苹果 iPhone 11 前置摄像头评测

91
selfie

iPhone 11是更昂贵的iPhone 11 Pro的入门级机型,搭载后置双摄像头、6.1英寸显示屏、苹果的最新A13 Bionic仿生芯片组,并且具有IP68防尘/防水功能。

在书面上,其前置摄像头的配置与高端iPhone 11 Pro Max相同:内置1200万像素图像传感器,搭配具有23毫米等效焦距的f/2.2定焦镜头。该摄像头配有苹果的智能HDR和可模糊背景的人像模式。在视频模式下,您可以高达每秒30帧的速度拍摄4K素材。

现在,让我们来看看它在我们DXOMARK Selfie测试中的表现。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 1200万像素图像传感器
  • f/2.2定焦镜头,23毫米等效焦距
  • SL 3D摄像头
  • 智能HDR
  • 人像模式下有散景和深度控制
  • 4K 2160p/60fps视频

关于DXOMARK Selfie测试DXOMARK工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处 

测试摘要

91
selfie
92
photo
90
video

苹果iPhone 11前置摄像头在DXOMARK Selfie测试中取得91分的总体得分,表现不错,但无法跻身我们当前排名前十的智能手机前置摄像头之列。由于iPhone 11的前置摄像头规格(由苹果提供)与高端iPhone 11 Pro Max的规格相同,因此两个机型的总体效果非常相似也就不足为奇 。不过,两者也有一些区别,其中最重要的是对焦距离:我们测试的iPhone 11手机的定焦镜头的焦距比Pro Max上的镜头稍短,导致较长摄距(例如使用自拍杆拍摄时)上的被摄对象失焦。现在,让我们来看看结果吧!

苹果iPhone 11前置摄像头所拍出的图像通常具有良好的面部曝光和宜人的色彩。

iPhone 11在曝光方面表现不错。在高光和典型的室内条件下,面部的测标曝光非常好,在低光下可能会稍微低一点,但是只要您不在极暗的光线下拍摄,其图像仍然完全可以使用。不过在动态范围方面,该摄像头还有一些改进的余地,如下面的样张所示:在拍摄难处理的高对比度场景时,高光位剪切可能会非常严重。11 Pro Max的结果看起来几乎相同,反观三星S10+却能在画面的高光位区域保留更多细节。

苹果iPhone 11,脸部曝光良好,有些高光位剪切
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,脸部曝光良好,有些高光位剪切
三星Galaxy S10+,脸部曝光良好,动态范围更加宽广

一如典型的iPhone风格,iPhone 11通常会拍出鲜艳的色彩,白平衡通常略微偏暖以呈现宜人的整体效果。

苹果iPhone 11,良好的演色性,稍微偏暖
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,良好的演色性,稍微偏暖
三星Galaxy S10+,良好的演色性,中性的白平衡

但是肤色在某些情况下看起来也许有些不自然。在下面的两张iPhone图像中,拍摄对象的脸都太黄,而三星则拍出了更自然的肤色。

苹果iPhone 11,肤色偏黄
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,肤色偏黄
三星Galaxy S10+,自然的肤色

对焦是iPhone 11稍微不足的地方,它在此测试项目中的表现要比11 Pro Max差。在近距离处拍摄自拍照时,可拍出清晰的拍摄对象,但在远距离处(例如使用延长的自拍杆)拍摄时,脸部的失焦比iPhone 11 Pro或Galaxy S10+更加明显。集体自拍照后面的拍摄对象也显然失焦了。

苹果iPhone 11,远距自拍照(120厘米)
苹果iPhone 11,裁剪图:失焦
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,远距自拍照(120厘米)
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图:清晰度稍微降低
三星Galaxy S10+,远距自拍照(120厘米)
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图:对焦良好

我们的实验室测试证实了上述真实场景的结果。两款iPhone都配有定焦镜头,但是当被摄对象远离摄像头时,11 Pro Max能够保留比iPhone 11更好的清晰度。三星手机前置摄像头的自动对焦系统可以在所有自拍摄距上实现良好的对焦。

对焦比较

iPhone 11的细节和噪点测试结果也与11 Pro Max的测试结果非常相似。该摄像头在高光下可以呈现出丰富的细节,只有在室内光线下细节才会稍微变少,不过细节在低光下显然变得更少。

苹果iPhone 11,户外细节
苹果iPhone 11,裁剪图:细节到位
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外细节
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图:细节到位
三星Galaxy S10+,户外细节
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图:细节到位

该手机在细节管理方面也还有一些改进空间。iPhone 11前置摄像头所拍摄的图像在所有情况下几乎都会出现噪点。在下面的室内照片中,您会在所有区域中看到噪点,而在户外图像中,噪点大致只出现在画面的阴影区域;而不出所料的是,噪点在低光条件下变得更加严重。

