分析:新旧版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准的对比

为了紧跟智能手机摄像头快速的创新步伐, 我们对 DxOMark Mobile 成像质量评测基准进行了改革和扩展。其中最为明显的改进是我们新增了一系列测试,用于测量变焦性能和散景质量。我们在现有的照片评分中新增这两个分项,计算得出新的照片总评分。然而,新版 DxOMark Mobile 的改进远不止如此。我们还扩展了室内和户外的测试项目其中包括新的低光拍照性能测试、运动场景效果测试以及更为严格的高动态范围场景的测试。总体而言,现在每个接受测试的设备将拍摄超过 1500 张静态图像和 2 小时的视频。

我们使用新版评测基准对几款得分较高的手机进行了再次测试并得出了一些有趣的结果,这些结果有助于说明新版 DxOMark Mobile 进行了哪些扩展来涵盖手机中一系列最新的创新和功能,并使这些测试更具相关性。您可以查看下面几款顶级智能手机的新旧版评分对比图,来了解其中的一些变化。例如,新版变焦和散景测试有助于将 iPhone 7 Plus 双摄像头设计与 iPhone 7 单镜头区分开来。同时,我们对手机在低光拍照性能、运动拍摄性能和高动态范围(HDR)这三个方面进行更广泛和细致的测试。摄像头在这三方面的表现也将明显地体现在各分项的评分中。

几款顶级智能手机的新旧版评分对比

新版 DxOMark Mobile 评分亮点包括:

  • 新增全新的变焦分项,通过在多种焦距下的大量测试进行评分
  • 新增全新的散景分项,利用专门设计的测试场景进行全面评价
  • 扩展低光测试场景,最低照度将低至 1 勒克斯
  • 更多的高动态范围的测试场景
  • 新增运动型测试场景,在现实环境中对摄像头的性能进行更准确的评价
  • 在新基准中,每个手机都将在新增的实验室和户外测试场景中拍摄超过 1500 张照片两个小时的视频,并进行分析。

新增的变焦分项

一直以来,智能手机的变焦在本质上仅是对初始广角图像的简单数字缩放,几乎毫无例外。如今,随着采用长焦镜头的双摄像头设计的出现,许多手机开始采用真正的光学变焦。一些手机甚至采用混合变焦技术,将多个摄像头拍摄的图像进行融合。随着手机已日渐取代传统相机,用户期望手机能够满足其所有的摄影需求,这其中便包括能够在不降低成像质量的情况下进行变焦。因此,新版 DxOMark Mobile 新增变焦分项。通过选定一个固定大小的主体,我们将在不同的距离下对摄像头的性能进行评估。显然,采用长焦镜头作为第二摄像头将在测试中具备明显的优势,然而设计上的折衷和图像处理技术中的难点会使得不同手机的实际性能天差地别。
如果将近期推出的光学变焦或混合变焦摄像头与同样为提高变焦性能而设计的早期大传感器高分辨率摄像头(例如 Nokia 808)的变焦性能进行比较,将会是一件特别有趣的事情。

iPhone 7 Plus 拍摄的无变焦标准图像

使用iPhone 7 Plus 2 倍变焦拍摄的同场景图像

模拟的景深效果与散景使智能手机拍摄的照片充满艺术感

和变焦一样,直到最近,智能手机依然需要一个配有大传感器的独立摄像头才能实现在模糊的背景中突显主体的效果。现在,许多手机提供计算模拟的散景效果,即利用算法融合一个或两个摄像头的图像来创建景深效果,塑造出焦点失调的亮斑来模拟通常需要高端相机配上大光圈镜头才能实现的散景。为此,我们利用特别打造的室内测试场景和精心设计的户外测试场景来评估手机摄像头的散景质量,以及景深效果的平滑度。此外,与广角镜头相比,长焦镜头拍摄的画面形变更少,在拍摄人像时尤为明显。因此,我们会对相机能否准确呈现人物面部比例的能力进行评分。
从下面的比较中可以看出,启用人像模式时, iPhone 7 Plus 能够使背景模糊,令照片更具艺术感。

启用人像模式时,iPhone 7 Plus 使背景模糊

iPhone 7 未呈现背景模糊

针对消费者的使用方式而新增的低光拍摄性能测试

如今,消费者期望智能手机在极低光环境中同样能够正常拍摄。因此,我们在照度低至 1 勒克斯的环境(例如烛光)中对手机摄像头进行测试。这将充分展示原本排名可能会非常接近的手机间的性能差异。例如,苹果 iPhone 7 在极低光环境中的曝光性能优于三星 Galaxy S6 Edge,然而在正常光照条件下,两者的评分非常相似:

