型较大的手机是喜欢具有高能电影原声或相似属性的音乐的人的更好选择。此外,如果要强调这方面差异,S10+也缺少低音功能。降噪表现在总体上非常出色,但是在激活后会产生轻微的嘶嘶声。

DXOMARK测试三星Galaxy S10+多媒体音频播放性能

总体而言,这些质量指标意味着S10+在播放音乐时的性能要比播放高能电影原声时要好一些;玩游戏时,如果游戏内有多种声音的话,它也还有一些需要改进的地方。

在录音方面,S10+得到了65分,在我们所有测试过的用例中提供了相当均衡的音频质量,包括音乐、以后置和自拍摄像头录制的视频、在会议室内录制的音频以及口述备忘录等等。

就特定的录音质量指标而言,在我们迄今测试过的手机中,S10+具有最高质量的音调再现,音色得分为81分,高于iPhone XS Max 1分,其得分甚至比我们测试过的其他安卓手机高出了好几分。S10+也适当地呈现了背景噪音,它也理所应当的在背景得分中取得52分。但是,S10+不能像我们测试过的其他某些手机那样出色地隔离录制对象的声音与背景。

遗憾的是,S10+的录音音量也不足,在音量方面的得分是我们迄今测试过的首批手机中最低的(45分)。它在高音量下还会出现一些抽气效应(人为的音量提高和降低,通常与压缩有关)。如果您可以忍受音量较小的录音,S10+会是绝好的选择。

各项测试分数说明

在DXOMARK Audio测试中,三星Galaxy S10+的总体得分为65分,此得分来自播放和录制得分以及这两个类别下各个测试项目的得分。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的音频质量的评分,并分析这些得分对用户的意义。

播放

音色

Samsung Galaxy S10+

60

我们的音色项目的评分可衡量手机在低音、中音和高音的所有可听音调范围内再现声音的能力。总体而言,S10+在整个测试范围内可以很好地再现准确的音色,因此它在音色测试项目中的得分为60分。但是,从下面的频率响应表中可以看到,它的低音音调稍弱,而原始音频的更高频率部分实际上却被扩大了,尤其是在柔和的音量下更是如此。

音乐播放频率响应曲线

扬声器的位置也会影响音调再现。底部扬声器产生的低音不及顶部扬声器产生的低音,这又为该手机增加了一个低音再现的问题。总体而言,S10+在观看电影时会表现出最佳的音调(如果您不在乎微弱的低音的话),因为它在音乐方面有相当坚实的表现,尤其是横向放置时。其表现最弱的用例是游戏,因为在这里,音调再现在很大程度上取决于音量,并且总体上比其他应用程序更差。

力度

Samsung Galaxy S10+

61

我们的力度得分表示手机再现声音源的能量水平的能力以及再现低音频率的精度。在我们测试过的手机中,S10+的力度得分为61分,表现居中。它在播放影片时的表现不错,但是由于缺少低音精度,在游戏音频测试场景中的得分也较差,从而拉低了分数。

空间感

Samsung Galaxy S10+

63

我们的空间感测试可衡量手机准确呈现录音中的乐器或其他声源的原始位置的能力。S10+在呈现声源位置方面大体上做得很好,包括在不同的位置之间达成平衡并准确呈现其距离。但在声场的宽广度和让听众为声源定位的方面,它的表现有点弱,在聆听含有大量动作的电影配乐或管弦乐队等大型乐队所演奏的音乐时,这可能会成为一大问题。举例而言,在下面的图形中,您可以看到缺乏宽广度如何限制声源位置的再现,以及如何折损电影和表演的重现:

空间宽广度良好
空间宽广度差

一如音调响应,S10+的空间感表现在横向上要好得多。其声场宽度很小,纵向握持手机时,定位音频源非常困难,但横向握持手机以及聆听摇滚音乐时,声源定位的表现是最好的。电影配乐的表现也相当不错,不过它们的声场宽度(宽广度)不足。游戏音频的声音状态还算合理,但扬声器之间的平衡有些弱。

