更新:三星 Galaxy A50 摄像头评测

Reading Time: 5 min read
85
camera

请注意:2019年9月,我们更新了DXOMARK Mobile测试基准,以涵盖超广角性能,并将其重新命名为DXOMARK Camera基准。我们还扩展了低光测试的内容,并创建了新的“夜间摄影”评分,其中包含了之前的“闪光灯”分数。我们使用新的“广角”和“夜间摄影”测试基准,重新测试了该手机,并相应地更新了分数和评测文本。更新的元素和分数位于顶部;您仍然可以在页面下方找到原始评测。有关更多信息,请参阅有关新的“广角”“夜间摄影”测试基准的文章。

85
camera
88
photo
79
video

三星Galaxy A50 摄像头评测 (最初版本发表于2019年7月4日)

三星Galaxy A50推出于2019年2月,是一款功能多样化而价格实惠的智能手机,配备有一个6.4英寸的AMOLED FHD+显示屏,其无边际水滴屏提供了极大的屏幕空间。Galaxy A50内置Exynos 9610芯片组,使用Android 9.0操作系统,堪为中端市场上处理能力最强大的手机之一。在摄影方面,它不只搭载了一个后置摄像头,而是三个:一个2500万像素传感器,搭配主摄像头的26毫米f/1.7镜头,一个800万像素超广角摄像头和一个500万像素深度感应传感器,用于散景摄影。请继续阅读本文,在我们的深度评测中了解三星Galaxy A50摄像头如何应付竞争对手的挑战。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:2500万像素传感器,等效26毫米,f/1.7镜头
  • 超广角镜头:800万像素传感器,等效13毫米,f/2.2镜头
  • 500万像素深度传感器,f/2.2镜头
  • 相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • LED闪光灯
  • 1080p/30fps视频

关于DxOMark Mobile测试DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见此处

测试摘要

三星Galaxy A50的整体DxOMark Mobile得分为83分,在我们的智能手机图像质量数据库中排名不高,但仅比去年的Galaxy A9落后3分。A50的性能也与许多旧款旗舰手机相当,例如三星Galaxy S6 Edge(82分)和苹果iPhone 7(85分)。

A50的照片得分为85分,在静止照片方面的表现非常好,特别是在阳光充足的条件下,曝光良好,色彩演色性佳,通常可以获得准确的白平衡,拍出悦目的照片。

在户外高光照明条件下,三星Galaxy A50可以拍出非常悦目的图像,具有准确的曝光和鲜艳的色彩。

在难处理的高对比度条件下拍摄时,A50可提供宽广的动态范围,有效的HDR成像,让我们的“桥下”测试场景中的高光和阴影区域均能保留完好的细节。事实上,A50的一些HDR照片中的阴影恢复比更昂贵的竞争机型略好,虽然在仔细检查时可以看到一点色度噪点、振铃效应和边缘混叠伪像,但整体而言,A50在HDR拍摄方面做得很好。

三星Galaxy A50,高对比度场景
LG G8,高对比度场景
苹果iPhone 8 Plus,高对比度场景

人像模式是A50的另一项优势,这要归功于其专用的深度感应传感器,将背景模糊应用于人像时,可以实现相当准确的深度估计和被摄体蒙版。但A50并不完美,因为在大尺度下检查图像时会发现一些边缘伪像,而模糊渐变层次有时也相当唐突。不过,在手机显示屏上观看图像时,这些问题并不太明显,并且A50在隔离复杂细节方面的表现更好,例如我们的测试人像中的眼镜与三星Galaxy A9或LG G8的图像相比就是如此。A50也在背景点光上应用了漂亮的圆形,虽然散景照片可能缺少一点对比度,其色彩看起来略微淡白,但整体效果仍然相当赏心悦目。

三星Galaxy A50,散景模拟
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图
LG G8,散景模拟
LG G8,裁剪图
三星Galaxy A9,散景模拟
三星Galaxy A9,裁剪图

