三星 Galaxy S8 前置摄像头评测

DxOMark
Selfie
73

三星Galaxy S8最初于2017年3月推出,是当时该韩国制造商旗下的一款旗舰级智能手机。采用1 / 3.6英寸传感器、8百万像素前置摄像头,搭载 25毫米、光圈 f / 1.7 自动对焦镜头。在2017年,具有自动对焦功能的前置摄像头是相当罕见的;而当时其它旗舰机种的前置摄像头规格则是不相上下。请继续往下阅读,以了解 S8 在我们自拍评测中的表现,以及它如何与最近的竞争对手相互较量。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 具1 / 3.6英寸传感器、8百万像素像头(像素尺寸1.22微米)
  • 光圈 f / 1.7 镜头
  • 等效焦距 25mm
  • 自动对焦
  • 1440p 30fp 视频录制 (默认模式下为 1080p 30fp)

有关 DxOMark Selfie评测:我们的智能手机前置摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DxOMark的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1500组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

73
DxOMark selfie
Samsung Galaxy S8
71
photo
Samsung Galaxy S8
75
video
Samsung Galaxy S8

Samsung Galaxy S8 在 DxOMark 自拍评测的总体得分为 73 分,照片分数则为 71 分,获取的成绩十分亮眼,尤其它是一款稍微有点旧的机种。此机种在大部份的测试条件下,甚至是较暗的光源下,曝光效果都很不错。也就是说,所呈现的脸部可以略微明亮些;而没有自动高动态范围的功能,则意味着前置摄像头在高对比度的场景中,会显得力不从心,像是拍摄的主体位于明亮的背景前。在这些情况下,高光剪贴的现象在图像中最亮的部分就显得非常明显。

Galaxy S8 拍摄脸部时的曝光效果通常很好,不过,在明亮的背景下,易形成高光剪贴的现象。

在明亮的条件下,呈现出相当合宜的色彩,不过,有些问题会在较暗的光照状况中显得更为明显,像是白平衡不准确和色彩渐晕。当处于昏暗的环境光源时,我们观察到会有例如黄色/橙色的色偏,同时,演色性在低光下也变得更为暗淡些。

S8的前置摄像头在各种条件下,噪点都控制的相当好,而且,整体来说,三星工程师找到了噪点与细节间折衷的好方法。纹理量测在低光照和主体运动时会降低,但不会比大多数竞争对手的相机表现得差。当使用自拍杆拍摄时,相机的自动对焦功能非常有用,因为它可以让相机对焦到离镜头一臂之长远的主体。可惜的是,在远距对焦的状况下,自动对焦功能并不是很稳定,以致于一系列图像的锐度差异很大。

Samsung Galaxy S8 ,10 勒克斯
Samsung Galaxy S8 ,裁剪图
Apple iPhone X,10 勒克斯
Apple iPhone X, 裁剪图

伪像的项目中,主要的缺点在于S8 呈现出略微不自然的脸部渲染,肤色太亮且纹理也滑顺到不切实际。从好的方面来看,其它常见的伪像,例如振铃效应、畸变(脸部变形)以及重影,都控制的很好。

Samsung Galaxy S8 ,不自然的脸部渲染
Samsung Galaxy S8 ,裁剪图

当拍摄的光照条件太暗且无其他任何额外的光源时, S8的显示屏闪光灯是很有用的工具,可以在大多数的情况下,达到适当的曝光效果。不过,一旦混合了环境光源,闪光灯会造成色偏。三星S8的前置摄像头带有散景模拟模式,但其照片前景上的深度估计伪像较多,最好避免使用该模式。

Samsung Galaxy S8,室内视频

S8的前置摄像头在录制运动图像的表现中相当出色,主要可归功于在各种条件下都有不错的曝光效果,同时,在降噪和细节保留间也取得良好的平衡。有所缺失的是防抖系统,在主体移动时,会使影像呈现出奇异的效果;除此之外,当手持移动时,影像则会变形,因此,总的来说,S8 的稳定性并不像某些竞争对手那般有效。

Samsung Galaxy S8 视频曝光

结论

撰写本文时(2019年1月),三星Galaxy S8是一款推出已近两年的机种-就手机科技的历程而言,可算是一款古董级的智能手机。虽然S8的前置摄像头无法与最新的高端智能手机并驾齐驱,不过,S8的曝光效果大多可圈可点,且在静止图像模式下的降噪和细节保留间也取得相当良好的平衡,因此,仍能获得极为亮眼的评测结果。自拍视频也很出色,除了效果稍差而导致影像失真的防抖系统。总体而言,尽管 Galaxy S8 有点陈年,对于自拍机种来说,依旧是一款别具吸引力的选项。

