松下Lumix DS-S1传感器评测

Reading Time: 0 min read
95
sensor

松下Lumix DS-S1 是该公司第一款中档全画幅微单相机。它基于最初由莱卡开发的L-mount镜头接口制造,该接口现在也由Sigma支持并作为所谓“L-mount联盟”的一部分。

与同期发布的4700万像素的S1R机型不同,S1拥有一个2400万像素的传感器。配合新型的VENUS处理器,使得S1稳定的2400万像素CMOS处理器可提供高达51,200的原生ISO范围;最高9幅/秒的AFS模式;以及持续自动对焦下的6幅/秒的拍摄能力。配备了典型的稳定传感器,S1还具有一种多次拍摄高分辨率图片功能,可以创建9600万像素的图像。

这款松下相机采用密封的镁合金机身,拥有耐用的快门并可以进行400K的快门启动,和高达1/320秒的闪光同步。它还配备了一个576万点分辨率的OLED取景器,并具有0.7至0.78倍的可调节放大倍数。在机身后部,S1配备了一个3.2英寸可倾斜和翻转的触摸式显示屏。

为了满足专业需求,这款新相机配备了两个存储卡插槽,一个用于XQD卡,另一个用于SD UHS-II型存储卡。

主要性能参数:

  • 2420万全画幅CMOS传感器
  • 内置5轴“Dual IS”防抖系统
  • 原生ISO100-51,200
  • 最高9幅/秒的AFS模式;持续自动对焦下的6幅/秒的拍摄能力
  • 可拍摄超高清4K 30帧/秒的全尺寸图像,或60幅/秒APS-C尺寸图像
  • 一个XQD卡插槽和一个SD卡插槽(支持UHS-II)

整体性能


松下S1的2400万全画幅CMOS传感器在DxOMark的综合评分中得到了95分的高分,这是我们数据库中所有相机排名的第12位。

尽管它各方面的表现都很出色,但它的关键优势在于它的(人像)色彩深度, 其25.2bit的得分在这个分辨率下是我们所见过的第二好成绩(仅落后0.1bit)。

S1相机在14.5EV时的(风景)动态范围得分也出人意料的高,仅落后于同级别像素数的第一名(索尼A7 III)0.2EV。

虽然一些更高分辨率的全画幅传感器可以获得更好的色彩灵敏度和动态范围分数,但S1在这些领域中的优异成绩,配合这个2400万像素传感器中较低的像素密度(以及因此较大的像素),可以转化为极佳的低光ISO(运动)得分,其分数为ISO3333。

为了完成许多出版任务,松下S1结合了低噪点,出色的色彩敏感度和具有足够高像素数的宽动态范围,使其适用于各种摄影类型。

图像质量比较

首次进军全画幅相机领域,松下选择的CMOS传感器与索尼A7 III和尼康Z6同样为2400万像素。在DxOMark排名中仅以一分之差排在它们之间,并且在人像,风景和运动的得分相似,全新Lumix DC-S1传感器的表现十分接近它的两位直接竞争对手。

S1的2400万像素传感器也许在运动摄影得分上略低于A7 III,但每一位摄影师都知道,每增加一档或增加1EV时ISO值都会翻倍。也就是说,ISO 3730对比3333的区别意味着松下S1仅以0.16EV的劣势落后于索尼A7 III。如下表所示,松下2400万像素传感器的表现优于拥有3030万像素的竞争对手佳能EOS R,而松下在所有测试领域都能提供更好的效果。

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark图像传感器排名工具

深入对比

为了更进一步检验传感器的性能,我们将松下Lumix DC-S1与其最接近的两个微单竞争对手索尼A7 III和佳能EOS R进行比较。

人像(色彩深度)

在整个ISO范围内,松下S1的色彩灵敏度或高或低的与索尼A7 III相同。在原生ISO 100时,松下达到了稍微更高的最大值25.2bit,并且在ISO 800 和ISO 1600 时的分值都更高一些。

索尼的优势在于当ISO 达到51,200或更高时的色彩灵敏度有所提高,但结果几乎可以忽略不计,因为这些差异在图像中很难被肉眼观察到,除非在最高ISO值下才可能有所不同。松下S1具有明显更好的色彩灵敏度,因此在理论上具有比佳能EOS R更好的色彩辨别能力,这也是后者的传感器最薄弱的地方,并且在某些图片中可能会比较明显,例如在一些平滑渐变的区域。

在这项比较中的三款相机都表现良好,尤其是松下和索尼,当设置为ISO 3200时,它们刚好达到我们所设定的能获得良好图像的20bit 参考值(我们当前为此类大小和像素的传感器所设定的标准)。佳能传感器虽然表现也还不错,但在ISO 1600设置时离20bit参考值还是落后了大约一档。在ISO 25,600时,三者都聚集在我们可接受的图像质量的截止点附近(14bit)。

