LG V40 ThinQ 摄像头评测

这台手机是用新增“广角”和“夜间摄影” 评分后基准测试的。新的“广角”和“夜间摄影”以及更新后的照片分数和DXOMARK Camera的总分将很快展示出来。
94
camera

当LG V40 ThinQ首次在2018年末亮相时,其5摄像头(3个后置,2个前置)手机即引起了人们的关注和期待。此外,其后置三摄像头也首次提供了超宽(等效16毫米)到2倍远摄的焦距。除了多摄像头配置之外,V40还配备了高通骁龙845芯片组、八核处理器以及6.4英寸QHD+ OLED显示屏。现在,让我们来看看它在我们DxOMark Mobile 评测基准测试中的表现。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 超广角镜头:1600万像素传感器,f/1.9镜头,等效16毫米,无自动对焦
  • 主摄像头:1200万像素传感器,f/1.5镜头,等效27毫米,OIS和双像素PDAF
  • 远摄镜头:1200万像素传感器,f/2.4镜头,等效52毫米,OIS和PDAF
  • 4K/60 fps视频(默认模式下为1080p/30 fps)

请注意:我们更正了曝光测试的一个错误后,现在已更新LG V40 ThinQ的评测和分数,曝光得分从83分提高为88分。照片分数也从96分增加到98分,DxOMark总体得分则从93分变为94分。

关于DxOMark Mobile测试DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见此处

测试摘要

94
camera
98
photo
87
video

LG V40 ThinQ在DxOMark Mobile测试中获得94分,比起我们测试的最后一款LG手机——LG G7(发布于六个月前,即2018年5月)有明显的改进。V40的照片成绩为98分,其静态摄影的最大优势是曝光、对比度、色彩和自动对焦。视频为87分,表现也很好,特别是在色彩和细节方面。

LG V40 ThinQ在良好的光照条件下可拍出悦目的色彩,但蓝天有点偏青色。

事实上,V40的色彩大致呈现中性的白平衡,这是V40的最强点之一。尽管V40有时会使天空呈现青色而非蓝色,但这很可能是该手机的色彩特色而非色调偏移的问题;V40在室内的白平衡也大致中性,但可能会有非常轻微的黄绿色偏。

在曝光和对比度方面,V40在大多数照明条件下表现都很出色,但在逆光照片中,高对比度边缘周围可能会出现明显的晕轮,例如下面照片中的埃菲尔铁塔。在逆光人像的背景中可能会丢失一些高光细节,但面部曝光通常是可以接受的。

LG V40 ThinQ,高对比度边缘上的晕轮
LG V40 ThinQ,裁剪图

动态范围整体上还算不错,但如果仔细观察下方的高对比度样张,其阴影区域的控制要比苹果iPhone XS Max稍微差一些:其噪点更多,细节丢失的情况也更明显。

LG V40 ThinQ,高对比度场景
苹果iPhone XS Max,高对比场景

虽然LG V40 ThinQ的表现不如最出色的手机,但它在户外条件下保留了相当到位的细节,在低光下和室内动态范围相对较小的场景中,噪点也得到了很好的控制;然而,在室内高对比度场景中可能会看到色度噪点。虽然V40的HDR激活时,在非逆光场景中的表现相当不错,但黑暗区域仍然会出现噪点。

V40的闪光灯性能在最黑暗的条件下都还算可以接受,但在所有闪光灯人像中,红眼都非常明显。

V40的散景表现有点令人失望:尽管它有多个摄像头,但它的得分低于稍微旧一点的LG G7,其主要问题是映射错误。如果仔细观察下面的样张,您会发现人体模型的右耳被不当地模糊了,在裁剪图中,您可以看到他的头发左上角与背景融为一体;从好的方面看,V40将模糊同时应用于前景和背景。

LG V40 ThinQ,散景模式
LG V40 ThinQ,裁剪图

添加一个远摄镜头是一个值得赞许的发展,当然,LG工程师还需要进一步调整此功能,特别是在噪点和伪像控制方面,方能提高后续机型的性能。在下面的特写照片中,LG G7和V40之间的拍摄结果的差异非常明显;虽然乍一看,V40的表现似乎与iPhone XS Max在许多方面平分秋色,但仔细检查可以发现V40的过度锐化和明显的振铃效应。

LG G40 ThinQ,5倍变焦
LG G40 ThinQ,裁剪图
LG G7,5倍变焦
LG G7,裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS Max,5倍变焦
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图

