Fairphone 3摄像头评测

66
camera

Fairphone 3是的阿姆斯特丹Fairphone公司最新推出的模块化手机。给不熟悉Fairphone公司的用户的信息:这些手机的设计旨在让用户轻松更换零件(电池、摄像头、扬声器、屏幕等),从而延长其使用寿命并减少对地球的影响。

该手机的单摄像头配有1200万像素传感器和f/1.8镜头;采用Android 9 Os操作系统、高通骁龙632处理器,并配备4 GB主存和64 GB存储空间(以及一个microSD卡插槽)。请继续阅读本评测,以了解Fairphone 3在DXOMARK Camera测试中的表现。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 单摄像头
  • 1200万像素传感器
  • f/1.8镜头,等效27毫米
  • 全像素双核自动对焦
  • 双色LED闪光灯
  • 4K@30fps视频

关于DXOMARK Camera测试:DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴这些拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的详情,请参见此处

测试摘要

66
camera
67
photo
63
video

最新的Fairphone手机在DXOMARK Camera测试中拿下了66分的总体得分。该手机能够在良好的拍摄条件下拍出可用的图像,但是它几乎赢不了推出于2018年的三星Galaxy J2 Pro(65分,但在我们对该手机进行广角和夜间摄影测试后,其得分还可能会提高)。它轻而易举地领先了我们排行榜中目前得分最低的智能手机(经济实惠的Altice S61,56分),但不出所料的是,它在棘手条件下所拍摄的图像质量远远落后于任何旗舰手机。(请注意,Fairphone 3没有广角摄像头模组,因此我们没有评测广角项目。)

在静止图像方面,Fairphone 3在曝光项目中得到73分。但由于其动态范围有限,高光区域有时会“爆光”,而黑暗区域通常也会出现剪切纹理。此外,连拍时曝光不稳定的问题很严重,HDR时而触发,时而不触发,因此拍摄重要场景时最好多拍几张,才能拍出真正可用的照片。在下面的图像中,Fairphone图像比Galaxy A50的图像更暗,阴影区域中的可见细节更少。反观iPhone图像在黑暗区域显示了最多的细节,在天空中也呈现了良好的色彩和细节。

Fairphone 3,户外曝光,动态范围有限,特别是在树叶密集阴影区域,但是明亮区域细节保存很好。
三星Galaxy A50,户外曝光,阴影区域更多细节,但是天空却有些」爆光」。
苹果iPhone XS Max,户外曝光,在树叶密集的黑暗区域和明亮的天空,细节保存都很好。

在下面的高对比度比较图中,您可以看到Fairphone图像不仅曝光不足,而且还出现了很强烈的粉红色偏。A50图像也有点暗,但是阴影中有更多可见的细节,而XS Max的表现再次超越了两者。

Fairphone 3,高对比度照片呈现出黑暗的遮挡区域和强烈的粉色色偏。
三星Galaxy A50,高对比度照片呈现出良好的细节保存。
苹果iPhone XS Max,高对比度照片呈现出良好的细节保存。

在室内,如果场景内不存在难处理的高对比度条件,则Fairphone 3的测标曝光通常准确无误,如左下图像所示;但是它对逆光人像的处理不尽人意,如右图所示。

Fairphone 3,室内曝光良好,具有合宜的演色性和白平衡
Fairphone 3,逆光人像,目标曝光差

如上所述,Fairphone图像中经常出现强烈的色偏(通常是粉红色,尤其是在户外),以及强烈的渐晕;不过,色彩饱和度通常很好,这是其一大优势。遗憾的是,它的色彩保真度不准确,如左下方的色彩图表所示:在5勒克斯下,所有色彩均曝光不足; 尽管颜色在100 lux时有所改善,但仍远远不够准确。 不过,色彩通常会很好地饱和,这是一个优点,尽管有时它们可能会过饱和,如您在右下方真实照片的浅红色区域中所见。

Fairphone 3,Colorchecker®图表分析结果显示色彩渲染不正确
Fairphone 3,户外演色性呈现出过度饱和的颜色(尤其是左侧红色部分)

Fairphone 3的自动对焦准确;但是,摄像头散焦和重新对焦之间的延迟时间很长(>300毫秒)。

户外照片中的纹理和细节水平都不错,即使在低光下,细节水平也还在可接受的范围内。但是,如下面的照片所示,照片中的细节勾勒通常不太自然,许多照片中也出现了强烈的振铃效应。