A50需要改进的主要方面是,所有条件下的细节保留水平都不高,尤其是变焦照片;在户外阴天场景和较低光条件下的拍摄结果通常也令人相当失望。我们观察到,它在户外阴天条件下的拍摄有几次失败,包括相当强烈的绿色色偏,在素色区域中有些较浓重的亮度噪点积累,而且复杂区域的细节勾勒也低于我们在户外图像中看到的水平。实际上,细节保留是A50的主要弱点之一,它在任何照明条件下都很难很好地呈现精细的局部细节。

三星Galaxy A50,户外阴天条件
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图
LG G8,户外阴天条件
LG G8,裁剪图
Apple iPhone 8 Plus, cloudy outdoor conditions
苹果iPhone 8 Plus,裁剪图

A50为第二台摄像头选择了超广角镜头,那些希望将更多东西挤进画面的摄影者可能会非常欣赏这种做法,但这也意味着该手机没有远摄镜头可以改进变焦照片的质量。因此,虽然A50的数字变焦的放大倍率最高可达4倍,但其拍摄结果却远不及我们对优秀手机的期望。即使在近距离(大约2倍放大率)上,也可以看到明显的细节损失,复杂区域的细节勾勒通常看起来不太自然。在中等距离(大约4倍放大率)上,诸如振铃效应、去噪伪像、大量的噪点堆叠和较差的演色性等其他问题,都进一步拖累了A50变焦照片的质量。

三星Galaxy A50,近距变焦
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图
LG G8,近距变焦
LG G8,裁剪图
三星A9,近距变焦
三星A9,裁剪图

闪光性能是A50的一大强项,虽然在仅使用闪光灯拍摄和使用混合灯光拍摄时,测标曝光都有点高,但其曝光还算可以接受,其效果也相当明亮。角落的色彩渐晕也得到了相当好的控制,但是在闪光灯照片中,画面中心和角落之间的噪点水平存在很大的差异,图像处理也使边缘亮度变亮了。画面中心的面部上也出现了一些亮度噪点,但它在中心处理得比角落更好。闪光照片中的白平衡也相当中性,虽然在仅使用闪光灯拍摄的照片中有一些轻微的去饱和现象,但整体演色性还算可以接受。

闪光灯照片,0勒克斯
闪光灯照片,5勒克斯

我们的测试人员还发现了一些图像伪像。最严重的问题是重影,通常即使被摄体仅有些许运动,也会出现双重图像。我们还发现了一些振铃效应、耀斑、边缘噪点和几何位移,也就是说,在一些样张中线条和图案并不完全对齐。

三星Galaxy A50,被摄体运动与重影
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图
三星Galaxy A50,几何位移伪像
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图

在实验室的受控条件下进行测试时,A50的相位检测自动对焦系统的表现良好,可以始终如一地拍出准确对焦的图像。虽然A50不是我们测试过最快的手机,但它在户外(1000勒克斯)拍摄和室内(300勒克斯)拍摄的响应时间约为100毫秒,完全在可接受的范围内。在低光(20勒克斯)下,它的自动对焦速度较慢,通常需要大约500毫秒(0.5秒)才能锁定焦点,因此在光线较差时,它很难快速拍出对焦准确的照片。

三星Galaxy A50的自动对焦在高光下的表现(1000勒克斯)。

A50的视频得分为79分。它在影片方面的主要优势是悦目的色彩,白平衡大致准确,在户外和室内照明条件下也都能很好地控制噪点,不过在非常微弱的光线下,色彩和噪点控制都会明显恶化。在色彩均匀的素色区域中,噪点尤其受到良好的控制,反观在一般智能手机视频中,亮度噪点的堆叠通常会相当明显。在A50上,只有低光视频才会出现粗大的噪点。