除了上述振铃和晕轮问题之外,一些V40 ThinQ图像中的蓝色天空的剪切纹理附近也出现了青色色偏,如下面的样张所示;此外,画面边缘的清晰度明显比中心略低。

LG V40 ThinQ,天空中的青色色偏
LG V40 ThinQ,裁剪图

V40视频的表现出色,特别是在色彩和细节方面。实际上,除噪点控制外,它整体上的表现优于Galaxy Note 8视频。然而,它的自动对焦有些不稳定,户外影片的测标曝光有时也较低。此外,虽然V40在略高于5勒克斯时的表现不错,其处理时间噪点的能力比竞争机型稍好,但随着光线的增加,边缘的噪点就逐渐增加了,如下图所示。

LG V40 ThinQ,视频模式下各种勒克斯级别的时间噪点演变的比较

 

最后,防抖系统在摇拍或边走边拍时都不能完全消除所有的摄像头运动,导致录制的影片看起来有些晃动;但总体而言,除了最苛刻的摄像者之外,所有人都对V40的视频性能感到满意。

结论

LG V40 ThinQ的成绩与推出于2017年的Galaxy Note 8平分秋色,在大多数领域中的表现也都比G7有重大改进。虽然它还不能与最接近的高端机型平起平坐,但LG在该手机上首度添加变焦镜头表明它正在奋起直追。我们期待看到最近发布的LG G8的进一步改进,我们已打算在不久的将来对其进行测试。

照片优点

  • 室内条件下的测标曝光准确。
  • 在所有条件下,色彩通常都是鲜艳而悦目。
  • 在动态范围有限的场景中,噪点得到很好的控制。
  • 在户外条件下呈现了很好的细节。
  • 变焦:在户外和室内条件下,在细节与噪点之间取得了良好的平衡。

视频优点

  • 自动对焦的速度很快。
  • 室内和低光下的测标曝光准确。
  • 色彩鲜艳悦目。
  • 细节在室内条件下保留完好。

照片不足

  • 在户外逆光条件下,图像强烈曝光不足。
  • 通常可以看到晕轮和混叠等伪像。
  • 景深内失去清晰度。
  • 户外和低光下会丢失非常细微的细节。
  • 可观察到非常轻微的黄绿色偏。

视频不足

  • 有时可观察到对焦不稳定性。
  • 在户外高对比度条件下,测标曝光可能略低。
  • 在大多数情况下都可以看到亮度噪点。
  • 步行场景中可观察到帧偏移。

LG V40 ThinQ camera review

DxOMark
Mobile
94

When the LG V40 ThinQ first appeared in late 2018, its 5-camera offering (3 rear, 2 front) raised eyebrows and expectations. The triple-cam on the rear was also the first to offer a focal range with an ultra-wide (16mm-equivalent) to 2x tele-lens. In addition to its multi-cam array, the V40 comes equipped with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 chipset and octa-core processor and a 6.4-inch QHD+ OLED display. Let’s take a look at how well its camera performed in our DxOMark Mobile tests.

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple camera setup
  • Ultra-wide: 16Mp sensor with f/1.9, 16mm-equivalent lens, no AF
  • Primary: 12Mp sensor with f/1.5, 27mm-equivalent lens, OIS and dual-pixel PDAF
  • Tele: 12Mp sensor with f/2.4, 52mm-equivalent lens, OIS and PDAF
  • 4K video at 60fps (1080p at 30 fps at default settings)

Please note: The LG V40 ThinQ review and scores have been updated after we discovered an error in our exposure testing. The exposure score was increased from 83 to 88 points. This also increased the Photo score from 96 to 98 and the overall DxOMark score from 93 to 94 points.

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

94
DxOMark mobile
LG V40 ThinQ
98
photo
LG V40 ThinQ
87
video
LG V40 ThinQ

Achieving an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 94 points, the LG V40 ThinQ generally showed a marked improvement over the last LG device we tested, the LG G7, which appeared some six months before (in May 2018). With a Photo score of 98 points, the V40’s strongest points for stills photography are for exposure and contrast, color, and autofocus. At 87 points, its Video performance is good as well, particularly for color and detail.

The LG V40 ThinQ captures pleasant colors in good lighting conditions, even though blue skies tend toward cyan.

Color is, in fact, one of the V40’s strongest points, with generally neutral white balance. Although the V40 sometimes renders the sky more cyan than blue, this may well be a matter of color signature rather hue shift per se. The V40’s white balance indoors is generally also neutral, though there can be a very slight yellow-greenish cast.

As for exposure and contrast, the V40 does very well in most lighting conditions. Backlit shots, such as the Eiffel Tower shot below, can show noticeably haloing around high-contrast edges, however. Some highlight detail can be lost in the background of backlit portraits but face exposure is usually acceptable.

LG V40 ThinQ, haloing on high-contrast edges
LG V40 ThinQ, crop

Overall dynamic range is decent but if you look closely at the high-contrast samples below the shadow areas are a little less controlled than on the Apple iPhone XS Max, with higher noise levels and a more noticeable loss of detail.

LG V40 ThinQ, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone XS Max, high-contrast scene

Although it’s not on par with the best in class, the LG V40 ThinQ preserves detail fairly well in outdoor conditions, and it controls noise pretty well indoors and in low light in relatively flat dynamic scenes. In high-contrast indoor scenes, chromatic noise is visible, however. And while the V40’s HDR in non-backlit scenes is fairly good when activated, images still exhibit noise in dark areas.

The V40’s flash performance is acceptable in all but the darkest conditions, but red-eye is very apparent in all flash portrait shots.

The V40’s performance for bokeh was a bit of a disappointment: despite its multiple cameras, its score is lower than that of the slightly older LG G7, largely due to mapping errors. If you look closely at the sample photo below, you can see that the model’s right ear is inappropriately blurred, and in the crop, you can see that the upper-left part his hair blends into the background. On the plus side, the V40 applies blur to the foreground as well as to the background.

The LG V40 ThinQ, bokeh mode
LG V40 ThinQ, crop

The addition of a tele-lens is a welcome development. Of course, LG engineers will need to tune the feature further, particularly in terms of noise and artifact control, so as to boost the performance in subsequent models. The difference in the results is completely obvious between the LG G7 and the V40 in the closeups below; and while at first glance the V40 seems to be on par in many ways with iPhone XS Max, closer inspection reveals the V40’s over-sharpening and intrusive ringing.

LG G40 ThinQ, 5x zoom
LG G40 ThinQ, crop
LG G7, 5x zoom
LG G7, crop
Apple iPhone XS Max, 5x zoom
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop

We’ve mentioned ringing and halos but some V40 ThinQ images also show a hue-shift toward cyan close to clipped areas in blue skies as you can see in the sample below. In addition the image is noticeably softer close to the edges to the frame compared to the center.

LG V40 ThinQ, cyan-shift in the sky
LG V40 ThinQ, crop

As for video, the V40 puts in a good performance, particularly in terms of color and details. In fact, with the exception of noise control, it actually outperforms the Galaxy Note 8 for video overall. This said, however, it shows some instabilities in autofocus, and target exposure is sometimes low in outdoor footage. Further, as the graph below shows, while the V40 has a brief moment of glory a little above 5 lux, when it handles temporal noise a bit better than the competition, it loses that edge as light increases.

LG V40 ThinQ, comparison of the evolution of temporal noise by lux level in video mode

Finally, the stabilization system wasn’t quite capable of eliminating all camera motion when panning or filming when walking, resulting in some shakiness of the recorded footage; but overall, all but the most demanding videographers will be satisfied with the V40’s video performance.

Conclusion

With scores on par with the Galaxy Note 8, which came out in 2017, the LG V40 ThinQ marks a significant improvement over the G7 in most areas. Although it cannot yet compete with recent high-end models, the addition of its first-ever zoom shows that it’s clearly on an upward track. We are looking forward to seeing further improvements in the recently-released LG G8, which we plan to test in the very near future.

Photo pros

  • Target exposure is accurate in indoor conditions.
  • Colors are generally vivid and pleasant in all conditions.
  • Noise is well-controlled in scenes with limited dynamic range.
  • Details are well-rendered in outdoor conditions.
  • Zoom: decent detail-noise tradeoff in outdoor and indoor conditions.

Video pros

  • Autofocus is fast.
  • Accurate target exposure in indoor and lowlight.
  • Colors are vivid and pleasant.
  • Details are well-preserved in indoor conditions.

Photo cons

  • Image are strongly underexposed in outdoor backlit conditions.
  • Artifacts such as halos and aliasing are often visible.
  • A loss of sharpness in the field.
  • Very fine details are lost in indoor and lowlight conditions.
  • Very slight yellow-greenish casts are noticeable.

Video cons

  • Focus instabilities are sometimes visible.
  • Target exposure can be slightly low in outdoor high-contrast conditions.
  • Luminance noise is visible in most conditions.
  • Visible frame shift in walking scenes.