谷歌Pixel 4 前置摄像头评测

92
selfie

谷歌Pixel 4是美国手机制造商谷歌公司2019 年推出的高端智能手机,配置5.7英寸P-OLED显示屏,搭载高通骁龙855高端芯片组,是所有Pixel机种中,第一款在主摄像头装配2倍变焦远摄镜头的手机。不过,这也逆转了用户的习惯,因为前一款的Pixel 3拥有双前置摄像头,让用户能够在个人或团体的自拍模式间进行切换,而新款的Pixel 4却只有一个摄像头可以使用。具22 mm等效焦距的视野范围对大多数的自拍场景来说,应该相当好用,而且前置摄像头还可以跟主摄像头一样,运用许多相同的图像处理软件技巧。让我们来看看Pixel 4前置摄像头在DXOMARK Selfie评测中如何与竞争对手一较高下。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 8百万像素传感器
  • 22mm等效焦距、f/2.0光圈、定焦镜头
  • 1080P/30fps视频

关于DXOMARK Selfie评测:我们的智能手机前置摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DXOMARK的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1500组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DxOMark自拍评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

92
selfie
93
photo
91
video

尽管只配置了一组前置摄像头,谷歌Pixel 4与前一款Pixel 3的整体表现相当,同样在DXOMARK Selfie评测中取得整体分数92分。照片项目的得分低一些(93 分,Pixel 3 得分99),不过新机种在视频方面有进步(91分,Pixel 3得分 83)。总体而言,谷歌Pixel 4虽然比不上其他佼佼者,但在大多数条件下,都能拍摄出曝光完美、动态范围宽广以及色彩美丽的自拍照片。主要的缺点是在近距离拍摄时,细节水平低,而且在所有条件下,甚至是明亮光线中,阴影噪点明显可见。

在所有光照条件下,即使是低光,Pixel 4的曝光一向都非常出色,摄像头能捕捉到的动态范围颇宽广,就算是不好处理的高对比度场景,也可拍摄出高光和阴影区域中良好的细节。然而,我们还是发现到曝光有些轻微的不稳定。

谷歌 Pixel 4,曝光良好,动态范围宽广

谷歌 Pixel 3,曝光良好,有些高光剪贴

三星Galaxy S10 +,曝光稍亮,明显出现高光剪贴

Pixel 4在色彩方面的表现也很优秀,这要归功于不论在实验室或现实场景,Pixel 4的演色性整体都很好,而且白平衡准确。在一般的室内照明条件下拍摄时,偶尔会出现绿色色偏,而在户外拍摄的图像,有时则显现稍偏冷色或略带粉红色的色偏,像是在下列的测试场景图示。

谷歌 Pixel 4,天空略带粉红色色偏
谷歌 Pixel 3,演色性良好
三星Galaxy S10 +,稍有黄色色偏

Pixel 4装配的定焦镜头可提供较广的景深,但对焦范围会略有限制,也就是说,在近距离(30厘米)自拍的图像会稍微不清晰。不过,在一般的臂长距离(55厘米)拍摄出的锐度就很不错,自拍杆距离(120厘米)也很好,其他许多机种就很难做到这一点。

谷歌 Pixel 4,摄像距离30厘米
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,稍不清晰
谷歌 Pixel 4,摄像距离55厘米
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,锐度佳
谷歌 Pixel 4,摄像距离120厘米
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,锐度佳

由于团体照的景深广,所以即使是位于后方的主体也能清楚的呈现,这也是Pixel 4的另一项优点。

谷歌 Pixel 4,户外团体自拍照
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,位于后方的主体很清楚
谷歌 Pixel 3,户外团体自拍照
谷歌 Pixel 3,裁剪图,位于后方的主体较没那么清楚
三星Galaxy S10 +,户外团体自拍照
三星Galaxy S10 +,裁剪图,位于后方的主体很清楚

