华为Mate 10 Pro:卓越的静态图像表现

DxOMark
Mobile
97

注:本文的英语原文发表于2017年10月20日

华为Mate 10 Pro是摄影爱好者首选的卓越智能手机。它搭载了与徕卡合作开发的双摄像头,并配备有1200万像素RGB彩色传感器与2000万像素黑白传感器。其DxOMark Mobile总体得分为97分,仅落后于Google Pixel 2手机1分,这是目前我们测试过的第二好的手机。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 双摄像头,内置1200万像素RGB彩色传感器和2000万像素黑白传感器
    双f/1.6徕卡光学镜头
    2倍无损变焦
    相位检测激光自动对焦
    双色温LED闪光灯
    2160p 30fps(4k)和1080p 30/60fps视频

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:DxOMark工程师在受控的实验室环境和自然的室内外场景中拍摄并评鉴超过1500张测试照片以及超过2小时的视频,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在突出最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

华为Mate 10 Pro擅长于照片摄影,并在照片类别中拿下了令人惊艳的100分佳绩,与目前摄影得分最高的Samsung Galaxy Note 8平分秋色。华为Mate 10 Pro的主要优点在于极佳的曝光效果,特别是在室内条件下的表现更是出色。它也有非常杰出的大光圈模式,可以生成轻微而迷人的散景效果,照片上几乎没有伪像,而且其自动对焦性能也非常出色。华为Mate 10 Pro的视频拿下了91分的成绩,在视频模式方面的表现也非常杰出。它的视频可实现快速准确的自动对焦,同时具有良好的跟踪功能,总体噪点也相当少。

高光

在室外或在高光条件下拍摄时,华为 Mate 10 Pro的曝光效果通常相当好,即使在棘手的高对比度场景中,阴影和高光部位的细节都保留完好。然而它的曝光表现偶尔不甚稳定,特别是在难处理的光线下拍摄连续照片时,难免有一些曝光不足的缺憾。

一般而言,Mate 10 Pro在高光下的曝光表现相当优异,具有温暖宜人的白平衡。

多个帧之间的白平衡通常相当准确而且非常一致。室外照片中可以看到轻微的色偏,但这是一些摄影者喜欢的暖色调,因此相当迷人。不过,偶尔出现的演色问题可能会导致几个特定颜色过度饱和,特别是红色在某些户外照片中显出轻微的色调偏差,略偏粉红色。在高光下的静态场景中,纹理和细节的表现非常出色,但如果场景中有运动的物体,细节保留则略逊色,但还算相当不错。     

低光和闪光灯

在室内和极低的光照条件下的曝光效果都非常好,即使在20、10、5和1勒克斯下也很好用。在室内照片中,华为Mate 10 Pro的动态范围也很宽广。在我们的逆光窗口人像中,较暗的人像主体和较亮的背景区域的细节表现都很到位。

在难处理的逆光人像场景中,Mate 10 Pro在低光位和高光位区域的曝光表现都非常好,其拍摄结果达到了相当不错的平衡。

在室内照明条件下拍摄的静态场景中,纹理的表现相当不错,只有在非常低的光照条件下,精细细节的损失会变得比较明显些。Mate 10 Pro拍摄有运动的场景时显得有一点力不从心,因此如果您希望在这样的场景里拍出非常清晰的照片,最好在光线充足的条件下拍摄。白平衡在低光下的表现相当精确而且可以重复,虽然有轻微的暖色色偏,不过其色彩表现还是相当迷人。它在室内照明条件下的色彩相当浓郁。在极低的光照条件下,色彩饱和度稍低,但表现仍然很不错。

在室内拍摄时,它的曝光表现特别好:亮度上佳,色泽饱和,细节到位,特别是在静态场景下更是如此。

在闪光灯下,Mate 10 Pro的总体拍照效果也非常出色:曝光效果很好,白平衡和演色相当准确,细节保留也很到位。闪光灯的光线准确地落在画面中心,均匀地覆盖了整个画面,就连角落的照明也很不错。然而,在极低的光照条件下使用闪光灯时,阴影区域有一些明显的亮度噪点,但整体的白平衡、色彩和细节表现仍然很不错。

