苹果 iPhone 8 评测:坚实的性能升级,表现超越 iPhone 7

92
DxOMark Mobile

注:本文的英语原文发表于2017年9月22日

我们用新的评测准则测试了苹果 iPhone 8 后,结果显示 iPhone 8 以总分 92 分的成绩挤掉了以往的冠军——HTC U11 和 Google Pixel,成为了最出色的单摄手机,优异的表现令人印象深刻。虽然iPhone 8 配备了一个较小的传感器(仅1/2.8英寸),但苹果公司巧妙地利用图像处理的硬件和软件弥补了传感器的不足。此外,与 iPhone 7 相比,iPhone 8 也带来了许多重大的改进,其中包括 HDR 图像拍摄以及闪光灯性能的提升。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 1200万像素主摄像头(广角)配 BSI 传感器,f/1.8 光圈
  • 光学防抖功能
  • 支持慢速同步的 4-LED 原彩闪光灯
  • Focus Pixels 相位检测自动对焦
  • 广色域拍摄
  • 身体和面部识别功能
  • 自动 HDR

测试摘要

苹果 iPhone 8 是 DxOMark 测试过的产品中表现最好的移动相机设备之一。它的总体评分为 92 分,领先于我们测试过的所有智能手机相机,仅落后于更大、更昂贵的 iPhone 8 Plus 机型。

iPhone 8 搭载了与 iPhone 8 Plus 同样的主摄像头,不过,iPhone 8 Plus 的第二个摄像头还提供了变焦和散景功能,比 iPhone 8 具有更大的优势。我们在 iPhone 8 Plus 评测中同时介绍了两款手机,其中包括照片的比较,因此,有关 iPhone 8 相机的详细评论,请阅读我们对 iPhone 8 Plus 的评测。在本文中,我们将介绍 iPhone 8 的评分结果,并简单扼要地说明几个亮点。

明亮光线下的拍摄

使用 iPhone 8 拍摄的户外照片往往令人惊艳,因为它们忠实地保留了精彩的细节,捕捉了真实准确的色彩和令人印象深刻的明暗对比。iPhone 8 不但继承了 iPhone 7 系列的卓越性能,更是在明亮的光线下有更杰出的表现。特别是 iPhone 8 改进了曝光算法,拍摄高动态范围(HDR)场景时也能有优秀的表现。

拍摄户外场景往往是相当棘手的挑战,但是 iPhone 8 可以处理各种复杂的问题。如果事先不知道,您可能看不出来这张照片是用智能手机拍出来的。

在这个场景中,iPhone 8 避免了天空中高光部分的过曝,同时仍然保有蓝天和街道的阴影中的细节。

低光拍摄和闪光

低光:不管有没有使用闪光灯,iPhone 8 处理低光摄影的能力都很不错。例如,地铁中拍摄的这张照片的曝光非常好,细节表现到位。

iPhone 8 照片的曝光正确,细节保留到位。

使用闪光灯时,照片整体看起来很好,有着准确的曝光和白平衡。

视频

苹果继续在视频拍摄方面打出一番作为。在视频方面,iPhone 8 拿下了 90 分的成绩,它的视频质量是所有苹果设备中最好的,曝光算法更是拿到了最高分。然而,iPhone 8 与 HTC U11 平分秋色,而且还落后于 Google Pixel 的 91 分,因此还有改进的余地。再看看每项得分:iPhone 8 的防抖性能非常好,色彩还原也非常准确;而且在明亮的光线下录制视频时,面部追踪功能也很出色。

照片评分说明

iPhone 8 的照片总评分是多个分项评分的综合结果:曝光和对比度(89)、色彩(77)、自动对焦(83)、纹理(65)、噪点(69)、闪光(81)、伪像(83)、变焦(31)和散景(25)。(除了变焦和散景之外,iPhone 8 和 iPhone 8 Plus 的所有类别几乎都拿到了相同的分数。有关详细信息,请参阅我们的 iPhone 8 Plus 评测。)

视频评分说明

苹果 iPhone 8 的视频录制拿到了 90 分的总成绩。与照片评分一样,这是根据它在许多分项测试中获得的成绩计算出来的。这些测试有助于定义整体视频表现,特别是:曝光和对比度(81)、颜色(86)、自动对焦(87)、纹理(51)、噪点(70)、伪像(81)和防抖(90)。iPhone 8 和 iPhone 8 Plus 两款手机使用相同的摄像头来录制视频,只有变焦时有区别,而视频变焦不在我们的测试中。有关更多详细信息,请阅读我们的 iPhone 8 Plus 评测。

