“广角”和“夜间摄影”评分介绍

DXOMARK早在2012年便开始测试智能手机摄像头。对于大多数人来说,这样的时间不算太长,但就手机技术而言,可以说是天长地久了。尤其是现在手机成像技术持续以飞快的速度向前发展,远远超过传统相机的进展。与我们最早测试的智能手机摄像头相比(例如苹果iPhone 4、三星Galaxy S2或诺基亚808 PureView),最新一代的旗舰智能手机,都堪为名副其实的手机影像巨头了。

因此,我们也不断地监测技术进展,以调整、提升、改进我们的测试方法和基准。2017年,我们首次更新了DXOMARK Mobile智能手机摄像头测试基准,纳入了诸如模拟散景模式和变焦质量等专门测试项目,并将低光摄影的测试范围延伸至1勒克斯,同时添加了运动测试场景。在2019年1月,我们还推出了DXOMARK Selfie测试基准,以涵盖日益普及的智能手机前置摄像头及其技术进展。

而现在又是再次更新DXOMARK智能手机主摄像头基准的时候了:我们推出了新的“广角”“夜间摄影”评分,以响应超广角摄像头的普及,以及智能手机摄像头上日益改进的低光拍摄能力和专用的夜间模式。

LG G5是第一款提供广角摄像头的手机
谷歌Pixel 3的夜视模式则是最早的夜景模式之一

LG G5早在2016年便开始发起了超广角摄像头的趋势。从那时起,大多数制造商都开始采用了这一概念,所以在2019年,几乎所有新推出的旗舰手机都能够在照片中挤入更多场景。在我们的广角测试中,我们会进行一项“迷你测试”,其内容涵盖主摄像头测试中的所有图像属性,包括曝光和动态范围、演色性、纹理和细节、图像噪点以及自动对焦性能和准确度。我们在现实场景中测试广角摄像头,其光照强度范围大约介于1000与50勒克斯。我们不仅要测试视角最宽广的焦距,而且还要以每次增加2毫米的方式重复进行所有测试,直到20毫米等效焦距为止。有关我们新的广角测试基准的更多详细信息,请阅读我们的文章<扩展DXOMARK Camera基准:“广角”评分>

三星Galaxy S10+,主摄像头视场
三星Galaxy S10+,广角视场

多亏了图像传感器的改进、速度更快的镜头和计算成像方法以及其他技术进展,目前的智能手机比前几代更适合于进行低光摄影。为了在我们的测试中反映这一现象,我们也开发了新的夜间摄影测试基准。在低光条件下,高端手机的测试结果甚至优于可接受的范围。为此,我们将拍摄各种现实生活中的低光场景,包括夜间都市景观、低光人像以及极低光环境,并测试闪光灯开启、关闭和自动模式的性能。如果手机有专用的夜景模式,我们也会予以测试。

我们之前的实验室测试基准现在已经整合到夜间摄影基准中,其测试成绩则输入到夜间摄影评分中。有关我们新的夜间摄影测试基准的更多详细信息,请阅读我们的文章<扩展DXOMARK Camera基准:“夜间摄影”得分>

