三星 Galaxy S10 5G 前置摄像头评测

DxOMark
Selfie
97

Galaxy S10 5G是三星Galaxy S10高端手机系列的顶尖机型,具有各种顶级技术规格。在纸面上,5G的摄像头硬件规格与Galaxy S10标配机型相同:其镜头后方内置一个1000万像素图像传感器,等效焦距25毫米,并配有一个快速的f/1.9光圈。此外,Galaxy S10 5G的前置摄像头配备了一个双像素自动对焦系统,反观许多竞争机型却仍然采用定焦镜头,因此5G在摄距方面可以提供更大的灵活性。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 单一前置摄像头
  • 1/3英寸1000万像素图像传感器,1.12微米像素距
  • 25毫米等效焦距
  • f/1.9光圈
  • 像素自动对焦

请注意:DxOMark测试的摄像头所使用的固件目前尚未向消费者提供,三星将在本月底之前提供在线下载更新。

关于DxOMark Selfie测试DxOMark工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。 

测试摘要

97
DxOMark selfie
Samsung Galaxy S10 5g
101
photo
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G
90
video
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G

三星Galaxy S10 5G在DxOMark Selfie智能手机前置摄像测试中拿下了97分,成为本排行榜的新榜首。5G的整体测试结果与Galaxy S10+非常接近,但它在几个测试项目中(特别是视频)的一些微小改进使其比Galaxy S10+多拿下一分。

两者的静态图像的测试结果几乎相同,只有在散景模式和闪光灯方面存在相当小的差异。5G的曝光和白平衡非常可重复,面部也有准确的测标曝光,因此在照片类别中获得101分,与S10+同分。此外,各种肤色的演色性也不错。在下面的室内集体合照中可以观察到这些图像特征:5G的面部测标曝光显然比谷歌Pixel 3的比较样张更好。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,室内集体自拍照
谷歌Pixel 3,室内集体自拍照

一如许多前置摄像头,S10 5G在高对比度情况下显得有点力不从心:其动态范围略小,可能会导致一些明显的溢光剪切纹理,特别是在明亮的背景中或严峻的光线条件下更是如此,但5G在这方面的表现优于Pixel 3,与华为P30 Pro平分秋色。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,高对比场景
谷歌Pixel 3,高对比场景
华为P30 Pro,高对比场景

双像素自动对焦系统的确比定焦系统更具优势,可在各种摄距上赋予主要拍摄对象良好的清晰度;其对焦表现也可重复,可在一系列图像中获得一致的拍摄结果。在集体合照中,S10 5G通常可以让最接近的被摄体清晰对焦,不过其景深比谷歌Pixel 3和S10+稍浅,使得稍微后面的拍摄对象损失了一些清晰度。然而,我们的样张的裁剪区域的清晰度还算可以接受,并且明显优于华为P30 Pro。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,集体自拍照
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,集体自拍照
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
华为P30 Pro,集体自拍照
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图

在纹理和噪点方面,Galaxy S10 5G采用了一种非常平衡的手法,其表现仅逊于谷歌Pixel 3。该摄像头在高光下可以捕获很到位的细节,但比不上谷歌手机的表现。皮肤上的噪点得到很好的控制,背景区域的噪点也仅勉强可见。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,1000勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,1000勒克斯
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,1000勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

在典型的室内照明条件下拍摄时,S10 5G前置摄像头能够捕获相当丰富的细节,但仍然略逊于同类手机中表现最佳的款型,例如谷歌Pixel 3。在背景中也可以观察到细节损失,不过好处是噪点得到了很好的控制。脸部的测标曝光也很好,白平衡准确,整体上产生了悦目的演色性。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,室内自拍照
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,室内自拍照
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,室内自拍照
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

在非常低的光线条件下(例如我们下面的10勒克斯摄影棚场景),S10 5G的细节损失变得非常明显;谷歌Pixel 3也是如此,但是它在昏暗的条件下对精细纹理的勾勒也更好些,一如其在更亮的光线下的表现。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,10勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,10勒克斯
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,10勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

S10 5G仰赖其单一前置摄像头模拟单反相机快速镜头的浅景深,以产生散景效果,虽然其效果做得不错,但是被摄体周围通常可以看到一些分割伪像。在这个测试项目中,5G的表现不如Galaxy S10+那么好,因为后者额外配备了一个用于模拟散景的深度传感器,这也意味着5G摄像头会使场景中无法被辨识为被摄体的一部分的东西变得模糊,甚至连在同一焦平面上的元素也是如此;而且所有模糊的图像区域都具有相同的模糊强度,没有任何模糊渐变;不过,从好的方面来说,低光下的点光渲染的效果则稍好一些(更大)。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,散景模式
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图

在闪光灯方面,5G的测试结果也与S10+略有不同,因为其晕影伪像和自动对焦的可靠性都有所改善,不过与S10+相同的是,5G的闪光图像也显示出良好的测标曝光和不错的细节。

