徕卡 APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH 镜头测评

39
lens

徕卡 APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH 镜头是一款适用于徕卡、松下和现在适马L卡口相机的快速、中等画幅的定焦镜头。

徕卡APO标意味着该款镜头是徕卡旗下最出色、校正能力最优的镜头之一。该款镜头采用13片光学结构组成一个复杂的结构,其中9枚为部分反常色散(低色散)玻璃制成,用于控制边缘效应,还有3枚非球面镜片(其中2枚为双非球面),用于校正单色像差。

徕卡还使用多种涂层以减少杂散光和反射,从而减少眩光和鬼影,且前后位置的外部元件还使用Aquadura涂层,有效防护油脂和水滴。

该款相机全面实现内对焦,具有静音对焦和快速自动对焦的特点,采用两个步进电机组成的徕卡所谓的DSD(即双内对焦系统)系统。徕卡表示,使用两个小驱动独立控制两片聚焦光学结构就可在250毫秒内完成整个聚焦过程。

用户可以通过对焦环实现手动对焦,对焦环中嵌入了独特磁场传感器系统,可快速和高精度调整,减少温度变化产生的对焦误差。镜头采用天气密封,对焦环也特别做了防水防尘设计。该款镜头长102mm,宽73mm(4.02英寸*2.87英寸),重750克(1.59磅),主要面向高端业余爱好者和专业人士。

主要性能参数:

  • 11组13片光学镜片
  • 9枚部分反常色散(ED)镜片
  • 3枚非球面镜片(其中2枚双非球面)
  • 覆有MC涂层和Aquadura涂层
  • 双步进电机
  • 防尘防潮
  • 67mm滤镜螺纹
  • 最小焦距:0.27米(12英寸)
  • 重量:750克(1.59磅)

镜头整体成像质量

 

上一代徕卡Summilux-SL 50mmm F1.4被设计成体型较大、快速对焦的镜头,图像质量非常高,而对焦稍慢的APO-Summicro-SL 35mm F2 ASPH设计得更为轻便小巧,同时图像质量还进一步得到了优化。

 

安装在4700万像素L卡口 的松下Lumix DC-S1R上,徕卡APO-Summicro-SL 35mm F2 ASPH在DXOMARK排名中获得39分的总成绩。这使得它足以媲美其他35mm焦距的无反镜头,但我们的数据库中并没有太多这样的镜头。尽管如此,从f/2开始,它就具有很高的中心清晰度,且在较小光圈下,清晰度保持依然很好,而衍射效应通常则更明显。

APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH镜头畸变程度低。内置配置文件,可使原始文件在支持处理软件中获得额外调整,以处理畸变。这些校正或调整也适用于相机内或导出的JPEG格式文件。若配置文件不受支持,在某些图像中,当强线性元素位于图像边缘附近,会导致失真明显。这种边缘影响可以由内置配置文件修正,但无论如何,这款镜头都可以很好地校正这些像差。

使用原始光圈,-1.8EV时在极端角落可以见到暗角,但很容易控制,下降相对缓慢。虽然还不完全清楚,但在f/2.8处只调低一档,效果就大大降低。

镜头的高通光量非常出色,达T2.0,这不仅有益于电影制作人,而且有效的通光量也是控制好眩光和鬼影的一种手段。

与竞品的图像质量对比

点击此处可以打开我们交互式DXOMARK镜头对比工具

使用4700万像素的松下Lumix DC0S1R,峰清晰度非常好,但仍略低于索尼蔡司Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 Z,后者安装在索尼A7R II上的峰值清晰度略高。尽管与Lumix DC-S1R相比,索尼A7R II是一款像素数较低的旧款全画幅相机型号(4200万像素),但它的传感器与目前通用的索尼A7R III相同或类似。该款相机的最新版本是6100万像素的索尼A7R IV。(虽然这款相机还没有使用蔡司镜头进行测试,但我们预计这套组合将会实现更高峰值的清晰度。)

从某种程度来说,多亏了更高分辨率的传感器,佳能EF 35mm F1.4L II USM搭配5000万像素的佳能EOS 5DS R成为了另一套达到更高峰值清晰度的组合。

在系统整体性能方面,即使是尼康尼克尔Z 35mm F1.8 S和4570万像素的尼康Z 7这样的王牌组合,也跌出了35mm焦距镜头/相机系统前十榜单(列第11位),所以它不在这里列出。尽管如此,这套组合还是向我们证明了,若安装在高像素数机身上,这些型号镜头表现多么出色。

