佳能EOS 4000D传感器评测:让人动心的优惠价格

DxOMark
Sensor
63

和4个多月前发布的佳能EOS 4000D(北美版Rebel T6)是日本制造商佳能最新推出的实惠、紧凑、便携的数码单反相机。该款相机采用1800万像素CMOS传感器,使用佳能DIGIC 4+图像处理器,原生标准感光度范围为ISO 100-6400, 最高可扩展至ISO 12800。 这款ESO 4000D还可在一瞬间实现3fps连拍。

就像佳能系列同档次的其他产品一样,这款机型通过9点全十字自动对焦系统完成对焦。除了常见的自动和半自动曝光模式外,它还提供了一系列基于场景的傻瓜式拍摄模式,包括了场景智能自动模式(全自动模式)和使用创意滤镜的创意自动模式。 

主要规格:

  • 1800万像素APS-C CMOS传感器
  • 9点自动对焦(取景器)
  • DIGIC 4+ 图像处理器
  • 2.7英寸翻转LCD显示屏
  • 3 fps连拍
  • 支持1080/60p 视频拍摄
  • 内置Wi-Fi

整体性能

在DxOMark传感器整体测评中,佳能EOS 4000D总得分为63分。在现代APS-C全画幅CMOS传感器中,4000D得分很低。但它也有一个优势:当相机所处的拍摄环境趋于极端时,其性能才可能出现问题。

在基础感光度(ISO 100)设置时,佳能传感器的性能表现最好,其测试结果接近于制造商的设定。但也不出所料,其单项得分较低。人像摄影(色彩深度)得分为21.9位,远远低于同类传感器的领军者。从动态范围来看, 4000D的情况也一样,其动态范围为11.4 EV。即便如此,在大多数情况下,这是一个不错的分数,在直方图的两端都可以有足够的范围来处理曝光不佳的图像。 

低光ISO得分符合我们严格的图像质量标准(色彩深度最小为18位,动态范围至少为9 EV,信噪比最低为30 dB)下最高的ISO感光度。EOS 4000D在ISO相当低时(仅为695),达到了这些阈值,尽管这些数据都仅仅来自于未处理的原始文件。当使用内置的Digic 4+图像处理器或使用RAW转换软件在相机中保存JPEG文件时,ISO感光度为1600时,相机性能可以得到很好的展现。

图像质量比较

EOS 4000D采用了与2009年、2010年上市的EOS 7D和EOS 60D相同的1800万像素 APS-C传感器,因此拍摄的图像质量与这两款相机非常相似,这也并不令人吃惊。 

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark图像传感器排名工具。

这三款相机均采用22位的色彩灵敏度,因此表现相当接近,在性能上没有真正的差别,特别是在低ISO条件下。在基本的动态范围内,三者的差别仅为+0.3 EV,而且在最小的低光ISO值下,三款相机表现依然相当接近,从传感器的动态表现来看,几乎没有任何区别。 

批评很简单,但我们也提醒自己,在这些机型中,上市价格最低的仅稍低于1 200美元,远远超过了今天的4000D的价格。

佳能4000D并非当前市面上唯一的超低价数码单反相机。其主要竞争对手尼康采取了一种策略,即在其产品线中提供性能相似的传感器,以其他性能区分机型,并确定价格,所以尼康D3400传感器能夠在当前传感器性能表现上处于遥遥领先的地位。这也解释了在DxOMark传感器得分榜上尼康D3400高出4000D 23分的原因。

深入测试比较

关于传感器性能的更多细节,我们将进一步深入分析,比较佳能EOS 4000D与2009年年底推出的佳能EOS 7D、以及其竞品尼康D3400。值得一提的是,尼康D3400是一款极具价格竞争力的入门级机型。

人像摄影(色彩深度)

在各自的最低原生灵敏度设置(基础ISO)中,佳能EOS 7D和4000D的传感器表现几乎相同,性能上没有真正的差异。而尼康D3400采用更现代的传感器,其像素计数更高,因而需要克服的敏感度像素可能更低。这种区别在很大程度上是竞品的优势。这是我们所见过的性能最好的传感器之一,其色彩深度明显高于24位,而佳能两款相机的色彩深度约为20位,可说尼康领先了2.5档的优势。  