苹果iPhone 11,户外噪点
苹果iPhone 11,裁剪图:强烈的噪点
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外噪点
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图:强烈的噪点
三星Galaxy S10+,户外噪点
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图:图像更加清晰

在闪光灯方面,iPhone 11会短暂地提高显示屏的亮度以照亮被摄体,其表现相当不错,在完全黑暗的情况下和微弱的钨丝灯光下拍摄的图像的脸部呈现了极好的曝光度和良好的白平衡,但是可以看到相当严重的噪点和细节损失,以及非常明显的晕影效应。

苹果iPhone 11,0勒克斯下的闪光灯照片,强烈的噪点,细节不足
苹果iPhone 11,5勒克斯下的闪光灯照片,强烈的噪点,细节不足

一般来说,iPhone 11前置摄像头将图像伪像控制得很好,该手机因角落清晰度降低和振铃效应而被扣了一点分数,而变形(画面边缘附近的透视畸变)则是最严重的问题,不过效果还算不错。

集体自拍照的画面边缘附近出现面部畸变

iPhone 11能够生成漂亮的散景模拟照片,其模糊效果相当明显,效果也可重复。但是被摄对象的边缘周围通常会出现一些相当严重的深度估计伪像,模糊渐变看起来也不自然,因为它模糊了场景中的所有元素,就连那些与被摄对象位于同一焦平面的元素也变得模糊了。iPhone 11所拍出的结果与11 Pro Max几乎相同。

苹果iPhone 11,散景模式
苹果iPhone 11,裁剪图:一些深度伪像
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,散景模式
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图:一些深度伪像
三星Galaxy S10+,散景模式
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图:不错的被摄体隔离

我们以4K分辨率和每秒30帧的设置对iPhone 11的视频进行测试和评分,这种拍摄组合可以拍出最佳总体效果。苹果手机的视频得分为90分,堪为录制自拍视频的不错选择,不过它在这方面并不是我们所见过最好的手机。其总体结果与iPhone 11 Pro Max相同,影片看上去非常相似。不过,一如静止图像,我们也发现两者之间有一些差异。我们发现该摄像头在录制视频时,在对焦方面也发生了与拍照相同的问题:在距离摄像头的较远的摄距上(例如,在集体合影后面的人,或者使用延长的自拍杆录制视频时)的被摄对象失焦了。

从好的方面来说,iPhone 11在色彩项目上的表现比该苹果旗舰手机要好一些,在噪点管理方面也稍微更好。在高光和典型的室内条件下可拍出准确的曝光度,在低光下曝光度才会变低。视频片段还呈现了宜人的色彩,在变化的光照条件下仍可拍出良好的白平衡,其转换也相当平稳而流畅。

视频纹理比较
视频噪点比较

在户外高光条件下,该摄像头的细节不错,但是一旦您开始在室内移动或在低光下拍摄时,细节就会明显变差。与静止图像一样,iPhone 11所录制的影像在所有拍摄条件下都会出现噪点,但是其降噪效果要好于旗舰手机11 Pro Max。

遗憾的是,这种优势并不能完全抵消对焦缺陷所产生的问题。这一视频对焦问题与我们在本评测的照片部分中所谈到的问题相同:该摄像头的对焦在距离镜头很近的物体上的表现比较好,但是一旦将焦点移到较远的位置上,所拍摄的脸部就会失焦,所以在使用长自拍杆拍摄时会变成一大问题,而集体合影后方的任何人的清晰度都会比前方的人更低。

但是,它的视频防抖功能相当有效,着重于稳定拍摄对象而不是背景的抖动。伪像通常控制得很好,但是在低光下录制视频时,我们确实注意到帧率变低了。

苹果iPhone 11,户外视频
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外视频
三星Galaxy S10+,户外视频

结论

总体而言,苹果iPhone 11前置摄像头可在大多数情况下拍出不错的色彩和良好的曝光度,堪为自拍摄影者强有力的选择。其不足在于,图像输出可能会出现非常多噪点,而该定焦镜头的设计针对较近的对焦距离,因此不适合于使用更长的自拍杆或拍摄许多集体自拍照的用户。不过,与iPhone 11 Pro Max相比时,其唯一的缺点仅在于对焦问题,因此,如果您在乎的主要是前置摄像头,并且您经常在近距离上拍摄大部分自拍照,则价格较低廉的iPhone 11确实是其价格昂贵的姐妹机型的理想替代品。

