爱可视Diamond Omega:稳健的表现

Reading Time: 0 min read
In 2017 the DXOMARK Mobile test protocol has been updated to cover zoom, bokeh features, very low light performance, motion in the scene and other new test criteria. Image quality testing for this review was still undertaken using the original DXOMARK Mobile test protocol from 2012. The results are not directly comparable to the new protocol but this article will still give you a very good idea of the test device's camera performance.
80
mobile

爱可视于2017年11月推出的Diamond Omega提供了一些令人印象深刻的拍照和视频设置,其中包括后置双摄像头和4K视频录像,一如该公司的旗舰机型。后置摄像头由一个高分辨率1200万像素f/1.8主摄像头,和一个用于增强变焦的2300万像素f/2副摄像头组成。双摄像头设置也可以用于创造人像(散景)效果,不过,两个摄像头模块都不具备OIS功能,而其摄像头模块似乎与Nubia Z17S大致相同(图像EXIF数据也记录了该机型),此外,Omega还提供30fps 4K视频(或60fps 1080p)。

与许多其他旗舰手机一样,Omega搭载了高通835芯片组,为其提供了足够的能力来进行复杂的图像处理(例如其内置的HDR模式和电子图像防抖),并支持可快速充电的QuickCharge 3.0,其5.73英寸1080 x 2040像素IPS显示屏上具有大猩猩玻璃的保护,手机后部则有指纹传感器。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 具有f/1.8镜头(1.4微米像素)的1200万像素主摄像头(记录为25毫米等效焦距)
  • 具有f/2镜头的2300万像素副摄像头(记录为22毫米等效焦距)
  • 相位检测自动对焦
  • 双LED,双色闪光灯
  • 4K 2160p 30 fps 视频
  • 人脸检测、HDR、全景模式

关于DxOMark Mobile测试和评分:DxOMark工程师在受控的实验室环境和室内和户外的自然场景中拍摄并评鉴超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

爱可视Diamond Omega搭载了相当好的摄像头,但除了具有快速自动对焦和大致准确的曝光效果外,它并没有任何卓然出众的特点。其总分为80分,与中高端手机的表现大致相当,但落后于苹果、谷歌和三星的顶级旗舰产品。虽然业余摄影者会觉得它可以在良好的光线下拍摄场景,但也会发现它在具有高动态范围的场景中的细节并不丰富,在大屏幕上查看图像或打印时,伪像变得显而易见。
它采用了1200万像素主摄像头和高分辨率副摄像头的不寻常组合,这意味着它的变焦是通过裁剪更高分辨率的图像来实现的。遗憾的是,该摄像头的像素不大,因此噪点比拥有真正的远摄摄像头的手机要来得多,而且它没有光学图像防抖,视频的默认模式下也没有任何类型的防抖功能,这些不足之处都使该摄像头的表现平淡。

高光

在户外高光下,Omega可拍出非常优异的曝光效果,并且可以快速而准确地对焦,但它的演色性不佳,也有些色彩渐晕和白平衡错误。它的细节保留完好,但在高光和阴影区域会出现噪点,即使在户外场景中也是如此。

Omega在户外场景中的细节保留非常到位,通常呈现相当好看的细节。仔细观察时,可以看到天空中的噪点,但这一缺陷在图像的边缘最为明显,所以对于一个漫不经心的观察者来说,这并不是显而易见的缺陷。
尽管噪点在建筑物或蓝天等实体区域的阴影部分是一大问题,但在所有测试条件下,噪点在有纹理的区域(例如该建筑物带有图案的部分)都获得了非常好的控制。
在户外使用时,Omega在细节保留方面的表现通常很好。

低光和闪光灯

Omega在低光条件下可以实现准确对焦和正确的曝光度,因此在这些方面的表现非常出色。然而尽管它有大幅的降噪处理,光线减弱时,细节保留还是开始受到很大的影响。它也有色彩晕影和白平衡错误,因此色彩仍然是它的一大问题。

