诺基亚 7.2 音频评测

41
audio

对于中端手机而言,这款相对较新的诺基亚7.2有一些令人感兴趣的功能(例如典型的高端手机三摄像头设计),但它在声音再现方面的性能就没有那么好了。尽管它包含耳机插孔,在录制音频方面的表现也不错,但其单扬声器设计却有损其播放表现。

我们将诺基亚7.2放入DXOMARK Audio一系列严格测试中,使用内置麦克风录制,并通过内置扬声器播放音频,以测量其性能。在本评测中,我们将仔细分析它在各种测试和几种常见用例中的表现。

音频规格:

  • 单个扬声器位于手机右下角
  • 3.5毫米耳机插孔
  • 调频收音机
  • 高通aptX音频
  • 两个具有空间环绕声录制功能的麦克风

关于DXOMARK Audio测试:为了在DXOMARK智能手机音频评测中进行评分和分析,我们的工程师在受控的实验室条件下执行各种客观测试,并对20多个小时的样本进行感知评估,本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果。另请注意,我们仅使用手机的内置硬件和默认应用程序评鉴“播放”和“录制”的性能。(有关播放基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处;有关录制基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处。)

测试摘要

41
audio
33
playback
66
recording

诺基亚7.2的总体音频得分为41分,是我们迄今测试过得分最低的手机,其得分比我们之前的低分手机——索尼Xperia 1、黑鲨2 Pro和LG G8 ThinQ还低。它的弱点在播放表现上尤为明显,其多媒体播放得分为33分。

单扬声器设计影响了播放表现,从而大大降低了空间感得分(26分)。除此之外,其得分也比我们测试过的其他单扬声器手机还低,主要原因在于表现不佳的低音和高音再现,因此在播放音色项目中取得44分。

从好的方面来说,诺基亚7.2的扬声器产生的声音相当干净,所以播放音损得分不错(82分)。但是,它的音量没有我们测试过的大多数其他手机那么大。在连续音量的低端,几乎听不到安静的声音。

诺基亚7.2在我们的任何测试用例中的表现都没有特别好,不过它在音乐和游戏方面的得分通常比电影播放更高。

使用诺基亚7.2录制视频(图片来源:DXOMARK)

该手机在录制音频方面的表现比播放音频更好,音调平衡良好,人声通常听起来自然。与播放不同,诺基亚7.2的录制分数为66分,领先于Xperia 1和G8 ThinQ。

声音包络通常保留得不错,但是共振会降低前置摄像头拍摄的视频的质量,并且在录制语音备忘录时还会出现音调再现的问题。录制视频时,背景声音沉闷。使用主摄像头录制视频时,可以很好地保持声源的空间方向,而以仅有单声道录制的前摄像头录制时,则不能很好地保持声源的空间方向。

各项测试分数说明

在DXOMARK Audio测试中,诺基亚7.2的总体得分为41分,此得分来自播放和录制得分,以及两个类别下各个测试项目的得分。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的音频质量评分,并分析这些得分对用户的意义。

播放

音色

Nokia 7.2

44

我们的音色测试旨在测量手机在可听音域内再现声音的能力好坏,并考虑低音、中音、高音、音调平衡和音量依赖性等属性。

诺基亚7.2在整体音调范围上的表现不佳。低音和高音响应都非常弱。除了这些微弱的响应造成音频源的不正确再现外,该手机还刻意提高了中间音调,使得音频听起来沉闷。听者会将这种音调范围缩小的效果比作在罐子内或管中播放音乐的效果。

与我们在音频方面表现较差的两款手机——LG G8 ThinQ和索尼Xperia 1相比,诺基亚7.2的表现居中,其低音比其他两者更强,但中音范围的一致性较低:

音乐播放频率响应曲线

力度

Nokia 7.2

49

我们的力度测试旨在测量手机再现音源能量水平的能力。

与我们测试过的大多数其他手机相比,诺基亚7.2播放音频的力度也相当不好。将音量设置为最大时,高端声音不一致,而强大的音量抽吸效果也拉低了起音得分。低音精确度也很差,尤其是在柔和的音量下,低音再现性差也导致缺乏冲击力。