在仅使用闪光灯光源和使用混合光源的两种情况下,Mate 10 Pro的双色温LED闪光灯都可以均匀地覆盖整个画面,呈现非常宜人的曝光效果和漂亮的颜色。

变焦和散景

变焦时,华为Mate 10 Pro使用其第二个单色传感器的2000万像素高分辨率和图像算法来拍摄高质量的数字变焦照片。在2倍变焦下,它的细节保留不如使用光学变焦的手机(如苹果iPhone 8 Plus或三星Galaxy Note 8)出色,但并不算太逊色,而且明显优于单镜头的谷歌Pixel。不过,当变焦在2倍以上时,细节丢失的情况就会变得比较明显了,而且您还会发现照片的边缘有许多噪点和一些振铃效应。

华为Mate 10 Pro,2倍变焦

苹果iPhone 8 Plus,2倍变焦

Google Pixel,2倍变焦

启用了大光圈模式后,华为Mate 10 Pro能够使用准确的深度信息来创建散景效果,并有效突出拍摄对象,其成像效果甚至比iPhone 8 Plus的人像模式更好。大光圈模式除了可以突出主要的拍摄对象之外,还可以检测焦平面中的其他物体,并可重复提供稳定的拍摄结果。但美中不足的是,仔细观察后可以看到一些伪像,而且使用大光圈在高光下拍摄的一些照片也有一定程度的曝光不足。

华为Mate 10 Pro大光圈模式

苹果iPhone 8 Plus人像模式

视频

华为Mate 10 Pro的视频录像显示出很好的曝光水平,较低的噪点和宜人的色彩,而且在各种光线条件下都有准确的白平衡。自动对焦迅速而准确,跟踪性能良好。视频防抖功能可以有效地抵消拍摄时的抖动。但美中不足的是,其纹理水平在所有光线条件下都相对较低,钨丝灯下的录像片段有明显的橙色色偏,而且在高对比度场景中可以看到一些高光区域裁剪。尽管有视频防抖功能,但仍然可以看到一些轻微的低频残留抖动。

照片评分说明

我们在不同照明条件下测试华为Mate 10 Pro在不同方面的表现,并计算照片的每项成绩,Mate 10 Pro最后拿下了100分的总成绩。在本部分中,我们将仔细探讨每项照片质量的评分。

曝光与对比度 (88)

华为Mate 10 Pro的曝光综合得分为88分,成绩相当优异,其中包括低光拍摄得分(83)、室内拍摄得分(93)和户外拍摄得分(89)。

华为Mate 10 Pro在所有光照水平下都拿到了很好的曝光分数。

华为Mate 10 Pro在室内光照条件下的表现的确有过人之处,它为拍摄难度极高的逆光肖像提供了非常出色的曝光效果,在5勒克斯的低光照条件下也有很不错的目标曝光。它在1勒克斯的极低光(等于烛光)下的曝光效果依然很好,拍出了可以使用的照片。

华为Mate 10 Pro即使在仅1勒克斯的极低光下也能产生可用的曝光效果。

在户外光照条件下,我们在高动态范围场景中的拍摄相当成功,而且许多照片中的阴影和高光位的细节保留都很到位。虽然它的HDR曝光不如iPhone 8或谷歌Pixel那样有效,但在很多情况下的表现都很不错。然而它有一些曝光效果显得不太规则,其中包括在连续画面中有些曝光不一致的缺憾,而且在高对比度的逆光场景中面对光线拍摄时会产生一些曝光不足的现象。

华为Mate 10 Pro – HDR曝光

谷歌Pixel – HDR曝光

苹果iPhone 8 Plus – HDR曝光

色彩 (86)