随着ISO灵敏度的提高,佳能两款相机的色彩灵敏度都降低了,在中等ISO设置下两款相机几乎一致,在制造商的ISO 1600设置中两款相机的表现都达到了我们的17位色彩质量阈值。4000D的灵敏度有一些细微的偏差,其原生最大感光度ISO 6400也不高,反观7D则为ISO 12800,这是因为7D已做了一些微调;但在我们14位的限值下,这种差异小于三分之一档位。 

而与尼康D3400相比,这就是完全另一回事了。尼康不仅在ISO 200-400范围间提供比两款佳能相机更好的色彩灵敏度,而且性能在整个范围内也明显高出佳能1-2个档位,在ISO 1600 下达到了极好的20位阈值。即使在我们的14位下限,尼康也保有1个档位的优势,这使得尼康在某些极端ISO设置中仍然可以提高演色性。

风景摄影(动态范围)

传感器的动态范围越宽,设备能记录下图像中最暗阴影部分和最亮的高光区域之间的亮度范围的能力越好。 

宽动态范围对任何拍摄水平的用户而言都是有益的,特别是拍照后调整曝光率时尤为有用。尼康D3400测得的最低ISO值大约比佳能相机低了半个档,但它却提供了大约多出2.5个档的宽动态范围。然而,在11.4档动态范围下,4000D的性能表现依然不错。即使7D和4000D使用相同或相似的传感器,然而7D却显示出比4000D高出+0.3EV的动态范围,这都要归功于微调;而在较高的ISO条件下,两者之间没有区别。

尽管在所有的灵敏度设置中,尼康D3400仍然继续显示了其较宽的动态范围,但在更高的ISO值的条件下,其中的差别却降低了。尽管如此,在ISO 3200条件下,这高出大约一档的优势仍然是一个相当重要的表现;在低光照条件下,摄像师使用手持相机拍摄时,也能从中受益。

运动摄影(低光ISO)

SNR是测量传感器在可检测到随机误差或噪点前所拍摄的图像质量好坏的方法。在最低感光度ISO 100的情况下,4000D在我们的信噪比(SNR 18%)测试中获得了38.5 dB,这刚好达到了我们38dB的质量阈值范围。

如果把感光度增加一档,调整到ISO 200,4000D就下降到这个阈值之下,并持续下降,直到ISO达到800,它下降到我们的第二个质量阈值30 dB。这意味着低噪点水平并不是这个传感器的优势。佳能EOS 7D的情况也是如此,这也许不出意料。   

相比之下,采用2400万像素传感器的尼康D3400在任何感光度下,噪点水平都要低得多。例如,在ISO 100-200的情况下,尼康拍摄的图像保持在38 dB以上,而在几乎所有的ISO设置下,其拍摄的图像都保持着一个档的优势(或仅少于一档)。 

尽管毫无疑问,这是使用更现代的传感器的好处,但我们的测量是基于未处理的原始文件,因此您也可以从4000D内置的图片处理器或使用电脑软件获得较低噪点的JPEG文件。

结论

作为入门级相机,4000D相当具有吸引力。它为初学者提供了大量的功能,如广泛的拍摄模式、高清视频、良好的人体工程学和用户友好的操控。这款相机重量很轻,仅436g,机型紧凑,而且可以使用任何系统中最多样的镜头。佳能能做到世界上第一流的相机制造商之一,这是有道理的! 

