Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版摄像头评测

116
camera

中国制造商Oppo向来以推出具有创新摄像头技术的智能手机而闻名,其最新旗舰产品Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版也遵循了这一传统。Reno 10 倍变焦版搭载一颗具有潜望镜设计的5倍光学远摄镜头,这是目前在摄像头上提供了如此长的焦距的两款智能手机之一(另一款是华为P30 Pro)。虽说远摄镜头是Reno与众不同的杰出功能,不过该手机其余的规格也完全配得上2019年高端智能手机的头衔:主摄像头使用4800万像素Quad-Bayer传感器和快速的f/1.7镜头,而超广角摄像头的等效焦距则为16毫米。在视频模式下,Oppo以高达每秒60帧的速度录制4K分辨率视频。

拍照和录像时,用户还可以在6.6英寸FHD+ AMOLED显示屏上取景,并查看照片和视频片段,而自拍拍摄者也可以使用电动弹出式前置摄像头;此外,Android 9操作系统则由高通骁龙855芯片组驱动。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:4800万像素1/2英寸传感器,等效26毫米f/1.7镜头,相位检测自动对焦(PDAF),激光自动对焦,光学影像防抖(OIS
  • 超广角镜头:800万像素传感器,等效16毫米,f/2.2镜头
  • 远摄镜头:1300万像素传感器,等效130毫米f/3.0镜头,相位检测自动对焦(PDAF),激光自动对焦,光学影像防抖(OIS)
  • 双LED闪光灯
  • 4K 2160p/60fps视频

请注意:DXOMARK测试的Oppo Reno 10倍变焦摄像头所使用的固件目前尚未向消费者提供,Oppo将在2020年1月向消费者提供该固件。

关于DXOMARK Camera测试:DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和2小时以上的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的详情,请参见此处

测试摘要

116
camera
125
photo
100
video

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版不费吹灰之力地跻身我们当前智能手机摄像头排行榜的前十名,堪为其他品牌旗舰机型的绝好替代品。它在大多数情况下均能展现出色的静止图像性能,因此在照片类别中拿下了125分。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版的图像拍出了良好的曝光和准确的白平衡。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版的图像在直至低光下的多数情况下都能拍出良好的曝光度。它的色彩看起来也许没有一些竞品那么饱和,但是白平衡往往是准确的,可以获得中性的效果。用主摄像头拍摄的图像在高光下以及在室内拍摄时也能呈现很好的细节,但是在所有光线条件下(尤其是在画面的阴影区域)都可以看到一些噪点。我们的测试人员还在某些图像中发现了重影和振铃伪像。

变焦范围是该手机的亮点之一。尽管光学远摄和超广角镜头在大多数情况下都能取得不错的效果,但仍有改进的空间。该手机在所有变焦设置下都能捕捉到不错的细节,但其表现无法与最佳手机的表现相提并论。在中距变焦照片中,图像融合伪像可能会非常明显,边缘细节也明显减少。在超广角照片中也可以看到相同的问题,并且还缺乏细节,同时还出现了一些噪点。

色彩是中性的,但其饱和度比某些竟品稍低。

在视频模式下,Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版以4K分辨率拍摄影片,在高光下以及在室内拍摄时都能呈现出色的细节,同时噪点在大多数情况下都不多。视频色彩非常出色,具有准确的白平衡和鲜艳的演色性;自动对焦在大多数情况下快速而可靠,只出现了一些不稳定的问题,大部分是在低光下。

静止握持该手机录制时,防抖对于抵消步行运动和摄像头晃动非常有效。但是,在我们的一些示例影片中可以看到抖动效应和一些运动模糊。我们的测试人员还观察到了一些图像伪像,但是即使如此,该Oppo手机的整体运动图像性能也为视频赢得了骄人的成绩(100分)。

Oppo Reno 10倍变焦版,户外视频

照片评分说明

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版的照片得分为125分,跻身DXOMARK Camera排行榜的前十名。我们在不同照明条件下测试一款手机的静态图像在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试项目评分并计算照片成绩,在本节中,我们将仔细研究这些测试项目的分数是怎么来的,并比较一些主要竞品的图像质量。