音量

Samsung Galaxy S10+

66

我们的音量测试不仅测量手机能够播放的整体响度,而且还测量手机根据用户输入增加和减少音量的流畅程度。S10+在大多数使用情况下均能流畅地改变音量高低,并产生足够响亮的输出,它的音量测试得分为66分——排名在在我们测试过的设备中间位置。您可以在此图表中看到音量水平的一致性,此图表显示该手机的每个音量刻度产生的实际响度(声功率):

音乐音量一致性
Hip-Hop Classical
74.3 dBA 70.8 dBA

音损

Samsung Galaxy S10+

82

我们的音损分数可衡量手机扬声器回放

源音频时的失真程度。失真可能是由于手机中的声音处理以及扬声器的质量引起的。就S10+而言,它在限制失真方面做得很好,因此在音损方面拿下了82分,表现令人称许。

失真得到良好控制

录制

音色

Samsung Galaxy S10+

81

总体而言,S10+在整个测试范围内非常准确地录制了20Hz到20kHz范围的所有频率,因此它在音色测试项目中的得分为81分,在我们测试过的所有手机中拿下了最高分81分,比苹果iPhone XS Max高出一分,比新的Note 10+高出13分。

但是,将视频应用程序与主摄像头配合使用时,该手机对较高音调的响应会出现一些特定频率的陷波,从而影响其准确录制音乐的能力。使用备忘录应用在嘈杂的环境中录制会议时,高频(高音)会有所衰减。在我们的音乐会录音测试中,低音的强劲再现可以弥补这一问题。在录制视频和备忘录时,音调平衡的表现大体来说是最好的。这这个录制曲线图中,你可以看到几乎平坦的音调响应以及在较高频率下的轻微损失:

自拍视频频率响应曲线

力度

Samsung Galaxy S10+

68

S10+在录音时可以非常准确地保持音乐和语音的能量水平,是我们迄今测试过的所有手机中“力度”得分最高(68分)的手机与Mate 20X在这项测试上并列最高分。特别是将它放在音频源附近时,可获得很好的信噪比(SNR)。S10+在保持音频源声音包络的保真度方面也做得很好。

空间感

Samsung Galaxy S10+

53

我们的空间感分数可衡量手机录音是否能够使听众准确地将声源放置在原来所在的实际位置上,而S10+在这方面的表现并没有特别好。它的空间感得分为53分,与iPhone XS Max同分,但落后于荣耀20 Pro(57分),Mate 20 X(68分)索尼Xperia 1(60分)和iPhone 11 Pro Max(54分)。

它的分数相对较低,部分原因在于使用自拍摄像头进行录制时,其音景宽广度(宽广度)的再现特别差。录制会议时,S10+在扬声器定位方面的表现也不好。我们将使听众听到声音位置的能力称为“可定位性”,此比较图中对此进行了说明:

空间定位能力差
适当的空间定位

音量

Samsung Galaxy S10+

45

录音音量是S10+明显的弱点。虽然其录音的响度总体上大约是普通水平,但它的音量得分相对较低(45分),部分原因在于以高音量录音时会产生不必要的噪音。
下图是我们的测试结果,测量单位是LUFS (满量程响度单位) ; 值得注意的是低于-24 LUFS的结果是不可接受的。

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-27.1 LUFS -19.2 LUFS -17.9 LUFS -22.5 LUFS

音损

Samsung Galaxy S10+

61

S10+录制的音频存在不同种类的音损,特别是在高音量下。所以我们给了它一个较低的音损得分(61分),落后于大多数我们测试过的设备。您可以在以下录音小样中听到一些音损:

值得注意的是,当用户不小心将手放在麦克风区域上时,S10+的录音效果不会很差,但是在其他手机上会造成遮挡(整体声音下降)。S10+在暂停后恢复视频录制时也确实存在延迟。

Occlusion artifacts are well-controlled.

