OnePlus 6T评测:表现不错的摄像头

这台手机是用新增“广角”和“夜间摄影” 评分后基准测试的。新的“广角”和“夜间摄影”以及更新后的照片分数和DXOMARK Camera的总分将很快展示出来。
98
camera

今年5月OnePlus 6发布后,OnePlus 6T紧随其后,也接着在11月份发布了。这一新机型在摄像头硬件方面似乎没有任何变化:OnePlus 6T的双摄像头配置与其之前的机型相同,搭载一个1600万像素主摄像头和一个2000万像素副摄像头,用于执行数字变焦、散景效果和其他计算成像功能。

主摄像头有一个1/2.55英寸图像传感器和一个f/1.7光学影像防抖镜头;副摄像头采用稍小的1/2.8英寸图像传感器和一个不带防抖的f/1.7镜头;一如之前的OnePlus 6,两款摄像头也都配有焦距相同的25毫米镜头。

其他摄像头功能则包括相位检测自动对焦和双色LED闪光灯。在视频模式下,OnePlus 6T的后置摄像头可以每秒60帧的速度录制4K视频影片,并在超慢动作下以240fps或480fps的速度分别拍摄1080p和720p视频。(但根据我们的评测基准,我们仅在摄像头的默认设置1080p/30fps下测试视频。)

用户可以在OnePlus 6T的6.41英寸AMOLED显示屏上取景和查看图像,其宽高比为19.5:9,分辨率则为2340 x 1080。该手机采用高通的顶级骁龙845芯片组,主存高达8GB。

虽然6T的硬件没有任何变化,但我们的测试结果表明,与该机型的前身OnePlus 6相比,其内部的固件修正在很大程度上提高了摄像头的性能。请继续阅读以了解更多详情。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 双摄像头配置
  • 1600万像素主摄像头,1/2.6英寸图像传感器,f/1.7光圈镜头和光学影像防抖
  • 2000万像素副摄像头,f/1.7镜头
  • 相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 双色LED闪光灯
  • 4K 30/60 fps视频
  • 6.41英寸(16.28厘米)AMOLED无边框显示屏

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见此处

测试摘要

OnePlus 6T图像在所有条件下都显示出良好的测标曝光和悦目的色彩。

OnePlus 6T的总分为98分,与推出于2017年秋,目前在我们的DxOMark Mobile排行榜中排名第10名的谷歌Pixel2平分秋色。与其前身OnePlus 6相比,6T固件的修改进一步提高了其在照片测试中的分数,特别是在动态范围、细节保留和散景效果方面的表现都更好了,因此在照片类别中拿下了101分的总分,表现坚实……比OnePlus 6提高一分。

我们的测试人员欣赏6T宽广的动态范围、悦目的色彩,以及在几乎所有测试条件下都能保留良好的细节;自动对焦总是快速可靠;使用闪光灯可以拍摄出漂亮的肤色,散景模式也能够产生不错的效果。其不足之处在于,变焦照片的细节比一些竞争机型少了些,在许多HDR照片中也出现了一些伪像,例如振铃效应、重影或晕轮等等。

动态范围在大多数情况下的表现都很好。

在视频方面,6T也在几乎所有测试项目中拿下了更好的分数,特别是在曝光、色彩、自动对焦和防抖项目的表现都更好,因此拿下了91分的视频总分,而之前的OnePlus 6则为87分。事实上,在照片和视频下,OnePlus 6T仅有一个项目没有改进,其表现反而还比OnePlus 6更糟——这就是噪点,但这似乎是OnePlus决定为改进细节而必须暂时付出的代价。

总体而言,6T的视频影片显示出悦目鲜艳的色彩、良好的曝光和宽广的动态范围;具有高效的视频防抖和快速准确的自动对焦。然而,我们也在视频中观察到一些伪像和明显的抖动效应。

照片评分说明

我们在不同的照明条件下测试OnePlus 6T的静态摄影在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试项目进行评分并计算总成绩,最后该手机获得了101分的成绩。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的图像质量的评分。

曝光与对比度

OnePlus 6T

93

OnePlus 6T的图像在高光和室内条件下均具有非常好的测标曝光和动态范围。正如您在下面的比较照片中所看到的,6T可以很好地捕捉图像的暗部和亮部细节,高光背景中的细节勾勒也特别好。