然而,就传感器性能而言,4000D并不是最尖端的。就像它高价的同胞2000D一样,也缺少佳能的革新的全像素双核自动对焦技术。事实上,它似乎使用了前几代以前的传感器设计,但除了在最具挑战性的条件下外,这款机型的表现力还是不错。但是尼康售价较高的D3400不仅在传感器性能上超过了4000D,而且其像素值也略高。  

然而,EOS 4000D也有其重要的优势:它的价格。其售价大约为400美元,还自带一枚18-55mm变焦镜头。其售价足够低,让普通用户可以舍弃智能手机,因为这提供了一款非常实惠的数码单反相机。

在这次测评中,我们将佳能EOS 4000D与曾测试过的最直接的竞品进行了比较。照例,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,进行深入分析。

Canon EOS 4000D sensor review: Temptingly affordable

63
DxOMark Sensor

Announced a little over 4 months ago, the Canon EOS 4000D (Rebel T6 in North America) is the Japanese manufacturer’s latest temptingly affordable, compact and super-lightweight DSLR. It has an 18MP CMOS sensor, and uses Canon’s DIGIC 4+ image processor to enable a native ISO range of 100-6400, which is expandable to 12,800 with gain. The 4000D can also offer short bursts at up to 3 fps for fleeting moments.

Like others at this level in Canon’s lineup, the viewfinder autofocus consists of a 9-point AF system with a single cross-type sensor at the center. In addition to the usual auto and semi-auto exposure modes, it features a raft of point-and-shoot scene-oriented modes, including a Scene Intelligent Auto mode and a Creative Auto mode that uses creative filters. 

Key specifications:

  • 18Mp APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 9-point AF (viewfinder)
  • DIGIC 4+ processor
  • 2.7-inch tilting LCD
  • 3 fps continuous shooting
  • 1080/60p video
  • Wi-Fi

Overall performance

The Canon EOS 4000D attained an overall DxOMark sensor score of 63 points, which is on the low side for a modern APS-C-size CMOS sensor, but on the plus side, performance is likely to be an issue only when the camera is pushed to the extremes.

The Canon sensor delivers its best performance at the base sensitivity (ISO100), which measured close to the manufacturer’s setting. Unsurprisingly, the individual scores are a little low. The Portrait (color depth) score of 21.9 bits is quite some way behind the leaders in this sensor size, and the same can be said for the 4000D’s dynamic range of 11.4 EV. That said, in most cases this is a capable score with more than enough range for dealing with poorly-exposed images at either end of the histogram. 

The low-light ISO score is the maximum ISO sensitivity that meets our strict image quality criteria — a minimum of 18-bit color, at least 9 EV dynamic range, and a minimum 30 dB signal-to-noise ratio (SNR). The 4000D achieved those thresholds at a fairly low 695 ISO, though that’s for unprocessed RAW files. When saving JPEGs in-camera using the onboard Digic 4+ processor or when using RAW conversion software, ISO sensitivities of ISO1600 should be well within the capabilities of the camera.

Image quality compared

Featuring the same 18Mp APS-C sensor as the earlier EOS 7D and the EOS 60D from the same generation (2009-10), it is perhaps unsurprising that the 4000D offers very similar image quality. 

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool.

With color sensitivity around the 22-bit mark, all three are remarkably close, offering no real difference in performance, particularly at low ISOs. And with just a +0.3 EV difference between them in dynamic range at base, and about the same again in our minimum Low-light ISO score, there’s little to differentiate among the three in terms of sensor dynamics. 

While it’s easy to be critical, let’s remind ourselves that the lowest of those models was just under $1,200 when launched, considerably more than the price of the 4000D in today’s money.

As a super-affordable DSLR, the 4000D isn’t alone. Arch-rival Nikon has adopted a strategy of offering similar-performing sensors across their lineup, letting other features differentiate among the models and determining the prices. This means the Nikon D3400 sensor is pretty much at the leading edge of current sensor performance, which explains the 23-point difference in the DxOMark sensor score between it and the 4000D.

In-depth comparisons

For more details about sensor performance, our in-depth analysis takes a closer look at how the Canon EOS 4000D compares with the Canon EOS 7D from late 2009, and the rival Nikon D3400, a competitively-priced entry-level model.

Portrait (color depth)

At their respective lowest native sensitivity settings (base ISO), the sensors in the Canon EOS 7D and 4000D are performing at practically the same level with no real difference in performance. Against the more modern sensor in the Nikon D3400, which has a higher pixel count and therefore smaller, potentially less sensitive pixels to overcome, the difference is substantially in their rival’s favor. It is one of the best-performing sensors we’ve seen, with a markedly higher color depth of over 24 bits, compared to around 20 bits for the Canon pair, equating to around a +2.5 stop advantage for the Nikon.  