低光城市景观
低光人像

我们还决定为智能手机摄像头测试基准重命名:从现在开始,DXOMARK Mobile已改名为DXOMARK Camera。

查看更新

我们在新的广角和夜间摄影基准下测试了当前排行榜中的大部分手机,并相应地更新了评测内容和分数。您现在可以在DXOMARK Camera排名中找到三种类型的评测。

  • 完全更新的评测:这些评测的内容已经完全更新,并提供修正的分数和新的广角和夜间摄影评测内容。您将在本文上方看到更新的部分,向下滚动则可以阅读完整的原始评测。以下手机的评测已全面更新:三星Galaxy S10 5G、谷歌Pixel 3、华为Mate 20、华硕ZenFone Z6 Pro、荣耀20 Pro、小米9、华为P30 Pro和三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G。
  • 仅更新分数的手机评测:这些手机已在新基准下进行了全面测试,但我们(目前)仅在原有评分上添加了新的“广角”和“夜间摄影”分数并重新计算总分,但未更新评测文本。以下评测附有更新的分数:苹果iPhone XS Max、LG G8、Sony Xperia 1和Nokia 9。
  • 尚未更新的评测:有许多评测(主要是旧版和/或没有那么受欢迎的手机),我们尚未使用新基准进行测试。因此,它们的DXOMARK Camera得分与更新的评测无法直接进行比较。尽管如此,阅读这些评测仍然可以让您深入了解这些手机摄像头的性能。在我们的排名中,这些评测都标有星号。

我们仍在进行其他测试,并计划更新尚未更新的评测,然后为仅更新分数的测试部分添加新的测试内容。另请注意,为了确保测试的一致性,所有广角和夜间摄影测试均使用与原始测试相同的手机固件,但对于某些手机而言,该固件版本可能不是最新的。

此外,我们也趁这个机会对评测格式进行了一些修正。在每个图像质量属性内容的顶部,您现在将会在被测手机的分数旁看到在此测试项目中表现最出色的手机的分数,以供您参考。在我们的新评测格式中,您现在可以在被测手机评分的旁边看到每个测试项目的最佳手机得分。

在我们的新评测格式中,您现在可以在被测手机评分的旁边看到每个测试项目的最佳手机得分。

新的DXOMARK Camera排行榜

一如曝光、纹理、变焦或散景,广角和夜间摄影评分都是照片类别下的两个测试项目得分;而DXOMARK Camera总分则包括照片与视频评分。

广角得分采用加分机制:在广角项目下拿下好成绩的广角手机,可以提高其照片评分和整体成绩,但如果其测试结果不佳,并不会拉低其原始分数。因此,一款性能不佳的广角摄像头的得分并不会比没有广角摄像头的手机低。

在我们的评分系统中,“夜间摄影”分数取代了之前的“闪光灯”分数,此分数可能会提高或降低照片评分和总体得分。在夜间摄影测试基准中,“夜间模式”的测试结果也采用加分机制,其计分方式与广角得分对于照片和总体得分的影响相似。亦即,如果“夜间模式”的测试结果比在摄像头的默认设置下更好,则可以提高整体“夜间摄影”得分,但如果“夜间模式”的表现不好,并不会拉低“夜间摄影”的分数。还应该注意的是,新的夜间摄影分数与之前的闪光灯分数并不相同。

在我们的排行榜中,大多数经过重新测试的手机都能够提高其DXOMARK Camera的照片和总体得分,其分数变化因手机而异,但基本上分数变化相当小。

新旧DXOMARK Camera排行榜,以及在新基准下的分数提升

我们目前排行榜上的冠军手机——三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G在广角(42)和夜间摄影(59)测试中都拿下了最佳成绩,稳坐冠军宝座。在新测试中,其照片得分提高了8分,是所有手机中增幅最大的,新的DXOMARK Camera整体得分则从113分提高为117分。

三星Galaxy S10 5G和华为P30也分别保住了它们在领奖台上的位置。两者的“夜间摄影”得分都与Note 10+同分,不过在广角方面(S10 5G拿下了40分,而P30 Pro则拿下了34分),其得分略低于冠军手机,在更新的排行榜中,两者总得分均为116分。

与上述三款手机相比,苹果iPhone XS Max和谷歌Pixel 3都必须在没有广角摄像头的情况下凑合着拍。Pixel在“夜间摄影”里获得了49分,表现令人称许,而苹果仅拿下37分,算是这一类别中表现较弱的手机之一。两款手机都没有因为广角而加分,因此总体得分仅提高一分而已。

新的DXOMARK夜间摄影排名
新的DXOMARK广角排名

LG G8和索尼Xperia 1的排名都有进一步提升,其照片得分显著增加了5分,整体得分则增加了3分,这得益于LG在夜间摄影下的良好表现(44),而索尼的广角得分也令人称许(38)。尽管如此,总的来说,它们还是无法跟上领跑者的脚步。

