自拍照的演变

一直以来,人们向来都能对自己拍照,但过去需要三脚架、计时器和快跑就位后,方能拍出自拍照。自从苹果公司在2010年的iPhone上配置了一个前置摄像头后,“自拍”已成为一种国际现象。根据三星的估计,普通人一生中会拍摄超过25,000张自拍照,但这个平均数会随着年龄差异而大有不同:千禧一代每周大约花上一小时的时间在拍摄和编辑自拍照上,而婴儿潮一代则可能只在特殊场合拍几张自拍照而已;该平均数也因国情而异——中国和印度年轻人特别喜欢自拍。

虽然“自拍”这个词语听起来没什么了不起,但它实际上涵盖了使用手机前置摄像头拍摄的各种摄影情况,包括用户直接拍的“大头照”、集体大合照,用自拍杆拍摄的照片,以及用于显示周围环境的照片。同时,自拍也包括照片和视频两种类型。

总之,自拍时还有各种各样的肤色和面部特征需要拍摄、显像,或者增强。因此,当我们设计用于测试和评鉴手机前置摄像头的基准时(DxOMark Selfie),我们需要考虑所有这些因素。

早期的自拍照

目前已知最早的自拍照是化学家罗伯特•科尼利厄斯(Robert Cornelius)在1839年时耗费了许多时间拍出来的。差不多在同一时期,希波利特·巴耶尔(Hippolyte Bayard)正在用自拍照测试他的摄影工艺,以期在法国科学院里展示。直到安迪•沃霍尔(Andy Warhol)将自拍照变成一种艺术形式后,它才开始受到更多关注。然而,在社交媒体和个人资料照片出现之前,自拍照并没有多大用处。2006年,MySpace开始引进了个人资料照片,但到了2009年,它的光芒已被Facebook盖过了。不过,在苹果公司于2010年在主流智能手机上配置第一个前置摄像头之前,自拍照并不容易实现,而且经常是由朋友代劳的。不久之后,Instagram等媒体提供了滤镜来改进自拍照后,人们就更愿意经常自拍了,并喜欢分享自己的自拍照。

First known selfie taken by Robert Cornelius in 1839
罗伯特•科尼利厄斯(Robert Cornelius)于1839年拍摄的第一张自拍照
安迪·沃霍尔(Andy Warhol)的一张自拍人像(苏富比/宾夕法尼亚)使自拍照开始受到人们的瞩目。

社交媒体时代的自拍照

2012年,Snapchat推出了视频自拍照,随后,Instagram也推出了类似的快拍功能,可以展示自拍视频。2014年出现了“自拍杆”一词来描述各种允许人们将手机放在手臂不可及的地方来拍摄自拍照的设备,大大拓宽了热爱自拍的人们的选择。谷歌估计,那一年,光是Android手机每天就拍出了大约9300万张自拍照。大约在同一时间,手机制造商开始意识到前置摄像头与日俱增的重要性,并且改进了其分辨率和图像质量。直到2015年,光是谷歌的照片应用就上传了250亿张自拍照。

集体自拍视频
使用自拍杆自拍

一个学术研究表明,在线共享的所有自拍照中,有超过一半来自与外貌有关的帖子中,使得图像质量和图像增强成为了使用前置摄像头拍摄人像的关键特点。在这些帖子中,有三分之二是由女性制作的,特别是18至35岁的女性,而18岁以下的女性也是非常活跃的分享者。其他类别的共享自拍照(包括与朋友、宠物、旅行和种族相关的帖子)的数量则少了许多。总体而言,在18至35岁的美国智能手机用户中,有87%的用户至少共享过一张自拍照。在全球范围内,中国供应商美图的自拍编辑器已安装在超过10亿个智能手机上,其中大部分的手机位于中国。随着Selfie Studios的推出,中国甚至为自拍照提供了各种应有尽有的功能,客户可以在此选择专业设计的布景、灯具和服饰,以营造他们想要的自拍照场景。

