美图V6前置摄像头评测

DxOMark
Selfie
59

V6是专注于开发自拍手机的中国制造商美图推出的一款豪华设备,其手机前方和后方都配备了双摄像头配置。该手机配有f/1.8快速镜头和索尼IMX362 1/2.55英寸图像传感器,就前置摄像头的标准而言,其图像传感器的尺寸非常大;该手机还配有一个500万像素辅助图像传感器,用于深度感应和创建模拟散景效果。

用户可以在5.5英寸全高清显示屏上取景并查看图像,其Android操作系统由具有10核处理器和4GB主存的联发科芯片组提供支持,买家可以选择具有64或128GB内部存储空间的版本。

前置摄像头的主要规格:

  • 索尼IMX362 1/2.55英寸1200万像素主图像传感器
  • 用于深度感应的500万像素辅助图像传感器
  • f/1.8光圈
  • 1080p 30fps视频

关于DxOMark Selfie测试:DxOMark工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

59
DxOMark selfie
Meitu V6
58
photo
Meitu V6
61
video
Meitu V6

在DxOMark Selfie测试中,美图V6的总体得分为59分,照片得分为58分,其前置摄像头并非领先群雄的设备,不过,它在短距离范围内能够在脸部的眉毛、睫毛和胡须等纹理复杂的区域捕捉到不错的细节,即使在低光下也是如此。肤色几乎没有噪点;在散景模式下,摄像头会产生相当自然的背景模糊效果。然而,它的曝光、色彩和对焦得分都不高,皮肤平滑效果也可能非常强烈,看起来非常不自然。

在下面的样张中,您可以看到该摄像头倾向于使脸部变亮,不过脸部曝光仍在可接受的范围内,但是其动态范围非常有限,导致高光背景或高对比度场景中出现大量溢光剪贴纹理。从好的方面来说,美图在低光下表现良好,在我们的10勒克斯测试场景中实现的曝光效果比许多其他高端设备更好。

美图V6,户外曝光
美图V6,低光下的曝光表现(10勒克斯)

美图的演色性通常很好,但在现实生活的测试条件下,几乎在所有照片上都可以看到轻微的偏蓝白平衡,我们还在实验室测试中使用色卡检验图确认了这一点。我们在室内拍摄时,也观察到一些色彩渐晕,但不是很明显。

美图V6,户外色彩
美图V6,室内色彩
美图V6,实验室色卡检验结果

虽然面部上的纹理被平滑到非常不自然的程度,但是在图像的其他部分中通常可以看到相当强烈的亮度噪点,例如下面样张中的蓝天。

然而,我们没有在纹理得分中考虑皮肤细节,因为我们认为自拍图像上的皮肤平滑化处理主要是个人品味的问题。值得注意的是,美图在低光下使用非常慢的快门速度,因此任何拍摄对象移动几乎必然会导致运动模糊。

如上所述,在可接受的特定范围内,皮肤细节的渲染是个人品味的问题。有些手机只是将皮肤略微平滑化,提供非常可接受的渲染;其他一些手机(例如美图V6)在皮肤上应用强烈的平滑化处理,产生了明显不自然的渲染,这些图像质量属性都会影响伪像项目的得分。

美图V6,户外噪点
美图V6,裁剪图

美图在纹理方面取得了很好的成绩,因为直到低光下,它都可以很到位地保留细节,正如您在下面的iPhone X比较样张中看到的那样(两张照片都是在20勒克斯下拍摄的)。同样地,背景中也有很多噪点,但脸部干净无瑕。

美图V6,低光下的细节(20勒克斯)
美图V6,裁剪图
苹果iPhone X,低光下的噪点(20勒克斯)
苹果iPhone X,裁剪图

美图V6前置摄像头配备了自动对焦系统,这仍然是非常罕见的功能,目前大多数智能手机的前置摄像头均使用定焦镜头。美图V6的自动对焦能够在30和55厘米的较短摄距下产生相当不错的效果,但是在较远距离处(例如使用自拍杆拍摄时)就难以拍出清晰的效果了。该自动对焦系统还存在可重复性的问题:一系列连续拍摄的照片之间存在明显差异。在下图中,虚线表示对焦的标准偏差。

美图V6,1000和20勒克斯下的对焦表现

较远摄距上的自动对焦问题,再加上相对较浅的景深,这两者的组合意味着,当您使用自拍杆拍照或拍摄团体自拍照时,美图V6不应该是您的首选手机。在后一种情况下,不在焦平面上的拍摄对象的渲染相当不清晰。

闪光灯照片也不是美图的强项,在完全黑暗中拍摄的图像强烈曝光不足,并有明显的噪点。当闪光灯与一些环境光混合时,其效果比较好,我们在5勒克斯的钨丝灯照明下启用闪光灯拍摄时,图像呈现良好的脸部曝光和纹理,但有一些细小的亮度噪点,白平衡严重偏黄。