背景

Samsung Galaxy S10+

52

专业的录音设备经常使用高方向性的麦克风来隔离声源并防止背景噪声的出现。但是,智能手机的所有功能都依赖于同一个小型麦克风,因此,抑制背景噪声也非常依赖于手机的音频处理。S10+达到了这项测试的平均水平,这是由于它可以清晰地呈现背景声音,具有良好的音调平衡并且几乎没有音损。

但是,它的方向性确实很差——例如,它很难让您在自拍视频的背景上清楚地听到自己的声音。

背景音损得到良好控制
背景方向性很差

结论:出色的音频手机

在大多数情况下,三星Galaxy S10+ 在录制和播放音频方面总体性能表现良好。对于某些人来说,低音功率不足可能是个问题,尤其是在设备整体音量相对较低的情况下。但在我们的测试中,良好的声场和强劲且非常平衡的录制性能弥补了这些缺点。

播放

优点

  • 整体表现良好
  • 不错的空间感

不足

  • 低音功率不足
  • 整体响度不足
  • 游戏表现相对较差

录制

优点

  • 平整的频率响应
  • 准确的音调呈现
  • 良好的整体空间感
  • 音损不多
  • 非常适合于录制自拍视频、会议或备忘录

不足

  • 缺乏低音
  • 在某些录音上有轻微的抽气效应
  • 方向性差

Samsung Galaxy S10+ Audio review

Reading Time: 10 min read
65
audio

Introduced earlier this year as Samsung’s flagship phone, the Galaxy S10+ sits behind only the newer S10 5G and Note 10+ in Samsung’s lineup, with its 6.4-inch AMOLED display placing it between the S10 and S10 5G in terms of cost and size. As befits a high-end device, it has solid audio specs, including active noise cancellation with a dedicated microphone and audio tuning by AKG.

We put the S10+ through our rigorous DXOMARK Audio test suite to measure its performance both at recording sound using its built-in microphones and at playing audio back through its built-in speakers. In this review, we’ll break down how it fared in a variety of tests and in several common use cases.

Audio specifications:

  • Stereo speakers located at top and bottom of the phone
  • Active noise cancellation with dedicated microphone
  • Dolby Atmos support, including Dolby Digital and Plus
  • Audio tuned by AKG
  • High AOP (Acoustic Overload Point) mic

About DXOMARK Audio tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone audio reviews, DXOMARK engineers perform a variety of objective tests and undertake more than 20 hours of perceptual evaluation under controlled lab conditions. This article highlights the most important results of our testing. Note that we evaluate both Playback and Recording using only the device’s built-in hardware and default apps. (For more details about our Playback protocol, click here; for more details about our Recording protocol, click here.)

Test summary

65
audio
65
playback
65
recording

The Samsung Galaxy S10+ scored well overall compared to the other Android phones we have tested so far, with an Overall Audio score of 65. That puts it well ahead of the Sony Xperia 1 at 45 and the Honor 20 Pro at 53, although significantly behind the Huawei Mate 20 X’s 75. Impressively, it nearly matches the Overall score of 66 the larger and newer Samsung Note 10+. However, it was definitely below the Apple iPhone XS Max’s score of 74, and weaker across the board than Apple’s newest flagship phone, the iPhone 11 Pro Max.

Breaking down the Overall score, the S10+’s Playback score of 65 indicates that sound reproduction is fairly consistent across all our tests. Frequency response is fairly flat and accurate across our entire measured tonal range. It also does a good job of representing the sound stage (Spatial attribute) of audio sources, though the S10+ doesn’t do as well as the iPhone XS Max in this category.

The S10+’s Dynamic score, an indication of how well it renders high-energy audio, is 3 points lower than the Note 10+’s, making the latter phone a better choice for those who value movies with high-energy sound tracks or music with similar attributes. Amplifying this disparity, the S10+ is also a little lacking in bass power. Noise cancellation is excellent overall, but can result in a slight hissing noise when activated.

The Samsung Galaxy S10+ by DXOMARK for multimedia audio playback performance.

Generally speaking, these attributes mean that the S10+ performs slightly better when playing music than when watching movies with high-energy sound tracks, and leaves something to be desired when playing games that feature varied in-game sounds.

Its Recording score of 65 means that the S10+ provides a fairly-balanced audio quality across all our tested use cases, including music, videos with the rear and selfie cameras, audio from a meeting room, and dictating a memo.

