Lava Z25:夯实的基本性能

70
DxOMark Mobile

印度制造商Lava企图在智能手机市场大放异彩,因此推出了一系列价格极具竞争力的手机。2017年3月推出的Lava Z25是其目前的旗舰产品;它运行Android v6.0,采用1Ghz八核MediaTek MT6750芯片组、4GB RAM和32GB内部存储(可扩展至128GB)。该手机的摄影功能主要基于其1300万像素主摄像头,搭载f/2.0大光圈镜头、双LED闪光灯模块和相位检测自动对焦。Lava Z25的前置“自拍摄像头”还搭载了f/2.0大光圈镜头,提供800万像素的高分辨率,并可以拍摄全高清1080p 30fps视频。

让我们来深入探究Lava Z25的DxOMark Mobile得分,瞧瞧它如何为智能手机摄影爱好者提供不错的性能。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 1300万像素1/3英寸传感器,像素尺寸1.12微米
  • f/2.0镜头
  • 双LED闪光灯
  • 相位检测自动对焦
  • 地理标记、触摸对焦、人脸检测
  • 800万像素前置“自拍摄像头”,f/2.0镜头
  • 1080p 30fps视频(默认模式720p 30 fps)

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:DxOMark工程师在受控的实验室环境和自然的室内外场景中拍摄并评鉴超过1500张测试照片以及超过2小时的视频,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在突出最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

Lava Z25的DxOMark Mobile总体评分为70分;它的照片得分为74分,在静止图像模式下的表现比较好。对于这种层级的市场而言,它的成绩还算不错。Lava Z25在容易处理的照明条件下可以拍出一些不错的静止照片。Lava Z25的静态摄影的最佳特点是在均衡光线下可以产生准确的曝光效果、快速的自动对焦性能,其演色也还算宜人,并且在高光下具有一致的白平衡和不错的降噪效果。

然而,Lava Z25的视频影像质量就没那么好了,只拿下了62分的视频分数,影响了DxOMark Mobile的整体分数。其视频的主要优势是,在均衡的照明条件下曝光表现还算不错,而且可以有效降噪(特别是在高光条件下);在实验室条件下使用不断变化的光源进行测试时,白平衡也能顺利地快速转换。然而,由于Lava在默认模式下仅录制720p视频,所以细节显示比较不丰富,并且在低光下帧率降低至15fps,导致视频录像略显抖动。

高光

在户外或高光条件下拍摄时,我们在均衡的光线或低对比度的照明条件下拍出了许多不错的曝光效果,因为对于该手机的测光系统来说,这些都是比较容易处理的情况。曝光准确时,它能显示宜人的色彩以及相当饱和的色调。在某些户外照片中,白平衡往往略偏暖色,但也不讨人嫌,毕竟有些摄影师也许偏好更加丰富的色调。不过,我们在户外拍摄的影像中有时也具有更加中性的色彩,并且在相同的照明条件下连续曝光时,色偏总是一致的,这是它的一大优点。在极佳的照明条件下,Lava Z25可以在静态场景中拍出最丰富的细节和纹理,因此在户外拍摄建筑或风景照片时,它是一个性价比合理的选择。但是,除非在非常明亮的光线下,否则Z25很难在包含拍摄对象运动的场景中拍出很好的细节。

在相当均衡的照明条件下,我们使用Lava Z25拍出了许多曝光效果不错的照片。这些照片都有不错的演色效果,并且具有温暖而宜人的白平衡。

低光和闪光灯

在室内非常弱的光线下,Lava Z25则比较难拍出很好的照片;在我们的测试中,这些照片都有明显的噪点和动态模糊,而且色彩饱和度也不足。一些室内照片的曝光效果还算不错,具有很好的亮度和色彩饱和度;但是在非常弱的光线(5勒克斯)下拍摄时,照片显然曝光不足,而且在1勒克斯(等于烛光)下拍出的照片几乎无法使用。它在室内也很难拍出细致的细节。在100勒克斯下手持拍摄时出现了一些动态模糊;在20勒克斯的极弱光照条件下,特别是在5勒克斯下,则明显损失了细节。室内条件下的演色性还算可以接受,但是在低光条件下,色彩饱和度不足,而且有些非常明显的白平衡色偏和色彩渐晕。

