三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G 前置摄像头评测

Reading Time: 5 min read
99
selfie

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G是韩国三星最新推出的旗舰版手机,设置了高端的配备,包括6.8英寸AMOLED显示屏,分辨率1440 x 3040,并装载Exynos 9825芯片组与12GB的内存。手机背面装设了包含超广角摄像头、远摄像头以及一组飞时测距传感器共四组的摄像头。

当然,自拍爱好者最感兴趣的还是前置摄像头的规格。Note 10+ 5G配置了1/3英寸、1000万像素传感器的单一摄像头,搭配25mm等效焦距摄像头、f/2.2光圈镜头。双像素自动对焦系统确保对焦功能良好,在视频模式下,摄像者能以每秒30帧的速度录制4K分辨率的自拍影片。

我们已完成三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G前置摄像头的测试。请参阅完整的评论,以了解它在DxOMark Selfie评测中的表现。

前置摄像头主要规格:

  • 单一前置摄像头
  • 1/3英寸1000万像素传感器, 1.22微米像素
  • 25mm等效焦距,f/2.2光圈
  • 双像素自动对焦
  • 2160p 每秒30帧(4K视频)

有关 DxOMark Selfie评测:我们的智能手机前置摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DxOMark的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1500组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DxOMark自拍评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

99
selfie
103
photo
93
video

三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G在DxOMark Selfie评测中的总体得分为99分,是我们智能手机前置摄像头评测排比的新榜首。Note 10+ 5G也名列照片项目的冠军,这可归功于几乎在所有的评测项目中都有出色的表现,让它拿了下亮眼的103分。

在极低光下,三星前置摄像头所拍摄的图像,脸部通常能呈现出良好的曝光,而宽广的动态范围,能确保在有难度的高对比度场景中,仍可显现不错的高光和阴影细节。色彩,特别是肤色,通常都是赏心悦目的,只有在低光下,才会发现脸部的饱和度有些不足。明亮光线和室内条件下,自动白平衡系统发挥了很好的功效。

三星Note 10+ 5G前置摄像头拍摄的图像能显现出良好的脸部曝光和漂亮的色彩。

在细节方面,Note 10+ 5G采用与之前三星机种相同的做法-非常注重降噪。也就是说,在户外和室内所拍摄的照片都能将噪点控制的很好,只有在相当昏暗的环境下,才会开始逐渐地出现噪点。精细的细节和纹理的呈现都很不错,但并不是同级机种中表现最突出的。

这款手机的前置摄像头所呈现的闪光灯效果,是目前为止我们所测试过最好的一款,在全黑和低光环境下始终都能展现出好的成效。从非常近到自拍杆的距离进行拍摄时,自动对焦系统能确保镜头都完美地对焦在主体上,同时景深相对较宽,这就表示背景仍能显现出良好的细节,且在人群中自拍时,也依旧有一定的清晰度。

自动对焦系统可确保在各种距离下所拍摄的主体都能一清二楚。

运用此摄像头的人工散景模式,可拍摄出主体隔离完美且整体模糊效果宜人的图像,不过,单一摄像头无法营造出模糊渐变的层次,与主体位于同一焦平面的物体也不会变得模糊,这也就是说,它的效果不如最好的双前置摄像头那般逼真。可以说,Galaxy Note 10+ 5G前置摄像头的照片模式,没有所谓的真正弱点,而且在任何自拍情况下,几乎都能够拍摄出美好的图像。

散景模式可营造出宜人的模糊效果

视频模式也是如此,在我们的评测中得到93分,与华硕ZenFone 6齐名,并列视频项目的第一名。在许多方面,Note的视频性能与S10 5G非常相似,但现在这款新手机的默认模式为4K分辨率,大大改善了纹理的呈现和细节的表现。

尽管影像为高分辨率,但在大多数情况下,噪点都控制的很好,稳定系统就和S10 5G一样有效。自动对焦快速又准确,而且几乎在任何条件下,曝光效果都很好。

需要改进的部份包括曝光偶尔不稳定、步进痕迹,以及明显的白平衡色偏,尤其是在低光下。除了这些小缺失之外,Note 10+ 5G的视频性能,整体上都非常出色。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G户外行走视频
三星 Galaxy S10 5G户外行走视频

