LG G7 ThinQ 评测:LG的人工智能摄像头

DxOMark
Mobile
83

韩国电子巨头LG于今年五月推出的G7 ThinQ是其G系列高端智能手机的最新款手机,具有双摄像头配置,其1600万像素光学防抖主摄像头带有一个快速的f/1.6镜头,并搭载1600万像素超广角副摄像头。该手机还具有LG AI辅助的场景和被摄体识别功能,可自动为给定的场景找到最佳摄像头设置。G7 ThinQ内置高通公司的顶级芯片组——骁龙845,并配备一个6.1英寸的IPS显示屏。

请继续阅读有关LG G7 ThinQ摄像头性能的更多信息。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 双摄像头配置
  • 1600万像素主摄像头,1/3.1英寸图像传感器(1.0微米像素),f/1.6镜头,30毫米等效焦距
  • 1600万像素超广角副摄像头,1/3.1英寸图像传感器(1.0微米像素),f/1.9镜头,16毫米等效焦距
  • 主镜头具备光学图像防抖功能
  • 主镜头具备PDAF和激光AF
  • LED闪光灯
  • 30/60 fps 4K视频,30/60 fps 1080p视频

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的详情,请参见此处

测试摘要

悦目的演色性是LG G7 ThinQ的一大优势。

在DxOMark测试中,LG G7 ThinQ拿下了83分的总分,其表现接近一些较旧的旗舰机型,如Apple iPhone 7或Sony Xperia XZ Premium,但与目前的高端手机有些距离。它为静态摄影和视频录制提供了良好的性能,并产生了不错的色彩、白平衡和鲜艳的色调。

虽然G7在所有测试项目中的得分(除了变焦之外)均比V30好,但与相似的V系列机型相比,该手机获得显着改进的图像质量类别仅有色彩而已;其静态摄影和视频得分都是86分,表现相当坚实,反观V30在这两方面的得分各为79分和74分;虽然G7 ThinQ偶尔会出现轻微的粉红色偏倾向,但它的演色性在室内和户外通常都非常好,如下图所示。

在天空中可以看到偏青色的伪像,以及轻微的粉红色偏,但整体色彩表现很好。

G7 ThinQ提供了不错的动态范围,但较高光区域的细节比在较暗的部分更到位(左下图);它处理逆光照片的能力相对不错,但拍摄对象有些曝光不足(右下方)。

这里的天空和前景的曝光很好,但阴影中的细节却不多。
动态范围在这些条件下有点小,并且被摄体稍微曝光不足。

一般而言,大多数人对于智能手机(或其他)摄像头有三个期待:良好的曝光、良好的色彩和快速自动对焦。G7 ThinQ具有良好的曝光和色彩,但它的自动对焦可能有点迟钝,通常需要接近半秒才能在高光(1000勒克斯)下拍摄图像,在典型的室内照明(300勒克斯)下则需要近一秒钟的时间,如下图所示。还好,低光下的延迟时间并未增加,而且自动对焦通常非常准确。

LG G7 ThinQ的自动对焦在高光下的表现(1000勒克斯)。
LG G7 ThinQ的自动对焦在室内照明下的表现(300勒克斯)。

纹理和噪点也是G7 ThinQ的弱点之一。细微纹理的细节即使在高光下也会明显减少;即使在光线条件良好的情况下拍摄,低对比度或色彩均匀的区域也会出现噪点。G7 ThinQ的副摄像头是超广角镜头而不是远摄镜头(不像某些竞争机型),因此如果您想将更多场景压缩到图像中,这种配置也许很有用,但这也意味着其变焦性能会比一些直接的竞争机型差了些,因为LG的变焦纯粹仰赖数码变焦。

与V30不同的是,G7 ThinQ具有模拟散景功能,乍一看其散景效果看起来很漂亮,但仔细检查图像可以发现前景被摄体周围的景深伪像,和一些突兀的模糊渐变层次或步进痕迹。

在更复杂的形状周围可以看到景深伪像,例如我们的样张中的被摄主体的手。 
裁剪图
模糊渐变层次中出现了步进痕迹,并且在不同的模糊层次上会出现不均匀的噪点,使模糊看起来不太自然。
裁剪图

