索尼 A7R IV 的最佳镜头组合

2019年11月,我们发布了索尼A7R IV传感器评测,该索尼传感器取得了极好的成绩(99分),在我们的传感器排行榜中稳坐前10名的宝座。在本文中,我们使用索尼A7R IV传感器的测试数据重新计算了25款与该索尼相机兼容的E卡口镜头的成绩,因此,现在您浏览我们的镜头数据库时,可以选择索尼A7R IV作为相机选项作为结果比对的依据。

该镜头清单包括索尼和卡尔蔡司的定焦和变焦镜头,其焦距介于21到400mm之间。在以下各节中,我们将镜头分类为定焦镜头和变焦镜头,然后再将其细分为广角镜头、标准镜头和长焦镜头。希望这可以让您更好地了解A7RIV搭配哪种镜头可以获得最好的效果,并帮助您找到适合于您的特定摄影风格或项目的合适型号。

定焦镜头

我们根据索尼A7RIV传感器测试结果更新了15款定焦镜头的评测。其中表现最佳的镜头是索尼FE卡尔蔡司Sonnar T* 55mm F1.8 ZA,和索尼FE 85mm F1.4 GM,两者均获得了49分,表现非常优异。不过,其他镜头也表现出色,都是搭配A7R IV的理想选择。现在,让我们来看看各种镜头的测试结果。

广角定焦镜头

我们在这个类别提供了5个镜头,其价格从450美元到1600美元不等,包括21mm卡尔蔡司洛夏镜头。可以理解的是,该镜头不在我们将在本文中深入探讨的最佳三大型号之列;不过它的峰值清晰度与这些镜头几乎不相上下,因此也是一款值得考虑的镜头。此外,虽然索尼蔡司35mm F2.8在本对比中敬陪末坐,但仍然是一款表现出色的镜头,不过对于一款F2.8镜头而言,其价格并不便宜(800美元)。

最佳全能型镜头——1299美元的卡尔蔡司Batis 25mm F2在DXOMARK测试中得分最高,以一分之差险胜1600美元的索尼蔡司Distagon FE 35mm F1.4,两者性能相去不远。第三名是索尼FE 28mm F2,价格仅450美元,就此价格而言,该镜头的表现算是非常不错。但一如既往,我们要在不同光圈下研究一下它的性能。

光圈全开时,索尼蔡司Distagon FE 35mm F1.4的清晰度并不十分出色,至少在画面中央(以像场位置0%表示)就是如此。从好的方面来说,它的整个像场的清晰度一致,直到角落都是如此,但对于这样的现代镜头而言,我们会期待它拍出更清晰的图像。在F2(如上面的锐度资料所示)上,索尼蔡司Distagon FE 35mm F1.4的中央清晰度非常高,但仍比不上视角较宽的25mm Batis。该镜头在其初始光圈下所拍出的中央清晰度和角落清晰度也都很高。而令人惊讶的是,索尼28 mm在F2上的中央清晰度几乎和35mm镜头的中央清晰度一样,不过,它在角落处的清晰度就有点下降了。在F5.6-F8的整体清晰度最好,但该35mm镜头在F5.6上拍出了一些像散,这在图像中也许会很明显。不过它在F8时就没有这个问题了,此时这三款镜头的清晰度几乎没有任何区别。

除了清晰度之外,该蔡司Batis镜头在其他方面也表现出色,因此在这类别中取得最高的DXOMARK得分。尽管在这五款镜头中,它的晕影最明显,在最大光圈下,在角落处最多可测到-2.5个档位,但畸变却不多。实际上,在我们的测试中,它的晕影与索尼蔡司35mm差不多,并且明显少于索尼FE 28mm。

Batis的横向色差也是最小的,就连索尼蔡司35mm F1.4的横向色差也比它更大(测得的最大值为8微米),光圈也更大(但非常好),但这仍然比我们预期的要大。索尼28mm F2在我们的测试中表现坚实,但它的峰值横向色差非常大(17微米)。幸好,这一问题实际上只出现在角落处,并且可以在相机上或在软件中以轮廓校正的方式轻松移除。

