Intex Aqua Selfie 前置摄像头评测

22
selfie

针对廉价智能手机在印度的需求日益增长,Intex 为该市场推出一系列具价格竞争力的机种。采用1.3Ghz四核展讯SC9832A芯片组、内置16GB内存的Intex Aqua Selfie,专以自拍爱好者为诉求对象,是我们全新前置摄像头评测最理想的受测机种。

前置摄像头采用相当小、1/5英寸、5百万像素低分辨率的传感器,像素间距为1.12微米,配置固定焦距f / 2.4光圈镜头。这样的规格比一般的高价智能手机来得差;现今的高价智能手机通常都标榜着配有体积更大、分辨率更高的传感器以及能呈现出效果更明亮的镜头,因此,看看Intex 设备在我们评测中的表现,一定很有意思。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 5 百万像素分辨率
  • 1 / 5英寸传感器、像素间距1.12微米
  • 26毫米、光圈 f / 2.4、定焦镜头
  • LED 闪光灯
  • 720p 视频录制

有关 DxOMark Selfie评测:我们的智能手机前置摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DxOMark的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1500组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

22
selfie
17
photo
29
video

Intex Aqua Selfie 在DxOMark前置摄像头评测的整体得分为22分,落后于到目前为止所有经我们全新自拍评测过的其它机种。在室内和室外均衡的光照条件下拍摄静止图像,目标曝光准确,不过在高对比度场景中拍摄脸部,曝光效果不好,且低光照下的脸部更显曝光不足。在室外,能够呈现出生动的色彩,但低光照下会曝光不足,降低了饱和度,同时,因为背景与光照条件的不同,肤色的演色性也会差很大。

在均衡的室内照明(100勒克斯)下,目标曝光准确
高对比度场景中的动态范围非常有限

在各种光照条件下拍摄静止图像,明显损失细节,特别是在室内和低光中拍摄的图像,更是严重,脸部的精细细节显著丢失。许多图像也出现强烈的噪点,在室外图像中很明显,室内和低光图像尤其清楚可见,通常还会呈现大量的亮度和色度噪点。

Intex Aqua Selfie,室内光照下的细节
Intex Aqua Selfie,裁剪图
Intex Aqua Selfie,低光噪点
Intex Aqua Selfie,裁剪图

Intex Aqua Selfie 以相当均匀的平光光源拍摄出最佳的视频,曝光度可接受,不过脸部还是明显会出现一些高光剪贴的现象。视频中的动态范围也非常有限,脸部两侧严重曝光过度;在高对比度的条件下或定向的光源中拍摄时,背景会出现问题。室外视频的色彩精准,能呈现出生动且漂亮饱和的色调,但是在明亮的阳光下,白平衡偏黄,造成肤色渲染的现象。低光中的视频帧率更低,会影响播放时的流畅度,且在这些情况下,白平衡不规则、色彩量化与色彩饱和度不足也很明显。

前置摄像头照片评分说明

Intex Aqua Selfie 在DxOMark前置摄像头的照片评分方面获得 17分。此整体的照片评分是根据在不同光照条件下,为每个测试项目进行评分并计算总成绩所得来。在本部分中,我们将仔细探讨这些图像质量在各测试项目的评分结果。

曝光与对比度

Intex Aqua Selfie

26

在实验室以室内(100勒克斯)到室外(1000 勒克斯)的光照条件评测目标曝光,Intex Aqua Selfie 的表现不错。不过,在低光中曝光度会迅速下降,以20勒克斯拍摄,图像勉强可接受,10勒克斯和5勒克斯拍摄的图像,就非常暗。

Intex Aqua Selfie,目标曝光

由于 Intex Aqua Selfie 的动态范围非常有限,因此在曝光这一项丢失了分数。在高对比度的场景中,高光下往往会完全地曝光过度,而以定向光源的条件拍摄,通常会造成脸部一侧曝光过度,另一侧则曝光不足。

Intex Aqua Selfi,高动态范围场景
Intex Aqua Selfie, 10 勒克斯

色彩

Intex Aqua Selfie

16

由于演色性差、色彩渐晕以及饱和度不足,因此在色彩的项目拿到低分。Intex Aqua Selfie 在户外光照条件下,呈现出最佳的色彩,演色性也可接受,但仍远不及我们期望在中档智能手机上看到的效果。

Intex Aqua Selfie,色彩分析

即使在明亮的户外光照中,Intex Aqua Selfie 也能处理好肤色的色彩饱和度—脸部通常会呈现出过度饱和且色调偏移的现象,而且白平衡有时非常黄。室内和低光下所拍摄出图像的白平衡所显现的肤色往往也不准确,浅肤色会有绿色色偏;而深肤色又显得饱和度不足。

