索尼 Xperia 5 前置摄像头评测

79
selfie

发布于2019年9月的Xperia 5是日本制造商索尼最新的紧凑型旗舰手机,其设计旨在作为Xperia 1的袖珍经济型替代品。Xperia 5配备有6.1英寸OLED显示屏、高端骁龙855芯片组、6Gb主存、128Gb内部存储以及IP65/68防尘/防水性能。主摄像头具有三摄像头配置,其中包括广角、超广角和远摄镜头。本评测旨在评鉴该手机的前置摄像头:它内置800万像素1/4英寸传感器,一个等效24毫米的f/2.0镜头;1080p/30fps视频具备5轴陀螺仪电子影像防抖(EIS)功能。现在,让我们在本篇迷你评测中瞧瞧索尼Xperia 5自拍功能的得分和排名。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 800万像素1/4英寸传感器,1.12微米像素
  • f/2.0镜头,等效24毫米
  • 1080p/30fps视频,带5轴陀螺仪电子防抖(EIS)

关于DXOMARK Selfie测试DXOMARK工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。 

测试摘要

79
selfie
81
photo
76
video

索尼Xperia 5在DXOMARK Selfie中的总体得分为79分,在我们的数据库中排名垫底,落后于三星Galaxy S9+(81分),其排名仅比同品牌手机Xperia 1(78分)高。Xperia 5的照片和视频分数分别为81分和76分,其静止照片的质量与Xperia 1大致相同,但是这款较新的索尼手机的前置摄像头的视频质量有些许改进。两款手机的关键优势和劣势都相同,卓越的自动对焦功能是其一项不错的优势,但是色彩管理却令人失望。

索尼Xperia 5前置摄像头可拍出准确的面部曝光度,户外动态范围也还算可以接受。景深很深,因此面部和背景都可以同时清晰地呈现。

户外曝光是Xperia 5的一大关键优势,这要归功于其良好的面部曝光度和相当宽广的动态范围,从而将高光位控制得很好。总体而言,该手机在室内和低光下的曝光效果不佳,动态范围有限,尤其是在逆光照片中更是如此。其主要缺点是演色性,在户外图像中会出现明显的洋红色色偏,而在室内和低光下的脸部也都会出现强烈的橙色色偏。纹理算是它的强项,其面部细节到位,但是在大多数图像中,面部和背景中都存在噪点,也出现了诸如彩色边纹之类的明显伪像。

索尼Xperia 5,户外照片中的白平衡偏粉红色
索尼Xperia 5,裁剪图,沿着对比边缘出现了彩色边纹
索尼Xperia 5,户外照片中的人脸出现了橙色色偏
索尼Xperia 5,裁剪图,动态范围不大,并且出现了溢光剪切纹理

Xperia 5的景深很深,所以在各种距离上都可以拍出清晰的面部,背景中的细节也很到位,因此它的前置摄像头的对焦创下了最高分的新纪录。遗憾的是,散景照片的效果未尽如人意:尽管动态范围仍然不错,但深度估计却很差,仔细检查时,会发现边缘和背景明显出现了一些错误。使用闪光灯时,无需额外光源即可拍出良好的面部曝光度和中性的白平衡,但细节不多,在脸部和背景上都可以看到噪点;如果在钨丝灯下使用闪光灯则会出现橙色色偏。

索尼Xperia 5,对焦和景深
索尼Xperia 5,裁剪图,所有的人脸和背景都是清晰的
索尼Xperia 5,人像模式下的散景
索尼Xperia 5,拙劣的深度估计,唐突的蒙版错误

在视频方面,Xperia 5的色彩和纹理都比Xperia 1有了微小的改进,因此得分稍微提高了。它的主要优点在于:面部在户外和室内光线条件下都可以获得准确的曝光度;对焦性能也不错,防抖相当有效,所以面部通常是清晰的;视频也相当流畅。但白平衡问题仍然存在,洋红色和橙色色偏都很明显。此外,其不稳定的表现以及频繁的色彩偏移也可能会干扰观者的观看经验。大多数视频中也存在强烈的噪点,诸如彩色边纹、面部色相偏移和运动纹理等伪像都影响了Xperia 5前置摄像头视频的整体质量。

结论

Xperia 5凭借出色的对焦和准确的曝光拍出了清晰而明亮的自拍照。但是该手机存在诸如色彩、噪点和伪像等许多问题,而纹理、闪光灯和散景的测试结果即使还算可以接受,但其表现只能算普通而已,所以影响了总体得分。前置摄像头的图像质量与较昂贵的Xperia 1相去无几,两者在我们数据库中都排名垫底。

照片

优点

  • 景深很深
  • 室内和户外曝光准确
  • 户外动态范围宽广,包括散景照片
  • 使用闪光灯时可获得准确的曝光度

不足

  • 室内和户外出现白平衡错误
  • 在所有条件下都出现强烈的噪点
  • 室内动态范围有限
  • 强烈的彩色边纹和色相偏移伪像
  • 散景照片中的深度估计故障