苹果 iPhone 7, 1 勒克斯

三星 S6 Edge,1 勒克斯

S6 Edge 在极低光环境中存在曝光问题。同时,它还利用较长的快门时间来减少噪点,这样反而可能会产生动态伪像。这两个问题导致 S6 Edge 在我们的新版评测中得分相对较低。

新增运动场景测试为消费者提供更详细的评测内容

随着人们越来越多地使用手机拍摄动态场景,对手机处理运动场景能力的评测也变得非常重要。例如,较长的快门时间和多帧图像技术都有可能造成动态伪像。为此,我们新增了一系列低光测试场景,分别在三脚架上和手持手机进行测试。这样我们可以对细节保留度、噪点水平和其他各方面进行直接比较分析。例如,下面这些图像就是我们在低光测试中用于分析比较而选取的特定局部区域:

诺基亚 808,手持拍摄,5 勒克斯

诺基亚 808,三脚架拍摄,5 勒克斯

同时,为了更好地了解一款手机能否迅速地并且精确地对焦,我们还新增了一项自动对焦的时间测试项目。这对于体育摄影和喜爱记录孩子们可爱活泼的场景的家庭来说尤其重要。在下图中,我们看到三星 S6 Edge 在低光环境中通常对焦较慢:

三星 S6 Edge 在低光下的自动对焦测试结果

新增各类具有不同动态范围的测试场景

现在许多智能手机采用了融合多幅图像成为单张照片的技术,因此它们能够更好地拍摄有更高动态范围的场景。为了测量多帧图像技术和摄像头的其他各种相关新技术,我们新增了一系列富有挑战性的室内和户外实景测试。例如在这个桥下场景中,我们可以看到三星 S6 Edge 没能保留有阳光照射部分的场景细节,而苹果 iPhone 7 虽然保留了部分细节,但损失了色彩。只有 Google Pixel 能够准确地呈现蓝色的河水。

苹果 iPhone 7

Google Pixel

三星 S6 Edge

同样,您也可以对比我们新版室内动态范围测试的结果。例如下面的 iPhone 7 Plus 与 S6 Edge 的比较:

三星 Galaxy S6 Edge

iPhone 7 Plus

下图中的绿色垂直线标示了每个摄像头在各种光照条件下所能区分的最亮和最暗区域。不难看出,与 S6 Edge 相比,iPhone 7在室内和户外光照条件下对场景较暗部分的处理更胜一筹。

三星 Galaxy S6 Edge 与苹果 iPhone 7 的动态范围比较

高动态范围 (HDR)的性能评测

我们还新增了自然实景测试,用来评估摄像头在高对比度场景中自动处理以得到高品质图像的能力。例如,我们的“花园拱门”场景所包含的动态范围超过了目前所有手机摄像头在单幅图像中所能达到的范围,当然这说明了多帧图像技术的相对优势。在下图中我们可以看到 iPhone 7 Plus 和 HTC U11 能够利用多帧图像技术表现出超越诺基亚 808 大传感器的性能:

苹果 iPhone 7 Plus

HTC U11

诺基亚 808 PureView

低光视频性能测试

与静态图像一样,对使用智能手机拍摄视频的用户而言,低光视频性能是一项日益重要的性能。为了满足这一需求,我们的新版 DxOMark Mobile 视频测试包括了照度低至 1 勒克斯的光照条件(例如烛光)。这些测试揭示了看似拥有相似性能特点的手机间的性能差异。例如,下图表明,在低光环境中, iPhone 7 Plus 曝光不足,而 Google Pixel 的表现更出色:

在低光环境中,iPhone 7 Plus 视频曝光不足,而 Google Pixel 则要准确得多。

全面升级视频色彩、纹理、噪点和防抖测试

除了在视频测试中增加低光环境测试之外,我们还增强了视频色彩、纹理、噪点和防抖的测试。现在,我们的视频色彩测试包括我们在静态图像评价中所使用的所有测试,结合客观和感知评价,能更准确地对色彩表现进行评分。升级后的视频纹理分析新增一组客观测试,作为我们已有的感知测试的补充。这些测试在一系列光照条件下进行,尤其注重室内光照的测试。我们对视频噪点测试进行了极大扩展,同时对空间和时域噪点进行评估。此外,我们的新版视频防抖测试也更富挑战性,并且包括了伪像测试。

新版 DxOMark Mobile 能更好地区分顶级手机摄像头之间的性能差异

虽然经新版测试方案再次测试后,在旧版排名中名列前茅的手机依然占据榜单前列,然而,我们现在可以更清晰地了解他们的相对优缺点,正如下图所示,我们重新测试了3款旗舰机:

通过我们的新版测试,我们可以看到尽管这些顶级手机的总评分相似,但它们还是各有千秋。例如,在一些场景中,Pixel 和 U11 在默认模式下的图像细节捕捉能力更强,而 iPhone 7 Plus 在变焦和人像摄影方面更胜一筹。

