OnePlus 6评测:旗舰产品的另类选择

96
DxOMark Mobile

搭载双摄像头的OnePlus 6发布于5月下旬,是中国品牌OnePlus最新推出的高端智能手机。OnePlus 6采用6.28英寸大型AMOLED无边框显示屏,以及高通骁龙845芯片组。

其主摄像头内置一个1600万像素1/2.6英寸图像传感器,以及一个f/1.7防抖镜头;副摄像头用于呈现景深效果和更好的数字变焦,其图像传感器的分辨率比主摄像头更高(2000万像素),镜头光圈则相同(f/1.7),但没有防抖。

其他摄像头功能还包括相位检测自动对焦、双色LED闪光灯和RAW图像拍摄。在视频模式下,OnePlus 6能以30/60 fps的速度拍摄4K影片,并在超慢动作模式下以高达240 fps的速度拍摄1080p影片(但一如往常,我们使用默认设置来测试视频,而OnePlus 6的默认设置为1080p 30 fps)。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 双摄像头设置
  • 1600万像素主摄像头,1/2.6英寸图像传感器,f/1.7光圈镜头和光学图像防抖
  • 2000万像素副摄像头,f/1.7光圈
  • 相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 双色LED闪光灯
  • 4K 30/60 fps视频
  • 6.28英寸AMOLED无边框显示屏

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中,DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置来拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,然后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见此处

测试摘要

在DxOMark总体得分方面,OnePlus 6的后置双摄像头拿下了96分,与苹果iPhone X、三星Galaxy S9 Plus和谷歌Pixel 2等手机并列为我们实验室测试过较好的摄像头之一,并且仅有几分的差异而已。

其中很大一部分是由于其拍摄静态图像的强大性能,因此在照片类别中拿下了100分的优异成绩。OnePlus 6在诸如自动对焦、色彩和曝光等类别中表现得尤其出色,而且在细节保留和噪点水平方面还能同时保有非常好的折中效果,但是其散景和变焦性能比具有专用远摄镜头的机型略逊一筹。

在视频方面,OnePlus 6的总体分数为87分,与静止图像一样表现优异,这证明了它的性能可以与手机行业中一些最大、最知名的品牌相媲美。它在许多关键领域的表现均相当出色,堪为一款全方位的优质手机,尤其是在考虑预算问题时更是如此。

OnePlus 6可拍摄曝光正确且色彩饱和度不错的明亮图像;一般而言,白平衡的表现还算可靠。

在我们的测试中,OnePlus 6在高光条件下拍出了曝光不错的图像,对于高动态场景通常也有很好的控制,但在一些对比度较高的图像中,它未必能保留阴影和高光等光线条件较极端的区域的细节。白平衡正确合理,其表现通常不错,但在户外可能出现明显的粉色色偏。自动对焦的性能迅速而正确,在各种条件下都能提供清晰细腻的图像。

在延伸测试中所发现的其他潜在缺陷包括素色区域(例如蓝天)的噪点和强烈的耀斑,在某些户外场景中偶尔也出现了重影,但都不算特别严重。

在我们的室内测试中,One Plus 6拍出了曝光度不错的照片,只是色彩鲜艳了些。其图像处理在噪点和细节之间取得了很好的折衷效果。

在室内低光条件下,OnePlus 6的表现非常出色,在大多数情况下均可与较昂贵的竞争机型相提并论,即使在极低光(5勒克斯)下的曝光会稍微低一些。在我们的室内测试中,OnePlus 6的演色性也非常好,它在各种光源下均可拍出悦目的色彩,自动白平衡也非常正确,可以生成中性的色彩,并没有出现高光下的粉色色偏。

照片评分说明

OnePlus 6的总体照片得分为100分,在我们的测试中,这是在静态图像方面拿下最高分的手机之一。我们在不同的照明条件下测试手机在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试子项目评分并计算总成绩,在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每项图像质量的评分。

曝光与对比度(89)

对于这个类别来说,89分是非常不错的分数。OnePlus 6在户外或高光下拍照时效果尤佳,其曝光度在高光下非常正确,在低光和各种光源下的表现仍然非常好。在HDR模式下,OnePlus 6的摄像头具有非常好的动态范围,但在对比度极高的场景中,图像最暗和最亮的区域中无法保留某些细节。

OnePlus 6,高对比场景
苹果iPhone X,高对比场景
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,高对比场景

