华为 P20 Pro前置摄像头评测

DxOMark
Selfie
72

华为的P20 Pro为第一款配置三摄像头和新夜间模式功能的智能手机,成为2018年手机摄影最热门的选择之一。其前置摄像头为自拍爱好者配备有高分辨率2400万像素图像传感器和f/2大光圈镜头与徕卡光学器件,其技术规格看起来也相当令人印象深刻。那么,在我们新的DxOMark Selfie测试基准的严格测试下,P20 Pro的表现如何?请继续阅读本文,以便在我们的综合评测中了解它的测试结果和完整分析。

前置摄像头的主要规格:

  • 2400万像素图像传感器
  • 26毫米f/2.0徕卡镜头
  • 定焦(30厘米)
  • 1080p 30fps视频

关于DxOMark Selfie测试:DxOMark工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

72
DxOMark selfie
Huawei P20 Pro
67
photo
Huawei P20 Pro
79
video
Huawei P20 Pro

在我们的自拍照片测试中,华为 P20 Pro的前置摄像头获得了72分的总分,表现相当坚实。相比于一些主要竞争机型,P20 Pro照片拍摄时的曝光、闪光灯和伪像的性能均能立于不败之地;虽然整体纹理和色彩的表现不如一些竞争机型那般强劲,这些项目的测试结果也还算相当不错。

P20 Pro的主要优势在于准确的曝光和不错的细节勾勒,特别是高光下拍摄的图像细节更是如此:在距离拍摄对象30厘米处(即镜头的定焦距离)可拍出相当清晰的照片,在典型的室内照明条件下拍摄时,在相同的被摄体距离上也可以保留不错的细节和清晰度。

华为 P20 Pro自拍摄像头在典型的室内照明下可拍出很好的细节和清晰度。
在近距离(30厘米)处,华为 P20 Pro的前置摄像头所拍摄的图像具有准确的曝光以及很好的清晰度和细节。

P20 Pro的定焦系统仅针对极近的被摄体距离进行优化,这是它最需要改进的地方。此外,f/2大光圈镜头提供的景深有限,因此位于30厘米焦平面后面和图像背景后方的被摄体并不是很清晰,即使在55厘米上,细节也有显而易见的损失;散景模拟模式也需要更准确的景深估计;此外,即使在良好的光线下,我们也发现了一些明显的噪点,包括肤色上时而出现的低频色度噪点。

在自拍视频方面,P20 Pro的得分为79分,其运动图像的表现相当出色,测试结果与我们在新自拍测试基准下测试过的几款最好的手机旗鼓相当。P20 Pro的防抖非常有效,在步行录制时和使用摄像头摇拍时都能拍出流畅的视频。在视频方面,对焦仍然是P20 Pro最需要改进的地方,因为在距离摄像头55厘米以外的地方所拍摄的图像均不够清晰,从而影响了视频的对焦和纹理分数。

防抖是P20 Pro自拍视频的一大优势,可以有效地降低各种摄像头的运动痕迹,甚至略胜于我们至今测试过的许多竞争机型一筹。

一如静止照片,P20 Pro的视频在各种照明条件下都能够为面部提供非常出色的曝光,即使在极高光条件下也没有过多的溢光剪贴纹理,但是它的整体动态范围不大,背景常常过度曝光,不过脸部检测性能不错,即使在变化的照明条件下,脸上的曝光调整也相当平顺。

华为 P20 Pro前置摄像头在所有照明条件下都能捕捉到很好的曝光,并稍微提高了脸部的亮度(静态视频图像)。

在户外或高光下录制的视频也都可以保留不错的细节。在室内和低光下,它也把噪点处理得相当不错,但却因降噪处理而丢失了精细细节。

照片评分说明

我们在不同的照明条件下测试了华为 P20 Pro的前置摄像头在几个方面的表现,并计算照片的每项成绩,华为 P20 Pro最后拿下了67分的总成绩。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的图像质量的评分,并分析其与关键竞争机型的差异。

曝光与对比度(71)