室内拍摄的曝光效果还算可以接受,颜色漂亮,但是有明显的噪点,而且即使在100勒克斯下也可以明显观察到由动态模糊引起的细节损失。

在室内打开闪光灯并将其与周围光线混合时,通常会拍出曝光过度的照片,并且有明显的晕影(暗角),而且人像上也出现了红眼效应。使用闪光灯作为唯一的光源时,曝光比较准确,但暗角更严重,非常黝暗的暗角导致亮度噪点的堆积,人像的红眼效应也非常明显。

使用闪光灯作为唯一的光源(上图)时,Lava Z25可以拍出最好的闪光曝光效果,但有严重的暗角和明显的亮度噪点,人像的红眼效应也很明显。

变焦和散景

Lava Z25只有一个摄像头,在短距离或中距离内就无法借助于第二个长焦镜头来改进变焦摄影的效果。它可以“双指放大”到8倍,但由于这是数码变焦,与原始照片的放大或裁剪基本相同,所以牺牲了一些图像质量。使用2倍短距变焦时,在所有照明条件下都可以明显观察到精细细节的损失;但是在高光下,照片还算非常不错,在低光下拍出的照片则勉强可用。在高光下进行4倍变焦时,出现了一些迷宫纹和摩尔纹以及亮度噪点的累积,因而降低了整体照片质量,但是对于许多用户而言,照片还算可以接受。为避免细节丢失和上述伪像扩大,您应该避免在低光下拍摄4倍变焦照片,或者在任何照明条件下(尤其是手持拍摄时)拍摄8倍变焦照片。

在高光条件下,在中程范围内使用Lava Z25的数码变焦的确会影响整体的清晰度,也会损失精细的细节,同时还会出现明显的亮度噪点以及一些迷宫纹和摩尔纹伪像,不过在这些情况下拍出的照片还算可以接受。

虽然Z25的单镜头设置在拍摄智能手机肖像时的表现不甚理想,但它确实具有散景模拟模式以模糊背景并帮助隔离拍摄对象。其景深效果(背景模糊)是我们看到的最强大的效果之一;它的散景效果的形状也不错,类似于在数码单反相机上使用大光圈镜头拍出的效果。然而它的景深估计错误很常见,肖像周围的蒙版不准确,导致肖像出现部分模糊,而背景区域却仍然清晰。虽然在手机显示屏上查看小尺寸图像时,这些错误不太明显,但却使拍摄成功的散景肖像成为了一大难事。而且散景效果在连续拍摄时也无法重复,所以在拍摄人物照片时,最好坚持不懈地拍摄大量照片,以确保散景效果至少可以应用在几张照片上。

Lava Z25的散景模拟模式应用了强大的背景模糊,其效果非常引人注目,但是被摄人物周围的蒙版错误导致部分肖像变得模糊,对整体照片的可用性大打折扣。

照片评分说明

我们在几个照明条件下测试了Lava Z25在不同方面的表现,并计算照片的每项成绩。Lava Z25最后拿下了74分的总成绩。在本部分中,我们将仔细观察每项照片质量的评分。

曝光与对比度(74)

Lava Z25的总体曝光得分为74分,在高光条件下得分最高,拿下了90分,但在室内和非常弱的光线条件下得分就比较低了,因而拉低了整体曝光得分。在实验室内一致的照明条件下拍摄方格色卡的结果显示,Lava Z25拍出准确曝光的能力很好。我们在一些户外评鉴场景中也观察到了这种能力,它在均衡的照明条件下可以拍出漂亮的照片。

该智能手机摄像头在均衡的照明条件下可以拍摄出漂亮的照片,也更容易拍出准确的曝光效果。

然而,在比较难处理的高对比度场景中,Lava Z25的动态范围潜力则变得比较有限了。由于它没有自动HDR模式可进行高级图像处理,因此高光和阴影区域都有大量的细节损失。

在比较难处理的高对比度场景中,由于它没有自动HDR模式,因此动态范围有限,导致阴影和高光部分的细节丢失。

在极低光条件下(5勒克斯),照片稍显曝光不足,损失了细节和色彩饱和度,但仍然可用。

在非常弱的光线(5勒克斯)下拍摄时,Lava Z25拍出的照片略显曝光不足,特别是角落有明显的晕影。

色彩(72)