视频

优点

  • 室内和户外曝光准确
  • 景深很深
  • 不错的防抖
  • 室内和户外细节丰富

不足

  • 强烈的粉红色和橙色色偏
  • 不稳定的白平衡
  • 在所有条件下都出现强烈的噪点
  • 强烈的彩色边纹和色相偏移伪像
  • 可观察到运动纹理

Sony Xperia 5 front camera review

Reading Time: 5 min read
79
selfie

Announced in September 2019, the Sony Xperia 5 is the Japanese manufacturer’s latest compact flagship, intended as a more pocket-friendly (in both size and price) alternative to the Xperia 1. The Xperia 5 features a 6.1-inch OLED display, a high-end Snapdragon 855 chipset, 128Gb of internal storage with 6Gb RAM, and IP65/68 dust/water resistance. The main camera offers a triple camera setup that includes wide, ultra-wide, and telephoto lens options. The subject of this review is the device’s front camera, however, which utilizes a 8Mp 1/4-inch sensor; a 24mm-equivalent, f/2.0-aperture lens; and 1080p/30fps video with 5-axis, gyroscope-enabled electronic image stabilization (EIS). Let’s see how the Sony Xperia 5 scores and ranks in our mini-review about its selfie shooting capabilities.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 8Mp 1/4-inch sensor with 1.12µm pixels
  • 24mm-equivalent, f/2.0-aperture lens
  • 1080p/30fps video with 5-axis gyro EIS

About DXOMARK Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

79
selfie
81
photo
76
video

An overall DXOMARK Selfie score of 79 places the Sony Xperia 5 well down the rankings in our database, dropping in just ahead of its stablemate, the Xperia 1 at 78, and behind the Samsung Galaxy S9+ at 81. With Photo and Video sub-scores of 81 and 76, respectively, still photo quality overall is broadly the same between the Xperia 5 and Xperia 1, but the newer Sony device offers a modest improvement in the quality of front camera videos. Key strengths and weakness are the same on both devices, with excellent autofocus a nice benefit, but color management slightly disappointing.

The Sony Xperia 5 front camera delivers accurate exposure on faces and acceptable dynamic range outdoors. A wide depth of field ensures that both faces and backgrounds are sharp.

Outdoor exposure is a key strength for the Xperia 5, thanks to nice exposures on faces and a fairly extended dynamic range that ensures highlights are well controlled. Overall, indoor and low light exposures aren’t quite as good, with limited dynamic range evident, particularly in backlit shots. The main weakness is color rendering, however, with noticeable magenta casts in outdoor images and strong orange color casts on faces both indoors and in low light. Texture is something of a strength, with good detail on faces, but noise on faces and in backgrounds is present in most images, as well as noticeable artifacts such as color fringing.

Sony Xperia 5, pink white balance in outdoor shots
Sony Xperia 5, crop, strong color fringing along contrast edges
Sony Xperia 5, orange color cast on faces indoors
Sony Xperia 5, crop, low dynamic range and highlight clipping

The Xperia 5 hits a new top score for front camera focus, thanks to a wide depth of field that ensures sharp faces at all distances and good detail in the background. Bokeh shots aren’t quite as successful, unfortunately: although dynamic range remains good, depth estimation is poor, with edge and background errors evident at close inspection. Using flash, exposure on faces is good and white balance is neutral without additional light sources. Detail is low, however, with noise visible on faces and in backgrounds when using flash, together with an orange color cast under tungsten light.

Sony Xperia 5, focus and depth of field
Sony Xperia 5, crop, all faces and the background are sharp
Sony Xperia 5, bokeh in Portrait mode
Sony Xperia 5, poor depth estimation with abrupt masking errors

For video, small improvements for color and texture improved the Xperia 5’s score compared to the Xperia 1. Its main strengths are accurate exposures on faces under outdoor and indoor lighting conditions, with good focus and fairly effective stabilization for ensuring that faces are generally sharp and videos smooth. Problems with white balance persist, however, with magenta and orange casts both evident; moreover, its unstable performance with frequent color shifts can be quite distracting. Strong noise is present in most videos, too, and artifacts such as color fringing, hue shifts on faces, and moving texture all affect the overall quality of the Xperia 5’s front camera videos.

Conclusion

Excellent focus and accurate exposure ensure that selfies from the Xperia 5 are sharp, with good brightness. Many problems with color, noise and artifacts, together with acceptable but average results for texture, flash, and bokeh have affected the overall score, however. Front camera image quality remains on par with the more expensive Xperia 1, but both rank towards the bottom of our database.

Photo

Pros

  • Wide depth-of-field focus
  • Accurate exposure indoors and outdoors
  • Wide dynamic range outdoors, including bokeh shots
  • Accurate exposures using flash

Cons

  • White balance errors indoors and outdoors
  • Strong noise in all conditions
  • Limited dynamic range indoors
  • Strong color fringing and hue shift artifacts
  • Depth estimation failures in bokeh shots

Video

Pros

  • Accurate exposure indoors and outdoors
  • Wide depth-of-field focus
  • Good stabilization
  • High detail both indoors and outdoors

Cons

  • Strong pink and orange color casts
  • Unstable white balance
  • Strong noise in all conditions
  • Strong color fringing and hue shift artifacts
  • Moving texture is visible

In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.