在自拍下,华为 P20 Pro赋予脸部优异的曝光效果,这是该摄像头的一项主要优势。它在各种照明条件下的曝光都很好,但在钨丝灯照明下和更长的被摄体距离上拍摄(例如使用自拍杆拍摄)时,P20 Pro的曝光比预期中稍亮些。

华为 P20 Pro,室内曝光
谷歌Pixel 2,室内曝光
三星S9 Plus,室内曝光

然而,它的动态范围不大,在难处理的高对比度场景中,脸上曝光虽然准确,但背景往往过度曝光,因此对华为的曝光分数产生了一些负面影响,因为最好的前置摄像头能够在整个场景中记录很好的高光位细节,这一点对于环境人像(例如旅游自拍)特别重要,因为背景为照片提供了重要的环境信息。

在这个例子中,三个摄像头的表现都差强人意:Pixel 2显示了最好的背景细节,但脸部曝光不足,华为和三星均在脸上提供了更好的曝光度,但背景中有很多溢光剪贴纹理。

华为 P20 Pro,高对比场景
谷歌Pixel 2,高对比场景
三星S9 Plus,高对比场景

我们也在连续的帧中观察到一些曝光不稳定性,所以在高光下,特别是在侧光环境中拍摄自拍照时,最好多拍几张照片,以便稍后挑选曝光效果最佳的照片。

色彩(50)

户外照片的色彩通常相当鲜艳,饱和度也不错,不会使肤色看起来不自然。在我们的比较分析中,P20 Pro的色彩显然比S9更“令人眼睛一亮”;虽然Pixel 2的色彩饱和度更高,但这种鲜艳的色彩在某些情况下可能会让脸部看起来有点不自然。

华为 P20 Pro,户外色彩
谷歌Pixel 2,户外色彩
三星S9 Plus,户外色彩

在户外照片中,P20 Pro的白平衡确实显示了稍微偏蓝/绿的倾向。在这个例子中,P20 Pro图像中的拍摄对象的肤色有点太偏绿;S9 Plus的肤色略微偏暖,但不像Pixel 2图像那样过度饱和,因此是最好的妥协方案。

华为 P20 Pro,户外色彩
谷歌Pixel 2,户外色彩
三星S9 Plus,户外色彩

在色彩测试中,华为 P20 Pro的前置摄像头在室内和低光环境的色彩饱和度不足,演色性也不自然,从而被扣了分数。色彩饱和度不足,再加上我们在户外图像中看到的偏绿白平衡,可能使得肤色看起来不自然。在P20 Pro自拍照中,色彩不饱和会使较深的肤色看起来变浅了,大大地改变了拍摄对象的真实外观,如下面左侧的例子。在室内一系列不同的人造光源下进行拍摄时,我们还观察到一些白平衡不一致的问题。

华为 P20 Pro,低光色彩
谷歌Pixel 2,低光色彩
三星S9 Plus,低光色彩

对焦(42)

华为 P20 Pro在近距离(30厘米)拍摄的面部总是很清晰,而且定焦镜头可以保证没有任何对焦错误,因此没有一些使用自动调焦镜头的手机(例如三星S9 Plus)可能存在的问题。然而,使用P20 Pro拍摄集体自拍照时,在中等距离(55厘米)上拍摄的脸部有点失焦,在远距离(120厘米)上拍摄的脸非常模糊,其锐度低于40%。

华为 P20前置摄像头在高光下的对焦结果

在上面的图表中,您可以看到,由于P20 Pro的景深有限,在55厘米之后的对焦表现相当逊色。谷歌Pixel 2和三星Galaxy S9 +在远距离拍摄时,都提供了更好的边缘锐度。

P20 Pro的固定焦距和有限的景深使得集体合照看起来不清晰。该手机的像素间距加上更大的镜头光圈组合,这意味着其对焦清晰度衰减会比一些竞争机型更快,这不仅对集体合照造成问题,使得位于焦平面后面的拍摄对象明显失焦,而且也影响了旅游摄影和环境人像中的背景细节,让人像和背景都变得不清晰。

在下面的例子中,您可以看到,Pixel 2和S9 Plus的景深都更大,焦平面后面的拍摄对象看起来也更清晰。

华为 P20 Pro,户外集体自拍照
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,户外集体自拍照
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,户外集体自拍照
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,裁剪图