OnePlus 6T,高对比场景
苹果iPhone XS,高对比场景
三星Galaxy Note 9,高对比场景

OnePlus 6T将逆光场景处理得相当不错,不但捕捉了背景细节,同时拍摄对象的脸部也得到了充分的曝光。它捕获的背景细节水平与iPhone XS相似,但优于Galaxy Note 9。

OnePlus 6T,逆光室内场景
苹果iPhone XS,逆光室内场景
三星Galaxy Note 9,逆光室内场景

在下面的极低光(1勒克斯)场景中,OnePlus 6T产生了完全可用的图像,比iPhone XS或Galaxy Note 9明显更亮。

OnePlus 6T,低光(1勒克斯)
苹果iPhone XS,低光(1勒克斯)
三星Galaxy Note 9,低光(1勒克斯)

色彩

OnePlus 6T

83

OnePlus 6T的色彩表现也不错,具有良好的饱和度和鲜艳的色彩,特别是在高光下更是如此。在白平衡方面,图像倾向于显示轻微的紫色色偏,这在户外照片中可能会更加明显(包括我们下面的样张),但并不令人反感。

OnePlus 6T,演色性
苹果iPhone XS,演色性
三星Galaxy Note 9,演色性

自动对焦

OnePlus 6T

100

100分是智能手机摄像头在自动对焦项目中可以拿到的最高分数,OnePlus 6T卓越的PDAF系统使其晋身“100俱乐部”之列。自动对焦在所有光线条件下都非常快速准确,始终获得正确的焦点。在下图中,您可以看到,在低光(20勒克斯)下对摄像头进行散焦后,OnePlus 6T在短暂的500毫米延迟和长时间的2000毫秒延迟之后都能找到焦点,然后触发快门。

OnePlus 6T的自动对焦在低光下的表现(20勒克斯)

纹理

OnePlus 6T

73

和噪点

OnePlus 6T

64

纹理和噪点是彼此之间相辅相成的图像质量属性,因此手机制造商总是不断在这两种属性之间寻求良好的平衡。就OnePlus 6T而言,它在纹理方面的改进比OnePlus 6多了几分(各为73分和69分),但这一改进却被噪点分数降低所抵消(各为64分和68分)。

正如您在下面的示例中所看到的,OnePlus 6T能够在户外的高光条件下记录良好的细节,但在仔细观察后,强烈的锐化处理变得昭然可见。

OnePlus 6T,锐化处理稍嫌过度
OnePlus 6T,锐化处理稍嫌过度,裁剪图

比较我们的摄影棚照片,也获得了相似的结果。OnePlus图像显示出良好的细节,在1000勒克斯高光下使用了强烈的锐化处理。如您所料,在20勒克斯的低光下,OnePlus的细节损失了一些清晰度,但其纹理保留仍然很到位,与竞争机型相比毫不逊色。

OnePlus 6T,1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS,1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
三星Galaxy Note 9,1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
OnePlus 6T,20勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS,20勒克斯下的裁剪图
三星Galaxy Note 9,20勒克斯下的裁剪图

6T的不足之处在于,我们的5勒克斯摄影棚样张的噪点水平高于iPhone XS,尤其是Galaxy Note 9的肤色显然比其更清晰。

OnePlus 6T,5勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS,5勒克斯下的裁剪图
三星Galaxy Note 9,5勒克斯下的裁剪图

在天空的素色区域也可以看到相当粗大的噪点,特别是在照片100%放大下更是显而易见,如下面的样张所示。

OnePlus 6T,天空中的噪点
OnePlus 6T,天空中的噪点,裁剪图

闪光灯

OnePlus 6T

89

在完全黑暗中和5勒克斯低光下启用闪光灯拍摄时,OnePlus 6T照片的表现都相当坚实。它的得分几乎与Galaxy Note 9(90分)不相上下,并远远领先于iPhone XS(74分)。虽然放大OnePlus 6T的闪光灯照片后,可在脸部观察到一些晕影和色彩量化,但OnePlus 6T的曝光很好,也没有恼人的红眼效果。从左到右,一些绿色到紫色的色彩渐晕依稀可见,但并没有特别恼人。

OnePlus 6T,仅使用闪光灯拍摄
OnePlus 6T,在5勒克斯光线下使用闪光灯拍摄

伪像

OnePlus 6T

71

伪像使OnePlus 6T被扣了几分——特别是照片中出现了振铃效应、耀斑、色彩偏移,在景深范围内也丢失了清晰度。下面的示例图像显示,上方两个铁轨之间出现了明显的色彩偏移(在裁剪图的左上角非常明显);在两个高对比区域(例如铁轨和天空)之间的边界上也都出现了明显的振铃效应。