自拍照的类型和其对摄像头构成的挑战

对于摄像头而言,自拍照是一种特别具有挑战性的拍摄类型,因为世界各地人们的肤色差异很大,审美品味也是如此,而且自拍用户对于最终图像的需求也各有不同。一个简单的例子是,美图发现挪威用户喜欢在照片中留下雀斑,而在中国本土的用户则希望抹去各种痕迹或瑕疵。

如果您不是自拍爱好者,您也许会认为所有的自拍照都非常相似,但实际上,自拍照有几种非常不同的类型,每种自拍照都对曝光、对焦、自动白平衡和其他摄像头系统构成了不一样的挑战,其中最重要的类别是自拍人像、集体照、突出某个景点的照片和视频。

“传统”自拍照是一种简单的自拍人像,通常用于卖弄发型、服饰、彩妆,或上传到社交媒体上作为个人资料照片。在中国这样的一些国家,在求职申请书上贴上大头照也很常见,其中许多都是自拍照。但问题是,使用智能手机的前置摄像头在手持距离内拍照并不能拍出很好的人像,因为脸部也许会变形,或者鼻子看起来更大,因此在这些图像中产生悦目的面部显像,包括轮廓形状、皮肤色调、脸色等,变得至关重要。

在传统自拍照中,拍摄对象的脸部是图片的主要元素。

另一种流行的自拍类型是手持或使用自拍杆拍摄的集体自拍照。这种类型的照片在拍摄上更加困难,因为不同的拍摄对象处于图像的不同位置,从而受到不同类型和不同水平的畸变的影响;每个人的被摄距离也不一样,这意味着拍摄时需要更大的焦深。此外,在群体中,每个人的肤色也许各不相同,因此可能很难为图像选择最佳的曝光和白平衡组合,况且如果被摄者的肤色深浅差别较大,那么摄像头所面临的挑战就更大了。

旅行自拍照,经常使用自拍杆拍摄而成,背景是场景里的重要元素。在这里,肤色曝光的问题变得更加重要,因为被摄人可能处于与背景不同的光线下,并且镜头中的所有拍摄对象以及背景也许难以正确地曝光。此外,摄像头还需要很好地呈现背景,因为背景通常是值得留念的旅游景点,或摄影者想要拍摄分享的体验,因此旅行自拍照的目的不在于模糊背景,而是清晰地呈现整个图像。

在旅行自拍照中,背景是场景的重要元素。
集体自拍照对摄像头构成了更大的挑战。

除了分享静止图像之外,视频自拍也越来越普遍了,许多视频自拍都通过Facebook,Instagram,Snapchat等平台实时播放和分享,有效地使用户(在此之前往往是内容消费者)转变为原创者和在线娱乐主播。视频博主们在Youtube上传了更多的智能手机前置摄像头拍摄的影片,取代了一部分单反相机,无反相机或运动相机拍摄制作的视频。

另外,相较于这些传统社交媒体,一些新的创意应用涌现出来,允许用户成为自拍视频中的表演者。例如Dubsmash或Musical.ly应用可以让你录制对口型的音乐视频,并在年轻人中非常受欢迎。Kombie应用能让你通过一个简单的按键把自己加入到一段视频或电影中。最终用户能得到一个互动的自拍视频,并能立刻分享它。

视频自拍已经成为了一种新的交流方式,特别对于年轻人来说。当然,使用智能手机实现的各种视频通话也都是自拍视频的一种例子。最初,电话用户仅满足于能够分享视频,可以忍受变形的面孔和其他图像缺陷,但现在客户的标准已经提高,他们期待自拍视频也能呈现与静态自拍照相同的图像质量,一些现代智能手机甚至能够针对人像进行实时视频增强。

DxOMark Selfie

当我们为智能手机的前置摄像头设计新的DxOMark Selfie测试基准以便对其进行评估和评分时,我们必须考虑所有的地区品味差异,并涵盖上述所有不同的自拍用例。这意味着我们必须设计新的定制化测试环境和新的测试场景,而且所有元素都必须足够灵活,以适应全球自拍者的需求。