P20 Pro极浅的景深也影响了在30厘米距离上拍摄的个人人像:在人像中,眼睛是清晰的,但其失焦速度如此之快,就连耳朵都变得模糊了。

细节(53)

30厘米处的准确对焦可以确保您在户外拍摄个人人像时可以保留完好的细节,诸如睫毛等复杂元素仍然清晰可见,但图像不会被过度锐化(这是Pixel 2经常发生的问题)。

华为 P20 Pro,细节
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,细节
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,细节
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,裁剪图

虽然P20 Pro的室内图像缺乏非常精细的细节,但总体而言,其细节水平还算可以接受,而且P20 Pro的测试结果与S9 Plus差不多。Pixel 2呈现了更错综复杂的细节,但其代价是强烈的过度锐化。

华为 P20 Pro,室内细节
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 2,室内细节
谷歌Pixel 2,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,室内细节
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,裁剪图

噪点(61)

P20 Pro在各种照明条件下和高对比度场景中的表现都很好,因此在噪点项目中获得了不错的成绩。在户外照片中,纯色区域(例如湛蓝的天空)中出现了轻微的亮度噪点,但总的来说,这个问题并不太严重。在户外条件下和室内照明下拍摄时,也出现了一些明显的色度噪点,两者均影响了噪点得分。

P20 Pro在噪点和细节之间提供了很好的折衷方案,尽管噪点在户外图像(1000勒克斯)的纯色区域中稍微明显,但它在室内和低光下的测试结果都非常接近S9 Plus——这是我们在噪点项目中测试过的最好的手机之一。

在P20 Pro的低光图像中,噪点开始变得越来越多,在某些情况下,角落处也出现了更多的色度噪点。

华为 P20 Pro,低光下的噪点
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图

伪像(74)

一般而言,华为 P20 Pro把伪像控制得不错,因此在这个项目中拿下了不错的成绩,其被扣分的主要理由是变形、去噪、色彩量化和摩尔纹。变形是画面边缘附近的元素的畸变现象,这个问题在P20 Pro的集体合照中非常明显。在这些照片中,一些面孔被过度拉伸,变形的情况相当严重。

华为 P20 Pro,变形
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图

去噪伪像也经常可见,使得人脸的各个部位的平滑化水平不一致。这一去噪问题不会发生在每一张照片上,但每当此问题出现时,会使照片看起来不太自然,例如下面的样张中,被摄体的胡须的平滑化效果有点太过了。

华为 P20 Pro, 去噪伪像
华为 P20 Pro, 裁剪图

我们还在某些情况下观察到摩尔纹图案,以及高对比度边缘的量化(即带状伪像)现象,例如对着一大片白色背景拍摄人像时。

闪光灯(47)

闪光灯曝光大致准确,脸上和图像中心并未出现许多明显的噪点。使用闪光灯作为唯一或主要光源时,可以获得最成功的结果。虽然暗角在这些图片中很明显,但是中央面孔的曝光很准确,细节也到位,即使肤色稍微偏暖色并且过度饱和,其演色性也还算可以接受。

华为 P20 Pro,在0勒克斯光线下使用闪光灯拍摄
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图
华为 P20 Pro,在5勒克斯光线下使用闪光灯拍摄
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图

然而,将闪光灯与额外的光源相混合时,情况就不太一样了:其演色性往往带有很强烈的色偏,这在钨丝灯下拍摄时尤其成问题,白平衡变成了浓重的桔黄色。

散景(50)

使用P20 Pro的人像模式(或散景模拟模式)会出现显著的景深估计错误:被摄体时而变得模糊,背景中的某些部分时而变得清晰。在这里,您可以看到拍摄对象的一大片头发被错误地模糊掉了,就连在手机的小屏幕上观看时都看得出来。

华为 P20 Pro,散景模拟
谷歌Pixel 2,散景模拟
三星S9 Plus,散景模拟

前置摄像头也没有随着拍摄对象身后的背景远去而应用相应的模糊渐变层次,而是仅将等量的模糊应用在背景上,完全不考虑其与被摄体之间的距离。尽管这个问题对于整体外观的影响小于不准确的景深估计(可能产生不雅的图像),但它并未产生宛如带有快速光圈镜头的数码单反相机那样的效果。散景照片中的噪点水平也不一致:它在背景中应用较多的降噪,使其看起来比拍摄对象的脸部更平滑,因此看起来不太自然。