因为在近距离拍摄时有失焦的现象,所以影响了Pixel 4的纹理分数。不过,一旦对焦到主体,即使在室内光线下所拍摄的图像也能呈现出良好的细节。低光中明显丢失精细的细节,但并不比大多数竞争对手差。

谷歌 Pixel 4,室内图像的细节
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,细节佳但损失少许精细的纹理
谷歌 Pixel 3,室内图像的细节
谷歌 Pixel 3,裁剪图,细节及纹理都很好
三星Galaxy S10 +,室内图像的细节
三星Galaxy S10 +,裁剪图,丢失一些细节

所有光照条件下,即使是非常明亮的户外环境中,图像噪点通常控制的很好,不过,在阴暗区域还是看得到噪点。

谷歌 Pixel 4,户外图像的噪点
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,阴暗区域有粗大的噪点

 

Pixel 4前置摄像头拍摄的图像所出现的伪像通常影响不大,但我们针对角落的锐度降低、振铃效应以及色差,还是扣了一些分数。我们还发现摄像头的畸变(脸部变形)校正有些不寻常的不稳,会使得脸部和肩膀看起来不自然地宽大,如下面的图例所示。左图的校正效果较好,比右图看起来自然些。

谷歌 Pixel 4,畸变校正不稳
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,畸变校正佳
谷歌 Pixel 4,畸变校正不稳
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,不自然的畸变校正效果

当周遭的光照水平太低时,Pixel 4可以增加其显示屏的亮度以照亮被拍摄的主体。这样的效果相当不错,能让主体呈现良好的目标曝光度。然而,在完全黑暗或低光环境下拍摄时,主体和背景都明显损失细节且出现粗大的噪点。在0勒克斯的光照下,画面边缘的亮度也会大大降低。

谷歌 Pixel 40勒克斯闪光灯下的图像,白平衡和曝光度良好,亮度大幅降低
谷歌 Pixel 45勒克斯闪光灯下的图像,呈现些许橙色色偏

在散景模式下,没有第二组摄像头就表示摄像头失去了估计深度的能力,只能靠着辨识前方的主体并将其自背景中区隔出,再将背景做出模糊的效果。

散景的整体结果并不如Pixel 3,也比不上顶级的机种。所有光照条件下,深度估计的伪像显而易见,也没有模糊渐变层次的效果。模糊强度不会随与摄像头的距离而变化,造成有些不自然的感觉,背景的点光渲染也不怎么好,看起来很小而且对比度也很低。

谷歌 Pixel 4,散景模式
谷歌 Pixel 4,裁剪图,深度估计伪像明显
谷歌 Pixel 3,散景模式
谷歌 Pixel 3,裁剪图,深度估计良好
三星Galaxy S10 +,散景模式
三星Galaxy S10 +,裁剪图,深度估计良好

尽管因为移除了第二组前置摄像头,使得Pixel 4的照片分数略低于Pixel 3的分数,但Pixel 4的视频分数从83分大幅跃升至91分,让Pixel 4成为自拍视频性能最好的摄像头之一。防抖是Pixel 4最大的亮点,也是目前为止我们所测试过的机种中效果最优异的手机;不过,其他项目的表现也毫不逊色。

所有条件下脸部的目标曝光通常都不错,但与一些竞争对手不同的是,谷歌手机前置摄像头的视频没有HDR的功能,也就是说,在高对比度场景的明亮区域可能会出现溢光的现象。我们的测试工程师也观察到在视频模式下曝光偶尔会有些不稳。就视频而言,演色性令人赏心悦目,白平衡也很准确,总的来说,Pixel 4的视频色彩得分是数一数二的。

由于具有宽广的景深,谷歌手机在对焦项目也取得了不错的成绩。和静态图像一样,在近距离拍摄时,主体可能会稍微失焦,不过,比起8百万像素的静态图像,较低的1080p分辨率视频,失焦状况比较不明显。除此之外,纹理与噪点间的取舍也处理的不错,大多数条件下,细节的呈现相当出色,噪点水平也控制的很好。