曝光与对比度

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

94

Highest Score

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版在曝光方面表现出色,从高光到低光场景都可以拍出良好的测标曝光。在非常昏暗的条件下,曝光往往比某些竟品要暗一些,但仍然在可以接受的范围内。动态范围也不错,但不如iPhone 11 Pro Max那样宽广。在下面的样张中,您可以看到这两款手机都将天空中的高光位保留得很好,但是苹果图像在场景人物的阴暗脸部上呈现了更多细节。小米图像的云朵中出现了最多的剪切纹理。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,户外曝光
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图,面部测标曝光不高
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外曝光
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,稍微更亮的面部
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,户外曝光
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,面部测标曝光不高

在下面与华为P30 Pro的比较样张中,两款摄像头都能很好地处理困难的高对比度场景,但是两张图像中都出现了一些溢光剪切纹理。仔细观察时,您还会发现P30 Pro能够在此图像桥下的阴影区域显示更多细节。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,户外曝光,一些溢光剪切纹理,阴影细节丢失
华为P30 Pro,户外曝光,一些溢光剪切纹理,更好的阴影细节

色彩

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

88

Highest Score

Reno 10倍变焦图像中的色彩通常令人愉悦,具有准确的白平衡,但与竞品相比饱和度略低一些,如下面的室外样张所示。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,户外色彩,饱和度低
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外色彩,鲜艳的色彩
华为P30 Pro,户外色彩,饱和度稍低

在这一室内样张中也可以观察到饱和度稍微不足的现象和轻微的橙色色偏。相比之下,小米和华为图像中的黄色和蓝色色调都更加鲜艳。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,室内色彩,饱和度低
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,室内色彩,良好的饱和度
华为P30 Pro,室内色彩,良好的饱和度

自动对焦

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

100

Highest Score

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版的自动对焦在我们测试中的表现非常好。它在所有光线条件下的速度都非常快,对焦准确而可重复。在下面的比较图中,您可以看到,该Oppo手机在散焦后,无论延迟时间是长是短,都可以迅速而一致地准确对焦,即使在20勒克斯的低光下也是如此。

20勒克斯下的自动对焦比较

纹理

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

71

Highest Score

和噪点

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

73

Highest Score

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版摄像头可以在户外拍摄不错的细节,但是无法与该类别的最佳手机相提并论。正如您在下面的户外样张中看到的那样,小米CC9 Pro尊享版显然为这一场景挤出了稍微更多的细节。P30 Pro应用了稍微更多的锐化处理,但整体细节水平与Oppo极为相似。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,户外细节
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图(根据比较之需而决定缩放比例),不错的细节
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,户外细节
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,一流的细节
华为P30 Pro,户外细节
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图(根据比较之需而决定缩放比例),细节到位

在高光下拍摄的图像的阴影区域中可以看到细微的亮度噪点。在室内条件下(例如下面的示例场景),噪点变得稍微明显些。在这一比较中,Oppo图像中的噪点最多。苹果图像看起来比较干净,但不如小米摄像头那样干净,因为小米可以更好地控制噪点。在Oppo图像上,被摄体手臂上的溢光剪切纹理也比其他两款手机更多。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,室内噪点
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图(根据比较之需而决定缩放比例),明显的噪点
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,室内噪点
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,噪点不多
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,室内噪点
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图(根据比较之需而决定缩放比例),噪点不多

伪像

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

79

Highest Score

图像伪像通常在Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版上得到很好的控制,尽管我们的测试人员也看到了一些振铃效应和耀斑,但这些问题并不比大多数竞品严重。最具干扰性的伪像可以说是我们在某些图像(包括以下样张)上观察到的晕轮效应:在单色背景前,拍摄对象的头发周围有一圈非常明显的晕轮。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,晕轮伪像
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图

变焦

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

92

Highest Score

不出所料的是,Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版在变焦类别中拿下了高分,但不如市场上唯一配备5倍光学远摄镜头的华为P30 Pro,或配备双远摄镜头的小米CC9 Pro尊享版那样出色。