华为Mate 10 Pro的色彩表现也非常杰出,拿下了86分的总得分。它在室内(92)和户外(87)都有相当卓越的演色性,在极弱光线(80)下也可以拍出非常不错的照片。华为Mate 10 Pro在所有光照条件下都可获得一致且可重复的白平衡,并且在室内和户外条件下的颜色都非常均匀,这些都是其颜色表现的主要优势。

虽然它具有一致而可重复的白平衡,但是在室内和户外的照片中都明显有轻微的温色色偏,但这究竟要算是缺点还是优点,端看个人喜好。照片中偶尔也出现了色彩不规则的现象,红色调的情况尤其明显,轻微的色彩偏差往往使红色过度饱和,且偏向粉红色,因此它在这一项目中被扣掉了一些分数。

华为 Mate 10 Pro

谷歌 Pixel

苹果 iPhone 8 Plus

自动对焦 (96)

华为Mate 10 Pro在所有照明条件下都能快速准确地自动对焦,因此在自动对焦项目中拿下了非常出色的综合得分。在静态场景中和场景里有拍摄对象移动的情况下,它在室内和户外照明条件下的表现都令人叹为观止,拿下了100分的最高分。在非常弱的光线下拍摄的静态场景中得了99分,运动场景则拿下了94分,在这样的拍摄条件下还能拿下如此的成绩,相当令人惊艳。华为Mate 10 Pro的自动对焦的快门时滞几乎为零,在30张连续帧,且两次拍摄之间进行散焦的情况下,也可连续拍摄出正确对焦的照片。

自动对焦重复性和低光(20勒克斯)下的速度:在30个连续帧且两次拍摄之间进行散焦的拍摄情况下,华为Mate 10 Pro的对焦速度非常快,几乎没有快门时滞,而且持续拍出对焦正确的照片。

纹理 (67)

Mate 10 Pro在纹理方面拿下了很好的成绩,在室内和户外的照明条件下,静态场景的拍摄效果最佳。在1至20勒克斯之间的较低光照条件下,静态场景中保留了较少的细节,但是在1勒克斯下拍摄可获得50%以上的锐度(清晰度),在20勒克斯下拍摄则可提高至80%,因此该手机能够在静态场景中拍出非常细致的细节。拍摄有被摄体运动的场景时,在户外极明亮的拍摄条件下保留了最丰富的细节。室内的拍摄结果也非常不错,但是在非常微弱的光照(低于20勒克斯)下拍摄有被摄体移动的场景时则有明显的细节损失。

每个照明条件和运动场景的纹理分数

在实验室中使用DxOMark测试图表测试手持拍摄的照片时,您可以看到,在非常明亮的光线(1000勒克斯)下,静态场景获得了不同凡响的清晰度,即使在20勒克斯和10勒克斯的低光条件下,细节保留也非常到位。

华为Mate 10 Pro,1000勒克斯,剪裁画面

华为Mate 10 Pro,20勒克斯,剪裁画面

华为Mate 10 Pro,10勒克斯,剪裁画面

噪点 (71)

噪点拿下了不错的成绩,在高光条件下的拍摄效果最佳。在户外条件下,100%的剪裁区域中的均匀颜色区域(如天空)的亮度噪点几乎看不到,只有在仔细检查时才能看得见,而且整体照片质量不受影响。在室内照明条件下的亮度噪点相对明显一些,但在20至100勒克斯的室内照明条件下,其亮度噪点则得到了相当好的控制,仅在1勒克斯和5勒克斯之间的极度低光下,照片质量的劣化才变得比较明显。

华为Mate 10 Pro,100勒克斯,剪裁画面

华为Mate 10 Pro,10勒克斯,剪裁画面

华为Mate 10 Pro,5勒克斯,剪裁画面

伪像 (66)

伪像成绩有些低,仅拿下了66分,但还算可接受。最严重的问题是块效应,经常可见于颜色一致的区域(尤其是天空)。耀斑也不时出现,但通常只会在难处理的高对比度场景中直接面向光源拍摄时才会发生这种情况。在许多户外场景中也观察到几乎过度饱和的青色色偏,因而影响了蓝天的色彩表现。

