谷歌Pixel 2前置摄像头评测

77
selfie

谷歌Pixel 2的主摄像头是智能手机摄影爱好者的绝好选择。不过,业内人士也指出,目前在所有智能手机照片中,有多达30%的照片是自拍照,因此前置摄像头的性能和图像质量的重要性与日俱增。

Pixel 2的前置摄像头配备有1/3.2英寸图像传感器,分辨率800万像素,像素尺寸1.14微米,以及等效27毫米定焦广角镜头和全高清1080p视频,为Skype通话和视频直播提供良好的分辨率。其他前置摄像头功能包括显示屏闪光灯,可提供额外照明,以及数码变焦和人像模式,可以应用散景模拟效果。

请继续阅读本文,了解Pixel 2的前置摄像头在本测试中的表现。

前置摄像头的主要规格:

  • 800万像素分辨率
  • 1/3.2英寸图像传感器,1.14微米像素间距
  • 等效27毫米镜头
  • 定焦
  • 1080p视频

关于DxOMark Selfie测试:DxOMark工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

77
selfie
80
photo
71
video

在DxOMark前置摄像头评测中,谷歌Pixel 2的总体得分为77分,它在静止照片和视频类别中均获得不错的成绩,堪为自拍爱好者的坚实选择。该手机的静止图像的主要优势包括不错的动态范围、丰富的细节,以及还算可接受的噪点水平。在非常均衡的照明条件下进行测试时,Pixel 2的测标曝光略低,所以在许多自然测试场景中,特别是在实验室的低光下拍摄时,脸部往往曝光不足。在高对比度条件下拍摄时,动态范围相当宽广,在高光位保留了不错的细节,但测标曝光低和面部曝光不足的问题有时仍然相当明显。

谷歌Pixel 2提供了宽广的动态范围、长对焦范围和较大的景深。

在室内和低光条件下,白平衡相当准确,可以显示准确的肤色和悦目的色彩,但白平衡在户外图像上可能变得不一致,而且粉红色偏也会影响肤色和背景。纹理保留是Pixel 2的一大强项,所以您可以放心地拍出不错的细节和清晰的面部特征。该手机的图像往往略微过度锐化,在一些样张中,这个问题影响了皮肤的呈现,但却为面部特征保留了不错的细节。

对焦也是Pixel 2的另一个强项,尽管该手机与许多竞争机型一样配备定焦镜头,但由于它的景深不错,可在中等距离和远距离上拍出清晰的人脸和背景。Pixel 2也对噪点进行了相当好的控制,虽然噪点比某些竞争对手的手机更加明显,但这是为了获得丰富细节而采取的折衷方案。

户外白平衡往往略带粉红色,但细节保留很到位。
室内白平衡比较准确,细节也到位,但往往可以看到噪点。

录制视频时,Pixel 2前置摄像头的表现也相当不错,其主要优势在于准确的测标曝光和良好的细节保留。与许多竞争机型相比,Pixel 2视频在低光下的纹理保留到位,但这同样是以更多的噪点为代价。动态范围不如静止图像那样好,偶尔会出现溢光剪贴纹理;在高对比逆光场景中录制的视频里,往往可以观察到耀斑。该摄像头没有防抖,因此边走边录制或摇拍时会出现一些摆动痕迹,视频色彩也有待改进。演色性相当漂亮,白平衡准确,但可以看见色偏,因此,Pixel 2并不完美,但除了缺乏防抖之外,其他问题都未构成太大的困扰。总体来说,Pixel 2录制运动影像的性能还不错。

照片评分说明

我们在不同的照明条件下测试了谷歌Pixel 2的前置摄像头在几个方面的表现,并计算照片的每项成绩后,该手机最后拿下了80分的总成绩。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的图像质量的评分。