三星A50,不同照明条件下的视频演色性分析

在A50视频中,测标曝光通常也是准确而悦目的,只有在1到20勒克斯的低光条件下,严重曝光不足的问题才会变得明显。然而我们在所有条件下都观察到一些曝光不稳定的问题,动态范围也非常有限,因此在拍摄视频时最好寻找更均衡的照明条件。

三星A50,不同照明条件下的视频测标曝光分析

视频的改进的主要涉及自动对焦、细节和稳定性。自动对焦不稳定是A50很常见的问题。场景中只要一出现极小的变化,A50就会开始重新对焦,因此不必要的重新对焦非常频繁,并且自动对焦在所有照明条件下的跟踪性能也相对较差。A50的防抖系统在静止手持录制视频和适度的摇拍运动时都非常有效,但边走边拍时会导致强烈的抖动效应,并且每走一步就会出现高频运动残影。细节水平也普遍较低,画面之间的清晰度有明显差异;明显的伪像也会影响视频的完整性,特别是在室内和低光下更是如此。

三星Galaxy A50,户外视频

结论

三星Galaxy A50采用大型6.4英寸AMOLED显示屏、Exynos 9610芯片组和三摄像头配置,足以让在意预算的智能手机爱好者感到兴奋不已。然而,在我们后置摄像头测试的严苛条件下,A50的表现却无法与一些最好的中端手机相媲美,其图像质量当然也够不上最新旗舰产品的表现。它在阳光充足的高光条件下的表现最好,曝光、动态范围和色彩呈现都很好,散景照片也非常不错。然而,在阴天或低光条件下,它的静止图像或视频效果都不是很好,我们还发现它的变焦表现特别弱。

照片优点

  • 在阳光充足的高光条件下,可拍出鲜艳悦目的色彩
  • 动态范围相当宽广
  • 自动对焦大致快速而且可重复
  • 在逆光情况下,面部曝光良好
  • 使用闪光灯拍摄时,色彩宜人,白平衡准确

视频优点

  • 户外和室内色彩宜人
  • 户外和室内噪点控制得当
  • 静止手持拍摄视频时,防抖相当有效

照片不足

  • 细节水平低
  • 低光下自动对焦失败
  • 变焦时细节不足且色彩偏差
  • 室内和户外拍摄时有绿色和粉色色偏
  • 经常可见几何位移和局部低细节伪像
  • 闪光时轻微的目标曝光过高

视频不足

  • 自动对焦不稳定,经常性重复对焦且过调
  • 行走拍摄时强烈的高频残留抖动
  • 细节水平低
  • 所有光照情况下曝光不稳定
  • 低光下有粗大噪点伪像
  • 室内及低光下场景完整性伪像

Samsung Galaxy A50 camera review

DxOMark
Mobile
83

Launched in February 2019, the Galaxy A50 is a feature-rich, budget smartphone that includes a large 6.4-inch AMOLED FHD+ display with a small waterdrop notch and a thin chin, thus providing lots of screen real estate. With an Exynos 9610 chipset running Android 9.0, the Galaxy A50 is one of the most powerful devices at this end of the market. The photography proposition offers not one, but three cameras on the rear of the device: a 25Mp sensor coupled to a 26mm f/1.7 lens for the main camera, an 8Mp ultra-wide camera, and a 5Mp depth-sensing sensor for bokeh shots. Read on to find out how the Samsung Galaxy A50 camera performs against the competition in our in-depth review.

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple-camera setup
  • Primary: 25Mp sensor with 26mm-equivalent f/1.7 lens
  • Ultra-wide: 8Mp sensor with 13mm-equivalent f/2.2 lens
  • 5Mp depth-sensing sensor with f/2.2 lens
  • PDAF autofocus
  • LED flash
  • 1080p/30fps video

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

83
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy A50
85
photo
Samsung Galaxy A50
79
video
Samsung Galaxy A50

Achieving an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 83 points, the Samsung Galaxy A50 does not rank at the very top of our database of smartphone image quality, but is only 3 points behind last year’s Galaxy A9. The A50’s performance is also on par with much older flagship devices, such as the Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge (82 points) and the Apple iPhone 7 (85 points).

