OnePlus7T Pro摄像头评测

114
camera

OnePlus 7T Pro 是中国手机制造商 OnePlus 最新推出的旗舰型机种,相较于2019年初发布的7 Pro,7T Pro只略有改进,但不可否认的,它的确是一款高端手机。OnePlus 7T Pro 配置6.67英寸AMOLED 90 Hz流体屏,搭载功能强大的高通(Qualcomm) 855+ 芯片组,还具有8或12GB的主存及256GB的内存(但没有卡槽),装载的是Android 10系统。

与7 Pro同样都设置了三组摄像头。主摄像头为等效焦距26mm、光圈f/1.6的镜头,具有4800万像素、1/2.0英寸传感器,可将四个像素信号合而为一,最终输出1200万像素的图像 。另一组摄像头为等效焦距78mm、光圈f / 2. 4的远摄镜头,搭配着较小的800万像素传感器,可提供三倍的光学变焦。还有一组超广角摄像头,等效焦距为13mm、光圈f/2.2,可拍摄1600万像素的照片。等效焦距25mm、光圈f/2.0的自拍摄像头,采用自手机弹出的设计,因此手机上没有凹口且边框很小。

主摄像头和远摄像头都有光学防抖(OIS)以及具激光聚焦的相位检测自动对焦(PDAF)功能。装置了双LED闪光灯,还有可用于夜间场景的低光拍摄模式。能录制最多4K(2160p 30或60 fps)的高动态范围视频,在30 fps模式下,还具有电子影像防抖效果。

请继续阅读,以了解OnePlus旗舰机的图像性能如何与竞争对手一较高下。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:4800万像素、1 / 2.0英寸传感器,等效焦距26mm、f / 1.6光圈镜头
  • 超广角镜头:1600万像素传感器,等效焦距13mm(实测为17.4 mm)、f / 2.2光圈镜头
  • 远摄镜头:800万像素传感器,等效焦距78mm、f / 2.4光圈镜头
  • 相位检测自动对焦(PDAF)与激光聚焦功能、光学防抖功能(主摄像头和远摄镜头)
  • LED闪光灯、高动态范围
  • 4K 30/60fps高动态范围视频,30fps模式下具电子影像防抖效果

关于 DXOMARK Camera评测:我们的智能手机摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DXOMARK的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1600组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处;关于我们如何评分智能手机前置摄像头的更多细节,请追踪此连结

测试摘要

114
camera
122
photo
96
video

OnePlus 7T Pro拿下DXOMARK Camera总体得分114分,与前一款机种7 Pro的表现不相上下,分数仅次于我们评比中前十名的得分。名次紧随在三星Galaxy S10 5G(116)之后且比苹果iPhone 11(109)优异的OnePlus 7T Pro,令人印象深刻,不过,还是追不上苹果11 Pro Max(117)。

7T Pro在照片项目得到122分,也与7 Pro相同,只不过在细项项目的得分略有不同。 例如,7T Pro的噪点分数比7 Pro少了几分,但在夜间模式和广角的分数有小幅的领先。

7T Pro的视频得分比7 Pro少2分,主要是因为在噪点、纹理、色彩和防抖项目上的分数略有下降。7T Pro很明显会出现一些与防抖算法有关的帧偏移,而7 Pro则没有这样的状况。另一方面,7T Pro的曝光度、自动对焦和伪像的得分略高于7 Pro。

OnePlus 7T Pro呈现出生动且令人赏心悦目的色彩。

针对具有挑战性的明亮场景,OnePlus似乎将7T Pro做了改善,在大多数测试条件下,7T Pro的动态范围都非常出色。在下面的图例中,相较于得到高分的小米 CC9 Pro尊享版,7T Pro在图像黑暗和明亮区域间的平衡上做得更好(尽管对比度增加了)。

OnePlus 7T Pro,高对比度场景:动态范围良好,高光剪贴少
OnePlus 7 Pro,高对比度场景:明亮区域出现溢光,阴暗处不自然
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,高对比度场景:动态范围良好