总结:单摄智能手机的新纪录

我们尚未使用新的评测准则重新测试每款智能手机,我们仅重新测试了几款最好的手机(包括 Google Pixel 和 HTC U11——它们是迄今为止表现最出色的手机),苹果 iPhone 8 的表现抢眼,领先群雄。苹果带来了一些令人印象深刻的图像处理技术,可以应对 iPhone 8 使用较小的传感器捕捉图像所带来的挑战,并且具有比 iPhone 7 更好的曝光效果、更高的动态范围和更低的噪点。在 DxOMark 的手机评测中,只有苹果 iPhone 8 Plus 这款更大,更昂贵的双摄手机领先于 iPhone 8。

92
DxOMark mobile
Apple iPhone 8
93
DxOMark Mobile
photo
90
DxOMark Mobile
video

优点

  • 我们测试过的所有设备中,HDR 性能表现最出色的手机之一
  • 非常准确的自动对焦

优点

  • 非常好的防抖性能
  • 所有的苹果设备中,它的曝光表现最佳,但仍不是行业领先者
  • 几乎所有照明条件下,色彩效果都很好
  • 明亮光线下,面部跟踪的表现不错

不足

  • 低光和室内照明(钨丝灯)下有色偏
  • 高光和低光下,自动对焦有时有延迟

不足

  • 低光下有些曝光的问题
  • 低光下有可见的噪点

关于此评测的图像格式,有一点值得注意:iPhone 8 和 8 Plus 以 DCI-P3 色域存储照片,它的屏幕也使用 DCI-P3 色域来显示图像。DCI-P3 色域比大多数设备和网页浏览器所用的 sRGB 色域更新、更宽广。为了使评测中使用的图像在各种浏览器和设备上正确显示,我们使用 Photoshop 将原始图像从 DCI-P3 转换为 sRGB(这就是发布的测试照片的创建者是 Photoshop 的原因)。在某些情况下,这种做法可能会略微降低颜色的丰富性。您可以使用适当的软件在 DCI-P3 校准的显示器上查看原始图像。我们还使用新的 HEIF(高效率图像文件格式)捕捉原始图像,然后将其转换为极高质量的 JPEG,以便在标准浏览器和图像编辑软件中进行查看。(HEIF 非常类似于 JPEG,但为相似的图像质量提供了更好的压缩,因此转换后的样本图像文件会大于拍摄时的大小)。但请注意,本评测中使用的一些比较照片与测试图像不同,它们是以 JPEG 格式拍摄的。这些照片仅用于说明,并不用于计算评分。

Apple iPhone 8 reviewed: A solid performance upgrade over the iPhone 7

DxOMark
Mobile
92

The Apple iPhone 8 is the highest-performing single-camera smartphone we have tested with our new protocols, with an impressive Overall score of 92. Despite having a smaller 1/2.8-inch sensor, it edges out our previous top scorers, the HTC U11 and the Google Pixel. This demonstrates how much Apple has been able to accomplish with the hardware and software that complement the sensor and are used for image processing. The iPhone 8 also provides major improvements over the iPhone 7 in a number of areas, including capturing HDR images, as well as flash performance.

Key camera specifications:

  • 12MP main (wide-angle) camera with BSI sensor, f/1.8 lens
  • Optical image stabilization
  • Quad-LED True Tone flash with Slow sync
  • Autofocus with Focus Pixels
  • Wide-gamut color capture
  • Body and face detection
  • AutoHDR

Test summary

The Apple iPhone 8 is one of the best-performing mobile device cameras we have ever tested at DxOMark. Its overall score of 92 puts it ahead of every smartphone camera we’ve tested other than its larger and more expensive sibling, the iPhone 8 Plus.

Because the main camera on the iPhone 8 is identical to the one on the iPhone 8 Plus, we have covered both phones, including comparison images, in our iPhone 8 Plus review. Only the Zoom and Bokeh capabilities provided by the Phone 8 Plus’s second camera give it a major advantage over the iPhone 8. For a detailed review of how the iPhone 8 camera performs, please read our review of the iPhone 8 Plus. However, we’ll cover the scores for the iPhone 8 and recap some of its highlights here as well.