曝光与对比度

Google Pixel 2

56

尽管Pixel 2有不错的动态范围,但它的曝光分数有点低,因为它在20至1000勒克斯光源下的测标曝光有点低,在5勒克斯的低光条件下显然曝光不足。

谷歌Pixel 2,实验室测标曝光分析

Pixel 2是第一款在前置摄像头中提供HDR功能的手机,在高对比度条件下拍摄时,通常可以为高光位勾勒不错的细节。您可以在我们的“桥下”HDR场景中看到,Pixel 2在背景中记录了更多的高光位细节,但面部曝光不足,而iPhone X则为主要拍摄对象提供了最佳测标曝光。然而,在Pixel 2的连续HDR曝光中,一些曝光不稳定性显而易见,在一些照片中显然有更极端的处理,因此在拍摄条件不佳的情况下,您应该多拍几张自拍照,之后再挑选最喜欢的照片。

谷歌Pixel 2,HDR场景
苹果iPhone X,HDR场景
三星Galaxy S8,HDR场景

Pixel 2在曝光项目中被扣了一些分数,因为在不同光照条件下拍摄的一系列图像中,脸部测标曝光不足的问题相当明显,一些自拍爱好者也许更希望脸部获得更准确的曝光,但Pixel 2通常拍出的照片并非如此。

谷歌Pixel 2,逆光自拍照,室内
谷歌Pixel 2,集体自拍照,户外
谷歌Pixel 2,室内自拍照
色彩(68)

谷歌Pixel 2在色彩项目中拿下了不错的分数,因为当Pixel 2的白平衡准确时,可以提供悦目的演色性和自然的肤色,但是该手机因为一些白平衡不一致的问题而被扣了一点分数。在室内和低光条件下,白平衡通常是准确的,但在户外常常可以观察到粉红色和蓝色色偏。

谷歌Pixel 2,户外白平衡
苹果iPhone X,户外白平衡
三星Galaxy S8,户外白平衡
谷歌Pixel 2,室内白平衡
苹果iPhone X,室内白平衡
三星Galaxy S8,室内白平衡

户外的红色调也可能不准确,色调偏移会使红色的饱和度略显不足,看起来有点像粉红色。色彩略欠饱和并且出现了色彩渐晕,中心的绿色到了边缘却变成了粉红色,这一问题在室内和低光图像上都很明显。

谷歌Pixel 2,户外演色性
苹果iPhone X,户外演色性
三星Galaxy S8,户外演色性
谷歌Pixel 2,户外色彩渐晕
谷歌Pixel 2,室内色彩渐晕

对焦(71)

定焦镜头是Pixel 2的一大优势,可提供大范围的焦点和良好的景深,还可以避免自动对焦可能产生的对焦不规则的问题。Pixel 2的最佳对焦距离为55厘米(其他许多手机约为30厘米),锐度在高光下为80%,表现非常出色,在30厘米、90厘米和120厘米处的测试结果也非常不错,锐度为70%左右。

谷歌Pixel 2,不同被摄体距离上的锐度

因此,在近距离30厘米处拍摄的自拍照的清晰度仍然非常可以接受,在55厘米处可获得最佳清晰度,对于喜欢将更多的背景摄入自拍照中的用户而言,Pixel 2会是一个不错的选择。使用自拍杆在距离摄像头120厘米处拍摄远距自拍照时,良好的景深可以赋予脸部还算不错的对焦,其背景通常也比我们在具有较小景深的其他手机上看到的更加清晰,因此如果您希望拍摄许多旅游和环境自拍人像,这是对您相当有用的信息。

谷歌Pixel 2,55厘米上的对焦
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
苹果iPhone X,55厘米上的对焦
苹果iPhone X,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S8,55厘米上的对焦
三星Galaxy S8,裁剪图

细节(65)

纹理的表现非常好,细节很丰富,在室内和户外静态场景中拍摄的图像锐度均超过70%。Pixel 2还在室内照明(100勒克斯)下的静态场景中记录了非常可观的细节,在20勒克斯的低光条件下的细节也还算可以接受,锐度超过50%。但含有一些被摄体运动的场景则比较棘手:虽然Pixel 2在高光下提供超过50%的良好锐度,但在室内或低光条件下拍摄移动的被摄体时,可能会出现一些运动模糊。

谷歌Pixel 2,不同照明条件下的锐度

手持拍摄时,Pixel 2的细节保留在所有照明条件下都优于iPhone X和三星S8。在极高光下(1000勒克斯),纹理保留明显更好,虽然在低光条件下(10勒克斯)拍摄时,脸部的精细细节损失是意料中的事儿,但Pixel 2仍然颇具优势。

