美图T9前置摄像头评测

69
selfie

以“美颜”应用而闻名的中国科技公司——美图的触角已经延伸至智能手机,其开发重点是人像和自拍照。美图T9于2018年年中推出,是一款大屏幕中端手机,搭载6.01英寸AMOLED显示屏,1080×2160像素,内置骁龙660 Octa Core八核芯片组,4Gb主存,64Gb内存。

其摄像头至少有四个,手机前后均为双摄像头配置,其前置摄像头为自拍爱好者提供了索尼IMX363 Exmor RS主图像传感器,1300万像素,搭配一个f/1.8防抖自动对焦镜头。第二个500万像素图像传感器用于感应深度,以便在人像模式下实现散景模拟效果;它还配有一个连续的闪光“灯”,为低光人像提供额外的照明。

请继续阅读本评测,以了解美图T9前置摄像头在DxOMark Selfie测试中的表现。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 索尼IMX363 Exmor RS图像传感器,1300万像素
  • 500万像素辅助图像传感器用于深度感应
  • f/1.8 6p光学防抖镜头
  • 静止图像和视频自动对焦
  • 闪光“灯”

关于DxOMark Selfie测试:DxOMark工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

69
selfie
73
photo
63
video

美图T9前置摄像头在DxOMark Selfie测试中获得69分的总分,照片得分则为73分,其图像质量比其前身美图 V6有所提升,在色彩、自动对焦和闪光灯方面均有显着改进。与我们Selfie数据库中的顶级手机相比,T9表现仍然略逊一筹,在曝光,特别是肤色演色性方面仍有一些改进空间,但它在良好的拍摄条件下能够拍出一些不错的结果。在实验室测试中,其测标曝光的测量值略偏明亮,对比度也不高;但在我们自然测试场景图像的感知分析中,测标曝光和对比度都还算可以接受,其结果通常相当悦目。美图T9的动态范围有限,因此在拍摄高对比度场景时,背景和天空可能会过度曝光;不过其脸部测标曝光通常是准确的,所以它还是做好了自拍摄像头的本职工作。

美图T9,准确的脸部测标曝光,但背景过度曝光
美图T9,准确的脸部测标曝光,但背景过度曝光

在强烈侧光下拍摄的图像中,T9脸上的溢光剪贴纹理相当明显,但在非常均匀的照明条件下,脸部和背景的曝光通常都是准确的。T9的f/1.8大光圈镜头还能在低光下提供不错的曝光效果,在20和5勒克斯照明下都能拍出非常可用的结果,仅在几近黑暗的1勒克斯摄影条件下,图像才严重曝光不足。色彩鲜艳动人,特别是在户外图像中;虽然在低光下会出现轻微的去饱和现象,但整体色彩相当不错,有着悦目的肤色演色性。我们在T9图像中观察到一些轻微的白平衡错误,一些户外图像的色彩有些偏蓝,室内图像也出现了绿色/黄色色偏,但没有任何浓重刺眼的色偏。

美图T9,脸部在强烈定向照明下出现了溢光剪贴纹理
美图T9,在均衡光线下提供准确的曝光度、鲜艳的色彩和不错的白平衡

自动对焦镜头是T9的一大关键优势,所以我们在各种距离上拍摄的面部细节都非常丰富。自动对焦性能稳定且可重复,我们在测试中没有发现任何严重的问题。在近距离(30厘米)和中等距离(55厘米)上拍摄人像时,美图T9的景深相当浅,导致背景清晰度略低。然而,使用自拍杆在长摄距(120厘米)上拍摄人像时,背景清晰度便会提高;T9也非常适合于拍摄旅游和环境人像,在此距离上能够对人脸准确地对焦。

美图T9,30厘米上的对焦
美图T9,裁剪图
美图T9,55厘米上的对焦
美图T9,裁剪图
美图T9,120厘米上的对焦
美图T9,裁剪图

T9在细节和噪点之间取得了很好的平衡,在光线充足的室内和户外图像中具有特别好的控制能力;但与V6相比,T9的细节在所有条件下都略少。在各种照明条件下,背景都会出现亮度噪点,但人脸上的噪点得到了很好的控制。不出所料的是,噪点在低光下显然变多,细节也明显更少,但即便如此,其测试结果仍然可以接受。