在色彩均匀的区域,尤其是在晴朗的蓝天中出现了明显的块效应伪像。

在放大的视图中,您可以清楚地看到颜色较浅的块效应伪像。

闪光灯 (84)

使用闪光灯拍摄时拿下了极高的分数,在仅用闪光灯的条件下和在混合照明的条件下使用闪光灯拍摄的照片都获得了非常优异的成绩。使用闪光灯拍摄的主要优势在于准确的曝光效果、正确且可重复的白平衡,同时伪像也获得了很好的控制,但在仅使用闪光灯拍摄的人像中,有时可看见明显的红眼效果。闪光灯正确地落在画面中心,但一些暗角导致阴影区域出现了噪点,不过这远比我们所看到过的糟糕的照片要好多了。

变焦 (40)

尽管华为Mate 10 Pro未搭载长焦副摄像头,它还是在变焦项目中取得了非常出色的成绩。在2倍变焦的情况下,使用2000万像素单色传感器在非常明亮的光照条件下实现的无损变焦效果保留了非常完整的细节,其表现与搭载了长焦副摄像头的手机(如iPhone 8 Plus)几乎一样好。但在较低光的条件下,它的2倍变焦的表现就没那么好了。它在100勒克斯下有明显的细节损失,在20勒克斯以下的极低光条件下则有大量的细节损失。

在非常明亮的光线条件下(1000勒克斯),4倍变焦拍出的照片还算可以接受,但是在更弱的光线下或者在8倍变焦下,细节的损失和明显的亮度噪点则大大影响了照片质量。您可以在下面的8倍变焦照片中看到,iPhone 8 Plus的长焦镜头可以更好地保留中档变焦的拍摄细节,可见的环形波纹等伪像也比较少。

华为Mate 10 Pro,8倍变焦

苹果iPhone 8 Plus,8倍变焦

散景 (50)

华为Mate 10 Pro的大光圈模式在室内和户外条件下都可以对背景做出非常出色的模糊效果。它的关键优势在于景深浅,模糊效果相当迷人。它的模糊效果不如我们在其他一些手机上看到的那么激进,而且它的光斑也没有您预期看到圆形。然而,其拍摄效果的可重复性极高,在连续帧中也获得了一致的拍摄结果,前景的拍摄主体周围几乎没有明显的伪像,因此其最终人像的表现相当讨喜。

Mate Pro 10的散景模拟模式提供了细微却极具吸引力的背景模糊效果,而且人像周围可见的伪像也非常少。

视频评分说明

华为Mate 10 Pro是一款功能非常强大的视频设备,但整体视频分数不高,仅拿下了81分,其表现不如静态图像那样出色。视频评分项目包括曝光(81)、色彩(85)、自动对焦(89)、纹理(48)、噪点(77)、伪像(87)和防抖(86)。视频的自动对焦的表现相当突出。与静止图像一样,它的自动对焦快速准确,而且在所有照明条件下都具有良好的跟踪能力。

它的演色性也非常好,在各种条件下都能呈现相当愉悦的色彩和准确的白平衡。虽然在钨丝灯的照明下,我们依然可以看到静态图像中的那种轻微的暖色调,但照片依然相当迷人;在户外录制的视频中,天空也可以看到轻微的青色色偏。目标曝光一般而言还算准确,在高光拍摄条件下的曝光效果最佳,但拍摄高对比度场景时的动态范围则相当有限。在室内照明条件下,视频在极低光线下的曝光虽然稍嫌不足,但效果仍然相当不错,而且噪点在低光视频中也获得了很好的控制,这是它的一大优点。在防抖方面,室内和户外录制的视频都很好的降低了运动模糊,只有些许残留的运动痕迹。  