 

标准定焦镜头

索尼提供了很多标准定焦镜头,其范围涵盖250美元的索尼FE 50mm F1.8到1500美元的索尼蔡司50mm F1.4。在这些镜头中有一款不同品牌的镜头——蔡司洛夏2/50,其价格为950美元,其成绩位居第二,但这款镜头仅能手动对焦,从而降低了该镜头的吸引力。位居第四和第五名的索尼FE 50mm F2.8 Macro和索尼FE 50mm F1.8在价格上是相当亲民的,性能也非常好,不过后者在A7R IV上的峰值清晰度比我们期望的要低了些。

如果一直以来,您都在关注我们的索尼FE卡口镜头评测,那么在本节中看到索尼蔡司55mm F1.8 ZA的表现领先其他镜头,您并不会感到意外,因为这是一款极为出色的镜头。排在第二位的是蔡司洛夏2/50。除了仅能手动对焦之外,此镜头在性能上也有很多相似之处,不过其总体清晰度比索尼蔡司55mm F1.8稍微逊色些。尽管索尼蔡司50mm F1.4具有出色的清晰度,其总体得分在DXOMARK中排名第三,但其T1.8的透射率和极严重的晕影效果令人失望。一如往常,我们将仔细研究整个像场的清晰度(锐度分布)。

打开光圈时,蔡司洛夏2/50在整个像场中的表现最佳,不过索尼蔡司55mm F1.8 ZA的表现最为稳定,直到角落都是如此。索尼蔡司50mm F1.4在F2的中央清晰度极高,高于洛夏2/50和索尼蔡司55mm F1.8 ZA(如上所示)在F2时的清晰度,但角落处的清晰度下降到类似于55mm的水平。

在F2.8时,整个画面都具有出色的清晰度,这也是您花钱买来的质量。尽管索尼蔡司55mm F1.8 ZA的表现与其最为接近,但这两款镜头都无法与之匹敌。在F2.8时,洛夏镜头的画面中间到角落处出现了明显的像散,不过有时这一问题反而会展现迷人的效果。两台索尼蔡司镜头在F5.6时的整体性能最好,而洛夏向下调一个档位后(F8)即可展现最佳效果,不过像散问题仍然存在。

这三款镜头都可以很好地控制横向色差,特别是索尼蔡司50mm F1.4,因为它的光圈更快。不过,索尼蔡司50mm F1.4的图像中心和画面中间几乎不存在横向色差,而且不出所料的是,在光圈全开时,它的表现确实比其他镜头要好一些。因此您会预期,越往角落,它的横向色差就会越糟,但事实上它将角落的横向色差控制得与其他两台镜头一样好。不过,该镜头的透射率比不上其他镜头,其速度与55mm几乎相同(分别为T1.8与T1.9),在光圈全开时也出现了更多晕影。平心而论,它的晕影较多是预料之中的事,当然,随着光圈档位逐渐降低,晕影也会逐渐减少。即使如此,晕影在它的光圈范围内总是持续存在,并没有完全消失。

远摄定焦镜头

作为首先在市场上推出全画幅无反光镜相机的品牌,索尼也开发了一系列令人印象深刻的短焦定焦镜头,非常适合于拍摄人像和室内运动。它还推出了卓然出色的微距镜头,可以兼作人像镜头,在需要拍摄特写镜头时尤其如此。索尼还有一些创新的超级远摄镜头,不过我们尚未在A7R IV上对其进行评鉴。在这个类别中,我们提供了五款镜头,除了平价亲民的索尼FE 85mm F1.8之外,其余镜头都非常昂贵,价格都在1000美元以上——的确,FE 85mm F1.4的定价为1800美元(上市价格)。