Fairphone 3,不自然的细节勾勒
Fairphone 3,裁剪图
Fairphone 3,强烈的振铃伪像
Fairphone 3,裁剪图

Fairphone 3在低光条件下可以很好地控制噪点,但是在户外拍摄时,素色区域(例如天空)会出现粗大噪点;此外,在室内和户外图像中,视场内都会出现强烈的色度噪点(图像角落的噪点比中心更多),如下图所示。注意左上方有青色色偏。

Fairphone 3, 视场内部有噪点
Fairphone 3,裁剪图,图像角落的色彩噪点比中心更多

除上述的振铃问题之外,其他影响Fairphone伪像评分的问题还包括边缘噪点和耀斑等问题,如下所示。

Fairphone 3, 边缘噪点
Fairphone 3, 裁剪图

Fairphone 3的夜间摄影(33分)得分不高,它也没有夜间模式。正如您在仅使用闪光灯(左图,0勒克斯)拍摄的人像中所看到的那样,其测标明显曝光不足;角落中存在强烈的色度噪点,红眼效应也非常明显。然而,在5勒克斯照明下,尽管角落中仍然存在强烈的色度噪点,总体上也有强烈的色彩渐晕,但测标曝光仍然良好。

Fairphone 3,0勒克斯下拍摄的闪光灯照片,曝光不足,角落有强烈的色彩噪点和色彩渐变,红眼效应可见。
Fairphone 3,5勒克斯下拍摄的闪光灯照片,良好目标曝光,但是角落有强烈噪点和色彩渐变,红眼效应可见。

在自动闪光模式下,人像中的人脸测标曝光和细节保留效果大体可以接受,但背景会完全丢失细节。关闭闪光灯后,白平衡在钠灯下会呈现出强烈的黄色色偏。如前面的色彩部分所述,在未打开闪光灯所拍的其他夜景照片中,可以观察到强烈的粉红色色偏。

在城市景观中,激活闪光灯时会出现强烈的色度噪点;但是,关闭闪光灯后噪点并不会增加。在非常微弱的光线且闪光灯未激活的情况下,测标通常会完全曝光不足。例如,在下面的每一张城市夜景照片中,闪光灯都是关闭的,Xperia 1和A50都在前景中提供了比Fairphone更多的细节。如您在裁剪图中所见,A50图像中天空亮度大体上比其他两个图像更高,但噪点也更多,你可以在裁剪图中看到。

Fairphone 3,夜间照片,闪光灯关闭
Fairphone 3,裁剪图,黑暗区域丢失细节
三星Galaxy A50,夜间照片,闪光灯关闭
Galaxy A50,裁剪图,细节到位,但噪点很多
索尼Xperia 1,夜间照片,闪光灯关闭
索尼Xperia 1,裁剪图,细节到位

即使与许多没有远摄镜头的智能手机相比,Fairphone 3的中距变焦性能也很差,尽管其变焦图像在均匀区域中噪点较低。 毫无疑问,配备有远摄镜头的Xperia 1拍摄的照片更加清晰。Fairphone的镜头模糊不清,其强烈的粉红色也非常引人注目。

Fairphone 3,中距变焦
Fairphone 3,裁剪图显示出许多边缘噪点
索尼Xperia 1,中距变焦
索尼Xperia 1,裁剪图显示清晰的渲染

由于Fairphone 3仅搭载单摄像头,因此它的散景模拟没有深度估计的功能,而必须完全依赖于该手机在图像中检测出人物的能力,然后模糊人物以外的所有其他物体。这也意味着它的被摄体隔离通常不准确,并且还会模糊不应该模糊的物体,例如左下方照片中的拍摄对象手中的杯子。此外,Fairphone在散景模式下没有HDR,这是一个严重的缺点。Galaxy A50(中间)的整体图像虽然有些曝光过度,但它的散景效果更好;iPhone XS Max是这三者中的佼佼者,但是即使使用了双摄像头配置,它的前景模糊也没有做得恰到好处。

Fairphone 3,散景
Fairphone 3,裁剪图,被摄体隔离不佳
三星Galaxy A50,散景
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图,不错的被摄体隔离
苹果iPhone XS Max,散景
iPhone XS Max,裁剪图,不错的被摄体隔离

 

在视频模式下,Fairphone 3以每秒30帧的速度录制4K视频。即使如此,它的整体表现还是令人失望;要不是因为它在伪像方面获得不错的成绩(因明显的青色色偏和摩尔纹而被扣分之后,该手机拿下了71分),它的视频和总体分数都会被显著拉低。