我们还在测试中使用各种肤色的真人被摄者。除此之外,我们还与一个好莱坞特效工作室合作,创造了几个精心设计的定制人体模型,以便在各种光照条件下精确地模仿人体肤色。

有关我们的智能手机前置摄像头测试的详细信息,请阅读我们的文章:“我们如何测试智能手机前置摄像头的静止图像质量”和“我们如何测试智能手机前置摄像头的视频质量”。我们还编撰了一篇文章,介绍了前置摄像头的评测基准方案

The evolution of the selfie

Reading Time: 10 min read

People have always been able to take photos of themselves—however, it used to require a tripod, a timer, and a quick run to get in place. But ever since Apple introduced a front-facing camera on the iPhone back in 2010, the “selfie” has become an international phenomenon, with Samsung estimating that the average person will take over 25,000 selfies in their lifetime. That average is heavily skewed by age, with Millennials leading the pack with an estimated one hour each week spent taking and editing selfies, whereas Baby Boomers may snap only a few on special occasions. It also varies by country, with selfies being particularly popular with young people in China and India.

While the single term “selfie” sounds simple, it really covers quite a range of photographic situations captured by the front-facing camera on a phone. And, too, there is a wide variety of skin tones and facial features that selfie cameras must capture, render, and perhaps enhance. So when we designed our protocol for testing and scoring front-facing phone cameras — DxOMark Selfie—we needed to take into account all of those factors.

Early selfies

Although self-portraiture has a long history, the first known photographic selfie was a time-consuming effort by chemist Robert Cornelius in 1839. Around the same time, Hippolyte Bayard was testing his photographic process with self-portraits before showing it to the French academy of science. But it wasn’t until Andy Warhol made selfies into an art form in the mid-1950s and beyond that they started to receive more attention. Even so, until the advent of social media and profile photos, there wasn’t really much use for them. MySpace introduced profile photos in 2006, but by 2009, MySpace had been eclipsed by Facebook. Until front-facing cameras in smartphones became more common, however, selfies were hard to capture, and were often taken by friends. Once selfies became mainstream, it wasn’t long before filters from Instagram and other apps helped people tweak their selfies — giving them even more motivation to capture and share them more frequently.

First known selfie taken by Robert Cornelius in 1839
First known photographic selfie, taken by Robert Cornelius in 1839.
Andy Warhol brought the selfie to prominence with this self-portrait based on a strip of photo booth images (image courtesy of Sotheby’s, Pittsburgh, PA, USA).

Selfies in the age of social media

2012 brought video selfies to Snapchat. Later, Instagram introduced its similar “Stories” feature that also showcased selfie videos. 2014 saw the introduction of the term “selfie stick” to describe various devices designed to hold the phone at more than arm’s length, greatly broadening the options for dedicated selfie shooters. That same year, Google estimated Android phones alone were used to capture about 93 million selfies every day. At about the same time, phone makers started to realize the increasing importance of the front camera, and began improving its resolution and image quality. By 2015, people had uploaded 25 billion selfies via Google’s Photos app alone.

Group selfie video
Using a selfie stick

Research shows that over half of all selfies shared online are part of posts that concern physical appearance, so image quality and image enhancement have become key features of capturing portraits with front-facing cameras. Women posted two-thirds of such selfies, especially women between 18 and 35 years old, although those under 18 were also active sharers. Other categories of shared selfies, including posts with friends, pets, travel, and ethnicity, trailed fairly far behind. Overall, 87% of U.S. smartphone users between the ages of 18 and 35 have shared at least one selfie. Worldwide, people have installed selfie-editing apps from Chinese vendor Meitu on well over a billion smartphones, most of them in China. China has even brought selfies full circle, with the introduction of Selfie Studios, where customers can choose from professionally-designed sets, lights, and costumes to provide the setting they want for their selfie.