这样的价格应该会让您对它的表现期望很高,而事实上,它的表现确实很好。在这五款镜头中,它的DXOMARK得分是最高的,并且它将畸变校正得很好,几乎难以察觉,晕影不多,而横向色差也得到了很好的校正,清晰度也非常好。但令人惊讶的是,平价的索尼FE 85mm F1.8的峰值清晰度竟然比F1.4略高(分别为55与47 P-Mpix),不过这在一定程度上是由于较快的镜头的像散造成的。尽管如此,索尼FE 85mm F1.8的清晰度也比第三名蔡司Batis 85mm F1.8略高一些。

平心而论,这三款镜头的清晰度特征都非常相似,仅有一些细微的差异。在F1.4全开光圈下,索尼FE 85mm F1.4 GM的中央清晰度比两款F1.8镜头在F1.8时略低,而Batis画面外缘区域的清晰度则比索尼FE 85mm F1.8稍微更低。

将光圈档位稍微调低到F1.8后,索尼FE 85mm F1.4的表现就很接近其他两款F1.8镜头了,但是在F5.6上,两个F1.8型号的表现就超前了,至少在画面中间就是如此。而索尼FE 85mm F1.8在外缘区域和角落处的表现甚至超过了Batis。考虑到索尼FE 85mm F1.8的价格,就可以了解该镜头的表现究竟有多么出色了。

尽管在光圈全开时,索尼FE 85mm F1.8的畸变和晕影看起来是“最严重”的,但事实上Batis的畸变度是三者中最高的,测得的晕影水平也最高。三款镜头在光圈全开时的横向色差都很低,而两款F1.8镜头在逐渐调低光圈档位时的表现也会逐渐变得比F1.4镜头更好。索尼FE 85mm F1.4也许所费不赀,不过它的GM美名可说当之无愧。如果您不太愿意花那么多钱买镜头,那么索尼的F1.8镜头也是一款出色的全方位镜头。

变焦镜头

广角变焦镜头

全画幅定焦镜头在其他品牌的相机上的表现不错,但变焦就不是如此了,因为变焦镜头过去通常集中在APS-C上,不过适马和腾龙等公司努力争取索尼无反光镜全画幅相机的市场后,这种情况将会有所改变。的确,虽然我们还打算测试索尼潜力极大而价格昂贵(1,800美元)的FE 12-24mm F4G,不过我们数据库中目前只有两个型号而已。但我们已经测试了索尼的两款16-35mm变焦镜头:带有图像稳定器F4蔡司(1,350美元)和F2.8 GM版本(2,200美元)。


在这两款镜头中,索尼FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM是较新的型号,它在镜头焦距范围内的表现出色,从初始光圈开始就可以拍出非常清晰的照片。在我们的测试中,它在F2.8时,在每个焦距上的清晰度都比索尼蔡司16-35mm F4在F4上的清晰度都高,特别是在较长的焦距上更是如此。但这并不意味着索尼蔡司16-35mm F4表现不佳。诚然,F4版本在35mm端的表现有点弱,但是在16mm时,它的中心和角落处都有很好的清晰度,但有些像散(如上图实线和虚线之间的偏差所示)。虽然这也许会让图像看起来更讨喜,但会对总体清晰度产生负面影响。

尽管如此,F4型号在24和28mm上的中心到角落处仍保持了良好的清晰度,但是在整个焦距范围内清晰度会逐渐下降。在光圈全开下,它在35mm上的表现不如索尼FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM在F2.8上的表现(如上图所示),更别提在F4上了。而且即使它在F11时的表现确实与这款更贵的型号非常接近,它的性能绝对比不上后者。

索尼蔡司F4在16mm时的横向色差也很大,但是其横向色差在整个变焦范围内会逐渐变小,在35mm时降到了更易于控制的水平。总体而言,它根本无法媲美索尼FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM的出色性能,但如果您预算有限,它仍然是一个不错的选择。