与静态图片一样,视频动态范围在难处理的场景中相当有限:明亮的天空经常“爆光”,阴影也丢失了细节。(但是在室内条件下,细节保留相当准确。)白平衡偏粉红色,有时白平衡调整会骤然改变。此外,防抖是最影响视频的播放体验的因素,但遗憾的是,Fairphone 3在这方面的表现不佳,尤其是在手持手机边走边拍的视频中更是如此。更成问题的是,色度噪点和色块在低光条件下非常明显,如下面的抽帧截图所示。

Fairphone 3,视频抽帧截图
Fairphone 3,裁剪图,大量的色度噪点

 

结论

Fairphone 3的设计旨在抵制高科技行业中的“计划报废”。考虑到智能手机制造和处置的人力和环境成本,这的确是一个值得追求的目标。不过,与其他搭载较低成本组件的手机一样,其摄像头模块的图像质量无法说服任何严肃的摄影者或摄像者选择这款手机。不过,Fairphone尽管不能拍出出色的视频,但在许多常见的拍摄条件下,它仍然可以拍出许多可用的移动影像和静止图像。除了曝光不足的问题外,在小型显示屏上根本看不到什么瑕疵或缺陷。当然无处不在的粉色色偏是除了曝光不足外另一大问题。

综上所述,鉴于公司致力于生产出节能低耗手机,我们也非常希望Fairphone可以改善其摄像头性能,以提升其在智能手机市场中的竞争力。

照片优点

  • 自动对焦在大多数测试条件下均可重复。
  • 演色性在低光下相当准确。
  • 低光条件下噪点不多。
  • 激活闪光灯时,使用附加照明即可获得准确的测标曝光。
  • 远距变焦照片中的噪点不多。

视频优点

  • 在室内和户外条件下,细节水平还算可以接受。
  • 户外条件下的测标曝光相当准确。
  • 色彩在户外条件下鲜艳而悦目。

照片不足

  • 测标曝光不高,高动态范围场景中经常出现剪切纹理。
  • 在户外场景中出现曝光不稳定的问题。
  • 在大多数情况下,可以看到强烈的白平衡色偏,也可以看到强烈的色彩渐晕。
  • 在室内和户外条件下,视场噪点通常很明显。
  • 自动对焦收敛在大多数测试条件下都很慢。
  • 散景模式不一定会激活,并且出现了很严重的被摄体隔离伪像。
  • 在大多数室内和户外测试条件下,都可以看到边缘出现了许多噪点和振铃效应。
  • 在室内和户外条件下,纹理经常勾勒得不自然。

视频不足

  • 在室内和户外都会出现严重的防抖不稳定性。
  • 在低光和室内条件下,自动对焦的跟踪功能很差。错误的对焦方向和超调现象经常发生。
  • 在低光条件下可以看到明显的伪像,例如强烈的色度噪点和色块。
  • 在所有测试条件下,测标曝光有时可能相当低。
  • 在所有测试条件下,黑暗区域通常会丢失细节。
  • 在所有测试条件下都可以看到粉色色偏。
  • 在户外条件下可以看到诸如青色色偏和摩尔纹伪像。

Fairphone 3 camera review

Reading Time: 10 min read
66
camera

The Fairphone 3 is the latest modular offering from the Amsterdam-based Fairphone company. For those unfamiliar with Fairphone devices, they are designed to allow users to easily replace parts (battery, camera, speaker, screen, etc.) so as to extend their life and reduce their impact on the planet.

The single camera comes with a 12MP sensor and f/1.8 lens. The device runs on the Android 9 OS, is powered by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 632 processor, and comes with 4 GB of RAM and 64GB of storage (along with a slot for a microSD card). Read on to see how the Fairphone 3 performed in our DXOMARK Camera tests.

Key camera specifications:

  • Single camera
  • 12MP sensor
  • 27mm-equivalent, f/1.8 aperture lens
  • Dual-pixel PDAF
  • Dual-LED flash
  • 4K video @ 30fps

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

66
camera
67
photo
63
video

The latest Fairphone is capable of taking usable images under good shooting conditions, but with an overall DXOMARK Camera score of 66, it barely stays ahead of the Samsung Galaxy J2 Pro from 2018 (whose score of 65 may improve after we retest it for Wide and Night). It’s comfortably ahead of the lowest smartphone in our current ranking (the budget-friendly Altice S61 at 56 points), but it should come as no surprise that it is nowhere near any flagship devices when it comes to providing good image quality in challenging situations. (Note that as the Fairphone 3 has no wide-angle camera module, we did not test or score it for Wide.)