总结:另辟蹊径的卓越的双摄像头手机

华为的双摄像头设计理念(彩色加黑白)与大多数其他制造商迥然不同。而Mate 10 Pro卓然领先的静态拍摄结果显示,这家中国制造商正走在一条正确的道路上,而且它不需要长焦副摄像头即可实现上佳的变焦和散景效果。在视频模式下,Mate 10 Pro也毫不逊色。虽然视频影像的性能不如静态图像那样杰出,但总体而言还是有非常坚实的表现。

97
DxOMark mobile
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
100
photo
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
91
video
Huawei Mate 10 Pro

优点

  • 噪点少,细节保留到位,即使在低光下也是如此
  • 良好的目标曝光效果和宽广的动态范围
  • 可重复的快速自动对焦
  • 在2倍变焦摄影下,细节保留到位
  • 极佳的散景模拟,可有效地突出拍摄对象

优点

  • 快速准确的自动对焦与不错的跟踪性能
  • 在所有照明条件下都能很好的减少抖动
  • 在所有照明条件下都呈现了宜人的色彩和准确的白平衡
  • 良好的曝光效果
  • 一般而言,噪点较少

不足

  • 连续拍摄时偶尔出现曝光不稳定的现象
  • 有时在天空中可以看到块效应伪像
  • 偶尔在色彩接近饱和时出现色调偏移

不足

  • 在所有照明条件下的纹理细节稍少了些
  • 高对比度场景中的动态范围略显不足
  • 在钨丝灯光源下出现明显的橙色色偏

请注意,此评测只是一个简要的说明。我们将尽快添加更多的测试结果的详细信息和额外的取样照片。

We are hiring!

Huawei Mate 10 Pro: Outstanding still image performance

DxOMark
Mobile
97

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro is an outstanding smartphone for photography enthusiasts. Featuring a dual-camera setup developed in cooperation with Leica, which combines a 12Mp RGB with a 20Mp monochrome sensor, it achieves an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 97 points. This ranks the Mate 10 Pro as the currently second-best device we have tested, just a single point behind the Google Pixel 2.

Key camera specifications:

  • Dual-cam with 12Mp RGB and 20Mp monochrome sensors
  • Dual f/1.6 lenses with Leica optics
  • 2x lossless zoom
  • Phase detection and laser autofocus
  • Dual-tone LED flash
  • 2160@30fps (4k) / 1080p@30/60fps video

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video in both controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of the testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here.

Test summary

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro excels for still photography, where it achieves a phenomenal Photo sub-score of 100 points, matching the currently highest Photo sub-score of the Samsung Galaxy Note 8. Its key strengths are good exposures, particularly in indoor conditions; a very good wide aperture mode, which produces a mild, but attractive bokeh effect with few artifacts; and outstanding autofocus performance. The Huawei Mate 10 Pro is a very capable performer in video mode, too, achieving a video sub-score of 91 points. Video autofocus is fast and accurate, with good tracking capabilities and generally low levels of noise.   

Bright light

Shooting outdoors, or in bright light conditions, the Huawei Mate 10 Pro generally delivers good target exposure, even in tricky high-contrast scenes, where both shadow and highlight detail are well-preserved. Occasional exposure instabilities are sometimes noticeable, however, especially on consecutive pictures in challenging light, with some underexposure evident.

The Mate 10 Pro delivers generally excellent exposures in bright light, with a warm but pleasant white balance.

White balance is generally accurate and very consistent across multiple frames. A slight warm color cast is visible in outdoor pictures, but remains pleasant, and some photographers will appreciate the warmer tones. Occasional failures in color rendering can result in over-saturation for specific colors, however — particularly reds, which display a slight tint bias turning them a little pink in some outdoor shots. Texture and detail are excellent on static scenes in bright light, and although lower levels of detail are recorded in scenes that include subject motion, they remain very acceptable.    

Low light and Flash

Exposures in both indoor and very low-light conditions are excellent, with very usable exposures at 20, 10, 5 and 1 Lux. The Huawei Mate 10 Pro also displays a wide dynamic range in indoor pictures, with our backlit window portrait displaying nice detail for both the darker portrait subject and in the brighter areas in the background.

