小米10 Pro音频评测

76
audio

小米最新的旗舰手机小米10 Pro在多个测试项目中展现了新的技术性突破,在DXOMARK Audio中取得了我们测试过的所有手机中的最高分。与小米的上一代手机CC9 Pro尊享版相比,小米10 Pro的主要改进在于,先前的单一扬声器现在改为两个侧装扬声器,因此成绩也跟着提高了。

在DXOMARK Audio的一系列严格测试中,我们使用小米10 Pro的内置麦克风录制,并通过其内置扬声器播放音频,以测量该手机的性能。在本评测中,我们将仔细分析它在各种测试和几种常见用例中的表现。

请注意:我们对小米10 Pro进行测试时所使用的固件,小米预计在35日之前通过空中下载(OTA)更新中向顾客提供。 

音频规格:

  • 两个侧装扬声器

关于DXOMARK Audio测试:为了在DXOMARK智能手机音频评测中进行评分和分析,我们的工程师在受控的实验室条件下执行各种客观测试,并对20多个小时的样本进行感知评估,本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果。另请注意,我们仅使用手机的内置硬件和默认应用程序评鉴“播放”和“录制”的性能。(有关播放基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处;有关录制基准的更多详细信息,请单击此处。)

测试摘要

76
audio
77
playback
71
recording

小米10 Pro的音频总分为76分,以一分之差夺得了华为Mate 20 X多媒体手机的冠军宝座,成为我们的手机音频排行榜中的新榜首。对于小米而言,这是令人印象深刻的一大成就,因为上一代小米手机(CC9 Pro尊享版)的得分在我们的音频数据库中垫底。该手机的成绩之所以如此之低,主要是由于其单扬声器设计,因此我们很高兴看到小米现在在10 Pro手机上配备了一对侧装扬声器。

该手机在我们的音频播放测试中取得令人印象深刻的优异成绩(77分),堪为助其获得优异总分的制胜关键。在播放测试中,该手机在音色和空间感两个项目中都拿下了领先群雄的佳绩,其成绩分别为78分和77分。该手机在我们的整个测试音调范围内都能呈现出色的音调,特别是它可以非常准确地呈现低音,其表现优于我们测试过的其他顶级手机,因此在音色测试项目中拿下了非常优异的成绩。

该手机可以呈现极好的空间感,这在很大程度上要归功于它在之前的CC9 Pro尊享版设计中增加了第二个扬声器,堪为一项特别令人激赏的改进。现在,该手机不但具有广大的声场,并且还能很好地为乐器和其他声源定位,其令人印象深刻的声场表现肯定能获得音乐和电影爱好者的青睐。

在其他方面,小米10 Pro的声音再现尽管未在测试中领先群雄,但表现也都非常好。它的音量表现很稳健,但最大音量不如在此测试项目中表现最好的手机那样令人印象深刻。该手机的音量步进增量非常自然,还可以非常清晰地呈现声音,音损非常少,仅在游戏时容易意外遮蔽扬声器而被扣了一点音损分数。

小米10 Pro有一对侧装扬声器。

一如播放成绩,小米10 Pro在音频录制方面也有了一些突破性的发展,特别是它以非常平衡的录音和出色的音调保真度在录制音色项目中拿下了82分的佳绩,在我们测试过的手机中,该手机是在这个项目中表现最好的手机。此外,它还将录制的空间保真度推向了新的境界,这在很大程度上要归功于其令人印象深刻的声场,而且该手机所录制的声音听起来也很自然。

如果要勉强指出该手机在录制方面的弱点,那么它的背景声音应该可以再录制得准确一点,噪音也应该再少一点。该手机的录制音量也还算可以接受,但比不上我们测试过的最好手机。

各项测试分数说明

在DXOMARK Audio测试中,小米10 Pro的总体得分为76分,此得分来自播放和录制得分,以及这两个类别下每个测试项目的个别得分。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的音频质量评分,并分析这些得分对用户的意义。

