华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G 音频评测

61
audio

Mate 30 Pro 5G是华为最新高端手机的5G高级版。一如该手机的LTE版本,其5G版本也配备了功能强大的麒麟990芯片,6.53英寸FHD+ OLED显示屏和四摄像头配置,以及大容量8GB主存和512GB内部存储空间,并有一个Nano SD卡插槽。请注意,即使Mate 30 Pro上安装了华为的EMUI操作系统(等同于Android 10),但该系统并不支持谷歌的主要应用程序。

在这篇简短的评测中,我们将重点介绍华为Mate 30 Pro 5G和标准版本之间的区别。有关更详细的测试结果,您也可以参考我们的华为Mate 30 Pro评测

主要音频规格:

  • 声音显示器(未用于媒体播放)
  • 专用的有源消声麦克风

关于DXOMARK Audio测试:为了在DXOMARK智能手机音频评测中进行评分和分析,我们的工程师在受控的实验室条件下执行各种客观测试,并对20多个小时的样本进行感知评估。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果。另请注意,我们仅使用手机的内置硬件和默认应用程序评鉴“播放”和“录制”的性能。(有关播放基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处;有关录制基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处。)

测试结果

61
audio
58
playback
72
recording

总体而言,Mate 30 Pro的5G版本在音频测试中的表现几乎与不久前测试过的LTE版本相同。尽管两者之间存在一些可察觉的差异,5G版本的播放音色和音损成绩也都提高了1分,但其最终得分(61分)仅比LTE版本高了1分。

不过,Mate 30 Pro 5G在我们测试过的手机中的排名仍处于后半部分。就一款旗舰手机而言,这样的表现不尽如人意。播放是该手机表现的不足的地方,得分为58分。该手机的录制表现则好得多,得分为72分,是我们迄今测试过的所有手机中得分最高的。这是因为该手机的音调范围再现的准确性比LTE版本略有提高,音频播放音损也更少,所以能取得如此优异的成绩。

使用华为Mate 30 Pro 5G录制语音备忘录

播放

在播放媒体方面,5G机型只有一个单声道扬声器,一如其LTE版本。它也有一个声音显示器,但不用于媒体播放,因此不会影响我们的任何音频测试结果或得分。考虑到这一重要局限,Mate 30 Pro 5G的播放性能可说非常出色,但在高音量下的表现就不是这样了。该手机的播放空间感得分为30分,影响了播放质量的表现,因为就一款单扬声器手机而言,其出色的声音定位能力令人惊艳,但其单扬声器几乎没有任何声场。

该手机的音调再现效果相当不错,播放音色得分为62分。高音声音精确、清亮,声响几乎微不足道;而除了前三个音量设置之外,中音域的声音听起来也纯净自然。5G版本的低音响应比LTE版本略有改善,因而拉高了音色得分,如您在此比较图中所见:

音乐播放频率响应曲线

该手机播放的媒体大体上具有不错的声音力度,在中低音量设置下收听时,起音非常出色。更好的低音在这里也有帮助。但是在高音量下,音频缺乏冲击力,起音也不精确。播放音量的表现也好坏参半。正如下面的图表所示,虽然音量步进基本上是线性的,但最大音量并不是很响亮,在最小音量设置下也几乎听不到声音。

音乐音量一致性

尽管该手机的音量表现与我们在LTE版本上测得的水平大致相同,但它在最大播放音量下的表现并不出色:

Hip-Hop Classical
71.4 dBA 68.7 dBA

在声场方面,由于该手机仅有一个单声道扬声器,因此得分受到影响。它的声场没有任何广度,音调平衡也不准确。

单扬声器设计导致广度表现不佳
空间感平衡不佳

它的声音再现几乎听不到任何音损;其失真程度也得到了很好的控制(但最大音量除外),因此播放音损得分为84分。遗憾的是,手指很容易意外地放在该手机的单一扬声器上,从而严重损害了音频质量。在高音量下,该手机的音调响应和声音力度变差,从而影响了该手机在高音量下的表现。