我们的逆光人像测试场景再次显示出OnePlus在针对高对比度主体的处理上有所改变。与7 Pro相比,7T Pro采取更强大的性能来保留高光,减少了场景中明亮区域的过曝状况,不过,阴暗处也变得更暗了。尽管在毛衣的部份明显丢失了阴影细节,但脸部的曝光很不错(虽然我们确实发现在连拍时,脸部的曝光度会有所差异),然而,强烈的高动态范围处理功能会造成主体的头部周围出现光晕。小米CC9 Pro尊享版采用与7 Pro类似的曝光策略。

OnePlus 7T Pro,逆光人像:脸部曝光佳且高光保留良好,但高动态范围效果有些不自然
OnePlus 7 Pro,逆光人像:高光过曝,脸部曝光更暗,但阴暗处细节较多
小米Mi CC9 Pro尊享版,逆光人像:高光过曝

虽然7T Pro的色彩呈现通常饱和度佳且令人满意,但无论室内或户外图像的白平衡,都比一般来得暖些。偶尔会造成黄色色偏,能不能接受,就取决于个人的喜好。色彩渐晕控制的不错。

OnePlus 7T Pro,户外色彩:饱和度佳,稍偏暖色
OnePlus 7 Pro,户外色彩:饱和度佳,中性
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,户外色彩:色彩自然

总体而言,在大多数测试条件下,7T Pro都能完好的保留住细节。明亮的户外光线下,7T Pro的细节呈现比7 Pro来得进步些。尽管偶尔会有程序处理上的问题,使得噪点会不均匀的出现在天空的区域,不过,通常噪点都控制的很好。

OnePlus 7T Pro,户外细节和纹理
OnePlus 7T Pro,细节和纹理良好
OnePlus 7 Pro,户外细节和纹理
OnePlus 7 Pro,细节略微损失
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,户外细节和纹理
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,细节出色

低光下, 较旧的7 Pro比7T Pro更能有效地保留住细节,7T输出的图像还可看得到细微的噪点。

OnePlus 7T Pro,5勒克斯图表
OnePlus 7T Pro,裁剪图,低光下细节保持良好
OnePlus 7 Pro,5勒克斯图表
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图,细节非常好且噪点少
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,5勒克斯图表
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,细节完美且噪点少

所有的测试照明条件下,自动对焦功能的表现都非常出色。除了在室内远摄测试中,会出现一些失焦的情况外,7T Pro的相位检测自动对焦功能极为精确,在实验室里的表现都很快速准确。最低照度20勒克斯的条件下,负快门延迟加上手机的连拍缓冲,能将触发快门前瞬间拍摄到图像保存下来(做法和快速的7 Pro 不同)。

有部分图像质量的评估是根据摄像计算的问题和相机模块光学设计的限制所引起的伪像进行量化。在伪像项目上得到84分的7T Pro,表现可圈可点,与我们评比数据中一些高分的手机旗鼓相当(7 Pro获取相同的得分)。当合并多帧时,仍会出现一些重影。融合伪像是个问题,对比度高的图像边缘会显现振铃效应。

OnePlus 7T Pro,重影伪像
OnePlus 7T Pro,裁剪图

根据官方规格,7T配备了等效焦距13mm的超广角摄像头,但我们的测试团队测得的实际值为17.4mm(可能是由于畸变校正所致),这意味着其视野比某些竞争机种要窄一些。尽管如此,OnePlus在广角项目还是获得了相当不错的31分。目标曝光准确,虽然有前面提到略显偏黄的现象,不过,色彩呈现依然良好。超广角模块的状况通常一样,质量会影响到图像边缘的呈现:锐度降低且噪点增加,有时还会出现彩色边纹。

OnePlus 7T Pro,超广角:曝光准确、色彩悦目但偏暖
OnePlus 7 Pro,超广角:曝光良好,色彩偏冷
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,超广角:曝光良好、色彩美丽

7T Pro在变焦模式下的表现亮眼,优于前款机种,在变焦项目拿下72分,不过仍比不上此项目中最佳的机种。在中距离(2倍)变焦时,7T Pro呈现出完好的细节,但是在较长距离的变焦时,细节的损失相当明显,尤其是与小米CC9 Pro尊享版这类遥遥领先的机种相比。

OnePlus 7T Pro,2倍变焦
OnePlus 7T Pro,裁剪图,细节良好
OnePlus 7 Pro,2倍变焦
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图,细节丢失
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,2倍变焦
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,细节完美