谷歌Pixel 2,1000勒克斯下,55厘米
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
苹果iPhone X,1000勒克斯下,55厘米
苹果iPhone X,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,1000勒克斯下,55厘米
三星Galaxy S8,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,10勒克斯下的细节
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
苹果iPhone X,10勒克斯下的细节
苹果iPhone X,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S8,10勒克斯下的细节
三星Galaxy S8,裁剪图

总而言之,谷歌Pixel 2的整体细节非常好(它的细节是我们测试过最好的之一),但其可重复性和过度锐化都是值得注意的问题。我们观察到,在相同的光照条件下进行连续拍摄时,细节保留会发生一些变化,有些照片中的拍摄结果比较不清晰,所以最好多拍几张照片,以确定您至少有一张照片的细节还不错。然而,丰富的精细细节的代价就是图像略微过度锐化,这一点在皮肤上尤其明显,但我们将这种过度锐化归类为伪像问题,因此不会影响纹理分数,不过值得注意。

噪点

Google Pixel 2

65

Pixel 2前置摄像头的噪点表现在我们的数据库中位于中间位置,虽然噪点可以在高光和户外照明条件下获得很好的控制,但在室内和低光图像中非常明显。在所有照明条件下,在Pixel 2图像上可以观察到比iPhone X略多的噪点,但视觉噪点图表也显示,在光照水平降低时,两款手机的噪点增减的轨迹相似。

在户外和室内照明条件下,将Pixel 2与S8进行比较时,情况也相当类似,但三星手机的表现稍微更好。在极低光(1至5勒克斯之间)下,S8上的噪点明显比Pixel 2更少。

视觉噪点比较图表

在我们对自然场景中的噪点的感知分析中,Pixel 2在室内和户外场景中均取得了很好的分数。我们观察到脸部的噪点水平在高光下特别低,尽管素色和背景区域中有较多噪点累积,但情况并不太严重。然而Pixel 2的噪点在低光图像中变得更加明显,分数相对较低,所以在这些条件下图像质量可能会有所降低。

谷歌Pixel 2,10勒克斯下的噪点
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
苹果iPhone X,10勒克斯下的噪点
苹果iPhone X,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S8,10勒克斯下的噪点
三星Galaxy S8,裁剪图

伪像

Google Pixel 2

73

Pixel 2图像中出现了明显的伪像,因而被扣了一些分数,其主要问题在于景深范围内的锐度损失、画面边缘处的人脸变形,以及对着高光光源拍摄时经常出现耀斑。在大尺度下观看图像时,景深范围内的锐度损失相当明显,画面中心与边缘处的元素之间的锐度存在显着差异。变形使得远离照片中心的拍摄对象的脸部略微扭曲、拉伸,在拍摄近距离人像时或者在拍摄集体自拍照,画面填满了人脸时,变形的问题尤其严重。

谷歌Pixel 2,耀斑
谷歌Pixel 2,变形
谷歌Pixel 2,边缘锐度损失

闪光灯

Google Pixel 2

73

Pixel 2使用显示屏闪光灯改善某些情况下的照明,在混合照明和仅使用闪光灯拍摄的场景中通常可以为脸部提供准确的曝光。使用闪光灯拍摄时,脸上丢失了细节,但整体纹理还算可以接受,其部分原因在于良好的降噪处理在细节和噪点之间取得了很好的平衡。尽管闪光灯图片的背景经常出现色度噪点,但是拍摄对象的噪点得到了很好的控制;在仅使用闪光灯拍摄的图像中,闪光落差(晕影)也非常明显,因为显示屏闪光灯的光线无法在画面的角落提供与中心一样多的光线;将闪光灯与钨丝灯光源混合时,Pixel 2也因白平衡偏蓝而被扣分。

谷歌Pixel 2,0勒克斯下的闪光灯
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,5勒克斯下的闪光灯
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图