华为 P20 Pro,散景模拟降噪
华为 P20 Pro,裁剪图

视频评分说明

华为 P20 Pro的前置摄像头在视频方面拿下了79分的高分,使其成为多媒体创意方面的全能型摄像头。我们使用以下各个视频评测项目的分数来计算总体视频成绩:曝光(64)、色彩(65)、对焦(63)、纹理(52)、噪点(72)、伪像(90)、防抖(79)。在视频方面,华为 P20 Pro的主要强项在于各种照明条件下准确的面部曝光以及大致不错的防抖,在步行或摇拍等各种运动期间都能起到作用。

在各种照明条件下都可在脸上获得准确的测标曝光,视频中没有严重的溢光剪贴纹理。在不断变化的光线水平下连续录制视频时,曝光调整大体是平滑而稳定的,没有明显的曝光步进痕迹。然而,一如静止照片,高对比度场景的动态范围仍然相当有限,在这样的条件下,面部曝光虽然是准确的,曝光也很稳定,但背景却常常过度曝光,在明亮的高光区域中损失了大量的细节。

华为 P20 Pro,低光下的曝光(静态视频图像)
华为 P20 Pro,室内曝光(静态视频图像)

总体而言,视频的色彩往往稍缺饱和度,在所有测试条件下都可观察到白平衡不一致的现象,户外视频往往稍偏冷蓝色或绿色,白平衡收敛时也可以看见步进痕迹。

华为 P20 Pro,欠饱和的视频色彩(静态视频图像)
华为 P20 Pro,偏蓝的户外白平衡(静态视频图像)

多亏了镜头的固定焦距,在30厘米的距离上拍摄的人脸总是清晰的,这是任何稳定性课题必不可少的前奏,所以在录制博客特写视频或进行Skype通话时,您都可以确信它会提供很好的清晰度。然而,一如静止照片,视频的景深仍然非常浅,因此如果您为了在视频中摄入更多背景或其他人而往后退了30厘米以上,那么人们的脸很快就会失焦。

P20 Pro在户外视频中捕捉了丰富的细节,虽然素色区域出现了一些噪点,但并不是很明显。然而,它在室内和低光下录制的视频中应用了更加强烈的降噪,这可能导致面部边缘出现噪点,并损失精细的细节。总体而言,我们在华为 P20 Pro上测得的细节数量相当少,远远少于我们在其他手机上测得的结果,但是该手机极浅的景深(和随之而来的模糊背景)显著影响了这个测试项目的分数,不过,在华为 P20 Pro的自拍照中,位于焦平面上或接近焦平面的被摄体与竞争机型几乎没有明显的差异,而且细节保留还算不错。

华为 P20 Pro,户外视频,步行拍摄

如上文所述,华为 P20 Pro的防抖相当杰出,甚至优于许多竞争机型,所以高频运动以及静态和摇拍动作都获得了很好的控制。在步行拍摄的视频中有些明显的低频运动残影,帧之间也存在清晰度差异,但这些问题不会特别对观看体验造成太大的干扰。在伪像方面,在画面边缘可以观察到轻微的变形,但不如静止图像那般显着;对着高光光源录制视频时,有时候会出现耀斑。总体而言,P20 Pro的前置摄像头的视频的表现非常坚实。

结论

华为 P20 Pro的主摄像头是手机市场中最好的摄像头,所以人们也许会对它的前置摄像头怀有高度期望。事实上,其前置摄像头的技术规格的确相当诱人,具有高分辨率的图像传感器和大光圈镜头,在测试中的表现也相当坚实。不过,P20 Pro的前置摄像头虽然确有一定的优势,但是它并没有其后置摄像头的出色性能。

您可以确信的是,它在任何光线条件下都可以拍出曝光准确的面孔,这显然至关重要;您也可以确信,在接近30厘米的对焦距离上可以在脸上拍出不错的细节和清晰度。然而,它的动态范围有限,背景通常过度曝光;景深相对较浅,焦平面后方的背景或面部细节很快就会变得模糊。