三星Galaxy S10 5G,闪光灯照片
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图

5G在视频类别中取得90分,其得分比S10+多了两分,成绩非常优异。三星成像工程师在这一最新机型上提高了视频各个领域的性能:对焦在室内照明条件下变得更加稳定;色彩和曝光的不稳定性也降低了;我们在S10+上看到的移动纹理伪像现在也变得比较不明显;在边走边拍时录制的影片中,防抖也略有改善。
总体而言,三星的视频输出与静止图像拥有许多共同的特征:其脸部都有准确的测标曝光,在大多数光线条件下也都能很好地呈现肤色;细节在高光和室内条件下都很到位,但在低光下稍微差些;噪点也得到很好的控制。在不足方面,由于动态范围太小而导致溢光剪切纹理的产生;我们的测试人员还观察到它偶尔会莫名其妙地重新对焦,在静止不动录制时也会出现一些运动残影。

结论

三星Galaxy S10 5G凭借几个测试项目的小改进(特别是在视频方面),取代了Galaxy S10+,成为DxOMark Selfie排行榜的新状元。对于大多数考虑购买S10 5G的消费者而言,其主要动机也许是其新一代的连接技术,不过自拍爱好者也会非常满意这款最新三星高端手机,因为它采用了非常平衡的纹理勾勒和降噪手法,以及高效的自动对焦系统,可在各种摄距上拍出清晰的人像。此外,S10 5G的测标曝光和演色性几乎没有什么可抱怨的地方,所有这些优势都促使S10 5G成为迄今性能最佳的前置摄像头。

照片优点

  • 面部测标曝光正确
  • 在所有摄距和光线条件下都能拍出清晰的人像,并实现可重复的自动对焦。
  • 噪点控制得当,即使在低光下也是如此
  • 可重复的曝光和白平衡。
  • 在高光下和室内均能呈现不错的细节
  • 闪光图像显示出良好的曝光和演色性,噪点水平也还算可接受。

视频优点

  • 在大多数光线条件下都能呈现悦目的肤色和演色性。
  • 面部测标曝光正确。
  • 噪点水平控制合宜。
  • 在高光下和室内均能呈现不错的细节。

照片不足

  • 动态范围稍小了些,从而产生了溢光剪切纹理。
  • 偶尔出现绿色白平衡色偏。
  • 散景模式下的深度估计伪像;没有模糊渐变。
  • 丢失精细细节,特别是在低光下。
  • 稍小的对焦范围可能导致群体自拍照中的面部失焦。

视频不足

  • 偶尔不稳定的测标曝光。
  • 动态范围略小。
  • 偶尔进行不必要的重新对焦。
  • 静止握持摄像头录制时,有一些高频运动残影。

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G front camera review

DxOMark
Selfie
97

The Galaxy S10 5G is the top-of-the-line model in Samsung’s high-end Galaxy S10 series, offering premium specifications all around. On paper, the 5G’s camera hardware specs are identical to those of the standard Galaxy S10 — a 10Mp image sensor behind a lens with a 25mm-equivalent focal length and a fast f/1.9 aperture. While many competitors still rely on fixed-focus lenses in the front camera, the Galaxy S10 5G comes with a dual-pixel autofocus system, allowing for more flexibility in terms of subject distance.

Key front camera specifications:

  • Single front camera
  • 1/3-inch 10Mp sensor with 1.22µm pixels
  • 25mm-equivalent focal length
  • F/1.9 aperture
  • Dual-pixel AF

Please note: The camera firmware used for the DxOMark tests is not yet currently available to consumers. It will be made available by Samsung as an over-the-air update before the end of the month.

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

97
DxOMark selfie
Samsung Galaxy S10 5g
101
photo
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G
90
video
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G
With a score of 97 points, the Samsung Galaxy S10 5G is the new number one in our DxOMark Selfie smartphone front camera ranking. The results are very close to the Galaxy S10+ overall, but small improvements in several test categories, particularly for video, have helped the 5G edge out its cousin by one point.

That said, the results for still image photography are pretty much identical, with only fairly minor differences in bokeh mode and flash capture. The 5G’s Photo score of 101 is on the same high level as for the S10+, thanks to very repeatable exposure and white balance, as well as accurate target exposure on faces. In addition, color rendering is good for all types of skin tones. These image characteristics are all visible in the indoor group shot below, which shows noticeably better face target exposure than the Google Pixel 3 comparison shot.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, indoor group selfie
Google Pixel 3, indoor group selfie

Like many front cameras, the S10 5G struggles a little in high-contrast situations. Dynamic range is slightly limited, which can result in some noticeable highlight clipping, particularly with bright backgrounds or in harsh lighting conditions. That said, the 5G is better than the Pixel 3 in this respect, and on a similar level as the Huawei P30 Pro.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, high-contrast scene
Google Pixel 3, high-contrast scene
Huawei P30 Pro, high-contrast scene