该款徕卡镜头色差控制良好,仅佳能L系列可与之媲美。而佳能镜头是多亏了其革新的蓝光谱折射(BR)光学元件。通常情况下,镜头APO 校正意味着纵向边缘校正,然而该镜头6微米水平的横向色差非常令人印象深刻。

这款镜头的焦距失真程度也很低,透光量高——与一些f/1.8镜头相当;这都是非常理想的特性。

许多摄影师从光学表现来衡量,昂贵的徕卡APO是否是值得票价。毫无疑问,这是最好的,但其他组合也有类似的通光量和暗角表现,有些组合拍摄的图像边界表现甚至略好一些、清晰度更均匀。

你可以使用我们互动的DXOMARK头排名工具查看所有的35毫米镜头和各种相机的组合。

深入比较

徕卡APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH比大多数竞品的f/1.4型号校正效果更好,因为它们几乎不会花大功夫在这样的慢速镜头的设计上。为了更仔细地观测光学性能表现,我们将4700万像素的松下Lumix DC-S1R和徕卡镜头的组合与佳能EF 35mm F1.4L II USM搭配5000万像素的佳能EOS 5DS R的组合进行对比。我们也同时将其与索尼蔡司Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA和4200万像素索尼A7R II的组合进行对比。

上述所有镜头和相机都是广受欢迎的竞品选择。(我们最近才发布了对索尼最新款的6100万像素的高分辨率无反光相机A7R IV的评测,所以在本次镜头对比中我们没使用它。) 当然,永远不要忘记,相机本身对测试结果的影响举足轻重。选择一个低分辨率的机身,比如2400万像素的索尼A7 III,会得到较低的总分,因为传感器会影响整体性能。

清晰度

安装在高分辨率索尼A7R II机身上,索尼蔡司Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA是我们数据库中35mm 定焦镜头中的领军者, 但在5000万像素的佳能EOS 5DS R上,索尼和佳能EF 35mm F1.4L II USM这两枚镜头峰清晰度都很出色。然而,这只是部分情况:对于大多数摄影师来说,镜头如何处理清晰度可能才是最重要的。

虽然总体表现不俗,但f/1.4处索尼蔡司镜头在A7R II机身的实际表现不敌佳能组合,但在f/2(徕卡的原始光圈)处,三枚镜头都有类似的清晰度(锐度)水平,中央核心区域清晰度强,角落区域逐步下降。

徕卡/松下的组合甚至还有一点优势,尤其是在角落区域。所以在f/2处即使是我们数据库中最好的镜头也不比徕卡更强。事实上,根据我们f/2光圈测试,就其外部区域(画面外部50%区域)清晰度的表现而言,索尼蔡司的组合实际上是三组中最弱的。

如果看一下f/2.8处和f/4处三款相机的清晰度曲线,你会发现徕卡APO/松下的组合保持了80%以上的中心高清晰度,但是远离中心区域,与佳能组合和索尼蔡司组合相比,清晰度就下降了。
我们的结果表明,徕卡APO/松下的机镜组合在f/4和f/2.8有非常相似的结果,远离中心区域的清晰度较低,而其他两个组合则在外部区域显示出更好的清晰度。在f/4-5.6处,索尼蔡司的组合清晰度表现不俗,尤其是在f/5.6处,从中心区域到角落区域清晰度达到了80%。(我们也点赞佳能组合,其成像领域的清晰度很高。)

徕卡APO在中心区域与两个竞品表现一样,而在外部区域略有提高,但在f/11左右,其清晰度才持平索尼蔡司或佳能的水平,此时衍射效应才可平衡性能表现。面对两个强劲的对手,外部区域较低的清晰度(锐度)影响了徕卡的排名。

色差

徕卡APO-Summicron-SL镜头采用了9枚低色散玻璃光学元件,可极大地校正彩色边缘。

下面的横向色差(LCA)图显示了在半幅图像中三个镜头的色差宽度。横向色差(LCA)是从左侧框架的中心(0%)到右侧框架的极端角(100%)的测量结果。为了减少这种影响,徕卡这款新镜头采用了内置的校正配置文件,且不能像某些型号那样可在镜头内关闭。然而,我们的结果显示了未校正的结果,因此相机外部的JPEG文件或使用支持软件处理的原始文件中可能根本看不出横向色差(LCA)。