在中距变焦倍数下,Oppo精细纹理的损失很明显,但是细节比竟品更加出色。不过,它的噪点比小米和华为手机更多。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,中距变焦
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图,细节到位,噪点
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,中距变焦
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,细节到位
华为P30 Pro,中距变焦
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图,细节到位

在远距变焦下,该手机的细节损失更为明显,但与竞品相比,其细节呈现仍然不错。但是,我们可以看到在长距变焦时看到一些振铃效应和不自然的细节勾勒。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,远距变焦
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图,细节丢失
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,远距变焦
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,细节丢失
华为P30 Pro,远距变焦
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图,细节丢失

变焦时,Oppo会融合其主摄像头和远摄摄像头的图像以优化图像质量,但是,融合伪像也非常明显。在下图中,您可以清楚地看到用远摄镜头拍摄的画面中央部分,以及用主摄像头拍摄并进行数字变焦的边缘区域之间的边界。此外,我们的测试人员还在变焦图像中发现了其他伪像,包括诸如晕轮伪像和某些纹理的细节不足等问题。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,中距变焦,融合伪像
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图

散景

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

65

Highest Score

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版可在散景模拟模式下呈现自然的外观和不错的拍摄效果。虽然在被摄体周围往往可以看见某些深度估计错误,但总体而言,在户外拍摄时,该摄像头可以很好地将被摄体和背景分开,其深度估计的水平也与P30 Pro相去不远。但是在室内以散景模式拍摄时,画质会有点变差。

撇开这些问题不谈,该手机的散景模拟图像有漂亮的散景形状,背景中的点光的对比度也很好。噪点不多,被摄体和背景之间的噪点始终保持一致,看起来相当自然。一如标准照片模式,该手机的色彩饱和度也很低。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,散景模拟
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图,良好的深度估计
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,散景模拟
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,一些深度估计错误
华为P30 Pro,散景模拟
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图,良好的深度估计

广角(35)

Oppo的超广角摄像头具有等效16毫米的焦距,其视场不像iPhone 11 Pro Max那样宽广,但比华为P30 Pro广阔。其画面中央的细节往往很好,噪点水平也得到了很好的控制,但是我们在画面边缘观察到严重的细节损失。就像变焦一样,这也是融合算法造成的后果。画面的中心部分的图像来自主摄像头,边缘的图像信息则来自超广角摄像头。如下面的样张所示,这两个摄像头之间的过渡处理并不理想。

我们的测试人员还在Oppo的超广角图像中发现了其他伪像,包括振铃效应、边缘出现许多噪点和色彩量化,因此该手机的广角得分略低于大多数最接近的竟品的得分

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,超广角
Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,裁剪图,边缘缺乏细节
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,超广角
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,角落的细节不错
华为P30 Pro,超广角
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图,角落的细节不错

夜间摄影

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

57

Highest Score

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版在低光和夜间拍摄时表现良好。在自动闪光模式下,曝光效果很好,通常演色性也很宜人。如果闪光灯在拍摄人像时触发了,则可以很好地按照被摄体而调整白平衡和曝光,但是如果闪光灯未触发,则可能看到一些重影。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,自动闪光
华为P30 Pro,自动闪光

强制开启闪光灯时,图像呈现良好的细节,噪点水平也还算可以接受。边缘的闪光落差也得到很好的控制,但是可以看到轻微的黄绿色色偏。在闪光灯设置为关闭的情况下,在极低光下拍摄时,我们观察到色彩偏蓝,或者饱和度倾向于不足。

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版,夜间模式
华为P30 Pro,夜间模式

视频评分说明

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版的整体视频得分为100分,堪为本数据库中性能最好的视频手机之一,仅落后于苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max和小米CC9 Pro尊享版。与照片分数一样,视频总体分数来自于该手机在下列测试项目中的表现与成绩:曝光(85)、色彩(92)、自动对焦(90)、纹理(75)、噪点(80)、伪像(83)、防抖(90)。

Oppo Reno 10倍变焦版,户外视频,良好的色彩但有些重新对焦和抖动效应

该Oppo手机的4K视频影片呈现了出色的色彩,不过,防抖和自动对焦性能仍然有待改进。色彩通常相当鲜艳,白平衡准确,但是在某些影片中可以看到抖动效应和运动模糊;在录制过程中有时也会重新对焦。撇开这一问题不谈,其防抖是有效的,自动对焦是快速且可重复的,只有一点不稳定,主要是在低光下。