Securing a Photo score of 85 points, the A50 does well for stills, particularly in bright sunny conditions, with good exposures, nice color rendering, and generally accurate white balance ensuring pleasant pictures.

In bright outdoor lighting conditions, the Samsung Galaxy A50 captures very pleasant images with accurate exposure and vibrant color.

Shooting in tricky high-contrast conditions, the A50 offers wide dynamic range, with effective HDR rendering ensuring well-preserved detail in both the highlight and shadow regions in our “under the bridge” test scene. In fact, the shadow recovery in some of the A50’s HDR shots offered a slight improvement over the more expensive competition. Although a little chromatic noise, as well as ringing and aliasing edge artifacts are visible at close inspection, the A50 does a good job on HDR shots overall.

Samsung Galaxy A50, high-contrast scene
LG G8, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone 8 Plus, high-contrast scene

Portrait mode is another positive aspect for the A50, thanks to the dedicated depth-sensing sensor’s reasonably accurate depth estimation and subject masking when applying background blur to portraits. It’s not perfect, with some edge artifacts and abrupt transitions in the blur gradient visible when examining images at large scale. These are less obvious when viewing images on the device’s display, however, and the A50 did a better job of isolating complex details such as the glasses in our test portrait compared to the Samsung Galaxy A9 or LG G8. The A50 applies a nice circular shape to background spotlights, too, and although bokeh shots can lack a little contrast, with slightly washed-out color, the overall effect remains generally pleasant.

Samsung Galaxy A50, bokeh simulation
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop
LG G8, bokeh simulation
LG G8, crop
Samsung Galaxy A9, bokeh simulation
Samsung Galaxy A9, crop

The main areas for improvement are low levels of detail preservation in all conditions and particularly with zoom shots, as well as disappointing results in cloudy outdoor scenes and lower light conditions generally. We observed several failures in overcast outdoor conditions, including a fairly strong greenish color cast and a heavier build-up of luminance noise in flat areas, with lower levels of detail in intricate areas than we’d expect to see in outdoor images. In fact, detail preservation is one of the A50’s main weaknesses, with fine localized detail rarely rendered well in any lighting conditions.

Samsung Galaxy A50, cloudy outdoor conditions
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop
LG G8, cloudy outdoor conditions
LG G8, crop
Apple iPhone 8 Plus, cloudy outdoor conditions
Apple iPhone 8 Plus, crop

Opting for an ultra-wide-angle second camera on the A50 may prove popular with those photographers looking to squeeze more into the frame, but it also means there’s no tele-lens for improved zoom shots. Consequently, while the A50 offers a digital zoom solution up to a maximum 4x magnification, the results are some ways off the pace of what you can expect from the good performers. Even at close range (approximately 2x magnification), a significant loss of detail is visible, with unnatural rendering often evident in intricate areas. At medium range (approximately 4x magnification), other issues such as ringing and denoising artifacts, a heavy build-up of noise, and poor color rendering further reduce the quality of the A50’s zoom shots.

Samsung Galaxy A50, close-range zoom
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop
LG G8, close-range zoom
LG G8, crop
Samsung A9, close-range zoom
Samsung A9, crop

Flash performance is a strength for the A50, and although target exposures are a little high for both flash-only and mixed lighting shots, they remain acceptable and ensure nice bright results. Corner shading is reasonably well-controlled, too, but there is a strong difference in the level of noise between the center and corners of the frame in flash shots in which the edges have been brightened by image processing. Some luminance noise is also visible on faces in the center of the frame, but it is handled better there than in the corners. White balance is fairly neutral in flash shots, too, and although some slight desaturation is evident in flash-only shots, overall color rendering remains acceptable.

