佳能EOS R传感器测评

DxOMark
Sensor
89

在尼康Z6和Z7发布后不久,佳能发布了中档相机EOS R。这也是该公司首款全画幅无反相机。此外,它采用新的RF卡口,其直径与EF卡口一样均为54mm,但其法兰距从44mm减少到只有20mm,这也许为后续推出一些高性能的镜头做好了准备。

作为该系统推出的首款相机,佳能选用了常见的3030万有效像素的CMOS传感器,并同时配备了DIGIC 8 处理器,使该机型原生ISO范围为100-40000,可扩展到50-102400,最大连续拍摄速度为8 fps。与目前的佳能单反相机一样,EOS R传感器也有全像素双核自动对焦,但它又优于现有型号,具有5655个可选的自动对焦点,可实现100%的水平覆盖和近90%的垂直覆盖。

这款小型单反相机的机身采用耐候性密封镁合金外壳,内置0.5英寸OLED电子取景器,369万点,具备0.76放大倍率,视点为23mm。相机背面提供了一个可翻转的3.15英寸,210万点的液晶显示器,支持触控操作。就视频拍摄而言,EOS R能以高达每秒30帧的速度拍摄4K(超高清)视频,尽管该视频需要1.83倍剪裁。

主要性能参数:

  • 3030万全画幅CMOS传感器
  • 5655点全像素双核自动对焦
  • DIGIC 8处理器
  • 原生ISO范围为100-40000(可扩展至ISO 50-102400)
  • 连拍速度最高8 fps
  • 支持30fps拍摄超高清4K视频,60fps拍摄1080p 视频
  • 单SD卡槽(支持UHS-II)

整体性能

佳能EOS R的CMOS传感器DxOMark整体得分为89分,在我们数据库中所有中小型相机中排名第29位。

它的关键优势是其低光ISO(运动)评分为2742 ISO,在我们测试过的所有相机中排第27位,在测试过的全画幅佳能相机中排名第5。EOS R传感器与EOS-1D X Mark II性能最好的佳能传感器之间只有0.2 EV的差异(ISO 2742 vs. 3207)。

EOS R的(人像)色彩深度和(风景)动态范围稍逊于同类产品中最好的,但与其低光ISO表现能力一样,效果在佳能传感器排名中名列前茅。总的来说,EOS R在性能上比以往技术有了显著的提升,特别是考虑到可能会限制传感器的动态性能的全像素双核自动对焦架构时,更是如此。

图像质量比较

目前常见的3000万像素传感器仅用于另一款佳能相机——佳能EOS 5D Mark IV,这显示佳能在EOS R 中似乎使用了相同的传感器或者它的变体。我们的测试似乎也能够证实这一点:EOS R的传感器评测结果与EOS 5 D Mk IV非常相近。对比EOS R的感光度ISO 2742和EOS 5 D Mk IV的感光度ISO 2995时,两者在低光ISO (运动)下只显示了不到0.13 EV的差距,在标准情况下,色彩深度(人像)仅有0.3位的差异;在原生ISO为100时,两者动态范围差值小于0.1EV(换句话说,两款相机确实拥有同样的动态范围)。

如下表所示,佳能EOS R的传感器与尼康D750、无反相机尼康Z6和索尼A7 III的2400万像素传感器相差无几。在低光条件行三款相机在性能方面表现尤其如此,不过索尼A7 III性能表现稍好于其他两款。这三款机型都更擅长于动态范围和色彩深度。

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark图像传感器排名工具。

 

深入比较

为了更详细地检查传感器性能,我们将佳能EOS R与索尼A7 III和尼康Z6的传感器进行比较。这些传感器在像素数方面相差不远。

人像(色彩深度)

尼康Z6和索尼A7 III都配备了领先水平的背照式传感器,两者在整个ISO感光度范围表现非常接近,所以与两者相比,佳能EOS R传感器的色彩灵敏度是它的一大弱点。

在原生ISO下,佳能EOS R的色彩深度比尼康Z6的色彩深度低0.7位,这一差距在ISO 800时拉大到1.4位,有点令人失望,特别是有时差距大得明显可见,比如在平滑过渡的区域中。然而,在ISO 25600及以上范围中,EOS R的色彩深度与尼康Z6几乎一致。另一方面,索尼A7III在ISO 102400时表现平滑,因此色彩灵敏度比EOS R和尼康Z6都更高。

佳能EOS R传感器在设置为ISO 1600时仅勉强接近我们的20位良好图像质量阈值,而尼康Z 6和索尼A7 III的设置则可以低至ISO 3200,这意味着后两款相机具有比其高一档的优势。 同样地,EOS R也是在ISO 25600时首先达到我们的14位不良图像质量标准的相机,反观其他两款竞争机型则大约在半档之后才达到这一标准。

风景(动态范围)