In terms of specific recording attributes, the S10+ has the highest-quality tonal reproduction of the devices we have tested to date, with a Timbre score of 81—a point ahead of the iPhone XS Max and ahead of the other Android devices we have tested. It also appropriately renders background noises, giving the S10+ a reasonable Background sub-score of 52. However, the S10+ isn’t as good at isolating the subject being recorded from the background as some of the other phones we’ve tested.

Unfortunately, the S10+ is lacking in recording volume, with by far the lowest Volume sub-score (45) of the first set of devices we have tested so far. There is also some pumping (artificial volume increases and decreases often related to compression) at high volumes. But in short, if you can live with quiet recordings, the S10+ is an excellent option.

Sub-scores explained

The DXOMARK Audio overall score of 65 for the Samsung Galaxy S10+ is derived from the Playback and Recording scores and their respective sub-scores. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these audio quality sub-scores and explain what they mean for the user.

Playback

Timbre

Samsung Galaxy S10+

60

77

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Timbre tests measure how well a phone reproduces sound across the audible tonal range, including bass, midrange, and treble. Overall, the S10+ does a good job of accurately reproducing tones across the full tested range, giving it a Timbre sub-score of 60. As you can see from the chart of frequency response below, though, bass tones are a little weak, while higher frequencies are actually amplified compared to the original audio, especially at soft volumes.

Music playback frequency response

Speaker placement also impacts tonal reproduction. The bottom speaker doesn’t produce as much bass as the top speaker, adding to the device’s issues with bass reproduction. The S10+ is generally at its best tonally when watching a movie, if you can live with the weak bass. It does a solid job on music, especially if placed in landscape orientation. Its weakest use case is gaming, where tonal reproduction is heavily volume-dependent and worse than in other applications.

Dynamics

Samsung Galaxy S10+

61

75

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Dynamics tests measure how well a device reproduces the energy level of a sound source, and how precisely it reproduces bass frequencies. The S10+’s Dynamic score of 61 places it in the middle of the pack. Performance was good when playing movie clips, but its score was pulled down by a lack of bass precision, and a poor score in our gaming audio test scenarios.

Spatial

Samsung Galaxy S10+

63

75

Apple iPhone XS Max

Our Spatial tests measure how well a device accurately portrays the original location of instruments or other sound sources used in a recording. The S10+ does a good job of placing sound sources overall, including balancing them between locations and accurately representing their distance. It is a little weaker at providing a wide sound stage (wideness) or allowing a listener to localize sound sources. This could be an issue when listening to movie soundtracks with a lot of action, or to music played by a large group such as an orchestra.

Good spatial balance
Poor spatial wideness

As with its tonal response, the Spatial performance of the S10+ is much stronger in landscape orientation, particularly when listening to rock music. The sound stage has little width and locating audio sources is very difficult when the device is held in portrait mode. It also does fairly well with movie soundtracks, although they are somewhat lacking in wideness. Gaming audio has a reasonable sound state, but is a little weak on balance between the speakers.

Volume

Samsung Galaxy S10+

66

77

Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max

Our Volume tests measure both the overall loudness a device is able to reproduce and how smoothly volume increases and decreases based on user input. The S10+ does a good job of smoothly changing volume levels and producing sufficiently loud output for most use cases, giving it a Volume sub-score of 66, placing it in the middle of the pack of devices we have tested so far. You can see the effect of the range of volume settings in this chart showing the actual loudness (acoustic power) generated for each of the device’s volume steps:

We carried out objective measurements in our laboratories on recordings of both hip-hop and classical music played at the maximum user volume step.

Hip-Hop Classical
74.3 dBA 70.8 dBA

Artifacts

Samsung Galaxy S10+

82

88

Honor 20 Pro

Our Artifacts tests measure how much source audio is distorted when played back through a device’s speakers. Distortion can occur both because of sound processing in the device and because of the quality of the speakers. In the case of the S10+, it does a good job overall of limiting distortion, helping it achieve a very respectable Artifact sub-score of 82.

Distortion is well controlled.

Recording

Timbre

Samsung Galaxy S10+

81

Highest Score

The S10+ does an excellent job overall of accurately recording frequencies across our entire measured tonal range of 20Hz to 20kHz, giving it a Timbre sub-score of 81. That’s the highest of any device we have tested, besting the Apple iPhone XS Max by one point and putting it 13 points ahead of the newer Note 10+.

