三星 Galaxy Z Flip 摄像头评测

105
camera

6.7英寸AMOLED折叠式显示屏是三星Galaxy Z Flip标榜的一大特色,该手机的显示屏中间可弯曲,但在屏幕上看不到任何折痕,这种精巧的细节,只有极少数手机做得出来。撇开这一点不谈,其基本规格与2020年的旗舰手机相当:尖端的高通855+处理器、8GB系统主存和256GB内部存储。

该手机搭载一对后置摄像头模块,每个模块都有一个1200万像素传感器,但现在的高端手机也许会搭载三个甚至四个后置摄像头,其传感器的分辨率也更高,所以该摄像头在书面上看起来并没有那么高端。主摄像头模块搭配了一个等效27毫米的f/1.8镜头,具有全像素双核相位检测自动对焦系统和光学影像防抖功能。广角摄像头的规格似乎比较令人印象深刻:它的f/2.2镜头的等效焦距为12毫米,其视场比大多数镜头都要宽,但引人注意的是,该手机却没有远摄摄像头。

不过,三星似乎真的很在乎Flip的摄影表现:它的营销广告指出,这款新颖的Flip手机的外形提供了耐人寻味的摄影可能性,例如把手机折叠后,可将其用作拍摄动作或长时间曝光的内置三脚架。在低光下,您可以在 “Night Hyperlapse”模式下录制延时摄影片段,否则您肯定需要一个稳定的拍摄平台才能正常工作。

虽然该手机的摄像头规格表的劲头乍一看并没有那强大,但数字并不是智能手机摄像头竞赛中决定胜负的唯一条件:看一下谷歌的Pixel 4,它的双摄像头规格看起来极其普通,却有很好的摄影表现,所以请阅读我们的DXOMARK Camera评测,见识一下三星究竟可以在这款折叠式手机中榨出多少成像性能。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 双摄像头配置
  • 主摄像头:1200万像素1/2.55英寸传感器,f/1.8镜头,27毫米等效焦距,光学影像防抖(OIS),全像素双核相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 超广角:1200万像素传感器,f/2.2镜头,12毫米等效焦距
  • LED闪光灯
  • 4K 30/60fps视频

关于DXOMARK Camera测试DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多详情,请参见此处

测试结果

105
camera
109
photo
96
video

三星Galaxy Z Flip在DXOMARK Camera中取得105分的总体得分,在我们的数据库中排名第二十,紧接在苹果iPhone XS Max(两年前在我们的测试中排名第二)之后,总体而言,这算是值得称道的表现。考虑到Flip手机的价格,我们通常会对这种旗舰产品抱持着较高的期望,不过,拿它与主流手机的平板设计进行比较并不公平。可以说,与Flip最接近的竞品目前只有一款——摩托罗拉RAZR新推出的翻盖手机,但我们尚未对其进行测试。

Flip的摄像头掌握了基本的摄影功能,可拍出准确的曝光度和大致准确的白平衡。

三星Galaxy Z Flip的户外图像展现了准确的曝光效果和良好的白平衡。

该手机通常也能很好地处理高对比度场景,并提供良好的动态范围,不过我们确实注意到在对比度极高的情况下会出现一些高光位和阴影剪切。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,色调压缩不错,良好的动态范围
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,宽广的动态范围
三星Note 10 Plus 5G,宽广的动态范围,对比度低

在大多数情况下(包括室内),Flip都拍出了悦目的色彩,不过在户外场景中,有时色彩饱和度会有些不足。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,红板的饱和度略微不足
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,良好的演色性
三星Note 10 Plus 5G,漂亮的色彩,良好的饱和度

三星Galaxy Z Flip在户外和室内都把噪点控制得相当好。尽管有时会看到噪点,但并不特别严重。在户外光线良好的情况下,Flip通常可以成功地抑制噪点并保留细节,因此所拍摄的照片纹理到位,噪点也不多。但是,在下面的比较中,这三款手机在这方面的表现都很好。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,户外细节和噪点
三星Galaxy Z Flip,裁剪图,细节到位,噪点不多
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外细节和噪点
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,细节到位,噪点不多
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,户外细节和噪点
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图,细节到位,噪点合宜

然而在某些情况下,其他手机会设法保留纹理,但此时Flip却会以平滑化的手法抹去纹理,让细节做了不必要的牺牲。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,户外细节
三星Galaxy Z Flip,裁剪图,细节保留不佳
三星Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G,户外细节
三星Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G,裁剪图,更好的细节保留