播放

音色

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

78

我们的音色测试旨在测量手机在可听音域内再现声音的能力好坏,并考虑低音、中音、高音、音调平衡和音量依赖性等属性。

小米10 Pro的音调再现效果在整个音调范围内的表现都非常出色,因此在我们测试过的所有手机中拿下了最高的音色得分,不过它的低音在游戏过程中可能还有些改进的余地。电影播放是该手机落后于其他一些顶级手机的唯一领域。

在低音重现精度方面,小米10 Pro游刃有余地胜过了音频得分最高的其他两款手机(iPhone XS Max和华为Mate 20 X):

音乐播放频率响应曲线

力度

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

72

我们的力度测试旨在测量手机再现音源能量水平的能力。

小米10 Pro的音频播放具有出色的声音力度,其声音特别具有冲击力,极少失真,即使在高音量下玩游戏时也是如此。(不过在低音量下玩游戏时,冲击力的表现还有些改进的余地。)总体而言,该手机的力度得分(72分)仅次于该测试项目中得分最高的手机——华为Mate 20 X(75分)。

空间感

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

77

小米10 Pro添加了第二个扬声器后,其表现与CC9 Pro尊享版不可同日而语。新手机在空间感项目中的得分(77分)是我们测试过的所有手机中最高的。现在,声场的广度已成为该手机的主要优势,而且其定位能力仍然非常好。我们对该手机的空间性能唯一不满的地方在于,其声源的平衡和感知的距离略逊于其他表现最佳的手机。

出色的空间广度
良好的定位能力

音量

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

70

我们的音量测试不仅测量手机可播放的整体响度,而且还测量手机根据用户的调节而提高或降低音量的流畅度。

小米10 Pro的音量得分为70分。总体而言,该手机在这方面的表现也相当稳健。尽管它的最大音量无法与声响最大的手机相提并论,但其表现还是相当不错。音量增量相当一致,感觉也很自然,不过最小音量太小了。请注意,它的音量曲线从最小音量到最大音量的走势始终保持平滑一致,即使与其他得分最高的手机相比也是如此:

音乐音量一致性

音量曲线呈现一致的线性度,但最大的几个音量会稍微变平,因此在感知上,音量增量感觉起来较小。

Hip-Hop Classical
73.8 dBA 69.5 dBA

音损

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

86

我们的音损评分旨在衡量手机扬声器播放源音频时的失真程度。失真可能是由于手机中的声音处理以及扬声器的质量引起的。

在我们测试过的所有手机中,小米10 Pro扬声器发出的声音是我们听过最纯净的,因此在音损项目中取得出色的成绩(86分)。尽管在听嘻哈音乐和摇滚音乐时会听到一些噪音,但该手机在这一项目中几乎没有值得挑剔的问题。不过,将手机扬声器放在一侧的一个问题在于:在最常用的手机方向上玩游戏时,扬声器位于手机底部,因此很容易不小心被手掌遮蔽了,从而有损播放质量。

小米10 Pro的声音失真不多。
時域音損得到很好的控制。

录制

音色

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

82

小米10 Pro的麦克风音调保真度极佳,如其一流的录制音色得分所示。录音非常平衡,高音清晰,中音很自然,而低音也相当精确。其不足之处在于,录制会议或语音备忘录时,中音听起来有些不自然。

自拍视频频率响应曲线

您可以在比较表中看到,小米10 Pro的低音录制比华为Mate 20 X的低音录制稍弱,但其中音表现令人印象深刻。

力度

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

63

小米10 Pro录制的音频具有相当好的力度,但比不上我们测试过的最好的手机。信噪比的表现很好,可以精确地录制爆破音,但是录制音乐会时,非常强大的低音会对整个声音包络产生负面影响。

空间感

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

68

小米10 Pro的录制出色地表现了空间中的声源,因此在录制空间感测试取得了68分,与Mate 20 X在本测试项目中双双称雄。特别是,小米10 Pro在使用主摄像头录制视频时可保留宽广的声场,并且在任何声源方向和距离上都呈现了自然的语音效果。