照片评分说明

得到103分的三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,是迄今为止,在我们照片项目评测中,拿下最高分的手机。我们在不同的照明条件下测试并分析该摄像头的静止图像在各方面的表现,然后从测试结果和分析中计算出照片成绩。在本部分中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的图像质量评分,并分析 Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G 在几个方面的表现与主要竞争机种的差异。

曝光和对比度(84)

Galaxy Note 10+ 5G在曝光和对比度项目中的表现非常出色。在明亮光线下,主体的曝光和背景的细节都非常好。动态范围不如华硕ZenFone 6来得好,在高对比场景中出现多一些的高光剪贴,不过,比Galaxy S10 5G进步一些,对前置摄像头来说,整体表现都相当不错。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,户外曝光
华硕 ZenFone 6,户外曝光
华为 P30 Pro,户外曝光

室内环境中,目标曝光保持的很好,但我们的评测人员偶尔会在具有挑战性的逆光场景中发现脸部有些曝光不足的现象。即使是在极低光的状况下,此摄像头也能呈现良好的曝光,但在非常昏暗的场景里,脸部的对比度会降低。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,低光(20勒克斯)下的曝光表现

色彩

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

89

Note 10在色彩项目上获得了非常优异的分数,可归功于一向都很优秀的演色性,在大多数情况下,几乎能媲美S10 5G。在室外环境中,白平衡稍偏暖,因此能拍摄出漂亮的肤色以及整体宜人的色彩。室内条件下的色彩呈现更显中性,且在人造暖灯光源(例如钨丝灯)下会略现冷色。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,户外演色性
苹果 iPhone XS Max,户外演色性
三星 Galaxy S 10+ ,户外演色性
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,肤色演色性

在具挑战性的低光场景里,有时肤色会稍显不自然,但从好的方面来看,色彩渐晕不是什么大的问题,只有在极低光下拍摄时,才会明显些。在室内照明条件下所拍摄的图像中,相较于ZenFone 6和华为P30 Pro,Note 10+ 5G整体的色彩响应稍显暖色些,例如下图中所示。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,室内演色性
华硕 ZenFone 6,室内演色性
华为 P30 Pro,室内演色性

对焦(86)

三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, 锐度与摄距分析

如同其他近期三星的高端手机一般,Note 10+ 5G的前置摄像头也配置了自动对焦系统。该系统经过精心调校,在30至120厘米间的距离自拍时,都能准确的对焦在各种主体的脸部上。正如下面图示,景深非常广,所以背景能显现良好的细节。华硕ZenFone 6和华为P30 Pro的背景看起来更模糊,也因此当背景有地标这类的旅行自拍时,三星的前置摄像头是这三款手机中最好的选择。这也意味着,在群体自拍时,即使主体位在团体中,通常还是可以清楚的看出主体。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,焦距范围
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6,焦距范围
华硕 ZenFone 6,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,焦距范围
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

从下面图像中,可以看出脸部的对焦精准,即使在一般自拍杆的距离(120厘米)拍摄,效果也不错。华硕Zenfone 6的表现相当,不过,华为P30 Pro的定焦镜头不适合拍摄位在比一般摄距还远的主体,会明显的失焦。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,对焦距离120厘米
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6,对焦距离120厘米
华硕 ZenFone 6,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,对焦距离120厘米
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

群体自拍时并非所有主体都在同一焦平面上,所以宽广的景深效果也很有帮助。下面对比的图像中,位于人群里的脸部对焦,Note 10+ 明显比竞争对手更为犀利。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,群体自拍
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6,群体自拍
华硕 ZenFone ,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,群体自拍
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

纹理(63)

和噪点(77)

纹理比较

Note 10+ 5G的前置摄像头所呈现的细节和降噪的效果与近期其他三星手机的表现非常相似:噪点通常控制的很好,但牺牲了一些精细细节。从上面的图表中,可看到在室内明亮的光照条件下,三星的细节呈现水平与S10 5G以及华为P30 Pro相当,但无法与在此测试项中名列第一的ZenFone 6比拟。低光下,Note 10+ 丢失的细节比其他手机稍微多一些,但总体而言,三星的细节/噪音平衡的非常好。

从我们实验室的图像样本中可印证上面的图表。纹理勾勒出色,特别是在明亮的户外光线和室内照明下的脸部呈现。背景的细节水平很好,同时噪点也控制得宜。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,1000勒克斯
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6 ,1000勒克斯 裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6 ,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,1000勒克斯
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