照片

优点

  • 漂亮的色彩,尤其是在高光下
  • 近距离的细节到位
  • 在闪光灯下拍摄时,曝光表现不错

不足

  • 在所有情况下拍摄的图像都出现了噪点
  • 被摄对象在较长的摄距上无法得到清晰的对焦
  • 有时变形很明显
  • 散景模式中的模糊渐变不自然

视频

优点

  • 在室内和户外条件下都有准确的曝光
  • 赏心悦目的演色性,特别是在户外条件下
  • 相当有效的防抖
  • 细节到位,特别是在户外条件下

不足

  • 在所有条件下都会出现噪点
  • 在室内和低光下细节丢失
  • 景深浅
  • 低光下帧率不高

Apple iPhone 11 front camera review

Reading Time: 10 min read
91
selfie

The iPhone 11 is the junior partner to the more expensive iPhone 11 Pro models and features a dual rear camera, a 6.1-inch display, Apple’s latest A13 Bionic chipset, and IP68 dust/water resistance.

On paper, the front camera uses the same setup as the top-end iPhone 11 Pro Max, and features a 12MP image sensor that is coupled to a fixed-focus lens with a 23mm-equivalent focal length and f/2.2 aperture. The camera comes with Apple’s Smart HDR and a background-blurring portrait mode. You can shoot 4K footage at up to 60 frames per second in video mode.

Let’s have a closer look at how the Apple iPhone 11 performed in our DXOMARK Selfie tests.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 12MP-resolution sensor
  • Fixed-focus, 23mm-equivalent f/2.2-aperture lens
  • SL 3D camera
  • Smart HDR
  • Portrait mode with bokeh and depth control
  • 4K 2160p/60fps video (4K/30fps tested)

About DXOMARK Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

91
selfie
92
photo
90
video

With an overall DXOMARK Selfie score of 91, the Apple iPhone 11 front camera delivers a decent performance but does not quite make it onto our current top ten list of smartphone front cameras. Given that the iPhone 11’s front camera specifications (provided by Apple) are identical to those of the top-end iPhone 11 Pro Max, it should not come as a surprise that the overall results are very similar between the two models. This said, there are a few differences—the main one being focus distance. The fixed-focus lens of our iPhone 11 test device focuses slightly closer than the lens on the Pro Max, which results in subjects at longer shooting distances (for example, when shooting with a selfie stick) being out of focus. Let’s have a closer look at the results.

Apple iPhone 11 front camera images generally show good exposure on the face and pleasant colors.

The iPhone 11 does well for Exposure. Target exposure on the face is very good in bright light and under typical indoor conditions. It can be slightly low in low light, but images are still perfectly usable as long as you don’t shoot in extremely dim light. There is some room for improvement in terms of dynamic range, though. When shooting challenging high-contrast scenes, highlight clipping can be pretty intrusive, as you can see in the samples below. The results look pretty much identical on the 11 Pro Max, but the Samsung S10+ is capable of preserving a little more detail in the bright areas of the frame.

Apple iPhone 11, good exposure on face, some highlight clipping
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good exposure on face, some highlight clipping
Samsung Galaxy S10+, good exposure on face, wider dynamic range

In typical iPhone-fashion, the iPhone 11 produces generally vivid colors with an often slightly warm white balance for a pleasant overall effect.

Apple iPhone 11, good color rendering, slightly warm
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good color rendering, slightly warm
Samsung Galaxy S10+, good color rendering, neutral white balance

Skin tones can look slightly unnatural in some scenes, however. The subject’s face is too yellow in both iPhone images below, while the Samsung captures more natural-looking skin tones.

Apple iPhone 11, yellow skin tones
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, yellow skin tones
Samsung Galaxy S10+, natural skin tones

Focus is a bit of a weak point for the iPhone 11 and a category in which it performs worse than its cousin 11 Pro Max. The subject is in focus when capturing selfies at close distances, but at longer distances—for example, when shooting with an extended selfie-stick—the face is noticeably more out of focus than on the iPhone 11 Pro or the Galaxy S10+. Subjects at the back of group selfies are also noticeably out of focus.

Apple iPhone 11, long-distance selfie (120 cm)
Apple iPhone 11, crop: out of focus
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, long-distance selfie (120 cm)
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: slight softness
Samsung Galaxy S10+, long-distance selfie (120 cm)
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop: good focus

Our lab tests confirm the real-life results above. Both iPhones come with a fixed-focus lens, but the 11 Pro Max is capable of maintaining better sharpness than the iPhone 11 as the subject moves away from the camera. Thanks to its front camera autofocus system, the Samsung can deliver good focus across all selfie shooting distances.

Focus comparison

The iPhone 11’s test results for Detail and Noise are again very similar to those for the 11 Pro Max. The camera renders good levels of detail in bright light and a slight drop is only noticeable under indoor lighting. The loss of detail becomes more obvious in low light, though.