Lava Z25在户外或高光条件下的演色性相当不错,但在室内和极弱的照明条件下色彩饱和度大大降低,从而影响了整体色彩评分。

Lava Z25在户外照片中的演色效果极佳,色彩饱和度相当好。

其色彩的优点在于可重复的白平衡;虽然在户外拍摄时色彩有时略偏暖色,但一些摄影师可能会喜欢这种温暖色调。室内照片的色彩略微偏绿,但在所有照明条件下,白平衡在连续帧上都能保持一致,这是它的一大优点。

它的白平衡相当一致,并且可重复,虽然一些户外照片偏暖色(上图),但色彩效果依然宜人。
在一些户外照片中,Lava Z25的白平衡表现恰到好处,并且获得了不错的中性拍摄结果和宜人的演色性。

Lava Z25的色彩渐晕(当画面中心和边缘之间的色彩不一致时)非常明显,因此拉低了它的整体色彩分数。

在所有照明条件下,许多Lava Z25的照片中都可以看到浓重的色彩渐晕,中心的橙色到了边缘就变成了绿色。

自动对焦(81)

Lava Z25的自动对焦在所有照明条件下都非常快速;在请求对焦和完成拍摄之间几乎没有任何延迟,这是该手机的最大优点之一。虽然自动对焦速度很快,但我们观察到一些缺陷,因为在连续30帧的测试中,该手机无法持续获得清晰的照片。在高光(1000勒克斯)和室内(300勒克斯)的照明条件下,我们连续拍摄的照片中有一些没有清晰的对焦,因此拉低了整体自动对焦分数。

我们先将Lava Z25置于未对焦状态,等待500毫秒之后,让手机拍摄。在所有照明条件下,Lava几乎都可以快速锁定焦点并进行拍摄,但有些照片显得不清晰;我们的30张测试照片中仅有约60%的锐度(清晰度)。

纹理(48)

Lava Z25的纹理得分相当低,因为在很多照明条件和拍摄环境下,该手机很难拍出细节保留到位的照片。拍摄静态的被摄体时,在高光下拍摄效果最佳,在一些室内条件下拍摄的照片勉强可以接受,但某些动态模糊开始悄然而至。在非常弱的光线下,手持拍摄静止的被摄体时出现了非常明显的动态模糊,有运动时几乎总是会产生运动模糊,即使在高光下也是如此。

通常情况下,与静态场景相比,Lava在移动场景中使用各种ISO拍摄的清晰照片的数量比较少。

与旧款高端手机(如苹果iPhone 6或三星Galaxy S6 Edge)相比,在高光下(1000勒克斯),Lava在细节方面的表现相当不错。

Lava Z25,1000勒克斯,剪裁图片
苹果 iPhone 6,1000勒克斯,剪裁图片
三星 Galaxy S6 Edge,1000勒克斯,剪裁图片

然而,在较弱的光线下,其中的差异变得更加明显;与在20勒克斯下使用苹果和三星拍摄的照片相比,Lava抹去了更细腻的纹理和细节。

Lava Z25,20勒克斯,剪裁图片
苹果 iPhone 6,20勒克斯,剪裁图片
三星 Galaxy S6 Edge,20勒克斯,剪裁图片

噪点(63)

Z25的噪点在高光下得到了很好的控制,因此在噪点方面取得了相当不错的成绩。在户外拍摄时,天空等均匀的颜色区域中出现了一些明显的亮度噪点,不过这种情况还算不太严重,而且这是移动手机常见的现象。在较弱的光照条件下拍摄时,在室内(100勒克斯)会出现更明显的亮度噪点,从而影响边缘的清晰度。在非常弱的光线下,噪点变得稍微明显一些,但还算不太严重,而且通常它在所有照明条件下都能很好地控制噪点。

Lava Z25,20勒克斯,剪裁图片
苹果 iPhone 6,20勒克斯,剪裁图片
三星 Galaxy S6 Edge,20勒克斯,剪裁图片

伪像(59)

在我们的测试过程中出现了许多伪像或光学缺陷,包括边缘清晰度下降、渐晕(暗角)、振铃效应、紫边和畸变等现象。最严重的问题是边缘清晰度的损失,这可能会严重影响照片质量,特别是如果您打算打印或显示大尺寸图像时更是如此。