然而,低光下的图像质量确实开始变差。脸上的精细细节几乎消失,相较之下,其他两款竞争手机,在低光下显现出较好的纹理。脸部和其他色彩均匀区的亮度噪点变得清楚可见,但仍控制的不错,如下面图像。不过,也逐渐出现一些色度噪点。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,10勒克斯
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6 ,10勒克斯
华硕 ZenFone 6 ,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,10勒克斯
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

下面图像中可以看到噪点在低光下控制的很好,只有在近黑的环境拍摄时才会显著增加。不过,却在精细细节上付出了代价;华硕和华为的精细细节明显更好。

噪点比较

伪像

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

85

Galaxy Note 10+ 5G整体的伪影控制相当不错,在伪像项目也拿下85分的好成绩。最明显的伪像是色彩量化 – 减少不同颜色的数量 – 从下面图像中在某些皮肤区域可看得出来。高对比的边缘处振铃效应显而易见,还有低光下皮肤光滑的不自然,都让Note 10+ 5G被扣了一些分数。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,色彩量化
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,色彩量化
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图

闪光灯

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

91

Note 10+ 5G在闪光灯项目得到优异的分数,是我们迄今为止测试过的前置摄像头中表现最卓越的,这可归功于精确的曝光、完美的纹理表现以及噪点控制良好。在全黑的环境中拍摄时,肤色很明显呈现橙色色偏,不过,当闪光灯加上钨丝灯的低光源时,就会显得较为中性。

两种测试条件下都看得到晕影,但控制得相当好,也出现一些色彩渐晕的现象。总的来说,三星手机使用显示屏闪光灯所拍摄的图像,能呈现出色的效果。

三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,0勒克斯的闪光灯
三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,5勒克斯的闪光灯

散景

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

65

Galaxy Note 10+ 5G所配置的单一前置摄像头,能够产生令人满意的散景效果,但与多摄像头手机相比,在深度估计和模糊渐变层次方面还是有些限制。

能完美的隔离出主体,只有主体周围有些微的不够精准,但没有模糊渐变的层次,唯有场景中所有失焦的元素上会出现一定程度的模糊。此模式下,与主体位于同一焦平面中的物体也会跟着模糊。从下面图像中可看出主体旁的植物是模糊的,尽管植物与脸部跟相机的距离都一样。华为P30 Pro也是同样的情形;但ZenFone 6 所装设的双摄像头能侦测到植物和主体位于同一个焦平面,使两者都不会模糊。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,散景模拟
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
华硕 ZenFone 6 ,散景模拟
华硕 ZenFone 6 ,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,散景模拟
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

尽管没有模糊渐变的层次,但整体效果相当好且非常自然。下面图像中,在难处理的区域会发现一些轻微的深度估计伪像,例如左图中主体的头发或夹克。从好的方面来说,和脸部有接触到的物体,像是右图中的手,被检测为是前景的一部分而呈现模糊状。背景中的点光也显现良好的对比。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,散景模拟
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,散景模拟
三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图

视频评分说明

三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G前置摄像头在视频项目得到94分,是目前为止分数最高的前置摄像头,得益于所有测试项目的结果都很出色,特别是纹理项目。其视频的各个评测项目得分为:曝光(69)、色彩(81)、自动对焦(85)、纹理(88)、噪点(77)、伪像(84)以及稳定度(77)。

Note 10+ 5G整体的视频效果与系出同门的S10 5G非常接近,但由于新机种在默认模式下能以4K分辨率录制视频,因此Note 10+ 5G在改善纹理方面进了一大步(15分)。这意味着Note 10+ 5G在视频纹理的表现介于最好的机种间,但又不足以与ZenFone 6并驾齐驱;ZenFone 6具有旋转式摄像头及更大的传感器,无疑是此项目的翘楚。整个来说,在明亮光线和一般的室内条件下,细节非常出众。低光下,会损失一些精细的纹理,但比起大多数竞争对手,Note 10+ 5G仍能在昏暗环境中录制到更好的细节。

视频纹理比较

下面的视频截图是在100勒克斯的光源下所拍摄的影片。由于4K的默认视频分辨率,让Note 10+ 5G 所录制的细节比其他两款竞争手机,明显来得更好。背景会看到一些亮度噪点,不过在这些条件下,整体噪点控制的很好。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,100勒克斯光下的视频截图
三星 Galaxy Note S10 5G,100勒克斯光下的视频截图
华为 P30 Pro,100勒克斯光下的视频截图

下面的裁剪图是由上图裁剪放大而来,从中我们可以看到Note 10+ 的4K视频的分辨率优势.