Apple iPhone 11, outdoor detail
Apple iPhone 11, crop: good detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: good detail
Samsung Galaxy S10+, outdoor detail
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop: good detail

There is room for improvement in terms of noise management, however. Noise is pretty much visible in all conditions in iPhone 11 front camera images. You’ll find noise in all areas in the indoor shots below, while in outdoor images it’s mostly limited to the shadow areas of the frame. As one would expect, noise becomes more intrusive in low light.

Apple iPhone 11, indoor noise
Apple iPhone 11, crop: strong noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, indoor noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: strong noise
Samsung Galaxy S10+, indoor noise
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop: cleaner image

As for flash, the iPhone 11 briefly cranks up the brightness of its display to illuminate the subject. This works reasonably well and images shot both in total darkness and under low tungsten light show well-exposed faces and good white balance. Fairly strong noise and a loss detail are visible, though, in addition to very noticeable vignetting effect.

Apple iPhone 11, flash at 0 lux, strong noise, lack of detail
Apple iPhone 11, flash at 5 lux, strong noise, lack of detail

Generally speaking, image artifacts are fairly well controlled on the iPhone 11 front camera. The device incurs some penalty points for corner softness and ringing, but anamorphosis (perspective distortion close to the edges of the frame) is the worst offender. The effect is not too bad, however.

Group selfie showing anamorphosis on faces close to the edge of the frame

The iPhone 11 is capable of producing a good-looking bokeh simulation shot, with reasonably strong blur and repeatable results. However, some fairly strong depth estimation artifacts can usually be seen around the edges of the subject, and the blur gradient has an unnatural look to it—all elements of the scene are blurred, even those that are in the same focus plane as the subject. The iPhone 11’s results are pretty much identical to the 11 Pro Max’s.

Apple iPhone 11, bokeh mode
Apple iPhone 11, crop: some depth artifacts
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, bokeh mode
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: some depth artifacts
Samsung Galaxy S10+, bokeh mode
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop: decent subject isolation

We tested the iPhone 11’s video set at 4K resolution and 30 frames per second, which delivers the best results overall. With a Video score of 90, the Apple device is good option for selfie video capture, but not among the best we have seen. The overall result is the same as for the iPhone 11 Pro Max and footage looks very similar, but like for stills, we found some differences. We see the same focus issues as for Photo, with subjects at a longer distance from the camera out of focus (as with people at the back of a group shot, or when recording video with an extended selfie-stick).

On the upside, the iPhone 11 does slightly better in the color category and manages noise a little better than the Apple flagship phone. Exposure is accurate in bright light and under typical indoor conditions, and drops off only in low light. Video footage also shows pleasant color, with good white balance and smooth transitions in changing light conditions.

Video texture comparison
Video noise comparison

Detail is good in bright outdoor conditions but noticeably drops off once you start moving indoors or shooting in low light. As with still images, noise is visible in all shooting conditions, but the iPhone 11 manages noise reduction slightly better than its flagship cousin 11 Pro Max.

Unfortunately, this advantage is more than eradicated by the focus, which comes with the same issues we already talked about in the Photo part of this review. Focus is good on subjects that are fairly close to the lens, but once you move further away, your face will be out of focus. This makes shooting with a long selfie stick problematic, and also means that anyone at the back of group shots will be rendered noticeably less sharp than the people at the front.

Video stabilization is pretty effective, though, and puts more focus on stabilizing the subject rather than the background. Artifacts are generally well controlled, but we did notice a drop in frame rates when recording video in low light.

Apple iPhone 11, outdoor video
Apple iPhone 11 Pro max, outdoor video
Samsung Galaxy S10+, outdoor video

Conclusion

Overall, the Apple iPhone 11 is a capable option for selfie shooters, with its front camera delivering nice colors and good exposure in most situations. On the downside, image output can be quite noisy and the fixed-focus lens, which is geared towards closer focusing distances, means the camera is not ideal for users who work with longer selfie sticks or who shoot a lot of group selfies. But the focus issue is the only real disadvantage when compared to the iPhone 11 Pro Max, so if you mainly care about the front camera and tend to capture most of your selfies at close distance, the less-expensive iPhone 11 is a real alternative to its pricey top-end sister model.

Photo

Pros

  • Nice color, especially in bright light
  • Good detail when shooting at close distances
  • Good exposure when shooting with flash

Cons

  • Noticeable image noise in all conditions
  • Subjects out of focus at longer shooting distances
  • Anamorphosis is sometimes noticeable
  • Unnatural blur gradient in bokeh mode

Video

Pros

  • Accurate exposure in outdoor and indoor conditions
  • Pleasant color rendering, especially in outdoor conditions
  • Fairly effective stabilization
  • Good detail, especially in outdoor conditions

Cons

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.