In our challenging backlit portrait scene, the Mate 10 Pro ensured a good exposure in both the darker and brighter regions for a well-balanced final result.

Texture remains very acceptable on static scenes shot under indoor lighting conditions, and it’s only in very low-light conditions where the loss of fine detail becomes more significant. Scenes with motion are a little more challenging for the Mate 10 Pro, so if you’re after super-sharp shots that include movement, try to shoot in good light. White balance is again accurate and repeatable in low light, with that slightly warm but pleasant color cast evident. Color rendering, particularly in indoor lighting conditions, is very strong, and although a little less saturated in extreme low light, it remains very acceptable.

Exposures are particularly good indoors, with nice brightness, well saturated color and good levels of detail — especially in static scenes.

Overall flash results on the Mate 10 pro are excellent, producing nice exposures with accurate white balance and color rendering, as well as good detail preservation. The flash output is well-centered in the frame, with good frame coverage ensuring acceptable lighting in the corners. Using flash in very low-light conditions, some luminance noise is visible in the shadow regions, but overall white balance, color rendering, and detail preservation remain good.

The Mate 10 Pro’s dual-tone LED flash module provides good frame coverage, pleasant exposures, and nice color in both flash-only and mixed lighting shots.

Zoom and Bokeh

When zooming, the Huawei Mate 10 uses the high 20Mp resolution of its secondary monochrome sensor and computational imaging to capture a high-quality digital zoom image. With a 2x zoom factor, detail preservation is not quite as good as on devices using optical zoom, such as the Apple iPhone 8 Plus and the Samsung Galaxy Note 8, but it’s not far off and is noticeably better than the single-lens Google Pixel camera. Loss of detail becomes more evident when you push the zoom slider beyond the 2x setting, though. You’ll also find noisy edges and some ringing in zoom photos.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 2x zoom

Apple iPhone 8 Plus, 2x Zoom

Google Pixel, 2x Zoom

With its Wide Aperture mode enabled, the Huawei Mate 10 Pro is capable of creating a bokeh effect with accurate depth estimation and good subject isolation that is even a touch better than the iPhone 8 Plus’s Portrait mode. Wide Aperture also detects other objects in the focal plane in addition to the main subject, and delivers repeatable and stable results. There are some artifacts visible under closer inspection, though, and some images taken in bright light show a degree of underexposure.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro Wide Aperture mode.

Apple iPhone 8 Plus Portrait mode.

Video

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro’s video footage shows good exposure, low levels of noise, pleasant colors, and accurate white balance in all light conditions. The autofocus works fast and accurately, with good tracking, and the video stabilization efficiently counters camera motion. On the downside, texture levels are quite low in all light conditions: under tungsten lighting, footage shows a noticeable orange cast, and there is some visible highlight clipping in high-contrast scenes. Some slight low-frequency residual motion is still visible despite the video stabilization.

Photo scores explained

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro achieves a total photo score of 100, which is calculated from its scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (88)

An excellent overall exposure score of 88 is comprised of a low light score (83), indoor score (93) and outdoor score (89).

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro achieves good exposure scores at all light levels.

The device really excels in indoor lighting conditions, with excellent exposure on our tricky backlit portrait and good target exposures in low light conditions down to 5 lux. In extreme low light of just 1 Lux (effectively candlelight) exposures remain very good with useable results.

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro produces usable exposures even in extreme low light conditions of just 1 Lux.

In outdoor conditions we had lots of success on high dynamic range scenes, with good detail preservation on the shadows and highlights in many shots. It’s not quite as effective as the Google Pixel or iPhone 8 for HDR exposures, but remains very capable in lots of situations. Points were lost for some exposure irregularities however, including some exposure inconsistency over consecutive frames, as well as some under-exposed shots, mainly occurring on backlit high contrast scenes, when shooting towards the light.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro – HDR exposure

Google Pixel – HDR exposure

Apple iPhone 8 Plus – HDR exposure

Color (86)

Another very good overall score for color of 86, with excellent color rendering indoors (92) and outdoors (87), as well as very acceptable results in extreme low light (80). The Huawei Mate 10 Pro’s main strength for color are consistent and repeatable white balance in all conditions, as well as good color uniformity in both indoor and outdoor conditions.