这个典型的室内场景的曝光良好,但有轻微的色偏。仔细观察全分辨率原图时,也会发现在记事板等大片实色区域出现了一些噪点。

使用闪光灯拍摄时,Omega的曝光效果还是很好,但图像有绿色色偏。场景的重要区域(如拍摄对象的皮肤)中也出现了噪点和一些可察觉的色彩量化。

变焦和散景

Omega的第二个高分辨率摄像头帮助它在变焦测试项目中取得了好成绩,但其表现不如一些领先的双摄像头机型那么杰出,而且第二个摄像头无法提供良好的景深或散景效果。

虽然这张1000勒克斯测试图像中的某些部分的景深(散景)效果很好,您还是可以看到明显的错误——例如,图像顶部指向下方的三角形。

照片评分说明

我们在几个照明条件下测试爱可视Diamond Omega在不同方面的表现,并计算照片的每项成绩。爱可视Diamond Omega最后拿下了82分的总成绩。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每项图像质量的评分。

曝光与对比度

Archos Diamond Omega

85

在计算自然光下的场景中的拍摄对象的曝光方面,Omega的表现相当出色,即使在低光下也是如此,从户外到典型的室内照明水平,其曝光度都相当一致,即使在极低光条件下也只有轻微的落差。在相当棘手的场景中计算最佳曝光量时(例如光线透过窗户前的逆光室内人像),Omega的表现甚至相当优异:

Omega在这张逆光人像照片中的曝光处理非常出色,它正确地拍出了拍摄对象脸部的曝光度,不像许多其他摄像头也许会使场景变得太暗。但是,其有限的动态范围也意味着户外高光位会“爆光”(过亮)。

正如本测试场景所示,即使在极低光下(其环境光仅1勒克斯),Omega也能准确曝光。

使用Omega拍摄我们的摄影棚测试图所得出的图像显示,它在1勒克斯的光照下可拍出准确的曝光度,但您也可以看到色彩渐晕和细节大量损失的情况。

尽管Omega拥有内置HDR功能,但它在具有高动态范围的场景中的高光部分的表现并没有特别好。在这幅从桥下望出去的图像中,您可以看到它不能保留阳光照射下的河流的细节,也无法保留桥下非常黑暗的区域的细节。将它的表现与iPhone 7 Plus和诺基亚8拍摄的同一场景进行比较时,您可以发现,iPhone 7 Plus在保留场景高光部分的细节方面做得更好,尤其是水面的部分。点击缩略图可查看每部手机的整张原始图像:

爱可视Omega
iPhone 7 Plus
Nokia 8

色彩

Archos Diamond Omega

71

演色性不是Omega的强项。它在所有照明条件下都存在强烈的色彩渐晕(图像中的色彩不一致),色彩也趋向于不够饱和。

如本图所示,色彩通常是不饱和的。
在各种光照条件下,图像中央都会出现粉红色的色偏,如在20勒克斯下手持拍摄摄影棚测试场景所得到的这张图像所示。

仔细观察Omega的演色性,在很多情况下,它都很难正确地呈现一些色彩,例如,我们在各种照明条件下拍摄的肤色色卡测试图与参考色卡在sRGB中的比较,其结果如下:

在所有照明条件下,Omega都无法正确呈现较亮的肤色,也有点难以正确呈现较暗的色卡。

它的白平衡也不一致,就算在良好的照明条件下也是如此:

Omega在大多数照明条件下拍摄的中性色卡都有色偏。

自动对焦

Archos Diamond Omega

94

Omega享有其双像素图像传感器的优势和激光辅助,在所有照明条件下都能快速对焦,因此自动对焦性能相当卓越。


正如20勒克斯的测试结果所示,Omega即使在低光下也可以提供快速和可重复的自动对焦,因此它在这一方面的表现非常出色。图表上的短延时和长延时是我们给摄像头重新对焦的时间间隔,点表示它在多少时间后拍摄了一张照片。如果自动对焦失败,点会落在图表上比较低的位置上。正如您所看到的,Omega每次都能正确对焦。

纹理/细节(54)