Using the Video app with the main camera, however, there are some frequency-specific gaps in its response to higher tones, impacting its ability to accurately record music. There is some falloff in high frequencies (treble) when using the memo app to record a meeting in a noisy environment. Offsetting that is very strong bass reproduction in our concert recording tests. Tonal balance was best overall when capturing video and when recording memos. You can see the mostly flat tonal response when recording in this graph, along with the slight loss in higher frequencies:

Life video frequency response

Dynamics

Samsung Galaxy S10+

68

Highest Score

The S10+ does an excellent job of accurately preserving the energy levels of both music and voice when recording, earning it one of the highest Dynamics sub-scores for any phone we have tested so far, tied by only the Mate 20 X. In particular, it has a good signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) when placed close to the audio source. The S10+ also does well at preserving the fidelity of the sound envelopes of audio sources.

Spatial

Samsung Galaxy S10+

53

68

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Spatial sub-score measures how well a device creates a recording that allows a listener to accurately place sound sources within the real-world soundscape. The S10+ doesn’t do a particularly good job here. Its Spatial sub-score of 53 is tied with the iPhone XS Max, but behind the Honor 20 Pro (57), the Mate 20 X (68), the Sony Xperia 1 (60), and the iPhone 11 Pro Max (54).

The relatively low score is due in part to particularly poor recreation of the width of a soundscape (directivity) when the selfie camera makes recordings. The S10+ also doesn’t do a good job of placing speakers when used to record meetings. We refer to the ability to hear where a sound should be coming from as “localizability,” which is illustrated in this comparison graphic:

Poor spatial localizability
Poor spatial directivity

Volume

Samsung Galaxy S10+

45

76

Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max

Recording volume is a definite weak spot for the S10+. While the loudness of its recordings is about average overall, it gets a relatively low Volume sub-score of 45 in part because of unwanted noise when recording at high volumes. Here are our test results, measured in LUFS (loudness unit full scale); note that results lower than –24 are unacceptable.

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-27.1 LUFS -19.2 LUFS -17.9 LUFS -22.5 LUFS

Artifacts

Samsung Galaxy S10+

61

70

Huawei Mate 20 X

Audio recorded with the S10+ suffers from a variety of artifacts, especially at high volumes—giving it one of our lower Artifact sub-scores of 61, behind most of the other phones we’ve tested. You can hear some of the artifacts for yourself in this sample recording:

It is worth noting that the S10+ did not suffer from poor recording when the user accidentally placed a hand over the area of the microphone, which on some other smartphones caused occlusion (a drop in overall sound). It did suffer from a delay when resuming a video recording after a pause.

Occlusion artifacts are well-controlled.

Background

Samsung Galaxy S10+

52

58

Apple iPhone XS Max

With professional recording equipment, highly-directional microphones are often used to isolate sound sources and keep out background noise. Smartphones, however, rely on the same small microphones for everything, so suppressing background noise also relies heavily on the device’s audio processing. The S10+ achieves an average score for this attribute, rendering background sounds fairly cleanly, with good tonal balance and few artifacts.

This said, the S10+ suffers from poor directivity—meaning that it doesn’t do as well as it could at letting you hear yourself clearly over the background noise in a selfie video, for example.

Background artifacts are well-controlled.

Conclusion: Excellent option for audio

The Samsung Galaxy S10+ puts in an overall solid performance for both recording and playing back audio in most use cases. A lack of bass power may be a problem for some, especially when coupled with the device’s relative lack of overall volume. Those weaknesses are countered by a good sound stage and a strong and very balanced recording performance in our tests.

Playback

Pros

  • Good overall performance
  • Decent spatialization

Cons

  • Lack of bass power
  • Lack of overall loudness
  • Relatively poor gaming performance

Recording

Pros

  • Flat frequency response
  • Accurate tonal rendering
  • Good overall spatial performance
  • Few artifacts
  • Excellent for recording meetings or memos

Cons

  • Lack of bass
  • Slight pumping effect on some recordings
  • Poor directivity

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.