Intex Aqua Selfie,室内白平衡
Intex Aqua Selfie,色彩渐晕, 10 勒克斯

当背景中存在主色时,白平衡和演色性明显出现问题,导致肤色不准确而且看起来很奇怪,这也让Intex 掉了分数。

Intex Aqua Selfie,演色性
Intex Aqua Selfie,演色性

对焦(64)

在各种光照条件下,定焦镜头都能维持一定的功能,让Intex Aqua Selfie 在对焦项目中得到较好的分数。近距离(30厘米)对焦的效果最好,中距离(55厘米)拍摄时,脸部仍然相当清晰。以自拍杆拍摄长距离、120厘米远处的人像时,百分百的明显失焦,所以这些照片在打印时,脸部肯定模糊不清,不过,从屏幕上观看时并不会那么不清楚。Intex Aqua Selfie采用更窄的f / 2.4光圈镜头,而不是通常用于前置摄像头的f / 2光圈镜头,这稍稍地改善了景深,可是还是相当有限。拍摄团体照时,前面几张脸孔都能完美对焦到,但是,越后面的脸部越朦胧,而且,不论拍摄距离的远近,背景往往有些模糊。

Intex Aqua Selfie,近距离对焦
Intex Aqua Selfie, 裁剪图
Intex Aqua Selfie,,景深
Intex Aqua Selfie,裁剪图

纹理

Intex Aqua Selfie

21

纹理项目得分低,即使在明亮的光照条件下,还是明显损失脸部特征的细节。室内拍摄时,纹理保留的效果更差,低光下静态图像以及动态场景的细节都极不理想。

Intex Aqua Selfie,光照条件下的锐度

噪点

Intex Aqua Selfie

35

Intex Aqua Selfie 拍摄的所有图像都可以看到明显的噪点,脸部常常会呈现出相当粗糙的效果。室外拍摄时,阴影区域以及高对比度下,还有背光场景中脸部的噪点总是清晰可见。色度噪点的缺失也存在所有图像中,尤其是在室内和低光下所拍摄的图像。

Intex Aqua Selfie,噪点分析

伪像

Intex Aqua Selfie

42

我们认为Intex Aqua Selfie主要的缺点在于图像质量明显不佳,而且我们看到的大部份都有瑕疵。图像中央与边缘的清晰度有所差异是最大的问题,即使从手机的显示屏上查看图像,情况也是如此。动态范围有限且大面积过度曝光,会导致脸部色调偏移;室内和低光下拍摄的图像,经常形成不自然的脸部渲染。直接面向明亮的光源拍摄时,也很容易看出有强烈的耀斑;高对比度的边缘会有明显的色彩边纹,同时,室内和低光下拍摄的图像还会呈现色彩量化的现象。

Intex Aqua Selfie,脸部色调偏移
Intex Aqua Selfie,耀斑

闪光灯

Intex Aqua Selfie

5

Intex Aqua Selfie的前置摄像头配备了专用的LED闪光灯。当闪光灯与额外的光源(5 勒克斯)混合时,曝光效果稍微好一些,不过,会形成强烈的蓝色偏色、肤色饱和度不足,以及肉眼可见的噪点,在在都影响整体效果。将闪光灯当作唯一的光源时,曝光较低,严重的渐晕和噪音会很明显,但白平衡较好。在这两种情况下,脸部的细节也非常少,而使用闪光灯加上混合光源所拍摄的图像则略佳。

Intex Aqua Selfie,闪光灯0勒克斯
Intex Aqua Selfie,裁剪图
Intex Aqua Selfie,闪光灯5勒克斯
Intex Aqua Selfie,,裁剪图

前置摄像头视频评分说明

Intex Aqua Selfie的前置摄像头的视频得分为29。我们是以下列各个视频评测项目的分数来计算整体的视频分数,以便更深入地了解该机种的视频有何优缺点:曝光(42)、色彩(28)、对焦(69)、纹理(17)、噪点(51)、伪像(58)以及稳定度(25)。

在实验室受控的条件下,以室内(100勒克斯)到室外(1000 勒克斯)的光照条件评测目标曝光,Intex Aqua Selfie 有不错的表现,但低于100勒克斯时,曝光非常暗,极低光中曝光则没有作用。在室外以相当均匀的平光光源拍摄视频,曝光度是可接受的,不过,脸部通常显现一些溢光的剪贴纹理。动态范围也非常有限,在明亮与照度不均的场景中,手机的曝光效果不佳,脸部和背景往往会形成显著的高光剪贴。