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,裁剪图
三星 Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

尽管分辨率更高,但在大部份的状况下,噪点仍然控制得宜,只有在低光下,才会慢慢出现一些亮度和色度噪点。尽管有更高的4K像素数算法必须处理,不过,三星在视频稳定度的表现可说是可圈可点,在室内和户外都非常有效。拿着手机录制时,不论是步行间的动作或是摄像头的晃动,均可修正到尽善尽美,让视频在大多数情况下都能顺畅稳定的播放。

三星 Galaxy Note 10+ 5G,室内行走视频

在大多数情况下,脸部曝光准确,即使光线降到极低水平,此摄像头也能呈现良好的曝光,不过,我们偶尔会发现有些轻微的不稳定和步进痕迹。当录制高对比场景的视频时,有时也会产生一些高光剪贴,尽管有大量图像处理的数据需应付,但整体的动态范围与S10 5G类似。

视频曝光比较

三星手机所录制的视频影片中,肤色大部份看起来都很漂亮,但某些时候可能略显不自然。我们偶尔也发现会有白平衡色偏的现象,尤其是在低光下;不过,如果视频性能是您优先考虑的选项,那么挑三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G 就没准错。

结论:自拍爱好者的新选择

三星Galaxy Note + 5G前置摄像头在所有拍摄和光线条件下都能呈现出不同凡响的静态图像和视频质量,也当之无愧的成为我们DxOMark Selfie排名中的新状元。大多数情况中,照片模式下的曝光和演色性都相当杰色,宽广的焦距范围还可确保在拍摄任何距离的主体时,对焦都能很准确。散景模式有些限制,但仍能产生令人满意且相当自然的效果。多亏有4K默认分辨率,让Note 10+ 5G在大部份的光照条件下录制视频时,都能展现出色的细节。自动对焦和稳定系统的功能精确无误且效率十足。总而言之,不论是自拍爱好者或视频摄影者,三星Galaxy Note 10+ 5G是一款值得推荐的手机。

照片优点

  • 目标曝光准确且动态范围宽广
  • 在明亮光线和室内条件下,具有良好的白平衡
  • 宽广的焦距范围
  • 令人满意且细节良好的散景效果
  • 运用闪光灯拍摄时,脸部曝光佳

视频优点

  • 在明亮光线和室内条件下,可呈现非常出色的细节
  • 在大多数光照条件下,噪点控制良好
  • 自动对焦准确、快速且稳定,还有宽广的景深
  • 大部份状况下的脸部曝光精准
  • 能有效稳定视频

照片不足

  • 低光下,丢失精细细节
  • 低光下,肤色饱和度不足
  • 有些图像失焦

视频不足

  • 偶尔出现白平衡色偏,特别是在低光下
  • 有些曝光不稳和步进痕迹的状况
  • 低光下会出现亮度和色度噪点

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G front camera review

DxOMark
Selfie
99

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G is the South Korean manufacturer’s latest flagship device and as such features top-end components all around, including a 6.8-inch AMOLED display with 1440 x 3040 resolution, a Exynos 9825 chipset, and 12Gb of RAM. On the back of the device you’ll find a quad-camera setup with ultra-wide and tele cameras as well as a time-of-flight sensor.

Selfie shooters will be mostly interested in the front camera specifications, of course. Here the Note 10+ 5G offers a single-camera setup with a 1/3-inch 10Mp sensor coupled to a 25mm-equivalent lens with an f/2.2 aperture. A dual-pixel AF system ensures that images are in focus and in video mode, users can record selfie-clips at 4K resolution at 30 frames per second.

We’ve put the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G front camera through its paces. Read our full review to find out how it performed under our DxOMark Selfie test protocol.

Key front camera specifications:

  • Single front camera
  • 1/3-inch 10Mp sensor with 1.22µm pixels
  • 25mm-equivalent focal length, f/22-aperture lens
  • Dual-pixel AF
  • 2160p at 30 frames per second (4K)

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

99
DxOMark selfie
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 5G
103
photo
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 5G
93
video
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 5G

With an overall Selfie score of 99 points, the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G is the new Number One in our DxOMark Selfie ranking for smartphone front cameras. Achieving an outstanding 103 points, it also takes the lead for the overall Photo sub-score, thanks to excellent performance across pretty much all test categories.