在伪像方面,我们观察到画面边缘附近的面部变形或拉伸,在一些图像中也发现画面中不同区域之间的清晰度不一。一些色调偏移,或天空和肤色过度饱和的情况在高光下也相当明显;沿着高对比度边缘也经常可以看到彩色边纹,但总的来说,这些问题并不太严重。

在低光(10勒克斯)下,美图T9的细节变少,也出现了明显的亮度噪点。
美图T9,裁剪图
美图T9强烈的“美颜”处理导致皮肤和面部特征丧失了一些纹理。
美图T9,裁剪图

闪光灯性能也是美图T9的另一大关键优势:仅使用闪光灯拍摄时可拍出可接受的效果,在混合光线下拍出的照片也是如此,后者是我们见过最好的表现之一。T9使用连续的补光灯代替传统闪光灯,以便在需要时提供额外的照明,使用“闪光灯”在完全黑暗(0勒克斯)的情况下拍摄时,人像中会出现重影效果,导致脸部细节变少。撇开这一问题不谈,其测试结果相当令人满意,画面中心具有明亮而准确的曝光度,白平衡和肤色也相当准确,暗角和噪点也还算可接受(考虑到拍摄条件的挑战性)。

混合闪光灯与额外的5勒克斯钨丝灯光源后,所得拍摄效果更佳,诸如细节、暗角和噪点等问题均得到改善;白平衡还算可以接受;演色性不错,色调饱和,肤色宜人,但仍然隐约可观察到重影效果。

美图T9,0勒克斯下的闪光照片
美图T9,裁剪图
美图T9,5勒克斯下的闪光照片
美图T9,裁剪图

T9利用500万像素辅助图像传感器进行深度感应,可以拍出相当不错的散景照片,尽管其深度估计并不完美,复杂形状周围出现了一些蒙版错误,但这远远不是我们所见过最差的表现。背景模糊效果很好,但低光图像的散景形状看起来不太自然;仔细查看时,模糊和清晰区域之间的噪点水平差异可能会使图像看起来不自然。

美图T9的散景模拟

T9在视频类别中取得63分的成绩,其拍摄动态影像的功力不如静态摄影那般强大,不过在我们的数据库中排名中等。稳定而准确的自动对焦是该手机的重要优势,它在不同距离上都可以拍出清晰的脸部和到位的细节,其取景校正系统也有助于改善自动对焦的跟踪性能。T9的防抖也相当不错,手持摄像头在静态场景中拍摄时,影片中的运动到了很好的控制,但经常可见抖动模糊的伪像。

美图T9,前置摄像头视频

细节和纹理也是T9的另一大关键优势,特别是在户外视频中,但通常可以观察到一些噪点,在低光视频中更是累积了大量噪点。在非常均匀的照明条件下,可以拍出准确的脸部曝光度,但有限的动态范围会导致脸部在高光下出现溢光剪贴纹理;此外,在变化的照明条件下,曝光调整的步进痕迹通常也有点明显。T9视频的演色性是其仍待改进的重要领域,在大多数测试条件下,不自然的肤色有时会构成问题,白平衡也显然不稳定。

结论

美图T9改进了其前身V6的一些主要问题,提供了更好的色彩、对焦和闪光灯效果。尽管其前置摄像头的图像质量与旗舰手机不可完全同日而语,但对于中端手机而言,这样的表现也算不错了。在合适的条件下,其稳定而准确的自动对焦系统通常可以赋予面部很好的曝光度和鲜艳的色彩,细节也很丰富。然而,它在动态范围方面还可以做一些改进,以减少极高光下的溢光剪贴纹理;它也需要更细腻地勾勒面部特征的细节,以使柔化的面部看起来更自然些。不过,由于美图T9的第二个图像传感器可以提供相当不错的散景照片,其闪光灯系统也可以拍出非常不错的曝光度、色彩和细节,因此美图T9满足了一款好自拍摄像头所需的大部分标准。

照片优点

  • 面部测标曝光大致正确
  • 室内和户外的细节保留到位
  • 自动对焦在所有距离上都可以获得准确的结果
  • “闪光灯”搭配额外光源时,可拍出绝好的曝光效果