在棘手的逆光场景中,OnePlus 6可赋予拍摄对象正确的曝光度,但背景中的大部分高光区域都出现了溢光剪贴纹理,因此没有任何细节。摄像头在极低光(1勒克斯)下的静态场景中也可以拍出非常不错的效果,但有时图像的曝光稍微不足(如右下图所示)。在这些相当于烛光的极低光条件下,OnePlus 6仍可以可靠地拍出不错的结果。

在这张逆光照片中,拍摄对象的曝光度不错,但背景的高光位有很多溢光剪贴纹理。
在实验室1勒克斯的光线下轻微的曝光不足

色彩(83)

在所有户外和室内照明条件下,OnePlus 6都能拍出色彩鲜艳亮丽的迷人图像,但在户外日光场景中,其自动白平衡倾向于呈现粉红色色偏,这是其稍有不足之处。虽然这可以让图像看起来温暖些,在某些情况(例如人像)下也许有些用处,但这种现象普遍出现在所有户外场景中,而且在某些拍摄对象上或包含大范围单色或白色区域的图像中很明显。在我们的室内测试中,这种色偏完全不存在,其自动白平衡也提供了中性的色彩。  

OnePlus 6,演色性
苹果iPhone X,演色性
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,演色性

一如某些其他超薄型高端手机中使用的摄像头模块,一些轻微的色彩渐晕在户外和低光条件下很明显。

在色彩相对均匀的场景中可以看到轻微的色彩渐晕。

自动对焦(100)

OnePlus 6的自动对焦系统在所有照明条件下的表现均非常出色,从而拿下了100分的优异成绩。在我们数据库当前的优质手机测试结果中,OnePlus 6是两个表现最佳的机型之一。它的自动对焦非常快速而正确,在所有光照条件下都能产生可重复的结果。OnePlus 6的自动对焦不仅非常快速,而且在高光条件下也拍出了极高的清晰度。自动对焦的结果始终正确,如下图所示。

将OnePlus 6散焦后进行500毫秒的短暂延迟,然后触发快门,OnePlus 6始终可以找到焦点。

纹理(69)

OnePlus 6在纹理方面拿下了不错的成绩。它在良好的光线下捕捉到的细节水平非常接近下面苹果iPhone X和三星Galaxy S9的比较样张。比较20勒克斯的低光照片时,它的表现也非常出色,但在更低的光照水平下则开始损失了一些细节。

OnePlus 6在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
OnePlus 6在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus在20勒克斯下的裁剪图

OnePlus 6所采用的降噪策略在所有照明条件下都可拍出不错的纹理,细节保留也很到位。其图像处理在两者之间取得了很好的平衡,其纹理描绘也比谷歌Pixel 2、三星Galaxy S9 Plus和苹果iPhone X等手机略胜一筹,如下图所示。

OnePlus 6 与竞品的纹理锐度对比

噪点(68)

在室内100勒克斯和20勒克斯的低光下,OnePlus 6在噪点水平和纹理保留之间取得了很好的平衡。虽然图像里有些噪点,但这是因为其图像处理更强调细节的保留。在100勒克斯下,OnePlus拍出的测试照片比iPhone X稍微洁净了些,但没有三星Galaxy S9 Plus那么平滑。在20勒克斯下,可见的噪点变多了,但总的来说,其降噪方法与高光下相同。

OnePlus 6在100勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在100勒克斯下的裁剪图
三星Galaxy S9 Plus在100勒克斯下的裁剪图
OnePlus 6在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
20勒克斯下的三星Galaxy S9 Plus

伪像(75)

一般来说,OnePlus 6控制了大部分不必要的伪像,摄像头拍出的图像具有出色的清晰度,整个图像区域的晕影效应和色差水平都不高,角落处只丢失了极少的清晰度。虽然在这样的曝光摄像头模块中,手机制造商很难预防耀斑的存在,但OnePlus 6在强烈的逆光场景中很容易受到耀斑的影响,在大多数具有大片素色区域的图像也都可以看到垂直条纹般的噪点图案。在高对比边缘也可以看到轻微的过度锐化和其他处理效果所造成的振铃效应。

OnePlus 6,耀斑
OnePlus 6(噪点图案,全尺寸)
One Plus 6(噪点图案 – 100%裁剪图)

闪光灯(89)