OnePlus 6T,振铃效应和色彩渐晕
OnePlus 6T,振铃效应和色彩渐晕,裁剪图

OnePlus 6T还在视场范围内失去了锐度,也就是说,距离中心越远,细节的清晰度损失就越多,如下面裁剪图的左上角所示。

OnePlus 6T,景深范围内的锐度损失
OnePlus 6T,视场范围内的锐度损失,裁剪图

当光源在画面中时(如下面的样张所示),耀斑也对视觉形成了极大的干扰。平心而论,耀斑并未在所有类似条件下出现,但是每次出现时都非常明显。

OnePlus 6T,耀斑
OnePlus 6T,耀斑

变焦

OnePlus 6T

34

在变焦方面,不出所料的是,6T没有远摄镜头作为辅助摄像头是其变焦性能的一大障碍,特别是与具有光学变焦的双摄像头系统相比时,这种劣势越加明显。

一如其他依赖数字变焦的智能手机摄像头,在高于2倍放大倍率下,几乎没有任何方法可以获得优质的图像质量。但是,在智能手机或平板电脑屏幕上观看变焦照片时,您可能不会注意到这些在大型高分辨率屏幕上以100%尺度观看图像时可观察到的细节损失(如下面的裁剪图所示)。比如说,由于6T拍摄的长颈鹿的细节比较不丰富,因此其整个图像和裁剪图的清晰度显然比不上Note 9的图像。

OnePlus 6T,2倍变焦
三星Galaxy Note 9,2倍变焦
OnePlus 6T,2倍变焦,裁剪图
三星Galaxy Note 9,2倍变焦,裁剪图

散景

OnePlus 6T

50

OnePlus 6T的双摄像头配置可以模拟散景效果。然而,如下面的样张所示(左),虽然它可以很好地对焦于拍摄对象并将漂亮的模糊应用于背景,但它并不像Galaxy Note 9那样模糊前景中的盆栽植物(右下方)。此外,两个摄像头都很费劲地处理了拍摄对象的头发(特别是左侧),但OnePlus 6T的处理显然更加力不从心。

OnePlus 6T,散景照片
三星Galaxy Note 9,散景照片

深度估计错误在棘手的场景中可能会更加明显,如下图所示。事实上,几乎所有具有散景功能的智能手机都难以在如此复杂的情况下准确地呈现这些细节,但坦率地说,OnePlus 6T的表现其实比一些总体得分较高的竞争机型更好。

OnePlus 6T,散景照片

OnePlus 6T,散景照片,裁剪图

视频评分说明

在视频方面,OnePlus 6T拿下了91分,其表现比OnePlus 6(87分)更好。与照片分数一样,其视频总体分数来自下列测试项目:曝光和对比度(86)、色彩(89)、自动对焦(92)、纹理(52)、噪点(68)、伪像(73)、防抖(88)。

在其视频模式的默认设置(1080p,30 fps)下,它在高光下获得了非常不错的拍摄结果:动态范围宽广、色彩鲜艳、白平衡准确,细节也很丰富。此外,它的自动对焦快速准确,影像防抖系统可以非常有效地抵消手的抖动和其他高频运动的影响。

各种照明条件下的OnePlus 6T纹理和边缘细节

然而,OnePlus 6T在纹理保留和噪点方面苦苦挣扎,特别是在室内条件和低光条件下更是如此,对伪像(主要是噪点边缘)的处理也显得力不从心。此外,我们的工程师在回放过程中还观察到一些恼人的效果:在录制视频时如果改变方向,会使视频产生唐突的运动和抖动效应,并且看起来似乎不是摄像头在移动,而是纹理区域(例如植被)在移动。

结论

OnePlus 6T拥有一款非常值得称许的智能手机摄像头,在大多数测试类别中的表现都与我们数据库中排名最高的手机旗鼓相当——在一些领域中甚至超过了它们的表现。除了静态摄影杰出的自动对焦性能外,OnePlus 6T还具有出色的曝光和色彩,以及非常好的闪光灯性能。

它最大的缺点是缺乏光学变焦,而低光噪点和一些伪像问题也是其不足之处。然而,与OnePlus 6相比,除噪点控制外,6T在各个方面都已有改进;简而言之,OnePlus 6T是一款不会让您花大价钱的高端智能手机。