风景(动态范围)

凭借在原生ISO 100时得到的14.5档(EV)的动态范围测量值,松下S1传感器成为了同级产品的领先者之一,只比索尼A7 III低了0.15EV。然而在ISO 800至ISO 1600之间,松下S1传感器的动态范围甚至超过了同级的领先者索尼。在ISO 400时,它虽只比索尼高出了三分之二档(0.83EV),但这已经是非常不易的,虽然索尼在整个ISO范围内具有更加线性的动态范围——至少在ISO 102,400之前,并一直高于我们设定的6EV的质量基准。作为对比,佳能的传感器除了在ISO 200至400以外,和在前面提到的S1在ISO 800 时的提升之前,都不具备与S1相同的动态范围。

当在单个图像中记录大范围的色调时宽广的动态范围是很有用的,通常这意味着在后期处理中或当相机处理数据以制作JPEG文件时,调整曝光的包容度更大。

运动(低光ISO)

正如下方我们的SNR 18%图表所示,除了在最高ISO值时索尼具有最低的噪点水平,松下和索尼具有几乎完全相同的同级领先水准。

虽然佳能EOS R在此项测试中的表现也十分出色,但仍然落后三分之一档(0.28EV),这使其不太能够匹敌松下的S1或索尼的A7 III 传感器。(这种差异可能会为松下S1在拍摄后增亮图像时带来优势。)

结论

凭借着全新的2400万像素Lumix DS-S1,松下利用一个同级领先的传感器进入了全画幅领域。测试结果几乎与广受好评的索尼A7 III 完全相同,并且在某些方面,例如动态范围,S1能够不仅在原生ISO 100上,更是在极为需要的ISO 800至ISO 1600范围内提供优势。

它在达到这些性能的同时保持了低噪点水平(正如我们也在尼康Z6和索尼上看到的一样),这证明了2400万全画幅CMOS BSI型传感器在像素数和传感器动态范围之间提供了理想的平衡。

当一个搭载成熟自动对焦系统的高性能传感器与内置防抖系统和9幅/秒的连拍功能相结合,再搭配由知名镜头制造商支持的新型镜头接口,您将会得到一个拥有强大功能的相机和一个充满希望的开始,而这可能会为前三大相机制造商带来严峻的挑战。

在此次评测中,我们将松下Lumix DS-S1与其他品牌最相关的竞争对手进行了比较。与往常一样,您可以利用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具来创建对比,进行深入分析。

Panasonic Lumix DC-S1 sensor review

Reading Time: 5 min read
95
sensor

The Panasonic Lumix DC-S1 is the company’s first mid-range, full-frame mirrorless camera. It is built around the existing L-mount originally developed by Leica, which is now also supported by Sigma as part of the so-called “L-mount alliance.”

Unlike the 47MP variant on the S1R, which was announced at the same time, the S1 features a 24MP CMOS sensor. Paired with a new VENUS processor, the stabilized 24MP CMOS sensor in the S1 delivers a high native ISO range up to 51,200; bursts at up to 9 fps in AFS mode; and 6 fps with continuous AF. Typical of stabilized sensors, the S1 also has a multi-shot high-resolution capability that allows the creation of 96MP images.

Panasonic has built the camera with a sealed magnesium alloy body, a durable shutter that’s capable of 400K shutter actuations, and a high 1/320 sec flash synchronization. It also has an electronic viewfinder with a 5.76 million-dot OLED-type display, and adjustable magnification from 0.7 to 0.78x. At the rear, the S1 has a 3.2-inch touchscreen monitor that can both tilt and flip.

As befitting a pro-oriented model, the new camera has two media card slots, one for XQD and a second that records to SD UHS-II media cards.

Key specifications:

  • 24.2MP full-frame CMOS sensor
  • 5-axis in-body “Dual IS” system for stills and video
  • Native ISO 100-51,200
  • Up to 9 fps shooting in AFS, up to 6 fps with continuous AF
  • UHD 4K at 30 fps from full-width, 60 fps from an APS-C size crop
  • One XQD slot and one SD card slot (with UHS-II support)

Overall performance

The Panasonic S1’s 24MP full-frame CMOS sensor achieves a high overall DxOMark score of 95, which is the 12th-highest place overall among all of the cameras in our database.

Although it’s an excellent all-round performer, its key strength is its (Portrait) color depth, and its score of 25.2 bits is the second-best result (by just 0.1 bit) we’ve seen for a full-frame sensor at this resolution.

At 14.5 EV, the S1’s (Landscape) dynamic range score is also impressively high, and only 0.2 EV behind the best in class for this pixel count (the Sony A7 III).