Images captured with the Samsung’s front camera generally show good exposure on faces down to very low light levels, along with a wide dynamic range that ensures good highlight and shadow details in difficult high-contrast scenes. Color in general, and specifically skin tones, are usually rendered pleasantly; only in low light did we observe some undersaturation of faces. The auto white balance system also delivers good results in bright light and under indoor conditions.

Images captured on the Samsung Note 10+ 5G front camera show good exposure on faces and nice colors.

In terms of detail, the Note 10+ 5G adopts the same approach as previous Samsung flagship devices, putting a lot of emphasis on noise reduction. This means noise is very well controlled in outdoor and indoor shots and starts creeping in only when shooting in fairly dim conditions. It renders fine detail and textures nicely, but not quite on the same level as the very best in class.

The Samsung device is also the best so far for front camera flash photography, with consistently good results when shooting both in complete darkness and in low ambient light. The autofocus system ensures good focus on the subject from very close to selfie-stick shooting distances, and a relatively wide depth of field means that backgrounds still show good detail and people towards the back in a group selfie are still rendered acceptably sharp.

The autofocus system ensures good sharpness on the subject across all shooting distances.

The camera’s artificial bokeh mode creates images with good subject isolation and an overall pleasant blur effect, but the single-cam setup isn’t capable of creating a blur gradient, so blurs objects that are in the same focus plane as the subject. This means that the results aren’t quite as realistic as those from the best dual front cameras. This said, the Galaxy Note 10+ 5G front camera’s photo mode hasn’t got any real weaknesses and delivers good image results in almost any selfie situation.

Bokeh mode generates a pleasant blur effect.

The same is true for Video mode, which scores 93 points in our tests, making it the joint number one for video along with the Asus ZenFone 6. In many respects the Note’s video performance is very similar to that of the S10 5G, but the new model now records at 4K resolution by default, dramatically improving texture rendering and detail.

Despite the high-resolution clips, noise is well under control in most situations and the stabilization system is just as efficient as on the S10 5G. The autofocus is also fast and accurate, and the exposure system delivers good results in almost any condition.

Areas to improve include occasional exposure instabilities and stepping as well as white balance casts that can be visible, especially in low light. Those minor shortcomings aside, the Note 10+ 5G’s video performance is excellent overall.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G outdoor video, walking
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G outdoor video, walking

Photo scores explained

With 103 points, the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G achieves the highest Photo score in our testing to date. We calculate the Photo score from results and analyses of tests that examine different aspects of a device’s still-image performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores, analyzing some aspects of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10 5G versus its key competition.

Exposure and Contrast (84)

The Galaxy Note 10+ 5G performs very well in the Exposure and Contrast category. Both subject exposure and detail on the background are very good in bright light. Dynamic range is not quite as good as on the Asus ZenFone 6, with some more highlight clipping in high-contrast scenes, but it’s a slight improvement over the Galaxy S10 5G and very decent overall for a front camera.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, outdoor exposure
Asus ZenFone 6, outdoor exposure
Huawei P30 Pro, outdoor exposure

Target exposure remains good in indoor conditions, but our testers occasionally observed some underexposure on faces in challenging backlit scenes. The camera is capable of producing good exposures even in very low light conditions, but contrast on faces is reduced in very dim scenes.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, exposure in low light (20 lux)

Color (89)

The Note 10 achieves a very good score for Color, thanks to generally very good color rendering that is in most scenarios very close to that of the S10 5G. White balance tends to be slightly warm in outdoor conditions, which makes for pleasant skin tones and overall color rendering. Color results are more neutral in indoor conditions and be can slightly cool under warm artificial light sources, such as tungsten light.

Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, outdoor color rendering
Apple iPhone XS Max, outdoor color rendering
Samsung Galaxy S10+, outdoor color rendering
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, skin tone rendering

In challenging low light scenes, the Note 10+ 5G sometimes rendered skin tones slightly unnaturally, but on the plus side, color shading is not really an issue and is only sometimes slightly noticeable in images captured in very low light. Under indoor conditions, the Note 10+ 5G sometimes produces a slightly warmer overall color response than both the ZenFone 6 and the Huawei P30 Pro, such as in the sample below.

Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, indoor color rendering
Asus ZenFone 6, indoor color rendering
Huawei P30 Pro, indoor color rendering

Focus (86)

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, acutance versus subject distance analysis

Like other recent Samsung high-end phones, the Note 10+ 5G comes with an autofocus system in its front camera. The system is well-tuned and provides good focus on faces at all typical selfie subject distances from 30 to 120cm. As you can see in the samples below, depth of field is pretty wide, allowing for good detail in the background. On both the Asus ZenFone 6 and Huawei P30 Pro, the background is visibly more blurry, making the Samsung front cam the best choice out of this trio for travel-selfies with landmarks in the background. It also means that in group selfies, the Note 10+ 5G renders even subjects at the back of the group acceptably sharp.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, focus range
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Asus ZenFone 6, focus range
Asus ZenFone 6, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, focus range
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

In the sample shots below, you can see that focus on the face is good, even at a typical selfie-stick shooting distance of 120cm.  The same is true for the Asus Zenfone 6, but the Huawei P30 Pro, which comes with a fixed-focus lens, cannot adapt to the longer-than-usual shooting distance and captures a subject that is noticeably out of focus.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, focus at 120cm
Samsung Galxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Asus ZenFone 6, focus at 120cm
Asus ZenFone 6, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, focus at 120cm
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

The wide depth of field also helps with group selfies when not all subjects are in the same focus plane. In the comparison below, the face of the person furthest from the camera is noticeably sharper on the Note 10+ than on the competitors.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, group selfie
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Asus ZenFone 6, group selfie
Asus ZenFone 6, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, group selfie
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

Texture (63) and Noise (77)

Texture comparison

The Note 10+ 5G’s front camera adopts a very similar approach toward detail rendering and noise reduction as other recent Samsung devices: noise is generally very well under control at the expense of some fine detail. In the graph above, you can see that in bright light and indoors, the Samsung’s detail rendering is on a similar level as that of the S10 5G and the Huawei P30 Pro, but it cannot quite match the ZenFone 6, which is the top-ranked device in this test category. In low light, the Note 10+ drops off slightly more than the others, but still, the Samsung’s overall detail/noise balance is very good.

What we can see in the graphs is confirmed in our lab samples. Texture rendition is good, especially on the face in bright outdoor light and under indoor lighting. Levels of detail are good in the background as well, and noise is very well under control.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Asus ZenFone 6, 1000 lux
Asus ZenFone 6, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, 1000 lux
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

Image quality does start to suffer in low light, however. Fine detail on the face is pretty much gone and both comparison devices deliver better textures in low light. Luminance noise starts to become visible on the face and in other areas of uniform color but is still fairly well-controlled, as you can see in the graph below. However, there is also some chroma noise creeping in.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, 10 lux
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Asus ZenFone 6, 10 lux
Asus ZenFone 6, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, 10 lux
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

In the graph below, we can see that noise is pretty well-controlled down to low light and only increases significantly when shooting in near-darkness. However, that comes at the expense of fine detail rendering, which is noticeably better on the Asus and the Huawei.

Noise comparison

Artifacts (85)

Overall, the Note 10+ 5G image controls artifacts well and the device earns itself a good Artifacts score of 85 points. The most noticeable artifact is color quantization—a reduction of the number of distinct colors—as can be seen on some skin areas in the samples below. We also deducted some points for ringing that can be visible on high-contrast edges and for unnaturally smooth skin rendering in low light.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, color quantization
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, color quantization
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop

Flash (91)

The Note 10+ 5G achieves the best sub-score for flash performance of any front cameras we have tested to date, thanks to accurate exposure, decent texture rendering, and well-controlled noise. When shooting in complete darkness, skin tones have a very slight orange cast but are neutral when flash is mixed with low tungsten light.

Vignetting is visible but fairly well-controlled, and some color shading is noticeable in both test conditions. Overall, however, the Samsung delivers excellent results when shooting with its display flash.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, flash at 0 lux
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, flash at 5 lux

Bokeh (65)

The Galaxy Note 10+ 5G comes with a single front camera that is capable of generating a pleasant bokeh effect, but in comparison to multi-cam variants, has some limitations in terms depth estimation and blur gradient.