Flip的自动对焦表现好坏参半。好消息是,它的自动对焦准确而一致,而坏消息则是它的速度很慢,令人失望。因为对于当今的高端手机而言,自动对焦的速度通常已不成问题。下面的图表显示了Flip在低光下的自动对焦速度,其性能远远落后于其他手机,一如它在所有测试条件下的表现。

低光下(20勒克斯)的自动对焦比对

三星Galaxy Z Flip的伪像得分为70分,虽然成绩还不错,但难以在此项目中领先群雄。强烈的振铃伪像很常见,角落的清晰度也会降低;有时还会出现耀斑、重影、彩色边纹和摩尔纹。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,角落清晰度降低与彩色边纹
三星Galaxy Z Flip,裁剪图

在我们广角测试中,Galaxy Flip Z的超广角镜头拿下了43分的成绩,击败了许多总分更高的手机(包括当前的头把交椅——华为P40 Pro)。它的等效焦距为12毫米,其视场比其他许多手机都要宽广,因此您可以将很多东西放入画面中。它的色彩宜人、曝光准确,室内外的动态范围都很宽广。

美中不足的是,彩色边纹经常出现,在高对比度边缘上也会出现振铃伪像;在室内测试时,我们也会观察到融合伪像(合并多个帧时所出现的错误)。

在此比较中,您可以看到Flip的12毫米镜头在画面中挤进了比苹果手机的13毫米镜头(实测值为13.7毫米)更多的内容,不过,华为旗舰手机的18毫米超广角镜头所提供的视场更窄。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,12毫米
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,13.7毫米
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,12毫米

尽管Flip的广角表现不错,但该手机似乎不太热衷于远摄性能的发展,在远摄已成为高端手机的标准配置之际, Flip却没有专用的远摄摄像头模块。预料之中的是,该手机在我们的变焦测试中的得分相当惨淡——仅拿下30分。该手机不但没有远摄模块,并且显然也没有像谷歌的Super Res Zoom这样的花哨设计,因此使用Flip进行变焦仅是简单地裁剪主摄像头照片,并补强图像日期罢了,所以输出结果只能说差强人意。它的细节会随着变焦系数增加而急剧变差,而随着锐化算法对越来越少的视觉信息进行处理,噪点和强烈的振铃效应也会随之出现。

三星Galaxy Flip Z,5倍变焦
三星Galaxy Flip Z,裁剪图,细节不佳
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,5倍变焦
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,更好的细节

Flip的散景得分为50分,表现居中,比不上高端手机的典型性能。图像中存在深度估计伪像:例如,有时该算法会清晰呈现拍摄对象的面容,却使身体变得模糊。从好的方面来说,该手机的散景形状通常很好,噪点分布均匀(反观某些手机在模拟背景模糊时会抹去噪点,使拍摄主体上的噪点看起来异乎寻常地明显),但是,它的模糊渐变本身有时看起来不自然。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,散景模式
三星Galaxy Z Flip,裁剪图,严重的深度感应伪像
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,散景模式
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,轻微的深度感应伪像
三星Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G,散景模式
三星Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G,裁剪图,轻微的深度感应伪像

当光线变弱时,Galaxy Z Flip在闪光灯下可以把人像处理得还不错,使被摄对象呈现良好的曝光度,同时也赋予背景一点亮度,而非一片漆黑。但是,仔细检查会发现它的细节不多,而噪点却很多。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,自动闪光模式下拍摄的人像,曝光度佳,但细节不佳,噪点也很多
三星Galaxy Z Flip,裁剪图

夜间的城市景观看起来很普通,细节不多,噪点却很多。如果让Flip手机自行决定是否激活闪光灯,那么有时它会为了尝试照亮城市景观而启用闪光灯(但这通常不是一个好主意)。但其细节和噪点表现与iPhone 11 Pro Max相似。Note 10+ 5G拍出的细节比Flip更少,但它的优势在于图像更清晰。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,闪光灯关闭
三星Galaxy Z Flip,裁剪图,良好的曝光,但细节不多
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,闪光灯关闭
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,类似的细节
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,闪光灯关闭
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图,细节较少,噪点也更少

在拍摄视频时,Galaxy Z Flip可以拍出鲜艳悦目的色彩和准确的曝光度。该手机的自动对焦速度很快并且可以保持一致,这也是视频性能优于静态摄影之处。防抖在户外非常有效。该手机的整体视频得分为96分,表现不错,不过其成绩落后于许多最新的高端手机。