诺基亚7.2的低音重现效果不佳,导致扬声器的冲击力不足。

这些缺点的整体效果导致播放力度得分较低(49分),低于LG G8 ThinQ,不过它的表现确实比索尼Xperia 1高了几分。

空间感

Nokia 7.2

26

由于诺基亚7.2采用单扬声器设计,因此其空间感表现基本上注定是不好的,因为它无法再现声场的广度。同样地,横向模式握持手机时,使用单个底部发声的扬声器也会使平衡偏向一个方向。中音和高音再现的不精确性也使得声源位置和距离很难辨识。

空间广度非常差
定位能力不佳

音量

Nokia 7.2

41

我们的音量测试不仅测量手机可播放的整体响度,而且还测量手机根据用户的调节而提高或降低音量的流畅度。

诺基亚7.2扬声器的音量不大。与我们测试过的其他手机相比,它的最大音量的响度相当小,而且几乎听不到它的最小音量。播放音量分数也不佳(41分),因为其音量设置甚至未呈线性分布,例如前五个音量设置彼此非常接近。您可以从此比较表中看到,诺基亚7.2在音量步进线性方面的表现甚至比其他一些得分相对较低的手机还差:

音乐音量一致性

以下是诺基亚7.2可以为特定类型的音频产生的最大响度。这些数字以分贝为单位,这是我们测试过的所有手机中最低的:

Hip-Hop Classical
70.3 dBA 71.2 dBA

音损

Nokia 7.2

82

我们的音损评分旨在衡量手机扬声器播放源音频时的失真程度。失真可能是由于手机中的声音处理以及扬声器的质量引起的。

虽然在播放音损方面,诺基亚7.2的表现与诸如荣耀20 Pro等在本测试项目中得分最高的手机还有一段差距,不过没有播放音损是该手机的相对优势,因此在播放音损方面取得82分。令人惊讶的是,它甚至胜过了在该项目中得分极高的华为Mate 20X。该手机最明显的音损是门控效应,安静的声音在柔和音量下会进一步减弱,因此听不到声音;在最大音量下也有一些失真和音量抽吸效应。

录制

音色

Nokia 7.2

74

坚实的音调再现是该诺基亚手机相对强大的录制性能的基础。在我们大多数的录制场景中,录制的人声自然而干净,不过在模拟的城市环境中听起来会有点沉闷。语音备忘录录制听起来也很像“在罐中录制”的细微声音,这是播放的一大问题。用前置摄像头录制的视频也受到极多共振的影响。

自拍视频频率响应曲线

您可以在比较表中看到,诺基亚7.2的录制音调再现与Xperia 1相似,两款手机的音频响应跟踪都接近期望的目标:0。两者都比G8 ThinQ一致,后者的中高频频率较高。

力度

Nokia 7.2

63

诺基亚7.2在抓取录制音频力度方面的表现还算可以。声音包络通常不错,因此它在力度方面的得分为63分,比Xperia 1和G8 ThinQ高,不过在使用前置摄像头拍摄的视频中,语音爆破音却没有声音。

空间感

Nokia 7.2

62

诺基亚7.2在保持声源的空间定向方面的表现也很好。在我们的大多数用例中,声场的广度佳,可以检测到声源位置。但是,该手机的前置摄像头以单声道方式录制视频,因此很难定位音频源。语音备忘录录制中缺少低音,因此很难准确估计音频源的距离。

在诺基亚7.2上播放一个视频片段(图片来源:DXOMARK)

音量

Nokia 7.2

78

虽然在保持音量方面,诺基亚7.2的表现仅称得上一般水平,不过它能够录制音量非常大的音源,这是我们在这方面测试过最好的手机之一。但是,在录制响亮的声音时(例如在我们的电子音乐会用例中),我们的专业听众确实会听到一些轻微的时域音损,因为增益控制需要时间来适应音量的变化。

在下面的录制级别表中,您可以看到虽然总体级别不错,但会议录制的声音却不如其他音源。语音备忘录录音也有点小:

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-24.9 LUFS -20.4 LUFS -19.6 LUFS -18.3 LUFS

音损

Nokia 7.2

69

如果没有太多的背景噪音必须应付,诺基亚7.2就可以创建相当干净的录音。在音乐会或人们大声喊叫的情况下,会听到失真。麦克风也很容易被意外遮蔽,可能导致音量抽吸效应或沉闷的音频。