当安装在松下Lumix DC-S1R上时,徕卡APO-Summicron-SL 35mm镜头很好地抑制了LCA,我们实验室测得最宽仅为6微米。考虑到现代变焦镜头,比如尼克尔的Z24-70mm F2.8 S,也得到了很好的校正处理,但在最优的情况下也仍然还在15微米左右(未使用内置的配置文件),你可以看出这款徕卡镜头的LCA水平非常低。

然而,在这三款定焦镜头的比较中,佳能组合在抑制LCA方面做得稍好一些,整个画面更为均匀,特别在大光圈时。即使如此,和大多数镜头一样,LCA通常在角落区域达到最高点,佳能在这方面也不例外。

徕卡和松下的组合在角落区域的LCA也是最高,但它的表现也很引人注目——至少在测试中是这样——清晰度环绕中心区域。这一特征很常见,因为LCA很少出现在中心区域,通常在中外区域被抑制(或多或少),只在极端的角落重新出现。事实上,索尼蔡司组合的拍摄结果也与此相似,中心区域LCA低,在大光圈的角落达到顶峰之前缓慢上升。

几何失真

中画幅的定焦镜头通常有一些桶型失真。但是徕卡这枚镜头内置镜头校正配置文件,包括了几何失真校正;和横向色差一样,我们在没有校正的情况下测量了结果,所以读者可以自行看到最大变化。

即使不使用校正配置文件,徕卡APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2.0几乎也没有失真,测量最大值仅为0.1%。

这种程度的桶形失真在图像中不太可能被注意到,即使有强烈的线性组成元素,平行的或是靠近框架的边缘,如门或窗框,甚至墙壁,天花板,或建筑物的屋顶。

竞品佳能组合,也有校正配置文件,最大失真情况与徕卡/松下组合一致;然而,索尼蔡司的失真水平较高,在图像中容易被注意到,不过它也有校正配置选项可减少镜头内的影响,也可以使用支持的软件处理原始文件以减少影响。

暗角(角阴影)

徕卡APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH和Lumix S1R组合,在f/2的极端角落,暗角测量结果高达-1.8 EV。虽然这是一个渐进的变化,如下图所示,暗角从中间地带开始变得明显。视觉上看,这种效果与佳能组合在f/1.4处的表现非常相似,尽管它的最大测量值是-2.3 EV。

索尼蔡司拍摄的图片在外部区域的边缘可以看到暗角,从我们的图示可以看出,先是一个浅坡,然后在靠近外部区域和边角的地方变为陡坡,即使最大值略低于徕卡,为-1.7EV,最终两处暗角都较少。

陡峭的曲线表示密度迅速增加,这在图像中更容易被注意到,所以更需要平缓的曲线。三款镜头都设置为f/2时(如下图所示),如预料的一样,较快的佳能和索尼蔡司镜头的暗角更少。


通光量

无反相机不断用于视频拍摄,松下Lumix DC-S1R在这方面能力很强。徕卡APO-Summicron-SL镜头在设计时就考虑了视频拍摄,因而采用了双步进电机。此外,该枚镜头的高通光量(测量值为T2.0)意味着涂层非常有效。接近F-stop的通光量表明反射率较低,这通常意味着较低的鬼影和眩光——这对静态拍照和视频拍摄都很重要。

徕卡APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH几乎与一些f/1.8镜头一样明亮;在全光圈下,相对于制造商的F-stop,与此次对比的索尼蔡司和佳能镜头相比,徕卡拥有更高的通光量。


结论

许多专业人士和高端业余爱好者认为35mm焦距是50mm焦距的替代品,因此,它们需要类似甚至更强的光学质量。然而,为了提供更好的图像质量,这些年来镜头尺寸不断增加,但我们仍需要更小、更轻的镜头来提供类似的图像质量。

徕卡的APO-Summicron-SL系列似乎就能做到这一点,与“标准”的f/1.4版本相比, f/2镜头更小也更轻,能提供一样甚至更好的校正效果。除了如此奇异的光学结构,徕卡APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH还有许多吸引人的品质,包括从f/2处开始就有的良好的清晰度,低LCA,几乎没有失真情况。它几乎和一些f/1.8镜头一样亮。但是相对的,它的售价也很高昂。4595美元的售价很容易让人望而却步。

在这篇评测中,我们比较了安装在松下Lumix DC-SQR上的徕卡APO-Summicron-SL35mm F2 ASPH与其来自其他品牌最强劲的对手。请记住,这款镜头可用于不同的相机系统和卡口,因此比较并非严格适用。

与往常一样,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,进行深入分析。

Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH lens review

Reading Time: 10 min read
39
lens

The Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH is a fast, moderately wide prime lens for Leica, Panasonic, and now Sigma L-mount cameras.