散景

Google Pixel 2

55

在散景方面,Pixel 2获得了55分,表现不错。复杂区域周围(例如一只完全张开的手和一头乱发)会出现一些景深估计伪像,但总的来说,散景表现还算不错。散景效果在高光和低光环境下都相当一致,噪点数量在清晰的脸部和平滑化的背景区域之间的分布相当均匀,这算是它的一大优点。然而,Pixel 2不会将模糊渐变应用于拍摄对象后面逐渐远去的背景上,而且与脸部在同一焦平面上的物体通常会变得模糊,因此看起来不太逼真,不太像真正的光学模糊。总的来说,Pixel 2在散景拍摄方面表现相当不错。

谷歌Pixel 2,背景模糊
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,景深估计
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,模糊渐变
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图

视频评分说明

在视频方面,谷歌Pixel 2拿下了71分的总分数,其分数组合如下:曝光(64)、色彩(65)、对焦(90)、纹理(62)、噪点(70)、伪像(74)、防抖(30)。拍摄视频时,Pixel 2的主要优势在于室内和户外精彩的细节保留,以及20至1000勒克斯下准确的测标曝光。在大多数照明条件下,视频中的面部都能获得准确曝光,只有在非常低的光线下(1到10勒克斯之间),视频才会明显曝光不足。

谷歌Pixel 2,视频测标曝光图表

与静态照片相比,Pixel 2的视频文件的动态范围比较小,因此明亮的高光位和背景经常出现溢光剪贴纹理,但当前其他许多手机也是如此。当您在光线变化期间继续拍摄时,Pixel 2的曝光转换相当流畅,并且避免了任何可能严重影响观看体验的超调和振荡。

谷歌Pixel 2,户外摇拍

Pixel 2视频色彩的优点和缺点与静止照片的表现差不多,即使整体色彩落后于iPhone X和三星S8,但其表现相当不错。如果户外和室内视频的白平衡准确的话,肤色就可以获得准确的色调,但有时的确会出现白平衡不规则的问题,使得户外图像的色调偏冷,室内图像则呈现温暖的黄色色偏。然而,这些色偏并不会过分强烈,即使肤色略带粉红色,其结果勉强可以接受。

视频的色彩饱和度在低光条件下明显不足,粉红色肤色变得非常普遍,而室内和低光视频中的一些色彩渐晕也很明显。我们还察觉到与时间属性相关的白平衡不规则性,帧与帧之间的色彩略显不一致。

在近距离(30厘米)和中等距离(55厘米)内录制视频时,谷歌Pixel 2的定焦镜头可以拍出相当清晰的脸部,虽然视频的景深并不像静止图像那样令人印象深刻,但其对焦范围仍然比许多竞争机型要大。

谷歌Pixel 2,对焦范围,静态视频图像

在户外视频中,脸部的纹理保留也非常出色,与室内和低光视频中的iPhone X和Samsung S8相比,精细细节也更加到位。然而,与这些主要竞争机型相比,Pixel 2在低光条件下的噪点也变得更加普遍,但这是保留更多细节的一种折衷方案,况且在小屏幕手机上进行视频流通话时,噪点并不会成为太大的问题。

Pixel 2的防抖作用不是很好,特别是相比于可以实现近乎“静态相机”效果的最新手机,在步行中使用S8拍摄的视频和摇拍视频中都会出现明显的运动残影。不同的帧之间的清晰度差异也显而易见,脸部被应用了强烈的平滑化,看起来不太真实,尤其是帧与帧之间的平滑化处理也不一致,在回放时看起来很奇怪。一如静止图像,朝着高光光源录制视频时,也可以看见强烈的耀斑,色彩量化和色彩渐晕伪像也略微可见,但是上述这些问题都不如清晰度不一致和耀斑那样严重。

谷歌Pixel 2,耀斑,静态视频图像

结论

虽然Pixel 2得益于谷歌的软件解决方案,能够获得非常不错的图像效果,但与目前大多数高端智能手机相比,该手机的前置摄像头配备的硬件已稍微过时。Pixel 2的面部曝光通常有点低,但得益于HDR处理,其动态范围比许多竞争机型更宽广,因此消费者必须决定哪个属性比较重要。其演色性也略有问题,户外色彩饱和度不足和白平衡不准确会导致粉红色色偏。尽管存在这些问题,谷歌Pixel 2手机仍然是一款相当不错的手机,它在低光下保留了出色的细节,提供良好的景深和较大的对焦范围,闪光灯和视频防抖效果也相当坚实,因此对于自拍爱好者而言,Pixel 2仍然有很多优点。

