三星 Galaxy S6 Edge:经过新版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准再次测试

82
DxOMark Mobile

注:本文的英语原文发表于2017年9月11日

Galaxy S6 Edge 发布于 2015 年 3 月,在当时属于三星高端智能手机,同时也是 2015 年 DxOMark Mobile 排名中的最佳智能手机之一。Galaxy S6 Edge 搭载 1600 万像素的 BSI CMOS 传感器、光圈更大的 f/1.9 镜头和光学图像防抖技术,其摄像头规格比其上一代产品 Galaxy S5 有了明显的提高。当时,S6 Edge 在各个方面均获得了良好的评分。下面,我们来介绍 2015 款 S6 Edge 在我们新版 DxOMark Mobile 评测基准中的表现,该测试将变焦、散景、低光拍照性能(照度低至 1 勒克斯)以及场景中的运动等方面皆考虑在内。

摄像头的主要规格:

  • 1/2.6 英寸 1600 万像素 BSI CMOS 传感器
  • 28 毫米等效焦距的 f/1.9 镜头
  • 光学图像防抖 (OIS)
  • 单 LED 闪光灯
  • 4K、2160p@30fps、1080p@60fp 视频
  • 500 万像素 22 毫米等效焦距的 f/1.9 前置摄像头
  • 5.1 英寸 QHD 显示屏

请注意,出于本文之目的,我们使用新版 DxOMark Mobile 测试方案对三星 Galaxy Edge S6 进行了再次测试,对变焦性能和散景质量等诸多改进性能进行了测试。您还可以点击此处查看我们 2015 年 4 月对三星 Galaxy Edge S6 的初始评价报告(英语版)。

测试摘要

经我们重新测试,三星 Galaxy Edge S6 的新评分为 82 分,这表明 Galaxy Edge S6 在所测试的最高评分智能手机摄像头中仍旧占据一席之地。Galaxy Edge S6 在 DxOMark Mobile 综合排名中位列第三,目前 Galaxy Edge S6 仍落后苹果 iPhone 7 Plus 七分,与目前排名第一的两大智能手机摄像头 Google Pixel 和 HTC U11(评分皆为 90 分)相差九分。   

Galaxy Edge S6 的亮点包括在高光环境中呈现非凡的静态图像和视频性能,良好的细节表现、低噪点以及总体良好的动态范围。此外,还有自动对焦快速、平滑,可靠的曝光和白平衡,以及高效的视频防抖性能等优点。然而,在棘手的背光环境中以及环境亮度下降时,Galaxy Edge S6 表现欠佳。作为单镜头相机, S6 Edge 的变焦性能和散景质量也略显欠佳,这一点从 S6 Edge 在新版 DxOMark Mobile 中的排名可见一斑,与旧版方案相比,其在新版 DxOMark Mobile 中的排名略有下降。

高光拍照性能

其在高光环境中拍摄的照片呈现出高水平的细节表现和整体良好的动态范围。

S6 Edge 获得了 81 分的照片总评分,在高光条件下拍摄的照片非常出色,具有整体良好的曝光、高水平的细节表现以及令人愉悦的真实色彩。即使配有能快速自动融合多帧图像的 Auto HDR 功能(目的在于提高亮部和暗部细节),但在高对比度场景中,其动态范围依然有限。

在高光和采光好的室内环境中,无论是手持拍摄还是固定于三脚架上进行拍摄,S6 Edge 均能呈现出精细的结构细节。下方 100% 放大的裁切照片是在 1000 勒克斯下拍摄的。由此可以看出, S6 Edge 的拍照效果基本可与其竞争对手相媲美,照片细节表现良好、噪点水平低,美中不足的是摄像头选择的白平衡略微偏粉色。

三星 Galaxy S6,1000 勒克斯,手持拍摄

Google Pixel,1000 勒克斯,手持拍摄

苹果 iPhone 7 Plus,1000 勒克斯,手持拍摄

S6 Edge 自动对焦快速、可靠、延迟极短,支持快速捕捉主体,然而光学性能仍有提升空间。可以看到,在利用多帧 HDR 模式进行拍摄时,照片边缘呈现轻微的清晰度损失、偶尔发生镜头眩光、轻微的几何畸变,而且运动主体存在轻微的光晕。