画面的中心和边缘之间的清晰度差异显而易见,特别是在查看大尺寸图像时更是如此。

 

画面中心,剪裁图片
画面边缘,剪裁图片

在低光条件下会出现明显的渐晕或暗角,从而导致更多亮度噪点的堆积;在户外面向太阳拍摄时,也可以在亮度对比较高的边缘看到一些紫边现象。

在低光(5勒克斯)下,Lava Z25拍摄的照片会出现明显的暗角。
对着光线拍摄时,在亮度对比较高的边缘看到明显的紫边现象。

闪光灯(60)

在仅使用闪光灯作为光源的照片中,闪光灯的光线准确地落在画面中心,而且画面中间的曝光效果不错。然而,照片中出现了非常明显的暗角,从而使亮度噪点堆叠在角落处,而且肖像也经常出现红眼效应,精细细节的保留也相对比较不丰富。闪光灯与附加光源相混合后可以减少暗角,但是照片却往往略微过度曝光,红眼和细节丢失仍是一大问题。

闪光灯与其他光源一起使用时,照片往往略有过度曝光的迹象;尽管红眼和渐晕不如仅使用闪光灯曝光那么明显,但我们仍然可以看见这些效应。

变焦(24)

除了在极高光条件下拍摄之外,Lava Z25的数码变焦照片的分辨率相当低,细节也不太丰富。在1000勒克斯(户外高光照明)下,可以在2倍以下的短距离变焦范围内获得还算可接受的细节;但即使在非常明亮的光线下,4倍和8倍变焦照片的细节也会减少。在非常明亮的光线下,手持拍摄的4倍变焦照片勉强可以使用,但在低光条件下使用4倍变焦,或在所有照明条件下使用8倍变焦时,则几乎看不到照片的细节了。数码变焦照片在所有放大倍率下都可以看到一些伪像,包括高频细节中显而易见的迷宫纹和摩尔纹效应。

远程变焦拍摄(约100毫米等效焦距)。

散景(20)

在散景评分方面,Lava Z25拿到了20分,因为它的散景形状和背景模糊都还不错;图像上应用了背景模糊时,这是我们看到过最强大的景深效果。但是,该手机有几次景深估计错误,因此被扣了一些分数。它无法同时准确地模糊背景并保持肖像清晰,因此使被摄体的一些部分变得模糊,而部分背景却显得清晰,从而产生了有点问题的肖像照片。特别是拍摄对象的一部分(例如手)与对象的脸部位于不同的焦平面上时,这一现象尤其明显,最后使得这些部分与背景一样变得模糊了。而且它的模糊过渡也非常唐突,它的图像很快地从非常清晰转为非常模糊,这可能使照片变得难看;在连续的拍摄中,它也无法重复相同的散景效果,因为它不一定会应用散景效果。

在Lava Z25的散景模拟模式下,景深估计错误导致肖像周围出现非常明显的蒙版错误,使得背景的某些区域仍然清晰,部分被摄体却变得模糊了。

视频评分说明

Lava Z25的视频模块拿到了62分的视频分数,明显低于它的照片成绩。整体视频分数是使用视频下的每项测试得分计算出来的,这让我们可以深入了解视频拍摄的优势和劣势。视频的每项测试分数如下:曝光(69)、色彩(73)、自动对焦(33)、纹理(31)、噪点(78)、伪像(66)、防抖(43)。

正如您在上述成绩中看到的,Lava Z25最堪忧的部分是自动对焦和纹理,因为它在录制过程中有时没有触发对焦,而且经常丢失焦点。在默认模式下,该手机录制720p视频时无法拍摄到精细的细节,特别是在光线不足的情况下更是如此。但是一般而言,在大多数照明条件下,视频的曝光效果都很不错,在户外和室内场景中拍摄的结果相当一致,但是在非常弱的光照下则显得曝光不足。视频的降噪性能也是它的一大优势,而且它通常具有宜人的演色性,只不过在平移和行走场景中可以看到一些不稳定的白平衡。光线不足的情况下,帧率通常会下降到15 fps,导致影像抖动。