Omega在良好的光线条件下的细节保留还算可以接受,但光线开始变弱时,纹理保留就会受到很大影响,如Omega、iPhone 7 Plus和索尼XZ Premium分别在1000勒克斯、100勒克斯和20勒克斯逐渐减弱的光线水平(相当于典型的室内光照水平)下拍摄的图像剪裁所示。

在1000勒克斯下,您已经可以看到Omega比其他机型的细节略少一些,但由于其降噪处理更加极端,其背景看起来更加平滑均匀:

Omega在1000勒克斯下的图像剪裁。
iPhone 7 Plus在1000勒克斯下的表现。
索尼XZ Premium在1000勒克斯下的表现。

在100勒克斯下,Omega能够保持与在高光下拍摄几乎相同的图像质量,而其他两款手机则开始失去了一点细节:

Omega在100勒克斯下的图像剪裁。
iPhone 7 Plus在100勒克斯下的表现。
索尼XZ Premium在100勒克斯下的表现。

在20勒克斯的较低光线水平下,Omega图像的细节损失相当明显,特别是与索尼相比更是如此:

Omega在20勒克斯下的图像剪裁。
iPhone 7 Plus在20勒克斯下的表现。
索尼XZ Premium在20勒克斯下的表现。

您可以在这里看到爱可视、苹果和索尼的不同折衷结果:iPhone和XZ Premium在低光条件下保留了更丰富的细节,而Omega则以牺牲细节为代价,以实现大幅的降噪。

噪点

Archos Diamond Omega

67

Omega的蓝天和阴影区域有很多噪点,即使在光线充足的户外场景中也是如此。在具有高动态范围的场景中,这一现象特别显而易见,如这张面对埃菲尔铁塔的场景所示:

即使在这一高光下的户外场景的低分辨率预览中,天空中仍然有明显的噪点。点击进入全分辨率版本,您也可以在桥下的阴影区域看到许多噪点。

您可以使用我们的摄影棚测试场景的裁剪部分来比较Omega、苹果iPhone 7 Plus和索尼Xperia XZ Premium相似的图像部分之间的噪点水平。Omega奋力消除噪点,但却因此丢失了一些细节,而且使纹理看起来不那么自然:

Omega在20勒克斯下的图像剪裁。
iPhone 7 Plus在20勒克斯下的图像剪裁。
索尼XZ Premium在20勒克斯下的图像剪裁。

伪像

Archos Diamond Omega

48

仔细观察图像时可以发现Omega的照片特别容易出现非常明显的伪像,振铃效应和混叠伪像很常见:

您可以在此图像中看到许多边缘处出现了明显的振铃效应。

在光线较暗的情况下,场景中如果有运动,还会发生鬼影问题。在下面的逆光照片中,您可以在移动的手上和窗口的静态顶部边缘看到鬼影。Omega的清晰度损失也是一大问题,特别是当您仔细观察时更能察觉这一问题。右下方的户外场景的中间部分最清晰,在混合光线(闪光灯加环境光)下,边缘的细节也比较不丰富,而且Omega还会发生轻微的曝光不稳定的现象,使得前后画面之间的亮度不一致。  

您可以在这一低光场景以及窗口的顶部边缘看到拍摄对象移动的手的鬼影。
在这幅Omega户外图像中,您可以看到边缘附近的细节大量损失,中央的栏杆最锐利,但图像侧面、顶部和底部的细节贫乏。

闪光灯

Archos Diamond Omega

75

Omega在使用闪光灯照明的场景中的曝光表现出色,一如它在其他照明条件下的表现。但是,仅由摄像头的闪光灯点亮的场景中出现了明显的绿色色偏,如果仔细查看全分辨率图像,您还可以看到一些低频噪点和面部的色彩量化。使用混合照明时,白平衡太绿,并有色彩渐晕。

在这个场景中,我们同时使用Omega的闪光灯与5勒克斯的环境光来拍摄,并获得了非常出色的曝光效果,但图像出现了绿色色偏。拍摄对象脸部的细节保留也很稀缺,还出现了轻微的红眼效应。