照片优点

  • 优秀的细节保留
  • 低噪点
  • 非常好的动态范围

视频优点

  • 在户外和室内保留了不错的细节
  • 大多数情况下的测标曝光正确

照片不足

  • 脸部在某些环境中曝光不足
  • 某些环境中出现色偏,肤色也不准确

视频不足

  • 低光下出现噪点
  • 有时可观察到白平衡错误

Google Pixel 2 front camera review

DxOMark
Selfie
77

The Google Pixel 2’s main camera is an excellent choice for smartphone photography enthusiasts, but with industry figures suggesting that as many as 30% of all smartphone pictures are now selfies, the performance and image quality of the front camera is becoming more and more important as well.

The Pixel 2’s front camera features a 1/3.2-inch sensor with 8Mp resolution and 1.14µm pixel size. The 27mm-equivalent wide-angle lens is a fixed-focus optic, and full HD 1080p video offers good resolution for Skype calls and live streaming. Other front camera features include a display flash when additional lighting is required, digital zoom, and a Portrait mode for applying a bokeh simulation effect.

Read on to find out how the Pixel 2 front camera performed in our testing.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 8Mp resolution
  • 1/3.2-inch sensor with 1.14µm pixel pitch
  • 27mm-equivalent lens
  • Fixed focus
  • 1080p video

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

77
DxOMark selfie
Google Pixel 2
80
photo
Google Pixel 2
71
video
Google Pixel 2

Achieving an overall DxOMark Selfie score of 77 points, the Google Pixel 2 is a solid choice for the selfie enthusiast, with good results across both still photos and video. The device’s key strengths for stills include good dynamic range, and high levels of detail preservation with acceptable levels of noise. Tested under well-balanced lighting conditions, the Pixel 2 records slightly low target exposures, so faces tend to be underexposed in many of the natural test scenes and particularly in low-light shots taken in the lab. Dynamic range is wide when shooting in high-contrast conditions, ensuring that good detail is maintained in the highlights, although low target exposures and underexposed faces are sometimes still evident.

The Google Pixel 2 offers a wide dynamic range and a long focus range with extended depth of field.

White balance is fairly accurate under indoor and low-light conditions, recording accurate skin tones and pleasant color, but it can be inconsistent on outdoor images, with a pinkish color cast affecting both skin tones and backgrounds. Texture preservation is a key strength for the Pixel 2, so you can be confident of good detail and well-defined facial features. The device has a tendency to slightly over-sharpen images, which affects skin rendering in some examples, but also ensures good detail in facial features.

Focus is another strong point for the Pixel 2, and although the device features a fixed-focus lens like many of its competitors, good depth of field results in sharpness on faces shot at medium and long range, as well as in backgrounds. Noise is reasonably well-controlled, too, and although it’s more visible compared to some competitors’ devices, it’s the trade-off for the camera’s high level of detail.

Outdoors, white balance tends to be slightly pinkish, but detail preservation is high.
Indoors, white balance is more accurate and detail is good, but noise is often visible.

The Pixel 2 does a good job shooting video with the front camera, too, with its key strengths accurate target exposures and good detail preservation. So texture in low-light videos holds up well compared to many competitors, although again, the trade-off is a little more noise. Dynamic range isn’t quite as strong as it is with stills, with occasionally clipped highlights. Flare is often visible on videos shot in high-contrast backlit scenes as well. Stabilization is not available, resulting in some wobble when walking or panning, and video color could be improved. Rendering is nice, with accurate white balance, but color casts do occur. So the Pixel 2 is not perfect; but apart from the lack of stabilization, the other issues are not huge concerns, and overall, the Pixel 2 does a pretty decent job of capturing moving images.

Photo scores explained

The Google Pixel 2’s front camera achieves a total photo score of 80, which is calculated from its scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (56)

The Pixel 2 scores slightly low for exposure, despite good dynamic range. Target exposure is a little low under light sources between 20 and 1000 lux, and noticeably underexposed in low-light conditions of just 5 lux.