结论:优越的拍摄条件下可获得不错的拍摄结果

Lava Z25的目标曝光还算可接受,具有可重复的白平衡和快速的自动对焦。它有许多不错的基本性能,因此是预算有限的智能手机摄影者的理想选择。但如果您正在寻找一款能够在高难度的照明环境中拍出效果不错的照片,并具有一致的闪光效果、清晰的细节和很好的变焦镜头的多功能智能手机摄像头,Lava Z25可能会让您有点失望了。所以使用Lava Z25摄像头拍摄时,您需要谨慎选择有利的拍摄条件才能拍出最好的效果……不过,只要有很好的技术和点子,您还是可以拍出不错的照片。

70
DxOMark mobile
Lava Z25
74
DxOMark Mobile
photo
62
DxOMark Mobile
video

优点

  • 在室内和户外照明条件下可表现宜人的色彩
  • 在许多测试环境中均可获得不错的目标曝光
  • 快速自动对焦
  • 可重复的白平衡

优点

  • 户外条件下的降噪效果不错
  • 一般而言,目标曝光不错
  • 流畅快速的白平衡收敛

不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 一些手持拍摄中出现了动态模糊
  • 变焦照片中的分辨率低,细节不丰富

不足

  • 低光条件下的帧率低
  • 没有明显的防抖功能
  • 自动对焦失败,反应时间慢

Lava Z25: Getting the basics right

70
DxOMark Mobile

Looking to make a splash in the smartphone market, Indian manufacturer Lava boasts a range of very competitively-priced devices. Launched in March 2017, the Lava Z25 is their current flagship offering, running Android v6.0 and featuring a 1Ghz octa-core MediaTek MT6750 chipset, 4Gb RAM and 32Gb internal storage (expandable up to 128Gb). The device’s photographic capabilities revolve around its 13Mp primary camera equipped with a wide-aperture f/2.0 lens, dual LED-flash module, and phase-detection autofocus. The front-facing “selfie-cam” also offers a high-resolution 8Mp setup, again with a wide-aperture f/2.0 lens, and the Lava Z25 shoots full HD 1080p@30fps video.

Let’s dive into the DxOMark Mobile scores for the Lava Z25 to see how it performs for smartphone photography enthusiasts.

Key camera specifications:

  • 13Mp 1/3″ sensor with 1.12µm pixel size
  • f/2.0 lens
  • Dual-LED flash
  • Phase-detection autofocus
  • Geo-tagging, touch focus, face detection
  • 8Mp front-facing “selfie-cam” with f/2.0 lens
  • 1080p@30fps video (720p@30 fps in default mode)

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of the testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here.

Test summary

The Lava Z25 has an overall DxOMark mobile of 70 points, but performs better in still image mode, where it achieves a Photo sub-score of 74 points. That’s a respectable result for a device at this end of the market, and in forgiving lighting conditions, some nice still photos are well within reach. The Lava Z25’s best attributes for still photography are accurate exposures in well-balanced light, fast autofocus performance, as well as generally pleasant color rendering with consistent white balance and good noise reduction in bright light.

Video image quality on the Lava Z25 isn’t quite as strong, with a lower video score of 62 points affecting its overall DxOMark Mobile score. Its key strengths for video are generally good exposures in well-balanced lighting conditions, effective noise reduction (especially in bright light conditions), as well as smooth and fast white balance transitions when tested using changing light sources in laboratory conditions. However, levels of detail are low as the Lava only records 720p video in default mode and the frame rate frequently drops to 15fps in low light, resulting in slightly shaky footage.

Bright light

Shooting outdoors or in bright light conditions, we achieved many good exposures in well-balanced or low-contrast lighting conditions, which are easier for the device’s light metering system. When exposure was accurate, color rendering was pleasant, with reasonably well-saturated hues. White balance tended to be a little on the warm side in some outdoor photos, but it’s not unpleasant, and some photographers may prefer the richer color tones. We did achieve more neutral color in some outdoor images, and color casts were always consistent across consecutive exposures in the same lighting conditions, which is a bonus. The Lava Z25 achieves the greatest detail and texture in static scenes in very good light, making it a reasonable option for architecture or landscape photography outdoors. Recording good detail in scenes containing subject motion is a little more challenging for the Z25, however, except in very bright light.

In well-balanced lighting conditions we achieved many nice exposures on the Lava Z25, which display a warm but pleasant white balance and nice color rendering.