多亏了双色LED闪光灯,OnePlus 6的图像的光线效果不错,即使在可能导致曝光不正确的额外照明下也可以提供很好的被摄体曝光度和中性白平衡,因此在这个项目中拿下了极高的分数。其闪光灯非常均匀地照亮了图像,通常没有典型单粒LED闪光灯可能造成的严重暗角。但在仔细检查时可以观察到一些亮度噪点,而且纹理也可能不太细腻。

OnePlus 6在0勒克斯下使用闪光灯拍摄的照片

变焦(32)

OnePlus 6的变焦能力只足以拿下差强人意的成绩,这主要是因为其双摄像头的焦距相同。该摄像头仍能在2倍放大倍率下拍出丰富的细节,但与其直接竞争机型进行比较时,更高的放大倍率会对纹理和细节表现产生不利的影响。点击如下桥梁照片来观看完整尺寸图像,您可以在这些中距拍摄(3倍到5倍变焦)中观察到我们所说的纹理和细节表现。

OnePlus 6 – 近距变焦
苹果iPhone X – 近距变焦
三星Galaxy S9 Plus – 近距变焦
OnePlus 6 – 中距变焦
苹果iPhone X – 中距变焦
三星Galaxy S9 Plus – 中距变焦

散景(45)

OnePlus 6在散景项目中取得了很好的成绩,其模糊效果相当悦目,但仅被应用于背景中,而没有模糊前景,就像一些直接的竞争机型一样。仔细观察后可以发现背景模糊有点突兀,在未应用模糊效果的某些细节周围可以明显看到一些不正确的蒙版。尽管如此,其效果看起来还是很逼真。OnePlus 6的散景模式尤其擅长于呈现散景高光,(当存在时,)画面中的高光呈现均匀对比的圆形。然而,缺少长焦距的副摄像头会对人像拍摄造成不利,因为较短焦距的摄像头可能会引入更多的透视变形,并且相对更难调校。

OnePlus 6 散景
苹果 iPhone X 散景
三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 散景

视频评分说明

在视频方面,OnePlus 6取得了不错的成绩(87分),在色彩、自动对焦和曝光测试项目中均获得了相当优异的成绩。与照片分数一样,其视频总体分数来自下列测试项目:曝光(87)、色彩(88)、自动对焦(90)、纹理(42)、噪点(70)、伪像(66)、光学防抖(86)。

在我们的比较中,OnePlus 6的视频性能虽然不如其照片表现,却可以与苹果iPhone X(89)相媲美,但比起三星Galaxy S9 Plus(91)和谷歌Pixel 2(96)则逊色了些。即使在不断变化的照明条件下,OnePlus 6的自动对焦速度也很快,在户外和低光条件下也具有平滑的跟踪功能。 它也具有高效的防抖。

在10勒克斯左右的光线下,视频曝光度仍然很好。

One Plus 6在所有照明条件下都呈现了漂亮的色彩,与静止图像的色彩一样鲜艳而生动,并具有中性的白平衡。此外,它的曝光度也非常正确,图像传感器的动态范围响应良好,可记录高对比度场景中最亮和最暗的区域,而且即使在低光条件下,噪点水平通常也能得到很好的控制。

在所有照明水平下,视频的细节水平相对较低。
空间噪点得到了很好的控制。

视频录制的缺点不多,但在大多数照明条件下细节保留水平不高,即使在高光条件下也是如此,而在低光条件下的表现更是差强人意,并且过度锐化和其他处理步骤的组合更产生了相当强烈的振铃效应。并且由于曝光时间减少,造成了锐度的轻微损失。

结论

OnePlus 6拥有一些不可小觑的成像能力,该中国制造商推出此手机后,已经证明其有能力生产出令人信服的高端智能手机,可以与更多成熟品牌的高端机型竞争。从我们的测试结果看来,其双摄像头模组的拍摄效果确实非常好,并且与业内一些知名的机型实力相当,尤其是静态图像的成绩更是出色。此外,虽然OnePlus 6的视频性能的确不错,但如果您很重视移动图像,那么您应该有其他更好的选择。OnePlus 6最强大的优势在于其价格比竞争的高端手机便宜得多,因此它给消费者提供了用相对便宜的价格购买尖端技术和高性能手机摄像头的选择