因此,如果您正在寻找市场上最好的自拍摄像头,那么您会有其他选择;但如果您主要对其后置三摄像头的卓越性能感兴趣,并且只需拍拍几张不错的自拍照,那么华为 P20 Pro会是一个极好的选择。

照片优点

  • 准确的面部曝光
  • 近距离人像拥有良好的细节
  • 户外和室内的噪点控制得当

视频优点

  • 非常有效的防抖
  • 准确的面部曝光
  • 脸部噪点控制得当

照片不足

  • 不自然且欠饱和的肤色
  • 动态范围有限

视频不足

  • 白平衡色偏和不稳定性
  • 细节不多

Huawei P20 Pro front camera review

DxOMark
Selfie
72

Packing the first smartphone triple-cam setup and a new Night Mode feature, Huawei’s P20 Pro was one of the hottest options for mobile photography in 2018. For selfie enthusiasts, the specifications of the front camera also look impressive, featuring a high-resolution 24Mp sensor and a wide-aperture f/2 lens with Leica optics. So how will the P20 Pro shape up under the rigorous testing of our new DxOMark Selfie protocol? Read on to discover the results and full analysis in our comprehensive review.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 24Mp sensor
  • 26mm f/2.0 Leica lens
  • Fixed focus (30cm)
  • 1080p video at 30fps

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

72
DxOMark selfie
Huawei P20 Pro
67
photo
Huawei P20 Pro
79
video
Huawei P20 Pro

Achieving an overall Selfie score of 72 points and a Photo score of 67, the Huawei P20 Pro’s front-facing camera puts in a solid performance in our tests. Compared to some of its key competitors, the P20 Pro holds its own for exposure, flash, and artifacts in stills mode; and while overall texture and color aren’t quite as strong as some competitors’, results remain very acceptable in these categories.

The P20 Pro’s key strengths are accurate exposure and good rendering of fine detail. The latter is particularly true for images shot in bright light, in which the subject is nice and sharp at a distance of 30cm from the camera (the lens’s fixed focus distance). At the same subject distance, it also maintains good detail and sharpness under typical indoor lighting conditions.

The Huawei P20 Pro selfie camera offers good detail and sharpness under typical indoor lighting.
At close range (30cm), the Huawei P20 Pro front camera images show accurate exposure as well as good sharpness and detail.

The P20 Pro’s main opportunities for improvement are with its focus, which is optimized for very close subject distances. Further, the wide-aperture f/2 lens offers only limited depth of field, and as a result, subjects located behind the 30cm focal plane and image backgrounds aren’t very sharp. There’s a significant and visible loss of detail even at 55cm. The bokeh simulation mode would benefit from more accurate depth estimation, and we also found some noise to be visible even in good light, including a low-frequency chromatic noise on skin tones at times.

Achieving a Selfie Video score of 79 points, the P20 Pro performs well with moving images, with results on par with some of the best devices we’ve tested under our new selfie protocol. Stabilization is particularly effective, ensuring smooth videos with both walking and panning camera movements. The main opportunities for improvement again lie with the focus, as the lack of sharpness at distances beyond 55cm from the camera affected the video Focus and Texture scores.

One of the key strengths of selfie videos is the P20 Pro’s stabilization, which effectively reduces all types of camera movement, and is a notch up from what we’ve observed on many competitor devices to date.

As with stills, video exposure on the P20 Pro offers excellent exposure on faces in all lighting conditions, with no excessive highlight clipping, even in very bright conditions. Overall dynamic range is limited, however, with backgrounds often overexposed, but face detection is good, ensuring smooth exposure adaptation on the face even under changing lighting conditions.

The Huawei P20 Pro front camera captures good exposures with slightly bright faces in all lighting conditions (video still).

Detail preservation is fairly good in the P20 Pro’s front-camera videos shot outdoors or in bright light. It handles noise reasonably well indoors and in low light, too, but noise reduction results in a loss of fine detail in such conditions.