诺基亚9 PureView是唯一在重新测试后无法提高其照片和整体成绩的手机:它没有广角镜头,更在我们的夜间摄影排名里垫底(31)。

我们希望在本文中,我们对于新的广角和夜间摄影评分的简要概述对您有所帮助。有测试和评分的更多详细信息,请阅读以下文章:

请点击我们的智能手机项目,查看所有已更新的DXOMARK Camera评测和测试结果。


Videos

Introducing our new Wide and Night scores

Reading Time: 5 min read

DXOMARK started testing smartphone cameras back in 2012, which to many people may not seem too long ago, but could easily be called an eternity in terms of mobile technology. Mobile imaging technology in particular continues to move forward at warp speed, far outpacing the traditional camera sector; and compared to the first smartphone cameras we tested, such as the Apple iPhone 4, the Samsung Galaxy S2, and the Nokia 808 PureView, the latest generation of flagship smartphones are veritable mobile imaging juggernauts.

We are continuously monitoring the advancements in technology in order to adapt, upgrade, and improve our testing methodologies and protocols. In 2017, we launched the first update to our DXOMARK Mobile smartphone camera testing protocol, adding dedicated tests for simulated bokeh modes and zoom quality, as well as for low-light testing down to 1 lux and motion-based test scenes. In January 2019, we introduced the DXOMARK Selfie test protocol to cover the technological advancements and growing popularity of smartphone front cameras.

Now it’s time for another update to the DXOMARK smartphone main camera protocol: We are adding new Wide and Night scores—Wide to accommodate the popularity of ultra-wide cameras, and Night to evaluate the improved low-light capabilities and dedicated night modes of smartphone cameras.

The LG G5 was the first device to offer a wide-angle camera.
Google’s Night Sight on the Pixel 3 was one of the first night modes.

LG started the trend towards ultra-wide cameras with its G5 model in 2016, and since then most manufacturers have adopted the concept, with pretty much all 2019 flagship phones offering the capability to squeeze more scene into your pictures. For our Wide protocol, we undertake “mini-tests” that cover all the same image attributes as our main camera test, including exposure and dynamic rangecolor renderingtexture and detail, image noise, and autofocus performance and accuracy. We test wide-angle cameras in real-life scenes with light levels ranging from approximately 1000 to 50 lux. We not only test at the widest focal length, but repeat all tests at 2mm focal-length steps up to 20mm equivalent. (For more details about our new Wide test protocol, see “Expanding the DXOMARK Camera protocol: The Wide score.”)

Main camera field of view on the Samsung Galaxy S10+
Wide-angle field of view on the Samsung Galaxy S10+

Thanks to improved image sensors, faster lenses, and computational imaging methods (among other advances in technology), current smartphones are much more capable tools for low-light photography than previous generations. To reflect this in our testing, we have developed the new Night testing protocol, for which we capture a variety of real-life low-light scenes, including night cityscapes, low-light portraits, and shots in extreme low light—in flash-on, flash-off, and flash-auto modes. If a smartphone has a dedicated night mode, we test it as well.

We have integrated into our Night protocol our previous lab-based test results, and they feed into the Night score. (For more details about our new Night test protocol, see “Expanding the DXOMARK Camera protocol: The Night score.”)

Low-light cityscape
Low-light portrait

We have also decided to rename our smartphone camera testing protocol. From now, on DXOMARK Mobile is DXOMARK Camera.