计算成像技术和多摄像头以及多帧图像技术的相结合正在日益提高智能手机摄影的能力,来应对更多极富挑战性的场景,而且这仅仅是个开始。新版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准将帮助我们对这些先进技术和功能进行评价,并使我们继续引领图像质量检测行业。作为独立评测的领导者,我们努力为新闻、工业和消费者提供更好的评测分析。

Analysis: Comparing the original and new DxOMark Mobile test protocols

To keep up with the rapid pace of innovation in smartphone cameras, we have overhauled and expanded our DxOMark Mobile suite of image quality tests. The most obvious change is our addition of an extensive set of tests to measure Zoom performance and Bokeh quality. These two new sub-scores join our existing Photo sub-scores to create the new overall Photo score. But that is far from the only change. We have also expanded our indoor and outdoor test suites to include low-light testing, effects of subject motion, and more exacting high-dynamic range tests. Overall, we now capture over 1500 still images and two hours of video for each device we test.

We have retested several of the top-scoring phones using our new test protocol, with some interesting results that help illustrate how the new DxOMark Mobile’s scope has been expanded to cover some of the recent innovations and features and be more relevant. You can get a sense of some of the changes by looking at this chart of old versus new scores for some of the leading smartphones. For example, our new test suite that measures Zoom and Bokeh helps set the dual-camera design of the iPhone 7 Plus apart from the single-lens iPhone 7. Some of the other camera scores have also changed significantly based on how they deal with low-light, motion, and HDR – three other capabilities we now test more extensively.

Comparison of old vs new scores for some leading smartphones.

Highlights of our new DxOMark Mobile Score include:

  • All new Zoom sub-score based on extensive testing at multiple focal lengths
  • All new Bokeh sub-score using a scene designed to allow comparisons
  • Low-light testing down to 1 Lux
  • Additional high dynamic range testing
  • Motion added to the test suite to more accurately evaluate camera performance in real-world situations
  • We capture and analyze over 1500 images and two hours of video using expanded lab and outdoor test scenes for each device we test with the new protocol.

Our new Zoom sub-score

Until recently, almost without exception, zooming on a smartphone has meant a simple digital scaling of the initial wide-angle image. With the advent of dual-camera designs featuring a telephoto lens, many smartphones can now take advantage of true optical zoom, or even some form of hybrid zoom that combines images from multiple cameras. As smartphones increasingly replace traditional cameras, users also expect them to meet all their photographic needs – including the ability to zoom in on subjects without losing image quality. So our new DxOMark Mobile includes a Zoom sub-score that evaluates a camera’s performance at a variety of distances from a fixed-size subject. Having a second camera with a telephoto lens can be advantageous, but design trade-offs and software challenges mean that real-world performance varies greatly among devices.

It’ll be specifically interesting to compare the zoom performance of recent optical or hybrid zoom cameras with older large-sensor high-resolution cameras, for example the Nokia 808, that were also designed for better zoom performance.

Standard “1x” image from the iPhone 7 Plus

The same scene shot using 2x zoom on the iPhone 7 Plus

Simulated Depth Effects and Bokeh provide an artistic flair to smartphone photographs

As with Zoom, having a subject that pops from the background has until recently required a standalone camera with a large sensor. Now, though, many smartphones come with a computational bokeh effect, using some combination of either or both dual cameras and computational imaging to create a Depth Effect, and to shape the appearance of out-of-focus bright spots to simulate the Bokeh (blurred background) that is typically associated with a wide-open lens on a high-end camera. Using purpose-built indoor test scenes, and carefully-designed outdoor test scenes, we now evaluate smartphone cameras on how well they are able to provide a smooth Depth Effect, as well as on the quality of their simulated Bokeh. In addition, longer focal lengths produce less subject deformation than wide-angle shots – especially noticeable with portraits – so we judge each camera on how well it is able to accurately render the proportions of a subject’s face.

You can see from this comparison that when activating Portrait mode the iPhone 7 Plus is able to blur the background, creating a more artistic look for the image.

When in Portrait mode, the iPhone 7 Plus blurs the background

The iPhone 7 doesn’t blur the background.

Added low-light tests reflect how consumers are using their smartphones

Consumers are also now expecting their phones to capture images in very-low-light conditions, so we are testing smartphone cameras in lighting down to 1 Lux (essentially candlelight). This exposes differences in performance between phones that otherwise might rank very similarly. For example, the Apple iPhone 7 does a better job of calculating exposure in very low light than the Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge – even though in more typical lighting conditions they score very similarly:

Apple iPhone 7, 1 Lux

Samsung S6 Edge, 1 Lux

The S6 Edge has exposure problems in very low light. It also uses a long shutter time to reduce noise, which in turn can cause motion artifacts. Both of these issues contributed to its relatively lower score when tested with our new protocols.

