松下Lumix DC-ZS70:口袋尺寸的数码相机

36
sensor

从某种程度来说,松下一直是紧凑型超级变焦相机的先驱。早在10年前,它就推出了一系列口袋尺寸的相机型号。这些相机的光学变焦能力好得令人难以置信。Lumix DC-ZS70(ZS70)是松下最新面世的产品,具有30倍光学变焦、可翻转的LCD屏幕,支持4K视频的拍摄。与其前代产品ZS60相比,这款新机的像素提高了不少,传感器由上一代1810万像素升级为2030万像素。ZS70的传感器技术仍未发生变化,采用的是与ZS60相似的1/2.3英寸背部感光式传感器,这使得其定位直逼松下的旗舰相机——超级1英寸大底变焦摄像机ZS100。

ZS70配备的30倍光学变焦提供了等效广角24mm,焦距范围可达超长焦720mm。这为那些想要轻装旅行的摄影师提供了很好的器材。此外,在使用长焦距拍摄相对静止的拍摄对象时,该款相机的五轴光学稳定系统有助于获得更清晰的拍摄效果。ZS70可以同时拍摄RAW格式和JPEG文件格式,同时搭载了最新版本的松下Venus影像处理器,可以处理JPEG文件,并且感光度范围为ISO80-3200,可扩展到ISO6400。

主要规格:

  • 1/2.3英寸2030万像素高感光MOS传感器
  • 30倍光学变焦(等效焦距:24-720mm)
  • 3.0英寸,104万像素点触摸翻转LCD屏
  • 感光度为ISO 80-3200(可扩展到ISO 6400)
  • 支持4K视频拍摄
  • 五轴光学防抖系统

整体性能

松下ZS70的DxOMark Sensor整体得分为36分,拍摄图像质量与其上一代产品相当,但分辨率略有提升。在ISO80的基准下,颜色和动态范围效果表现最好,颜色深度达19.1位,动态范围为10.6EV。

ZS70的运动摄影(低光ISO)在ISO106时感光度最高,此时拍出的相片色彩灵敏度高于18位,动态范围超过9EV,信噪比超过30dB。所以ZS70更适合在明亮的环境下拍摄,因为可以保持ISO处于较低的范围。由于拥有优异的JPEG文件处理器,无论是通过相机自带的Venus图像处理器处理,还是对RAW原始文件进行后期处理,都有可能在较高ISO情况下获得良好的图像质量,但对那些经常在中高水平ISO灵敏度条件下拍摄的摄影师而言,ZS70并不合适。

图像质量对比

对比得分,您就可以看到ZS70被1英寸大底摄像机ZS100全面秒杀。在ISO基准下,无论是人像拍摄的颜色深度得分,还是风景拍摄的动态范围得分,ZS100都比ZS70大约高出两档。也就是说,ZS100在低光ISO(运动摄影)摄影时最好的设置为ISO559,这使它更适合那些想在低光照条件下稍微增加ISO值的摄影师。

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark Sensor 排名工具

我们把ZS70与其他一些紧凑型超级变焦相机竞品进行比较,比如佳能G9 X Mark II,也能得到同样的结果。同样作为1英寸大底摄像机,佳能G9 X Mark II在ISO基准光感条件下,颜色深度得分和动态范围得分都比松下ZS70高出两档,而且图像的质量会随着光敏度的提升而增加,只要不超过ISO532,都可以取得不错的图像质量。

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark Sensor 排名工具

深入比较

为了获得关于传感器性能的更多细节,我们深入研究,对比分析了ZS70与其上一代产品ZS60,同时还与1英寸大底摄像机松下ZS100和佳能G9 X Mark II进行了对比。

人像摄影(颜色深度)

从冲印出的照片效果看,ZS70与其上一代机型ZS60拍摄的效果几乎相同,当提高到ISO400时,原始文件颜色深度大约为17位,成像质量好。您可以看出在标准ISO下,1英寸大底摄像机ZS100拍摄的效果领先了2个档位;而ISO1600时,这个优势在高感光度的条件下有一定的增加,此时ZS100颜色深度稍低于17位,而ZS70仅为12位。在中级感光度下,两者间大约差了3个档位。

当将松下ZS70和佳能G9 X Mark II的颜色进行比较时,情况也是如此。尽管在基准ISO下,佳能设备的颜色仅高出近2个档位,而随着感光度的提高,这种优势也稍微增加,最终在ISO1600时,领先3个档位。佳能G9 X Mark II的颜色深度为16.2位,而ZS70只有12位。

风景摄影(动态范围)

从冲印出的照片的动态范围看,1英寸大底摄像机比1/2.3英寸的ZS70的表现要稍好一些,因为它的感光度提高了。当ISO增加到800时,松下ZS100和佳能G9 X Mark II也可能获得超出10EV的动态范围;而ZS70只能在ISO200的条件下才能实现同样的效果。当感光度增高时,ZS100和G9 X Mark II能进一步拉远,可以实现良好的的动态范围,约为8EV,且这种效果可以达到ISO6400, 而ZS 70只能达到ISO800。