变焦

Archos Diamond Omega

30

Omega的副摄像头的焦距相当普通,没有更远的摄距,但其分辨率较高,所以它的变焦是通过对2300万像素图像的裁剪来实现的。这样的系统在许多情况下运行良好,但有一些明确的问题,例如,帧与帧之间的细节保留水平可能不一致,而大片纯色区域的噪点也是一大问题。

在这张使用变焦拍摄的画面中,纹理保留得相当好。
但是,在同一场景拍摄的其他画面中,细节却明显丢失了。
考虑到Omega缺乏远摄镜头,其表现在这一中距变焦图像的比较中还算相当不错,但是它的色彩稍微暗淡了些,而且如果仔细观察,您会发现剪裁造成了一些细节的损失,因此其细节比iPhone图像少了些,但表现比诺基亚8更好。
Omega的中距变焦。
iPhone 7 Plus的中距变焦
诺基亚8的中距变焦。

在我们的远距变焦测试中,Omega失去了更多的细节,特别是与iPhone 7 Plus相比更是如此,但其表现比诺基亚8好得多。诺基亚8不仅损失了大量细节,而且噪点也大幅增加了:

Omega的远距变焦。
iPhone 7 Plus的远距变焦。
iPhone 8的远距变焦

变焦测试的简要说明:中距测试对应于4到5倍的放大率,具体取决于摄像头的固有焦距;而远距测试相当于8到10倍左右。这种差异是因为我们保留相同的取景(和有效焦距),但不同的智能手机的固有焦距略微不同,因此需要不同的变焦倍数才能达到相同的取景效果。

散景

Archos Diamond Omega

25

Omega的副摄像头并不能改善人像的景深效果(或艺术散景)。它对室内场景的景深估计通常不错,但会出现散景效果不一致的现象,因此大大降低了该功能的实用性。在户外,摄像头很少触发其景深模式来为散景创造模糊效果;当景深效果出现时,其效果往往非常拙劣,看起来也不漂亮。

即使在最好的情况下,Omega的散景效果也不一致。您在这里可以看到背景的某些部分变得模糊,有些部分却变得清晰。
在这幅图像中,同一场景的背景不一致的情况更加明显。

下面是使用Omega、iPhone 7 Plus和诺基亚8的人像模式来拍摄同一场景的图像比较。与其他两款手机的效果相比,您可以轻易地观察到,Omega的效果看起来很假,例如,公寓楼的几个部分几乎和拍摄对象的头部一样清晰,而一些较近的部分则比较模糊:

在Omega人像模式下拍摄的图像。
在苹果iPhone 7 Plus人像模式下拍摄的图像。
在诺基亚8人像模式下拍摄的图像。

视频评分说明

Omega在视频方面的表现并没有像照片那么优秀,它在自动对焦以外的其他类别中仅拿下了差强人意的成绩。具体来说,其评分项目为:曝光(72)、色彩(73)、自动对焦(88)、纹理(44)、噪点(67)、伪像(66)、光学防抖(56)。

与静态图像一样,Omega视频的曝光效果很好,它在具有高动态范围的测试场景中也可以得到不错的曝光效果,但有时会使户外场景看起来比理想场景更暗。自动对焦也是快速准确的;噪点在户外场景中得到了很好的控制,但色彩渐晕很明显。视频影片深受伪像的影响,尤其是混叠伪像和振铃效应,此外,默认的视频模式也不提供任何防抖功能。

结论:还不错的摄像头,与顶级机型尚有差距

对于偶尔拍照的业余摄影者或任何不需要最新旗舰手机的最佳图像质量的人来说,爱可视Diamond Omega是足以胜任大多数典型的拍摄条件下的任务的一款手机。但是它的图像经不起仔细审查的考验,其功能也落后于其他一些最新机型。它具有快速的自动对焦和准确的曝光性能,因此很适合于拍摄动作或快速移动的场景,但它的色彩和伪像问题会使喜欢拍风景或旅行照片的人望而却步。其视频影像与静态图像的优点和不足之处大致相当,其中快速而准确的自动对焦是两者的最大优势。请注意,未来的固件更新也许会持续改进涉及图像处理的某些领域(如变焦和散景)。