7T Pro在人像的背景模糊方面,整体来说表现不错。深度估计佳,散景效果呈现良好,模糊渐变的层次和背景的点光效果(虽然这些圆形亮光有时会出现在不该有的位置)都很优秀。绿色色调偶尔会过度饱和,导致植物看起来不自然,同时色彩偏暖的现象依旧存在。尽管有饱和方面的问题,不过,7T Pro在散景项目的得分仍与7 Pro和小米CC9 Pro尊享版相同。

OnePlus 7T Pro,散景模拟
OnePlus 7T Pro,裁剪图,主体隔离佳,模糊效果好,但有些过度饱和
OnePlus 7 Pro,散景模拟
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图,与7T Pro相似,不过色彩更偏冷,脸部噪点少
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,散景模拟
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,主体隔离和模糊效果都很好

OnePlus 7T Pro可以拍摄出曝光良好、细节出色且只有少许高光剪贴的夜间照片。色彩呈现偏红色,不过这也是该场景中照明的一部分。

OnePlus 7T Pro,自动闪光灯:曝光和细节良好
OnePlus 7 Pro,自动闪光灯:曝光佳,细节稍微损失
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,自动闪光灯:曝光和细节良好

OnePlus 7T Pro在夜间闪光灯人像的项目上获取了迄今为止最高的分数,尽管在图像边缘出现些许噪点和色彩偏移,但仍能呈现出良好的细节保留和准确的白平衡。然而,当闪光灯关闭后,性能会大大降低,细节严重损失,而且出现太多的动态模糊和重影的状况。不过,自动闪光灯下所拍摄的人像也不错。

OnePlus 7T Pro,自动闪光灯人像:细节和白平衡佳,背景曝光不足
OnePlus 7 Pro,自动闪光灯人像:白平衡偏冷,背景曝光不足
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,闪光灯自动人像:背景曝光较好

OnePlus 7T Pro得到DXOMARK的视频分数为96分,比前款机种低了2分。虽然所录制的视频也看得出色调偏暖,有时还有轻微的黄绿色色偏,不过,曝光准确且色彩通常让人满意。在测试中出现一些色彩渐晕的现象,但在实际运用时则看不出来。当照明条件有所变化时,渐变的情况往往很顺畅,但并不会很快速。和静态模式一样,自动对焦迅速且准确。

视频纹理比较

在明亮的条件下,噪点控制得宜,即使在光线不足的情况下,噪点仍然非常少。不过,运动中主体会出现的低光噪点,以及混迭和重影都是问题。纹理的呈现比7 Pro稍差。视频模式下的图像防抖效果也比不上7 Pro,而且影片中的帧偏移会造成分散注意力的晃动。

视频噪点比较
OnePlus7T Pro,户外视频
OnePlus7 Pro,户外视频
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,户外视频

结论

针对OnePlus 7 Pro大大升级的7T Pro,是一款功能强大的智能手机,其图像方面的得分在我们的评比中排名很高,呈现的结果也没有让人失望。总体图像质量非常好,具有准确的曝光度、赏心悦目的色彩和出色的细节。

虽然7T Pro配置了前款机种大多数的硬件设计,不过,OnePlus似乎调整了一些算法,在输出图像时有些许的差异。最值得注意的是,7T Pro的高动态范围处理方式更为强大,尽管有时呈现出的效果不太自然,但整体改善了高光保留且输出的图像更为协调。静态图像和视频的成像处理流程偏向更暖的色彩呈现,如果发挥功能,结果会很不错,但如果不成功,则会显现出黄色色偏。视频表现稍微退步些,比7 Pro低了2分,但整体来说,还是相当不错的。