For still images, the Fairphone 3 achieves an Exposure sub-score of 73. Its limited dynamic range means that bright zones are sometimes blown out and dark zones are often clipped. Moreover, there are strong exposure instabilities between consecutive shots, with HDR sometimes triggering, and sometimes not, so you might need to take several shots to get something truly usable. In the images below, the Fairphone image is darker and has fewer details visible in the shadow areas than the image from the Galaxy A50; the iPhone image, however, shows the most detail in the dark areas, along with good color and detail in the sky.

Fairphone 3, outdoor exposure; dynamic range is limited, particularly in the dark leafy areas, but bright parts are well-preserved.
Samsung Galaxy A50, outdoor exposure; there are more details in the dark areas, but much of the sky is blown out.
Apple iPhone XS Max, outdoor exposure; good detail preservation in both the dark leafy area and in the sky.

In the high-contrast comparison images below, you can see that not only is the Fairphone image underexposed, it also has a very strong pink color cast. Both the A50 image and XS Max do a much better job with this scene.

Fairphone 3, high-contrast shot showing blocked dark areas and a strong pink cast
Samsung Galaxy A50, high-contrast shot showing good detail preservation
Apple iPhone XS Max, high-contrast shot showing good detail preservation

Indoors, target exposure is generally accurate for scenes without challenging high contrasts, as shown in the left-hand image below; but as you can see in the right-hand image, the Fairphone 3 does not handle backlit portraits well.

Fairphone 3, good exposure indoors, with appropriate color rendering and white balance
Fairphone 3, backlit portrait with poor target exposure

As mentioned above, Fairphone images tend to show a strong (usually pink) color cast, particularly outdoors, as well as strong color shading. Further, color fidelity is inaccurate, as shown in the color chart, below left: at 5 lux (left-most patch), all colors have low luminance; and although color improves at 100 lux, it is still far from accurate. Still, colors are generally well-saturated, which is a plus—although sometimes they can be oversaturated, as you can see in the light red area on the left of the real-life photo below right.

Fairphone 3, Colorchecker® chart results showing color rendering inaccuracies
Fairphone 3, outdoor color rendering showing oversaturated color (red section on the left in particular)

As for autofocus on the Fairphone 3, it is accurate; however, the delay between defocusing and refocusing can sometimes be quite long (>300ms).

The level of texture and detail in outdoor shots is good, and even in low-light, the level of detail is acceptable. However, shots often show an unnatural rendering of details, and many show a strong ringing effect, as shown in the photos below.

Fairphone 3, unnatural detail rendering
Fairphone 3, crop, unnatural details on high-frequency patterns
Fairphone 3, strong ringing artifact
Fairphone 3, crop showing white contour due to oversharpening

The Fairphone 3 controls noise pretty well in low-light conditions, but coarse noise in uniform areas (such as the sky) can be visible in outdoor shots; further, strong chromatic noise in the field (in which the level of noise is higher in the corners than in the center of the image) is visible in both indoor and outdoor images, as in the sample photo below; note also the cyan shift in the upper left corner.

Fairphone 3, noise in the field
Fairphone 3, crop, chromatic noise is higher in the corners than in the center

Besides the problem with ringing mentioned above, other artifacts that affected the Fairphone’s Artifacts score include flare and noisy edges (the latter shown below).

Fairphone 3, noisy edges
Fairphone 3, crop

The Fairphone 3 did not achieve a high score for Night (33), nor does it have a Night mode. As you can see in the portrait taken with flash only (0 lux, left), the target is significantly underexposed; there is strong chromatic noise in the corners, and the red-eye effect is very noticeable. Under 5 lux lighting, however, there is good target exposure, although there is still strong chromatic noise in corners and strong color shading overall.

Fairphone 3, flash portrait at 0 lux; underexposed, strong chromatic noise in corners, color shading, and red-eye effect are visible.
Fairphone 3, flash portrait at 5 lux; good target exposure, but strong noise in corners, strong color shading, and red-eye effect are visible.

With flash in auto mode, portrait target exposure and detail preservation is generally acceptable on the face, but details in the background are completely lost. With flash off, white balance has a strong yellow cast under sodium vapor lights; and as mentioned in the color section above, other flash-off night shots sometimes show a pink cast. [REMOVED “and/or blue”]

In cityscapes, strong chrominance noise is visible when flash is activated; with flash off, the noise is somewhat lower. In very low light when flash is off, targets are often completely underexposed. In the night cityscapes below, for example, all taken with flash off, both the Xperia 1 and the A50 provide more details on the crane in the foreground than the Fairphone. The sky in the A50 image has a higher exposure than the other two, but is far noisier, as you can see in the crops.