80
mobile
82
photo
75
video

优点

  • 自动对焦快速准确,也可以重复
  • 噪点水平控制良好,即使在低光下也是如此
  • 低光下,拍摄对象的曝光正确
  • 闪光灯:拍摄对象的曝光良好
  • 变焦:近距拍摄的细节保留相当好

优点

  • 快速自动对焦反应和收敛
  • 在具有高动态范围的实验室场景中,拍摄对象有不错的曝光度
  • 噪点水平在户外条件下得到了很好的控制

不足

  • 所有照明条件下都可以看到强烈的色彩渐晕
  • 在具有高动态范围的场景中,图像的高光部分通常会“爆光”(太亮)
  • 室内和低光下的细节保留不佳
  • 在所有照明条件下,色彩都会略微失饱和
  • 很少触发散景功能,并有强烈的景深估计所产生的伪像

不足

  • 室内和户外照片中都可以看见强烈的混叠伪像。
  • 默认模式下没有防抖
  • 在所有照明条件下都可以看到色彩渐晕
  • 户外条件下的曝光有时太暗

Archos Diamond Omega: Solid performer

DxOMark Mobile

Launched in November 2017, the Archos Diamond Omega offers some impressive photo and video specs, as befits the firm’s flagship model, starting with a dual rear camera and 4K video capture. The rear cameras are a high-resolution 12MP f/1.8 primary camera and a 23MP f/2 for enhanced zoom. The dual camera setup also allows for a Portrait (Bokeh) effect. Neither camera module features OIS, though. The camera modules appear to be essentially the same as the ones in the Nubia Z17S (and image EXIF data also reports that model). The Omega also offers 4K video at 30fps (or 1080p at 60fps).

Like many other flagship phones, the Omega packs a Qualcomm 835 chipset, which gives it enough power for sophisticated image processing, for example, its built-in HDR mode and electronic image stabilization. Its 5.73-inch 1080 x 2040 pixel IPS display is protected with Gorilla Glass. The phone also supports Quick Charge 3.0 for rapid recharging, and it has a fingerprint sensor on the rear.

Key camera specifications:

  • 12MP primary camera with f/1.8 lens (1.4 micron pixels) (reported as 25mm equivalent focal length)
  • 23MP secondary camera with f/2 lens (reported as 22mm equivalent focal length)
  • Phase-detection autofocus
  • Dual-LED, dual-tone flash
  • 4K 2160p video at 30 fps
  • Face detection, HDR, panorama mode

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

The Archos Diamond Omega features a reasonably good camera, but doesn’t excel in any specific area other than in having quick autofocus and generally accurate exposures. Its 80 point overall score is in line with the upper-end phones from mid-tier players, but behind the top-tier flagship devices from Apple, Google, and Samsung. While casual photographers will find that it captures scenes well under good light, photo enthusiasts will be bothered by its lack of detail in high dynamic-range scenes, as well as by image artifacts that become very visible when looking at the image on a large screen or when printed.

Its unusual combination of a primary 12MP camera and high-resolution camera mean that it zooms by cropping the higher-resolution image. Unfortunately, that camera has smaller pixels and therefore more noise than on a phone with a true telephoto camera. The lack of optical image stabilization, and of any kind of stabilization in the default mode for capturing video, also holds the camera back.

Bright light

In outdoors and bright light, the Omega produces excellent exposures and focuses quickly and accurately. Its color reproduction suffers, though, with color shading and some white balance errors. Detail is well-preserved, but noise can be an issue in highlight and shadow areas, even in outdoor scenes.

The Omega does a very good job preserving details in outdoor scenes, and renders them in an overall pleasing way. If you look closely, you can see noise in the sky, but it is most pronounced towards the edges of the image, so it isn’t very visible to a casual observer.
While noise was an issue in solid areas such as the shadowed portions of buildings or blue skies, it was well-contained in textured areas, such as the patterned portions of this building, in all tested conditions.
The Omega does a generally good job of detail preservation when used outdoors.