Although white balance is consistent and repeatable, a slight warm color cast is evident on both indoor and outdoor pictures, but whether you consider this a benefit or drawback will depend on personal preference. Points were also lost for occasional color irregularities, which were particularly noticeable in the red hues, with a slight tint bias often rendering over-saturated reds that shifted towards pink.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro

Google Pixel

Apple iPhone 8 Plus

Autofocus (96)

An outstanding overall score for autofocus, which is fast and accurate in all lighting conditions. For both static scenes and scenes with subject movement, performance is phenomenal in both indoor and outdoor lighting conditions, achieving the top mark of 100 in these cases. In very low light, slightly lower scores of 99 for static scenes and 94 for scenes with movement were achieved, which are still amazing results for such conditions. The Huawei Mate 10 Pro’s autofocus also shoots with almost zero shutter lag, consistently recording in focus shots over 30 consecutive frames, defocusing between shots.

Autofocus irregularity and speed in low light (20 Lux): Over 30 consecutive frames and while defocusing between shots the Huawei Mate Pro 10 found focus very quickly with almost zero shutter lag and consistently delivered in focus images on every exposure.

Texture (67)

The Mate 10 Pro achieves a good, if not amazing, score for texture, with the best results on static scenes in both indoor and outdoor lighting conditions. In lower light conditions between 1 to 20 lux less fine detail is preserved on static scenes, but with acutance (sharpness) above 50% at 1 lux, rising to 80% at 20 lux, the device is capable of great fine detail preservation on static scenes. Evaluating scenes with subject movement, the greatest detail is preserved in very bright conditions outdoors. Results indoors remain very acceptable too, but expect a noticeable loss of detail in very low light images (below 20 lux) on scenes with subject movement.

Texture score per lighting condition and motion in the scene

On handheld images, using the DxOMark test chart in the lab, you can see that in very bright light (1000 lux), exceptional sharpness is achieved on static scenes and even in lower light conditions of 20 and 10 lux detail preservation remains very good.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 1000 Lux,
crop

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 20 Lux, crop

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 10 Lux, crop

Noise (71)

A good score for noise with the best results achieved in bright light conditions. Luminance noise is very slightly visible in 100% crops in areas of uniform color such as the sky in outdoor conditions, but it’s only really visible at close inspection and doesn’t detract from the overall image. Under indoor lighting conditions, luminance noise is more visible but it’s reasonably well controlled under indoor lighting between 100 to 20 lux, with significant deterioration of image quality only becoming evident in extreme low light between 1 and 5 lux.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 100 Lux, crop

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 20 Lux, crop

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 5 Lux, crop

Artifacts (66)

A fairly low, but acceptable score of 66 for artefacts. The most serious issue is the blocking effect, which is regularly visible in areas of uniform color, particularly the sky. Flare is also sometimes visible, but usually only when shooting directly into the light on tricky high contrast scenes. A cyan shift, close to over saturation, was also observed in many outdoor scenes affecting the blue color of the sky.

In areas in uniform color, notably the clear blue sky, a blocking artefact is evident.

In a magnified view, you can clearly see the blocking artefact, which appears as lighter blocks of color.

Flash (84)

A very good score for flash, with consistently good results on both flash only and using flash in mixed lighting conditions. The main strengths of flash pictures are accurate exposures, accurate and repeatable white balance and well controlled artefacts, although a visible red eye effect is sometimes visible on flash only portraits. Some corner shading occurs, resulting in a build up of noise in the shadow areas, but it’s far from the worse we’ve seen and the flash is well-centred in the frame.