The dual-pixel autofocus system is a real advantage over fixed-focus systems and ensures good sharpness on the main subject from a wide range of shooting distances. The focus is also repeatable, ensuring consistent results across a series of images. In group shots, the S10 5G usually achieves very good focus on the closest subject. Depth of field is a little more narrow than on the Google Pixel 3 and S10+, however, resulting in a touch of softness on subjects further back. However, sharpness is still acceptable in the cropped area of our sample shot, and noticeably better than on the Huawei P30 Pro.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, group selfie
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop
Google Pixel 3, group selfie
Google Pixel 3, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, group selfie
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

In terms of texture and noise, the Galaxy S10 5G offers a very well-balanced approach and is beaten only by the Google Pixel 3. In bright light conditions, the camera captures good detail but is not quite on the same level as the Google device. Noise on the skin is very well under control and is only very slightly noticeable in background areas.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop
Google Pixel 3, 1000 lux
Google Pixel 3, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

When shooting under typical indoor lighting conditions, the S10 5G front camera is capable of capturing fairly good levels of detail, but again slightly lags behind the best in class, such as the Google Pixel 3. A loss of detail can also be observed in the background, but on the plus side, noise levels are well under control. Targeting on the face is good, too, and white balance is accurate, resulting in an overall pleasant color rendering.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, indoor selfie
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop
Google Pixel 3, indoor selfie
Google Pixel 3, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, indoor selfie
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

In very low light conditions, such as in our 10 lux studio scene below, a loss of detail becomes very evident. The same is true for the Pixel 3, but like in brighter light, the Google device is a little better at rendering fine textures in dim conditions.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, 10 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop
Google Pixel 3, 10 lux
Google Pixel 3, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, 10 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

The S10 5G relies on its single front camera for generating a bokeh effect that simulates the shallow depth of field of a DSLR + fast lens. It does a decent job, but some segmentation artifacts are usually visible around the subject. In this category, the 5G is not quite as good as the Galaxy S10+, which comes with an additional depth sensor for bokeh simulation. This also means that the 5G camera blurs everything in the scene that it does not identify as part of the subject — even elements that are in the same focus plane. There is also no blur gradient, with the same blur strength in all blurred image areas. On the plus side, spotlights are rendered slightly better (bigger) in low light.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, bokeh mode
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop

Flash is another areas in which the 5G’s test results differ slightly from the S10+, with improvements to both vignetting and autofocus reliability. Like on the S10+, flash images show good target exposure and decent detail.

Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, flash shot
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop

Compared to the S10+, the 5G’s Video score has improved by two points for an excellent Video sub-score of 90 points. Samsung imaging engineers have been able to improve video performance in a range of areas on this newest model: focus is more stable in indoor lighting conditions; they have reduced instabilities color and exposure; the moving texture artifacts we saw on the S10+ are also less noticeable; and stabilization shows slight improvements for footage recorded while walking.

Overall, the Samsung’s video output shares many characteristics with its still images. Target exposure is accurate on faces and skin tones are rendered nicely in most light conditions. Detail is good in bright light and indoor conditions, but suffers slightly in low light. Noise levels are well under control. On the downside, a lack of dynamic range can result in highlight clipping. Our testers also observed occasional refocusing for no obvious reason and some residual motion when holding the camera still while recording.

Conclusion

Thanks to small improvements in several test categories, particularly for video, the Samsung Galaxy S10 5G has taken over the number one spot in our DxOMark Selfie ranking from its cousin, the Galaxy S10+. Most consumers considering a purchase of the S10 5G will be mainly interested in the device’s connectivity features, but selfie shooters will be very happy with Samsung’s latest top-end phone as well, thanks to a very well-balanced approach to texture rendition and noise reduction, as well as to an efficient autofocus system that ensures good subject sharpness across a wide range of shooting distances. Moreover, target exposure and color rendering leave little to complain about, all of which adds up to making the S10 5G our best-performing front camera to date.

Photo pros

  • Accurate target exposure on faces.
  • Good sharpness and repeatable autofocus for all subject distances and light conditions.
  • Well-controlled noise, even in low light.
  • Repeatable exposure and white balance.
  • Good detail in bright light and indoors.
  • Flash images show good exposure and color rendering, acceptable noise levels.

Video pros

  • Pleasant skin tones and color rendering in most light conditions.
  • Accurate target exposure on faces.
  • Well-controlled noise levels.
  • Good detail in bright light and indoors.

Photo cons

  • Slightly limited dynamic range leads to highlight clipping on faces.
  • Occasional greenish white balance cast.
  • Depth estimation artifacts in bokeh mode; no blur gradient.
  • Loss of fine detail, particularly in low light.
  • Slightly limited focus range can lead to out-of-focus faces in group selfies.

Video cons

  • Occasionally unstable target exposure.
  • Slightly limited dynamic range.
  • Occasional unnecessary refocusing.
  • Some residual high-frequency motion when holding the camera still while recording.