Review updates

We have subjected a large proportion of the devices in our current rankings to our new Wide and Night tests and have updated the reviews and scores accordingly. You will currently find three types of reviews in DXOMARK Camera:

  • Fully-updated reviews: We have fully updated these reviews with modified scores and new Wide and Night sections. The new and updated sections are right at the top of the article; if you scroll down, you can still read the complete original review. We have fully-updated reviews for the following smartphones: Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, Google Pixel 3, Huawei Mate 20, Lenovo Z6 Pro, Honor 20 Pro, Xiaomi Mi 9, Huawei P30 Pro, and Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G.
  • Reviews with updated scores only: We have fully tested these smartphones using the new protocols, but we have (so far) only added the new Wide and Night scores and recalculated the Overall score, but not updated the review text. The following smartphones have updated scores: Apple iPhone XS Max, LG G8, Sony Xperia 1, and Nokia 9.
  • Reviews not updated: There are a number of smartphones (mainly older and/or less popular) that we have not yet tested with the new protocols. Their DXOMARK Camera scores are therefore not directly comparable to those found in the updated reviews. Nevertheless, reading these reviews will give you a very good understanding of the devices’ camera performance. (We have marked with an asterisk these in our smartphone camera rankings.)

We are still working on additional tests and are planning to update reviews not yet updated, and add new test sections to those that underwent only a score update. Please also note that for consistency of testing, we undertook all Wide and Night tests with the same device firmware we used for the original testing; this means that there may be devices using a more recent firmware version.

We have also taken this opportunity to make some changes to our review format. You will now find at the top of every image quality attribute section the score of the device being tested, displayed next to the score of the best device in the category  for reference.

Our new review format shows the score of the best device for each category next to the score for the device under test.

The new DXOMARK Camera ranking

Just like Exposure, Texture, Zoom, and Bokeh, the Wide and Night scores are sub-scores of the Photo score, which in turn is a sub-score of the DXOMARK Camera Overall score.

The Wide score works like a bonus: with a good Wide score, wide-angle-equipped devices can improve their Photo and Overall scores, but a bad result won’t reduce them. So even a terrible wide-angle camera is not any worse than no wide-angle camera at all.

The Night score replaces the previous Flash score in our scoring system and can increase or decrease the Photo and Overall scores. Within the Night test protocol, the results count as a bonus in a similar way as the Wide score does for the Photo and Overall scores—if Night mode results are better than images captured at default camera settings, they can improve the overall Night score; but bad image quality in night mode, or the lack of a night node, won’t reduce the Night score. (Please also note that the new Night sub-score is not comparable to the previous Flash score.)

Most of the retested devices in our rankings increased their Photo and DXOMARK Camera Overall scores. The score changes are fairly small, but vary from device to device.

Updated vs. previous DXOMARK Camera ranking and the score increase between the two

Our current number one, the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, firmly defended its top spot by securing the best results for both Wide at 42 and Night at 59. This pushed its Photo score up by 8 points, the largest increase for all devices, resulting in a new Overall score of 117, up from 113.

The Samsung Galaxy S10 5G and Huawei P30 also maintain their podium positions. Both achieved the same Night score as the Note 10+, but scored slightly lower for Wide (40 for the S10 5G, 34 for the P30 Pro). They both score 116 points overall in the updated ranking.

In contrast to the three devices mentioned above, the Apple iPhone XS Max and Google Pixel 3 have to make do without a wide-angle camera. The Pixel scores a respectable 49 for Night; but at 37, the Apple is one of the weaker devices in this category. Without the wide-angle bonus, both devices increased their Overall score by only one point.

The new DXOMARK Night ranking
The new DXOMARK Wide ranking

Further down in the rankings, both the LG G8 and Sony Xperia 1 were able to increase their Photo scores by a more substantial 5 points and their Overall scores by 3, thanks to a decent Night performance (44) for the LG and a respectable Wide score (38) for the Sony. Nonetheless, they have not been able to close the gap with the front runners.

The Nokia 9 PureView is the only retested device that was not able to increase its Photo and Overall scores. It does not come with a wide-angle option and comes in dead last in our Night ranking (31).

We hope you found this brief overview of our new Wide and Night scores useful. For more details about testing and scoring, please read the following articles:

Click through to our smartphone section to see all the updated DXOMARK Camera reviews and test results.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.