照片优点

  • 测标曝光良好
  • 降噪和细节保留之间取得良好平衡
  • 适当的闪光灯

视频优点

  • 测标曝光良好
  • 低噪点

照片不足

  • 白平衡不准确与色偏,特别是在低光照条件下
  • 动态范围有限,导致高对比度场景中呈现出高光剪贴的现象
  • 自动对焦不稳定,尤其是长距拍摄时

视频不足

  • 无效的防抖系统导致失真

Samsung Galaxy S8 front camera review

DxOMark
Selfie
73

The Samsung Galaxy S8 was originally launched in March 2017 and was the Korean manufacturer’s flagship smartphone at the time. The 8Mp front camera uses a 1/3.6″ sensor and comes with a 25mm, f/1.7-aperture lens with autofocus. An autofocus system for the front camera was pretty unusual in 2017; the rest of the front camera specs are in line with other flagship devices from the same generation. Keep reading to find out how the S8 performed in our Selfie test and how it stacks up against more recent competition.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 1/3.6″ 8Mp sensor (1.22µm pixel size)
  • f/1.7-aperture lens
  • 25mm-equivalent focal length
  • Autofocus
  • 1440p video at 30fps (1080p at 30 fps at default settings)

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

73
DxOMark selfie
Samsung Galaxy S8
71
photo
Samsung Galaxy S8
75
video
Samsung Galaxy S8

With an overall DxOMark Selfie score of 73 points and a Photo score of 71 points, the Samsung Galaxy S8 achieves a very respectable result, especially considering that it is a slightly older device. The device produced good exposures in most test conditions, even in lower light. That said, faces can be slightly bright, and no auto-HDR means that the front camera can struggle in high-contrast scenes—as when the subject is in front of a bright background for example. In those situations, highlight clipping is very noticeable in the brightest parts of the image.

The Galaxy S8 usually exposes well for faces, but bright backgrounds can be prone to highlight clipping.

Color tends to be decent in bright conditions, but some issues such as white balance inaccuracies and color shading become evident in dimmer conditions. Under dim ambient lighting, we observed a yellow/orange color cast, and color rendering gets a little more dull in low light as well.

The S8 front camera controls noise very well in all conditions, and overall, Samsung engineers found a good noise-versus-detail compromise. Texture measurements drop off in low light and with subject motion, but not any more than on most rival cameras. The camera’s autofocus system can be very useful when shooting with a selfie-stick, because it enables the camera to focus on subjects that are farther than an arm’s length away from the lens. Unfortunately, the autofocus system isn’t very stable at those longer focus distances, resulting in quite a lot of variance in sharpness across a series of images.

Samsung Galaxy S8, 10 lux
Samsung Galaxy S8, crop
Apple iPhone X, 10 lux
Apple iPhone X, crop

In terms of artifacts, our main criticism is that the S8 produces a slightly unnatural rendering of faces, with skin tones that are too bright and textures that are unnaturally smooth. On the plus side, other common artifacts, such as ringinganamorphosis (distortion of faces), and ghosting are well under control.

Samsung Galaxy S8, unnatural face rendering
Samsung Galaxy S8, crop

When light conditions are too dark to shoot without any additional light sources, the S8’s display flash can be a useful tool for producing decent exposures in most situations. However, when mixed with ambient light, the flash has a tendency to produce color casts. The Samsung S8 also comes with a bokeh simulation mode, but it creates a lot of depth estimation artifacts around the foreground subject, making it a shooting mode that is best avoided.

Samsung Galaxy S8, indoor video

The S8’s front camera is an effective performer for moving images, thanks largely to good exposure in all conditions, as well as a nice trade-off between noise reduction and detail retention. Our one point of criticism is the stabilization system, which creates a weird effect when the subject is moving; moreover, deformation is visible in handheld movies, so the S8’s stabilization isn’t as effective overall as that on some rival devices.

Conclusion

At the time of writing (January 2019), the Samsung Galaxy S8 is an almost two-year-old device—and in mobile technology terms, that makes it pretty much an ancient smartphone. However, while the S8’s front camera cannot quite keep up with the latest high-end smartphones, it still delivers very solid results, with mostly good exposures and a very good balance between noise reduction and detail preservation in still image mode. Selfie videos are pretty good, too, with the exception of a slightly ineffective stabilization system that can result in distortion effects. Overall, the Galaxy S8 is still an attractive option for the budding selfie shooter, despite its age.

Photo Pros

  • Good target exposure
  • Good balance between noise reduction and detail retention
  • Decent flash performance

Video Pros

  • Good target exposure
  • Low levels of noise

Photo Cons

  • White balance inaccuracies and color casts, especially in low light
  • Limited dynamic range, resulting in highlight clipping in high-contrast scenes
  • Unstable autofocus, especially at longer subject distances

Video Cons

  • Ineffective stabilization results in distortion