诺基亚7.2上的麦克风也很容易被意外遮蔽,从而降低录制音频的质量。

录制会遭受某些高频和中音共振的影响而变成回声。聆听以下诺基亚7.2录制的示例片段中的声音,您就可以听到了:

背景

Nokia 7.2

38

诺基亚7.2可以在录制时很好地保持背景声音的平衡。但是,背景通常会变得沉闷,尤其是在录制视频时。录制会议时,中音会产生共振,从而降低清晰度。遗憾的是,在录制语音备忘录和会议时,手机的降噪算法会产生一些细微的噪音。

结论

对于任何希望通过手机扬声器获得高质量音频的人来说,诺基亚7.2并不是理想的选择。该手机没有立体声扬声器,这会对播放大多数音乐源和电影原声直接造成障碍,也不利于沉浸式游戏体验。此外,扬声器的音量不大,音调再现也不均衡。

该手机在录制音频方面的表现还算不错,尤其是对于平价产品而言更是如此。但是,您无法依靠该手机的扬声器来衡量并监测您的录音,因为它无法应对这种挑战。

播放

优点

  • 标称和最大音量的音损很少
  • 电影用例的高音扩展良好

不足

  • 整体表现不佳
  • 缺乏低音和高音会损害音调平衡
  • 空间性能非常有限,因为它只有一个扬声器
  • 小音量内容出现严重的门控效应

录制

优点

  • 在背景噪声水平中等或极少的场景中,音损很少
  • 最大录制音量相当出色
  • 大多数情况下都保留了声音包络
  • 良好的空间感
  • 良好的音调平衡

不足

  • 自拍视频中,高音频率的共振会影响整体质量
  • 语音备忘录应用程序中的中音略带金属感
  • 麦克风很容易被手遮挡
  • 使用前置摄像头录制视频时,单声道录制会降低定位能力
  • 在使用主摄像头和前置摄像头拍摄的视频中,背景声音变得沉闷

Nokia 7.2 Audio review

Reading Time: 10 min read
41
audio

While the relatively new Nokia 7.2 has some interesting features for a mid-range phone, such as a triple-camera design typical of higher-end phones, it doesn’t offer much in the way of sound reproduction. Its single-speaker design hurts its playback performance, although it does include a headphone jack, and does a somewhat better job of recording audio.

We put the Nokia 7.2 through our rigorous DXOMARK Audio test suite to measure its performance both at recording sound using its built-in microphones and at playing audio back through its built-in speaker. In this review, we’ll break down how it fared in a variety of tests and in several common use cases.

Audio specifications include:

  • Single speaker located in the bottom right of the phone
  • 3.5mm headphone jack
  • FM radio
  • Qualcomm aptX audio
  • Two microphones with spatial surround sound capture

About DXOMARK Audio tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone audio reviews, DXOMARK engineers perform a variety of objective tests and undertake more than 20 hours of perceptual evaluation under controlled lab conditions. This article highlights the most important results of our testing. Note that we evaluate both Playback and Recording using only the device’s built-in hardware and default apps. (For more details about our Playback protocol, click here; for more details about our Recording protocol, click here.)

Test summary

41
audio
33
playback
66
recording

With an overall Audio score of 41, the Nokia 7.2 is the lowest-scoring phone we have tested so far, coming in below our previous low scorers, the Sony Xperia 1, the Black Shark 2 Pro, and the LG G8 ThinQ. Its weakness is particularly pronounced in its playback performance, with a multimedia Playback score of 33.

Playback performance is hampered by its single-speaker design, which contributes heavily to its low playback Spatial sub-score of 26. However, it also winds up with a lower score than other single-speaker phones we’ve tested, in large part due to poor bass and treble reproduction that resulted in a playback Timbre sub-score of 44.

On the plus side, the Nokia 7.2’s speaker produces fairly clean sound, giving it a reasonably good playback Artifacts sub-score of 82. However, it doesn’t reach the same high volume levels as most of the other phones we’ve tested. At the low-level end of the volume continuum, quiet sounds become nearly inaudible.

The Nokia 7.2 didn’t perform particularly well in any of our tested use cases, although it generally scored somewhat higher for music and games than for movie watching.

