索尼 Xperia XZ Premium:使用新DxOMark Mobile评测基准测试的首款索尼手机

83
DxOMark Mobile

注:本文的英语原文发表于2017年9月21日

Xperia XZ Premium 是当前索尼的旗舰智能手机。该手机配备了一个1900万像素、1/2.3英寸图像传感器,采用索尼智能手机的三层堆叠式技术以实现快速读取,还能以960 fps 慢动作视频模式摄录720p 的连续镜头,并降低静态照片和视频中的电子卷帘门效应。该手机的其他成像功能包括激光辅助自动对焦、RGBC-IR 传感器(用于还原自然色彩)和 SteadyShot 五轴视频防抖技术。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 1/2.3英寸,1900万像素,堆叠式 BSI CMOS 传感器,单像素尺寸1.22微米
  • f/2 光圈镜头,25毫米(全幅等效)焦距
  • 支持4K视频
  • 960 fps 超慢动作录摄
  • 最高 ISO 12800(照片),4000(视频)

测试摘要

对于传统的单摄手机而言,索尼 Xperia XZ Premium 在拍摄静止照片和视频方面做得很好,但并没有任何新的突破,也没有对手机领域的翘楚构成极大的挑战。而且它在我们的新变焦和散景测试项目中表现不佳,拉低了整体评分。不过,该相机确实有几个创新功能,其中包括960 fps 超慢动作视频录摄,使其它脱颖而出。在优势方面,XZ Premium 的拍照和视频自动对焦性能还算强大,其视频也具有非常好的视频防抖技术。

明亮光线下的拍摄

XZ Premium 在明亮光线下的表现不错,但是它的动态范围相当有限并且容易出现耀斑,使其逆光摄影或强光拍摄的场景中的性能大受影响。因此,拍摄画面必须尽量避开太阳,方能拍出较好的照片。即使在良好的照明条件下,XZ Premium 的照片有时也有些微的色偏。

总体而言,XZ Premium 在高光下的拍摄效果不错,只要光线控制得好且分布均匀,其曝光大致准确,如这个场景所示。

户外拍摄的照片有时会轻微偏蓝,如这个场景所示。

低光拍摄

室内照明给 XZ Premium 带来了一些曝光问题。XZ Premium 的动态范围有限,因此在高动态范围场景的高光部分容易过曝。室内场景也有轻微的色偏。

相机曝光不足,照片主体丢失了细节。

这是在100勒克斯钨丝灯照明(住宅白炽灯的典型光线)下拍摄的场景。您可以在测试场景的放大区域看到轻微的色偏。

闪光灯性能

通过闪光灯拍摄的照片的表现还不错。在只用了闪光灯作为光源的场景中拍出的照片的白平衡还算准确,但曝光不足的问题仍然存在。此外,照片上有明显的噪点,而且丢失了一些细节。闪光灯的曝光表现也不稳定,在低光下,曝光量时有差异。

这个仅以闪光灯作为光源的场景展现了准确的白平衡,但曝光量有点偏低。如果您点击此照片的全尺寸版本,您可以看到色彩噪点和细节保存不佳的问题。

视频

XZ Premium 的整体视频分数为84分,其视频效果还算面面俱到。特别是,它的防抖性能很好,目标曝光的效果大致不错。然而,视频的清晰度有时不太一致,例如用户若在行走时录制视频,就会出现这种情况。在室内走动时,白平衡也可能不一致。另外,即使在不必要时,XZ Premium 也会自动重新对焦。

照片评分说明

我们在不同照明条件下测试了索尼 Xperia XZ Premium 在不同方面的表现,并计算了照片的每项成绩后,XZ Premium 最后拿下了82分的总成绩。在本部分中,我们将仔细观察每个分项的评分。

曝光与对比度(83)

XZ Premium 在大多数情况下都能够提供准确的曝光,但是在室内或低光下曝光可能稍显不足。它的对比度分数不高,因为它的动态范围比其他一些类似的手机小。

虽然这张照片的曝光效果还算不错,但是相机无法拍摄场景的高动态范围,因此牺牲了阴影的细节。

同样的,这个场景中,XZ Premium 拍摄的叶子看起来太暗,丢失了一些细节。

在同一场景中,苹果 iPhone 7 Plus 保留了自然的颜色,细节的保存也更到位。

色彩(74)