Zoom (40)

Despite the absence of a second telephoto lens the Huawei Mate 10 Pro achieves a very respectable score for zoom. At 2x zoom the lossless zoom effect applied using the 20Mp monochrome sensor achieves results almost as good as devices featuring a second telephoto lens, such as the iPhone 8 Plus, in very bright light conditions, where good detail is maintained. It’s not quite as good at 2x in lower light conditions, with the loss of fine detail evident at 100 lux and a significant loss of detail in very low light of 20 lux and below.

In very bright conditions of 1000 lux, 4x zoom shots are just about acceptable, but in lower light or in any lighting conditions at 8x the loss of detail and visible luminance noise significantly impact image quality. You can see from the images below at 8x zoom the iPhone 8 Plus’s telephoto lens does a better job of maintaining fine detail on mid range zoom shots, with fewer artifacts such as ringing visible.

Huawei Mate 10 Pro, 8x zoom

iPhone 8 Plus, 8x zoom

Bokeh (50)

The Huawei Mate 10 Pros Wide Aperture mode does a very respectable job of blurring the background in both indoor and outdoor conditions. Its key strength is its shallow depth of field, which has an attractive blur. The blur is not as aggressive as weve seen on some other devices however, and the classic circular highlights that youd expect to see with an optical bokeh effect are not rendered. The effect is very repeatable however, with consistent results achieved across consecutive frames, and very few artefacts are visible around the foreground subject, resulting in a pleasing final portrait.

The Mate Pro 10’s bokeh simulation mode delivers a subtle but very attractive background blur affect with minimal artefacts visible around the portrait.

Video scores explained

The Huawei Mate 10 Pro is a very capable device for video, although with a slightly lower video sub score of 81 overall, it’s not quite as strong here as it is with stills. Category scores for video include Exposure (81), Color (85), Autofcous (89), Texture (48), Noise (77), Artefacts (87) and Stabilization (86). Its stand out performance is for video is autofocus, where, like with stills, it is fast and accurate, with good tracking capabilities in all lighting conditions.

Color rendering is also very good, with pleasant colors and accurate white balance in all conditions. Although that slight warm color cast we saw with stills persists on video under tungsten lighting, it’s not unattractive, and a slight cyan shift is visible in skies shooting video outdoors. Target exposures are generally accurate, with the best exposures achieved in bright light conditions, although dynamic range is a little limited shooting high contrast scenes. In indoor conditions, video exposures remain good and fairly acceptable in extreme low light, if a little under exposed, but noise is well controlled on low light videos, which is a bonus. For stabilization, good motion reduction is applied on both indoor and outdoor videos, with a slight residual motion. 

Conclusion: Dual-camera in a different (but excellent) way

With its RGB/monochrome dual-camera concept, Huawei is following a different concept than most other manufacturers, but the Mate 10 Pro’s class-leading still image results show that the Chinese manufacturer is on the right path, and that good zoom and bokeh results can be achieved without a longer focal length on the secondary camera. The Mate 10 Pro is no slouch in video mode, either. It’s not quite on the same outstanding level as for stills, but is nonetheless capable of delivering a very solid video performance all around.

97
DxOMark mobile
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
100
photo
Huawei Mate 10 Pro
91
video
Huawei Mate 10 Pro

Pros

  • Good detail preservation, even in low light, and low levels of noise
  • Good target exposure and wide dynamic range
  • Very fast and repeatable autofocus
  • Good detail preservation in 2x zoom shots
  • Good bokeh simulation with nice subject isolation

Pros

  • Fast and accurate autofocus with good tracking
  • Good motion reduction in all lighting conditions
  • Pleasant colors and accurate white balance in all lighting conditions
  • Good exposure
  • Generally low noise levels

Cons

  • Occasional exposure instabilities in consecutive shots
  • Blocking artifacts sometimes visible in the sky
  • Occasional hue shift close to saturation

Cons

  • Slightly low texture detail in all lighting conditions
  • Slight lack of dynamic range in high-contrast scenes
  • Visible orange color cast under tungsten light sources
We are hiring!