Capturing action means needing to test for Subject Motion

As smartphones are used in more and more action situations, it is important to evaluate how well they handle subject motion. Motion artifacts can be caused by long shutter times or by problems with multi-frame image processing algorithms. To evaluate performance in those conditions, we have added tests that compare low-light performance while mounted on a tripod and when hand-held. This allows us to directly compare detail preservation, noise level, and other aspects of the resulting images, such as with these cropped portions of low-light test images:

Nokia 808, Handheld, 5 Lux

Nokia 808, Tripod, 5 Lux

We have also added timing to our Autofocus testing to better understand whether a camera can react quickly enough to accurately focus on a scene — something that is especially important when photographing sports or even family scenes with kids running around. Here you can see that in low light, the Samsung S6 Edge is often slow to focus:

Low-light Autofocus timing results for the Samsung S6 Edge

Expanded test scenes push boundaries for Dynamic Range

Many smartphone cameras automatically capture and combine multiple frames to create a single still image, thus enabling them to accurately record scenes with much higher dynamic range. To help measure this and other camera improvements, we have added new challenging indoor and outdoor test scenes. In this challenging scene shot from under a bridge, you can see that the Samsung S6 Edge is unable to keep detail in the sunlit portion of the scene, while the Apple iPhone 7 provides some detail, although not much color. Only the Google Pixel is able to render the blue color accurately.

Apple iPhone 7

Google Pixel

Samsung S6 Edge

Similarly, you can see the results of our new indoor dynamic range tests, such as the following comparison of the iPhone 7 Plus with the S6 Edge:

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

iPhone 7 Plus

The green vertical lines in this chart show the brightest and darkest areas that each camera can discriminate under various lighting conditions. You can easily see that the iPhone 7 does a better job of rendering tonal values in the shadows than the S6 Edge under typical indoor and outdoor lighting conditions.

Comparing the dynamic range of the Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge with the Apple iPhone 7

Evaluating HDR (High Dynamic Range) performance

We have added tests on natural scenes that evaluate how well a camera can automatically handle and provide a quality image in high-contrast situations. For example, our “garden arch” scene features dynamic range beyond what any current smartphone sensor can capture in a single frame, illustrating the relative advantage of having multiple frames automatically combined. Here you can see that the Apple iPhone 7 Plus and the HTC U11 are able to outperform the Nokia 808’s larger sensor by using multiple images:

Apple iPhone 7 Plus

HTC U11

Nokia 808 PureView

Testing low-light Video performance

Just as with still images, low-light performance is of increasing performance to those using smartphones for Video. To respond to this need, our new DxOMark Mobile Video test includes lighting conditions down to 1 Lux (essentially candlelight). These tests show performance differences between phones that otherwise have similar performance characteristics. For example, this chart illustrates that in low light the iPhone 7 Plus under-exposes scenes, while the Google Pixel does a much better job:

In low light, the iPhone 7 Plus under-exposes video, while the Google Pixel is much more accurate.

Upgrades to Video Color, Texture, Noise, and Stabilization tests

In addition to adding low light conditions to our Video tests, we have enhanced our tests for Video Color, Texture, Noise, and Stabilization. Our Video Color tests now include all of the tests we use for our still image evaluation, including the same method of more accurately scoring pleasing color renderings by using a combination of objective and perceptual evaluation. An upgraded version of Video Texture analysis now includes an objective set of tests to complement our perceptual tests, in a range of lighting conditions especially focusing on indoor lighting levels. Our Video Noise tests have been greatly expanded and do an improved job of evaluating both spatial and temporal noise. In addition, our Video Stabilization tests are also more challenging with our new protocol, and include evaluating artifacts.

Our new DxOMark Mobile tests do an improved job of differentiating between top performers

While the same phones that came out on top in our old rankings are still at the top as we’ve retested them with our new test protocol, it is now even easier to understand their relative strengths and weaknesses, as you can see from this chart of several retested flagship phones:

Our new test protocol shows that even though they have similar overall scores, even the best phones have different strengths and weaknesses. For example, our new tests make it clear that the Pixel and U11 can in some situations capture better image detail in default mode, while the iPhone 7 Plus is better for Zoom and Portrait photography.

We have only seen the beginning of how computational imaging coupled with multi-camera and multi-frame capture will improve the utility of smartphone cameras for an increasing number of challenging situations. Our new DxOMark Mobile test protocols will enable us to evaluate these advanced capabilities, and help us to continue to be the leading source of independent image quality test results for the press, industry, and consumers.

We are hiring!