标准变焦镜头

标准变焦镜头注定是广受公众欢迎的镜头。在索尼推出了2,200美元的专业级FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM之前,在三年左右的时间内,带有图像稳定器的索尼蔡司24-70mm F4 ZA OSS(1200美元),以及价格更亲民的索尼FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS型号(500美元)是当时唯一的选择——至少那是索尼产品的唯一选择。目前我们尚未测试适马和腾龙的最新产品。FE 24-70mm F2.8是首款一级GM型号,DXOMARK得分为32分,它甚至以极小的分数差异险胜索尼蔡司Vario-Tessar 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS(32分对30分)。排在第三位的是FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS,得分为27分。

不出所料的是,最昂贵的型号果然也是性能最好的产品。但一如往常,深入研究一下测试结果也是很值得的。大多数变焦镜头在变焦范围的中间或近端的拍摄效果最佳,而这款镜头也不例外。值得注意的是,FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM的清晰度很高,但我们的测试表明,使用较大的光圈拍摄时,该镜头在整个焦距范围内均会出现像散问题。此外,索尼蔡司24-70mm F4 ZA OSS和带有可变光圈的索尼FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS也没有对它造成威胁。

不过,尽管这三者均表现出较高的中央清晰度,但FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM和索尼蔡司24-70mm F4在其各自的初始光圈处全开时,在24-50mm端上,两者的外缘区域仍然清晰;在70mm端,外缘和角落的清晰度明显低于中心。反观索尼FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6画面中心的清晰度在整个对焦范围内(除了50mm以外)都很高,一如其他两款镜头,但其余区域的清晰度则明显较低。

仅调低一个挡位时,三个镜头的整个像场直到外缘区域的清晰度都有所改进,不过这三个镜头在70mm时的清晰度都较低,边缘的清晰度也相对更低。在这里,从较大的光圈开始对FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM而言是一大优势,不过在F5.6时,它在整个焦距范围内的角对角清晰度都非常高。继续调低档位时,其清晰度仍然很高,反观索尼蔡司的表现则仍然起伏不定,返回到70mm/F11时,外部区域的清晰度变得稍低。

FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM在其他领域的表现也远远胜过索尼蔡司24-70mm F4 ZA OSS和FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS。两者都出现了较严重的筒形和枕形畸变,而使用索尼蔡司24-70mm F4的所有光圈在24mm端拍摄时,均出现了较大的横向色差,光圈全开时的晕影也更严重。在这三款产品中,GM型号无疑是光学质量方面的赢家,但这并不是说索尼蔡司就一文不值,事实上它的性能很好,而FE 28-70mm也有很多值得赞扬的地方。

远摄变焦镜头

我们在这一类别内提供五种镜头,都是索尼镜头,其对焦范围介于24-400mm,而价格则介于1,000和2,600美元。70-200mm和100-400mm F4.6-5.6 G是严肃的发烧友和专业人士的主要选择,而寻找较一般用途的发烧友则会对70-300mm和24-240mm比较感兴趣。

正如我们在其他类别中看到的那样,索尼在设计和制造过程中对GM版本投入了最多精力。2,600美元的FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS在DXOMARK中排名第一,其得分为37分,而1,498美元的70-200 F4 G OSS则位居第二,获得33分。FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 GM OSS排在第三位,价格为2,500美元,其体积与重量均与70-200mm F2.8相当。

从F4开始,两个70-200mm镜头在整个焦距范围内的清晰度特征都大致相似,但是70-200 F2.8版本有非常鲜明的特征,非常吸引人。但是该镜头在F2.8光圈全开时,在200mm端的清晰度比在70mm端要高。这在变焦镜头中相当不寻常,但并非没有潜在的弊端。在光圈全开时,它有明显的像散现象,不过将光圈逐渐缩小时,这一问题也会逐渐变小。