视频纹理比较
视频噪点比较

该手机的不足在于动态范围显然太小,在拍摄高对比度场景时需要牢记这一点。强烈的亮度和色度噪点也会在所有情况下降低图像质量;不出所料的是,噪点在低光下的表现最糟糕。测试还显示,尽管防抖功能在户外可以很好地发挥作用,但在室内完全是另一回事,在我们边走边录制的视频测试中,明显的抖动痕迹损害了影片输出的质量。进行跟踪拍摄时,锐度有时会有所变化;我们还观察到一种异常的伪像:尽管画面已停在对焦平面上,但画面的一部分却仍未对焦。

三星Galaxy Z Flip,户外视频
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外视频
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,户外视频

结论

折叠式屏幕是三星Galaxy Z Flip的一大亮点,而您用极高的价格买到的,是您自己的主观感受。虽然Flip的成像系统远非是一种萧规曹随的设计而已,但在如此高的价位上,它的性能并无法真正与其他同类手机相媲美(包括三星的其他旗舰手机)。

Flip的主摄像头通常可以拍出悦目的色彩、宽广的动态范围,噪点也控制得相当不错,所以该摄像头终归还是有不少优点。其超广角照片虽然有一些伪像,其表现还是非常好。不过缓慢的自动对焦会影响拍摄体验。而现在,在带有远摄摄像头模块的手机在变焦性能上取得长足进步之际,Flip却不带远摄摄像头,这的确令人感到惋惜。该手机的视频质量通常不错,但动态范围(这是其静态摄影的优势)的表现非常差;而极多的噪点和一些影响观看经验的伪像也有损它的表现。

如果您在意的是手机的外形,那么Flip的摄像头应该不会让您失望;但是,如果撇开这种新/旧手机设计不谈,那么不少手机的成像性能都比它要好。

照片

优点

  • 所有情况下的动态范围都相当宽广
  • 演色性通常令人赏心悦目,白平衡准确
  • 噪点通常得到很好的控制
  • 夜间曝光通常是准确的
  • 广角照片具有不错的色彩和准确的曝光度

不足

  • 细节有时不足
  • 经常看到严重的振铃效应
  • 自动对焦速度慢
  • 散景模拟中经常出现深度估计伪像
  • 广角摄像头在室内拍摄时,会出现振铃效应和彩色边纹与融合伪像

视频

优点

  • 色彩鲜艳悦目
  • 对焦通常快速且一致
  • 防抖在户外可以发挥作用

不足

  • 出现强烈的亮度和色度噪点,特别是在低光下
  • 动态范围非常有限
  • 帧与帧之间的清晰度不一,尤其是在室内
  • 在跟踪摄影中有时会出现异乎寻常的局部对焦伪像

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
Please note: In October 2020, we updated the DXOMARK Camera to include preview image evaluation and what we call trustability .We have retested a large number of devices using the updated protocol and updated the reviews accordingly. This device was not updated and its score will not be fully comparable to devices tested with the latest version version 4 of the DXOMARK Camera test protocol. For more ​information, please see our article about preview testing, trustability and other version 4 updates.
105
camera

The Samsung Galaxy Z Flip’s headline feature is its folding 6.7-inch AMOLED display, which bends in the middle with no visible hinge on the screen. It’s a neat trick, and there are only a handful of phones that can do it. Apart from that, its essential specs are in line with a flagship phone in 2020: a cutting-edge Qualcomm 855+ processor, 8GB of system memory, and 256GB of internal storage.

On paper, the camera is less obviously high-end. There are a pair of modules on the back, each with a 12MP sensor—and this at a time when high-end phones might have three or even four rear-facing cameras and higher-resolution sensors. The primary module has a 27mm-equivalent f/1.8 lens with dual pixel phase detect autofocus (PDAF) and optical image stabilization (OIS). The wide camera seems more impressive, with a 12mm-equivalent f/2.2 lens that is wider than most. A tele-camera is conspicuously absent.

Samsung does appear to care about the Flip’s photographic chops, though. Marketing materials point out that the neo-flip-phone form factor opens up interesting shooting possibilities such as using the half-folded phone as a built-in tripod for getting in on the action or for taking long exposures. A mode called Night Hyperlapse records timelapse video clips in low light, something you’d definitely need a stable shooting platform to do right.