使用主摄像头录制视频时,小米10 Pro保留了广大的声场。

音量

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

68

在录制音量测试中,小米10 Pro在所有用例中都有非常出色的表现,因此取得高于平均水平的佳绩(68分)。不过,该手机的最大音量的表现不如在此测试中表现最佳的iPhone和华为旗舰产品。

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-27.4 LUFS -20.3 LUFS -18.6 LUFS -21 LUFS

音损

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

79

小米10 Pro所录制的声音非常纯净,因此在录制音损项目中取得了我们最好的成绩之一(79分)。但是,录制响亮的声音(如喊叫声)时会出现一些音损,录制演唱会时也会出现明显的音量抽吸效应。

背景

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

45

小米10 Pro在录制背景声音方面的表现不错,但没什么特别值得一提的地方,其亮点包括没有音损和令人印象深刻的音调平衡,不过在模拟的家庭环境中使用主摄像头录制视频时,会出现一些背景噪音。

结论

在我们测试过的所有手机中,小米10 Pro展现了最令人印象深刻的整体音频性能,在所有测试项目中,它也是表现最稳健的手机之一,对于几乎所有用例而言,该手机都是非常不错的选择。该手机的音量不是我们测试过最响亮的,但撇开这个问题不谈,它在播放和录制测试中都取得了领先群雄(或非常优异)的成绩。

播放

优点

  • 总体来说,该手机的表现非常好,也非常一致
  • 力度、音色和空间感的表现优于其他测试的手机
  • 低音强度和精准度提升了电子和嘻哈音乐的播放表现

不足

  • 玩游戏时容易遮到扬声器
  • 电影表现略低于音乐表现
  • 最大音量不错,但声音不如其他手机响亮

录制

优点

  • 良好的整体空间感
  • 精确的定位能力是该手机的一大强项
  • 录制的频率响应自然而平衡
  • 响度不错
  • 在大多数用例中都呈现了良好的语音

不足

  • 语音备忘录应用中的录音听起来有些不自然
  • 在高声压级下的录音(例如音乐会)中可以听见音损
  • 在家庭场景中可以听见背景噪音

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro Audio review

Reading Time: 10 min read
76
audio

Xiaomi’s newest flagship phone, the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, breaks new technical ground in several areas, and achieves the highest DXOMARK Audio score of any phone we have tested. One major enhancement over Xiaomi’s previous-generation Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition that helps drive its score is a move from a single speaker to dual side-firing speakers.

We put the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro through our rigorous DXOMARK Audio test suite to measure its performance both at recording sound using its built-in microphones and at playing audio back through its built-in speakers. In this review, we’ll break down how it fared in a variety of tests and in several common use cases.

Please note: We tested the Mi 10 Pro using firmware that Xiaomi plans to provide to customers via an Over The Air (OTA) update by March 5th. As we always do in these cases, we will repeat the test with a commercial device when available to confirm that the audio quality is identical. 

Audio specifications include:

  • Dual side-firing stereo audio speakers

About DXOMARK Audio tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone audio reviews, DXOMARK engineers perform a variety of objective tests and undertake more than 20 hours of perceptual evaluation under controlled lab conditions. This article highlights the most important results of our testing. Note that we evaluate both Playback and Recording using only the device’s built-in hardware and default apps. (For more details about our Playback protocol, click here; for more details about our Recording protocol, click here.)

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

Test summary

76
audio
77
playback
71
recording

With an overall Audio score of 76, the Mi 10 Pro has edged into the top spot in our phone audio rankings, nudging out our prior leader, the multimedia-focused Huawei Mate 20 X, by a point. This is an impressive achievement for Xiaomi, as the previous generation of the Mi, the Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, had one of the lower Audio scores of the phones in our database. That low score was mostly due to its single-speaker design, so we’re glad to see Xiaomi equip the Mi 10 Pro with a pair of side-firing speakers.