光圈全开时,F2.8版本在200mm端的清晰度也比70-200 F4 G OS还要高,在最大光圈(F5.6)下,在200mm端的表现与100-400mm大致相当。从F4开始,这两款70-200mm镜头都非常清晰,但是光圈全开时,F2.8在70mm端的表现有些弱。不过,考虑到它在其他焦距上所拍出的清晰度,这样的表现并不会太令人失望。100-400mm F4.5-5.6在100mm端比在400mm端清晰一些,不过其始终如一的优异表现令人惊艳。

FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS在200mm端的清晰度很高,但它也有其他缺点:它在200mm端的晕影比F4版本更多,在70mm端的畸变度则更高。它在200mm端的横向色差也比F4型号和FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 GM OSS更大。不过,如果您需要F4的速度,它仍然是一个不错的选择,否则70-200 F4 G OSS仍然是绝佳的选择。如果需要更大的覆盖范围,FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 GM OSS也是出色的选择。

一如往常,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,以进行深入分析。

The best lenses for the Sony A7R IV

Reading Time: 15 min read

In November 2019 we published our Sony A7R IV Sensor review. The Sony scored an excellent 99 points, securing a top-ten position in our Sensor ranking. In this article, we use the data from the A7R IV Sensor tests to recompute the results for a total of 25 Sony-compatible E-mount lenses so that you can now select the Sony A7R IV as a camera option when browsing our lens database and making comparisons.

The list includes prime and zoom lenses from Sony and Carl Zeiss and covers focal lengths from 21 to 400mm. We have separated the primes from the zooms in the following sections and categorized them into wide-angle, standard, and telephoto lenses. Hopefully this will give you a better idea of which lenses work best on the A7RIV and help you find the right model for your specific style of photography or project.

Prime lenses

We updated a total of 15 prime lens reviews using the Sony A7RIV Sensor test results. The best performers are the Sony FE Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* 55mm F1.8 ZA and the Sony FE 85mm F1.4 GM, which both scored an excellent 49 points. However, other lenses did very well, too, making them ideal companions for the A7R IV. Let’s have a look at all the categories.

Wide-angle primes

We have five lenses in this category, with prices ranging from $450 up to $1600. Among those is the 21mm Carl Zeiss Loxia; while understandably not one of the top three best-performing models that we’re going to look at more closely, it easily matches them for peak sharpness, so it shouldn’t be dismissed. And although in last place, the Sony Zeiss 35mm F2.8 is also an excellent performer, though $800 isn’t exactly cheap for a f/2.8 lens.

Per its higher DXOMARK score, the best all-round performer is the $1299 Carl Zeiss Batis 25mm F2, but with only one more point, it is more or less tied with the $1600 Sony Zeiss Distagon FE 35mm F1.4. In third place is the Sony FE 28mm F2. At just $450, it’s a great performer for the price, but as always with lenses, it’s well worth taking a closer look at the performance at different apertures.

Wide open, the Sony Zeiss Distagon isn’t all that strong a performer in terms of sharpness, at least in the center of the frame (indicated by the 0% field position). On the plus side, though, it has consistent sharpness across the field right out to the corners; even so, we expect higher levels on a modern lens like this. At f/2 (shown in the Acutance profiles above), the Distagon has very high central sharpness, but it’s still not on the same level as the wider 25mm Batis, which has very high central sharpness and high corner sharpness as well at its initial aperture. Surprisingly, the Sony 28mm is almost as sharp at f/2 than the 35mm in the center, but It drops off a little in the corners. The best overall performance in terms of sharpness is at f/5.6–f/8, though there’s some astigmatism in the 35mm at f/5.6 that may be noticeable in images. At f/8, however, astigmatism is no longer an issue, and all three share practically indistinguishable profiles in terms of sharpness.