Bright light

Images captured outdoors with the iPhone 8 are generally stunning, with excellent detail preservation, accurate color, and impressive dynamic range. The iPhone 8 builds on the outstanding performance of the iPhone 7 family with its excellent performance in bright light. In particular, it has improved exposure calculation, and excellent ability to capture HDR (High Dynamic Range) scenes.

This tricky outdoor scene presents a variety of challenges, but the iPhone 8 handles them. If you didn’t know the image was taken with a smartphone, it would be hard to tell.

In this scene, the iPhone 8 avoids blowing out the highlights in the sky, while still preserving the blue sky and the details in the shadows at street level.

Low Light and Flash

Low Light: The iPhone 8 handles low-light conditions very well, with or without flash. Scenes such as this image captured in a subway are well-exposed, with good detail.

The iPhone 8 image is properly exposed with good detail.

Flash: Images look good overall, with accurate exposure and white balance.

Video

Apple continues to up its game on video. With a score of 90, the iPhone 8 has the best Video quality of any Apple device, starting with the best exposure calculation. There is still room for improvement, however, as the iPhone 8 is still tied with the HTC U11 and is still behind the the Google Pixel’s 91. Looking at sub-scores, the iPhone 8’s stabilization is excellent and its color rendering is very accurate; furthermore, it does an excellent job of face tracking when shooting video in bright light.

Photo scores explained

Our Overall Photo score for the iPhone 8 is a composite of a number of category sub-scores: Exposure and Contrast (89), Color (77), Autofocus (83), Texture (65), Noise (69), Flash (81), Artifacts (83), Zoom (31), and Bokeh (25). (For details, refer to our iPhone 8 Plus review about the nearly identical sub-scores for all categories except Zoom and Bokeh.)

Video scores explained

The Apple iPhone 8 achieves a total Video score of 90. As with the photo scores, this is calculated from the sub-scores it achieves in a number of categories of tests that help define its overall video capabilities, specifically: Exposure and Contrast (81), Color (86), Autofocus (87), Texture (51), Noise (70), Artifacts (81), and Stabilization (90). For more details, please read our iPhone 8 Plus review, as the two phones use the same camera for Video, except for zoom that is not covered in the video side of our protocol.

Conclusion: New record for single-camera smartphones

While we haven’t retested every smartphone using our new protocols, we have retested some of the best, and the Apple iPhone 8 improves over all of them, including the Google Pixel and the HTC U11 — the two best performers until now. Apple has brought some impressive image processing technology to bear on the images that the iPhone 8’s relatively small sensor captures, and it shows in better exposure, improved dynamic range, and lower noise than the iPhone 7. Only its bigger and more expensive dual-camera sibling, the Apple iPhone 8 Plus, tops it on our DxOMark Mobile charts.

92
DxOMark mobile
Apple iPhone 8
93
photo
Apple iPhone 8
90
video
Apple iPhone 8

Pros

  • One of the best HDR performances of any device we have tested
  • Very accurate autofocus

Pros

  • Very good stabilization
  • Best exposure of any Apple device, but still not industry-leading
  • Very good color rendering under almost all lighting condtions
  • Good face tracking in bright light

Cons

  • Color cast in low and indoor (tungsten) lighting
  • Some autofocus delays in both bright and low light

Cons

  • Some exposure issues in low light
  • Visible noise in low-light conditions

A note about image formats for this review: The iPhone 8 and 8 Plus record photographs in the DCI-P3 colorspace, which their displays also use. DCI-P3 is newer and larger than the sRGB color space that most devices use and most web browsers assume. So to ensure that the images we used in the review display properly on a wide variety of browsers and devices, we converted the originals from DCI-P3 to sRGB using Photoshop (which is why the published test photos show Photoshop as the creator). This can slightly reduce the richness of color in some cases from what you would see when viewing the original images on a DCI-P3-calibrated display with appropriate software. We also captured the original images using the new HEIF (High-Efficiency Image Format), but then converted them to very high-quality JPEGs for viewing in standard browsers and image editing software. (HEIF is very similar to JPEG, but provides better compression for similar image quality, so the conversion makes the sample image file sizes larger than they were when shot.) Please note, however, that unlike our test images, some of the comparison photos used in this review were shot in JPEG and used as-is for illustrative purposes, and were not used to compute scores.

We are hiring!