三星Galaxy A8(2018)评测:高光拍照

DxOMark
Mobile
79

2018年初,三星A8 中端智能手机推出最新机型——Galaxy A8 (2018)。该手机搭载Exynos 7885 Octa处理器,后置摄像头配备了一枚1600万像素、1/2.8英寸大小的传感器,其单位像素大小为1.12微米, 光圈为f/1.7。它还配备了相位检测自动对焦和一枚LED闪光灯。而对于智能手机视频拍摄爱好者而言,三星Galaxy A8 (2018)能以30fps的速度拍摄出1080p的高清视频。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 1600万像素传感器,尺寸为1/2.8英寸,单个像素尺寸为1.12微米
  • f/1.7光圈
  • 相位检测自动对焦
  • LED闪光灯
  • 支持1080P/30fps高清视频录制
  • 双“自拍”前置摄像头,双摄像头的组合为1600万像素+800万像素

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中,DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置来拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,然后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见这里

测评摘要

平衡光照条件下准确曝光是Galaxy A8(2018)的核心优势之一。

三星Galaxy A8(2018)的后置摄像头在DxOMark的测试中整体得分为79分。其静态照片拍摄表现得分为82分,略高于视频拍摄表现的74分。三星手机的核心优势在于静态摄影时大多数光照条件下都能准确曝光,明亮光照下色彩渲染良好,伪像控制表现也不错。Galaxy A8(2018)主要改善了在低光照条件下自动对焦功能表现不稳定、不准确,同时也改善了由于降低亮度噪点而导致的的细节保留表现。 Galaxy A8(2018) 只配备了单镜头,因而其变焦拍照质量无法与高端机型的双摄像头相比,因为通常双摄像头的第二个镜头是长焦距镜头。而且这款机型还没有散景模式,无法在人像拍摄时对拍摄背景进行模糊处理。

我们在实验室中对这款机型进行了准确曝光测试,结果显示:在良好的光照条件下, Galaxy A8(2018)的拍摄效果非常不错,这也为其曝光赢得了不错的分数。在极端低光条件下(1勒克斯),拍摄图像曝光不足;但在5勒克斯的光照条件下,图像则显得比较明亮,适于使用。然而,拍摄高对比度场景时,Galaxy A8 (2018)动态范围受限,许多样片都存在高光区域曝光过度和阴影细节被遮蔽的情况。
三星Galaxy A8(2018)拍摄的HDR自然测试场景,高光和阴影的细节都消失了。
实验测试图显示当光照低至20勒克斯时(上图所示),拍摄效果都不错,且在5勒克斯的条件下拍摄照片仍然可用。

无论户外还是室内拍摄的图像,色彩表现都令人愉快,颜色鲜明但色彩不会过度饱和,但在极低光照条件下色彩饱和度会发生明显的下降。白平衡会随着光照条件发生可察觉的轻微变化;户外拍摄时,照片常常显示偏蓝色;低光照条件下,图像出现粉红色色偏。尽管如此,这两者情况都不是特别严重,不会让人担忧。

无论户外还是室内拍摄的图像,色彩表现整体而言都令人愉悦,颜色鲜明但色彩不会过度饱和。
户外拍摄的图像会出现轻微的白平衡异常,同时图像会发生轻微的蓝色色偏,但效果并不严重,也并不会令人担忧。

就纹理表现和亮度噪点控制而言,三星Galaxy A8(2018)在两者的取舍间更倾向于降低噪点。这样使得在低光照条件下,Galaxy A8 (2018)拍摄图片流畅,干净利落,可与苹果iPhone 8等高端机型匹敌,明显优于诺基亚8等中端机型的竞争对手。

三星Galaxy A8(2018)在20勒克斯的裁剪图
苹果iPhone 8在20勒克斯的裁剪图
诺基亚8在20勒克斯的裁剪图

这种策略的缺点是损失纹理,不能保存精美的细节。在明亮光线下,Galaxy A8(2018)细节方面表现相当不错(尽管离我们所见过最好的机型还有很大差距),但在室内或低光条件下,与高端设备拍摄的图像相比,Galaxy A8(2018)拍摄的图像有一个明显的区别,即在匀色区域内通常不能记录细节。