Intex Aqua Selfie,视频目标曝光

室外视频的白平衡依不同的亮度而造成质量不一,使得视频项目的分数相当低;阳光直射时,脸部会呈现强烈的黄色色偏;低对比度条件下拍摄的视频显现的色彩偏粉红色但更自然。在室内照明下,白平衡会根据光源不同而有所差异,整体颜色的饱和度相当不足。低光下,缺失也没有改善,目标曝光度低导致色彩饱和度不足的状况很明显。

Intex Aqua Selfie,室外视频,视频中静止
Intex Aqua Selfie,室外视频,视频中静止

近距离(30厘米)使用定焦镜头可以拍摄相当清晰的脸部,中距离(55厘米)的图像也差强人意。然而,对焦在脸部的远距视频,效果并不好,而且背景一向很模糊。各种光照条件下所拍摄视频,精细的细节和纹理的保留相对较差。明亮的光线下,表现最好,特别是近距离(30厘米)拍摄脸部时,但即便如此,细节还是很少,我们测试记录出的锐度仅为40%左右。

伪像包括在亮光下脸部的色调偏移、严重的色彩边纹,以及背光视频中明显的耀斑。在室内和低光拍摄的视频,色彩量化十分显著,而且曝光不足导致出现阴影裁切的现象,较暗的区域,所有细节都遗失了。防抖的功能也失效,在静态视频与行走或平移移动的情况下,都能很清楚的看到摆动和抖动的现象。

Intex Aqua Selfie,近距离视频的细节与防抖

结论

Intex 为扩展中的市场提供一款经济实惠的选项,令人激赏,不过,要保持价格低廉,必须在硬件与图像信号处理技术上做出妥协。Intex Aqua Selfie能够在室外相当均匀的平光光源下,拍摄出曝光度和色彩均可接受的静态图像和视频。然而,在更具挑战性的高对比度或低光照条件下,许多问题也浮出水面,包括曝光度和色彩不稳定,以及细节与噪点有显著的缺失。Intex 会如何为印度的消费者拓展更多的选择,还有此机种的市场将如何继续发展,我们拭目以待。

照片优点

  • 脸部的曝光通常差强人意
  • 明亮光线下演色性生动鲜明

视频优点

  • 脸部的曝光通常差强人意
  • 明亮光线下演色性生动鲜明

照片不足

  • 动态范围非常有限
  • 多种光照条件下的曝光不一致
  • 细节保留少,不自然的脸部渲染
  • 许多图像明显可见伪像

视频不足

  • 动态范围非常有限
  • 所有测试条件下的曝光状况不稳定性
  • 防抖效果差,可见运动残影
  • 室内与低光下的帧率低

Intex Aqua Selfie front camera review

Reading Time: 10 min read
22
selfie

Focusing on the growing demand for budget smartphones in India, Intex is bringing a range of competitively-priced devices to that market. Featuring a 1.3-GHz quad-core Spreadtrum SC9832A chipset and 16GB internal memory, the Intex Aqua Selfie specifically targets selfie enthusiasts, making it an ideal candidate for testing under our new front camera protocol.

The front camera features a fairly small, low-resolution 1/5-inch 5Mp sensor with 1.12µm pixel pitch, coupled to a fixed-focus f/2.4 aperture lens. That’s a lower specification than you’d typically find on higher-priced smartphones, which now commonly boast physically larger and higher-resolution sensors and brighter lenses, so it will be interesting to see how the Intex device fares under our testing.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 5Mp resolution
  • 1/5-inch sensor with 1.12µm pixel pitch
  • 26mm, f/2.4 aperture, fixed-focus lens
  • LED flash
  • 720p video

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

22
selfie
17
photo
29
video

Achieving an overall DxOMark front camera score of 22 points, the Intex Aqua Selfie is off the pace set by all the other devices we’ve tested under our new selfie protocol so far. Shooting stills, target exposure in well-balanced indoor and outdoor lighting conditions can be accurate, but face exposure is poor in high-contrast scenes, and faces are underexposed in low light. Colors can be vivid outdoors, but that underexposure in low light reduces saturation, and the color rendering of skin tones varies dramatically depending on the background and lighting conditions.

Under well-balanced indoor lighting (100 lux), target exposures can be accurate.
Dynamic range is very limited in high-contrast scenes.