Leica’s APO designation means that this is one of their best, most highly-corrected models. As a result, the lens has a complex construction consisting of 13 elements, nine of which are anomalous partial dispersion (low-dispersion) glass to control fringing, while a further three are aspherical (two of which dual-aspherical) for monochromatic aberration correction.

Leica has used multi-coatings to reduce stray light and reflections that can result in flare and ghosting, and uses Aquadura coating on the front and rear exterior elements to repel grease and water droplets.

Focusing is completely internal and features quiet and swift autofocus using what Leica call DSD (Dual Synchro Drive), a system composed of two stepping motors. Leica says using two small actuators to independently control two focusing elements allows it to travel the entire focus throw in 250ms.

Users can manually focus by using a ring with a unique magnetic field sensor system that allows for fast and highly precise adjustment, and which resists focus inaccuracies from temperature fluctuations. The lens is weather-sealed, and the focus ring has been especially designed to resist ingress by dust and moisture. Measuring 102mm x 73mm (4.02″ x 2.87″) and weighing 750 grams (1.59 lbs), this lens is aimed squarely at high-end amateurs and professional users.

Key specifications:

  • 13 lens elements in 11 groups
  • Nine anomalous partial dispersion (ED type) elements
  • Three aspherical elements (with two dual-aspherical)
  • MC and Aquadura coatings
  • Dual stepping motors
  • Dust- and moisture-resistant
  • 67mm filter thread
  • Minimum focus distance: 0.27m (12”)
  • Weight: 750 grams (1.59 lb)

Overall lens image quality

Whereas the earlier Leica Summilux-SL 50mmm F1.4 was designed as a large, fast lens with very high image quality, the slower APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH is intended to be lighter and smaller, yet still optimized for superior image quality.

When mounted on the high-resolution L-mount 47MP Panasonic Lumix DC-S1R, the Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH achieves an overall DXOMark rating of 39. That puts it on par with other made-for-mirrorless lenses with a 35mm focal length… but there haven’t been that many made, and we’ve only a handful in our database. Nevertheless, it has high central sharpness from f/2 on and it performs well in retaining sharpness at smaller apertures, where the effect of diffraction would typically be more noticeable.

The APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH has very low levels of distortion. A built-in profile that instructs RAW files in supported processing software to make additional adjustments to handle distortion. These corrections or adjustments are also applied in-camera and to out-of-camera JPEGs. When the profile isn’t supported, it’s possible that the distortion may be noticeable in certain images where strong linear elements are located near the borders of the image frame. Fringing is also corrected by this built-in profile, but this lens is very well corrected for these aberrations anyway.

Vignetting is measured at –1.8EV in the extreme corners; it is visible at the initial aperture, but but is well-controlled, with a relatively gradual fall-off. Although it doesn’t clear entirely, the effect is greatly reduced just one stop down at f/2.8.

The lens’s high transmission is outstanding at T2.0, which is not only useful for filmmakers, but also a measure of well-controlled flare and ghosting.

Image quality compared to competitors

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark lens comparison tool.

Peak sharpness is very good on the 47MP Panasonic Lumix DC-S1R, but it’s still a little behind the Sony Zeiss Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA, which has very slightly higher peak sharpness when mounted on the Sony A7R II. Although that’s an older full-frame camera model with a lower pixel count (42MP) than the Lumix DC-S1R, it’s the same or similar sensor to that found in the current Sony A7R III. (We have not yet tested latest version of that camera, the 61MP Sony A7R IV, however, we would expect that a Sony Zeiss/A7R IV combination to have even higher peak sharpness.)

The Canon EF 35mm F1.4L II USM on the 50MP Canon EOS 5DS R is another combination with higher peak sharpness, thanks in part to that high-resolution sensor.