视频纹理比较
视频噪点比较

如上所述,Pixel 4配置了迄今为止最好的智能手机前置摄像头防抖系统,也是第一款在脸部和背景都具有防抖效果的前置摄像头。摄像头依据脸部所占画面的区域大小来决定两者间的比率(画面中的脸部较小时,背景的稳定度较高;脸部较大时,脸部的稳定度较高),而竞争机种只能让其中一项达到效果。因此,无论您是近距离拍摄,或是将摄像头拿远些以捕捉更多背景画面,在大多数条件下,Pixel 4都能录制出流畅且无抖动的视频。

谷歌Pixel 4前置摄像头视频,户外行走,影像防抖功能非常有效

结论

谷歌Pixel 4前置摄像头无法创新任何记录,但是在大多数条件下,都能拍出曝光良好、动态范围宽广、色彩美丽的漂亮自拍照。由于谷歌决定在Pixel 4配置单摄像头,因此散景模式不如Pixel 3来得好,景深估计伪像也明显来得多。在示例图像中,我们还注意到阴影区域有大量的图像噪点,但除此外,Pixel 4在所有静态图像测试项目上的表现还是不差。Pixel 4在视频方面出类拔萃,是目前为止得分最高的手机之一,最大的原因是其具有优秀的防抖系统,能确保几乎在所有条件下所录制的视频都能顺畅且稳定。整体来说,Pixel 4前置摄像头是一款实在的全能摄像头,对于喜爱拍摄自拍视频者来说,应该别具吸引力。

照片

优点

  • 色彩美丽且肤色自然
  • 明亮光照下,动态范围广
  • 景深宽广
  • 目标曝光通常很好

不足

  • 所有条件下,有些脸部细节会丢失
  • 亮度噪点粗大,尤其是在室内和低光下
  • 大多数条件下会出现轻微的白平衡色偏
  • 使用闪光灯拍摄时,噪点水平高且有强烈暗角
  • 散景模式下,深度估计有偏差

视频

优点

  • 视频防抖功能非常有效
  • 景深宽广
  • 细节水平良好
  • 脸部的目标曝光通常很准确

缺点

  • 蓝天会有青色色偏
  • 在厘米的距离录制视频时,主体会略微失焦
  • 曝光偶尔不稳
  • 在高对比度场景中,脸部有时会曝光不足

Google Pixel 4 front camera review

Reading Time: 10 min read
92
selfie

The Google Pixel 4 is the US company’s high-end smartphone for 2019, featuring a 5.7-inch P-OLED display and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 premium chipset. For the main camera, it’s the first Pixel device to come with a dual-camera setup with 2x tele-lens. However, at the front there is now only a single camera while the predecessor Pixel 3 offered a dual front camera, letting users switch between single and group selfie mode. The 22mm-equivalent field of view should work well for most selfie uses cases, though, and the front cam can make use of many of the same image processing software tricks as the main camera. Let’s see how the Pixel 4 front camera stacks up against the competition in our DXOMARK Selfie test.

Key front camera specifications:

  • 8Mp sensor
  • 22mm-equivalent, f/2.0-aperture, fixed-focus lens
  • 1080p/30fps video

About DXOMARK Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

92
selfie
93
photo
91
video

With an overall DXOMARK Selfie score of 92, the Google Pixel 4 achieves the same overall result as its predecessor Pixel 3, despite having only one lens in the front. The Photo score is slightly lower (93 vs. 99 on the Pixel 3), but the new model has been able to improve its video output (91 vs. 83). Overall, however, it cannot quite match the best in class, but the Pixel 4 is capable of capturing selfie images with excellent exposure, wide dynamic range and pleasant colors in most situation. Its main drawbacks are low levels of detail at close shooting distances and visible shadow noise in all conditions, even bright light.