A loss of detail is evident in still images shot in all lighting conditions, but it’s particularly problematic in both indoor and low-light images, with a significant loss of fine detail in faces. Strong noise appears in many images, too, with noise visible in outdoor images, but especially in indoor and low-light images, where heavy luminance and chromatic noise is often present.

Intex Aqua Selfie, detail under indoor lighting
Intex Aqua Selfie, crop
Intex Aqua Selfie, low-light noise
Intex Aqua Selfie, crop

The Intex Aqua Selfie’s best video is captured in fairly flat and well-balanced lighting, where exposure can be acceptable, but some highlight clipping on faces is still evident. Dynamic range is very limited in videos, too, with serious overexposure on the sides of faces; and backgrounds are problematic when shooting in high-contrast conditions or under directional lighting. Video color outdoors can be accurate, with vivid and nicely-saturated hues, but white balance in bright sunlight tends to be yellow, which affects skin tone rendering. Movies in low light are captured a lower frame rate, which affects smoothness on playback, and white balance irregularities, color quantization, and undersaturated color all evident in these conditions, too.

Photo scores explained

The Intex Aqua Selfie garnered a DxOMark front camera Photo score of 17 points. The overall Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast

Intex Aqua Selfie

26

85

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

Testing target exposures in the lab, the Intex Aqua Selfie achieves good target exposures under indoor (100 lux) through outdoor (1000 lux) lighting conditions. Exposures drop off quickly in lower light, however, and although shots at 20 lux are just about exploitable, images at 10 and 5 lux are extremely dark.

Intex Aqua Selfie, target exposure

The Intex Aqua Selfie dropped points in the exposure category due to the device’s very limited dynamic range. In high-contrast scenes, highlights are often completely overexposed, and shooting under directional light sources, faces are often overexposed on one side and underexposed on the other.

Intex Aqua Selfie, HDR scene
Intex Aqua Selfie, 10 lux

Color

Intex Aqua Selfie

16

93

Asus ZenFone 6

A low score for color, due to poor color rendering, color shading, and desaturation. The Intex Aqua Selfie achieves its best color under outdoor lighting conditions, where color rendering can be acceptable, but it’s some ways off what we’d expect to see on mid-range smartphones.

Intex Aqua Selfie, color analysis

Even in bright outdoor lighting, the Intex Aqua Selfie could handle color saturation of skin tones better—oversaturation and hue shifts are often visible on the face, and white balance is occasionally very yellow. White balance in indoor and low-light images often captures skin tones inaccurately, too, with a green color cast evident on fair-to-medium skin tones; moreover, dark skin is generally desaturated.

Intex Aqua Selfie, indoor white balance
Intex Aqua Selfie, color shading, 10 lux

The Selfie also dropped points due to noticeable white balance and color rendering issues when there was a dominant color in the background, which resulted in inaccurate and odd-looking skin tones.

Intex Aqua Selfie, color rendering
Intex Aqua Selfie, color rendering

Focus

Intex Aqua Selfie

64

90

Sony Xperia 1

The Intex Aqua Selfie achieves a better score for focus, as the fixed-focus lens ensures consistent performance in all lighting conditions. Focus is best at close range (30cm), and faces are still reasonably sharp shooting at medium range (55cm). Long-range portraits captured at 120cm using a selfie stick are noticeably out of focus when viewed at 100%, so expect blurry faces on these shots when printed, but it’s not as obvious when viewed on-screen. The Intex Aqua Selfie uses a narrower f/2.4 aperture lens, as opposed to the f/2 often used on front cameras, which improves depth of field slightly, but it’s still fairly limited. Shooting a group portrait, the first couple of faces are in good focus, but subjects get softer the farther back they are, and backgrounds are usually a little blurry regardless of the shooting distance.

Intex Aqua Selfie, close range focus
Intex Aqua Selfie, crop
Intex Aqua Selfie, depth of field
Intex Aqua Selfie, crop

Texture

Intex Aqua Selfie

21

77

Google Pixel 3

A low score for texture, with a significant loss of detail on facial features evident even in bright-light conditions. Texture preservation deteriorates further when shooting indoors, and detail is very poor in both static images and in scenes containing motion in low light.

Intex Aqua Selfie, acutance by lighting condition

Noise

Intex Aqua Selfie

35

86

Asus ZenFone 6

Significant noise is visible in all images from the Intex Aqua Selfie, with a fairly coarse effect often rendered on faces. Shooting outdoors, noise is generally noticeable in the shadow regions, and on faces in high-contrast and backlit scenes. Chromatic noise is also an issue in all images, but especially in indoor and low-light images.