美图V6,0勒克斯下的闪光灯照片
美图V6,5勒克斯下的闪光灯照片

V6图像内处处是非常明显的伪像。我们已经在上面的一些例子中看到,V6可能以非常不自然的方式渲染蓝天,它在某些面部上的渲染也是如此:皮肤平滑化效果是如此强烈,即使观察者从未亲眼看过图像中的拍摄对象,也能立即察觉到图像处理的斧凿痕迹。

我们还在集体合照中观察到靠近画面边缘的面部严重变形(畸变),靠近画面或位于画面内的光源也会使图像中出现耀斑。

美图V6,不自然的脸部渲染
美图V6,裁剪图
美图V6,变形
美图V6,裁剪图

在我们的视频测试中,美图V6的视频模式表现平平,总得分为61分。直到5勒克斯的低光水平下,它的噪点都非常少,曝光也很好;在静止照片模式下,面部曝光有点亮,但还在可接受的范围内;在变化的光线条件下,曝光收敛也非常流畅,没有超调问题。

美图V6,视频曝光和色彩响应(静态视频图像)

明亮肤色的缺点是,原色的演色结果通常会比原来应呈现的色彩更亮,您可以在上面的样张和下面的色卡中看到这一点。

美图V6,视频的色卡结果

结论

从美图V6前置摄像头的技术规格(主摄像头的配置看起来比中端智能手机更高端)看来,它的性能并不如我们期待中的那么好。该摄像头能够在所有光线水平下捕捉到不错的细节,但静止图像仍然存在噪点、白平衡色偏和许多伪像,包括脸部皮肤非常不自然的渲染,以及集体合照中非常明显的畸变。理论上,自动对焦系统的性能应该优于定焦镜头,但该系统在实际应用时相当不可靠,这也意味着美图不是使用自拍杆拍摄或拍摄集体合照的首选手机。但是美图的视频表现并不算太差,如果您能忍受美图光滑而不自然的皮肤渲染,那么V6是一款值得考虑的手机。

照片优点

  • 在所有条件下,面部都有良好的测标曝光
  • 脸上没有图像噪点
  • 悦目的散景模拟效果

视频优点

  • 有效的防抖
  • 面部良好的测标曝光
  • 面部噪点得到很好的控制

照片不足

  • 面部不自然的皮肤渲染
  • 背景丢失细节
  • 在户外拍摄时,对焦并不总是可靠
  • 在室外条件下出现蓝色色偏

视频不足

  • 拍摄时,摄像头移动会导致照片失焦
  • 不自然的皮肤渲染
  • 细节丢失,特别是在低光下
  • 在大多数情况下都会出现白平衡色偏

Meitu V6 front camera review

DxOMark
Selfie
59

The V6 is a luxury device from selfie-focused Chinese manufacturer Meitu and comes with dual-camera setups in the front as well as in the back. The 1/2.55-inch Sony IMX362 image sensor at the front is quite large by front-camera standards, and is combined with a fast f/1.8-aperture lens. There’s also a 5MP secondary sensor for depth sensing and for creating a simulated bokeh effect.

Users can frame and view images on a 5.5-inch Full HD display, and the Android OS is powered by a MediaTek chipset with a 10-core processor and 4GB of RAM. Buyers can choose between versions with 64 or 128GB of internal storage.

Key front camera specifications:

  • Sony IMX362 1/2.55-inch, 12MP primary sensor
  • 5MP secondary sensor for depth sensing
  • f/1.8-aperture lens
  • 1080p video at 30fps

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

59
DxOMark selfie
Meitu V6
58
photo
Meitu V6
61
video
Meitu V6

With an overall DxOMark Selfie score of 59 points and a Photo score of 58 points, the Meitu V6 isn’t a class-leading device for front camera performance, but at short subject distances it is capable of capturing good detail in textured areas of the face, such as eyebrows, eyelashes, and beard, even in low light. Skin tones are pretty much noise-free, and in Bokeh mode, the camera produces a fairly-natural looking blurred background effect. Scores for exposure, color, and focus are all quite low, however, and the skin-smoothing effects can be so strong as to look very unnatural.

In the examples below, you can see that the camera has a tendency to brighten the face, but face exposure is still within acceptable limits. Dynamic range is pretty limited, though, resulting in a lot of highlight clipping in bright backgrounds or in high-contrast scenes. On the plus side, the Meitu does well in low light, achieving better exposures in our 10 lux test scene than many other high-end devices.

Meitu V6, outdoor exposure
Meitu V6, low-light exposure (10 lux)

The Meitu’s color rendering is generally good, but a slight blue white balance cast is visible in pretty much all shots in real-life test conditions, which we confirmed through our lab testing with the Gretag ColorChecker chart. We also observed some barely noticeable color shading when shooting in indoor conditions.