三星Galaxy A8(2018)在20勒克斯的裁剪图
苹果iPhone 8在20勒克斯的裁剪图
诺基亚8在20勒克斯的裁剪图

在明亮的光线条件下,Galaxy A8(2018)的自动对焦性能表现不错,在1000和300勒克斯的光照下,能始终如一地显示出清晰的图像。1000勒克斯下,相机自动对焦速度非常快,但是在300勒克斯下,自动对焦速度较慢且不稳定,用户无法确定照片何时能拍下。在低光照条件下(20勒克斯),相机的性能也相对较差,在我们的测试中有大量图像失焦。

作为一款中档机型的手机,三星Galaxy A8(2018)的伪像控制可以说非常不错,虽然在大尺寸拍摄的照片中也会出现振铃现象、耀斑、蓝绿色色差,图像中心与边缘部分清晰度差距较大,但这些问题在手机上显示时并不会引起注意。闪光的表现也可以,无论是仅使用闪光灯拍摄还是混合闪光拍摄,图像曝光稍微不足,且细节表现较低,但这并不会令我们惊讶。一些色彩量化效果也明显可见。

三星Galaxy A8(2018)拍摄视频时也有同样的优势和缺点。户外和室内环境拍摄时,色彩鲜艳,但在极低光照下,饱和度较低。在大多数情况下,图像亮度噪点都很低。防抖系统也相当有效,但在步行情况下拍摄,影片会出现一些抖动。这种情况在智能手机中并不少见,也不是主要问题。自动对焦也存在问题,频繁失焦会干扰观看者的视觉体验。动态范围很有限,所以在光线不好的情况下,包括低光环境下,最好不要用Galaxy A8 (2018)拍摄视频,因为视频常常会曝光不足。

结论

三星Galaxy A8(2018)总得分为79分,在中端智能手机中表现中庸。在适当的光照条件下,有可能取得良好拍摄效果,曝光良好,色彩适宜,同时伪像控制得当,噪点水平优异。但动态范围受限,如果HDR无法启动,则会损失大量细节。低光照条件下,发生的主要问题是自动对焦异常导致拍摄图像模糊,虽然Galaxy A8(2018)强大的降噪功能可以让图像平滑,但细节损失却非常严重。考虑其比高端机型便宜很多的定价,Galaxy A8 (2018) 整体表现不错,但随着中国制造商将旗舰机型的摄影功能和图像质量带入到中端机型,三星Galaxy A8 (2018)面临着激烈的竞争。

79
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy A8
82
photo
Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018)
74
video
Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018)

优点

  • 在大多数情况下实验测试图有准确的曝光效果
  • 噪点低
  • 伪像控制不错
  • 颜色渲染令人愉悦

优点

  • 噪点低
  • 防抖性能相当不错
  • 颜色渲染令人愉悦

不足

  • 细节表现不足
  • 自动对焦缓慢,偶尔对焦不准确
  • 有限的动态范围

不足

  • 低光照条件下曝光不足
  • 自动对焦缓慢,偶尔对焦不准确
  • 有限的动态范围
We are hiring!

Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) review: Bright light shooter

79
DxOMark Mobile

In stores from early 2018, the Galaxy A8 (2018) is the latest incarnation of Samsung’s A8 mid-range smartphone, powered by the Exynos 7885 Octa chipset. Offering a single-cam setup, the A8 (2018)’s rear-facing camera features a 16Mp 1/2.8-inch sensor with 1.12µm pixels and an f/1.7-aperture lens. Other features include phase detection autofocus and an LED flash. For smartphone video enthusiasts, the Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) shoots Full HD 1080p footage at 30fps.

Key camera specifications:

  • 16Mp 1/2.8-inch sensor with 1.12µm pixels
  • f/1.7 aperture lens
  • Phase detection autofocus
  • LED flash
  • Full HD 1080@30fps video
  • Dual 16Mp + 8Mp “selfie” cameras

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video in both controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of the testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here.

Test summary

Accurate exposure in well-balanced lighting conditions is one of the A8 (2018)’s key strengths.

The Samung Galaxy A8 (2018)’s rear-facing camera achieves an overall DxOMark score of 79 points. Performance is slightly better for still photos, where the device achieves a Photo score of 82 points, compared to 74 points for video. The Samsung’s key strengths for stills are accurate exposures in most lighting conditions, good color rendering in bright light, and well-controlled artifacts. Main areas for improvement include autofocus, which can be unstable and inaccurate in low light, as well as detail preservation, which suffers due to the device’s preference towards noise reduction. Equipped with a single lens, the quality of zoom pictures isn’t comparable to the dual-cameras of higher-end devices that are featuring a second tele-lens, and there’s no Bokeh mode to artificially blur the background on portraits.