98
camera
101
photo
91
video

优点

  • 非常好的自动对焦
  • 非常好的动态范围,特别是在户外条件下更是如此
  • 良好且可重复的测标曝光
  • 所有条件下的细节保留都很到位
  • 散景模式下的深度估计不错

优点

  • 悦目鲜艳的色彩
  • 在室内和户外照明条件下,测标曝光良好,动态范围佳。
  • 快速正确的自动对焦
  • 有效的防抖

不足

  • 白平衡在所有测试条件下都会偏紫
  • 高动态场景中的振铃效应、重影、晕轮和色彩不一致
  • 在低光和天空中有时会出现粗大的噪点
  • 变焦照片的细节不丰富
  • 在散景模式下,移动物体上出现了模糊伪像

不足

  • 视频移动突然改变方向
  • 纹理区域的移动有时与其他区域不同步
  • 摇拍时产生抖动效果

OnePlus 6T camera review: Good performer

DxOMark
Mobile
98

The OnePlus 6T, released in November, follows hot on the heels of the OnePlus 6 released just this past May. In terms of camera hardware, there appear to be no changes to the new model: the OnePlus 6T comes with the same dual-camera setup as its older sibling — one that combines a 16Mp main camera with a 20Mp secondary module that is used for digital zooming, a simulated bokeh effect, and other computational imaging tasks.

The primary camera features a 1/2.55″ sensor and an f/1.7-aperture lens with optical image stabilization; the secondary camera uses a slightly smaller 1/2.8″ sensor and a non-stabilized f/1.7 lens; and as before with the OnePlus 6, both cameras come with lenses that have the same equivalent focal length of 25mm.

Other camera features include phase-detection autofocus and a twin LED flash. In video mode, the OnePlus 6T rear camera can record 4K video footage at 60 frames per second, with Super Slow Motion available at 1080p and 240fps, or 720p and 480fps. (As per our protocol, however, we test video only at the camera’s default setting of 1080p/30 fps.)

Users can compose and view images on the OnePlus 6T’s 6.41-inch AMOLED display with a wide 19.5:9 aspect ratio and 2340 x 1080 resolution. The device is powered by Qualcomm’s top-end Snapdragon 845 chipset and up to 8GB of RAM.

While there may not be any changes to the hardware, our tests show that firmware changes inside the 6T have for the most part resulted in improved performance over its predecessor, the OnePlus 6. Read on for more details.

Key camera specifications:

  • Dual-camera setup
  • 16Mp main camera with 1/2.6″ sensor, f/1.7-aperture lens, and optical image stabilization
  • 20 Mp secondary camera with f/1.7-aperture lens
  • Phase-detection autofocus (PDAF)
  • Twin LED flash
  • 4K video at 30/60 fps
  • 6.41-inch (16.28 cm) AMOLED edge-to-edge display

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

OnePlus 6T images show good target exposure and pleasant color in all conditions.

The OnePlus 6T’s overall score of 98 points ties it up with the Google Pixel 2, which came out in fall 2017 and currently holds 10th place in our DxOMark Mobile rankings. The changes to the 6T’s firmware result in some mostly incremental improvements in its Photo sub-scores over its predecessor, the OnePlus 6, notably in terms of better dynamic range, detail preservation, and bokeh effect. All these improvements added up to a solid 101 points for Photo… just one point above the OnePlus 6.

Our testers liked the 6T’s wide dynamic range, pleasant colors, and good detail preservation in almost all tested conditions. The autofocus was always reliable and quick as well. When shooting with flash, skin tones are rendered nicely and the bokeh mode is capable of producing decent results. On the downside, zoom shots show less detail than with some competitors’ phones, and many HDR-shots show artifacts, such as ringing, ghosting, or halos.

Dynamic range is good in most conditions.

The 6T’s Video sub-scores also show similar improvements almost across the board, particularly for exposure, color, autofocus, and stabilization, racking up 91 points to the OnePlus 6’s 87 points. In fact, the only area for both Photo and Video in which the OnePlus 6T did not improve over the OnePlus 6 — and in fact, shows a regression that affected its overall scores — is for Noise, which seems to have been the price OnePlus decided to pay in the short term for improved detail capture.

Overall, 6T video footage shows pleasant and vivid colors, good exposure, and a wide dynamic range. Video stabilization works efficiently and the autofocus is fast and accurate. We did observe some artifacts and a noticeable judder effect in video, however.

Photo scores explained

The OnePlus 6T’s Photo score of 101 is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (93)

The OnePlus 6T’s images show very good target exposure and wide dynamic range in bright light and indoor conditions alike. As you can see in the comparison photos below, the 6T does good job of capturing detail in both the dark and light parts of the image, with particularly good detail displayed in the bright background.