Exposure on the Pixel 4 is generally very good in all light conditions, even down to low light, and the camera is capable of recording a wide dynamic range, capturing good highlight and shadow detail, even in difficult high-contrast scenes. We did observe some slight exposure instabilities, however.

Google Pixel 4, good exposure, wide dynamic range
Google Pixel 3, good exposure, some highlight clipping
Samsung Galaxy S10+, slightly bright exposure, noticeable highlight clipping

The Pixel 4 also does well for color, thanks to overall good color rendering and accurate white balance in the lab as well as in real-life scenes. When shooting under typical indoor lighting we have occasionally observed a green cast, however, and outdoor images can sometimes display slightly cool or pinkish casts, such as in the test scene below.

Google Pixel 4, slight pinkish cast in the sky
Google Pixel 3, good color rendering
Samsung Galaxy S10+, slight yellowish cast

The Pixel 4 comes with a fixed-focus lens that offers a wide depth of field but has a slightly limited focus range. The latter means that in selfie shots captured at close distance (30 cm), images are slightly soft. However, sharpness is good at a typical arm’s-length shooting distance of 55cm and remains good at selfie-stick shooting distance (120cm), where many other devices struggle.

Google Pixel 4, 30cm shooting distance
Google Pixel 4, crop, slight softness
Google Pixel 4, 55cm shooting distance
Google Pixel 4, crop, good sharpness
Google Pixel 4, 120cm shooting distance
Google Pixel 4, crop, good sharpness

Another plus is that thanks to the wide depth of field in group shots, even subjects at the back are rendered sharp.

Google Pixel 4, outdoor group selfie
Google Pixel 4, crop, good sharpness on subjects in the back
Google Pixel 3, outdoor group selfie
Google Pixel 3, crop, slight softness on subjects in the back
Samsung Galaxy S10+, outdoor group selfie
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop, good sharpness on subjects in the back

The Pixel 4’s texture score suffers slightly from the lack of focus at close shooting distances, but when the subject is in focus, the camera is capable of capturing good detail even under indoor lighting. A loss of fine detail is noticeable in low light, but it’s not worse than most competitors.

Google Pixel 4, indoor detail
Google Pixel 4, crop, good detail but minor loss of fine textures
Google Pixel 3, indoor detail
Google Pixel 3, crop, good detail and texture
Samsung Galaxy S10+, indoor detail
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop, some loss of detail

Image noise is generally pretty well-controlled but can be visible in shadow areas in the frame in all lighting conditions, even in very bright outdoor conditions.

Google Pixel 4, outdoor noise
Google Pixel 4, crop, coarse noise in the shadows

 

Artifacts are generally not too intrusive in Pixel 4 front camera images, but we deducted some points for a loss of sharpness in the corners, ringing, and chromatic aberrations. We also observed some unusual instabilities in the camera’s anamorphosis (face deformation) correction, which can make faces and shoulders look unnaturally wide, as you can see in the example below. The correction did a better job, with a more natural result, in the image on the left than the one on the right.

Google Pixel 4, anamorphosis instabilities
Google Pixel 4, crop, good anamorphosis correction
Google Pixel 4, anamorphosis instabilities
Google Pixel 4, crop, unnatural anamorphosis correction

When ambient light levels are too low, the Pixel 4 can crank up the brightness of its display to illuminate the subject. This works fairly well and target exposure on the subject tends to be good. However, a loss of detail and coarse noise on both the subject and in the background are noticeable when shooting in complete darkness or in low ambient light alike. There is also a strong light fall-off towards the edges of the frame at 0 lux.