While some higher-resolution full-frame sensors can achieve slightly better color sensitivity and dynamic range scores, the S1’s excellent scores in these areas, in conjunction with lower pixel density (and therefore larger pixels) in this 24MP sensor, translates into an excellent Low-light ISO (Sports) score of ISO 3333.

Combining low noise, excellent color sensitivity, and a wide dynamic range with a sufficiently high pixel count for many publishing tasks, the Panasonic Lumix S1 looks promising for a wide range of photographic genres.

Image quality compared

For its first foray into full-frame cameras, Panasonic has selected a CMOS sensor with the same 24MP resolution as that used by both the Sony A7 III and the Nikon Z 6. With just one point between them in the DxOMark rankings and similar Portrait, Landscape, and Sports scores, the new Lumix DC-S1 sensor performs practically identically to its most direct competitors.

The 24MP sensor in the S1 may have a slightly lower Sports score than the A7 III, but as every photographer knows, there’s a doubling of the ISO values for every stop or 1 EV increase. This said, the difference between ISO 3730 vs. 3333 means that the Panasonic S1 is just –0.16 EV behind the Sony A7 III. As the table below shows, the 24MP Panasonic S1 sensor performance is ahead of its rival from Canon, the 30.3MP Canon EOS R, with the Panasonic delivering better results in all test areas.

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool.

In-depth comparisons

For a more detailed examination of sensor performance, we’ll compare the Panasonic Lumix DC-S1 to two of its closest mirrorless competitors, the Sony A7 III and the Canon EOS R.

Portrait (color depth)

Throughout the ISO range, the Panasonic S1’s color sensitivity more or less matches that of the Sony A7 III. At base ISO 100, the Panasonic achieves a marginally-higher maximum of 25.2 bits, and there’s a slightly higher value at both ISO 800 and ISO 1600.

In the Sony’s favor, there’s some increase in color sensitivity at 51,200 and above, but the results are close enough to be considered identical, with the differences unlikely to be visible in images except perhaps at the highest ISO value. The Panasonic S1 has measurably better color sensitivity, and therefore technically has better color discrimination than the Canon EOS R, which is the latter sensor’s weakest area and may be noticeable in some images — for example, in areas of smooth gradations.

All three cameras in this comparison perform well, most particularly the Panasonic and Sony, which just cross our 20-bit reference for good image quality when set to ISO 3200 (our current benchmark for this sensor size and resolution). The Canon sensor, although still a good performer, is around a stop behind, crossing the same 20-bit mark when set to ISO 1600. At ISO 25,600, all three congregate around our cut-off point for acceptable image quality (14 bits).

Landscape (dynamic range)

With a measured dynamic range of 14.5 stops (EV) at base ISO 100, the Panasonic S1 sensor is one of the class leaders — just 0.15 EV lower than the Sony A7 III. Between ISO 800 and ISO 1600, though, the Panasonic S1 sensor has a wider dynamic range than even the class-leading Sony. At ISO 400, it’s just over two-thirds of a stop (0.83 EV) more, which is quite significant, although the Sony’s dynamic range is more consistent throughout its ISO range — at least till ISO 102,400, where it stays above our 6EV quality benchmark. By contrast, the Canon sensor doesn’t quite have the same wide dynamic range as the S1 except at ISO 200 to 400, before the latter’s previously-mentioned uplift at ISO 800.

A wide dynamic range is useful when recording a wide range of tones in a single image, and typically that means there’s more latitude in adjusting exposure in post-processing or when the camera processes the data to produce a JPEG.

Sports (low-light ISO)

With the exception of the top-most ISO values, where the Sony has the lowest noise levels in our SNR 18% graph shown below, the Panasonic and Sony share practically identical, class-leading results.

The Canon EOS R also performs very well in this test, but at 1/3 stop (0.28 EV) behind, it doesn’t quite match the Panasonic S1 or the Sony A7 III sensors. (The difference may deliver an advantage for the Panasonic S1 when brightening images post-capture.)

Conclusion

With the new 24MP Lumix DC-S1, Panasonic has adopted a class-leading sensor for its venture into full-frame. The test results are practically identical to those of the sensor used in the highly-acclaimed Sony A7 III, and in some areas, such as dynamic range, the S1 is able to offer an advantage in the highly desirable ISO 800 to ISO 1600 range, not just at base ISO 100.

It achieves all this while maintaining low noise levels (as we’ve also seen with the Nikon Z6 and the Sony), which demonstrates that 24MP full-frame CMOS BSI-type sensors offer a desirable balance between pixel count and sensor dynamics.

When you combine a high-performing sensor with a proven AF system, built-in stabilization, 9 fps continuous shooting, and a relatively new lens mount backed by influential lens makers, you have a highly capable camera and the beginnings of a promising system that can pose a serious challenge to the top three camera makers.

In this review, we have compared the Panasonic Lumix DC-S1 to its most relevant rivals from other brands. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool. 


In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.