Low light and Flash

Indoors and in very low light, it’s more challenging for the Lava Z25 to get good results, with noticeable noise, motion blur, and under-saturated color all evident in our tests. Some indoor exposures are respectable, with good brightness and color saturation, but in very low light (5 lux), images are noticeably underexposed, and at 1 lux (effectively candlelight), not really usable. Capturing fine detail is also difficult indoors, with some motion blur evident on handheld shots at 100 lux, with a significant loss of detail in very low-light conditions of 20 lux, and particularly at 5 lux. Color rendering is acceptable under indoor conditions, but in low light, colors are under-saturated, and some white balance casts and color shading are very noticeable.

Shooting indoors, exposures are acceptable with nice color, but noise is noticeable and a loss of fine detail caused by motion blur is evident even at 100 lux.

Turning on the flash indoors and mixing it with the ambient light often results in overexposed images, with some vignetting (corner shading) evident, as well as a red-eye effect on portraits. Using flash as the only light source, exposures are more accurate, but corner shading is worse, with very dark corners resulting in a buildup of luminance noise, and the red eye effect is very noticeable on portraits.

The Lava Z25 achieves the best flash exposures when using flash as the only light source (above), but heavy corner shading, noticeable luminance noise, and the red eye effect on portraits are all evident.

Zoom and Bokeh

With a single camera setup on the Lava Z25, there’s no second telephoto lens to call upon for improved zoom shots at short or mid-range distances. It’s possible to “pinch zoom” up to 8x magnification, but as this is a digital zoom, this is essentially the same thing as blowing up or cropping the original image, and some quality is sacrificed. At short zoom distances of 2x, the loss of fine detail is evident in all lighting conditions, but in bright light, images remain very acceptable and just about usable in low light. At 4x zoom in bright light, some maze and moire effects, as well as a buildup of luminance noise, also reduce overall image quality, but again, images remain reasonably acceptable for many users. To avoid loss of detail and the amplification of the aforementioned artifacts, you should avoid shooting at 4x in low light, or at 8x in any lighting condition (handheld in particular).

Using the Lava Z25’s digital zoom at medium range in bright light conditions does affect overall sharpness, with the loss of fine detail, visible luminance noise and some maze and moiré artifacts, but images remain just about acceptable in these conditions.

Although the single lens setup doesn’t lend itself well for smartphone portraits, the Z25 does feature a bokeh simulation mode to blur backgrounds and help isolate a subject. The depth-of-field effect (background blur) is one of the strongest effects we’ve seen, with a nice shape to the bokeh effect, similar to that achieved optically when using a wide-aperture lens on a DSLR. Depth estimation failures are common, however, with inaccurate masking around the portrait, resulting in parts of the portrait being blurred and areas of the background remaining sharp. When viewing small-scale images on the device’s display, these errors will be less noticeable, but they make successful bokeh portraits challenging. The bokeh effect isn’t repeatable over consecutive shots, either, so it’s worth persevering and getting plenty of shots “in the can” when shooting your people pictures, to ensure that the effect is applied on at least some of them.

The Lava Z25’s bokeh simulation mode applies a strong background blur that’s very striking, but masking errors around the subject result in parts of the portrait being blurred, detracting from the overall usefulness of the feature.

Photo scores explained

The Lava Z25 achieves a total photo score of 74, which is calculated from its scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (74)

Achieving an overall exposure score of 74, the Lava Z25 records its best exposures in bright light conditions, where it scored 90 points, although it scored lower in indoor and very low-light conditions, which affected the overall exposure score. Results from shooting color checker patches under consistent lighting in the lab demonstrated that the Lava Z25 is very capable of taking accurate exposures. We also observed this capability in some of our outdoor evaluation scenes, with nice pictures captured in well-balanced lighting conditions.

The smartphone camera records nice pictures in well-balanced lighting conditions, which are easier for it to accurately expose.

In more challenging high-contrast scenes, however, the dynamic range potential of the Lava Z25 is more limited. With no automatic HDR mode available for advanced image processing, a significant loss of detail occurs in both highlight and shadow regions.

In more challenging high-contrast scenes, the lack of an automatic HDR mode results in limited dynamic range, with a loss of detail in both shadows and highlights.