Photo scores explained

The Huawei P20 Pro front camera achieves a total photo score of 67, which is calculated from its scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores, with some analysis versus its key competition.

Exposure and Contrast (71)

One of the Huawei P20 Pro’s key strengths is excellent exposure on the face in selfies. It’s good in all lighting conditions, although exposure is slightly brighter than expected under tungsten lighting and when shooting at longer subject distances, as when shooting with a selfie-stick, for example.

Huawei P20 Pro, indoor exposure
Google Pixel 2, indoor exposure
Samsung S9 Plus, indoor exposure

Dynamic range is limited, however, so while exposure on the face remains accurate in challenging high-contrast scenes, backgrounds are often overexposed—and this negatively affected the Huawei’s exposure score a little, as the best front cameras are capable of recording good highlight detail in the entire scene. This is particularly important for environmental portraits, such as with tourist selfies, for example, where the background provides important context for the photograph.

In this example, none of the three cameras does a very good job. The Pixel 2 displays the best background detail, but underexposes the face. Both the Huawei and Samsung achieve a better exposure on the face, but there’s a lot of highlight clipping in the background.

Huawei P20 Pro, high-contrast scene
Google Pixel 2, high-contrast scene
Samsung S9 Plus, high-contrast scene

We also observed some exposure instabilities over consecutive frames, so in bright or side-lit environments in particular, it’s worth snapping more than one selfie, so you can pick out the best exposure later.

Color (50)

Colors are generally vivid and reasonably well-saturated in outdoor shots, without making skin tones look unnatural. In our comparison analysis, the P20 Pro’s color has noticeably more “pop” than the S9 Plus; and although the Pixel 2 has greater saturation, such vivid colors can make faces look a little unnatural in some circumstances.

Huawei P20 Pro, outdoor color
Google Pixel 2, outdoor color
Samsung S9 Plus, outdoor color

The P20 Pro displays a tendency towards a slight blue/green white balance color cast in outdoor shots. In the examples below, the subject’s skin tones are a little too greenish in the P20 Pro image; the S9 Plus offers the nicest compromise, thanks to slightly warmer skin tones, but without the oversaturation in the Pixel 2 image.

Huawei P20 Pro, outdoor color
Google Pixel 2, outdoor color
Samsung S9 Plus, outdoor color

The P20 Pro front camera lost points in the color category, however, due to undersaturated and unnatural color rendition in both indoor and low-light environments. The same combination of undersaturated color and greenish white balance that we see outdoors can make skin tones look unnatural. Such undersaturation results in the P20 Pro rendering darker skin lighter than it is, visibly changing the true appearance of the subject(s), as in the example below on the left. We also observed some white balance inconsistencies in indoor shots taken under a range of different artificial light sources.

Huawei P20 Pro, low-light color
Google Pixel 2, low-light color
Samsung S9 Plus, low-light color

Focus (42)

Faces are always sharp at close range (30cm), and the fixed-focus lens ensures no focusing errors, which can be a problem on some devices that include an autofocus lens on the front camera, such as the Samsung S9 Plus. However, the P20 Pro dropped points for slightly out-of-focus faces at medium range (55cm), and for very blurry faces at long range (120cm) when shooting a group selfie, with the recorded acutance below 40%.

Huawei P20 front camera focus results in bright light

In the graph above, you can see that the P20 Pro tails off significantly after 55cm due to its limited depth of field. The Google Pixel 2 and Samsung Galaxy S9+ both offer better edge acutance when shooting at long subject distances.

The loss of sharpness in group portraits is due to the P20 Pro’s fixed-focus distance and limited depth of field. Combining the device’s pixel pitch and wider lens aperture means that focus drops off much quicker compared to some competitors. This is not only a problem in group portraits, where subjects set back from the focal plane are noticeably out of focus, but also affects detail preservation in the backgrounds of tourist shots and environmental portraits, where neither the portrait nor the background is in sharp focus.

In the examples below, you can see that both the Pixel 2 and S9 Plus are capable of more extended depth of field and greater sharpness on subjects behind the focal plane.