Recording video with the Nokia 7.2

The phone does a more respectable job recording audio than it does playing it back. Tonal balance is well preserved, and voices typically sound natural. Unlike with playback, its Recording score of 66 puts the Nokia 7.2 ahead of both the Xperia 1 and the G8 ThinQ.

Sound envelopes are in general well preserved. However, there are issues with resonances detracting from the quality of videos shot with the front camera, and with tonal reproduction when recording memos. Background sounds are also muffled when recording videos. Spatial orientation of sound sources is well maintained when recording video with the main camera, but not when using the front camera, which records only in mono.

Sub-scores explained

The DXOMARK Audio overall score of 41 for the Nokia 7.2 is derived from its Playback and Recording scores and their respective sub-scores. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these audio quality sub-scores and explain what they mean for the user.

Playback

Timbre

Nokia 7.2

44

78

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

Our Timbre tests measure how well a phone reproduces sound across the audible tonal range and takes into account bass, mid-range, treble, tonal balance, and volume dependency.

The Nokia 7.2 does a poor job with overall tonal range. Bass and treble response are both quite weak. Aside from how these weak responses create an inaccurate reproduction of the audio source, the phone also artificially elevates the mid-tones, giving the resulting audio a muffled sound. Listeners likened the effect of this reduced tonal range to hearing music played in a can or tube.

Compared to two of our weaker performers in Audio, the LG G8 ThinQ and the Sony Xperia 1, the Nokia 7.2 comes in the middle, with stronger bass than the other two, but less consistency in the mid-range:

Music playback frequency response

Dynamics

Nokia 7.2

49

75

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Dynamics tests measure how well a device reproduces the energy level of a sound source.

The dynamics of audio played back on the Nokia 7.2 are also quite poor compared to most other phones we’ve tested. Its Attack sub-score is lowered by an inconsistent high-end and by a strong volume-pumping effect when set to maximum volume. Bass precision is also quite poor, especially at soft volumes, and its very poor bass reproduction also leads to a lack of punch.

Poor bass reproduction with the Nokia 7.2 contributes to a lack of punch from its speaker.

The overall effect of these shortcomings is a low playback Dynamics sub-score of 49—below the LG G8 ThinQ, although it does beat out the Sony Xperia 1 by a few points.

Spatial

Nokia 7.2

26

77

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

The Nokia 7.2’s single-speaker design basically condemns it to poor spatial performance right from the start, as it can’t reproduce the width of a sound stage, for example. Also, when held in landscape mode, the use of a single bottom-firing speaker means that the balance will be off in one direction or the other. Inaccuracies in mid-range and treble reproduction also make it hard to pinpoint the location and distance of sound sources.

Very poor spatial wideness

Volume

Nokia 7.2

41

79

Realme X2 Pro

Our Volume tests measure both the overall loudness a device is able to produce and how smoothly volume increases and decreases based on user input.

The Nokia 7.2 doesn’t deliver much in the way of volume through its speaker. Its maximum is quite low compared to other phones we’ve tested, and its minimum volume is barely audible. Its playback Volume sub-score of 41 also suffers because its volume settings aren’t even close to linear—the top five settings are very close to one another, for example. You can see from this comparison chart that even when pitted against some other relatively low-scoring phones, the Nokia 7.2 performs worse in terms of volume step linearity:

Below is the maximum loudness the Nokia 7.2 can produce for specific types of audio. The numbers are in decibels, and are some of the lowest of any of the phones we’ve tested:

Hip-Hop Classical
70.3 dBA 71.2 dBA

Artifacts

Nokia 7.2

82

89

Nubia Red Magic 3S

Our Artifacts tests measure how much source audio is distorted when played back through a device’s speaker. Distortion can occur both because of sound processing in the device and because of the quality of the speaker.

While not close to the top scorers in this category, such as the Honor 20 Pro, a lack of playback artifacts is a relative strength of the Nokia 7.2, giving it a playback Artifacts sub-score of 82. Surprisingly, it outperforms the otherwise high-scoring Huawei Mate 20 X in this category. The most pronounced artifact is a gating effect, where quiet sounds are further reduced at soft volumes, resulting in muted sound. There is also some distortion and volume pumping at maximum volume.

