Nokia 8 Sirocco:中端双摄手机

DxOMark
Mobile
84

芬兰制造商Nokia于2018年6月推出新款中端手机Nokia 8 Sirocco。该手机采用5.5英寸弧形显示屏和骁龙835芯片组,其主摄像头为摄影爱好者提供了1200万像素图像传感器和f/1.7 蔡司镜头,远摄副摄像头则配备1300万像素图像传感器和f/2.6镜头。现在,让我们来看看它在我们具有行业标准的测试中的表现。

摄像头主要规格

  • 双摄像头
  • 1200万像素主摄像头,f/1.7镜头,像素尺寸1.4微米
  • 1300万像素2倍变焦副摄像头,f/2.6,镜头像素尺寸1.0微米
  • PDAF + 双像素自动对焦
  • 双色 LED 闪光灯
  • 4K 30fps 视频录制 (默认设置为1080p 30fps)
  • 高通骁龙 835 芯片组

测试摘要

Nokia 8 Sirocco在DxOMark Mobile测试中拿下了84分的成绩,堪为一款性能不错,甚至可说相当杰出的摄影智能手机。其静止图像和视频的表现相似,照片分数为85分,视频分数则为82分。

Nokia 8 Sirocco的静态摄影的关键优势在于其快速准确的自动对焦系统,以及大致准确的测标曝光和白平衡,在几个照明条件下都能拍出悦目的图像。曝光和色彩在相当均衡的户外照明条件下的表现是最成功的,不过对比度偏低。

在非常均衡的户外照明条件下拍摄时,Nokia 8 Sirocco通常能够以相当低的对比度捕获精确的测标曝光,但其对比度还算可以接受。

Nokia 8 Sirocco的HDR在需要时可自动激活,这算是它的一大优势;动态范围相当不错,在较暗的阴影区域记录了良好的细节,而且在我们的高对比度测试照片中,高光位也完全没有爆光的现象。在室内拍摄窗前的逆光人像时,脸部和户外高光位的细节保留都相当到位,然而这两种情况下的对比度都很低,因此HDR照片缺乏一些中端竞争机型的力度,不过总的来说其拍摄结果还算可以接受。

使用Nokia 8 Sirocco拍摄高对比度场景时,其动态范围非常不错,在高光位和阴影区域内都记录了合宜的细节,但对比度很低,HDR照片缺乏一点力度。
在较低的光照条件下,室内拍摄的曝光表现仍然很好,在混合的人造光源下通常拍出了中性的白平衡。

在室内照明条件下,其曝光表现还算可以接受;在一系列人工混合照明条件下,白平衡也大致准确。在极低光下,该手机倾向于拍出曝光不足的照片,但在低至20勒克斯时的拍摄结果仍然不错,在5勒克斯甚至1勒克斯的极低光下拍摄的照片勉强可用,但明显更暗了些。

在户外和室内照明条件下,Nokia 8 Sirocco的演色性不错,可以拍出鲜艳饱和而悦目的色彩,白平衡也相当准确。但在低光下,色彩饱和度却明显下降,而且在许多图像中都可以明显观察到色彩渐晕和色调偏移的现象,图像中间偏粉红色,到了边缘却偏绿,特别是在室内和低光下拍摄的图像更是如此。

演色性在户外照明条件下通常很好,具有准确的白平衡和鲜艳饱和的色调,但经常出现色彩渐晕。

Nokia 8 Sirocco的PDAF + 双像素自动对焦系统是其特别出色的功能,在大多数照明条件下均有快速准确的表现。它在户外和室内照明中均可快速对焦,仅有约100毫秒的延迟,表现非常出色,因此您肯定可以拍摄到决定性的时刻。在低光(20勒克斯)下,自动对焦性能仍然很好而且非常准确;我们所有的测试照片都具有清晰的焦点,但此时的速度却开始变得有点不一致,在某些情况下甚至需要500毫秒才能找到焦点。

Nokia 8 Sirocco的PDAF + 双像素自动对焦系统可进行快速对焦,延迟时间仅为100毫秒,并且始终如一地找到清晰的焦点。

户外图像的纹理表现很好,细节保留到位,特别是在较亮的区域更是如此,边缘轮廓也很清晰。在静态室内场景中,细节保留也非常到位,但随着光线水平下降,想要拍摄纹理清晰的移动被摄体就会变得比较困难了。在非常弱的光线下,其细节保留水平比其前身Nokia 8改进了许多(Nokia 8在这样的光线条件下的表现的确相当力不从心),但细节明显不足,未达到一些旗舰手机的水平,不过整体而言该手机的表现确实不错。

在室内的低光图像中可观察到噪点,在户外和HDR图像的阴影区域中也出现一些色度噪点。虽然与我们测试过的最佳中端手机相比,Nokia 8 Sirocco的图像质量明显变差,但在细节方面的整体表现还算可以。