Subject isolation is pretty good, with only fairly minor inaccuracies around the subject, but there is no blur gradient, with only one degree of blur applied to all out-of-focus elements in the scene. The mode also blurs objects in the same focus plane as the subject. You can see this in the sample below, where the plant next to the subject is blurred despite being the same distance from the camera as the face. The same thing happens on the Huawei P30 Pro, but the ZenFone 6 with its dual-camera is capable of detecting that the plant and the subject are in the same focus plane and does not apply any blur to either.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, bokeh simulation
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Asus ZenFone 6, bokeh simulation
Asus ZenFone 6, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, bokeh simulation
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

Despite the lack of a blur gradient, the effect is pretty nice and fairly natural overall. In the samples below, you can find some slight depth estimation artifacts in tricky areas, such as the subject’s hair or the jacket in the image on the left. On the plus side, objects connected to the face, such as the hand in the image on the right, are detected as part of the foreground and not blurred. Spotlights in the background show nice contrast as well.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, bokeh simulation
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, bokeh simulation
Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, crop

Video scores explained

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10 5G front camera achieves a Video score of 94 points—the highest score for a front camera to date—thanks to excellent results across all test areas and especially for texture. Its Video sub-scores are as follows: Exposure (69), Color (81), Focus (85), Texture (88), Noise (77), Artifacts (84), and Stabilization (77).

Overall, the Note 10+ 5G’s video results are very close to its stablemate S10 5G, but it improves significantly on texture (15 points), as the new model now records at 4K resolution by default. This means that the Note 10+ 5G is among the best devices for video texture, though it is still not quite on the same level as the ZenFone 6 with its rotating camera and larger sensor (making it the clear leader in this category). Overall, detail is excellent in bright light and under typical indoor conditions. Some fine texture is lost in low light, but the Note 10+ 5G still records better detail than most competitors in dim conditions.

Video texture comparison

The video stills below are from clips captured at 100 lux. Thanks to its 4K default video resolution, the Note 10+ 5G is capable of recording noticeably better fine detail than the two comparison devices. Some luminance noise is visible in areas of the background, but overall noise is very well under control in these conditions.

Samsung Galaxy Note10+ 5G, video still 100 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, video still 100 lux
Huawei P30 Pro, video still 100 lux

The crops below show the same image area in each video still (unlike the 100% crops we otherwise use throughout this review) to illustrate the resolution advantage you get from the Note 10+ 4K video mode.

Samsung Galaxy Note10+ 5G, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

Despite the higher resolution, noise is still well-controlled in most conditions; only in low light does some luminance and chroma noise creep in. Samsung has also done a very good job in terms of video stabilization, which is still very efficient in both indoor and outdoor conditions, despite the higher 4K pixel-count the algorithms now have to deal with. It efficiently corrects for both walking motion and camera shake when holding the device still, making for smooth and stable video output in most situations.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, indoor video walking

Exposure on faces is accurate in most conditions and the camera is capable of achieving good exposure down to pretty low light levels, but we have seen some slight instabilities and stepping on occasion. There can also some highlight clipping be visible when recording high-contrast scenes, but overall, its dynamic range is similar to that of the S10 5G, despite the larger amounts of data the image processing has to manage.

Video exposure comparison

Skin tones look mostly nice in the Samsung’s video clips, but can be rendered slightly unnaturally on some occasions. We also noticed the occasional white balance cast, especially in low light; but overall, if video performance is high up on your list of priorities, you can’t go wrong with the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G.

Conclusion: The new reference for selfie shooters

The Samsung Galaxy Note+ 5G front camera delivers excellent still image and video quality across all shooting and light conditions and deservedly earns itself the new number one spot in our DxOMark Selfie ranking. In Photo mode, exposure and color rendering are very good in most situations, and a wide focus range ensures that subjects are in focus at any shooting distance. Bokeh mode has some limitations but is still capable of producing pleasant and fairly natural-looking results. When recording videos, the Note 10+ 5G benefits from its 4K default resolution, delivering excellent detail under most light conditions. Autofocus and stabilization systems work very accurately and efficiently as well, and overall the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G is easily recommended to any selfie photo or video shooter.

Photo pros

  • Accurate target exposure and wide dynamic range
  • Good white balance in bright light and under indoor conditions
  • Wide focus range
  • Pleasant bokeh effect with good detail
  • Good exposure on faces when shooting with flash

Video pros

  • Very good detail in bright light and under indoor conditions
  • Noise well under control in most light conditions
  • Accurate, fast and stable autofocus and wide depth of field
  • Accurate exposure of faces in most conditions
  • Efficient video stabilization

Photo cons

  • Loss of fine detail in low light
  • Desaturated skin tones in low light
  • Some out-of-focus images

Video cons

  • Occasional white balance casts, especially in low light
  • Some exposure instabilities and stepping
  • Luminance and chroma noise in low light