Recording

Timbre

Nokia 7.2

74

82

Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G

The Nokia’s relatively strong recording performance is anchored by solid tonal reproduction. Recorded voices are natural and clean in most of our recording scenarios, although they are somewhat muffled in our simulation of an urban environment. Memo recordings can suffer from the same perceived “recorded in a can” tinny sound that was an issue for playback. Videos recorded with the front camera also suffered from excessive resonances.

Life video frequency response

You can see from the comparison chart that the Nokia 7.2 provides recording tonal reproduction similar to that of the Xperia 1, with both phones’ audio response tracking close to the desired goal of 0. Both are much more consistent than the G8 ThinQ, which records excessive levels for upper-midrange frequencies.

Dynamics

Nokia 7.2

63

68

Samsung Galaxy S10+

The Nokia 7.2 does a reasonable job of capturing the dynamics of recorded audio. Sound envelopes are good in general, although plosives in voices are muted in videos taken with the front-facing camera. As a result, it achieves a recording Dynamics sub-score of 63, above both the Xperia 1 and G8 ThinQ.

Spatial

Nokia 7.2

62

70

Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G

The Nokia 7.2 also does a good job of maintaining the spatial orientation of sound sources. In most of our use cases, the sound stage had good wideness, and it was possible to detect the location of sound sources. However, the phone records front-camera video in mono, making it difficult to localize audio sources. The lack of bass in Memo recordings makes it difficult to accurately estimate the distance of audio sources.

Playing back a video clip on the Nokia 7.2

Volume

Nokia 7.2

78

88

Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G

While the Nokia 7.2 did only an average job of preserving the volume of recordings, it is capable of recording very high volume sources and is among the best phones we’ve tested for that. However, our expert listeners did hear some slight temporal artifacts when recording loud sounds, such as in our electronic concert use case, because the gain control takes time to adapt to changes in volume.

From the recording level table below, you can see that while the levels are good overall, recordings of meetings aren’t as loud as other sources. Memo recordings are also somewhat quiet:

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-24.9 LUFS -20.4 LUFS -19.6 LUFS -18.3 LUFS

Artifacts

Nokia 7.2

69

82

Asus ROG Phone II

The Nokia 7.2 creates fairly clean recordings as long as it doesn’t have much background noise to contend with. In loud situations like concerts or people shouting, there is audible distortion. It is also very easy to accidentally occlude the microphone, which can result in volume pumping or muffled audio.

It is easy to occlude the microphones on the Nokia 7.2 and reduce the quality of audio recorded.

Recordings suffer from some high-frequency and mid-tone resonances that can become audible as a sort of echoing. You can listen for yourself in this sample clip recorded with the Nokia 7.2:

Background

Nokia 7.2

38

58

Apple iPhone XS Max

The Nokia 7.2 does a good job of preserving balance in background sounds when recording; however, the background is often muffled, especially when recording video. When recording meetings, there are resonances in the mid-range that reduce clarity. And unfortunately, the phone’s noise-cancelling algorithms generate some granular noise when recording memos and meetings.

Conclusion

The Nokia 7.2 isn’t a great choice for anyone hoping for quality audio using their phone’s speaker. The lack of stereo speakers is an immediate handicap in playing back most music sources and movie soundtracks, and detracts from immersive gaming experiences as well. In addition, the speaker doesn’t produce much volume, and tones are unevenly reproduced.

The phone does do a reasonably good job of recording audio, especially for a value-priced offering. However, you won’t be able to rely on using the phone’s speaker to evaluate and monitor your recordings, as it isn’t up to the challenge.

Playback

Pros

  • Few artifacts at nominal and maximum volume
  • Good high-end extension in Movie use case

Cons

  • Poor overall performance
  • Tonal balance is impaired by a lack of bass and treble
  • Spatial performance is very limited because of its single speaker
  • Strong gating effect on low-volume content

Recording

Pros

  • Few artifacts in scenarios with low-to-medium background noise
  • Great maximum recording volume
  • Sound envelope is preserved in most scenarios
  • Good spatial performance
  • Good tonal balance

Cons

  • Resonances on high-end frequencies in Selfie Video affect the overall quality
  • Slightly metallic mid-tones in the Memo app
  • Easy to occlude the microphones with your hands
  • Mono recording when using the front camera for video reduces localizability
  • Muffled background in videos shot with both the main and front cameras

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.