The Zeiss Batis performs exceptionally well in other areas besides sharpness, which is why it has the best DXOMARK score of the group. Although it has the highest and most noticeable vignetting of the five, measured at up to –2.5 stops in the corners at the maximum aperture, distortion is low. Indeed, our tests reveal that it is at the same levels as the Sony Zeiss 35mm and considerably lower than the Sony FE 28mm.

The Batis also has the lowest levels of lateral chromatic aberration (LCA). Even the Sony Zeiss 35mm F1.4 has higher levels of LCA (measured at 8 microns at its highest) at the wider apertures, which although very good, is still a little higher than we expected. The Sony 28mm F2 is a solid performer in our tests, though its peak LCA of 17 microns is quite high. Fortunately that’s really only visible in the corners and would likely be easily removed with profile correction, either in-camera or when using software.

Standard primes

Sony has this category well covered, with lenses ranging from $250 for the Sony FE 50mm F1.8 up to $1500 for the Sony Zeiss 50mm F1.4. There’s one third-party lens at $950—the Zeiss Loxia 2/50, which comes in at second place, but it is manual focus only, which will limit its appeal. The Sony FE 50mm F2.8 Macro and Sony FE 50mm F1.8 in fourth and fifth place respectively are accessibly priced and very good performers, but the latter’s peak sharpness on the A7R IV is a little lower than we had hoped for.

If you’ve been following our Sony FE mount lens reviews, it will come as little surprise to see the Sony Zeiss 55mm F1.8 ZA head this section. It’s an excellent lens. In second place is the Zeiss Loxia 2/50, which apart from its manual focus is similar in many ways in performance, though it’s not quite at the same level as the Sony Zeiss 55mm F1.8 in overall sharpness. Despite being in third place according to its overall DXOMARK score, the Sony Zeiss 50mm F1.4 has outstanding sharpness, but it’s let down by its T1.8 transmission and high vignetting. As usual, we’ll take a closer look at the sharpness (acutance profiles) across the image field:

Best open aperture performance across the field belongs to the Zeiss Loxia 2/50, though the Sony Zeiss 55mm F1.8 ZA is the most consistent out to the corners. The Sony Zeiss 50mm F1.4 has a strong central core of sharpness at f/2, higher than the Loxia 2/50 and the Sony Zeiss 55mm F1.8 ZA at f/2 (shown above), but sharpness in the corners falls off to levels similar to those of the 55mm.

At f/2.8, the Loxia’s sharpness is outstanding right across the frame, which is what you’re paying for. Nether of the other two can match it, though the Sony Zeiss 55mm F1.8 ZA comes closest. The Loxia at f/2.8 has noticeable astigmatism mid-frame to the corners, though that sometimes translates into attractive rendering. The two Sony Zeiss models achieve their best overall performance at f/5.6, while the Loxia’s realizes its best one stop down from that at f/8, though astigmatism persists.

All three have good control of LCA, the Sony Zeiss 50mm F1.4 especially so, given its faster aperture. LCA is nearly always nonexistent in the image center and mid-frame; however, wide open, the Sony Zeiss 50mm F1.4 does have a little more than the others, as you might expect. Even so, it’s as well controlled as the other two in the corners, where you would expect it to become increasingly worse. Where the F1.4 falls behind the others is in transmission—it is almost the same speed as the 55mm (T1.8 vs. T1.9), and it has higher vignetting wide open. To be fair, the higher vignetting is to be expected and of course lessens with stopping down, but it persists through the aperture range and never really goes away.

Telephoto primes

As the first to market full-frame mirrorless cameras, Sony has a developed an impressive range of short telephoto primes that are ideal for portraits and indoor sports. There’s also an outstanding macro, which can serve double duty as a portrait lens, especially when close-ups are required. (Sony also has some innovative super tele-lenses, though we’ve yet to evaluate them on the A7R IV.) We have five lenses in this group, but with the exception of the delightful Sony FE 85mm F1.8, they’re quite pricey at over $1000. Indeed, the FE 85mm F1.4 has an introductory list price of $1800.