In very low-light conditions (5 lux), images are slightly underexposed, with a loss of detail and color saturation, but remain usable.

Shooting in very low light (5 lux), images from the Lava Z25 are slightly underexposed, especially in the corners due to noticeable vignetting.

Color (72)

The Lava Z25 achieves a very respectable score for color, with nice color rendering in outdoor or bright lighting conditions, but color saturation drops in both indoor and very low-light conditions, which affected its overall color score.

The Lava Z25’s nice color rendering in outdoor images results in reasonably well-saturated color.

A strength for color is repeatable white balance, and although there’s a slightly warm color cast sometimes evident when shooting outdoors, some photographers may appreciate the warm tones. Color casts shift slightly more green on indoor images, but the fact that white balance remains consistent on consecutive frames in all lighting conditions is a bonus.

White balance is consistent and repeatable, and although some outdoor images display a warm tone (above), the color effect remains pleasant.
In some outdoor exposures the Lava Z25 was spot-on with the white balance, with nice neutral results and pleasant color rendering.

Color shading (when the color changes between the center and edges of the frame) is very noticeable on the Lava Z25, which impacted its overall color score.

Heavy color shading, shifting from orange in the center to green at the edges, is visible in many of the Lava Z25’s images in all lighting conditions.

Autofocus (81)

The Lava Z25’s autofocus is exceptionally fast in all lighting conditions, with almost no lag between requesting focus and taking a shot, making it one of the device’s best attributes. Although it’s quick, we observed some autofocus irregularities, however, as the device failed to consistently achieve sharp images across a test of 30 consecutive frames. In both bright (1000 lux) and indoor (300 lux) lighting conditions, a few of our consecutive shots missed sharp focus, which affected the overall autofocus score.

After putting the Lava Z25 into an unfocused state, we imposed a short delay of 500ms before asking the device to focus. The Lava locked focus and snapped a picture almost instantaneously in all lighting conditions, but some pictures weren’t sharp, with a handful of our 30 test shots recording only around 60% acutance (sharpness).

Texture (48)

The Lava Z25 scored fairly low for texture, as fine detail preservation remains challenging for the device in many lighting conditions and shooting environments. It’s best in bright light when shooting static subjects, and remains just about acceptable in some indoor conditions, although some motion blur starts to creep in. In very low light, motion blur is very visible in handheld shots of static subjects, and shots with subject movement almost always result in blurred movement, even in bright light conditions.

As it is often the case, the Lava produces less sharp images with moving scenes than with static ones across the ISO range.

In bright light (1000 Lux) the Lava is doing a decent job in terms of detail when compared to older high-end phones, such as the Apple iPhone 6 or Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge.

Lava Z25, 1000 Lux, crop
Apple iPhone 6, 1000 Lux, crop
Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, 1000 Lux, crop

However, in lower light the difference becomes more obvious, with the Lava smearing more fine textures and detail than the Apple and Samsung at 20 Lux.

Lava Z25, 20 Lux, crop
Apple iPhone 6, 20 Lux, crop
Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, 20 Lux, crop

Noise (63)

The Z25 achieved a pretty good score for noise, which is well-controlled in bright light. Some visible luminance noise when shooting outdoors is evident in areas of uniform color, such as the sky, but this isn’t uncommon for mobile devices and the effect isn’t overly strong. Shooting in lower light conditions, greater levels of luminance noise become visible in indoor conditions (100 lux), which starts to affect edge definition. In very low light, noise becomes slightly more visible, but not significantly, and in general it’s well-controlled in all lighting conditions.

Lava Z25, 20 Lux, crop
Apple iPhone 6, 20 Lux, crop
Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, 20 Lux, crop

Artifacts (59)

A number of artifacts or optical deficiencies were evident during our testing, including loss of edge sharpness, vignetting (corner shading), ringing, color fringing, and distortion. The most problematic is the loss of edge sharpness, which can have a serious impact on image quality, particularly if you plan to print or display large-scale images.

A difference in sharpness between the center and edges of the frame is noticeable, especially when viewing large-scale images.

 

Center of the frame, crop
Edge of the frame, crop

Noticeable vignetting, or corner shading, occurs in low-light conditions, which results in a buildup of more luminance noise; and when shooting towards the sun in outdoor conditions, some color fringing along contrast edges is also visible.

