荣耀 V30 Pro前置摄像头评测

76
selfie

荣耀 V30 Pro是华为旗下品牌荣耀的高端机种,配置6.57英寸IPS LCD显示屏、后置三组摄像头,同时搭载高端海思麒麟990芯片组和8GB主存。前置摄像头的部份则装设了双组摄像头:搭配等效26mm定焦镜头的3200万像素主摄像头,以及800万像素超广角定焦摄像头。视频模式下,V30 Pro前置摄像头能够以每秒30帧的速度录制4K高分辨率的影片。荣耀 V30 Pro在我们DXOMARK Camera的评测中表现非常出色,且让我们看看它的自拍性能是否也一样优异。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 双摄像头
  • 主摄像头: 1 / 2.8英寸、3200万像素传感器,具0.8微米像素,搭配等效26mm、光圈f / 2.0定焦镜头
  • 超广角摄像头:800万像素传感器,搭配等效17mm、光圈f / 2.2定焦镜头
  • 2160p / 30fps视频
  • 麒麟990芯片组

关于DXOMARK Selfie测试:DXOMARK工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。 

测试结果

76
selfie
70
photo
85
video

获得DXOMARK Selfie总体得分76分的荣耀 V30 Pro ,在我们评比里位居中等排名机种的倒数第三名,对于该等级的手机来说,表现有点令人失望。特别是照片的模式,V30 Pro还有改善的空间,它的静态图像分数为70分,是迄今为止我们所测试过的前置摄像头中,表现欠佳的机种之一。

在大多数情况下,荣耀V30 Pro前置摄像头所拍摄的照片能呈现出良好的脸部曝光。

在所有条件下,脸部的目标曝光通常准确,不过,脸部的低对比度显得不自然,且动态范围有限,导致在具挑战性的高对比度场景中会出现高光剪贴的现象。我们的测试人员在拍摄一系列照片时,也发现有些曝光不稳的状况。

此外,前置摄像头所拍摄的图像有些色彩方面的问题。V30 Pro的饱和度通常很低,呈现出的肤色有点不自然。在户外,自动白平衡系统可能会有不稳的状况,进而造成色偏,我们的测试人员还发现,低光下明显出现一些色彩渐晕。

荣耀V30 Pro,轻微的黄色色偏且饱和度低
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,饱和度佳,肤色美丽
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,饱和度佳,肤色美丽

定焦镜头搭配相对较大的图像传感器代表着聚焦深度受到限制。在55cm左右的距离下所拍摄出的清晰度最好,不过,距离摄像头近一些或远一些的主体,清晰度就会下降。也就是说,对于喜欢使用自拍杆的用户来说,V30 Pro并不适合;团体自拍照中,位于后面的主体,也会略微失焦。

在最佳的拍摄距离下,V30 Pro能够完好的保留住纹理,但是,相当强的美颜效果可能会导致细节损失。亮光下,图像噪点控制的不错,不过,在室内和低光下,噪点变得更为明显。在近黑的条件下拍摄时,V30 Pro的显示屏闪光灯功能相当有用,可以呈现很不错的脸部曝光且肤色也很漂亮。但是,当闪光灯加上暗的钨丝灯光,橙色色偏就会变得显而易见。

此前置摄像头的散景模式还提供可模糊背景的功能,不过,效果可能时好时坏,曝光和白平衡也明显不稳。主体周围出现的深度估计伪像也相当令人困扰。

荣耀V30 Pro,景深窄
荣耀V30 Pro,裁剪图,在远距离使用自拍杆所拍摄的主体,出现失焦的情况

虽然很难推荐V30 Pro给喜爱静态自拍的摄影者,不过,相较之下,V30 Pro视频模式的表现好多了。荣耀在此项目的成绩仍不是最亮眼的,但已稳居中间的排名,这可归功于4K录制的视频,在主体位于焦平面时,能显现出良好的细节。脸部目标曝光准确,且相较于照片模式,在户外环境或典型的室内光线下录制视频时,白平衡更为稳定。防抖的效果也相当不错,让亮光下录制的视频能维持顺畅且平稳。

不足之处,高对比度场景中的脸部或背景都看得到高光剪贴,色彩渲染的效果也很差,肤色的饱和度低,尤其是在光线较暗的情况下。我们的测试人员还观察到视频片段中出现色调偏移和边纹伪像。除此之外,和照片模式一样,景深窄使得距离摄像头太近或太远的主体会失焦。

结论

荣耀V30 Pro拥有高端规格,在我们的主摄像头评测中表现非凡。可惜的是,它的自拍摄像头性能就没那么优秀了。V30 Pro可以录制出相当不错的自拍视频,细节出色且稳定性佳,不过,仍与在视频项目上表现优异的机种有段距离,而其静态图像的性能需改进的空间更大。色彩的问题、狭窄的景深以及过度的美颜效果,都让用户的自拍体验不如预期。对许多用户来说,荣耀V30 Pro的后置摄像头依旧是一款非常好的选项,但是,如果优先考虑的是自拍图像和视频,市面上有其他更好的选择。

照片

优点

  • 脸部曝光良好
  • 使用闪光灯拍摄时,曝光和肤色都很不错
  • 亮光下的噪点少

不足

  • 美颜效果导致脸部细节丢失
  • 景深窄,意味着在较远的距离下拍摄会损失细节
  • 亮光下的色彩饱和不足
  • 脸部对比度低
  • 散景效果与深度估计伪像不一致

视频

优点

  • 脸部目标曝光准确
  • 在亮光下和室内拍摄时,白平衡准确且稳定
  • 对焦在主体上时,呈现出良好的纹理
  • 户外环境中,防抖效果佳

不足

  • 动态范围有限,造成高光剪贴
  • 景深窄,意味着在较远的距离下拍摄会损失细节
  • 色彩渲染差,肤色饱和度略为不足,尤其在低光下
  • 偶尔出现色调偏移和边纹伪像,常常出现色彩量化的情形

Honor V30 Pro front camera review

Reading Time: 5 min read
76
selfie

The Honor V30 Pro is a high-end device from Huawei’s subsidiary Honor, featuring a 6.57-inch IPS LCD display, a triple camera on the back, a HiSilicon Kirin 990 chipset, and 8GB of RAM.