Low light and Flash

The Omega does a remarkably good job of accurately focusing and correctly exposing under low-light conditions. However, as light falls, detail preservation begins to suffer greatly, despite aggressive noise reduction. Color continues to be an issue, with shading and white balance errors.

This typical indoor scene is well-exposed, but suffers from a slight color cast. A close look at the full-resolution original also shows some noise in such large solid-colored areas as the note board.

Using flash, the Omega continues to expose well, but images suffer from a green cast. There is also noise and some visible color quantization in important areas of the scene, such as the subject’s skin.

Zoom and Bokeh

The second, high-resolution camera on the Omega helps it score well in the zoom category, although not as high as some of the leading dual-camera models. Unfortunately, the second camera isn’t very effective at providing good depth or bokeh effects.

While the depth (bokeh) effect works well for some parts of this 1000 Lux test image, you can see significant errors — for example, at the top of the image in the downward-pointing triangular shapes.

Photo scores explained

The Archos Diamond Omega achieves a total photo score of 82, which is calculated from its scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (85)

The Omega does a good job of calculating target exposure for naturally-lit scenes, even in low light. Exposures are quite consistent from outdoor down to typical indoor lighting levels and fall off only slightly even in very low-light conditions. The Omega even does an excellent job of calculating the optimal exposure in fairly tricky scenes, such as this backlit indoor portrait with light streaming through a window:

The Omega handles exposure very well in this backlit portrait shot. It correctly exposes the subject’s face, while many other cameras would render the scene too dark. However, its limited dynamic range means that the outdoor highlights are blown out.

Even in extreme low-light conditions, the Omega exposes accurately, as illustrated by this test scene shot with just 1 Lux of ambient light.

The Omega image of our studio test chart shot at a light level of 1 Lux shows accurate exposure, although you can also see color shading and substantial loss of detail.

Despite having built-in HDR capability, the Omega does not do a particularly good job of holding details in the bright portions of high-dynamic-range scenes. In this image looking out from under a bridge, you can see that it doesn’t preserve the details in the sunlit portion of the river. It also is unable to hold the details in the very dark area on the underside of the bridge. You can compare its performance to the iPhone 7 Plus and the Nokia 8 photographing the same scene, and see that the iPhone 7 Plus does a better job of preserving details in the bright portions of the scene — especially the water. Click on a thumbnail to see the entire original image from each phone:

Archos Omega
iPhone 7 Plus
Nokia 8

Color (71)

Color rendering is not one of the Omega’s strong suits. There is strong color shading (inconsistency of color across the image) in all lighting conditions, and colors also tend to be desaturated.

Colors are often desaturated, as illustrated in this image.
A pink cast appears in the center of images under a variety of lighting conditions, including in this image of a studio test scene photographed at 20 Lux, hand held.

Taking a closer look at the rendering of individual colors, in many cases the Omega has a hard time rendering them accurately. Here, for example, are the test results for the skin tone patches of a test chart photographed under a variety of lighting conditions and compared with the reference patch color in sRGB:

The Omega has trouble with the lighter skin tone patch in all lighting conditions, and also struggles a bit with the darker patch.

White balance is also inconsistent, even under good lighting conditions:

The Omega has a color cast for neutral patches in most lighting conditions.

Autofocus (94)

The Omega excels at autofocus, taking advantage of its dual-pixel sensor and laser assistance for quick focusing under all lighting conditions.

Even in low light, the Omega does an impressive job of providing quick and repeatable autofocus, as you can see here from our test results at 20 Lux. The Short Delay and Long Delay times are the intervals we provide the camera for refocusing, and the dots represent how soon after that it captures an image. If the autofocus fails, the dots will appear lower on the chart. As you can see, the Omega focused correctly every time.

Texture / Detail (54)

The Omega does an okay job of preserving detail in great conditions, but once the light starts to fall off, texture preservation suffers greatly. You can see this illustrated with these crops of three handheld shots taken with the Omega, the iPhone 7 Plus, and the Sony XZ Premium under decreasing light levels, at 1000 Lux, 100 Lux, and 20 Lux (a fairly typical light level for indoor events).