视频纹理比较
视觉噪点比较

得益于其4K模式,该Oppo手机还可以在高光下和典型的室内条件下录制非常出色的细节,仅在低光下才丢失了些许细节。在室外和低光条件下拍摄时,噪点水平较低,但室内照片会出现较粗大的亮度噪点。我们的测试人员还注意到,在低光照条件下根据不断变化的条件而调整曝光时,会出现一些超调的现象,并且会出现一些伪像,包括运动物体的去噪,在某些条件下也会出现混叠和重影。

Oppo Reno 10倍变焦版,户外视频
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max ,户外视频
小米CC9Pro 尊享版,户外视频

结论

Oppo Reno 10 倍变焦版提供了我们所见过最宽广的变焦范围之一(从16毫米超广角镜头到130毫米远摄镜头),几乎在所有领域都表现了出色的性能,因此在DXOMARK Camera中赢得了优异总体得分(116分),跻身本排行榜的前十名。变焦和超广角镜头模块都存在融合伪像,因此该Oppo手机还有一些改进的余地。但是总的来说,如果手机摄影者希望将镜头推近拍摄对象,或将其拉远以扩大视场范围,那么这款手机仍然是一个理想的选择。再加上出色的视频性能,那么它就是可以完成任何手机成像任务的一款卓越设备。

照片

优点

  • 在大多数情况下,测标曝光正确
  • 白平衡大致准确
  • 在高光下和室内可拍出到位的细节
  • 闪光灯性能很好
  • 超广角镜头在画面中央拍出了不错的细节
  • 近距和中距变焦表现相当不错

不足

  • 画面阴影区域的噪点
  • 在中距变焦照片中,细节和噪点损失严重
  • 偶尔出现振铃效应和重影
  • 在室内拍摄时,对焦有些不稳定
  • 超广角照片的边缘丢失细节
  • 超广角图像出现噪点,并且缺乏细节
  • 色彩饱和度通常不高

视频

优点

  • 准确的白平衡,鲜艳的色彩
  • 在高光下和室内场景中均能呈现不错的细节
  • 户外和低光下噪点不多
  • 自动对焦在高光下快速而可重复
  • 有效的防抖

不足

  • 室内照片中粗大的亮度噪点
  • 低光下自动对焦不稳定
  • 低光下稍微损失细节
  • 低光下曝光过度
  • 影片中可观察到各种伪像

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom camera review

Reading Time: 20 min read
116
camera

Chinese manufacturer Oppo has been known for launching smartphones with innovative camera technologies in the past, and its latest flagship, the Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, definitely follows in this tradition. With its periscope-design 5x optical tele-lens, the Reno 10x Zoom is currently one of only two smartphones to offer such a long focal length (the other one being the Huawei P30 Pro). The tele is the Reno’s standout feature, but the rest of the specs are fully worthy of a 2019 high-end smartphone, too. The primary camera uses a 48MP Quad-Bayer sensor in combination with a fast f/1.7-aperture lens, and a 16mm-equivalent ultra-wide camera is on board as well. In video mode, the Oppo is capable of recording 4K-resolution video at up to 60 frames per second.

Users can frame and review photos and video clips on a 6.6-inch FHD+ AMOLED display; selfie shooters can make use of a motorized pop-up front camera; and Qualcomm’s top-end Snapdragon 855 chipset powers the Android 9 operating system.

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple-camera setup
  • Primary: 48MP 1/2″ sensor with 26mm-equivalent f/1.7-aperture lens, PDAF, Laser AF, OIS
  • Ultra-wide: 8MP sensor with 16mm-equivalent f/2.2-aperture lens
  • Tele: 13MP sensor with 130mm-equivalent f/3.0-aperture lens, PDAF, Laser AF, OIS
  • Dual-LED flash
  • 4K video, 2160p/60fps

Please note: the firmware version we have tested the Oppo Reno 10x Zoom with is not publicly available yet. It will be released early January 2020.