Huawei P20 Pro, outdoor group selfie
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Google Pixel 2, outdoor group selfie
Google Pixel 2, crop
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, outdoor group selfie
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, crop

The P20 Pro’s very shallow depth of field can also affect individual portraits shot at 30cm: the eyes are in sharp focus, but the focus drops off so quickly that the subject’s ears are out of focus.

Texture (53)

Fine details are well-preserved in individual portraits shot outdoors, and intricate elements such as the eyelashes remain clearly visible without over-sharpening the image (as the Pixel 2 often does).

Huawei P20 Pro, detail
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Google Pixel 2, detail
Google Pixel 2, crop
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, detail
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, crop

Although the P20 Pro doesn’t capture very fine details in indoor images, the level of detail remains acceptable overall, and the P20 Pro’s results are comparable to the S9 Plus’s. The Pixel 2 displays more intricate elements, but at the price of strong over-sharpening.

Huawei P20 Pro, indoor detail
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Google Pixel 2, indoor detail
Google Pixel 2, crop
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, indoor detail
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, crop

Noise (61)

The P20 Pro achieved a decent score in the noise category, thanks to good results in all lighting conditions and in high-contrast scenes. In outdoor shots, slight luminance noise is visible in areas of uniform color, such as a clear blue sky, but it’s not too concerning overall. There is also some chromatic noise visible in outdoor conditions and when shooting under indoor lighting, both of which impacted the noise score.

The P20 Pro offers a nice compromise between noise and detail, and although noise is slightly more noticeable in flat areas in outdoor images (1000 lux), its results both indoors and in low light are comparable to those of the S9 Plus, which is one of the best devices we’ve tested for noise.

In low-light images, noise starts to become more prevalent in P20 Pro images, with more chromatic noise visible in the corners under certain conditions.

Huawei P20 Pro, low-light noise
Huawei P20 Pro, crop

Artifacts (74)

A pretty good score for artifacts, which are generally well-controlled, with points dropped mainly for anamorphosis, denoising, color quantization, and moiré. Anamorphosis is the effect of distortion on elements close to the edge of the frame, and this is very noticeable in the P20 Pro’s group portraits, in which some faces are excessively stretched and distorted.

Huawei P20 Pro, anamorphosis
Huawei P20 Pro, crop

Denoising artifacts are also often visible, making some parts of the face smoother than other parts. This denoising problem doesn’t occur in every shot, but looks unnatural when it does occur, such as in the example below, where the subject’s beard is smoothed a little too much.

Huawei P20 Pro, denoising artifacts
Huawei P20 Pro, crop

Under some conditions, we have also observed moiré patterns, as well as quantization, or banding, around high-contrast edges—for example, when shooting a portrait against a white background.

Flash (47)

Flash exposures are generally accurate, with only low levels of noise visible on the face and towards the center of the image. The most successful results are when using flash as the only or the predominant light source. While corner shading is very noticeable in these images, faces in the center are accurately exposed, detail is good, and color rendering is acceptable, even if skin tones are slightly warm and oversaturated.

Huawei P20 Pro, flash at 0 lux
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, flash at 5 lux
Huawei P20 Pro, crop

It’s a different story when mixing flash with additional light sources, however, which often results in a rendering with a very strong color cast. This is particularly problematic under tungsten light, where the white balance turns very orange.

Bokeh (50)

Significant depth estimation errors are visible using the P20 Pro’s Portrait (bokeh simulation) mode, with either parts of the subject incorrectly blurred or sections of the background not blurred at all. Here you can see that large areas of the subject’s hair are incorrectly blurred to the extent that it affects the presentation of the shot even when viewed on the device’s small display.

Huawei P20 Pro, bokeh simulation
Google Pixel 2, bokeh simulation
Samsung S9 Plus, bokeh simulation

The front camera also doesn’t apply a blur gradient to backgrounds that drop away behind your subject; rather, it applies the same amount of blur to the background regardless of its distance from the subject. Although this impacts the overall appearance of the shot less than the inaccurate depth estimation (which can look unsightly), it doesn’t produce the realistic effect that a DSLR with a fast-aperture lens would achieve. The level of noise is also inconsistent in bokeh shots, with much more noise reduction applied to the background, making it smoother than the subject’s face, which again gives the image an unnatural appearance.