Types of selfies and camera challenges

Selfies are a particularly challenging type of photograph for a camera to capture, as skin tones and complexion vary widely around the world, as do aesthetic tastes. Selfie users also vary in what they want from the final image. As a simple example, Meitu found that users in Norway liked leaving their freckles in the photo, while those in its native China wanted to remove any type of marks or blemishes.

If you’re not a selfie aficionado, you may think that all selfies are pretty similar. In reality, there are several quite distinct types of selfie, each of which poses different challenges in terms of exposure, focus, auto white balance, and other camera features. The most important categories are self-portraits, group shots, shots that highlight a location, and videos.

The “traditional” selfie is a simple self-portrait. They are often used to show off a hairstyle, an outfit, makeup, or for uploading as a profile photo to a social media service. In some countries, such as China, it is also common for job-seekers to send a headshot with a job application, and many of those are captured as selfies. Unfortunately, smartphone front cameras held at arm’s length aren’t ideal for shooting portraits: faces become distorted and noses look larger, for example. So it is crucial to be able to assess how pleasing a smartphone’s rendering of faces is — including geometry, skin tone, and complexion.

In a traditional selfie, the subject’s face is the main element in the picture.

Another popular type of selfie is a group selfie, taken either at arm’s length or with a selfie stick. This type of shot adds additional difficulties for the camera. First, different subjects will be in different parts of the image, and therefore will be subject to different types and amounts of distortion. They’ll also be at different distances, which means that a larger depth of focus is required. Additionally, the group may have a variety of skin tones, so it may be difficult to choose the best combination of exposure and white balance for the image. It is particularly difficult for the camera to do a good job if the subjects include individuals with both very light and very dark skin colors.

In travel selfies, often shot with the help of a selfie stick, the image background is an important element of the scene. Here the problem of skin tone exposure is amplified, as the person may be in different light than the background, and it may be difficult to correctly expose for all the subjects in a shot as well as for the background. In addition, the camera needs to also do a good job of rendering the background, as it is typically a memorable destination or experience that the photographer wants to capture and share. Instead of blurring the background, the goal here is to have the entire image sharp.

In travel selfies, the background is an important element of the scene.
Group selfies pose additional challenges for the camera.

It’s not all about still images, though. The growth in video selfies is massive as well. Platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat all now offer features for posting and live-streaming of selfie-video, effectively allowing users (who previously were mainly consumers of content) to turn into creators and live entertainers. Vloggers on Youtube increasingly complement material from DSLRs, mirrorless cameras, or action cams with footage from their smartphone front cameras.

In addition to these more conventional social media apps, several new app concepts have emerged that allow users to become creators and performers with the help of selfie video. Apps such as Dubsmash or Musical.ly let you record yourself lip syncing music and are particularly popular with a younger audience. Kombie allows you to insert yourself into any any piece of video or film footage with the press of a button—for example, a music video or a scene from your favorite movie. The results is an interactive video selfie that can be instantly shared.

Selfie video has essentially become a new way of communication, particularly for the younger generations, and of course, any type of video calling done with a smartphone is another example of a selfie video. Initially, phone users were happy enough just to be able to share videos, and put up with distorted faces and other image imperfections, but increased use and popularity has raised the bar, and customers now want some of the same image quality in their selfie videos that they can already get in their selfie stills. Some modern smartphones are now capable of doing real-time video enhancement that is specific to portraits.

DxOMark Selfie

When we designed our new DxOMark Selfie test protocol for evaluating and scoring smartphone front cameras, we had to take into account all the regional differences in taste and cover all the different selfie use cases described above. This meant custom-designing new test environments and new test scenes — all of which need to be flexible enough to accommodate the global audience of selfie-takers.

We use human subjects with a variety of skin tones and complexions in our testing. In addition to those human subjects, we also worked with a Hollywood special effects studio to create several custom mannequins that have been carefully designed to accurately mimic human skin tones under a variety of lighting conditions.

For in-depth details about our smartphone front camera testing, please read our articles, ”How we test smartphone front camera still image quality” and “How we test smartphone front camera video quality,” along with our Introduction to our new DxOMark Selfie test protocol.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.