At that price you’d expect the FE 85mm F1.4 to perform well, and it does. It has the highest DXOMARK score of the five and is very well corrected, with negligible distortion, low vignetting, and excellent management of LCA. It also has very good sharpness. It is surprising, then, that the accessibly-priced Sony FE 85mm F1.8 has slightly higher peak sharpness than the F1.4 (55 P-Mpix vs. 47), though that is due in part to some astigmatism in the faster lens. Nevertheless, the Sony FE 85mm F1.8 is also a little sharper than the third place Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8.

In fairness, all three have very similar sharpness characteristics, though there are some subtle differences between them. When viewed wide open at f/1.4, the Sony FE 85mm F1.4 GM has slightly lower central sharpness than the two F1.8s at f/1.8, and the Batis has slightly lower sharpness than the Sony FE 85mm F1.8 in the outer zones of the frame.

Stopped down a little to f/1.8, the Sony FE 85mm F1.4 quickly matches the two F1.8s, but by f/5.6 the two F1.8 models just pull ahead—at least in the center; the Sony FE 85mm F1.8 surpasses even the Batis in the outer zones and corners. Given the price of the Sony FE 85mm F1.8, this shows just how good a performer it is.

The Batis has the highest distortion and the highest measured vignetting of the three, although wide open, the Sony FE 85mm F1.8 is visually the heaviest-looking. Lateral chromatic aberration is low for all three wide open, though the F1.8s both have increasingly higher levels than the F1.4 when stopping down. It might be pricey, but the Sony FE 85mm F1.4 is worthy of the GM moniker. If you’re a bit pushed to pay that price, however, Sony’s F1.8 lens is a great all-round performer.

Zoom lenses

Wide-angle zoom lenses

Third-party support is good on full-frame primes, but less so with zooms. Manufacturers have tended to concentrate on APS-C format lenses in the past, though that will change, what with companies like Sigma and Tamron keen to get a slice of Sony’s mirrorless FF share. Indeed, we’ve only two models in our database in this category, though we’ve yet to test to Sony’s promising (if pricey) $1,800 FE 12-24mm F4 G. We have, however, tested both of Sony’s 16-35mm zooms—the stabilized F4 Zeiss at $1350 and the $2,200 F2.8 GM version.


As the newer model of the two, the Sony FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM is an incredibly strong performer through the focal range, and it is very sharp from the initial aperture. From our tests, it’s sharper at f/2.8 than the Sony Zeiss 16-35mm F4 is at f/4 at every focal length, particularly at the longer end of the range. That’s not because the Sony Zeiss 16-35mm F4 is a bad performer in any way; admittedly, it is a bit weak at 35mm, but the F4 version has very good sharpness at 16mm both in the center and the corners, albeit with some astigmatism (shown above as the deviation between solid and dotted lines). While that can add endearing character to images, it negatively affects overall sharpness.

Still, the F4 model retains good sharpness at 24 and 28mm from the centers out to the corners; however, that gradually falls through the focal range. Wide open at 35mm, it’s behind the Sony FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM at f/2.8 let alone at f/4 (shown above) and it never matches the more expensive model’s performance when stopped down, though it does get very close by f/11.

The Sony Zeiss F4 also has quite high levels of lateral chromatic aberration as well at 16mm, but that decreases throughout the zoom range to much more manageable levels at 35mm. Overall, it simply can’t match the outstanding performance of the Sony FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM, but it’s still a solid choice if you’re on a budget.

Standard zoom lenses

Standard zooms are inevitably very popular, but until Sony added the $2,200 pro-oriented FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM, the stabilized Sony Zeiss 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS at $1,200 and the more accessibly-priced $500 Sony FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS models were the only choices. At least that was the only choice from Sony, and we’ve yet to test recent additions from Sigma and Tamron. As a first-tier GM model with a DXOMARK score of 32, the FE 24-70mm F2.8 surpasses even the Sony Zeiss Vario-Tessar 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS, though it’s close (32 vs 30 points). In third place is the FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS with a score of 27 points.