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

116
camera
125
photo
100
video

With a DXOMARK Camera overall score of 116, the Oppo Reno 10x easily secures a spot in the top ten of our current smartphone camera ranking, making it a very viable alternative to flagship models from other brands. It also earns itself a Photo score of 125, thanks to good still image performance in most situations.

Oppo Reno 10x images show good exposure and accurate white balance.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom images show good exposure in most conditions down to low light. Colors can look a little less saturated in comparison to the competition, but white balance tends to be accurate, making for neutral results. Images captured with the primary camera also show good detail in bright light and when shooting indoors, but some noise can be visible in all light conditions, especially in the shadow areas of the frame. Our testers also found ghosting and ringing artifacts in some images.

The zoom range is one of the Oppo’s headline features, and while the optical tele- and the ultra-wide lenses are capable of good results in most situations, there’s still some room for improvement. The zoom captures decent detail at all settings, but is not quite on the same level as the very best in class. Image fusion artifacts can be quite intrusive, with a very visible drop-off in detail towards the edges in medium-range shots. The same effect can be seen in ultra-wide shots, which in addition display a lack of detail and some noise.

Colors are neutral, but can be slightly less saturated than for some competitors.

In video mode, the Oppo Reno 10x captures footage at 4K resolution that shows good detail in bright light and when shooting indoors, while keeping noise levels low in most conditions. Video color is outstanding, with accurate white balance and vivid color rendering, and the autofocus is fast and reliable in most situations, with only some instabilities, mostly in low light.

Stabilization is fairly effective at counteracting walking motion and camera shake when holding the device still while recording. However, a jello effect and some motion blur are visible in some of our sample clips. Our testers also observed several image artifacts, but even so, the Oppo’s overall moving image performance earns it an impressive 100 points for Video.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor video

Photo scores explained

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom achieves a Photo score of 125 points, putting it into the top ten of the DXOMARK Photo ranking. The Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of a device’s performance for still images under different lighting conditions. In this section, we take a closer look at how these sub-scores were determined and compare image quality against some key competitors.

Exposure and Contrast

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

94

98

Huawei P40 Pro

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom does well in this category, with good target exposure from bright scenes down to low light. In very dim conditions, exposure tends to be a little darker than for some competitors, but is still acceptable. Dynamic range is good, too, but not quite as wide as on the iPhone 11 Pro Max. In the samples below, you can see that the devices do quite well at preserving the highlights in the sky, but the Apple image reveals a touch more detail in the shaded face of the person in the scene; the Xiaomi image shows the most highlight clipping in the clouds.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor exposure
Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, crop, low target exposure on face
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor exposure
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, slightly brighter face
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, outdoor exposure
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, low target exposure on face

In the comparison below with the Huawei P30 Pro, both cameras handle the difficult high-contrast scene well, but some highlight clipping occurs in both images. Looking more closely, you can see that the P30 Pro shows more detail in the shadow areas under the bridge.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor exposure, some highlight clipping, loss of detail in the shadows
Huawei P30 Pro, outdoor exposure, some highlight clipping, better shadow detail

Color

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

88

91

Oppo Find X2 Pro

Color in the Reno 10x Zoom images is generally pleasant, with accurate white balance, but  tends to be slightly less saturated compared to the competition, as you can see in the outdoor sample below.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor color, low saturation
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor color, vibrant colors
Huawei P30 Pro, outdoor color, slightly low saturation

The same slight desaturation is also noticeable in this indoor shot, which in addition shows a slight orange color cast. In comparison, the yellow and blue tones are more vibrant in the Xiaomi and Huawei images.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, indoor color, low saturation
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, indoor color, good saturation
Huawei P30 Pro, indoor color, good saturation

Autofocus

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

100

Highest Score

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom autofocus performed very well in our tests. It is very quick, accurate, and repeatable in all light conditions. In the comparison graph below, you can see that the Oppo consistently delivers good focus with both short and long delays after defocusing the camera, even at a low 20 lux light level.