Intex Aqua Selfie, noise analysis

Artifacts

Intex Aqua Selfie

42

87

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

We apply penalties for obvious images quality defects, and the Intex Aqua Selfie has problems in most of the areas we look at. The difference between sharpness at the center and edges of an image is the most problematic, which is visible even when viewing images on the device’s display. The limited dynamic range also leads to a hue shift on faces, with large areas overexposed; and unnatural rendering of faces often occurs in indoor and low-light images. Strong flare is also visible when shooting towards a bright light source; color fringing is evident along high-contrast edges, as well as color quantization in both indoor and low-light images.

Intex Aqua Selfie, hue shift on faces
Intex Aqua Selfie, flare

Flash

Intex Aqua Selfie

5

91

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

The Intex Aqua Selfie has a dedicated LED flash for the front camera. Exposure is slightly better when mixing flash with additional light sources (5 lux), although a strong blue color cast, desaturated skin tones, and visible noise all affect the overall result. Using flash as the only light source, exposures are lower, and heavy vignetting and noise are evident, but white balance is better. Detail on the face is also very low in both cases, although slightly better in shots using flash with mixed lighting.

Intex Aqua Selfie, flash at 0 lux
Intex Aqua Selfie, crop
Intex Aqua Selfie, flash at 5 lux
Intex Aqua Selfie, crop

Video scores explained

The Intex Aqua Selfie achieves a front camera video score of 29. We calculate the overall video score using the following video sub-scores to give more insight into the strengths and weaknesses of a device’s video performance: Exposure (42), Color (28), Focus (69), Texture (17), Noise (51), Artifacts (58), and Stabilization (25).

While target exposures tested under controlled conditions in the lab are good under indoor (100 lux) through to outdoor (1000 lux) lighting conditions, below 100 lux, exposures are quite dark and unusable in very low light. Shooting videos outdoors in fairly flat and well-balanced lighting, exposure can be acceptable, but some clipping in faces is often evident. Dynamic range is very limited, too, so the device struggles with exposure in bright and unevenly-lit scenes, where significant highlight clipping on faces and in backgrounds often occurs.

Intex Aqua Selfie, video target exposure

Also contributing to the fairly low video score is white balance in outdoor video that varies depending on the brightness, with a strong yellow cast on faces in direct sunlight, and a pinker but more natural color in videos shot in lower-contrast conditions. Under indoor lighting, white balance also varies depending on the light source, and overall color is fairly desaturated. Things don’t improve in low light either, with low target exposures resulting in significantly desaturated color.

Intex Aqua Selfie, outdoor video, still from video
Intex Aqua Selfie, outdoor video, still from video

The fixed-focus lens records reasonably sharp faces at close range (30cm), with acceptable results at medium range (55cm), too. Focus on faces when shooting video at long range isn’t as good, however, and backgrounds are generally blurry. Fine detail and texture preservation is relatively poor when shooting video in all lighting conditions. It’s best in bright light, particularly when capturing faces at close range (30cm), but even so, detail is low, with our tests recording an acutance of around only 40%.

Artifacts include hue shift on faces in bright light, strong color fringing, and noticeable flare in backlit videos. In indoor and low-light videos, color quantization is noticeable, and underexposure results in shadow clipping, where all detail in the darker regions is lost. Stabilization is also ineffective, with very noticeable wobbles and judders both in static videos and in those with walking or panning movement.

Intex Aqua Selfie, video detail and stabilization at close range

Conclusion

Intex can be praised for bringing affordable options to an expanding market, but keeping the price down requires compromises for both hardware and image signal processing technologies. The Intex Aqua Selfie is capable of just about acceptable exposure and color in stills and videos in fairly flat, well-balanced lighting outdoors. In more challenging high-contrast or low-light situations, however, a multitude of issues come to the forefront, including exposure and color instabilities, as well as significant problems with detail and noise. We look forward to seeing how Intex extends its options for Indian consumers, and how devices at this end of the market will continue to develop.

Photo Pros

  • Exposure on the face is usually acceptable
  • Color rendering is vivid in bright light

Video Pros

  • Exposure on the face is usually acceptable
  • Color rendering is vivid in bright light

Photo Cons

  • Dynamic range is very limited
  • Exposure inconsistencies in several lighting conditions
  • Detail preservation is low, with unnatural face rendering
  • Artifacts are visible in many images

Video Cons

  • Dynamic range is very limited
  • Exposure adaptation instabilities in all tested conditions
  • Poor stabilization, with residual motion visible
  • Low frame rate both indoors and in low light

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.