在原生感光度ISO 100时,佳能EOS R具有非常好的动态范围,为13.5 EV。然而,尼康Z6和索尼A7 III的背照式传感器动态范围更宽,比EOS R约有高出1EV的优势。在ISO 200时,它们的优势降低,不超过0.4 EV,如下图所示,ISO 400时的曲线相对平缓。虽然实际应用时可以忽略不计,但在后期使用软件校正曝光错误时,特别是消除阴影时,这可能会产生影响。

不过此后,尼康Z6和索尼A7 III的传感器都有了更大的动态范围,调整ISO直至ISO 51200时,每一次都增加0.7 EV左右。然而在ISO 102400下,EOS R的动态范围几乎与尼康一致,但索尼的平滑技术扩大了它的动态范围。

运动(低光ISO)

佳能EOS R传感器的噪点控制相对较好,但仍然比不上尼康Z6和索尼A7 III所使用的背照式传感器较低的原生噪点水平。在低ISO下,信噪比差异则更为明显;而在较高ISO下,三者的测试值非常接近,因此您不太可能区分它们,至少无法从相机外的JPEG看出区别。然而,在测试低光ISO分数时(点击此处可查看测试方案),尼康Z6和索尼A7 III仍分别有0.25 EV和0.44 EV的噪点优势,这在拍照后调整曝光水平是有益的。

结论

虽然在这篇测评中,我们没有直接比较佳能两个3000万像素的全画幅CMOS传感器,但EOS R的测试结果与EOS 5D Mark IV的结果十分接近不足为奇,因为两款相机似乎都使用了类似的传感器,而其中有些差异可能是由于EOS R增加了可用的自动对焦点数量所致。

尼康Z6和索尼A7 III的像素密度略低,且采用了有利的背照式架构,所以佳能EOS R的噪点水平无法像尼康Z6和索尼A7 III那么低,但它的传感器是佳能最好的传感器之一,与专业级EOS 1Dx Mark II使用的传感器性能非常接近,特别在低光照、高ISO情况下更是如此。

佳能3000万像素的传感器噪点底限低,其动态范围较其前代产品有了大幅提升。EOS R处理高对比度场景的能力更强,因此摄影师在拍摄时得以保护高光位,以便在后期处理中消除阴影,却不会因此产生一些噪点。

EOS R是佳能在新系统中推出的首款机型,配备了佳能最好的传感器之一,再加上佳能推出了一些非常不错的镜头,这都表明了它非常重视“无反相机”市场。

在这次测评中,我们将佳能EOS R与其来自其他品牌的最直接竞品进行了比较。与往常一样,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,进行深入分析。

Canon EOS R sensor review

DxOMark
Sensor
89

Announced a short time after the Nikon Z 6 and Z 7, the Canon EOS R is a mid-range model and the company’s first full-frame mirrorless camera. Moreover, it features the new RF mount, which at 54mm is the same width as the EF mount, but the focal flange distance is reduced from 44mm to just 20mm, which should pave the way to some very high-performance lenses.

For its first camera in the system, Canon has opted for a familiar 30.3 effective megapixel CMOS sensor, paired with a DIGIC 8 processor, which enables a native ISO range of 100-40,000 with expansion to 50-102,400, and continuous shooting at up to 8 fps. As with current Canon DSLRs, the EOS R sensor has Dual Pixel AF, but it surpasses existing models, coming with 5,655 selectable AF points and boasting 100% horizontal and close to 90% vertical coverage.

Adopting a weather-sealed magnesium alloy shell, the small SLR-style body houses a 0.5-inch OLED electronic viewfinder with 3.69 million dots, 0.76x magnification, and a generous 23mm eye point. At the rear, there’s a retractable 3.15-inch, touch-enabled 2.1 million-dot LCD. In terms of video, the EOS R can record footage at up to 4K (UHD) at 30 frames per second, albeit with a substantial 1.83x crop.

Key specifications:

  • 30.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • Dual Pixel AF with 5,655 points
  • DIGIC 8 processor
  • Native ISO 100-40,000 (expandable to ISO 50-102,400)
  • Up to 8 fps shooting
  • UHD 4K at 30fps and 1080p at 60fps video
  • Single SD card slot (with support UHS-II)

Overall performance

The Canon EOS R’s CMOS sensor achieves an overall DxOMark score of 89 points, which is 29th place among all small- and medium-format cameras in our database.

Its key strength is its low-light ISO (Sports) score of 2742 ISO, where it ranks in 27th place overall and in fifth place among the full-frame Canon cameras we’ve tested. Only 0.2 EV (ISO 2742 vs. 3207) separates the EOS R from the best-performing Canon sensor, found in the EOS-1D X Mark II.

The EOS R’s (Portrait) color depth and (Landscape) dynamic range fall some ways behind the best in class, but as with its low-light ISO capabilities, its results are among the best for a Canon sensor. Taken as a whole, the EOS R demonstrates impressive gains in performance over older Canon technology, especially when taking the sensor’s Dual Pixel AF architecture into account, which likely limits the sensor dynamics.