At the front of the device, you’ll find a dual-camera setup: a 32MP primary camera with a fixed-focus 26mm-equivalent lens and an 8MP fixed-lens ultra-wide camera. In video mode, V30 Pro front camera is capable of recording high-resolution 4K footage at 30 frames per second.

The Honor V30 Pro did very well in our DXOMARK Camera test. Let’s see if it can also deliver for selfies.

Key front camera specifications:

  • Dual-camera
  • Primary: 32MP 1/2.8-inch sensor with 0.8µm pixels and 26mm-equivalent, f/2.0-aperture fixed-focus lens
  • Ultra-wide: 8MP sensor and 17mm-equivalent, f/2.2-aperture fixed-focus lens
  • 2160p/30fps video
  • Kirin 990 chipset

About DXOMARK Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test results

76
selfie
70
photo
85
video

With an overall DXOMARK Selfie score of 76, the Honor V30 Pro occupies a position in the bottom third of our mid-table rankings, which is slightly disappointing for a device in its class. Photo mode in particular leaves some room for improvement, as the V30 Pro’s still image score of 70 puts it among the lowest-performing front cameras we have tested so far.

Honor V30 Pro front camera pictures show good exposure on faces in most situations.

Target exposure on the face is usually accurate in all conditions, but faces also tend to show unnaturally low contrast, and a limited dynamic range can result in highlight clipping in challenging high-contrast scenes. Our testers also observed some exposure instabilities when shooting a series of shots.

In addition, front camera images tend to come with some color issues. Saturation is generally quite low and the V30 Pro renders skin tones a little unnaturally. Outdoors, the auto white balance system can be unstable, producing color casts, and our testers also found some noticeable color shading in low-light shots.

Honor V30 Pro, slightly yellow cast and low saturation
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good saturation, pleasant skin tones
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, good saturation, pleasant skin tones

The fixed-focus lens in combination with a relatively large image sensor means that focus depth is limited, too. Sharpness is best at a shooting distance of around 55cm, but drops for subjects that are closer to or further away from the camera. This means the V30 Pro isn’t the ideal device for users who like shooting with a selfie stick. Subjects at the back of group selfies will be slightly out of focus, too.

At optimal shooting distance, the V30 Pro preserves textures quite well, but a fairly strong beautification effect can contribute to a loss of fine detail. Image noise is well controlled in bright light, but becomes more noticeable in indoor conditions and when shooting in low light. The device’s display flash function can be useful when shooting in near darkness, producing good exposure on faces and nice skin tones. When mixing flash with low tungsten light, however, an orange cast becomes visible.

The camera also offers a background-blurring bokeh mode, but the effect can be unstable, with noticeable exposure and white balance instabilities. Depth estimation artifacts around the subject can be quite intrusive, too.

Honor V30 Pro, narrow depth of field
Honor V30 Pro, crop, out-of-focus subject when using a selfie-stick at long distance

While it’s quite hard to recommend the V30 Pro to selfie still photographers, its video mode is surprisingly quite a bit better. The Honor is still not among the best in this category, but occupies a secure mid-table spot. Thanks to 4K recording, video clips show good detail when the subject is in the focus plane. Target exposure on faces tends to be accurate, and in contrast to photo mode, white balance is stable when recording in outdoor conditions or under typical indoor lighting. The stabilization system does a pretty good job at keeping things smooth and steady in bright light, too.

On the downside, highlight clipping can be visible on faces or in the background in high-contrast scenes, and color rendering is pretty poor, with low saturation on skin tones, especially in low light. Our testers also observed hue shift and ringing artifacts in video clips. In addition, the narrow depth of field has the same effect as in photo mode, with subjects very close or further away from the camera rendered out of focus.

Conclusion

The Honor V30 Pro boasts high-end specs and performed impressively well in our main camera test. Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for its selfie cam performance. While the V30 Pro is capable of recording decent selfie video, with good detail and stabilization, it’s far from the best in this category, and its still images leave even more room for improvement. Color issues, a narrow depth of field, and an overzealous beautification effect all make for a sub-par selfie user experience. The Honor V30 Pro rear cam is still an excellent option for many users, but if selfie pictures and videos are a priority, better options are currently available.

Photo

Pros

  • Good exposure on face
  • Good exposure and skin tones when shooting with flash
  • Low noise levels in bright light

Cons

  • Beautification leads to loss of texture on faces
  • Narrow depth of field means in loss of detail at longer shooting distances
  • Desaturated colors in bright light
  • Low contrast on face
  • Inconsistent bokeh effect with depth estimation artifacts

Video

Pros

  • Accurate target exposure on faces
  • Accurate and stable white balance when shooting in bright light and indoors
  • Good texture when subject is in focus
  • Effective stabilization in outdoor conditions

Cons

  • Limited dynamic range results in highlight clipping
  • Narrow depth of field means loss of detail at longer shooting distances
  • Poor color rendering with slightly desaturated skin tones, especially in low light
  • Occasional hue shift and ringing artifacts, frequent color quantization

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.