The phone’s overall score is anchored by an impressive 77 in our Audio Playback tests. It achieves that due in part to category-leading sub-scores of 78 for Playback Timbre and 77 for Playback Spatial rendering. The high Timbre sub-score reflects the phone’s excellent tonal reproduction throughout our tested tonal range. In particular, it beats out our other leading phones in accurate bass reproduction.

Excellent spatial reproduction is a particularly pleasant development, thanks in large measure to the addition of a second speaker to the Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition’s design. Lovers of music and movies alike will enjoy its impressive sound stage, which is both wide and provides good ability to localize musical instruments and other sound sources.

Other aspects of the Mi 10 Pro’s sound reproduction are also very good, although not category-leading. Volume is solid, but maximum volume isn’t as impressive as the top phones in that category. Volume steps are impressively natural, though. It reproduces sound very cleanly, with minimal artifacts—and in that area, the phone’s score is marred only by the fact that it is easy to accidentally cover the speakers when gaming.

The Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro comes with dual side-firing speakers.

As with its Playback score, the Mi 10 Pro breaks some new ground with its Audio Recording performance. In particular, its 82 in Recording Timbre is the best of any phone we have tested, thanks to well-balanced recordings and excellent tonal fidelity. It also sets a new high watermark for spatial fidelity of audio recordings, largely attributable to its impressively wide sound stage. Recorded voices also sound very natural.

To the extent the phone has recording weak spots, Background sounds could be more accurately recorded, and with less noise. Recording Volume levels were also acceptable, but not as good as the best of the phones we’ve tested.

Sub-scores explained

The DXOMARK Audio overall score of 76 for the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro is derived from its Playback and Recording scores and their respective sub-scores. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these audio quality sub-scores and explain what they mean for the user.

Playback

Timbre

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

78

Highest Score

Our Timbre tests measure how well a phone reproduces sound across the audible tonal range and takes into account bass, mid-range, treble, tonal balance, and volume dependency.

The Mi 10 Pro delivers excellent tonal reproduction, earning it the highest Timbre sub-score of any phone we have tested. This is true throughout the entire tonal range, although bass during gaming could use a little improvement. The only area in which it lagged slightly behind some other top phones was in movie playback.

Compared to two of our other top-scoring phones for Audio, the iPhone XS Max and the Huawei Mate 20 X, the Mi 10 Pro bests them handily in bass reproduction accuracy:

Music playback frequency response

Dynamics

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

72

75

Huawei Mate 20 X

Our Dynamics tests measure how well a device reproduces the energy level of a sound source.

Audio played back on the Mi 10 Pro features excellent sound dynamics. Sounds are particularly punchy—and thanks to low distortion, this is true even in the difficult case of playing games at high volume. (Punch could be a little better when gaming at low volume.) Overall, the phone’s Dynamics sub-score of 72 puts it just below the highest-scoring phone in this category, the Huawei Mate 20 X at 75.

Spatial

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

77

Highest Score

The addition of a second speaker has made a world of difference here compared to the Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition. The new phone’s Spatial sub-score of 77 is the highest of any phone we have tested. The wideness of the sound stage is now a major strength for the phone, and localizability continues to be very good. The only quibbles we have with the phone’s spatial performance is that balance and perceived distance of sound sources are a bit below other top-performing phones.

Excellent spatial wideness
Good localiizability

Volume

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

70

79

Realme X2 Pro

Our Volume tests measure both the overall loudness a device is able to produce and how smoothly volume increases and decreases based on user input.

Overall, the Mi 10 Pro puts in a solid performance here, with a Volume sub-score of 70. Maximum volume is good, although not on par with the loudest phones. Volume levels are consistent and feel natural, although the minimum volume is slightly too low. Notice how the volume curve is smooth and consistent all the way from minimum to maximum volume, even when compared to other top-scoring phones:

The volume curve shows consistent linearity, except for the last volume steps, where it flattens a bit, which translates into smaller deltas of volume perception.