Shooting Lava Z25 in low light (5 lux) results in noticeable corner shading.
Fringing is evident along contrast edges when shooting towards the light.

Flash (60)

In flash-only pictures, the flash is nicely centered and exposure is good in the middle of the frame. Very visible corner shading occurs, however, with a resulting buildup of luminance noise in the corners, and portraits often display red eyes, as well as relatively low levels of fine detail preservation. Corner shading is reduced by mixing flash with additional light sources, but images then tend to be slightly overexposed, with red eye and loss of detail still a concern.

Using flash alongside additional light sources, images tend to be slightly overexposed; and although red eye and vignetting are less noticeable than on flash-only exposures, these effects remain visible.

Zoom (24)

Digital zoom shots on the Lava Z25 display limited resolution and low detail preservation, except in very bright lighting conditions. At 1000 lux (bright outdoor lighting), acceptable detail is possible at short zoom distances up to 2x, but expect less detail at 4x and 8x, even in very bright light. Handheld zoom shots at 4x in very bright light are just about usable, but there’s virtually no discernible detail in low light at 4x or when using the 8x zoom in all lighting conditions. Some artifacts are also visible with digital zoom shots at all magnifications, including noticeable maze and moiré effects in high-frequency details.

Long range zoom shot (approximately 100mm equivalent focal length).

Bokeh (20)

The Lava Z25 achieves a Bokeh score of 20, thanks to a nice shape and look to the background blur, which when applied is one of the strongest depth-of-field effects weve encountered. The device lost points for several depth estimation failures, however, when the device fails to accurately blur just the background and keep the portrait sharp, resulting in slightly problematic portraits, with some parts of the subject being blurred and parts of the background remaining sharp. This is particularly apparent in shots in which parts of the subject, such as a hand, are on a different focal plane to the subject’s face and thus end up being blurred in the same way as the background. The blur transition is also very abrupt, quickly shifting from sharp to strong blur, which can look unsightly and the bokeh effect isn’t repeatable over consecutive shots, with the effect not always applied.

Depth estimation failures in the Lava Z25’s bokeh simulation mode result in very noticeable masking errors around a portrait, so some areas of the background remain sharp and parts of the subject are blurred.

Video scores explained

The Lava Z25’s video module achieves a Video score of 62 points, which is notably lower than its Photo score. The overall video score is calculated using the video sub-scores, which give us some insight into its strengths and weakness when shooting video: Exposure (69), Color (73), Autofocus (33), Texture (31), Noise (78), Artifacts (66), and Stabilization (43).

As you can see from the scores, the most concerning areas are autofocus and texture, with the Lava Z25 either not triggering or regularly dropping focus during recording. In default mode the device records 720p video, failing to capture good levels of fine detail, especially in low light conditions. Video exposures are generally good in most lighting conditions, however, with consistent results in outdoor and indoor scenes, but with some underexposure in very low light. Noise reduction is also a strength for video, and color rendering is generally pleasant, although some white balance instabilities are visible during panning and walking scenes. In low light the frame rate frequently drops to 15fps, resulting in shaky footage.

Conclusion: Good results in favorable conditions

Achieving acceptable target exposures, repeatable white balance, and fast autofocus, the Lava Z25 gets many of the basics right, making it a solid choice for smartphone photographers on a budget. If you’re looking for a versatile smartphone camera capable of good results in challenging lighting environments, consistent flash results, well-defined details, and good zoom shots, the Lava Z25 might underwhelm a little. So you need to be a little careful and chose favorable conditions to get the best out of the Lava Z25’s camera, but with good technique and some thought, nice results are possible.

70
DxOMark mobile
Lava Z25
74
DxOMark Mobile
photo
62
DxOMark Mobile
video

Pros

  • Pleasant color in both indoor and outdoor lighting conditions
  • Good target exposure in many tested environments
  • Fast autofocus
  • Repeatable white balance

Pros

  • Good noise reduction in outdoor conditions
  • Generally good target exposure
  • Smooth and fast white balance convergence

Cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Motion blur in some handheld shots
  • Low resolution and detail in zoom photos

Cons

  • Low frame rate in low-light conditions
  • No visible stabilization
  • Autofocus failures with slow reaction times