尼康Z7传感器评测

99
sensor

是与尼康Z6同时发布的尼康Z7是一款高分辨率全画幅无反相机,配备全新的55mm直径尼康Z卡口。

与Z6一样,Z7的传感器具有BSI(背照式)设计,但它的有效像素从24.5MP提升到了45.7MP。该芯片配合尼康的Expeed 6 处理引擎,可实现ISO64-25,600的标准感光度范围和最高9fps(帧/秒)的连拍速度。 ISO 64-25,600。

与尼康的数码单反相机不同,Z系列相机具有一个结合了对比度检测和相位检测的复合自动对焦系统。Z7 具有493点复合自动对焦系统,画面覆盖率达到90%。

尼康采用镁合金制造了Z7的机身并密封了接头和控制按钮,使其具有防尘和防风雨性能。它还有一个0.5英寸369万画点的电子取景器和一个3.2英寸210万画点的可掀动触摸屏用于构图和观看图像。

除了静态照片以外,Z7可以最高4K UHD(3840×2160)的分辨率拍摄视频。影片可以8位进行内部存储,或通过HDMI接口以10位4:2:2输出到外接存储器。

和Z6一样,Z7配备单一XQD卡插槽,更新固件后可以与CFexpress卡兼容。

主要规格:

  • 45.7MP全画幅CMOS背照式传感器
  • 493点复合式自动对焦系统
  • 内置5轴防抖系统
  • Expeed 6 处理器
  • ISO 64-25600,可扩展至ISO 32-102400
  • 最高9fps 连续拍摄
  • 拍摄30fps 的UHD 4K视频和 120fps 的1080p视频
  • 单一XQD卡插槽

整体表现

尼康Z7的45.7MP 全画幅CMOS背照式传感器获得了令人印象深刻的99分,这是我们迄今为止看到的第5高的得分。它的关键优势在于其(人像)色深,它的26.3位色深在我们测试过的所有传感器中排名第三,其中包括小型和中型设备。

在14.6EV下,Z7的(风景)动态范围得分也非常高,只比排名最高的机型(哈苏X1D-50c)低了0.2EV。

具有如此高的像素数,Z7在低光ISO(运动)的得分(ISO2668)是其弱项就显得不足为奇了。但它在此项测量中取得45MP全画幅传感器的最高排名,并且排在其前面的所有传感器不是更大(中等格式)就是只有更低的分辨率。

结合了高像素数,出色的色深和广泛的动态范围,使得Z7成为景观、静物和人像摄影的理想选择。

图像质量对比

凭借其像素数、机身质量和功能范围,尼康已经将Z7称作“无反D850”。而我们的测试也证实了这一点:Z7的传感器已经非常接近D850,仅在(人像)色深得分上落后0.1位,在(风景)动态范围得分上落后0.2EV。并且Z7的低光ISO(运动)得分实际上与D850几乎相同,得分各为2668与2660。

如下表所示,45.7MP的尼康Z7的得分与42.4MP的索尼A7R III 十分接近。Z7在色深和动态范围上领先,但A7R III 可以更好的应对低光。

尼康Z6优于Z7的一项测试是低光ISO,这是因为Z6有更大的感光器。相反,更高的分辨率使得Z7获得了更好的色深得分。

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark图像传感器排名工具。

深入对比

在这一节中我们将深入介绍尼康Z7的传感器与尼康D850以及与它最接近的竞争对手索尼A7R III 之间的得分对比。

人像(色深)

尼康Z7的色深在其大部分敏感度范围内与尼康D860和索尼A7R III 十分接近。但是,D850的最大值达到了26.4位,高于Z7 和索尼A7R III 的最大分数。就技术性而言,这意味着D850的传感器可以区分更多的颜色,但只有0.1位的差异,很难在图像中被发现。

在最高ISO设定下(25600或更高),Z7的色深低于D850和A7R III,这在平滑渐变的区域尤其明显。

在这项对比中,在ISO3200时所有三款相机都低于我们设定的20位优质图像标准。在ISO25600时,它们都围绕在不及格分数附近,但Z7高于我们设定的14位界值。

风景(动态范围)