Hip-Hop Classical
73.8 dBA 69.5 dBA

Artifacts

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

86

90

Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra 5G

Our Artifacts tests measure how much source audio is distorted when played back through a device’s speaker. Distortion can occur both because of sound processing in the device and because of the quality of the speakers.

Sound from the Mi 10 Pro’s speakers is some of the cleanest we’ve heard from any device we’ve tested, giving it an excellent Artifacts sub-score of 86. It’s hard to find an area to pick on here, although there is some audible noise when listening to hip-hop and rock music. One unfortunate aspect of having the phone’s speakers on the side, though, is that they are located on the bottom of the phone when gaming in the most common orientation. As a result, it is easy to accidentally occlude them with your palms, which reduces playback quality.

The Mi 10 Pro features sound with low distortion.
Temporal artifacts are well under control.

Recording

Timbre

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

82

85

Apple iPhone SE

As illustrated by its category-leading Recording Timbre sub-score of 82, the Mi 10 Pro’s microphones deliver excellent tonal fidelity. Recordings are well balanced, with clear treble, natural mid-range, and precise low-end. One weakness is that the mid-range can sound slightly unnatural when recording a meeting or a memo.

Life video frequency response

You can see from the comparison chart that the Mi 10 Pro’s bass recording is a little weaker than the Huawei Mate 20 X’s, but its mid-range is impressively consistent.

Dynamics

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

63

78

OnePlus 8

Audio recorded with the Mi 10 Pro has reasonably good dynamic characteristics, although not on par with the best phones we’ve tested. Signal-to-noise reduction is good, and plosives are precisely recorded, but the very strong bass when recording concerts negatively impacts the overall sound envelope.

Spatial

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

68

74

Asus ROG Phone 3

The Mi 10 Pro’s recording does an excellent job of representing sound sources in space, giving it a 68 in our Recording Spatial tests, and tying it with our category high score from the Mate 20 X. In particular, the Mi 10 Pro preserves a wide sound stage when recording videos with the main camera, and the phone features natural-sounding vocal reproduction independent of the direction and distance of the sound source.

The Mi 10 Pro preserves a wide sound stage when recording video with the main camera.

Volume

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

68

88

Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G

The Mi 10 Pro does a solid job of preserving the volume in all of our use cases, giving it an above-average score of 68 in our Recording Volume tests. However, maximum volume is below the top-performing iPhones and Huawei flagships.

Meeting Life Video Selfie Video Memo
-27.4 LUFS -20.3 LUFS -18.6 LUFS -21 LUFS

Artifacts

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

79

82

Asus ROG Phone II

Mi 10 Pro recordings are very clean, giving it one of our higher Recording Artifacts sub-score of 79. However, there are some artifacts when recording loud sounds like shouting voices, and noticeable volume pumping when recording concerts.

Background

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro

45

58

Apple iPhone XS Max

The Mi 10 Pro does a decent job of recording background audio, but nothing special. Highlights include an absence of artifacts and impressive tonal balance. When recording video with the main camera in our simulated home environment, however, some background noise is noticeable.

Conclusion

The Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro delivered the most impressive overall Audio performance of any phone we have tested. It was also one of the most consistent performers across the board, making it an excellent choice for nearly any use case. It isn’t among the loudest phones we’ve tested, but other than that, it came in with leading or very competitive results in both our Playback and Recording tests.

Playback

Pros

  • Very good and consistent performance overall
  • Dynamics, timbre, and spatial performance are above other tested phones
  • Bass power and precision enhance electronic and hip-hop music playback

Cons

  • Speakers are easy to occlude when playing games
  • Movie performance is a bit below music performance
  • Maximum volume is good but not as loud as some other phones

Recording

Pros

  • Good overall spatial rendering
  • Precise localizability is a very strong point
  • Recordings feature natural and balanced frequency response
  • Good loudness
  • Good voice rendering in all use cases

Cons

  • Slightly unnatural-sounding recordings in the Memo app
  • Audible artifacts in high sound-pressure-level recordings (such as concerts)
  • In our home scenario, background noise is noticeable

Videos

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.