 

运动摄影(低光ISO)

ZS70的信噪比(SNR 18%)保持在30dB阀值之上。通常,我们认为30dB是在最低的ISO设置中保持良好的图像质量所必需达到的条件。这与上一代ZS60的信噪比水平一致。然而,随着感光度的提高,ZS60和ZS70的原始文件中噪点变得越来越普遍,而高ISO感光度噪点在ZS60和ZS70的原始文件中变得更加普遍,如果可能的话,应该尽量避免ISO1600及其以上的ISO感光度,此时SNR下降到阈值20dB以下。相比之下,在高ISO条件下,1英寸大底摄像机ZS100和G9 X MarkII的灵活性稍强。而从照片冲印效果看,在超过32dB的条件下,直到ISO400都可以取得良好的信噪比(SNRs)。这比ZS70领先了2个档位。这种优势在超高光感度下也是成立的。所以,在ISO6400的设置下,ZS100和G9 X Mark II拍摄图像的噪点数量与ISO1600下ZS70产生的噪点数量一致。

结论

超大的光学变焦范围,包括等效广角以及超长焦,这使得这款超级变焦相机成为那些不想使用大多数可换镜头相机和大型镜头的摄影师的理想选择。通过增加一个可翻转LCD屏幕,松下更新了其最新面世的紧凑型超级变焦相机ZS70的功能,并同时在当前市场条件下小幅提升了其分辨率。总的来说,ZS70的图像质量与其上一代产品ZS60大致相同。如果您想在低光照环境下取得较好的拍摄效果,那么1英寸大底摄像机松下ZS100和佳能G9 X Mark II是您最好的选择。然而,在较低ISO的环境下,ZS70的表现仍然不错,堪为高光条件下的绝佳旅行相机。

在这次评测中,我们将松下ZS70与之前测试过的最接近的竞争对手进行了比较。像往常一样,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具创建您自己的比较和深入分析。

Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS70: Pocket power

36
DxOMark Sensor

Panasonic has to some degree been the pioneer of the superzoom compact camera, with a string of pocket-sized models featuring incredible optical zoom capabilities dating back over 10 years now. The Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS70 (ZS70) is their latest offering, featuring a 30x optical zoom, tilting LCD screen, 4K-video, and an increased 20.3Mp resolution, compared to 18.1Mp on its predecessor, the ZS60. The sensor technology remains the same, utilizing a 1/2.3-inch backside-illuminated sensor similar to the ZS60’s, positioning the ZS70 just behind Panasonic’s flagship ZS100 superzoom compact, which has a physically-larger 1-inch sensor.

The ZS70’s 30x optical zoom offers an equivalent wide-angle 24mm through to super-telephoto 720mm focal range, providing great coverage for photographers who want to travel light. The inclusion of a 5-axis Optical Image Stabilization (OIS) system should help ensure sharper shots of relatively static subjects at longer focal lengths, too. The ZS70 shoots both RAW and JPEG file formats, with the latest version of Panasonic’s Venus processing engine crunching the JPEGs and offering a native ISO 80 to 3200 sensitivity range, expandable up to ISO 6400.

Key specifications:

  • 1/2.3-inch 20.3Mp high-sensitivity MOS sensor
  • 30x optical zoom (24-720mm equivalent)
  • 3.0-inch, 1.04m-dot tilting/touchscreen LCD
  • ISO 80 to 3200 (expandable to ISO 6400)
  • 4k video
  • 5-axis OIS

Overall image sensor performance

The Panasonic ZS70 achieves an overall DxOMark sensor score of 36 points and offers very comparable image quality to its predecessor, albeit with slightly increased resolution. Its best results for color and dynamic range are achieved at base ISO 80, where it scores 19.1 bits for color depth and 10.6 EV for dynamic range.

The ZS70’s Sports (low-light ISO) score of 106 ISO is the highest sensitivity at which the camera is capable of shooting with a color sensitivity of over 18 bits, and good dynamic range of over 9 EV, with a signal-to-noise ratio of over 30 dB. So the ZS70 is better suited for bright-light environments, where you can keep the ISO low. With good JPEG processing — either in-camera via the Venus engine or in post-production on RAW files — good image quality at higher ISOs should be possible, but the ZS70 isn’t a camera for photographers regularly shooting at mid-to-high ISO sensitivities.

Image quality compared

Comparing scores against the ZS100, you can see the advantage the large 1-inch type sensor offers over the ZS 70 across the board, with around two stops’ better color (Portrait score) and dynamic range (Landscape score) for the larger sensor at base ISO. That translates into a significantly better low-light ISO (Sports score) result of 559 ISO for the ZS100, making it better suited for photographers who want to pump up the ISO a bit in low light.