Google Pixel 2, target exposure lab analysis

As one of the first devices to implement a HDR feature on the front camera, the Pixel 2 generally records good detail in the highlights when you’re shooting in high-contrast conditions. You can see in our “under the bridge” HDR scene, the Pixel 2 records more highlight detail in the background, but the face is underexposed, and the iPhone X ends up providing the best target exposure for the main subject. Some exposure instabilities are also evident across consecutive HDR exposures on the Pixel 2, with more aggressive processing evident on some shots, so in tough conditions it’s worth snapping a few selfies and picking out your favorite later.

Google Pixel 2, HDR scene
Apple iPhone X, HDR scene
Samsung Galaxy S8, HDR scene

The Pixel 2 dropped points in the exposure category because of those underexposed target exposures on faces, which were evident across a range of images shot under different lighting conditions. Some selfie shooters may prefer a more accurately-exposed face than the Pixel 2 generally provides.

Google Pixel 2, back-lit selfie, indoors
Google Pixel 2, group selfie, outdoor
Google Pixel 2, indoor selfie
Color (68)

A fairly good score for color, with pleasant color rendering and natural skin tones when white balance is accurate. The Pixel 2 lost points for some white balance inconsistencies, however. White balance is generally accurate indoors and in low-light conditions, but pink and blue color casts are often visible outdoors.

Google Pixel 2, white balance outdoors
Apple iPhone X, white balance outdoors
Samsung Galaxy S8, white balance outdoors
Google Pixel 2, white balance indoors
Apple iPhone X, white balance indoors
Samsung Galaxy S8, white balance indoors

Red tones can be inaccurate outdoors, too, with a hue shift giving them a pink and somewhat unsaturated appearance. Slightly undersaturated color, as well as color shading, with color shifts from green in the center to pink at the edges, are noticeable both on indoor and on low-light images, too.

Google Pixel 2, outdoor color rendering
Apple iPhone X, outdoor color rendering
Samsung Galaxy S8, outdoor color rendering
Google Pixel 2, color shading outdoor
Google Pixel 2, color shading indoor

Focus (71)

A strength for the Pixel 2 is its fixed-focus lens, which provides a large range of focus and good depth of field, while avoiding the focusing irregularities that can occur with autofocus. Focus is best at 55cm (as opposed to around 30cm on many other devices), at which the Pixel 2 achieved an excellent acutance score of 80% in bright light, with very good results of around 70% acutance at 30cm, 90cm, and 120cm, too.

Google Pixel 2, acutance by subject distance

So sharpness remains very acceptable for those close-range selfies shot at 30cm, but best sharpness is provided at 55cm, making the Pixel 2 an interesting choice for users who prefer to incorporate more of the background in their selfies. Good depth of field also ensures that long-range selfies shot at around 120cm from the camera using a selfie stick offer acceptable focus on faces, and backgrounds are generally fractionally sharper than we see on other devices with narrower depths of field, which is good to know if you’re hoping to take lots of tourist and environmental portraits.

Google Pixel 2, focus at 55cm
Google Pixel 2, crop
Apple iPhone X, focus at 55cm
Apple iPhone X, crop
Samsung Galaxy S8, focus at 55cm
Samsung Galaxy S8, crop

Texture (65)

A very good result for texture, with a high level of detail—over 70% acutance captured in static scenes in both indoor and outdoor images. The Pixel 2 also records very respectable detail in static scenes under indoor lighting (100 lux) and acceptable detail of over 50% acutance in low-light conditions of 20 lux. Scenes containing some subject motion are a little more challenging: although the Pixel 2 delivers good acutance of over 50% in bright light, expect some motion blur when capturing moving subjects under indoor or low-light conditions.

Google Pixel 2, acutance by lighting condition

In handheld exposures, detail preservation on the Pixel 2 surpasses both the iPhone X and the Samsung Galaxy S8 in all lighting conditions. In very bright light (1000 lux), texture preservation is notably better, and although there’s an expected loss of fine detail on faces when shot under low-light conditions (10 lux), the Pixel 2 still has the edge.