Google Pixel 4, flash image at 0 lux, good white balance and exposure, strong fall-off
Google Pixel 4, flash image at 5 lux, slight orange cast

In terms of bokeh mode, the loss of the secondary front camera has not had any big negative impact on the Pixel 4’s performance compared to the Pixel 3. In fact, the overall results are slightly better than on the dual-front camera Pixel 3 but not quite as good as recent Samsung devices. Depth estimation artifacts are visible in all light conditions and blur strength does not change with the distance from the camera, making for a slightly unnatural effect. This is the same foe the Pixel 3 but the latest Samsungs apply a blur gradient to bokeh simulation images. The contrast of background spotlights is still low but has been improved over the Pixel 3 and the difference in noise level between background and foreground has been reduced on the new model as well.

Google Pixel 4, bokeh mode
Google Pixel 4, crop, noticeable depth estimation artifacts
Google Pixel 3, bokeh mode
Google Pixel 3, crop, good depth estimation
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, bokeh mode
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop, good depth estimation

While the Pixel 4’s Photo score is a little lower than the Pixel 3’s, mainly due to the removal of the secondary front camera, its Video score made quite a significant jump from 83 to 91 points, placing the Pixel 4 among the best cameras for selfie video recording. Stabilization is where the Pixel 4 really shines, delivering the best performance of all devices tested so far, but it does well in most other areas, too.

Target exposure is generally good on faces in the frame in all conditions, but unlike some competitors, the Google phone does not feature HDR processing for video on the front camera, which means that some clipping might be visible in bright parts of the frame in high-contrast scenes. Our testers also observed some occasional exposure instabilities in video mode. Color rendering is pleasant and white balance tends to be accurate for video as well, and overall, the Pixel 4’s video Color score is among the very best.

Thanks to its wide depth of field, the Google device also achieves a good score for Focus. As with still images, subjects can be slightly out of focus when shooting at close distance, but this is less noticeable at the lower 1080p video resolution  than for 8Mp still images. In addition, the texture/noise trade-off is good, with decent detail in most conditions and well-controlled noise levels.

Video texture comparison
Video noise comparison

As we mentioned above, the Pixel 4 comes with the best stabilization system we have seen thus far on a smartphone front camera. It’s the first front camera that uses a combination of face and background stabilization. The camera determines the ratio between the two by the area of the frame that is covered by the face (more background stabilization when the face is small in the frame, more face stabilization when the face is large). Competing devices do either one or the other, but cannot combine the two methods. As a result, the Pixel 4 records smooth and shake-free video in most situations, whether you’re close to the camera or holding it further away to capture some of the background.

Google Pixel 4 front camera video, outdoor walking, very effective image stabilization

Conclusion

The Google Pixel 4 front camera cannot set any new records, but it is capable of capturing nice selfies with good exposure, wide dynamic range, and pleasant colors in most conditions. Due to Google’s decision to go with a single-cam setup on the Pixel 4, bokeh mode is not quite as good as on the Pixel 3, with noticeably more depth estimation artifacts. We also noticed quite a lot of image noise in the shadow areas of our sample images, but other than that, the Pixel 4 puts in a solid still image performance across all test categories. It takes things up a notch for video and achieves one of the best scores so far, thanks in no small part to an outstanding stabilization system that ensures smooth and stable video clips in almost all recording situations. Overall, the Pixel 4 front camera is a solid all-rounder that should have special appeal to selfie video shooters.

Photo

Pros

  • Good color and natural skin tones
  • Wide dynamic range in bright light
  • Wide depth of field
  • Generally good target exposure

Cons

  • Some loss of detail on faces in all conditions
  • Coarse luminance noise, especially under indoor and low light
  • Slight white balance casts in most conditions
  • High noise levels and strong vignetting when shooting with flash
  • Depth estimation errors in bokeh mode

Video

Pros

  • Very effective video stabilization
  • Wide depth of field
  • Good level of detail
  • Generally accurate target exposure on faces

Cons

  • Cyan shift in blue skies
  • Subject slightly out of focus at 30cm recording distance
  • Some occasional exposure instabilities
  • Sometimes underexposed faces in high-contrast scenes

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.