虽然没有理由因摄像头的图像质量就将7 Pro汰换成7T Pro,但已经准备要换购旧手机的买家,绝对可以考虑这款OnePlus的最新旗舰手机。

照片

优点

  • 目标曝光准确且动态范围宽广
  • 色彩通常生动且赏心悦目
  • 细节往往保存得很好
  • 中距离变焦时细节保存完好

不足

  • 大多数情况下会出现细微的噪点
  • 重影和晕轮伪像
  • 白平衡可能过于偏暖,造成偏黄色色调
  • 连拍下可能会导致脸部曝光有所差异

视频

优点

  • 曝光准确
  • 自动对焦快速精准
  • 色彩宜人
  • 细节保留完好

不足

  • 行走中视频明显可见帧偏移,且每个画面的清晰度不同
  • 运动中的主体出现粗大的噪点
  • 动态范围有些受限
  • 混迭显而易见

OnePlus 7T Pro camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
Please note: In October 2020, we updated the DXOMARK Camera to include preview image evaluation and what we call trustability .We have retested a large number of devices using the updated protocol and updated the reviews accordingly. This device was not updated and its score will not be fully comparable to devices tested with the latest version version 4 of the DXOMARK Camera test protocol. For more ​information, please see our article about preview testing, trustability and other version 4 updates.
114
camera

The OnePlus 7T Pro is the latest flagship phone from the Chinese company, and although it’s a relatively minor upgrade from the 7 Pro released earlier in 2019, it is undeniably a top-tier handset. It features a 6.67-inch fluid AMOLED 90 Hz display and a powerful Qualcomm 855+ chipset with 8 or 12GB of RAM, and 256GB of internal storage (but no card slot). It ships with Android 10.

The triple-module camera setup is familiar from the 7 Pro. The main camera is a 26mm-equivalent f/1.6 lens in front of a 48MP 1/2.0-inch sensor that bins pixels into groups of four for 12MP output. There is also a 78mm-equivalent f/2.4 tele lens paired with a smaller 8MP sensor, offering a 3X optical zoom over the main module. An ultra-wide 13mm-equivalent f/2.2 module that shoots at 16MP rounds out the trio. The 25mm-equivalent f/2.0 selfie camera pops out of the phone, so there’s no notch and minimal bezel.

The main and telephoto modules feature optical image stabilization (OIS) and phase detect AF, along with laser focus assist. There’s a dual-LED flash, along with a low-light shooting mode for night scenes. HDR video capture at up to 4K (2160p at 30 or 60 fps) is possible, with electronic image stabilization in 30 fps modes.

Read on to see how the OnePlus flagship’s imaging performance holds up against the competition.

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple camera
  • Primary: 48MP 1/2.0-inch sensor and 26mm-equivalent f/1.6-aperture lens
  • Ultra-wide: 16MP sensor and 13mm-equivalent (17.4mm measured) f/2.2-aperture lens
  • Tele: 8MP sensor and 78mm-equivalent f/2.4-aperture lens
  • PDAF autofocus & laser assist, OIS (main & telephoto)
  • LED flash, HDR
  • 4K 30/60fps video with HDR, EIS at 30fps

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

114
camera
122
photo
96
video

With an overall DXOMARK Camera score of 114, the OnePlus 7T Pro ties its recent predecessor, the 7 Pro, and lands just below the top ten scores in our database. It is an impressive performance, nipping at the heels of Samsung’s Galaxy S10 5G (116). It bests the Apple iPhone 11 (109) but doesn’t quite catch the iPhone 11 Pro Max (117).

The 7T Pro’s Photo score of 122 is also identical to the 7 Pro’s, though there are small variations in the sub-scores. For example, the 7T’s noise score is a few points short of the 7’s, but there are small increases in the Night and Wide scores.

The 7T Pro’s Video score drops two points from the 7 Pro’s results, primarily due to small decreases in the Noise, Texture, Color, and Stabilization scores. Some frameshifting linked to the 7T Pro’s stabilization algorithms was evident, which the 7 Pro did not demonstrate. On the other hand, the 7T Pro’s Exposure, Autofocus, and Artifacts scores are fractionally better than its predecessor’s.

The OnePlus 7T Pro delivers pleasant and vivid colors.

OnePlus appears to have improved the 7T Pro’s handling of scenes with challenging brightness ranges, with the 7T Pro’s dynamic range very good under most tested conditions. In the example below, the 7T Pro does a better job of balancing the dark and bright parts of the image (though contrast is increased), comparable to the high-scoring Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition.