Autofocus comparison, 20 lux

Texture

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

71

85

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

Noise

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

73

82

Honor V30 Pro

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom camera is capable of capturing good detail in outdoor shots, but is not quite on the same level as the very best in this category. As you can see in the outdoor sample below, the Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition squeezes some noticeable extra detail out of the scene. The P30 Pro applies a touch more sharpening, but its detail is on a very similar level overall to the Oppo’s.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor detail
Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, crop (scaled for comparison), decent detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, outdoor detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, class-leading detail
Huawei P30 Pro, outdoor detail
Huawei P30 Pro, crop (scaled for comparison), good detail

Fine luminance noise is visible in the shadow areas of images that were taken in bright light. Noise becomes a little more visible in indoor conditions, such as in the sample scene below. In this comparison, noise levels are the highest in the Oppo image; the Apple is cleaner but not as clean as the Xiaomi camera, which controls noise very well. There is also noticeably more highlight clipping on the subject’s arm in the Oppo image than those from the other two devices.

Oppo Reno 10x zoom, indoor noise
Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, crop (scaled for comparison), visible noise
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, indoor noise
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, low noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, indoor noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop (scaled for comparison), low noise

Artifacts

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

79

86

Huawei P40 Pro

Image artifacts are generally well under control on the Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, and while our testers saw some ringing and flare, those effects aren’t any worse than for most competing devices. Arguably the most intrusive artifact is a halo effect that we observed in some images, including in the sample below, which shows a very noticeable halo around the subject’s hair in front of the monochrome background.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, halo artifact
Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, crop

Zoom

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

92

115

Huawei P40 Pro

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom unsurprisingly scores well in the Zoom category, but it is not quite as good as the Huawei P30 Pro, the only other phone on the market with a 5x optical tele-lens, nor as good as the Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition with its dual tele-lenses.

A loss of fine textures is noticeable at a medium-range zoom factor, but the Oppo does well compared to the competition in terms of detail. Noise levels are higher than on the Xiaomi and the Huawei, though.

Oppo 10x Zoom, medium-range zoom
Oppo 10x Zoom, crop, good detail, noise
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, medium-range zoom
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, good detail
Huawei P30 Pro, medium-range zoom
Huawei P30 Pro, crop, good detail

The loss of detail is more obvious at long range, but detail is still good next to the competition. However, we can see some ringing and unnatural rendering of detail at long zoom distances.

Oppo 10x Zoom, long-range zoom
Oppo 10x Zoom, crop, loss of detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, long-range zoom
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, loss of detail
Huawei P30 Pro, long-range zoom
Huawei P30 Pro, crop, loss of detail

When zooming, the Oppo fuses images from its primary and tele cameras to optimize image quality. However, fusion artifacts are very noticeable. In the image below, you can clearly see the border between the central part of the frame, which was captured with the tele-lens, and the edge areas, which were captured with the primary camera and digitally zoomed. In addition, our testers also found other artifacts in zoom images, including halos and a lack of detail in certain textures.

Oppo 10x Zoom, medium-range zoom, fusion artifacts
Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, crop

Bokeh

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

65

75

Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom delivers good results with a natural look in bokeh simulation mode. Some depth estimation errors tend to be visible around the subject, but overall the camera separates subject and background quite nicely, and depth estimation outdoors is on a similar level to that of the P30 Pro. Quality drops a little when shooting in bokeh mode indoors, though.

Other than that, the simulated images also offer a nicely-shaped bokeh, and spotlights in the background show good contrast. Noise levels are low and consistent across subject and background, making for a natural look. Just as for standard photo mode, though, color saturation is low.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, bokeh simulation
Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, crop, good depth estimation
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, bokeh simulation
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, some depth estimation errors
Huawei P30 Pro, bokeh simulation
Huawei P30 Pro, crop, good depth estimation

Wide

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

35

47

Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra

The Oppo’s 16mm-equivalent ultra-wide camera offers a field of view that is not quite as wide as the iPhone 11 Pro Max’s, but wider than the Huawei P30 Pro’s. Detail at the center of the frame tends to be good and noise levels are well controlled, but we observed a very strong loss of detail towards the edges of the frame. As with zoom, this is the result of fusion algorithms: the center portion of the frame is captured with the primary camera and the edges are filled with image information captured by the ultra-wide camera, but he transition between the two cameras is not very well managed, as you can see in the sample shot below.