In terms of overall system performance, even the high-regarded Nikon Nikkor Z 35mm F1.8 S on the 45.7MP Nikon Z 7 falls just outside our Top Ten 35mm focal length lens/camera systems (in 11th place), so it’s not listed here. Still, it goes to show just how good these models are when mounted on high pixel-count bodies.

This Leica lens has good chromatic aberration control that is matched only by the L-series Canon, thanks to the latter’s innovative Blue Spectrum Refractive (BR) optics. Typically, APO correction in a lens means that longitudinal fringing is corrected, nevertheless, the 6-micron level of lateral chromatic aberration in this Leica lens is still very impressive.

Further, along with high transmission, it also has very low distortion for this focal length—the same level as some f/1.8 lenses.

Many photographers will end up trying to decide if the high price of the Leica APO is justifiable in terms of its optical performance. It’s certainly one of the best, but there are other combinations with comparable transmission and vignetting, and some with even slightly better, more homogenous sharpness out to the image borders.

You can see all the 35mm lens and various camera combinations using our interactive DxOMark lens ranking tool here.

In-depth comparisons

The Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH is better-corrected than most of the f/1.4 models from its rivals, but they rarely put everything into the design of slower lenses like this. For a more detailed look at the optical performance, then, we’ll compare the Leica lens in combination with the 47MP Panasonic Lumix DC-S1R to the highly-regarded Canon EF 35mm F1.4L USM when mounted on a 50MP EOS 5DS R. We’ll also compare it to the Sony Zeiss Distagon T* FE 35mm FI.4 ZA on the 42MP Sony A7R II.

All these lens and camera models are popular competing choices. (We only recently published our review of the 61MP A7R IV, Sony’s latest high-resolution, mirrorless body, so we did not use it for this lens comparison.) It’s important to remember, of course, that the camera plays an important part in the results. Choosing a lower-resolution body such as the 24MP Sony A7 III will result in a lower overall score, as the sensor contributes to the overall performance.

Sharpness

The Sony Zeiss Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA is the leader in our database of 35mm focal length primes when mounted on the high-resolution Sony A7R II, but both it and the Canon EF 35mm F1.4L II USM on the 50MP Canon EOS 5DS R offer superior peak sharpness. Nevertheless, that is only part of the story: how lenses handle sharpness is probably more important to most photographers.

Although a strong performer overall, the Sony Zeiss lens on the A7R II is actually weaker than the Canon combination at f/1.4, but at f/2—the initial aperture of the Leica—all three lenses have similar sharpness (acutance) profiles, with a strong central core of sharpness and a gradual fall-off to the corners.

The Leica/Panasonic combination even has a slight advantage, particularly in the corners. So even the leader in our database doesn’t outperform the Leica at f/2.—Indeed, based on our tests at that aperture, the Sony Zeiss combination is actually the weakest of the three due to its sharpness in the outer field (the outer 50% of the frame) at that aperture.

If you look at the sharpness profiles for all three at f/2.8 and at f/4, you’ll see that Leica APO/Panasonic system combination maintains that high central sharpness of over 80% acutance, but away from that central zone, sharpness falls in comparison with the Canon and Sony Zeiss systems.

Our results show the Leica APO/Panasonic has very similar results at f/4 as at f/2.8, with lower acutance away from the center, whereas the other two systems show improved sharpness in the outer zones. It’s here at f/4-5.6 that that Sony Zeiss shows its superior sharpness, especially at f/5.6, where its sharpness is measured at 80% acutance from the center out to the corners. (We can also praise the Canon combination for its high sharpness across the imaging field.)

The Leica APO continues to match the two rivals in the center and improves in the outer zones, but sharpness never quite reaches the levels of the Sony Zeiss or the Canon until around f/11, where the effects of diffraction even out the performance. It’s this slightly lower sharpness (acutance) in the outer zones that accounts for the Leica’s rating against the other two strong rivals.

Chromatic aberration

With nine low-dispersion glass elements in its construction, the Leica APO-Summicron-SL lens is very highly corrected for color fringing.

The lateral chromatic aberration (LCA) profile below shows the width of the colored aberration occurring in all three lenses across half the image frame. LCA is measured from the center of the frame at the left (0% field position) to the extreme corner of the frame (at 100%) to the right. To reduce the effect, this new lens uses a built-in correction profile which can’t be turned off in-camera, unlike some models. However, our results show the uncorrected result, so LCA may not be visible at all in out-of-camera JPEGs or in RAW files processed with supported software.