在视频方面,曝光、演色性和白平衡在大多数情况下的表现都很好。然而,其自动对焦性能拉低了总体得分,因为自动对焦在户外条件下并不总能自动触发,并且没有跟踪能力。视频防抖也不是非常有效,因此偶尔会出现抖动的影像片段;在完整尺寸下观看时,某些影片也会出现强烈的振铃效应和混叠伪像;我们还在摇拍时观察到明显的抖动效应。

结论

在良好的条件下,LG G7 ThinQ能够以悦目的色彩和良好的曝光拍摄漂亮的图像和视频,但是,其整体图像质量并没有达到与同类产品相同的水平。其动态范围有点未达到我们对高端手机的期望,图像细节也很普通,尤其是在较低光场景中更是如此;我们还发现其自动对焦系统的响应速度比某些直接竞争机型慢了些。

一些手机摄影者也许会觉得LG的超广角副镜头是一个相当有用的创作工具(虽然它不影响我们的评分),但如果这不是您优先考虑的功能,那么在同等价位上,目前有更好的智能手机摄像头。

83
DxOMark mobile
LG G7 ThinQ
84
photo
LG G7 ThinQ
79
video
LG G7 ThinQ

优点

  • 白平衡在户外和室内条件下大致很好
  • 鲜艳悦目的色彩
  • 在大多数情况下,自动对焦准确且可重复

优点

  • 在所有条件下,白平衡都相当不错
  • 在大多数情况下,测标曝光正确
  • 在户外和室内照明下,色彩鲜艳悦目

不足

  • 蓝天中经常可以看到偏青色的色调
  • 高对比度场景中的高光和阴影细节丢失
  • 纹理不佳,即使在高光下也是如此
  • 边缘出现强烈的振铃效应和明显的噪点
  • 使用中距和远距变焦时,细节会严重损失
  • 有时在散景模式下可观察到景深伪像和模糊步进痕迹

不足

  • 自动对焦有时不会在户外条件下触发
  • 自动对焦没有追踪功能
  • 强烈的振铃效应和混叠伪像
  • 摇拍时的抖动效果
We are hiring!

LG G7 ThinQ camera review: LG’s artificial intelligence camera

DxOMark
Mobile
83

Introduced this past May, the LG G7 ThinQ is the latest model in the Korean electronics giant’s G-line of high-end smartphones, featuring a dual-camera setup with an optically stabilized 16Mp main camera with a fast f/1.6 lens, and a secondary 16Mp super-wide-angle. The device also features LG’s AI-powered scene and subject recognition that automatically finds the best camera settings for a given scene. The G7 ThinQ is powered by Qualcomm’s top-end chipset Snapdragon 845 and comes with a large 6.1″ IPS display.

Read on for more information about the LG G7 ThinQ’s camera performance.

Key camera specifications:

  • Dual-camera setup
  • 16Mp main camera with 1/3.1″ sensor (1.0µm pixels) and f/1.6-aperture lens, 30mm-equivalent focal length
  • 16Mp secondary super-wide-angle camera with 1/3.1″ sensor (1.0µm pixels) and f/1.9-aperture lens, 16mm-equivalent focal length
  • Optical image stabilization on the main lens
  • PDAF and laser AF on the main lens
  • LED flash
  • 4K video at 30/60 fps, 1080p at 30/60 fps

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

Pleasantly vibrant color rendering is one of the LG G7 ThinQ’s strong points.

The LG G7 ThinQ garnered a DxOMark overall score of 83 points, placing it close to some older flagship models, such as the Apple iPhone 7 or Sony Xperia XZ Premium, rather than the current crop of high-end devices. It puts in a good performance for exposure for both stills and videos, and produces good color, with good white balance and vibrant hues.

Although the G7’s scores (with the exception of Zoom) are better than the V30’s across the board, the only image quality category that shows a marked improvement over its V-series cousin is Color, with the G7 scoring a solid 86 for both stills and video, versus the V30’s scores of 79 and 74, respectively; and while the G7 ThinQ occasionally shows a tendency toward a slight pink cast, its color rendering is generally very good indoors and outdoors, as in the photo below.