At 1000 Lux, you can already see that the Omega shows a little less detail than the other models, although due to more aggressive noise reduction, it produces a smoother background:

Crop from Omega at 1000 Lux.
iPhone 7 Plus at 1000 Lux.
Sony XZ Premium at 1000 Lux.

At 100 Lux, the Omega manages to retain nearly the same image quality as it did in brighter light, while the other two phones start to lose a little detail:

Crop from Omega at 100 Lux.
iPhone 7 Plus at 100 Lux.
Sony XZ Premium at 100 Lux.

At the lower light level of 20 Lux, the loss of detail in the Omega image is quite pronounced, especially compared to the Sony:

Crop from Omega at 20 Lux.
iPhone 7 Plus at 20 Lux.
Sony XZ Premium at 20 Lux.

You can see the different trade-offs made by Archos, Apple, and Sony here, as the iPhone and XZ Premium preserve more detail in low light, while the Omega applies additional noise reduction at the expense of detail preservation.

Noise (67)

The Omega has a lot of noise in blue skies and shadowed areas, even in well-lit outdoor scenes. It is particularly noticeable when the scene is high-dynamic-range, like this one facing the Eiffel Tower:

There is visible noise in the sky, even in a reduced-resolution preview of this brightly-lit outdoor scene. If you click through to the full-resolution version, you can also see substantial noise in the shadow areas under the bridge.

You can compare noise levels among the Omega and the similarly-positioned Apple iPhone 7 Plus and the Sony Xperia XZ Premium using these cropped sections of our studio test scene. The Omega works hard to remove noise, but some details are lost as a result, and textures look less natural:

Crop from Omega at 20 Lux.
Crop from iPhone 7 Plus at 20 Lux.
Crop from Sony XZ Premium at 20 Lux.

Artifacts (48)

The Omega is particularly susceptible to artifacts that are quite visible when looking closely at an image. Ringing and aliasing are quite common:

You can see obvious ringing around many of the edges in this image.

In lower-light conditions, there is also a problem with ghosting if there is movement in the scene. In the case of the backlit portrait below, you can see it both in the moving hand and in the static top edge of the window. Loss of sharpness is also an issue for the Omega, especially when you look closely. The outdoor scene below on the right is sharpest in the middle, with less detail towards the edges In mixed light (flash plus ambient), the Omega also develops slight exposure instability, with sequential frames appearing either lighter or darker than previous ones.

You can see the ghosting of the subject’s moving hand in this low-light scene, as well as in the top edge of the window.
You can see that detail preservation falls off as you go towards the edges of the frame in this outdoor image from the Omega. The railings are sharpest in the center, but lack detail on the sides and the top and bottom of the image.

Flash (75)

As with other lighting conditions, the Omega does a good job with exposure for flash-lit scenes. However, scenes lit only by the camera’s flash have a visible green cast to them. If you look through to the full-resolution image, you can also see some low-frequency noise and color quantization in faces. With mixed lighting, the white balance is too green, and color shading becomes visible.

Exposure is excellent in this scene lit with the Omega’s flash combined with 5 Lux of ambient light, but the image has a green cast. There is also poor detail preservation in the subject’s face, and a slight red-eye effect is noticeable.

Zoom (30)

Rather than have a second camera with a longer focal length, the Omega has one with a fairly standard focal length, but higher resolution, so that zooming is accomplished by cropping its 23MP image. The resulting system works well in many cases, but has some definite issues. Detail preservation can vary from frame to frame, for example, and noise is an issue in large, solid-color areas.

Texture is reasonably-well preserved in this frame of an image taken using zoom.
However, in other frames taken of the same scene, there is noticeable loss of detail.
In this comparison of medium zoom images, the Omega does reasonably well considering its lack of a telephoto lens. Colors are a little off, and if you look closely enough, you can see that the cropping causes a loss of fine detail compared to the iPhone image, but the Omega does a better job with detail than the Nokia 8.
Omega medium zoom.
iPhone 7 Plus medium zoom.
Nokia 8 medium zoom.