视频优点

  • 户外细节保留到位
  • 稳定而准确的自动对焦
  • 手持摄像头拍摄静态场景时,可获得稳定的视频

照片不足

  • 高动态范围场景中出现溢光剪贴纹理
  • 美颜伪像在脸上产生一些模糊地带
  • 低光下细节不多

视频不足

  • 在各种条件下,肤色可能偶尔不准确
  • 高动态范围场景中出现溢光剪贴纹理
  • 在大多数情况下,白平衡和曝光都可能不太稳定

Meitu T9 front camera review

Reading Time: 10 min read
69
selfie

Known primarily for its “beautification” apps, Chinese technology company Meitu has expanded into developing smartphones with an emphasis on portraits and selfies. Launched in the middle of 2018, the Meitu T9 is a mid-range device featuring a large 6.01″ AMOLED 1080×2160 pixel display, a Snapdragon 660 Octa Core chipset with 4Gb RAM and 64Gb of internal memory.

Its photography offering includes no fewer than four cameras, including dual cameras on both the rear- and front-facing modules. For selfie enthusiasts, the front camera features a primary 13Mp Sony IMX363 Exmor RS sensor coupled to a f/1.8-aperture lens with both image stabilization (OIS) and autofocus. The second 5Mp sensor is used for depth sensing to facilitate bokeh simulation effects in Portrait mode, and there’s a continuous light flash “lamp” to provide additional lighting for portraits in low light.

Read our review to find out how the Meite T9 front camera performed in our DxOMark Selfie test.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 13Mp Sony IMX363 Exmor RS sensor
  • 5Mp 2nd sensor for depth sensing
  • f/1.8-aperture 6p lens with OIS
  • Autofocus with stills and video
  • Flash “lamp”

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

69
selfie
73
photo
63
video

Achieving an overall DxOMark Selfie score of 69 points and Photo score of 73 points, the Meitu T9 offers a step up in front-camera image quality over its predecessor, the Meitu V6, with notable improvements in color, autofocus, and flash. The T9 still remains a little off the pace compared to the top-ranking devices in our Selfie database, and opportunities for improvements to exposure and particularly to skin rendering remain, but it’s capable of some good results in favorable conditions. Tested in the lab, measurements for target exposure were slightly bright and contrast low, but in our perceptual analysis of natural test scene images, both target exposure and contrast are acceptable and often pleasant. Dynamic range is limited, however, so when shooting high-contrast scenes, backgrounds and skies can be overexposed; this said, target exposure on faces is often accurate, which is the main job of a selfie camera.

Meitu T9, accurate target exposure on the face and overexposed background
Meitu T9, accurate target exposure on the face and overexposed background

Highlight clipping on faces was noticeable in images shot with strong side lighting, but in well-balanced conditions, exposure on the face and background is usually accurate. The T9’s wide f/1.8-aperture lens also helps ensure good exposure in low-light conditions, with very usable results under 20 and 5 lux lighting. Only in near-dark conditions of 1 lux were images seriously underexposed. Colors are bold and vivid, particularly in outdoor images, and although slight desaturation is evident in low light, overall color is good, with pleasant skin tone rendering. We observed some slight white balance errors, with a bluish cast in some outdoor images and a green/yellow cast indoors, but the T9 avoids any heavy and jarring color casts.

Meitu T9, highlight clipping on faces with strong directional lighting
Meitu T9, accurate exposure in balanced light, with bold color and nice white balance

The addition of an autofocus lens is a key strength for the T9, ensuring sharp focus with high levels of detail on faces captured at all distances we test. Autofocus performance is also stable and repeatable, with no serious failures observed during our tests. Depth of field is fairly narrow on portraits shot at close (30cm) and mid (55cm) range, resulting in backgrounds that can be a little soft. Shooting using a selfie stick with the subject at long range (120cm), background sharpness improves, however; and with accurate focus on faces at this distance, too, the T9 is a good option for tourist and environmental portraits.

Meitu T9, focus at 30cm
Meitu T9, crop
Meitu T9, focus at 55cm
Meitu T9, crop
Meitu T9, focus at 120cm
Meitu T9, crop

The T9 strikes a nice balance between detail and noise, with particularly good control in well-lit indoor and outdoor images; but compared to the V6, however, detail is reduced in all conditions. Luminance noise is visible in backgrounds in all lighting conditions, but is well-controlled on faces. In low-light conditions, a heavier buildup of noise and a loss of fine detail is evident as you might expect, but even so, the results remain very acceptable.