Cyan-shift artifacts are visible in the sky and a slight pink cast is visible, but overall color is good.

The G7 ThinQ offers decent dynamic range, but does a better job of capturing detail in brighter areas of the scene than in darker parts (left photo below); this said, it does a relatively decent job handling backlit photos, even though the subject tends to be somewhat underexposed (below right).

Exposure of the sky and foreground is good here, but there’s little detail in the shadows .
Dynamic range is a little limited in these conditions and the subject is just a touch underexposed.

Broadly speaking, there are three things that most people look for in a smartphone (or other) camera: good exposure, good color, and fast autofocus. Again, as mentioned above, the G7 ThinQ has good exposure and color, but as shown in the graphs below, the G7’s AF can be a little sluggish, often taking close to half a second to capture an image in bright light (1000 lux), and close to a full second in typical indoor lighting (300 lux). The good news is that the delay does not increase in low light and the AF is generally very accurate.

The LG G7 ThinQ autofocus performance in bright light (1000 lux).
The LG G7 ThinQ autofocus performance in indoor lighting (300 lux).

Texture and noise are also among the G7 ThinQ’s weaknesses. A loss of detail in finer textures is noticeable even in bright light, and there can be noise in areas of low contrast or uniform colors even when shooting in good light conditions. The G7 ThinQ’s secondary camera is a super-wide-angle rather than a tele (as for some competitors). This can be useful if you want to squeeze more of a scene into your image, but it also means that zoom performance is poor compared to some direct rivals, as the LG relies purely on digital zoom.  

Unlike the V30, the G7 ThinQ comes with a simulated bokeh feature. Bokeh rendering looks pleasant at first sight, but a closer examination of the images can reveal depth artifacts around foreground subjects and some harsh blur transitions or stepping.

Depth artifacts can be visible around more complex shapes, such as the subject’s hand in our sample. 
Crop
Blur transitions show stepping, and noise is not rendered evenly across blur levels, resulting in an unnatural appearance.
Crop

As for Video, exposure, color rendering and white balance are good in most conditions. However, autofocus performance had a negative impact on the overall score, as the AF didn’t always trigger in outdoor conditions and has no tracking capability. Video stabilization isn’t very effective either, resulting in occasionally shaky footage, and some clips show strong ringing and aliasing artifacts when viewed at full size. We also observed a noticeable judder effect when panning.

Conclusion

In good conditions, the LG G7 ThinQ is capable of capturing nice images and video with pleasant color and good exposure. However, overall image quality is not quite up at the same level as the best in class. Dynamic range is a little more limited than we would expect from a high-end device, and image detail is only average, especially in lower light scenes. We also found the autofocus system to be a touch slower to react than for some direct rivals.

Some mobile photographers might find the LG’s secondary super-wide-angle lens to be a useful creative tool (although it does not impact on our scoring), but if this feature is not very high up on your list of priorities, there are currently better smartphone cameras available at the same price point as the G7 ThinQ. 

83
DxOMark mobile
LG G7 ThinQ
84
photo
LG G7 ThinQ
79
video
LG G7 ThinQ

Pros

  • White balance is mostly good in both outdoor and indoor conditions
  • Vivid and pleasant colors
  • Accurate and repeatable autofocus in most situations

 Pros

  • White balance is fairly good in all conditions
  • Accurate target exposure in most conditions
  • Colors are vibrant and pleasant both outdoors and under indoor lighting

Cons

  • Hue-shift toward cyan often visible in blue skies
  • Loss of both highlight and shadow detail in high-contrast scenes
  • Poor textures, even in bright light
  • Strong ringing and visibly noisy edges
  • Strong loss of detail when using medium- and long-range zoom
  • Depth artifacts and blur steps sometimes visible in bokeh mode

Cons

  • Autofocus sometimes does not trigger in outdoor conditions
  • No AF tracking capability
  • Strong ringing and aliasing
  • Judder effect when panning
We are hiring!