一般来说,XZ Premium 在户外时色彩方面的表现很出色。但是室内照片经常出现轻微的粉红色偏,有时就连户外照片也有轻微的色偏。

XZ Premium 拍摄的一些室内场景也有非常轻微的粉红色偏,比如这个室内走廊里的荧光灯就是如此。

自动对焦(88)

XZ Premium 在良好的光线条件下的自动对焦相当精准,这是它的一大优势。因此 XZ Premium 在自动对焦项目中拿到了很好的成绩。然而,在低光下重复拍摄时,只有一些照片完全对焦正确。

如果在失焦2秒钟后重新按下快门,XZ Premium 每次都可以准确地重新对焦。但如果将失焦后的时间缩短为半秒,在某些情况下相机无法快速地重新对焦,而使得照片失焦了。

纹理(68)和噪点(58)

在 XZ Premium 的整个画面中,纹理看起来相当不规则,从而影响了整体照片质量,在低光下尤其如此。同样地,在低光场景中有物体移动或者手持相机移动时,噪点的表现也不太好。

点击全尺寸版本后,您将会看到许多中等大小的亮度噪点。

伪像(49)

XZ Premium 的照片中有不少明显的伪像,其中最严重的要算是明亮光线下或逆光场景中的耀斑,再加上镜头渐晕、振铃效应和一些畸变,使它在本测试项目中拿到了不好的成绩。

XZ Premium 在逆光场景中的表现不佳,出现过多的耀斑。

闪光灯(74)

将 XZ Premium 的闪光灯作为唯一光源,或者与其他室内微弱的光源混合时的拍摄表现相当。这两种情况下的曝光效果都不错(但仅使用闪光灯作为唯一光源时的曝光稍嫌不足),白平衡也是如此。相机的闪光灯再加上一些环境光时,闪光落差的现象也不太严重。但是照片的细节不够丰富,并且有许多噪点。仅使用闪光灯作为唯一光源时,更出现了一些明显的色偏。在我们重复的拍摄测试中,不同的画面之间的曝光量也不一致,这也是另一个问题。

变焦(32)

拍摄户外场景时,分辨率较高的 XZ Premium 主摄像头可以拍出不错的照片。噪点的表现尚可,但损失了一些细节。然而在较弱的光线下,它的表现就不如具有较大像素或有更大光圈的手机那么好了。

散景(20)

索尼 Xperia XZ Premium 配备了较小的传感器,具有较大的景深,但不具备特定的图像算法来改善照片失焦区域的处理。因此它的散景分数不佳并不令人意外。

视频评分

索尼 Xperia Premium XZ 的视频录制拿到了84分的总成绩。与照片评分一样,这是根据它在许多分项的测试中获得的成绩计算出来的。这些测试有助于定义整体视频表现,特别是:曝光和对比度(73)、色彩(79)、自动对焦(78)、纹理(47)、噪点(69)、伪像(80)和防抖(87)。特别值得注意的是,XZ Premium 的视频剪辑有相当明显的振铃效应,并且帧率有些不一致,某些抖动的现象更是拉低了伪像的分数。

总结

索尼 Xperia XZ Premium 搭载了一款功能强大的相机,可以顺利完成拍照任务(特别是光线条件良好的情况下),但并无法晋身顶级手机之列。特别是,它的照片很容易受到户外恶劣照明条件的影响,而且在低光和室内拍摄时,对光线的要求也很高。它的视频表现不错,但损失了一些细节。XZ Premium 的堆叠式传感器可以支持新的960 fps 慢动作模式,但与配备了分辨率较低或类似传感器的其他手机相比,XZ Premium 即使在1900万像素下也无法拍出更出色的照片或视频。