Google Pixel 2, 55cm at 1000 lux
Google Pixel 2, crop
Apple iPhone X, 55cm at 1000 lux
Apple iPhone X, crop
Samsung Galaxy S8, 55cm at 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy S8, crop
Google Pixel 2, detail at 10 lux
Google Pixel 2, crop
Apple iPhone X, detail at 10 lux
Apple iPhone X, crop
Samsung Galaxy S8, detail at 10 lux
Samsung Galaxy S8, crop

All told, overall detail is very good—among the best we’ve tested—but there are notable issues with both repeatability and over-sharpening. We observed some variation in detail preservation over consecutive shots under the same lighting conditions, with softer results in some pictures. So again, it’s worth snapping a couple of images to make sure you capture good detail in at least one of them. The high levels of fine detail also come at the price of some slight over-sharpening, which is particularly noticeable on skin. We classify this over-sharpening as an artifact issue, so it doesn’t affect the texture score, but it’s worth being aware of.

Noise (65)

The Pixel 2 ranks around the middle of our database for front camera noise performance, and although it keeps things well under control in bright and outdoor lighting conditions, noise is very noticeable in both indoor and low-light images. Slightly more noise is visible compared to the iPhone X in all lighting conditions, and the visual noise graph shows that both devices have a similar noise trajectory as light levels decrease.

In outdoor and indoor lighting conditions, it’s a similar story when comparing the Pixel 2 to the S8, with the Samsung device fractionally better. In extreme low light (between 1 and 5 lux), significantly less noise is visible on the S8 compared to the Pixel 2.

Visual noise comparison chart

In our perceptual analysis of noise in natural scenes, the Pixel 2 achieved good scores for indoor and outdoor scenes. We observed particularly low levels of noise on faces in bright light, and although a heavier buildup is evident in areas of uniform color and the backgrounds, it’s not too much of a concern. Noise is more apparent in low-light images, however, where the Pixel 2 garnered a relatively low score, so expect to see some degradation of image quality in those conditions.

Google Pixel 2, noise at 10 lux
Google Pixel 2, crop
Apple iPhone X, noise at 10 lux
Apple iPhone X, crop
Samsung Galaxy S8, noise at 10 lux
Samsung Galaxy S8, crop

Artifacts (73)

We deduct points for visible artifacts in images, with the main problems on the Pixel 2 being a loss of acutance in the field, anamorphosis on faces at the edge of the frame, and flare that is often visible when shooting towards a bright light source. The loss of acutance in the field is clearly evident in pictures viewed at large scale, with a significant difference in sharpness between elements in the center and those on the edges. Anamorphosis results in slightly distorted and stretched subject faces positioned away from the center of a shot, which can be particularly problematic when shooting subjects at a close distance or when you’re filling the frame with faces when shooting a group selfie.

Google Pixel 2, flare
Google Pixel 2, anamorphosis
Google Pixel 2, loss of edge acutance

Flash (73)

The Pixel 2 uses a display screen flash to help improve the lighting in some situations, and records generally accurate exposures of the face in both mixed-lighting and flash-only scenarios. It loses fine details on the face using flash, but overall texture remains acceptable, thanks in part to good noise reduction, which strikes a nice balance between detail and noise. Noise on the subject is well-controlled, although chromatic noise is often visible in the background in flash pictures. Flash fall-off, or vignetting, is also very evident in flash-only pictures, as the light from the display flash fails to light the corners of the frame as much as the center. The Pixel 2 also lost some points for Flash because of a blue white balance cast when mixing flash with tungsten light sources.

Google Pixel 2, flash at 0 lux
Google Pixel 2, crop
Google Pixel 2, flash at 5 lux
Google Pixel 2, crop

Bokeh (55)

The Pixel 2 achieves a respectable Bokeh score of 55 points. Some depth estimation artifacts are evident around complex areas, such as a hand with spanned fingers and wispy hair, but on the whole it does a reasonable job. Rendering is consistent in both bright and low-light environments, and the level of noise is uniform across in-focus faces and smoothed background areas, which is a bonus. The Pixel 2 does not apply a blur gradient to backgrounds that drop away behind the subject, however, and objects on the same focal plane as the face are often blurred, which doesn’t recreate the realistic effect you’d achieve optically. Overall, though, the Pixel 2 does a pretty good job on bokeh shots.