Meitu V6, outdoor color
Meitu V6, indoor color
Meitu V6, lab ColorChecker test results

While textures on faces are smoothed to a quite unnatural degree, one can usually see quite strong luminance noise in other parts of the images, such as in the blue sky in the example below.

We do not take into consideration skin detail in our texture score, however, as we believe skin smoothing in selfie images is mostly a matter of personal taste. It’s also worth noting that the Meitu uses pretty low shutter speeds in low light, so any subject motion will almost inevitably result in motion blur.

Per above, skin detail is a matter of taste within a specific range of acceptable rendering. Some devices smooth skin only slightly and provide a very acceptable rendering. Some others, such as the Meitu v6, provide a strong smoothing on the skin which leads to a visibly unnatural rendering. These image quality attributes impact the Artifacts score.

Meitu V6, outdoor noise
Meitu V6, crop

The Meitu achieves a good score for texture, as it preserves detail well down into low light levels, as you can see in the comparison with the iPhone X below (both photos captured at 20 lux). Again, there’s a lot of noise in the background, but the face is completely clean.

Meitu V6, low light detail (20 lux)
Meitu V6, crop
Apple iPhone X, low light noise (20 lux)
Apple iPhone X, crop

The Meitu V6 front camera comes with an autofocus system in its front camera, which is still a fairly uncommon feature—most smartphones use a fixed-focus lens in the front. The AF is capable of producing pretty good results at shorter shooting distances of 30cm and 55cm, but struggles to capture sharp results at longer distances—for example, when shooting with a selfie-stick. There are also repeatability issues, with quite noticeable differences between shots in a series. In the graph below, the dotted lines show the standard deviation for focus.

Meitu V6, focus performance at 1000 and 20 lux

The AF issues at longer subject distances, in combination with a relatively shallow depth of field, mean that the Meitu V6 should not be your first choice for shooting with a selfie-stick or for capturing group selfies. In the latter case, the rendering is quite soft of subjects not in the focal plane.

Flash shooting also isn’t a strong point of the Meitu, either, with strong underexposure and noise visible in images captured in total darkness. The flash works better when mixed with some ambient light, and our flash shot under 5 lux of tungsten illumination shows good exposure on the face and decent texture. There is some fine luminance noise, though, and the white balance is quite yellow.

Meitu V6, flash shot at 0 lux
Meitu V6, flash shot at 5 lux

Our V6 images are riddled with some pretty noticeable artifacts. We’ve already seen in some of the examples above that the V6 can render blue skies in a quite unnatural way. The same is true for some faces: skin smoothing is so strong that the image manipulation is immediately obvious to the observer, even if they’ve never seen the image subject in person.

We have also observed some pretty strong anamorphosis (distortion) in group images on faces that are close to the edge of the frame. And with light sources close to or inside the frame, images can also show flare.

Meitu V6, unnatural face rendering
Meitu V6, crop
Meitu V6, anamorphosis
Meitu V6, crop

In Video mode, the Meitu V6 shows average performance, scoring 61 points overall in our video tests. Noise levels are pretty low and exposure is good down to low light levels of only 5 lux. As in still mode, facial exposure is a touch on the bright side, but within acceptable limits. Exposure convergence in changing light conditions is pretty smooth as well, with no overshoot.

Meitu V6, video exposure and color response (video still)

The downside to the bright skin tones is that prime colors are usually rendered brighter than they should be, too. You can see this in the sample above and on the color patches below.

Meitu V6, ColorChecker results for video

Conclusion

Given its front camera specifications—specs that would not look out of place for the main camera of a mid-range smartphone—the Meitu V6’s performance is not as good we were hoping. The camera is capable of capturing good detail across all light levels, but still images also show noise, white balance casts, and a range of artifacts, including a very unnatural rendering of skin on faces and quite noticeable distortion in group shots. The autofocus system is in theory an advantage over fixed-focus models, but is quite unreliable in practice, meaning that the Meitu isn’t the phone of choice for selfie-stick or group shots. Video performance is not too bad, though, and if you can live with the Meitu’s unnaturally smooth skin rendering, the V6 is worth consideration.

Photo Pros

  • Good target exposure on faces in all conditions
  • No image noise on faces
  • Pleasant simulated bokeh effect

Video Pros

  • Efficient stabilization
  • Good target exposure on face
  • Noise on faces very well under control

Photo Cons

  • Unnatural skin rendering on faces
  • Loss of detail in the background
  • Focus not always reliable when shooting outdoors
  • Blue color cast in outdoor conditions

Video Cons

  • Loss of focus when moving the camera while shooting
  • Unnatural skin rendering
  • Loss of detail, especially in low light
  • White balance casts in most conditions