Image quality compared

A familiar pixel count of 30MP that’s used only in one other Canon camera currently—the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV—suggests that Canon uses the same sensor or a variant of it in the EOS R. Our testing appears to bear that out, as the EOS R’s sensor results are very close to those of the EOS 5D Mk IV. Comparing the EOS R”s ISO 2742 against the EOS 5 D Mk IV’s ISO 2995, there’s less than 0.13 EV difference in low-light ISO (Sports), just a 0.3-bit difference in color depth (Portrait) at base, and a difference of less than 0.1 EV at the base ISO of 100 in dynamic range (in other words, both cameras have effectively the same dynamic range).

As the tabulated results show below, the sensor in the Canon EOS R isn’t all that far behind the 24 MP sensors in the Nikon D750 and in the mirrorless Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III. This is particularly true with respect to low-light performance, though out the three, the Sony A7 III performs a little better than the other two. All three excel in dynamic range and color depth.

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool.

 

In-depth comparisons

For a more detailed examination of sensor performance, we’ll compare the Canon EOS R to the not-too-dissimilar sensors (in terms of pixel count) of the Sony A7 III and the Nikon Z 6.

Portrait (color depth)

In contrast to the Nikon Z 6 and the Sony A7 III, which have class-leading BSI sensors that perform very closely to each other throughout the ISO sensitivity range, the Canon EOS R sensor’s color sensitivity is one of its weaknesses.

At base ISO, the Canon EOS R’s color depth is 0.7 bit lower than the Nikon Z 6’s, and that gap widens at ISO 800 to 1.4 bits, which is a little disappointing, especially as the difference may be wide enough to be visible at times, such as in areas of smooth transitions. However, at ISO 25,600 and above, the EOS R’s color depth is practically the same as the Nikon Z 6’s. The Sony A7 III, on the other hand, displays smoothing at ISO 102,400, and thus shows a boost in color sensitivity over both the EOS R and the Nikon Z 6.

The Canon EOS R sensor just clips our 20-bit good image quality threshold when set to ISO 1600, whereas both the Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III dip beneath at ISO 3200, meaning that those cameras have around a one-stop advantage. Similarly, at our 14-bit poor quality marker, the EOS R is the first to reach it at ISO 25,600, with the two competing models doing so around half a stop later.

Landscape (dynamic range)

At its base sensitivity of ISO 100, the Canon EOS R has a very good dynamic range of 13.5 EV. However, the BSI sensors in the Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III are wider still, with around a 1 EV advantage. At ISO 200, their advantage is eroded to a difference of no more than 0.4 EV, as seen in the relatively flat slope to ISO 400 in the chart below. Although practically negligible, this may be consequential in some situations when using software later on to try to correct exposure errors, especially when lifting shadows.

After that, though, both the Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III sensors have a wider dynamic range, measuring around 0.7 EV more at every ISO setting through to ISO 51200. At 102,400, however, the EOS R’s range is practically the same as the Nikon’s, but the Sony’s smoothing at that setting widens its dynamic range.

Sports (low-light ISO)

Noise levels are relatively well-controlled in the Canon EOS R sensor, but it can’t quite match the inherently lower noise levels of the BSI sensors used in the Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III. The difference in signal-to-noise ratios is more noticeable at low ISOs, though, and the values are so close at higher ISOs that it’s unlikely you’d be able to distinguish among them, at least for out-of-camera JPEGs. However, in testing for our low-light ISO score (see here for the protocol), both the Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III still have a noise advantage of 0.25 EV and 0.44 EV, respectively, which could prove beneficial when adjusting exposure levels post-capture.

Conclusion

Although we’ve not directly compared the two Canon 30MP full-frame CMOS sensors side-by-side in this review, it’s not surprising that the results for the EOS R are very close to that of the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV. Both appear to use a similar sensor, with some of the differences likely attributable to the increased number of AF points available in the EOS R.

While not possessing the low noise levels of the Nikon Z 6 and Sony A7 III, which have slightly lower pixel density and BSI architecture in their favor, the EOS R’s sensor is one of Canon’s best. It comes very close to the one used in the pro-level EOS 1Dx Mark II, particularly in its low light, high ISO capabilities.

With a low noise floor, the dynamic range of the Canon 30MP sensor greatly improves over its predecessors. The EOS R is much more capable of handling high-contrast scenes, thus allowing a photographer faced with protecting highlights at capture to lift shadows in post-processing without incurring some of the noise penalties.

With its first model in a new system, Canon has equipped the EOS R with one of its best sensors—and that, together with some very interesting lenses, signals that it’s taking “mirrorless” very seriously.

In this review we have compared the Canon EOS R to its most direct rivals from other brands. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool.