尼康尼克尔Z 35mm F1.8 S镜头测评

38
lens

作为尼康Z系列相机最初推出的三款无反镜头之一,尼克尔Z 35mm f/1.8 S是专为尼康Z系统设计的一款中等快门速度、微广角定焦镜头。

35毫米焦距和63°视角使其成为街头摄影和新闻摄影以及日常摄影的理想之选。再加上f/1.8的最大光圈,可以获得更好的低光摄影效果和创造性的景深效果,尼康Z 35mm f/1.8 S对许多尼康Z系列用户而言不啻为一款非常理想的光学设备。

这款设备采用了9组11片的镜头结构设计,包括2枚低色散ED镜片、3枚非球面镜片和尼康特有的带纳米结晶涂层的镜片,以减少炫光和鬼影。所有镜片都被封装在密封的镜头筒中,防水又防尘。机身上的控制装置仅有AF/MF的切换开关,也就是尼康所称的控制环。控制环本质上是手动对焦模式下精准对焦的手动聚焦环,但在自动对焦模式下也可以用控制环实现曝光补偿,这就比传统的尼康F卡口 35mm镜头增加了一些功能。

该款镜头没有基于镜头的图像稳定系统(VR),因为尼康Z系列相机的特点是内置5轴机身防抖图像稳定系统(IBIS),但尼克尔Z 35mm f/1.8 S也确实配备了近乎静音的自动对焦步进马达,即便无法消除,也能减少视频录制时机身内置麦克风捕捉到的聚焦噪音。它的尺寸为86x73mm(LxD),重370g,尤其与老款的尼克尔D卡口相比,是一款尺寸较大的35mm定焦镜头,但用于较小的尼康Z系列相机时,仍然保持了良好的稳定性和适用性。

主要性能参数:
  • 全画幅模式
  • 仅适用于Z卡口系列
  • 光圈范围f / 1.8 – f / 16
  • 滤镜尺寸:62mm
  • 最近对焦距离:25 cm
  • 重量:370克

整体成像质量

我们使用分辨率高达4570万像素的尼康Z7无反相机进行测试。尼克尔Z 35mm F1.8 S是我们测试过的得分最高的尼康35mm 镜头,总分为38分,光圈f/4处时其清晰度单项分数为30 PMpix,令人印象深刻。

清晰度在所有光圈下表现都很好,尤其是在光圈范围f/4-f/8,这时图像的边缘都非常清晰。在较宽的f/1.8和f2.8光圈处,图像中心的分辨率也很好;虽然此时外延部分的表现稍弱,但整体来说尚可接受。而从f/11光圈处,衍射效应开始影响图像清晰度,但锐度仍然不错,约为70%,所以只有在光圈最小的f/16处,衍射效应才产生明显的影响。

横向色差校正是尼康Z 35 mm f/1.8 S的另一个优势:在任何光圈设置下图像都没有明显的边缘表现。不过,在较大的f/1.8和f/2.8光圈处,显而易见,图像晕染效果相当强烈。尽管在f/4到f/16之间,图像晕染效果明显减弱,但在这款镜头的所有光圈设置上,还是可以看到一些角阴影。测试过程中,我们测量出了0.5%的轻微桶形失真,但这个情况对于“微”广角镜头来说并非罕见。通光量表现不错,为f/1.9 TStop,可确保EVF和自动对焦系统拥有充足的光线。此外,使用该款镜头您还可以期待大致精准的自动曝光。

与竞品的图像质量比较

尽管该款镜头是我们目前测试过的得分最高的尼康35mm镜头,尼克尔Z 35mm f/1.8 S并没有达到其竞品设定的高门槛。

点击此处可以打开我们交互式DxOMark镜头对比工具

在使用3600万像素的尼康D800E进行测试时,同样价位的适马35mm f/1.4 A和腾龙SP 35mm f/1.8 Di两款镜头在低分辨率传感器上获得了相同(或非常相近)的清晰度评分。加上更轻微的桶形失真和暗角,以及适马改良后的透光量和腾龙更好的边缘表现,副厂产品成了尼康用户首选的35mm定焦镜头。

将尼克尔Z 35mm f/1.8 S与高分辨率的索尼和佳能相机上的35mm 定焦镜头进行比较,分析结果大致相同。在4240万像素的索尼A7R II相机上,卡尔蔡司的Distagon T*FE 35mm f/1.4的清晰度遥遥领先;而更为紧凑的索尼 FE卡尔蔡司Sonnar T* 35mm f/2.8 ZA镜头在清晰度和暗角表现上也明显优于尼克尔镜头。

佳能用户可以放心,在5060万像素的佳能5DS R上测试时, EF 35mm f/1.4L II的清晰度也明显高于尼克尔Z镜头。正如你所料的,最大光圈为f/1.4的EF镜头明显更昂贵也更为厚实。虽然暗角相当强烈,但能很好地控制失真情况,且通光量和色差也比尼克尔镜头稍好一些。对于那些不需要真正的“快速”光圈的35mm定焦镜头的佳能用户而言,更便宜、更小巧的EF 35mm f/2镜头也是一个不错的选择。这款镜头整体清晰度略高,在其他类别测试小项中也获得了与尼克尔Z 35mm f/1.8 S相似的分数。

深入比较

为了更详细地检测这款镜头的光学性能,我们将新的尼克尔Z镜头和两款f/1.8 35mm F卡口的定焦镜头进行比较。这两款镜头分别是稍便宜的尼康AF-S尼克尔 35mm f/1.8 G 和稍贵的腾龙 SP 35mm f/1.8 Di。由于它们都是为尼康单反相机设计制作的,我们将它们安装在所测试过的分辨率最高的尼康单反相机D800E上。(待我们添加最新款4570万像素的尼康D850的测试数据后,您可以回来使用交互式对比工具查看比较结果。)

清晰度

在最大光圈f/1.8处,腾龙和尼康AF-S镜头的大部分图像分辨率都得到了提高,图像面积高达80%。尼康Z镜头外侧图像表现稍优于AF-S 35mm f/1.8G,但腾龙镜头更为清晰,在图像角落也更为均匀。但尼康可以控制像散(光学系统中的像差),新的Z系列镜头的像散就得到了很好地控制,下面的图表用虚线标示了腾龙和尼克尔AF-S镜头表现。

在光圈为f/4处,新款尼康Z 35mm f/1.8 S的清晰度达到峰值,略高于其竞争对手,这使得它在三款镜头中荣获了总体最高的清晰度得分。这三款相机在图像中心的表现都很出色,锐度得分都高于80%,但腾龙和尼康AF-S镜头在外侧图像略微逊色,尼克尔Z镜头在各个角落的分辨率都更为均匀。

色差

下图显示了每个镜头在f/1.8处的两个横向色差测量值的宽度(以微米为单位),从0%的图像中心到100%的图像边角。(有两个值,是因为在高对比度边缘的两侧焦平面上都显示横向色差,通常显示为青色和品红边缘。如果镜头被完全校正,则在灰色水平线上两个测量值都为0µm。)

从下面的图表可以看出,尼克尔Z镜头和滕龙竞品控制色差能力都非常不错,两个镜头的两个测量值都离0µm位置不远,即使是在外侧边缘区域(场域位置100%)。尼康AF-S镜头就不太好,宝蓝色和橙色线条的偏差表明在外侧区域出现了一些明显的色差。

不要忘记,这种边缘通常很容易在相机内或拍摄后清除,而且移除后几乎不会降低图像质量。

几何失真

广角镜头出现几何失真的情况并不少见,即使使用“微”广角35mm镜头,线条也不会总是完美直线。滕龙35mm镜头的主要优势之一就是0.2%的桶形失真对直线产生的任何影响都很难让人察觉。而失真率为0.4%的AF-S 35mm镜头和失真率为0.5%的尼克尔 Z 35mm镜头,其桶形失真对线性元素的影响却轻微可见,特别是靠近图像边缘的线条。即便如此,它们对此的控制还是很好,经过后期制作校正,能减少失真影响,且在后续的死区裁剪过程中不会丢失太多图像。

暗角(角阴影)

各个边角亮度衰减情况如下图所示,三个镜头在最大的光圈处,情况最为明显。与横向色差边缘一样,暗角也可以很容易地在相机内或拍摄后通过软件清除,但如果暗角情况非常明显,则会在移除后出现噪点,所以从一开始就减少阴影总是更好的。

尽管卡口更大,但尼克尔Z镜头是三款相机中暗角现象最明显的。最大光圈拍摄时,与AF-S 35mm的-1.7EV和尼克尔Z 35mm的-2EV相比,滕龙的-1.4EV角阴影表现仅需要较少的校正,就可以实现照片整体一致的亮度。关闭光圈时,滕龙和尼康AF-S镜头比尼克尔Z镜头提升更快,同时也可以看出在f/4到f/16之间任意光圈设置下暗角测量值约为-0.7EV。事实上,尼康AF-S在f/4之后的测量是三款镜头中表现最好的,其角阴影不到-0.5EV,但滕龙35mm差距也不太大。

结论: 性能最佳的尼康35mm镜头 

新的Z卡口更宽且法兰距更短,也意味着在设计镜头时光学工程师拥有更多的灵活性。这种卡口应该对广角镜头特别有利,事实上,尼康Z 35mm f/1.8 S是迄今为止我们测试过的得分最高的尼康35mm镜头。它的主要优势是清晰度,最大光圈时性能良好,中间光圈值时异常均匀的分辨率。但该镜头不敌副厂产品,如适马35mm f/1.4 A镜头和滕龙 SP 35mm f/1.8 Di镜头。副厂产品在3630万低分辨率的尼康D800E机身上测试时,其清晰度比尼康Z镜头在4570万像素的尼康Z 7机身上测试时更高。然而,总的来说,正寻找35mm定焦镜头的尼康Z系统用户们可以放心,原生的尼康Z 35mm f/1.8 S镜头是光学上的最佳选择。

在这篇评论中,我们将尼克尔Z 35mm F1.8 S与其F卡口上代产品进行了比较,并从图像质量角度,与另一副厂竞品进行了对比。请记住,镜头可适用于不同相机系统和卡口,所以比较可能并不够严格适用。

与往常一样,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,进行深入分析。

Nikon Nikkor Z 35mm F1.8 S lens review

Reading Time: 10 min read
38
lens

One of the original three lenses launched alongside the mirrorless Nikon Z cameras, the Nikkor Z 35mm f/1.8 S is a moderately fast, mildly wide-angle prime lens designed specifically for the Nikon Z system.

The 35mm focal length and 63º angle of view makes it an ideal choice for street photography and photojournalism, as well as for general-use photography. Combine that with a wide f/1.8 maximum aperture for better low-light photography and creative depth-of-field effects, and the Z 35mm f/1.8 S is a highly desirable optic for many Nikon Z shooters.

The optical arrangement utilizes 11 elements in 9 groups, including 2 ED elements, 3 aspherical elements, and elements with Nikon’s Nano Crystal Coating to reduce flare and ghosting, all housed in a sealed barrel that protects against dust and water droplets. Controls on the barrel are limited to an AF/MF switch and what Nikon calls a control ring. The control ring is essentially a manual focus ring for precision focusing in MF mode, but you can also assign exposure-compensation settings to the control ring when in AF mode, which adds some functionality over traditional Nikon F-mount 35mm lenses.

There’s no lens-based image stabilization (VR), due to the fact Nikon Z cameras feature 5-axis in-body image stabilization (IBIS), but the Nikkor Z 35mm f/1.8 S does feature a near-silent autofocus stepping motor to reduce, if not eliminate, focusing noise captured by the on-board mic during video recording. Measuring 86x73mm (LxD) and weighing 370g, it’s a fairly large 35mm prime lens, especially compared to the older Nikkor D-mount version, but it remains well balanced and practical to use on the smaller Nikon Z cameras.

Key specifications:

Overall lens image quality

Tested on the high-resolution 45.7MP Nikon Z 7 mirrorless camera, the Nikkor Z 35mm F1.8 S ranks as the highest-scoring Nikon 35mm lens we’ve tested, achieving an overall score of 38 points and an impressive sharpness sub-score of 30 PMpix at f/4.

Sharpness is good at all aperture settings, with particularly strong results between f/4 to f/8, where images are sharp edge-to-edge. At the wider f/1.8- and f/2.8-aperture settings, resolution is also very good in the center of the frame; and although things get a little softer in the outer field, it remains very acceptable overall. The effects of diffraction start to impact sharpness a little at f/11, but acutance remains good at around 70%, so it’s only really at the minimum f/16 aperture that diffraction has a noticeable impact.

Correction of lateral chromatic aberration is another strength for the Nikon Z 35mm f/1.8 S, with no evident fringing at any aperture setting. Fairly strong vignetting is noticeable at the wider f/1.8 and f/2.8 aperture settings, however, and although it’s noticeably reduced between f/4 to f/16, some corner shading is visible at all apertures on this lens. We measured a little barrel distortion of 0.5% in our tests, but this isn’t unusual for a “mild” wide-angle lens, and it won’t have too much impact on the straightness of lines in your images. Transmission is also good at f/1.9 TStop, ensuring plenty of light for the EVF and autofocus system; further, you can expect generally accurate auto-exposure with this lens.

Image quality compared

Despite being the highest-scoring Nikon 35mm prime lens we’ve tested so far, the Nikkor Z 35mm f/1.8 S doesn’t quite live up to the high bar set by some of the competition.

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark lens comparison tool.

Tested on the 36Mp Nikon D800E, the similarly-priced Sigma 35mm f/1.4 A and Tamron SP 35mm f/1.8 Di both achieved the same (or very nearly the same) sharpness score on a lower-resolution sensor. Add to that slightly less barrel distortion and vignetting, as well as improved transmission on the Sigma and less fringing on the Tamron, and the third-party options top the table for 35mm primes for Nikon shooters.

The analysis results are broadly the same when comparing the Nikkor Z 35mm f/1.8 S to 35mm primes on the high-resolution Sony and Canon cameras. On the 42.4Mp Sony A7R II, the Carl Zeiss Distagon T* FE 35mm f/1.4 is comfortably ahead for sharpness; and the significantly more compact Sony FE Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* 35mm f/2.8 ZA also just edges out the Nikkor lens for sharpness and vignetting.

Canon shooters can rest assured that the EF 35mm f/1.4L II is also noticeably sharper than the Nikkor Z lens when tested on the 50.6Mp Canon 5DS R. The EF lens is a significantly more expensive and chunkier lens, as you’d expect with a f/1.4 maximum aperture; and although vignetting is rather strong, it controls distortion extremely well, and transmission and chromatic aberration are fractionally better than the Nikkor lens, too. The cheaper and more diminutive EF 35mm f/2 is also a good option for Canon shooters who don’t require a truly “fast”-aperture 35mm prime, and it delivers slightly better sharpness overall, and achieves similar sub-scores as the Nikkor Z 35mm f/1.8 S in the other categories as well.

In-depth comparisons

For a more detailed examination of optical performance, we’ll compare the new Nikkor Z lens with two f/1.8 35mm F-mount primes: the slightly cheaper AF-S Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G, and the slightly more expensive Tamron SP 35mm f/1.8 Di. As they’re made for Nikon DSLRs, we’ve mounted them on the highest-resolution Nikon DSLR we’ve tested, the D800E. (Check back to see the results on our interactive comparison tool after we’ve added the data from the latest 45.7MP Nikon D850).

Sharpness

At the maximum f/1.8 aperture, both the Tamron and Nikon AF-S lenses offer improved resolution across the majority of the frame, up to a field position of 80%. The Nikon Z lens improves fractionally over the AF-S 35mm f/1.8G in the far outer field, but again, the Tamron option is sharper, as well as more homogeneous into the corners. Nikon has managed to control astigmatism (aberrations in the optical system) really well on the new Z lenses, however, and this is indicated by the dashed lines for the Tamron and Nikkor AF-S lens on the chart below.

At peak sharpness using an aperture of f/4, the new Nikon Z 35mm f/1.8 S slightly outperforms the competition, which helped it achieve the highest sharpness score of the three lenses overall. All three are excellent in the center of the frame, achieving actutance scores of just over 80%, but where the Tamron and Nikon AF-S lens dip slightly in the outer field, the Nikkor Z lens manages to achieve fractionally more uniform resolution out to the corners.

Chromatic aberration

The graph below shows the width in microns for the two measured values of lateral chromatic aberration for each lens at f/1.8, from the image center at 0% to the corners of the frame at 100%. (There are two values because lateral color is revealed in the focus plane on either side of high-contrast edges, usually as cyan and magenta fringing. If a lens were perfectly corrected, both values would be at 0µ on the grey horizontal line.)

You can see in the chart below that both the Nikkor Z lens and the Tamron alternative control chromatic aberration extremely well, with both values for these two lenses deviating not very far from the 0µm position, even in the far outer field (field position 100%). The AF-S lens isn’t quite as good, with the deviation of the royal blue and orange lines indicating some visible chromatic aberration in the outer field.

Don’t forget that this type of fringing is usually easy to clean up either in-camera or post-capture, and rarely lowers image quality after removal.

Geometric distortion

It isn’t uncommon for wide-angle lenses to show some geometric distortion, and lines aren’t often perfectly straight even with “mild” wide-angle 35mm lenses. One of the key strengths of the Tamron 35mm is that it will be difficult to perceive any effect of its 0.2% barrel distortion on straight lines. At 0.4% for the AF-S 35mm and 0.5% for the Nikkor Z 35mm, that barrel effect will be slightly noticeable on linear elements, however, and especially on lines close to the edges of the frame. Even so, it’s all pretty well-controlled, and with some post-production correction, you’ll be able to reduce the effect without losing too much of the image in the consequent cropping to remove dead space.

Vignetting (corner shading)

Illumination fall-off towards the corners is shown in the graph below for each of the three lenses at its widest aperture, where it would be at its most noticeable. As with lateral chromatic fringing, vignetting can be easily removed in-camera or after capture via software, but if it’s particularly pronounced, it can reveal noise after removal, so it’s always better for the shading to be lower to begin with.

Despite the wider mount, the Nikkor Z lens displays the most noticeable vignetting of the three options. With –1.4EV corner shading compared to –1.7EV and –2EV for the AF-S 35mm and Nikkor Z 35mm lenses, respectively, the Tamron requires less correction to achieve consistent illumination across the frame when shooting at the widest aperture setting. As you close down the apertures, the Tamron and Nikon AF-S lenses improve quicker compared to the Nikkor Z lens, too, which displays vignetting of around –0.7EV at all apertures between f/4 and f/16. In fact, the Nikon AF-S measured the best of the three from f/4 onwards, with less than –0.5EV corner shading evident, although the Tamron 35mm isn’t far behind.

Conclusion: Top-performing Nikon 35mm lens 

The new wider Z-mount with its shorter register means there’s a lot more flexibility for optical engineers when designing lenses. The mount should especially benefit wide-angle lenses, and indeed, the Nikon Z 35mm f/1.8 S is the highest-scoring Nikon 35mm lens we’ve tested to date. Its key strength is sharpness, with good performance at the maximum aperture and exceptionally uniform resolution at the mid-apertures. This said, it doesn’t quite match such third-party options as the Sigma 35mm f/1.4 A and the Tamron SP 35mm f/1.8 Di, which achieve better sharpness when tested on the lower-resolution 36.3Mp Nikon D800E, compared to the Nikkor Z lens on the 45.7Mp Nikon Z 7. Overall, however, Nikon Z-system shooters who are looking for a 35mm prime can rest assured that the native Nikon Z 35mm f/1.8 S lens is an optically excellent choice.

In this review, we have compared the Nikkor Z 35mm F1.8 S to its F-mount predecessor, and from a quality perspective, to a third-party rival from another brand. Remember that the lenses are intended to be used on different camera systems and mounts, so the comparisons may not be strictly applicable. 

As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image lens comparison tool.


In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.