Flash shot, 0 lux
Flash shot, 5 lux

Our testers also found some image artifacts. The most problematic is ghosting, where subjects with even moderate movement often appear with a double image. We also found some ringing, flare, noisy edges, and geometric shifts where lines and patterns don’t quite line up in some of our sample images.

Samsung Galaxy A50, ghosting artifact with subject movement
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop
Samsung Galaxy A50, geometric shift artifact
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop

Tested under controlled conditions in the lab, the A50’s PDAF autofocus system performed well, consistently delivering in-focus images. It’s not the fastest we’ve tested, but its response times of around 100ms in our outdoor (1000 lux) shots and indoor (300 lux) shots are well within acceptable limits. It was slower in low light (20 lux), often taking around 500ms (0.5 second) for the focus to lock on, which will make it a little more challenging to quickly grab a well-focused shot when the light is poor.

Samsung Galaxy A50, autofocus performance in bright light (1000 lux)

The A50 achieves a Video score of 79 points. Its main strengths for movies are pleasant color with generally accurate white balance, and well-controlled noise in both outdoor and indoor lighting conditions—although both color and noise control deteriorate noticeably in very low light. Noise is particularly well-controlled in flat areas of uniform color, where a visible build-up of luminance noise is often distracting in smartphone videos. On the A50, a coarse noise becomes visible only in low-light videos.

Samsung A50, color rendering analysis by lighting condition

Target exposures are generally accurate and pleasant in the A50’s videos, too, so again, it’s only in low-light conditions between 1 and 20 lux where serious under-exposure becomes obvious. We observed some exposure instabilities in all conditions, however, and dynamic range is very limited, so you’d be best off seeking more balanced lighting conditions when shooting video.

Samsung A50, video target exposure analysis by lighting condition

The main areas for improvement with video concern autofocus, detail, and stabilization. Autofocus instabilities are common, with frequent and unnecessary refocusing easily triggered by small changes in the scene, and autofocus tracking is relatively poor in all lighting conditions. The A50’s stabilization system is fairly effective for static handheld videos and with moderate panning movements, but recording while walking results in strong judders and residual high-frequency motion with every step. Detail is also low generally, with visible differences in the sharpness between frames; and obvious artifacts affect the integrity of videos particularly indoors and in low light.

Samsung Galaxy A50 outdoor video

Conclusion

Packing a large 6.4-inch AMOLED display, the Exynos 9610 chipset, and a triple-camera setup, the Samsung Galaxy A50 has plenty for the budget-conscious smartphone enthusiast to get excited about. Under the rigors of our rear-camera testing, however, the A50 can’t match the performance of some of the best mid-range devices and certainly not the image quality of the latest flagship offerings. It’s best in bright sunny conditions, where exposure, dynamic range, and color are good, and bokeh shots are very acceptable. In cloudy or low-light conditions, though, it’s not quite as effective with stills or video, and we found zoom shots to be a particular weakness.

Photo pros

  • Vivid and pleasant color in bright sunny conditions
  • Quite wide dynamic range
  • Generally fast and repeatable autofocus
  • Well-exposed faces in backlit conditions
  • Good color and accurate white balance using flash

Video pros

  • Pleasant color outdoors and indoors
  • Well-controlled noise outdoors and indoors
  • Fairly efficient stabilization of static handheld videos

Photo cons

  • Low level of detail
  • Autofocus failures in low light
  • Low detail and color casts in zoom shots
  • Green and pink color casts outdoors and indoors
  • Geometric shift artifacts and localized low detail artifacts often visible
  • Slightly high target exposure using flash

Video cons

  • Autofocus instabilities with frequent refocusing and overshooting
  • Strong residual high-frequency motion visible with walking movement
  • Low level of detail
  • Visible exposure instabilities in all conditions
  • Coarse noise artifacts in low light
  • Scene integrity artifacts under indoor and low-light conditions

In the Press

DxOMark invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.