录制

录制时,Mate 30 Pro 5G在保持音调范围方面的表现非常好,因此在录制音色方面取得优异的成绩(82分)。与其他手机相比,该手机的低音响应特别好。该手机录制的空间感和力度特性的表现也非常杰出,有助于该手机取得顶尖的录制得分(72分)。但有一个小问题:高音频段的共振可能使音调平衡听起来太清亮。同样,在录制响亮的声源时,会听见一些失真和音量抽吸效应。

在我们所有用例中,录音水平也都在可接受的范围内:

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-23.1 LUFS -18.9 LUFS -18 LUFS -19.4 LUFS

录制时,这款手机在抑制音损方面的表现相当不错,但是在高音量时,低音会失真,还出现了一些音量抽吸效应。不幸的是,它的麦克风也很容易被遮挡。总体而言,它在录制音损方面的成绩居中,得分为69分。您可以自行在我们的音损测试样本中听到这一现象:

尽管背景声音有些高频和低频共振,从而影响了该手机的音调平衡表现,但该手机在这方面的表现不错。降噪处理也导致背景噪声出现一些音损。

结论:播放表现不佳,但录制效果不错

华为Mate 30 Pro 5G不能提供非常吸引人的聆听体验,对于一款旗舰手机而言尤其如此。这很大程度上是由于其单一单声道扬声器设计所致。与之前测试过的LTE版本相比,其音调响应略有改善,因此表现稍好。

这款手机在录制音频方面的表现要好得多,性能相当优异,因此与其LTE产品并列为我们测试过的手机中的佼佼者。

播放

优点

  • 对于仅有一个单声道扬声器的手机而言,其整体播放效果不错
  • 音色和力度在大多数音量级别中的表现都非常好
  • 尽管是单声道手机,但声源的距离和定位能力表现还算不错

不足

  • 前三个音量级别的音频质量显著下降
  • 单声道扬声器导致广度不足,且录音非常不平衡
  • 最大和最小音量都太小

录制

优点

  • 出色的音调响应,高音清晰,中音自然
  • 音频文件响度佳,可接受的最大录音水平的表现也很好
  • 空间感和力度表现可与该项目的最佳手机相媲美

不足

  • 高频共振导致音调平衡变得清亮
  • 降噪处理会在背景声音中引起语音共振
  • 在高音量下会产生低音失真、低音共振和轻微的抽吸效应

Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G Audio review

Reading Time: 5 min read
61
audio

The Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G is the 5G-equipped, premium version of Huawei’s latest high-end device. Like its LTE sibling, it is equipped with a powerful Kirin 990 SoC, a 6.53-inch FHD+ OLED display, and a quad-camera setup. It comes with a generous 8GB of RAM and as much as 512GB of built-in storage, along with room for a nano-SD card. (Note, however, that even though the Mate 30 Pro ships with Huawei’s EMUI version of Android 10, it does not support Google’s primary applications.)

In this concise review, we’ll focus on the differences between the Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G and the standard version. For more detailed results, you can also refer to our Huawei Mate 30 Pro Audio review.

Key audio specifications:

  • Acoustic display (not used for media playback)
  • Dedicated microphone for active noise cancellation

About DXOMARK Audio tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone audio reviews, DXOMARK engineers perform a variety of objective tests and undertake more than 20 hours of perceptual evaluation under controlled lab conditions. This article highlights the most important results of our testing. Note that we evaluate both Playback and Recording using only the device’s built-in hardware and default apps. (For more details about our Playback protocol, click here; for more details about our Recording protocol, click here.)

Test results

61
audio
58
playback
72
recording

Overall, the 5G version of the Mate 30 Pro performed nearly identically in our audio tests to the LTE version we tested a short time ago. In fact, while there are some slightly audible differences, at 61, its final score is only a single point higher than that of the LTE version, driven by a one-point improvement in Playback Timbre and Artifacts.

The Mate 30 Pro 5G remains in the lower half of phones we’ve tested—not what you would expect for a flagship device. Playback is where it suffers the most, with a Playback sub-score of 58. Recording is much stronger, with the phone scoring 72, tied for the best score of any device we’ve tested so far. It takes the lead over the LTE version thanks to slightly improved accuracy in tonal range reproduction and fewer audio playback artifacts.