Our testers also found other artifacts, including ringing, noisy edges, and color quantization in the Oppo’s ultra-wide images, resulting in a Wide score that is slightly lower than for most direct competitors.

Oppo Reno 10x zoom, ultra-wide
Oppo Reno 10x zoom, crop, lack of detail at the edges
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, ultra-wide
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, decent detail in the corners
Huawei P30 Pro, ultra-wide
Huawei P30 Pro, crop, decent detail in the corners

Night

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom

57

70

Huawei P40 Pro

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom performs well for low-light and night shots. In flash auto mode, exposure is good and color rendering is usually pleasant. When flash triggers in portrait shots, white balance and exposure are well-adjusted for the subject, but some ghosting can be visible when the flash does not trigger.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, flash-auto
Huawei P30 Pro, flash-auto

With the flash forced on, images show good detail and acceptable levels of noise. Light fall-off towards the edges is well controlled, but a slight yellow-greenish color cast can be visible. With the flash set to off, we observed a color shift towards blue, along with desaturated colors when shooting in very low light.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, night mode
Huawei P30 Pro, night mode

Video scores explained

With an overall Video score 100 points, the Oppo Reno 10x is one of the best performers for Video in our database and is surpassed only by the Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max and the Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition. The overall Video score is derived from performance and results across a range of attributes in the same way as the Photo score: Exposure (85), Color (92), Autofocus (90), Texture (75), Noise (80), Artifacts (83), and Stabilization (90).

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor video, good color but some refocusing and jello effect

The Oppo’s 4K video footage shows outstanding color. Stabilization and autofocus performance still leave some room for improvement, though. Colors are generally vivid with accurate white balance, but in some clips we can see a jello effect and motion blur as well as some refocusing during recording. Other than that, stabilization is effective and the autofocus is fast and repeatable, with only some instabilities, mostly in low light.

Video texture comparison
Video noise comparison

Thanks to its 4K mode, the Oppo also records very good detail in bright light and under typical indoor conditions, but some detail is lost in low light, as you can see in the comparison graph above.  Noise levels are low when shooting outdoors and still well controlled in low light, but indoor footage shows coarse luminance noise. Our testers also noticed some exposure overshooting when adapting to changing conditions in low light, along with several artifacts, including denoising on moving objects, aliasing, and ghosting in some conditions.

Oppo Reno 10x Zoom, outdoor video
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor video
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, outdoor video

Conclusion

The Oppo Reno 10x Zoom offers one of the widest zoom ranges we have seen, from 16mm ultra-wide to 130mm tele-lens, and puts in a solid performance in almost all areas, earning itself an excellent DXOMARK Camera overall score of 116 and a spot in the top ten in our ranking. There is some room for improvement for the zoom and ultra-wide lens modules, which suffer from fusion artifacts, but overall, the Oppo is still a great choice for mobile photographers who want the option to zoom in on a subject or out to widen the field of view. With a very good video performance added to the mix, the Oppo is a an excellent device for tackling any mobile imaging task.

Photo

Pros

  • Accurate target exposure in most conditions
  • Generally accurate white balance
  • Good detail in bright light and when shooting indoors
  • Good flash performance
  • Ultra-wide offers decent detail at the center of the frame
  • Good zoom performance at close and medium range

Cons

  • Noise in shadow areas of the frame
  • Strong loss of detail and noise in medium-range zoom shots
  • Occasional ringing and ghosting artifacts
  • Some focus instabilities when shooting at night
  • Loss of detail towards the edges in ultra-wide shots
  • Noise and lack of detail in ultra-wide images
  • Generally low levels of color saturation

Video

Pros

  • Accurate white balance and vivid colors
  • Good detail in bright light and indoor condtions
  • Low noise outdoors and in low light
  • Fast and repeatable autofocus in bright light
  • Effective stabilization

Cons

  • Coarse luminance noise in indoor footage
  • Autofocus instabilities in low light
  • Slight loss of detail in low light
  • Exposure overshooting in low light
  • Various artifacts visible in footage

In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.