OnePlus 6T, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone XS, high-contrast scene
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, high-contrast scene

The OnePlus 6T handles backlit scenes quite well, capturing background details while adequately lighting the subject’s face. Its capture of background details is on a level similar to the iPhone XS, but superior to that of the Galaxy Note 9.

OnePlus 6T, backlit indoor scene
Apple iPhone XS, backlit indoor scene
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, backlit indoor scene

In the extreme low-light (1 lux) scene below, the OnePlus 6T produces a perfectly usable image that is noticeably brighter than either the iPhone XS or the Galaxy Note 9.

OnePlus 6T, low light (1 lux)
Apple iPhone XS, low light (1 lux)
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, low light (1 lux)

Color (83)

Color is another area in which the OnePlus 6T performs well, with good saturation and vibrant colors, particularly in bright light. In terms of white balance, images tend to show a slight violet cast that can be a bit more noticeable in outdoor shots (including in our sample shot below), but it isn’t unpleasant.

OnePlus 6T, color rendering
Apple iPhone XS, color rendering
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, color rendering

Autofocus (100)

A score of 100 is the highest that any smartphone camera can achieve for autofocus, and the OnePlus 6T’s superb PDAF system puts it in the “100 Club.” Autofocus is very fast and accurate in all light conditions and consistently achieves good focus. In the graph below, you can see that after defocusing the camera, the OnePlus 6T consistently found focus both after a short 500ms delay and a long 2000ms delay before triggering the shutter in low light (20 lux).

OnePlus 6T autofocus performance in low light (20 lux)

Texture (73) and Noise (64)

Texture and Noise are strongly interdependent, and manufacturers are constantly seeking a good balance between these two image quality attributes. In the case of the OnePlus 6T, it shows a few points’ improvement in Texture over the OnePlus 6 (73 vs. 69), but this increase is offset by a reduction in its score for Noise (64 vs. 68).

As you can see in the sample below, the OnePlus 6T is capable of recording good detail in bright outdoor conditions, but on closer inspection, very strong sharpening becomes noticeable.

OnePlus 6T, slight over-sharpening
OnePlus 6T, slight over-sharpening, crop

Results are similar for our studio comparison shots. The OnePlus image shows good detail, with crisp sharpening at a bright 1000 lux. In low light at 20 lux, details becomes a little softer, as you would expect, but textures are still rendered nicely, and the OnePlus compares well against its competitors.

OnePlus 6T, crop at 1000 lux
Apple iPhone XS, crop at 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, crop at 1000 lux
OnePlus 6T, crop at 20 lux
Apple iPhone XS, crop at 20 lux
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, crop at 20 lux

On the downside, at 5 lux, noise levels in our 6T studio samples are higher than on iPhone XS and especially on the Galaxy Note 9, which captures visibly cleaner skin tones.

OnePlus 6T, crop at 5 lux
Apple iPhone XS, crop at 5 lux
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, crop at 5 lux

Fairly coarse noise can also be seen in uniform areas of the sky, particularly at 100%, as in the crop of the sample photo below.

OnePlus 6T. noise in the sky
OnePlus 6T, noise in the sky, crop

Flash (89)

The OnePlus 6T puts in a solid performance for Flash both when shooting in complete darkness and at a low light level of 5 lux. Its score is nearly on par with that of the Galaxy Note 9 (90 points), and far ahead of the iPhone XS (74). While there’s some vignetting and color quantization on the face when viewed at close range, the OnePlus 6T’s flash provides good exposure and avoids the annoying red-eye effect. There’s a bit of left-to-right color shading that goes from greenish to purple, but this is only faintly visible and not particularly troubling.

OnePlus 6T, flash only
OnePlus 6T, flash at 5 lux

Artifacts (71)

The OnePlus 6T lost a few points due to artifacts — specifically, ringing, flare, color shift, and loss of acutance in the field. The sample image below shows a highly visible color shift in between the two upper rails (easily seen in the upper left corner of the crop), and ringing is noticeable pretty much wherever there is a boundary between two high-contrast areas, such as the rails and the sky.

OnePlus 6T, ringing and color shift
OnePlus 6T, ringing and color shift, crop

The OnePlus 6T also shows a loss of acutance in the field — that is, the farther away from the center you look, the softer the details appear, as shown in the upper left of the crop below.