在ISO100或更低时,尼康Z7具有出色的动态范围,其测量值超过了14EV。甚至在ISO800时,它的得分超过了12EV。这说明它可以在单个文件中记录广阔的色调范围。因此,图像相当具有弹性,并且在调整时不会出现带纹,也不会使噪点出现得太快。

尼康D850在三款相机中达到了最大的动态范围,而索尼A7R III则在ISO800或更高的设定下具有最高数值。直到ISO25600左右,A7R III 和Z7的差别大约为0.5EV,虽然差异不大,但在一些图片中可以察觉到其中的差别:例如,明亮云朵中的一些细节有可能丢失。与D850相比,在低于ISO200时,Z7的动态范围稍微低于D850。

运动(低光ISO)

除了最高灵敏度数值外,尼康Z7与D850的信噪比几乎相同。尽管它们都非常不错,但在大多数灵敏度范围内都无法匹敌索尼A7R III。不过,这些数值都非常接近,以至于你不太可能在图像之间发现差异。然而,索尼A7R III在更高的灵敏度下结合了更好的噪点控制和动态范围,可以在拍摄后增亮图像时提供优势。

总结

有趣的是,尼康Z7的传感器产生的结果与D850相似但不完全相同。其中一些差异可能要归因于成像传感器上的相位检测自动对焦像素。

Z7在整个得分板上表现良好,高像素数(能够记录大量细节)和传感器出色的色深相结合,意味着它能够产生令人赏心悦目的图像。凭借其出色的动态范围,Z7似乎是风景摄影师、婚礼摄影师和业余摄影发烧友良好的选择。

在此次评测中,我们将尼康Z7与其最接近的竞争对手以及我们测试过的尼康阵容中的相关机型进行了比较。与往常一样,您可以利用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具来创建您自己的对比和深入分析。

Nikon Z 7 sensor review

Reading Time: 5 min read
99
sensor

Announced at the same time as the Nikon Z 6, the Z 7 is a high-resolution full-frame mirrorless camera with the new 55mm-diameter Nikon Z-mount.

Like the Z 6’s, the Z 7’s sensor has a BSI (backside-illuminated) design, but its effective pixel count is 45.7MP rather than 24.5MP. This chip is coupled with Nikon’s Expeed 6 processing engine, which enables a native sensitivity range of ISO 64-25,600 and continuous shooting at up to 9fps (frames per second).

Unlike Nikon’s DSLRs, the Z-series cameras have a hybrid autofocus (AF) system that combines contrast- and phase-detection focusing. The Z 7 has a total of 493 AF points that cover approximately 90% of the imaging area.

Nikon has made the Z 7’s body from magnesium alloy and has sealed the joints and controls to make it dust and weather-resistant. There’s also a 0.5-inch 3.69-million-dot electronic viewfinder and a 3.2-inch 2,100,000-dot tilting touchscreen for composing and viewing images.

In addition to stills, the Z 7 can record video at up to 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) resolution. Footage may be recorded internally at 8bit, or at 10bit 4:2:2 if an external recorder is connected via the HDMI port.

Like the Z 6, the Z 7 has a single XQD card port that a firmware update will make compatible with CFexpress cards.

Key specifications:

  • 45.7MP full-frame BSI CMOS sensor
  • Hybrid AF with 493 points
  • In-body 5-axis image stabilization
  • Expeed 6 processor
  • ISO 64-25,600, expandable to ISO 32-102,400
  • Up to 9fps shooting
  • UHD 4K at 30fps and 1080p at 120fps video
  • Single XQD card slot

Overall performance

The Nikon Z 7’s 45.7MP full-frame BSI CMOS sensor achieves an impressive score of 99, which is the fifth-highest score we have seen to date. Its key strength is its (Portrait) color depth, which at 26.3 bits puts it in the bronze medal position among all the sensors we’ve tested—including small- and medium-format devices.

At 14.6EV, the Z 7’s (Landscape) dynamic range score is also exceptionally high and just 0.2EV behind the top-ranked model (the Hasselblad X1D-50c).