Accurate test chart exposures in the lab and good results in well-balanced lighting conditions helped the A8 (2018) achieve a good score for exposure. In extreme low light (1 lux), images are underexposed, but images at 5 lux are brighter and more usable. Dynamic range is limited when shooting high-contrast scenes, however, with both overexposed highlights and blocked shadow details in many examples.

Details in both highlights and shadows were lost when shooting this HDR natural test scene with the Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018).
Chart exposures in the lab show good results down to 20 lux (shown above), and usable results at 5 lux.

Color rendering is pleasant in both indoor and outdoor images, with nice but not overly saturated hues, although a significant drop in saturation is evident in extreme low light. A slight variation in white balance is visible depending on the lighting conditions, with a blue shift often visible when shooting outdoors, and a pink cast in low light, although neither are particularly strong or concerning.

Color rendering is generally pleasant in both outdoor and indoor images, with nice but not overly saturated hues.
Some minor white balance irregularities occur, with a slight blue cast visible in outdoor images, but the effect isn’t overly strong or concerning.

The Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018)’s trade-off between texture and noise veers towards heavier noise reduction. The result is nicely smooth and clean files in low light that compete with those from premium devices such as the Apple iPhone 8, and which are noticeably better than those from mid-range competitors such as the Nokia 8.

Crop of Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) at 20 lux.
Crop of Apple iPhone 8 at 20 lux.
Crop of Nokia 8 at 20 lux.

The downside to this strategy is a loss of texture and fine detail preservation. In bright light, detail is fairly good (although far from the best we’ve seen), but there’s a significant difference for indoor or low-light images, with often no detail recorded in flat areas, compared to images shot with premium devices.

Crop of Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) at 20 lux.
Crop of Apple iPhone 8 at 20 lux.
Crop of Nokia 8 at 20 lux.

In bright light conditions, autofocus performance is respectable, delivering consistently sharp images in our benchmark test under 1000 and 300 lux lighting. At 1000 lux, autofocus speed is pretty fast, but it’s slower and inconsistent at 300 lux, and you can’t be sure when the picture will be taken. Performance in low-light conditions (20 lux) is relatively poor, too, with a significant number of images in our benchmark test being out of focus.

The Samsung A8 (2018) controls artifacts extremely well for a mid-range device, and although ringing, flare, cyan shift, and a difference in sharpness between the center and edges of the frame are apparent in some pictures viewed at large scale, they’re of less concern when viewing images on the device’s display. Flash performance is okay, if not amazing, slightly underexposing both flash-only and mixed-flash pictures, with low levels of detail. Some color quantization is visible, too.

The same strengths and weaknesses are present when shooting videos with the Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018). Colors are vibrant in outdoor and indoor conditions, but less saturated in very low light, while noise is low in most conditions. The stabilization system is also fairly effective, and although some judder is visible in movies shot with walking motion, this isn’t uncommon for smartphones, and it’s not a major concern. Autofocus problems persist, however, with frequent out-of-focus frames disrupting the viewing experience. Dynamic range is also limited, so it’s best not to shoot video in challenging lighting conditions on the A8 (2018), including in low-light environments in which movies are often underexposed.

Conclusion

With an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 79 points, the Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) achieves a mid-range score for a mid-range smartphone. Under the right conditions, good results are possible, with nice exposures and pleasant color, as well as well-controlled artifacts and noise. Dynamic range is limited, however, and when HDR fails to kick in, there’s a significant loss of detail. The main problems occur in low light, however, where autofocus irregularities often result in blurry pictures; and although the strong noise reduction ensures smooth images, there’s a heavy loss of detail. Priced significantly cheaper than premium devices, it’s a respectable performance overall, but with Chinese manufacturers bringing flagship photography features and image quality to their mid-range devices, the Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018) has some stiff competition.

79
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy A8
82
DxOMark Mobile
photo
74
DxOMark Mobile
video

Pros

  • Accurate test chart exposures in most conditions
  • Low level of noise
  • Well-controlled artifacts
  • Pleasant color rendering

Pros

  • Low level of noise
  • Fairly effective stabilization
  • Pleasant color rendering

Cons

  • Low level of detail
  • Slow and occasionally inaccurate autofocus
  • Limited dynamic range

Cons

  • Underexposure in very low light
  • Slow and occasionally inaccurate autofocus
  • Limited dynamic range
We are hiring!