使用副摄像头的远摄镜头进行变焦拍摄的结果明显比数码变焦要好得多,但精细细节保留的表现不佳。在短距离范围内,使用低于2倍的光学变焦拍摄时,在高光下可拍出最佳效果,细节保留到位且噪点控制得很好,但在室内和低光条件下,光学变焦的细节明显变少。

Nokia 8 Sirocco,室内远距拍摄
裁剪图

在人像模式中,Nokia 8 Sirocco的散景模拟和背景虚化效果在室内和室外条件下都能保持稳定的水准,得到了相近的评分。然而,深度估算并不十分准确,以至于在前景对象中出现了明显的伪像;另外,模糊程度较弱。

对于智能手机视频爱好者来说,Nokia 8 Sirocco具有4K 2160p 30fps和HD 1080p 30fps (我们在此默认模式下测试)的分辨率,视频自动对焦准确且响应迅速,可以快速对焦并进行不错的跟踪。曝光大致不错,在低光下的表现尤其出色,但与静止图像相比,它在高对比度场景中丢失了高光细节,动态范围也小了些。许多视频中的演色性也相当令人满意,但与静态照片相比,其色彩饱和度稍嫌不足并且出现了色彩渐晕。Nokia 8 Sirocco的视频防抖系统也很好,营造了相当自然的外观和悦目的观看体验,但可明显观察到一些运动残影。在极高光下,细节保留还算可以接受,但是分辨率在室内和低光视频中都会快速下降,这与我们对最好的中端手机的期望相去甚远。

结论

在Nokia 8 Sirocco上,该制造商的智能手机摄像头的硬件有了些改进,其双摄像头配置带有一个远摄镜头以进行光学变焦摄影,并且配备有一个出色的PDAF自动对焦系统,虽然与其前代产品相比,其整体图像质量并没有显着提升,但其曝光和色彩确实展现了更加一致的拍摄结果。它的性能和图像质量也相当不错,甚至可说相当出色,在高光下拍摄的照片质量最好,其曝光、色彩和纹理的表现都相当不错。较低光线下的拍摄结果还算可以接受,但其纹理水平和色彩饱和度明显下降,特别是在极低光的情况下更是如此,因此它并非理想的低光拍摄机型。对于中端手机而言,Nokia 8 Sirocco在照片和视频方面的表现都相当好,但是在这个价位上可以买到拍摄效果更好的手机。

84
DxOMark mobile
Nokia 8 Sirocco
85
photo
Nokia 8 Sirocco
82
video
Nokia 8 Sirocco

优点

  • 快速正确的自动对焦
  • 曝光在大多数情况下都相当准确
  • 悦目的白平衡

优点

  • 准确、灵敏的自动对焦
  • 曝光表现不错,特别是在低光下更是如此
  • 悦目的演色性

不足

  • 低光下的细节不多,噪点却很多
  • 使用闪光灯与混合照明时,出现了粉红色偏
  • 散景效果模式下的景深估计不准确

不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 所有条件下都有纹理损失
  • 室内和低光下均可观察到色度噪点
We are hiring!

Nokia 8 Sirocco: Dual-cam mid-ranger

DxOMark
Mobile
84

Launched in June 2018, the Nokia 8 Sirocco is a new upper mid-range offering from the Finnish manufacturer, and features a curved 5.5-inch display and a Snapdragon 835 chipset. For photography enthusiasts, it offers a dual-camera setup, with a 12Mp sensor and f/1.7 Zeiss lens for the primary camera, and a 13Mp sensor and telephoto f/2.6 lens for the secondary module. Let’s take a look how it performed in our industry-standard tests.

Key camera specifications

  • Dual camera
  • 12Mp main camera with 1.4µm pixels, f/1.7-aperture lens
  • 13Mp 2x tele-camera with 1.0µm pixels and f/2.6 aperture lens
  • PDAF + dual-pixel autofocus
  • Dual-tone LED flash
  • 4K video at 30fps (1080p/30fps at default settings)
  • Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 chipset

Test summary

Achieving an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 84 points, the Nokia 8 Sirocco is a competent, if not outstanding smartphone for photography. Performance is well-balanced between its stills and video, with the device achieving a Photo score of 85 points compared to 82 points for Video.

The Nokia 8 Sirocco’s key strengths for stills are its fast and accurate autofocus system, and its generally accurate target exposures and white balance, ensuring pleasant images in several lighting conditions. Exposure and color are most successful in well-balanced outdoor light, although contrast is on the low side.

Shooting in well-balanced outdoor lighting conditions, the Nokia 8 Sirocco generally captures accurate target exposures with fairly low but acceptable levels of contrast.

HDR processing kicks in automatically when required, which is a bonus, and the Nokia 8 Sirocco’s dynamic range is pretty good, recording good detail in the darker shadow areas, while not totally blowing out the highlights in our high-contrast test shots. Shooting backlit portraits indoors against a window, details are also preserved in both the face and the highlights outside. In both cases, however, contrast is again low, so HDR shots lack the punch of some mid-range competitors, but overall it’s a reasonable result.

The Nokia 8 Sirocco’s dynamic range is very competent, recording reasonable detail in the highlights and shadow regions, although HDR shots lack a little punch.
In lower light conditions, capturing images indoors, exposure remains good, and white balance is generally neutral under mixed and artificial light sources.

Under indoor lighting conditions, exposures remain acceptable and white balance is mainly accurate under a range of artificial and mixed lighting conditions. In very low light, the device tends to underexpose a little, but results are good down to 20 lux and just about usable at 5 and even 1 lux (although noticeably darker).

In outdoor and indoor lighting conditions, color rendering is good, with the Nokia 8 Sirocco capturing bold and nicely-saturated color with accurate white balance. In low light, however, there’s a noticeable dip in color saturation. We’ve also observed some color shading in pretty much all conditions, with pink centers and green corners particularly noticeable under tungsten light.

In outdoor lighting conditions, color rendering is generally good, with accurate white balance and bold, well-saturated hues, although color shading is often present.

The Nokia 8 Sirocco’s standout attribute is its PDAF + dual-pixel autofocus system, which is fast and accurate in most lighting conditions. In both outdoor and indoor lighting it performs very well, with fast focus acquisition of only about a 100ms delay, meaning that you can be confident of capturing a decisive moment. In low light (20 lux), autofocus performance remains good and very accurate, with all our test shots in sharp focus, but speeds start to get a little inconsistent, taking up to 500ms to find focus in some cases.

The Nokia 8 Sirocco’s PDAF + Dual Pixel autofocus system offers fast focus acquisition and consistently found sharp focus with only around a 100ms delay.

Texture rendering is good in outdoor images with well-preserved details, particularly in the brighter regions, and edges are well-defined. Detail preservation is also good in static indoor scenes, although it gets harder to capture clearly-defined moving subjects as the light levels drop. In very low light, the level of detail preservation is a significant step up from its predecessor, the Nokia 8 (which really struggled), and although the evident loss of detail keeps it from the level of some flagship devices, it generally does a pretty good job.

Noise is visible in indoor and low-light images, with some chromatic noise appearing in the shadow regions of outdoor and HDR images. Although there’s noticeably more image deterioration compared to the best mid-range devices we’ve tested, the Nokia 8 Sirocco does an OK job overall for detail.

Results using the second camera’s tele-lens for zoom shots are a definite improvement over a digital zoom, but lack good fine detail preservation. It achieves best results at short range, using the optical zoom up to 2x magnification, with good detail and well-controlled noise. Medium-range zoom images are still usable, but long-zoom is best avoided. There’s also a noticeable drop in detail indoors and in low light.

Nokia 8 Sirocco, long-range zoom image under indoor lighting
Crop

In Portrait mode, the device’s simulated bokeh or background blur effect is consistent over repeated shots and achieved a similar score in both indoor and outdoor lighting conditions. However, depth estimation is not very accurate, resulting in very noticeable artifacts around foreground subjects; moreover, the blur isn’t very strong.

For smartphone video enthusiasts, the Nokia 8 Sirocco features a maximum resolution of 4K 2160p@30fps, but as usual, we test at the 1080p@30fps default settings. Video autofocus is again accurate and responsive, with fast acquisition and reasonable tracking. Exposure is good across all light levels, down to low light, but dynamic range is more limited compared to stills, with a loss of highlight detail evident in high-contrast scenes. Color rendering is also pleasing in many videos, although slightly under-saturated compared to still photos; and again, color shading is present. The Nokia 8 Sirocco’s video stabilization system is capable achieving a natural look, although some residual motion is evident. In very bright light, fine detail preservation is acceptable, but resolution drops quickly in both indoor and low light videos, which are some ways off what we’ve come to expect from the best mid-range devices.

Conclusion

The Nokia 8 Sirocco improves upon the manufacturer’s smartphone camera hardware, packing in a dual camera with tele-lens for optical zoom shots and a good PDAF autofocus system. Overall image quality is a step up from the predecessor Nokia 8, offering slightly more consistent results for exposure and color. Its performance and image quality is competent, if not exceptional, with the best photos captured in bright light, producing images with good exposure, color, and texture. Results in lower light are acceptable, but it’s not an ideal low-light shooter, with losses of texture and color saturation evident, especially in very low light. Overall, for a mid-range device, the Nokia 8 Sirocco does an OK job with both photos and video, but devices with better results are available at this price point.

84
DxOMark mobile
Nokia 8 Sirocco
85
photo
Nokia 8 Sirocco
82
video
Nokia 8 Sirocco

Pros

  • Fast and accurate autofocus
  • Accurate exposure in most conditions
  • Pleasant white balance

 Pros

  • Accurate and responsive autofocus
  • Good exposure, particularly in low light
  • Pleasant color rendering

Cons

  • Low detail and high noise in low light
  • Pink color cast using flash with mixed lighting
  • Inaccurate depth estimation in bokeh mode

Cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Loss of texture in all conditions
  • Chromatic noise visible both indoors and in low light
We are hiring!