As the ISO sensitivity increases, color sensitivity in the Canon pair decreases at a more or less consistent rate through the mid ISO settings, both reaching our quality threshold of 17 bits at the maker’s ISO 1600 setting. There’s some slight deviation in sensitivity with the 4000D and its lower native ISO 6400 maximum, compared to the 7D’s ISO 12800, on account of some tuning in the latter, but it’s a difference of less than a third of a stop at our 14-bit limit. 

It is a different story with the sensor in the Nikon 3400. Not only does it offer better color sensitivity in the 200-400 ISO range over the Canon pair, it also maintains a significant performance envelope of 1 to 2 stops throughout the range, hitting the excellent 20-bit threshold at ISO1600. Even at our 14-bit minimum, the Nikon has around a one-stop advantage, which is still likely to result in improved color rendition at those extreme ISO settings.

Landscape (dynamic range)

The wider the dynamic range of the sensor, the better the device is at recording the range of luminance values between the deepest shadows and the brightest highlights in an image. 

A wide dynamic range benefits users at all levels of experience, and is particularly useful when adjusting exposure after capture. The D3400’s measured minimum ISO is about half a stop lower than those of the Canon cameras, but offers a sizable 2.5 stops or so of wider dynamic range. A 11.4-stop dynamic range for the 4000D is still good, however. That the 7D displays a modest improvement of +0.3 EV in dynamic range over it comes down to tuning: the 4000D shares the same or similar sensor, and at higher ISOs, there’s no difference between the two.

Although the Nikon D3400 continues to display a wider dynamic range at all sensitivity settings, that margin is reduced at higher ISOs. Nevertheless, the roughly one-stop advantage at ISO 3200 is still quite a significant showing, and a benefit to photographers in low-light conditions when using the camera hand-held.

Sports (low-light ISO)

SNR is a measure of how well the sensor captures an image before random errors, or noise, is detectable. At its lowest sensitivity of ISO 100, the 4000D achieves 38.5 dB in our signal-to-noise ratio (SNR 18%) tests, which is just within our 38dB quality threshold.

Increasing ISO sensitivity just one stop to ISO 200, the 4000D dips just beneath that threshold and continues to decline right through ISO 800, where it drops beneath our second quality threshold of 30dB, meaning that low noise levels aren’t a strong point for this sensor. And perhaps unsurprisingly, the same is true for the Canon EOS 7D.   

In contrast, the Nikon D3400 with its 24MP sensor has much lower noise levels at all sensitivities. Images captured over ISO 100-200, for example, remain above 38dB, and the D3400 maintains a one-stop advantage (or just under) at practically every ISO setting. 

Although that is without a doubt a benefit of using a much more modern sensor, our measurements are based on unprocessed RAW files, so you can expect lower noise in JPEGs from the 4000D’s processor or when using desktop software.

Conclusion

As an entry-level camera, the 4000D is highly attractive. It has a great mix of features for beginners, such as a wide range of shooting  modes, HD video, good ergonomics, and user-friendly controls. It’s also light in weight at 436g and highly compact, and it has access to the largest range of lenses of any system. There are reasons why Canon is one of the foremost camera makers in the world! 

In terms of sensor performance, the 4000D isn’t at the cutting edge, however. Like its pricier 2000D sibling, it also lacks Canon’s innovative Dual Pixel AF technology. Indeed, it appears to be using a sensor design from a couple of generations ago, but it is a capable performer under all but the most challenging of conditions. That said, Nikon’s aggressively-priced D3400 not only outshines the 4000D in sensor performance, but also has a slightly higher pixel count.  

The EOS 4000D has one important point on its side, however: its price. At around $400 with a 18-55mm zoom, it is low enough to tempt even casual users away from their smartphones by offering a very affordable entry into DSLR photography.

In this review we have compared the Canon EOS 4000D to its most direct rivals that we’ve tested. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool. 

We are hiring!