83
DxOMark mobile
Sony Xperia XZ Premium
82
DxOMark Mobile
photo
84
DxOMark Mobile
video

优点

  • 室内和室外的曝光大致不错
  • 低光下噪点较少
  • 室外和室内都能准确地自动对焦
  • 闪光灯与室内照明相混合时,仅有很小的闪光落差

优点

  • 有效的防抖功能
  • 大多数情况下,拍摄目标曝光正确
  • 户外拍摄有准确稳定的白平衡

不足

  • 容易出现耀斑
  • 纹理不太规则
  • 动态范围略有限制
  • 室内和室外有轻微的色偏
  • 同时使用闪光灯与室内照明时,曝光显得不规则

不足

  • 行走拍摄时,画面之间的清晰度不一致
  • 室内白平衡不一致
  • 经常进行不必要的重新对焦

Sony Xperia XZ Premium: First Sony tested with our new protocols

83
DxOMark Mobile

The Xperia XZ Premium is Sony’s current flagship smartphone and comes with a 19MP 1/2.3-inch image sensor that is based on Sony’s 3-layer stack technology for smartphones, allowing for fast readout speeds and a 960 fps slow motion video mode that can record 720p footage. In addition the technology reduces the rolling shutter effect in both still images and video. Other imaging features include a laser-assisted AF, an RGBC-IR sensor for natural color rendering and Sony’s SteadyShot 5-axis digital video stabilization.

Key camera specifications:

  • 1/2.3-inch 19MP stacked BSI CMOS sensor with 1.22μm pixel size
  • f/2 aperture lens with 25mm (full-frame equivalent) focal length
  • 4K video support
  • 960 fps super-slow motion
  • ISO up to 12,800 (Photo) and 4,000 (Video)

Test summary

For a traditional single-camera design, the Sony Xperia XZ Premium does a good job of capturing both still images and video, but without breaking any new ground or seriously challenging our benchmark leaders. Its poor performance on our new Zoom and Bokeh tests pulls down its overall score. The camera does have several innovative features, however, including a 960 fps mode for super-slow motion videos that help it stand out. On the plus side, the XZ Premium features relatively strong autofocus performance for both photography and video, as well as very good stabilization for video.

Bright light

The XZ Premium does a good job with exposure in bright light, but suffers somewhat from limited dynamic range and a susceptibility to flare that affects its performance in back-lit or harshly lit scenes. Users will be rewarded with better images if they can get the sun out of the frame as much as possible. XZ Premium images also sometimes suffer from subtle color casts, even in good lighting conditions.

Overall, the XZ Premium does a good job in bright light, with generally good exposures, as long as the lighting is controlled and even, as in this scene.

Outdoors, images sometimes have a slight blue cast, as illustrated in this scene.

Low-light shooting

Indoor lighting gives the XZ Premium some trouble with exposure, and its limited dynamic range also causes blown-out highlight areas in our high-dynamic-range scenes. Indoor scenes sometimes suffer from slight color shading as well.

The camera underexposed this image, losing detail in the subject.

You can see the slight color shading in the zoomed-in areas of this test scene, shot under 100 Lux tungsten lighting (typical of the light provided by residential incandescent lamps).

Flash performance

Flash photos are adequate, with accurate white balance in flash-only scenes — although under-exposure is an issue. In addition, photos suffered from visible noise and poor detail preservation. Flash exposures are also inconsistent, sometimes varying from frame to frame in low light.

This flash-only scene shows accurate white balance, although the exposure is a little low. If you click through to the full-size version of this image you can see that there are problems with color noise and poor detail preservation.

Video

As illustrated by its overall Video score of 84, the XZ Premium has fairly well-rounded Video performance. In particular, it has effective stabilization and generally good target exposures. However, its video performance is marred by inconsistencies in sharpness when, for example, the user is walking while recording. While walking indoors, white balance can also be inconsistent. In addition, the XZ Premium has a tendency to refocus even when it isn’t needed.

Photo sub-scores explained

The Sony Xperia XZ Premium achieves an overall Photo score of 82, which is calculated from its sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (83)

The XZ Premium does a good job of providing accurate exposures in most cases, although it can underexpose slightly indoors or in low light. Its contrast scores are reduced because it has limited dynamic range compared to some other similar phones.

While the exposure is good in this image, shadow detail is sacrificed because the camera can’t capture the high dynamic range of the scene.

Similarly, the XZ Premium loses some detail in the foliage of this scene, rendering it quite dark.

The Apple iPhone 7 Plus does a better job of preserving the natural color and detail in the same scene.