When mounted on the Panasonic Lumix DC-S1R, the Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm lens suppresses LCA very well, with a maximum of 6 microns wide measured in our labs. Given that modern zooms such as the Nikkor Z 24-70mm F2.8 S are also well corrected yet still measure around 15 microns at their highest (without their in-built profile applied), you can see that this Leica lens has very low levels of LCA.

However, of the three primes in this comparison, the Canon combination does a slightly better job of suppressing LCA more uniformly across the frame, especially at wider apertures. Even so, like most lenses, LCA is usually at its highest in the corners, and the Canon is no different in this regard.

The Leica-Panasonic combination also has its highest LCA in the corners, but it’s also noticeable—at least in testing—as a ring around the central zone of sharpness. This characteristic is quite common, as LCA rarely shows in the center and is usually suppressed (to a lesser or greater amount) in the mid-to-outer zone, only for it to reappear in the extreme corners. Indeed, the results are similar for the Sony Zeiss combination, with LCA low in the center and rising gently before peaking in the corners at wide apertures.

Geometric distortion

Moderately-wide primes like this typically have some slight barrel-type distortion. This lens’s built-in lens correction profile includes geometric distortion correction, however; and as with lateral chromatic aberration, we’ve measured the results without the correction so that you see the maximum variation for yourself.

Even without applying the correction profile, the Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2.0 has virtually no distortion, measured at a maximum of just 0.1%.

This level of barrel distortion is unlikely to be noticed in images even with strong linear compositional elements that are parallel and close to the edge of the frame, such as doors or window frames, or even the walls, ceilings, or roofs of buildings.

The Canon rival combination, which also has a correction profile, has the same maximum level of distortion as the Leica/Panasonic combination; however, the Sony Zeiss has higher levels that would be noticeable in images, though it, too, has a profile correction option that would reduce the effect in-camera and with RAW files when processed with supported software.

Vignetting (corner shading)

For the Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH and Lumix S1R combination, vignetting measures up to –1.8 EV in the extreme corners at f/2. Although this is a quite gradual effect, vignetting starts to become noticeable from the mid-zone, as can be seen in the graph below. Visually, the effect is very similar to the Canon combination at f/1.4, even though that measures a maximum of –2.3 EV.

Vignetting is noticeable in the Sony Zeiss from the edge of the outer zone, shown in our graph as a shallow slope to begin with, and changing to steep slope as it moves through the outer zones into the corners. It ends up with much less vignetting that either of its rivals, even though its maximum isn’t far behind the Leica at –1.7 EV.

A steep curve indicates a rapid increase in density, which is more likely to be noticed in the image, so a flatter curve is more desirable. With all three lenses set to f/2 (shown below), the faster Canon and Sony Zeiss lenses have less vignetting, but that is to be expected.


Transmission

Mirrorless cameras are increasingly deployed for video and the Panasonic Lumix DC-S1R is highly capable in that respect. With twin stepper motors, the Leica APO-Summicron-SL lens was designed with video capture in mind; further, the high transmission of this lens, measured as T2.0, means that the coatings are extremely efficient. Transmission close to F-stop values indicates low reflectance, and that typically means low ghosting and flare—important for both still and video capture.

The Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH is almost as bright as some f/1.8 lenses and has higher transmission relative to the manufacturer’s F-stop at full aperture than the Sony Zeiss and the Canon lenses in this comparison.


Conclusion

Many professionals and high-end amateurs consider the 35mm focal length to be an alternative to the 50mm, and as a result, require models with similar or even better optical quality. However, as lens sizes have increased over the years to offer superior image quality, there remains a need for smaller, lighter lenses that offer similar image quality.

Leica’s APO-Summicron-SL series appears to offer just that, and its smaller, lighter f/2 lenses are as well or better corrected than “standard” f/1.4 versions. With such an exotic optical construction, then, the Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH has many attractive qualities, including good sharpness starting at f/2, low LCA, and almost no distortion. It’s also almost as bright as some f/1.8 lenses. All of this comes at price, though, and the $4595 ticket isn’t for the faint-hearted.

In this review, we have compared the Leica APO-Summicron-SL 35mm F2 ASPH mounted on a Panasonic Lumix DC-S1R to its closest rivals from other brands. Remember that the lenses are intended to be used on different camera systems and mounts, so the comparisons are not strictly applicable.

As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image lens comparison tool.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.