OnePlus 7T Pro, high-contrast scene: good dynamic range, minor highlight clipping
OnePlus 7 Pro, high-contrast scene: clipping in bright areas, unnatural shadows
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, high-contrast scene: good dynamic range

Our backlit portrait test scene again shows the changes in OnePlus’s approach to high-contrast subjects. The 7T Pro takes a more aggressive approach to preserving highlights than the 7 Pro; the result is fewer blown-out bright areas in the scene, but also darker shadows. However, despite the apparent loss of shadow detail in the sweater, the face is nicely exposed (though we did find some shot-to-shot exposure variation with faces). The intense HDR processing does introduce some haloing around the subject’s head, though. The Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition uses an exposure strategy similar to the 7 Pro’s.

OnePlus 7T Pro, backlit portrait: good exposure on face and good highlight retention, but some unnatural HDR effects
OnePlus 7 Pro, backlit portrait: blown highlights, darker face exposure, but more shadow detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, backlit portrait: blown highlights

Although colors are generally saturated and pleasant, the 7T Pro tends towards a warmer white balance than is typical, both indoors and out. How you perceive this is largely a matter of taste, but it does occasionally lead to a yellow color cast. Color shading is well under control.

OnePlus 7T Pro, outdoor color: good saturation, slightly warm
OnePlus 7 Pro, outdoor color: good saturation, fairly neutral
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, outdoor color: natural color

Overall, the 7T Pro preserves detail well under most tested conditions. In bright outdoor lighting, the 7T Pro’s detail rendering is slightly improved over the 7 Pro. Noise is generally well controlled, although occasional processing glitches appear to introduce noise unevenly into areas of sky.

OnePlus 7T Pro, outdoor detail and texture
OnePlus 7T Pro, good detail and texture
OnePlus 7 Pro, outdoor detail and texture
OnePlus 7 Pro, slight loss of detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro, outdoor detail and texture
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, excellent detail

In low light, the older 7 Pro actually preserves detail more effectively than the 7T Pro, despite the fact that fine-grained noise remains visible in the 7T’s output.

OnePlus 7T Pro, 5 lux chart
OnePlus 7T Pro, crop, good detail retention in low light
OnePlus 7 Pro, 5 lux chart
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop, very good detail and low noise
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, 5 lux chart
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, excellent detail and low noise

Autofocus performance was excellent under all tested lighting conditions. The 7T Pro’s PDAF was extremely accurate, with the exception of some focus misses noted when testing the tele module indoors. Lab performance was uniformly fast and accurate. At the lowest tested light level of 20 lux, shutter lag was negative, with the phone’s continuous buffer saving an image that was actually captured an instant before the shutter was triggered (behavior different from the already snappy 7 Pro).

Part of assessing image quality is quantifying artifacts arising from computational photography glitches and the limits of the camera module’s optical design. The 7T Pro’s Artifact score of 84 is a strong performance, in line with some of the best-rated phones in our database (the 7 Pro achieved the same score). Still, it can exhibit some ghosting when it merges multiple frames. Fusion artifacts can be an issue, and images show ringing around high-contrast boundaries.

OnePlus 7T Pro, ghosting artifacts
OnePlus 7T Pro, crop

According to the official specs, the 7T comes with a 13mm-equivalent ultra-wide camera, but our test team measured an actual value of 17.4mm (probably due to distortion correction), which means the field of view is slightly narrower than on some competitors. Still, the OnePlus achieved a respectable score of 31 in the Wide category. Target exposure was accurate and colors were good, albeit with the slight tendency towards yellow mentioned earlier. As is generally the case with ultra-wide modules, quality takes a hit towards the edges of the frame: sharpness drops and noise increases, and color fringing is sometimes noticeable.

OnePlus 7T Pro, ultra-wide: accurate exposure and pleasant but warm colors
OnePlus 7 Pro, ultra-wide: good exposure, cooler colors
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, ultra-wide: good exposure, pleasant colors

The 7T Pro does well in zoom mode and edges past its predecessor by a point to achieve a score of 72 in our Zoom category, but it’s not quite on the same level as the best devices in this category. When zooming at medium range (2X), the 7T Pro delivers good detail, but at longer zoom ratios, a loss of detail is fairly noticeable, especially when compared to a class leader like the Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition.