In our long-range Zoom tests, the Omega loses additional detail, especially compared to the iPhone 7 Plus, but it holds up much better than the Nokia 8, where not only is there a dramatic loss of detail, there is also a large increase in noise:

Omega long-range zoom.
iPhone 7 Plus long-range zoom.
Nokia 8 long-range zoom.

Quick note on our Zoom tests: The medium-range tests correspond to a 4x–5x magnification depending on the native focal length of the camera, while the long-range tests correspond to about 8x–10x. The variation is because we keep the framing (and effective focal length) the same, but different smartphones have slightly different native focal lengths and therefore require different Zoom factors to achieve the same effect.

Bokeh (25)

Having a second camera doesn’t help the Omega much when it comes to adding depth effects for portraits or artistic bokeh. Indoors, depth estimation is generally good, but inconsistencies greatly reduce the usefulness of the feature. Outdoors, it is hard to get the camera to trigger its depth effect and create blur for bokeh, and when it does the result is often very heavy-handed and not pleasing.

Even at its best, the Omega’s bokeh effect is inconsistent. Here you can see that some portions of the background are blurred, while others are sharp.
In this image of the same scene, the inconsistencies in the background are even more pronounced.

Below are comparison images of the same scene taken with the Omega, the iPhone 7 Plus, and the Nokia 8, all set to Portrait mode. You can easily see how the Omega effect looks unreal compared to the other two. For example, portions of the apartment building are nearly as sharp as the subject’s head, while some closer sections are blurred much more:

Omega image in Portrait mode.
Apple iPhone 7 Plus image in Portrait mode.
Nokia 8 image in Portrait mode.

Video scores explained

The Omega isn’t as strong in Video as it is for photos, turning in a set of merely okay sub-scores in categories other than autofocus. Specifically, it scored: Exposure (72), Color (73), Autofocus (88), Texture (44), Noise (67), Artifacts (66), and Stabilization (56).

As with still images, the Omega exposed video clips well, including high-dynamic-range test scenes — although sometimes it tended to render outdoor scenes a little darker than ideal. Autofocus was also fast and accurate. Noise was well-controlled in outdoor scenes, but color shading was evident. Video clips suffered from artifacts, especially aliasing and ringing. Also, the default video mode doesn’t provide any stabilization.

Conclusion: Decent camera, but doesn’t challenge the best

For casual photographers, or anyone who doesn’t feel they need the very best image quality from the latest flagship phones, the Archos Diamond Omega does a competent job under most typical shooting conditions. Images don’t stand up to close scrutiny, though.Fast autofocus and accurate exposure make it attractive for capturing action or fast-moving scenes, while color issues and artifacts won’t appeal to those trying to make the most of their landscape or travel photos. Its video strengths and shortcomings parallel those for still images, with quick and accurate autofocus once again its biggest strength. Note that it’s quite possible that there will be continued improvement in some areas involving image processing, such as zoom and bokeh, through future firmware updates.

DxOMark mobile
Archos Diamond Omega
DxOMark Mobile
DxOMark Mobile


  • Autofocus is fast, accurate, and repeatable
  • Noise level is well-controlled, even in low light
  • Good target exposure in low-light conditions
  • Flash: Subjects are well-exposed
  • Zoom: Fairly good detail preservation at close range


  • Fast autofocus reaction and convergence
  • Good target exposure in high-dynamic-range lab scenes.
  • Noise level is well-controlled in outdoor conditions


  • Strong color shading is visible in all lighting conditions
  • Bright parts of the image are often blown out in high-dynamic-range scenes
  • Poor detail preservation in indoor and low-light conditions
  • Colors are slightly desaturated in all lighting conditions
  • Bokeh effect rarely triggers and has strong depth estimation artifacts


  • Strong aliasing is visible in indoor and outdoor conditions
  • Stabilization is not available in default mode
  • Color shading is visible in all lighting conditions
  • Exposures are sometimes too dark in outdoor conditions