OnePlus 6T, loss of acutance in the field
OnePlus 6T, loss of acutance in the field, crop

Flare can also prove a big visual distraction when a light source is in the frame, such as in the example images below. In fairness, not all shots under similar conditions show flare, but when it occurs, it is very noticeable.

OnePlus 6T, flare
OnePlus 6T, flare

Zoom (34)

When it comes to zooming, unsurprisingly, the lack of a tele-lens as its secondary camera is a bit of a handicap for the 6T, especially when up against competitors whose dual-cam systems make optical zooming possible.

As with other smartphone cameras that rely on digital zoom, there’s rarely any way to get good quality above about 2x magnification at best. However, if you’re going to view a zoom shot on a smartphone screen or tablet, you probably won’t notice the lack of detail the way you would when viewing the image at 100% on on a large, high-res screen (such as shown in the crops below). This said, the lack of detail in the 6T’s shot of the giraffe makes both the full image as well as in the crop noticeably softer than the Note 9’s image.

OnePlus 6T, 2x zoom
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, 2x zoom
OnePlus 6T, 2x zoom, crop
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, 2x zoom, crop

Bokeh (50)

The OnePlus 6T’s dual-camera setup allows it to simulate a bokeh effect. However, as you can see in our example shot below (left), while it does a good job of focusing on the subject and applying a pleasing blur to the background, it does not blur the potted plant in the foreground as does the Galaxy Note 9 (below right). Both cameras have a hard time dealing with the subject’s hair (left side in particular), but the OnePlus 6T’s has noticeably more difficulty doing so.

OnePlus 6T, bokeh shot
Samsung Galaxy Note 9, bokeh shot

Depth estimation errors can be a little more obvious in trickier scenes, as shown below. That said, nearly all smartphones with a bokeh feature have a hard time accurately rendering these kinds of details under such visually complex circumstances, and the OnePlus 6T frankly does a better job with this than some of its rivals with higher overall scores.

OnePlus 6T, bokeh shot

OnePlus 6T, bokeh shot, crop

Video scores explained

The OnePlus 6T’s Video score of 91 represents an improvement over the OnePlus 6 (87 points). The overall Video score is derived from a number of sub-scores in the same way as the Photo score: Exposure and Contrast (86), Color (89), Autofocus (92), Texture (52), Noise (68), Artifacts (73), and Stabilization (88).

At its default settings (1080p, 30 fps), video mode produces very good results in bright light, with wide dynamic range, vivid colors, accurate white balance, and high levels of detail. In addition, the autofocus is fast and accurate, and the image stabilization system works very efficiently to counteract hand shake and other high-frequency motion.

OnePlus 6T texture and edge detail across lighting conditions

However, the OnePlus 6T struggles with texture preservation and noise, particularly in indoor conditions and low light, and also with artifacts — this last consisting mostly of noisy edges. Moreover, our engineers observed a somewhat disconcerting effect during playback: when you change direction when shooting, the resulting motion is abrupt and jerky, and textured areas (such as vegetation) appear to be in motion, rather than the camera.

Conclusion

The OnePlus 6T has a very respectable smartphone camera, performing as well in most categories as some of the highest-ranked phones in our database — and even surpassing their performance in a few areas. In addition to outstanding autofocus for stills, the OnePlus 6T has excellent exposure and color, and very good flash performance.

Its biggest drawbacks are its lack of optical zoom, problems with noise in low light, and some artifacts. With the exception of noise control, however, the 6T represents an improvement over its older sibling, the OnePlus 6; in short, the OnePlus 6T is a good choice as a top-end smartphone that will not cost you a fortune.

98
DxOMark mobile
OnePlus 6T
101
photo
OnePlus 6T
91
video
OnePlus 6T

Pros

  • Very good autofocus
  • Very good dynamic range, particularly in outdoor conditions
  • Good and repeatable target exposure
  • Good detail across all conditions
  • Good depth estimation in bokeh mode

Pros

  • Pleasant and vivid colors
  • Good target exposure and dynamic range in indoor and outdoor conditions
  • Fast and accurate autofocus
  • Efficient stabilization

Cons

  • Violet white balance casts in all tested conditions
  • Ringing, ghosting, halos and color inconsistency in high dynamic scenes
  • Coarse noise sometimes visible in low-light and in the sky
  • Low level of detail in zoom shots
  • Blur artifacts on moving objects in bokeh mode

Cons

  • Abrupt direction changes in video movements
  • Textured areas sometimes move independently from others
  • Judder effect when panning

In the Press