Color (74)

In general, the XZ Premium does a good job of rendering colors outdoors, although sometimes even outdoor images suffer from a slight color cast. Indoor images often suffer from a slight pink color cast.

There is also a very slight pink cast in some indoor scenes captured with the XZ Premium, such as this one of an interior hallway lit with fluorescent lamps.

Autofocus (88)

Accurate autofocus in good light is one of the strengths of the XZ Premium, giving it quite a good score in this category. In low light, however, only some images in our repeated shooting tests are completely in focus.

When given 2 seconds between defocusing and triggering a shot, the XZ Premium refocuses consistently and accurately. When the interval is reduced to a half-second, in some cases the camera is unable to refocus quickly enough, and the image is captured out of focus.

Texture / Detail (68) and Noise (58)

The XZ Premium suffers from texture rendering irregularities across the visual field, which detracts from overall image quality. This is particularly true in low light. Similarly, noise performance suffers in low light when there is motion in the scene or if the camera moves while being held.

If you click through to the full-size version you’ll see high levels of medium-grain luminance noise.

Artifacts (49)

The XZ Premium suffers from a number of significant image artifacts. The most significant is flare in brightly-lit or back-lit scenes. However, lens shading, ringing, and some distortion also contribute to a low score here.

The XZ Premium has trouble with back-lit scenes, showing up as excessive flare.

Flash (74)

The XZ Premium’s flash performance has similar characteristics both when flash is used as the sole light source and when it is mixed with a low level of indoor light. In both cases, exposure is good (although slightly low when flash is the only light), as is the white balance. There is also relatively little light fall-off when the camera’s flash is paired with some ambient light. However, the images suffer from a lack of detail and from strong noise. When flash is the only light source, there is also some visible color shading. Another issue is that exposure varied from frame to frame in our repeated shooting tests.

Zoom (32)

For outdoor scenes, the relatively high resolution of the main camera helped provide the XZ Premium with solid results. Noise performance is acceptable, but there is some loss of detail. In lower light, though, it didn’t perform as well as phones with larger pixels or faster lenses.

Bokeh mode (20)

With its small sensor, the Sony Xperia XZ Premium has a relatively large depth of field and it also doesn’t have any computational imaging features to improve the way the image renders out-of-focus areas. So it is not surprising to see that it has a poor Bokeh sub-score.

Video Sub-scores

The Sony Xperia Premium XZ achieves a total Video score of 84. As with the photo scores, this is calculated from the sub-scores it achieves in a number of categories of tests that help define its overall video capabilities, specifically: Exposure and Contrast (73), Color (79), Autofocus (78), Texture (47), Noise (69), Artifacts (80), and Stabilization (87). Of particular note, Video clips show noticeable ringing, and there is some inconsistency in frame rate, as well as some judder, that impacted the Artifacts sub-score.

Conclusion

Sony’s Xperia XZ Premium features a capable smartphone camera that gets the job done — especially in good light — but which doesn’t rise to the heights of the top phones from other manufacturers. In particular, it is sensitive to harsh lighting conditions outdoors, and finicky in low light and indoor situations. Video performance is also competent, but marred by problems with loss of detail. The stacked sensor does allow the XZ Premium to support a novel 960 fps slow-motion mode, but even at 19MP, it doesn’t produce overall better images or video than many other phones with lower or similar-resolution sensors.

83
DxOMark mobile
Sony Xperia XZ Premium
82
DxOMark Mobile
photo
84
DxOMark Mobile
video

Pros

  • Generally good exposure both indoors and outdoors
  • Low noise in low-light conditions
  • Accurate autofocus both outdoors and indoors
  • Very limited flash falloff when mixed with indoor lighting

 Pros

  • Effective stabilization
  • Good target exposure in most conditions
  • Accurate and stable white balance outdoors

Cons

  • Susceptible to flare
  • Texture-rendering irregularities
  • Slightly limited dynamic range
  • Slight color casts both indoors and outdoors
  • Exposure irregularities when using flash mixed with indoor light

Cons

  • Frame-to-frame differences in sharpness when walking
  • Inconsistent white balance indoors
  • Frequent unnecessary refocusing
We are hiring!