It isn’t really surprising to learn that the most expensive lens is the best performer, but as always, it’s worth a deep dive into the measurements to see what’s what. Most zooms perform best in the center of the zoom range or at the short end and that’s no different here. What’s worth noting is that the FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM has high sharpness, but our tests reveal that it has astigmatism at the wider apertures throughout the focal range. What’s more, the Sony Zeiss 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS and the variable-aperture Sony FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS aren’t immune to it either.

Nevertheless, while all three exhibit higher center sharpness as result, wide open at their respective initial apertures, the FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM and Sony Zeiss 24-70mm F4 remain sharp out into the outer zones from 24-50mm. At 70mm, the outer zones and corners are noticeably behind the center. Like the other two, the Sony FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 is sharp centrally throughout the focal range, but the outer zones are noticeably behind, with the exception of 50mm.

All three lenses improve across the field into the outer zones upon stopping down just one stop, though all three have lower sharpness at 70mm, along with relatively weak edge performance. Starting from a wider aperture gives the FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM an advantage here, though, as it has excellent corner-to-corner sharpness throughout the focal range at f/5.6. It retains high sharpness stopping down further, whereas the Sony Zeiss’s performance continues to fluctuate, with softer outer zones returning at 70mm f/11.

The FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM outshines the Sony Zeiss 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS and the FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 OSS in other areas as well. Both  OSS lenses have higher barrel and pincushion distortion, and the Sony Zeiss 24-70mm F4 has high LCA at all apertures at 24mm and heavier vignetting wide open. Of the three, the GM is the clear winner in optical quality, but that’s not to say the Sony Zeiss doesn’t have its place: it’s a good performer, and even the FE 28-70mm has a lot to recommend it.

Tele-zoom lenses

We have five lenses in this category, ranging from 24-400mm and costing from $1,000 all the way up to $2,600 in price—all Sony-made. The 70-200mm are mainly the choice of serious enthusiasts and professionals, as is the 100-400mm F4.6-5.6 G, while the 70-300mmm and 24-240mm are more likely to be of interest to enthusiasts looking for a wider and more general range of uses.

As we’ve seen in the other categories, Sony puts the most effort into designing and building its GM versions. In first place with a DXOMARK score of 37 points is the $2,600 FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS, with the $1,498 70-200 F4 G OSS following in second place at 33 points. Finally, in third place and not much larger or heavier than the 70-200mm F2.8, is the FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 GM OSS at $2,500.

The two 70-200mm lenses share generally similar sharpness characteristics throughout the focal range from f/4 onwards, but the 70-200 F2.8 version has one very distinctive trait that makes very attractive: it’s sharper wide open at f/2.8 at 200mm than it is at 70mm. That’s unusual in a zoom, but it’s not without one potential downside—that of noticeable astigmatism when wide open, though it becomes less of an issue stopping down.

The F2.8 version is also sharper than the 70-200 F4 G OS at 200mm wide open, and is roughly on par with the 100-400mm at 200mm at its maximum aperture (f/5.6). Both 70-200mm lens are sharp from f/4 onwards, but the F2.8 is a little weak at 70mm wide open, though that isn’t likely to be too much of a disappointment, given its sharpness at other focal lengths. The 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 is a bit sharper at 100mm than at 400mm, but it’s an amazingly consistent performer.

While the FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS has excellent sharpness at 200mm, it isn’t without a few other downsides. It has more vignetting at 200mm and higher distortion at 70mm than the F4 version. It also has higher LCA at 200mm than the F4 model and the FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. Nevertheless, it remains a fabulous choice if you need the extra speed over the F4. If not, then the 70-200 F4 G OSS remains an excellent alternative. If you require more reach, the FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 GM OSS is also a great performer and a solid choice.

As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive lens comparison tool.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.