新版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准简介

在 2012 年首次发布 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准之时,我们测试的第一批智能手机摄像头包括苹果 iPhone 4 和 5、三星 Galaxy S2 和 S3、诺基亚 808 和 HTC 8X。在当时,这些智能手机均是搭载有高性能摄像头的高端设备。

苹果 iPhone 4 是我们使用 DxOMark Mobile 测试的第一款智能手机。其 500 万像素摄像头中设计有一个 1/3.2 英寸、像素尺寸为 1.75µm 的传感器和一个 F2.8 光圈的镜头。

在此后的五年里,手机摄像头发生了巨大变革。手机摄影几乎已将小型相机市场挤压殆尽,手机行业已成为成像技术创新的首要推动力。最新的智能手机搭载了一系列新的摄像技术和功能,毫无疑问,原有的测试项目已不足以验证这些新技术与功能。

HTC U11 是我们使用旧版 DxOMark Mobile基准测试的最后一批手机之一,它配有 1200 万像素、1/2.55 英寸大传感器、F1.75 大光圈、光学影像防抖和相位检测自动对焦功能。

  • 先进的 CMOS 图像传感器技术和更强大的芯片能支持实时多帧处理,让低光下的拍照性能获得显著提升。
  • 传感器内建相位检测技术和基于激光的飞行时间技术(TOF)大大提高了摄像头自动对焦的速度和精度,尤其是在低光环境中的性能。
  • 双摄像头的配置给手机带来了光学变焦能力和类似于散景的效果,让智能手机可以模拟单反相机大光圈镜头的浅景深效果。另一些双摄像头则将 RGB 传感器与辅助黑白摄像头的图像信息相融合,实现更清晰的细节表现、更低的噪点水平和更高的动态范围。

苹果 iPhone 7 Plus 是率先在双摄像头配置中提供光学变焦的智能手机之一。

鉴于这些最新发展,为了更好地应对未来,我们重新设计了DxOMark Mobile评测基准,新增一系列户外和实验室的测试场景以及评估方法。在新基准中,我们将使用每个设备拍摄超过 1500 张照片和两个小时的视频,并进行分析。与旧基准相比,我们新增了下列几项内容:

  • 新增变焦分项,通过在多种焦距下的大量测试进行评分
  • 新增散景分项,通过实验室和户外场景进行测试评分
  • 扩展低光测试场景,最低照度将低至 1 勒克斯
  • 新增运动型测试场景,在现实环境中对摄像头的性能和处理技术进行更准确的评价

近年来,随着显示屏和芯片等许多智能手机组件的日渐成熟,摄像头质量史无前例地成为了制造商们的重要分水岭,同时也成为智能手机买家的主要决策依据。新版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准致力于评估最新手机的摄像头性能并检验手机厂商的营销宣传,帮助消费者作出明智的购买决策。

您可以点击此处查看新版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准的详细概述。也可以点击此处查看新、旧版基准的对比,浏览一些最佳智能手机摄像头的评分。采用旧版 DxOMark Mobile评测基准得出的智能手机评价报告仍然有效,可用于评估参考,但请记住,这些测试结果无法与新版基准得出的结果进行比较。

Introducing the new DxOMark Mobile test protocol

When we launched our original DxOMark Mobile test protocol in 2012, among the first smartphone cameras we tested were the Apple iPhone 4 and 5, the Samsung Galaxy S2 and S3, the Nokia 808, and the HTC 8X. Back in the day, those were all high-end devices with very capable cameras.

Apple’s iPhone 4 was the first smartphone we tested on DxOMark Mobile. Its 5 Megapixel camera featured a 1/3.2-inch sensor with a 1.75 µm pixel size and a f/2.8 aperture.

A lot has happened in the five years since then. Smartphone photography has pretty much eradicated the compact camera market segment, and the mobile sector has become the number one driver of innovation in imaging. The latest smartphone models come with camera technology and features that have slowly but surely brought our original test protocol to its limits.

One of the last devices that we tested using the old DxOMark protocol, the HTC U11, combines a large 12 Megapixel 1/2.55-inch sensor with a fast  f/1.75 aperture, optical image stabilization and phase detection AF.

  • Advanced CMOS image sensor technology and more powerful chipsets allow for real-time multi-frame processing, resulting in substantial improvements in low-light performance.
  • On-sensor phase detection and laser-based time-of-flight sensors have drastically improved autofocus speed and precision, especially in low-light conditions.
  • Dual-camera setups have brought optical zooming capabilities and bokeh-like features that simulate on smartphone cameras the shallow depth-of-field of a fast lens on a DSLR. Other dual-cams combine the image data from an RGB sensor with the information captured by a secondary monochrome chip for improved detail, reduced noise levels, and increased dynamic range.

Apple’s iPhone 7 Plus was one of the first smartphones to offer optical zoom in a dual-cam setup:

To take these developments into account and to be prepared for the future, we have redesigned the DxOMark Mobile test protocol to include new and expanded outdoor and lab test scenes and evaluation methodologies. With the new protocol, we capture and analyze more than 1500 images and two hours of video for each device. Compared to the previous protocol, it provides the following new elements:

  • A new zoom sub-score that is based on extensive testing at multiple focal lengths
  • A new bokeh sub-score based on lab and outdoor testing
  • Low-light testing down to 1 Lux
  • Motion-based test scenes for more accurate evaluation of camera performance and processing techniques in real-world situations

Many smartphone components, such as displays and chipsets, have become commoditized in recent years, but camera quality is more than ever a key differentiator for manufacturers and a major decision criterion for smartphone buyers. The new DxOMark Mobile test protocol enables consumers to make informed buying decisions by evaluating the true camera performance of the latest mobile devices and by challenging OEM marketing claims.

You can find a detailed overview of the new DxOMark Mobile test protocol here. Click here for a comparison of the original and new protocols, looking at the scores of some of the best performing smartphone cameras. The smartphone reviews that followed the previous DxOMark Mobile protocol are still valid for evaluation purposes, but please keep in mind that you cannot compare their test results with those obtained with the new protocol.

We are hiring!