Huawei P20 Pro, bokeh simulation denoising
Huawei P20 Pro, crop

Video scores explained

The Huawei P20 Pro front camera achieves an improved score of 79 points for video, making it a good all-rounder for multimedia creatives. We calculate the overall video score using the following video sub-scores: Exposure (64), Color (65), Focus (63), Texture (52), Noise (72), Artifacts (90), and Stabilization (79). The device’s key strengths for video are accurate face exposures in all lighting conditions, and good overall stabilization that is effective on different types of motion, such as walking or panning.

Target exposures on the face are accurate in all lighting conditions, with no significant highlight clipping on faces evident in videos. Exposure adaptation is generally smooth and stable during continuous recording under changing light levels, too, with no obvious steps in exposure evident. As with stills, however, dynamic range remains limited in high-contrast scenes; and although the exposure on the face in such conditions is accurate, and exposure is stable, backgrounds are often overexposed, with a significant loss of detail in the bright highlight regions.

Huawei P20 Pro, low-light exposure (video still)
Huawei P20 Pro, indoor exposure (video still)

Overall, video colors tend to lack a little saturation. White balance inconsistencies are visible in all tested conditions, with a tendency for either a slightly cold bluish or greenish color cast in outdoor videos. Stepping during white balance convergence is visible, too.

Huawei P20 Pro, undersaturated video color (video still)
Huawei P20 Pro, bluish white balance outdoors (video still)

Faces are always in focus at 30cm, thanks to the lens’s fixed-focus distance. This precludes any stability issues, so for close-up blog videos or Skype calls, you can be confident of good sharpness. As with stills, depth of field remains extremely shallow, however, so if you drop further back than 30cm when trying to include more of the background or another person in your video, faces quickly fall out of focus.

The P20 Pro captures high levels of detail in outdoor videos, and although noise is slightly visible in areas of uniform color, it’s not too intrusive. Noise reduction is noticeably more aggressive in both indoor and low-light videos, however, which can lead to fairly noisy edges on the face as well as a loss of fine details. Overall, our measurements for detail were fairly low, and well below what we have recorded on other devices, but the device’s very shallow depth of field (and consequently blurry backgrounds) significantly impacted this score. In fact, for subjects on or close to the focal plane, the difference with competitors isn’t nearly as pronounced, and detail preservation is fairly good.

Huawei P20 Pro, outdoor video, walking

As mentioned, stabilization is excellent and ahead of many competitors’, so high-frequency motion as well as static and panning actions are well-controlled. There is some residual low-frequency motion evident in walking videos, as well as a difference in sharpness between frames, but these issues don’t particularly disrupt the viewing experience too much. As for artifacts, slight anamorphosis is visible on faces towards the edge of the frame, but it isn’t quite as pronounced as with stills; and sometimes flare is visible when you’ve captured a bright light source in the frame. Overall, a pretty solid performance for video using the P20 Pro’s front-facing camera.

Conclusion

The Huawei P20 Pro’s main camera being one of the best in the business may have contributed to the high expectations for its front-facing camera. The front camera’s specs are enticing, with a high-resolution sensor and fast-aperture lens, and its test performance was solid. So the P20 Pro’s front camera certainly has some strengths; but this said, it doesn’t really have the standout performance of its rear-facing camera.

You can be assured of accurately-exposed faces in all lighting conditions, which is obviously important, as well as nice detail and sharpness on faces shot close to the 30cm focus distance. With limited dynamic range, however, the background is often overexposed; and with relatively shallow depth of field, details in the background or on faces behind the focal plane drop out quickly.

There are other options if you’re looking for the best selfies available, but for photographers primarily interested in the excellent capabilities of the rear triple-camera, with some decent selfies thrown in, the Huawei P20 Pro is an excellent choice.

Photo Pros

  • Accurate exposures on faces
  • Good detail in close-range portraits
  • Well-controlled noise outdoors and indoors

Video Pros

  • Very effective stabilization
  • Accurate exposure on faces
  • Well-controlled noise on faces

Photo Cons

  • Unnatural and undersaturated skin rendering
  • Limited dynamic range

Video Cons

  • White balance casts and instabilities
  • Low levels of detail