While the spec sheet doesn’t suggest a photographic barn-burner, quantity isn’t everything in the smartphone camera game—consider the Google Pixel 4, which manages quite well with its two moderately-spec’d cameras. Find out how much imaging performance Samsung can squeeze out of its folding phone in our DXOMARK Camera review.

Key camera specifications:

  • Dual-camera setup
  • Primary: 12MP 1/2.55-inch sensor, 27mm-equivalent f/1.8-aperture lens, dual pixel PDAF, OIS
  • Ultra-wide: 12MP sensor, 12mm-equivalent f/2.2-aperture lens
  • LED flash
  • 4K video at 30/60fps

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test results

105
camera
109
photo
96
video

With a DXOMARK Camera overall score of 105, the Samsung Galaxy Z Flip places in the middle of the top twenty smartphones in our database. It’s a respectable performance in general, scoring just behind Apple’s iPhone XS Max, which held the second-place slot in our tests two years ago. Ordinarily, we would expect more from a flagship phone with the Flip’s pricing, but it’s not necessarily fair to compare it to mainstream slab designs. Arguably, there’s only one direct competitor to the Flip at the moment—Motorola’s new take on the RAZR, with its clamshell screen, which we have not yet tested.

The Flip’s camera nails down the basics, with accurate exposures and generally accurate white balance.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip outdoor images show accurate exposures and good color balance.

The phone also usually handles high-contrast scenes well, delivering good dynamic range, though we did note some highlight and shadow clipping in extremely contrasty situations.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, nicely compressed tonal values, good dynamic range
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, wide dynamic range
Samsung Note 10 Plus 5G, wide dynamic range, lower contrast

In most situations, including indoors, the Flip delivers pleasant color rendering, though in outdoor scenes colors are sometimes a bit desaturated.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, slightly desaturated red panel
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, nicely rendered colors
Samsung Note 10 Plus 5G, nice colors with good saturation

The Samsung Galaxy Z Flip controls noise fairly well both indoors and out. Though sometimes visible, noise is not intrusive. Outdoors in good light, the Flip usually successfully juggles noise suppression and detail retention, delivering photos with good texture and low noise. In the comparison below, all three devices do very well in this respect.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, outdoor detail and noise
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, crop: good detail and low noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor detail and noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: good detail and low noise
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, outdoor detail and noise
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop: good detail and low noise

In some situations the Flip needlessly sacrifices detail, however, smoothing away texture that other phones manage to retain.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, outdoor detail
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, crop: poor detail retention
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G, outdoor detail
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G, crop: better detail retention

The Flip’s autofocus performance is a mixed bag. The good news is that it’s accurate and consistent, but the bad news is that it’s slow—disappointing, since AF speed is not usually an issue for high-end phones today. In the chart below showing low-light AF speed, the Flip’s performance lags well behind the other phones, as it did in all tested conditions.

Autofocus comparison in low light (20 lux)

The Samsung Galaxy Z Flip earned an Artifact sub-score of 70, which is not bad, but hardly class-leading. Strong ringing artifacts are common, and softness creeps into the corners of the frame. Flare, ghosting, color fringing, and moiré occasionally crop up.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, corner softness and color fringing
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, crop

The Galaxy Flip Z’s ultra-wide camera earns a very good Wide sub-score of 43 in our testing, besting many phones that have higher overall camera scores (including the current top spot holder, the Huawei P40 Pro). It has a 12mm-equivalent focal length, which is wider than many other phones, so you can pack a lot into the frame. Colors are pleasant, exposure is accurate, and dynamic range is wide both indoors and out.

On the downside, color fringing is often visible, ringing artifacts show up on high-contrast edges, and we noticed fusion artifacts (errors when merging multiple frames) when testing indoors.

In this comparison, you can see that like the Samsung device, the Flip’s 12mm lens allows you to squeeze a little more content into the frame than the Apple’s 13mm lens (13.7mm measured); by contrast, Huawei’s flagships offer much narrower ultra-wide lenses at 18mm.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, 12mm
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 13mm
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, 12mm

While the Flip is happy to go wide, it’s not so keen on going long. Dedicated tele-camera modules are becoming standard on high-end phones, but the Flip goes without, with predictable consequences for its Zoom sub-score in our testing—a rather dismal 30. Without a tele module, and apparently without any fancy tricks like Google’s Super Res Zoom, zooming with the Flip is a simple matter of cropping and upsampling image data from the main camera. The results aren’t pretty, with detail dropping quickly as the zoom factor increases, along with visible noise and strong ringing artifacts as the sharpening algorithms grind on less and less visual information.