Fairphone 3, night shot, flash off
Fairphone 3, crop, loss of detail in dark areas
Samsung Galaxy A50, night shot, flash off
Galaxy A50, crop, decent detail, but noisy
Sony Xperia 1, night shot, flash off
Xperia 1, crop, decent detail

The Fairphone 3’s zoom performance at medium range is poor, even compared to many other devices which also have no tele-lens, although its zoom images tend to have low levels of noise in uniform areas. Unsurprisingly, given its tele-lens module, the Xperia 1 shot is much crisper; the Fairphone shot is fuzzier and its strong pink cast is very noticeable as well.

Fairphone 3, medium-range zoom
Fairphone 3, crop showing noisy edges
Sony Xperia 1, medium-range zoom
Sony Xperia 1, crop showing crisper rendering

Due to its single camera, the Fairphone 3’s bokeh has no depth estimation; it relies solely on its ability to detect a person in an image, and then blurs everything else. This means that subject isolation is often inaccurate, and the device blurs objects that ought not to be blurred, such as the cup that the subject is holding in the photo below on the left. Moreover, the Fairphone has no HDR in bokeh mode, which is a serious drawback. The Galaxy A50 (middle) does a better job, even though the overall image is somewhat overexposed. The iPhone XS Max does the best of the three, but even with a dual-cam setup, it does not blur the foreground as it should.

Fairphone 3, bokeh
Fairphone 3, crop, poor subject isolation
Samsung Galaxy A50, bokeh
Galaxy A50, crop, decent subject isolation
Apple iPhone XS Max, bokeh
iPhone XS Max, crop, good subject isolation

In video mode, the Fairphone 3 records 4K video at 30 fps by default. Even so, its overall performance was disappointing; in fact, without having achieved a decent score for artifacts (71, after deducting points for noticeable cyan shift and moiré), its score both for Video and Overall would have been significantly lower.

Much as for stills, video dynamic range is limited in challenging scenes—bright skies are often blown out, and details in the shadows are lost. (This said, detail preservation is fairly accurate in indoor conditions.) White balance has a pink cast, and white balance adaptation is sometimes abrupt. The factor that most affects pleasant playback is stability, however, and the Fairphone 3 unfortunately does not do well in this regard, especially for hand-held videos recorded when walking. And in addition, chromatic noise and blocking is very noticeable in low-light conditions, as you can see in the frame capture below.

Fairphone 3, video frame capture
Fairphone 3, crop, significant chromatic noise

Conclusion

The Fairphone 3 is designed to factor in the human and environmental costs of smartphone manufacturing and disposal. As with other phones with relatively low-cost components, of course, it does not have a camera module that any serious photographer or videographer would choose for its image quality. Nevertheless, the reality is that while it is not great for shooting video, the Fairphone can produce largely usable moving and still images under many common shooting conditions; and with the exception of underexposure, what flaws and faults there are simply aren’t noticeable on a small display. Near-chronic underexposure is a problem, though, as is its near-omnipresent pink cast.

This all said, given the company’s goal of providing a smartphone that has smaller-than-usual ecological footprint, we hope that Fairphone will improve the image quality of its camera so as to make it more competitive in the market.

Photo pros

  • Autofocus is repeatable in most tested conditions.
  • Color rendering is fairly accurate in low-light conditions.
  • Level of noise is low in low-light conditions.
  • With additional lighting, target exposure is accurate when flash is activated.
  • Level of noise is low in long-range zoom photos.

Video pros

  • Level of detail is acceptable in indoor and outdoor conditions.
  • Target exposure is fairly accurate in outdoor conditions.
  • Colors are vivid and pleasant in outdoor conditions.

Photo cons

  • In high dynamic range scenes, target exposure is low and dark areas are often clipped.
  • Exposure instabilities are visible in outdoor scenes.
  • Strong color casts are visible in most conditions, and strong color shading is also visible.
  • Noise in the field is often noticeable in indoor and outdoor conditions.
  • Autofocus convergence is slow in most tested conditions.
  • Bokeh mode doesn’t always activate, and subject isolation has strong artifacts.
  • Noisy edges and ringing are visible in most tested indoor and outdoor conditions.
  • Unnatural texture rendering is often noticeable in indoor and outdoor conditions.

Video cons

  • Strong stabilization instabilities occur in both indoor and outdoor conditions.
  • Autofocus tracking capability is poor in low-light and indoor conditions; bad focus direction and overshoots are frequent.
  • Strong chromatic noise is visible in low-light conditions.
  • Target exposure can sometimes be low in all tested conditions.
  • Details in darker ares are often lost in all tested conditions.
  • Pink cast is strongly visible in all tested conditions.
  • Artifacts such as cyan shift and moiré are visible in outdoor conditions.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.

Leave a Reply