96
DxOMark mobile
OnePlus 6
100
DxOMark Mobile
photo
87
DxOMark Mobile
video

优点

  • 自动对焦非常快速正确
  • 各种光源下都可呈现鲜艳生动的色彩
  • 拍摄对象的曝光正确而可靠
  • 图像细节和噪点之间达到了不错的平衡
  • 闪光灯的曝光度和色彩表现都不错

优点

  • 有效的防抖
  • 快速的自动对焦
  • 中性的白平衡
  • 噪点水平低
  • 高对比场景中的细节保留到位

不足

  • 素色区域可以看到噪点
  • 户外照片中经常出现粉红色色偏
  • 黑暗和明亮处有时丢失了细节
  • 散景模式下的模糊偶尔不正确

不足

  • 不同的光线条件下都有细节损失
  • 强烈的振铃效应和过度的锐化处理
  • 可察觉到帧之间的清晰度差异
We are hiring!

OnePlus 6 review: The alternative flagship

DxOMark
Mobile
96

Released in late May, the OnePlus 6 is the latest dual camera-equipped smartphone from Chinese brand OnePlus. It is a premium model featuring a large 6.28-in AMOLED edge-to-edge display and powered by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 chipset.

The OnePlus 6’s main camera has a 16MP 1/2.6”-type sensor that is combined with a stabilized f/1.7 lens. The secondary camera is used for applying depth-of-field effects and an improved digital zoom. While it has a slightly higher-resolution 20MP sensor, it has the same f/1.7-aperture lens as the main camera (but not stabilization).

Other camera features include phase-detection autofocus, a twin LED flash, and RAW image capture. In video mode, the OnePlus 6 can capture 4K footage at 30/60fps as well as 1080p clips at up to 240 fps in super-slow-motion mode — but as usual, we test video using the default settings, which in the case of the OnePlus 6 is 1080p at 30 fps.

Please note that all tests were performed on a OnePlus 6 with Oxygen OS 5.1.9 which was released to the public on July 17th. 

Key camera specifications:

  • Dual-camera setup
  • 16Mp main camera with 1/2.6″ sensor, f/1.7-aperture lens, and optical image stabilization
  • 20 Mp secondary camera with f/1.7-aperture lens
  • Phase-detection autofocus (PDAF)
  • Twin LED flash
  • 4K video at 30/60 fps
  • 6.28-inch AMOLED edge-to-edge display

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

The OnePlus 6 rear-facing dual camera achieves an overall DxOMark score of 96 points, placing it among some of the better-performing devices that we’ve put through our tests, such as the Apple iPhone X, the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, and the Google Pixel 2.

A good deal of this achievement is due to its strong still-image capabilities, which resulted in a very high Photo score of 100 points. The OnePlus 6 does particularly well in categories such as autofocus, color, and exposure, while also maintaining a well-balanced approach to detail retention and noise levels. Bokeh and zoom performance lag a little behind devices with a dedicated tele-lens, however.

As with stills, the OnePlus 6 puts in a spirited performance in video mode, proving that it can compete with some of the biggest and best-known names in the industry. Its overall Video score of 87 points and good performance in many key areas make it good all-round choice for a premium device, especially when budget is a concern.

The OnePlus 6 delivers bright and well-saturated images, with accurate exposure and generally reliable white balance.

In our tests, the OnePlus 6 delivers well-exposed images in bright-light conditions and has generally good control of high-dynamic scenes, but in some of the more high-contrast images, it doesn’t always retain fine detail in the more extreme shadow and highlight regions. White balance is generally good and reasonably accurate, though a pink cast can be noticeable outdoors. Autofocus works swiftly and accurately, delivering sharp images with good levels of detail in all conditions.

Other potential drawbacks revealed during extensive testing included noise in areas of uniform color, such as blue skies, strong flare, and occasional ghosting in some outdoor scenes. However, none of these are particularly concerning.

In our indoor tests, the One Plus 6 delivers images that are well-exposed, with bright and with vivid colors. Processing adopts a good trade-off between noise and detail.

Under low-light conditions and indoors, the OnePlus 6 performs very well, on par for the most part with more expensive rivals, though targets are slightly underexposed in very low light (5 lux). Color rendering in our indoor tests was very good, too. Not only did the OnePlus 6 deliver pleasant-looking colors under various light sources, but the auto white balance was accurate as well, with the OnePlus 6 producing neutral colors with no pink casts visible in bright light.

Photo scores explained

With a total Photo score of 100 points, the OnePlus 6 achieves one of the better scores for still images in our testing to date. The overall Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (89)

This is a very good score for this category, with particularly good results when capturing images outdoors or in bright lighting. Exposure is very accurate in bright light, and still very good in low light and under various artificial light sources. In HDR mode, the OnePlus 6 camera has very good dynamic range, but in very high-contrast scenes, some of the fine details aren’t preserved in the darkest and lightest areas of the image.

OnePlus 6, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone X, high-contrast scene
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, high-contrast scene

The OnePlus 6 does a good job of exposing the subject accurately in tricky back-lit scenes, but the majority of bright areas in the background are clipped and thus without detail. The camera also achieves very acceptable results for static scenes in very low light (1 lux), albeit recording a slightly underexposed image (below right). In these extreme conditions (the equivalent of candlelight), the OnePlus 6 is still a very credible performer.

Subject exposure in this backlit portrait is good, but highlights are clipped in the background.
Still good exposure in extremely low light (1 lux).

Color (83)

In all outdoor and indoor lighting conditions, the OnePlus 6 delivers highly engaging, bright images with vivid colors, though the auto white balance has a tendency to introduce a pink cast in outdoor daylight scenes. This cast is visible in all outdoor scenes and is noticeable in images that contain large single-color regions or white areas. In our indoor testing, this cast wasn’t visible at all, with the auto white balance delivering neutral colors. 

OnePlus 6, color rendering
Apple iPhone X, color rendering
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, color rendering

In common with some other camera modules used in super-thin premium devices like this, a bit of color shading is noticeable both outdoors and under low-light conditions.

Slight color shading can be visible in scenes with relatively uniform color.

Autofocus (100)

The autofocus system performs very well in all lighting conditions, resulting in an outstanding autofocus score of 100 points. The OnePlus 6 is one of the two best-performing models in the current crop of premium devices in our database. Autofocus is very fast and accurate, and produces repeatable results in all lighting conditions. The OnePlus 6 is not only very quick, it also delivers high sharpness in bright-light conditions. As you can see in the graph below, autofocus results are consistently accurate.  

After defocusing the device, the OnePlus 6 consistently found focus after a short 500ms delay before triggering the shutter.

Texture (69)

The OnePlus 6 achieves a good score for texture, and in good light captures very similar levels of detail as the Apple iPhone X and the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus in the comparison below. It also performs very well in the low-light comparison at 20 lux, but detail starts to suffer at lower light levels.

OnePlus 6 crop at 1000 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus crop at 1000 lux
OnePlus 6 crop at 20 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 20 lux
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus crop at 20 lux

Noise reduction strategies employed in the OnePlus 6 result in a good set of scores for texture and detail retention in all lighting conditions. Image processing adopts a good balance between the two, and the device’s result for texture is an improvement over that for such decent performers as the Google Pixel 2, the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, and the Apple iPhone X, as you can see in the graph below.

OnePlus 6 texture acutance versus its closest competitors.

Noise (68)

Indoors at 100 lux and under low light at 20 lux, the OnePlus 6 offers a good balance between noise levels and texture retention. Images show some noise, but the processing puts a little more emphasis on retaining detail. Our OnePlus 6 test shot at 100 lux is a touch cleaner than the iPhone X’s, but not quite as smooth as the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus’s. There is a little more visible noise at 20 lux, but overall, the approach to noise reduction is the same as in brighter light.

OnePlus 6 crop at 100 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 100 lux
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus crop at 100 lux
OnePlus 6 crop at 20 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 20 lux
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus at 20 lux

Artifacts (75)

In general, the OnePlus 6 has kept the majority of unwanted artifacts under control. Images have excellent sharpness, low vignetting, and low chromatic aberration across the image field, with only some slight softness noticeable in the corners. With such exposed camera modules, however, it’s difficult for makers to prevent flare, but the OnePlus 6 is particularly susceptible in strongly back-lit scenes. On a separate note, a noise pattern corresponding to vertical striping is visible in most images with large expanses of uniform color. Expect also to see some ringing from slight over-sharpening and other processing effects along high-contrast edges. 

OnePlus 6 flare
OnePlus 6 noise pattern, full size
One Plus 6 noise pattern, crop at 100%

Flash (89)

With its dual LED flash, the OnePlus 6 achieves a high score and produces well-lit images with good subject exposure and neutral white balance, even with additional lighting (which can be the cause of inaccuracies). Images are fairly evenly illuminated and are mostly free of the heavily-darkened corners associated with images lit by a typical single LED flash unit. However, some luminance noise is visible upon inspection and texture can be on the low side.

OnePlus 6 flash shot at 0 lux

Zoom (32)

The OnePlus 6 achieves only an acceptable score for its zoom capabilities, mostly because both dual-cam lenses are the same focal length. The camera is still capable of capturing high levels of detail at close range (approximately 2x magnification), but higher magnifications are detrimental to texture and fine detail rendition when compared directly to the results for its rivals in our photos below. You can see what we mean if you click through to the full version of the medium-range shot of the bridge below (approximately 3-5x magnification).

OnePlus 6, close-range zoom
Apple iPhone X, close-range zoom
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, close-range zoom
OnePlus 6, medium-range zoom
Apple iPhone X, medium-range zoom
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, medium-range zoom

Bokeh (45)

The OnePlus 6 achieves a good score for bokeh. The blurring effect looks quite pleasing, but is applied only to the background instead of including the foreground, as some direct rivals do. On closer inspection, however, the background blurring is a little abrupt, and some masking inaccuracies is apparent where the blurring isn’t applied around certain details. Nevertheless, the effect can look realistic. The OnePlus 6 bokeh mode is particularly good at rendering round and evenly-contrasted specular highlights (when visible in the frame). This said, the lack of a longer focal length for the secondary camera is a drawback for portrait mode, as a short focal length is not always the easiest to use and can cause perspective distortion.

OnePlus 6 bokeh
Apple iPhone X bokeh
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus bokeh

Video scores explained

The OnePlus 6 achieves a very good Video score of 87 points, with strong individual scores for color, autofocus, and exposure. The overall score is derived from a number of sub-scores in the same way as the Photo score: Exposure (87), Color (88), Autofocus (90), Texture (42), Noise (70), Artifacts (66), and Stabilization (86).

The OnePlus 6’s Video performance isn’t quite at the level of its Photo capabilities, but it is comparable to the Apple iPhone X (89), even if it’s a little behind the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus (91) and the Google Pixel 2 (96) used in our photo comparisons. Autofocus is fast even in changing lighting conditions; it has smooth tracking capabilities in outdoor and low-light conditions; and stabilization is quite efficient.

Video exposure is good down to approximately 10 lux.

As with stills, the One Plus 6’s video has bright and vivid color, along with neutral white balance, in all lighting conditions. In addition, it has very good exposure accuracy, and the sensor’s dynamic range responds well to recording the brightest and darkest regions in high-contrast scenes. Even noise levels are generally well-controlled in low-light conditions.

Levels of video detail are relatively low across all light levels.
Spatial noise is well-controlled.

Negatives are few for video capture, but nonetheless include low detail preservation in the majority of lighting conditions, particularly in low light; but even in bright light, images show quite high levels of ringing from a combination of over-sharpening and other processing steps. There is also a slight loss of sharpness caused by exposure times that are too long.

Conclusion

With the OnePlus 6, the Chinese manufacturer has proven itself capable of producing a convincing premium-grade smartphone with some serious imaging capabilities that can compete with high-end models from more established brands. From our tests, the results from the dual-camera module are very good indeed, and on par with some of the biggest names in the industry, especially for still photography. (The OnePlus 6’s video is by no means bad, but if your focus is on moving images, better alternatives are available.) Best of all, the OnePlus 6 is priced significantly lower than rival premium devices, meaning that consumers no longer have to pay a high price for cutting-edge technology and high performance.

96
DxOMark mobile
OnePlus 6
100
photo
OnePlus 6
87
video
OnePlus 6

Pros

  • Autofocus operation is very fast and accurate
  • Colors are bright and vivid under various light sources
  • Subject exposure is accurate and reliable
  • Good balance between detail and noise
  • Flash exposure and color are good

Pros

  • Efficient stabilization
  • Fast autofocus
  • Neutral white balance
  • Noise levels are low
  • Details preserved in high-contrast scenes

Cons

  • Noise is visible in uniform areas
  • Pink cast is often visible outdoors
  • Fine details sometimes lost in darkest and brightest areas
  • Occasional blur inaccuracies in bokeh mode

Cons

  • Loss of detail in various lighting conditions
  • Strong ringing and over-sharpening
  • Visible differences in sharpness between frames
We are hiring!