OnePlus 7T Pro, 2x zoom
OnePlus 7T Pro, crop, good detail
OnePlus 7 Pro, 2X zoom
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop, loss of detail
Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, 2X zoom
Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, excellent detail

The 7T Pro does a good job overall with simulating background blur for portraits. Depth is well estimated, and the bokeh effect is well rendered, with a nice blur gradient and spotlights in the background (though the device sometimes inserts these circular highlights where they don’t belong). Green tones are sometimes oversaturated, leading to unnatural-looking vegetation, and the general trend towards warmer colors carries over here. Despite the saturation issue, the 7T Pro achieves the same Bokeh score of 70 as the 7 Pro and the Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition.

OnePlus 7T Pro, bokeh simluation
OnePlus 7T Pro, crop, good separation, nice blur effect, but some oversaturation
OnePlus 7 Pro, bokeh simulation
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop, similar to 7T Pro, but cooler colors, less noise in face
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro PE, bokeh simlulation
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, good separation and blur effect

The OnePlus 7T Pro produces well-exposed night shots with good detail and only minor highlight clipping. There’s a tendency towards red in the color rendering, but this is also part of the lighting of this scene.

OnePlus 7T Pro, flash-auto: good exposure and detail
OnePlus 7 Pro, flash-auto: good exposure, slight loss of detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, flash-auto: good exposure and detail

The OnePlus 7T Pro achieved our highest score yet for its flash-on night portrait, which showed good detail preservation and accurate white balance, despite a bit of noise and color shift at the edges of the image. However, performance fell off considerably when the flash was turned off, with a serious loss of detail and too much motion blur and ghosting. But auto-flash portrait performance was also good.

OnePlus 7T Pro, flash auto portrait: good detail and white  white balance, underexposed background
OnePlus 7 Pro, flash auto portrait: cool white balance, underexposed background
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, flash auto portrait: better background exposure

The OnePlus 7T Pro’s DXOMARK video score is 96, two points shy of its predecessor. Exposure is accurate and color is generally pleasant, though the tendency towards warmer tones is also visible in video capture, along with an occasional slight yellow-green cast. Some color shading is visible in chart tests, but not in real-world use. When lighting conditions change, transitions are usually smooth but not very fast. As in stills mode, autofocus is fast and accurate.

Video texture comparison

In bright conditions, noise is well controlled, and even in low light, noise remains impressively low. However, low-light noise can be a problem on moving objects, along with some aliasing and ghosting. Texture performance is slightly worse than for the 7 Pro. Image stabilization in video mode is also a bit less effective than for the 7 Pro, and frame shifts can cause distracting movement in clips.

Video noise comparison
OnePlus 7T Pro, outdoor video
OnePlus 7 Pro, outdoor video
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, outdoor video

Conclusion

Despite being a very incremental upgrade over the OnePlus 7 Pro, the 7T Pro is a capable smartphone. Its imaging scores put it soundly in the upper echelons of our database, and its results rarely disappoint. Overall image quality is very good, with accurate exposure, generally pleasant color, and strong detail.

Though the 7T Pro shares most of its predecessor’s hardware design, OnePlus appears to have tweaked some algorithms that have produced some differences in output. Most noticeably, HDR processing is more aggressive in the 7T Pro, improving highlight retention and delivering better-balanced output overall, despite producing occasionally overcooked results. The imaging pipeline is now biased towards a warmer color rendering in both stills and video, which looks nice when it works out, but can create a yellow cast when it doesn’t. Video takes a small step back, dropping two points compared to the 7 Pro, but remains generally very good.

While there’s no reason to move from the 7 Pro to the 7T Pro in terms of camera image quality, buyers ready to trade up from older handsets should definitely consider the latest flagship from OnePlus.

Photo

Pros

  • Accurate target exposure and wide dynamic range
  • Colors are generally pleasant and vivid
  • Detail is usually well preserved
  • Zoom detail is well preserved at medium ratios

Cons

  • Fine noise is present in most situations
  • Ghosting and halo artifacts
  • White balance can be too warm, creating yellow tones
  • Exposure variations on faces can occur in consecutive shots

Video

Pros

  • Accurate exposure
  • Fast and accurate autofocus
  • Pleasant colors
  • Well-preserved detail

Cons

  • Frame shifts visible, sharpness differences between frames in walking videos
  • Coarse noise visible on moving objects
  • Slightly limited dynamic range
  • Visible aliasing

In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.