Google Pixel 2, background blur
Google Pixel 2, crop
Google Pixel 2, depth estimation
Google Pixel 2, crop
Google Pixel 2, blur gradient
Google Pixel 2, crop

Video scores explained

The Google Pixel 2 achieves a Video score of 71, which is composed of the following video sub-scores: Exposure (64), Color (65), Focus (90), Texture (62), Noise (70), Artifacts (74), and Stabilization (30). The Pixel 2’s key strengths when shooting video are excellent detail preservation both indoors and outdoors, as well as accurate target exposures between 20 and 1000 lux. Faces in videos are accurately exposed in most lighting conditions; videos are noticeably underexposed only in very low light (between 1 and 10 lux).

Google Pixel 2, video target exposure chart

Dynamic range is more limited on the Pixel 2’s video files compared to its still photos, so bright highlights and backgrounds are often clipped; however, this is consistent with many other current devices. As you continue to capture video during lighting changes, exposure transitions are fairly smooth, and the Pixel 2 avoids any problematic overshoots and oscillations that can seriously impact the viewing experience.

Google Pixel 2, outdoor panning

Strengths and weaknesses for video color align with the Pixel 2’s performance for stills, and although it lags a little behind the iPhone X and the Samsung S8 for color overall, it gives a respectable performance. When white balance is accurate in both outdoor and indoor videos, the hues of skin tones are accurate, but white balance irregularities do occur, often rendering a cold cast outdoors and a warm yellow cast indoors. The color casts aren’t overly strong, however, and although skin tones go slightly pink, the results are just about acceptable.

In low light, video color is noticeably undersaturated, with those pinkish skin tones again prevalent, and some color shading is evident in indoor and low-light videos. White balance irregularities connected to temporal attributes are also noticeable, with slight variations in color between frames evident.

The fixed-focus lens ensures faces are reasonably sharp on videos shot at both close (30cm) and medium (55cm) range, and although depth of field isn’t quite as impressive as it is with stills, the focus range for video remains larger than that of many competitors.

Google Pixel 2, focus range, still from video

Texture preservation is also excellent on faces in outdoor videos, and fine detail holds up better compared to the iPhone X and Samsung S8 in indoor and low-light videos, too. Noise is again a little more prevalent with the Pixel 2 in low light compared to these key competitors, but this is a trade-off you may be willing to accept for the improved detail—particularly as watching streamed video calls on a small-screen device means the noise isn’t overly problematic.

Stabilization isn’t very effective, especially compared to more recent devices that implement an almost “steady-cam” effect, with residual motion evident in both walking and panning videos shot with the S8. A difference in sharpness between frames is also noticeable, as well as strong smoothing on faces, which can look unrealistic—particularly as the smoothing is also inconsistent between frames, which can look odd on playback. As with stills, strong flare is also visible on videos shot towards a bright light source, and color quantization and color shading artifacts are slightly visible, too—but these are less problematic compared to the variations in sharpness and the flare.

Google Pixel 2, flare, still from video

Conclusion

Compared to most current high-end smartphones, the Google Pixel 2 comes with slightly outdated front camera hardware, although thanks to Google’s software solutions, the device is still capable of very decent image results. Exposure on faces is often a little low, but the inclusion of HDR processing means that dynamic range is wider than for many competitors, so consumers will have to decide which is more important to them. Color rendering is also slightly problematic, with undersaturated hues and white balance inaccuracies outdoors that can result in pinkish color casts. Despite these issues, the Google device remains a decent performer. Thanks to excellent detail preservation in low light, extended focus range with good depth of field, as well as solid results for flash and video, the Pixel 2 still has a lot to offer selfie enthusiasts.

Photo Pros

  • Excellent fine detail preservation
  • Low levels of noise
  • Very good dynamic range

Video Pros

  • Good detail preservation outdoors and indoors
  • Good target exposure in most conditions

Photo Cons

  • Underexposed faces in some environments
  • Color casts and skin tone inaccuracies in some environments

Video Cons

  • Visible noise in low light
  • White balance errors sometimes visible