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool

The same analysis bears out when comparing the ZS70 against some of the superzoom compact competition, such as the Canon G9 X Mark II. Also featuring a larger 1-inch type sensor, the G9 X Mark II offers around two stops’ better color and dynamic range at base ISO, and image quality holds up better as sensitivity increases, ensuring good overall image quality up to 522 ISO.

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool

In-depth comparisons

For more details about sensor performance, our in-depth analysis takes a closer look at the ZS70 compared to its predecessor, the ZS60, as well as to the larger 1-inch sensors in the Panasonic ZS100 and the Canon G9 X Mark II.

Portrait (color depth)

In print results, the ZS70 offers almost identical results to its predecessor, the ZS60, with good color of around 17 bits possible in RAW files up to ISO 400. You can see the two-stop advantage of the ZS100’s larger 1-inch sensor at base ISO, and this increases a little at higher sensitivities, making good color just under 17 bits possible at manufacturer ISO 1600, compared to 12 bits on the ZS70 at ISO 1600 — around a 3-stop difference at mid-ISO.

The same is broadly true when comparing color on the ZS70 with the Canon G9 X Mark II. Although color is just under 2 stops better on the Canon device at base ISO, it improves slightly as sensitivity is increased, resulting in a 3-stop advantage at ISO 1600, with scores of 16.2 bits for the G9 X Mark II compared to 12 bits for the ZS70.

Landscape (dynamic range)

For dynamic range in prints, again, the larger 1-inch sensors are slightly better than the ZS70’s 1/2.3-inch sensor as sensitivity is increased. Excellent dynamic range of over 10 EV is possible on the ZS100 and the G9 X Mark II up to ISO 800, compared to ISO 200 for the ZS70; and at higher sensitivities, the ZS100 and the G9 X Mark II pull away further, with good dynamic range around 8 EV possible up to ISO 6400, compared to ISO 800 for the ZS70.

 

Sports (low-light ISO)

The ZS70’s signal-to-noise ratio (SNR 18%) stays above the 30 decibel threshold that we identify as necessary for good image quality at its lowest ISO settings, with the same consistent levels of noise as its predecessor, the ZS60. However, as sensitivity is increased, noise becomes more prevalent for both the ZS60’s and the ZS70’s RAW files, and high ISO sensitivities of ISO1600 and above should be avoided if possible, as the SNR drops below the 20 decibel threshold. In comparison, the larger 1-inch sensors in the ZS100 and the G9 X Mark II give you a bit more flexibility to shoot at high ISOs. In prints, good SNRs above 32 decibels are possible up to ISO400, which is a 2-stop advantage over the ZS70. This holds true at very high sensitivities, too, so expect a similar amount of noise on the ZS100 and G9 X Mark II files at ISO 6400 as the ZS70 produces at ISO 1600.

Conclusion

A massive optical zoom range, including an equivalent wide-angle through to super-telephoto reach, makes superzoom compacts ideal for those photographers looking to avoid the bulk of an interchangeable-lens camera and several large lenses. Adding a tilting LCD screen, Panasonic has updated the functionality on its latest superzoom compact, the ZS70, and its slightly higher resolution updates it for the current market conditions, too. Overall, the ZS70’s image quality is broadly the same as its predecessor, the ZS60. If you’re looking for better results in low-light environments, you should consider the larger 1-inch sensors in the Panasonic ZS100 and Canon G9 X Mark II. At lower ISO’s, however, the ZS70 remains a very capable device, making it a great travel camera for shooting in bright-light conditions.

In this review we have compared the Panasonic ZS70 to its most direct rivals that we’ve tested. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool.

  • Ataberk Ă–zdemir

    Why don’t you test popular mid-range smartphone cameras? Like Huawei lite series, Samsung Galaxy J,C,A series, Sony XA series, Xiaomi redmi series and some mid range mi phones and too many mid range phones from other brands. Not everyone cares flagship cameras, lots of people uses mid range smartphones.

    • glowinthedark

      It is required that a camera can provide raw output. Currently, only higher end smartphones can provide that. Even most (travel zoom) compact cameras (20x-30x zoom range) only provide jpg output (like the SOny HX 90 e.g.)

  • Why no Sony Hx90v comparison? Isn’t that it’s closest rival? 18mp, 30x optically-stabilized zoom, etc

    • glowinthedark

      no raw files

  • @MoTheTechGuy:disqus The Sony HX90V does not provide raw output – only JPG. I think this is why the HX90V didn’t register

    In general, I’m surprised this camera was tested at all when there are many other compelling cameras that could be tested. Comparing it to other cameras with 1″ sensors does not provide any useful conclusion. At long, tele focal lengths the camera will become like a pinhole camera and ISO will need to be increased. Image performance will degrade significantly. If the optics don’t kill the image then increased noise and decreased dynamic range surely will. This camera would have been interesting if it matched the Canon S120. That has a 1/1.7″ sensor.

  • TinusVerdino

    Pentax Q10 still the leading 1/2.3″ sensor :p

We are hiring!