Samsung Galaxy Flip Z, 5X zoom
Samsung Galaxy Flip Z, crop: poor detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 5X zoom
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: better detail

The Flip earns a middling Bokeh sub-score of 50, behind the performance typical of high-end phones. Depth estimation artifacts are present—for example, sometimes the algorithm will keep the subject’s face sharp but blur the body. On the plus side, the shape of the bokeh is usually nice and noise is evenly distributed (some phones blur away noise when simulating background blur, which makes the subject look unnaturally noisy). However, the blur gradient itself sometimes looks unnatural.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, bokeh mode
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, crop: serious depth-sensing artifacts
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, bokeh mode
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: minor depth-sensing artifacts
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G, bokeh mode
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Plus 5G, crop: minor depth-sensing artifacts

When the lights go down, the Galaxy Z Flip does a reasonably good job with flash portraits, setting good subject exposure while allowing the background to burn in a bit so it’s not just a black void. On closer inspection, though, detail is low and noise is high.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, flash-auto portrait
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, crop: good exposure but poor detail and high noise

Night-time cityscapes are not too impressive, with low levels of detail and a fair amount of noise. If left on its own, the Flip will sometimes fire its flash in an attempt to light your city shot (this is usually not a good idea). This said, detail and noise are on a similar level as for the iPhone 11 Pro Max. The Note 10+ 5G records less detail than the Flip, but delivers a cleaner image.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, flash-off
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, crop: good exposure but low detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, flash-off
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop: similar low detail
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, flash-off
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop: less detail, lower noise

When it comes to shooting video, the Galaxy Z Flip delivers vivid, pleasant colors and accurate exposure. In a welcome change from the phone’s stills performance, autofocus is plenty quick and remains consistent. Outdoors, stabilization is quite effective. Its overall video score of 96 is good, even if it lags a bit behind many of the latest high-end phones.

Video texture comparison
Video noise comparison

On the downside, dynamic range is remarkably restricted, something you’ll need to keep in mind when shooting high-contrast scenes. Strong luminance and chroma noise also degrade image quality in all conditions, with low light unsurprisingly the worst case. Testing also revealed that although stabilization works fine outdoors, it’s another story inside, with marked jerkiness marring output in our walking video test. Sharpness sometimes varies in tracking shots, and we also observed an unusual artifact where part of the frame appeared unfocused despite being in the plane of focus.

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, outdoor video
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor video
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, outdoor video

Conclusion

When it comes to the Samsung Galaxy Z Flip, the star of the show is that folding screen, and your take on the phone’s premium price tag is more about what that feature means to you than anything else. The Flip’s imaging system is far from an afterthought, but it doesn’t really compete with the best available cameras in other phones in its lofty price bracket (including Samsung’s other flagship devices).

With generally pleasant colors, wide dynamic range, and fairly well-controlled noise, the Flip’s main camera gets a lot right. Its ultra-wide performance is very good, despite some artifacts. But the shooting experience is let down by slow autofocus, and at a time when huge strides are being made in zoom performance on phones with tele-camera modules, the Flip’s lack of one is sorely felt. Video quality is generally good, but dynamic range (a strength in stills shooting) is remarkably bad—and that, along with high noise and some distracting artifacts, holds performance back.

If you love the form factor, the Flip’s cameras should not turn you off, but if this new/old phone design takes off, there will be room for offerings with better imaging performance.

Photo

Pros

  • Dynamic range is fairly wide under all conditions
  • Color rendering is generally pleasant and white balance is accurate
  • Noise is generally well controlled
  • Nighttime exposures are usually accurate
  • Wide shots have nice color and accurate exposure

Cons

  • Detail levels are sometimes low
  • Strong ringing artifacts frequently visible
  • Autofocus is slow
  • Depth estimation artifacts frequently visible in bokeh simulation
  • Wide camera exhibits ringing and color fringing, fusion artifacts when indoors

Video

Pros

  • Colors are vivid and pleasant
  • Focus is usually fast and consistent
  • Stabilization is effective outdoors

Cons

  • Strong luminance and chroma noise, especially in low light
  • Dynamic range is very limited
  • Sharpness can vary frame to frame, especially indoors
  • Unusual partial focus artifact sometimes visible in tracking shots

In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.