With such a high pixel count, it’s not really a surprise to find that the Z 7’s low-light ISO (Sports) score (ISO 2668) is its weakest area. But it has the highest-ranked 45MP full-frame sensor for this measurement, and all the sensors ahead of it are either larger (medium format) or have lower resolution.

Combining a high pixel count with excellent color depth and extensive dynamic range makes the Z 7 an attractive proposition for landscape, still life, and portrait photography.

Image quality compared

Because of its pixel count, build quality, and range of features, Nikon has referred to the Z 7 as a “mirrorless D850.” And our testing bears this out: for the sensor, the Z 7 comes very close to the D850, just falling 0.1 bit behind with its (Portrait) color depth score and 0.2EV behind with its (Landscape) dynamic range score. And at 2668 vs. 2660, the Z 7’s low-light ISO (Sports) score is effectively the same as the D850’s.

As the table below shows, the 45.7MP Nikon Z 7’s scores are very close to those of the 42.4MP Sony A7R III. While the Z 7 leads for color depth and dynamic range, the A7R III copes better with low light.

Low-light ISO is the one measurement for which the 24MP Nikon Z 6 outperforms the Z 7, and this is because of the Z 6’s larger photoreceptors. Conversely, the higher resolution of the Z 7 helps it achieve a better score for color depth.

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool.

In-depth comparisons

In this section, we’ll take a closer look at how the Nikon Z 7’s sensor scores in comparison with the Nikon D850 and with the Sony A7R III, its closest full-frame mirrorless rival.

Portrait (color depth)

For the majority of its sensitivity range, the Nikon Z 7’s color depth is very close to the Nikon D850 and the Sony A7R III. However, the D850 achieves a maximum value of 26.4 bits which is higher than the maximums scored by the Z 7 and the Sony A7R III. Technically, that means the D850 sensor can distinguish more colors, but with only 0.1 bit difference, it’s very unlikely to be noticeable in images.

At the highest ISO settings (25,600 and higher), the Z 7’s color depth drops below the D850’s and A7R III’s, which could be noticeable particularly in areas with smooth gradations.

All three cameras in this comparison dip beneath our 20bit measure of good image quality when set to ISO 3200. At ISO 25,600, they all hover around the poor mark, but the Z 7 is above our 14-bit cut off.

Landscape (dynamic range)

With a measurement of over 14EV at ISO 100 and lower, the Nikon Z 7 has excellent dynamic range. Even at ISO 800, it achieves a score of over 12EV. That means that it’s capable of recording a wide range of tones in a single file. As a result, the images are fairly elastic and can be adjusted without introducing banding or noise becoming obvious too quickly.

While the Nikon D850 achieves the highest dynamic range of the three sensors, the Sony A7R III has the highest value at settings of ISO 800 and above. Up to around ISO 25,600, the difference between the A7R III and the Z 7 is about 0.5EV, which while not dramatic, could be noticeable in some images—for example, some of the detail in bright clouds could be lost. Compared to the D850, the Z 7 drops slightly in dynamic range below ISO 200.

Sports (low-light ISO)

With the exception of the uppermost sensitivity values, the Nikon Z 7 has a near-identical signal-to-noise ratio to the D850. And although they are both very good, neither can match the Sony A7R III for the majority of the sensitivity range. That said, the values are so close that it’s very unlikely that you’d spot a difference among the images. However, combining the better noise control and dynamic range of the Sony A7R III at higher sensitivity settings could provide an advantage when brightening images post-capture.

Conclusion

It’s interesting that the Nikon Z 7’s sensor produces results that are similar but not identical to the D850’s. It’s possible that some of the differences can be attributed to the presence of phase-detection autofocus pixels on the imaging sensor.

The Z 7 performs well across the board, and the combination of a high pixel count (which enables it to record a lot of detail) and the sensor’s excellent color depth means that it is capable of producing images that are very pleasing to the eye. Factor in the excellent dynamic range, and the Z 7 looks like a good choice of camera for landscape photographers, wedding photographers, and keen amateurs alike.

In this review we have compared the Nikon Z 7 to its most direct rival and to relevant cameras we’ve tested among Nikon’s own lineup. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool.


In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.