我们为什么要测试手机音频质量?以录制爵士音乐会为例

当制造商推出新的智能手机时,往往极力地强调摄像头的技术与性能、显示器的尺寸、质量或处理能力,却很少提及音频的技术和性能。尽管各机种间的音频表现差异很大,但消费者对音频性能的了解却不及对智能手机其他性能的了解。

这就是为什么我们在2019年10月推出了DXOMARK Audio评测的原因。此评测是一套关于智能手机音频测试的基准,可提供智能手机在音频与播放质量上全面、中立且可靠的测试数据,以反映消费者在使用智能手机时的体验,同时还有一组可重复的测试方法用来评估结果。(更多信息,请参阅我们如何测试音频录制播放质量,以及各机种的DXOMARK Audio评测结果和排名

为了体现当前几款智能手机在音频录制方面的差异,我们让DXOMARK音频团队到巴黎的「日落爵士俱乐部(Sunset Jazz Club)」录制「Vincent Touchard Quintet」音乐会,以重现智能手机音频最常见的其中一种使用案例。在这个小实验中,我们将四款智能手机(荣耀20 Pro、苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max、一加 7 Pro和三星Galaxy S10 +)安置在架子上并与音乐家保持一定的距离,以便将整个舞台录制到视频画面内。

在巴黎「日落爵士俱乐部(Sunset Jazz Club)」现场设置音频测试台

然后,我们在默认模式下使用相机应用程序录制表演。正如您在下列视频播放中所听到的,各机种在高音、中音和低音间的平衡有相当显著的差异。例如,在低音或是当萨克斯风及其他乐器的音量变大时,会出现明显失真的状况。(请使用耳机聆听此段音频,因为以计算机或智能手机的扬声器收听时,差异没有那么明显。)

华为nova 6 5G,户外摇拍视频

苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max 所录制的音频呈现出良好的整体音色频率,我们可以听出iPhone 11 Pro Max比其他机种更加强调高音。一加 7 Pro的总体水平明显高于其它机种,不过因其具备激进的压缩功能,所以当呈现鼓手敲击钹的声音时,会有一定程度的失真,而与原音不太相同。

相较于其它机种,三星Galaxy S10 +的音量较低,不过,整体的音域平衡很不错,低音、中音和高音间的融合相当不错。荣耀20 Pro可说是这次评比中表现最不好的机种。缺了低音就表示音调的平衡有待改进,而且根本没有将小鼓的声音好好的呈现出来。

 

因此,对于智能手机音频质量的关注应该与摄像头、显示器和其他组件的关注一样多,特别是经常录制视频或语音备忘录的用户们来说。

 

您也可以聆听这段以专业的设备所录制相同乐队的类似作品,作为参考。您还可在我们网站上「手机评测」的部分找到我们所有的DXOMARK Audio评测。

This is why we test smartphone audio quality: recording a jazz concert

Reading Time: 5 min read

When manufacturers launch new smartphone models, they usually greatly emphasize camera technology and performance, display size, and quality or processing power. They tend to talk far less about audio technology and performance, and despite big performance differences between devices, consumer awareness of audio performance is lower than for other smartphone characteristics.

This is why in October 2019, we launched DXOMARK Audio, a smartphone audio test protocol that provides comprehensive, neutral, and reliable test data about smartphone audio recording and output quality that mirrors the ways consumers use their smartphones, along with a testing and benchmarking methodology that measures results in a repeatable way. (For more information, please read our articles on how we test Audio Playback and Recording and have a look at our DXOMARK Audio reviews and ranking.)

To illustrate the differences in audio recording between some current smartphone models, we replicated one of the most common smartphone audio use cases and sent the DXOMARK Audio team to the Sunset Jazz Club in Paris to record a concert of the Vincent Touchard Quintet. For this little experiment, we mounted four smartphones—the Honor 20 Pro, the iPhone 11 Pro Max, the OnePlus 7, and the Samsung Galaxy S10+ —on a stand and placed the rig at a distance from the musicians that would allow us to include the whole stage in the video frame.

The audio testing rig in situ at the Sunset Jazz Club in Paris

We then used the camera apps at default settings to record the performance, and as you will hear when playing back the video below, there are quite noticeable differences in terms of treble, mid-range, and bass balance between the devices. There is noticeable distortion, for example, with bass or when the volume of the saxophone or other instruments increases. (Please use headphones to listen to this clip, as the differences will be much less noticeable when listening on PC or smartphone speakers.)

Recording a Jazz concert with the Honor 20 Pro, Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, OnePlus 7 pro and the Samsung Galaxy S10+ (please use headphones for listening)

The Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max clip shows good overall timbre frequencies and we can hear that there is more emphasis on treble than on the other devices. On the OnePlus 7 Pro, the overall level is noticeably higher than on the other devices, but there is also an aggressive compression, and we can hear a variation in level when the drummer hits the cymbal, which somewhat distorts the original sound experience.

The Samsung Galaxy S10+ goes the other way with a lower level versus the comparison devices, but provides an overall good tonal balance, with a great mix between bass, midrange, and treble. The Honor 20 Pro arguably delivers the worst performance in this comparison. A lack of bass means that the tonal balance leaves room for improvement, and the sound of the snare drum is not preserved well at all.

This goes to show that there should be just as much focus on smartphone audio quality as there is on camera, display, and other components, especially for users who frequently record videos or voice memos.

For reference, you can also listen to a similar piece by the same band that was recorded with professional equipment here. You can find all our DXOMARK Audio reviews in the smartphone section of our website.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.