Recording a memo with the Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G

Playback

For playing media, the 5G model, like the LTE version, has only one single-channel speaker. It also has an acoustic display, but that isn’t used for media playback, so it doesn’t figure in any of our Audio test results or scores. Given that significant limitation, the Mate 30 Pro 5G does a pretty good job with playback performance, except at high volumes. Playback quality is held down by its low Playback Spatial sub-score of 30, as the single speaker provides almost no sound stage, although it has surprisingly good sound localization for a single-speaker device.

Tonal reproduction is fairly good, giving it a Playback Timbre sub-score of 62. Treble is precise, but brilliant and almost tinny sounding, with the mid-range sounding clean and natural except at the top three volume settings. The 5G version has slightly improved bass response when compared to the LTE version, which contributes to its higher Timbre sub-score, as you can see here in this comparison graph:

Music playback frequency response

Media played back on the phone has fairly good sound dynamics overall, including very good attack when listening at low- and medium-volume settings. The improved bass also helps here. At high volumes, though, audio lacks punch and attack is no longer precise. Playback volume is also a mixed bag. While volume steps are reasonably linear, as you can see in the charts below, maximum volume is not very loud, and the minimum volume setting is almost inaudible.

Maximum playback volume isn’t great, although essentially identical to the levels we measured on the LTE version:

Hip-Hop Classical
71.4 dBA 68.7 dBA

In terms of sound stage, the device’s scores suffer because of its mono speaker design. There is essentially a total lack of wideness, and balance is not accurate.

Poor wideness due to its single-speaker design
Poor spatial balance

Sound reproduction is largely free of audible artifacts, with very well-controlled distortion levels except at maximum volume, leading to a Playback Artifacts sub-score of 84. Unfortunately, it is easy to accidentally place a finger over the single speaker, which seriously degrades audio quality. High volumes also suffer from degradation in tonal response and sound dynamics.

Recording

When recording, the Mate 30 Pro 5G does a very good job of preserving tonal range, giving it an excellent Recording Timbre sub-score of 82. Bass response is particularly good compared to other phones. Recordings also have excellent spatial and dynamic characteristics, further contributing to the phone’s top-rated Recording score of 72. One slight problem is that tonal balance can be too brilliant because of high-end resonances. Also, some audible distortion and volume pumping occur when recording loud sound sources.

Recording levels for all our use cases were also within acceptable levels:

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-23.1 LUFS -18.9 LUFS -18 LUFS -19.4 LUFS

The phone does a reasonably good job of minimizing artifacts when recording, but bass suffers from distortion at high sound levels, and there is slight volume pumping. Unfortunately, the microphones are also easy to occlude. Overall, the Mate 30 Pro 5G achieved a mid-pack Recording Artifacts sub-score of 69. You can listen for yourself with this sample from our artifacts test samples:

Background sounds have good tonal balance, although there are some high- and low-frequency resonances that impact performance. Noise cancellation also results in some artifacts for background noises.

Conclusion: Weak playback, but good recording

The Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G doesn’t provide a very compelling listening experience, especially for a flagship phone. In large part that is due to its mono-channel, single-speaker design. Some slight improvements in tonal response give it a small advantage over the LTE version we tested previously.

The phone is a much better performer when it comes to recording audio, doing an excellent job that places it along with its LTE sibling at the top of the phones we’ve tested.

Playback

Pros

  • Good overall audio playback for a mono-speaker device
  • Timbre and dynamics are quite good for most volume steps
  • Decent distance and localization of sound sources, despite being a mono device

Cons

  • Large decrease in audio quality at the top three volume steps
  • A lack of wideness and very unbalanced recordings due to mono speaker
  • Maximum and minimum volume are both too low

Recording

Pros

  • Excellent tonal response, with clear treble and natural mid-range
  • Very good audio file loudness and maximum acceptable recording level
  • Spatial and dynamics performances match the best-in-class devices

Cons

  • Tonal balance can be brilliant because of high-end resonances
  • Noise cancellation can induce voice resonances in background sounds
  • At high volume levels, bass distortion, bass resonances, and slight pumping effects occur

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.

Leave a Reply