Artifacts we observed included anamorphosis, or stretching, of faces near the edges of the frame, as well as a difference in sharpness across some pictures, with bands of sharper and softer areas visible. Some hue shift, or oversaturation of skies and skin tones, is also evident in bright light; and color fringing is often evident along high contrast edges, but overall, these problems were not too troublesome.

In low light (10 lux), the Meitu T9 loses details and luminance noise is visible.
Meitu T9, crop
The Meitu T9’s strong “beautification” results in a loss of texture in skin and facial features.
Meitu T9, crop

Flash performance is another key strength for the Meitu T9, with acceptable results for flash-only and good for mixed-lighting shots, with the latter among some of the best we’ve seen. Instead of a traditional flash, the T9 uses a continuous lamp to provide additional lighting when required. Shooting in total darkness (0 lux) with “flash,” a ghosting effect on portraits is visible, which contributes to low levels of detail on the face. Otherwise the results are satisfactory, with bright and accurate exposure towards the center of the frame, fairly accurate white balance and skin tones, and acceptable corner shading and noise (considering the challenging conditions).

Mixing flash with an additional 5 lux tungsten light source, the results are even better. Detail, corner shading, and noise are all improved; white balance remains acceptable; and color rendering is good, with well-saturated hues and pleasant skin tones. The ghosting effect remains slightly visible, however.

Meitu T9, flash at 0 lux
Meitu T9, crop
Meitu T9, flash at 5 lux
Meitu T9, crop

Utilizing the secondary 5Mp depth-sensing sensor, bokeh shots are pretty good on the T9. Although depth estimation isn’t perfect, with some masking errors around complex shapes visible, it’s far from the worst we’ve seen. The blur applied to backgrounds is good, but the shape of the bokeh isn’t very natural in low-light images, and differences in the levels of noise across blurred and sharp areas can look unnatural upon close inspection.

Meitu T9 bokeh simulation

Achieving a video score of 63 points, the T9 isn’t quite as strong when shooting moving images, but ranks as a mid-range performer in our database. Stable and accurate autofocus is a significant benefit for good sharpness and for detail in faces recorded at different distances, and the device’s framing correction system helps improve autofocus tracking. The T9’s stabilization system is also pretty good, with motion in handheld static scenes well-controlled, although the jello artifact is often visible.

Meitu T9, front camera video

Detail and texture is another key strength of the T9, especially in outdoor videos, but some noise is usually visible, too, with heavy buildup in low-light videos. Exposure on faces can be accurate in well-balanced lighting, but the limited dynamic range can lead to highlight clipping on faces in bright light; further, steps in exposure adaptation are often visible under changing lighting conditions. Color rendering is the key area of development for video on the T9, with unnatural skin tone sometimes a problem in most tested conditions, along with evident instabilities in white balance.

Conclusion

The Meitu T9 improves on some of the main areas of concern over its predecessor, the V6, with better color, focus, and flash results. It doesn’t quite compete with the front camera image quality of flagship devices, but for a mid-ranger, it puts in a good performance. In the right conditions, face exposure is often good, colors bold, and detail high, thanks to the stable and accurate autofocus system. It needs some improvements in dynamic range to reduce highlight clipping in very bright light, however; and more subtle rendering to retain detail in facial features when softening faces would look more natural, too. But with the second sensor facilitating fairly nice bokeh shots and a flash system that delivers very acceptable exposure, color, and detail, the Meitu T9 meets most of the criteria for an overall effective selfie camera.

Photo Pros

  • Generally accurate target exposure on faces
  • Good detail retention indoors and outdoors
  • Accurate autofocus at all distances
  • Excellent “flash” exposures with additional light sources

Video Pros

  • Good detail retention outdoors
  • Stable and accurate autofocus
  • Well-stabilized handheld static videos

Photo Cons

  • Highlight clipping in high dynamic range scenes
  • Beautification artifacts create blurred areas on faces
  • Low detail in low light

Video Cons

  • Inaccurate skin tones at times, regardless of conditions
  • Highlight clipping in high dynamic range scenes
  • White balance and exposure instabilities in most conditions

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.