低光拍照性能和闪光灯表现

S6 Edge 的低光拍照性能可谓是好坏参半,而且要逊色于一些新推出的设备,这一点并不奇怪。一方面,自动对焦速度明显更慢,并且存在偶尔对焦不准确的情况。另一方面,成像质量良好,细节和纹理保留相对良好,并且甚至在 100 勒克斯下也实现良好的噪点控制,这可能要归功于其内置防抖功能、大光圈镜头以及该摄像头所选择的低感光度。

在极低光环境中,即照度在 1 至 5 勒克斯之间, S5 Edge 的表现欠佳。照片呈现出严重的曝光不足和非常明显的细节损失、色彩欠饱和以及较高的噪点水平,尤其是亮度噪点。下方示出了在 5 勒克斯光照条件下手持拍摄的照片的 100% 放大裁切图像。

三星 Galaxy S6,5 勒克斯,手持拍摄

Google Pixel,5 勒克斯,手持拍摄

苹果 iPhone 7 Plus,5 勒克斯,手持拍摄

当开启闪光灯进行拍摄时,S6 Edge 实现了良好的曝光并降低了镜头边角失光,尽管其采用的是单 LED 闪光灯;然而该摄像头所选择的白平衡会产生轻微的粉色色偏,而且由于其选择高感光度,因此细节表现也随之下降。

视频表现

S6 Edge 获得了较高的视频总评分(83 分),这一得分与苹果 iPhone 7 Plus 的视频总评分相同。该摄像头的 HDR 性能十分出色并且拥有较低的空间噪点;然而,我们的新方案测试了时域噪点并加入了防抖分析,新推出的设备在这两方面上皆优于 S6 Edge。

尽管与 Google Pixel 和 HTC U11 相比,S6 Edge 的时域噪点水平较高,而且因防抖功能而产生的伪像使其总体表现稍打折扣,但 S6 Edge 依然能够拍摄出高质量的视频片段,尤其是在高光环境中。

照片评分解析

S6 Edge 的照片总评分为 81 分。在本节中,我们将深入了解构成 DxOMark Mobile 最终照片评分的成像质量分项评分。

曝光与对比度(78)

在高对比度的场景中经常出现轻微的高光裁切。

在大多数光照条件下, S6 Edge 基本上可实现可靠的曝光, 但在极低光照条件下除外,此时图像存在严重的曝光不足。此外,在高对比度的场景中,无论是室内还是室外,采用 BSI CMOS 传感器的智能手机摄像头的动态范围始终比较有限。

暗部通常曝光不足并存在细节损失,而亮部易于出现裁切或“曝光过度”;而在背光肖像摄影时,面部会曝光不足并呈现阴影。可以采用 HDR 选项改善这一点,但是仍无法与最佳设备的表现相媲美。总体而言,S6 Edge 拍摄的照片看起来真实,但这一点也因人而异。

色彩(75)

在大多数环境下, Galaxy S6 呈现出令人愉悦又鲜艳的色彩。

不论是在强烈的太阳光下还是人造光源下,S6 Edge 均能呈现出既令人愉悦又逼真的良好色彩。然而,在测试的所有光照环境中,其白平衡普遍不准确,而且照片重复出现偏粉色的现象。

在低亮度的白炽灯下(钨丝灯和荧光灯),照片的边角区域偏绿色,而照片中心偏粉色(这种现象被称为色彩渐晕)。

有时呈现明显的偏浅黄色

自动对焦(73)

在高光环境中, S6 Edge 表现出快速、大体上可靠且准确的自动对焦。然而在低光环境中,自动对焦明显减慢。S6 Edge 在高光环境中的自动对焦评分为 73,S6 Edge 与我们目前发现的最佳设备(例如,更新的 Google Pixel 和 HTC U11)存在一定的差距并不奇怪。

在较低光线条件下(300 勒克斯),Galaxy S6 自动对焦明显减慢。

纹理 (57) 和噪点 (66)

在高光环境中,S6 Edge 拍摄的照片呈现出完美的细节且噪点极少,在低光环境(20 勒克斯)中,其噪点处于可接受的水平,但是在照度低至 5 勒克斯的极低光环境中,照片出现细节损失和十分明显的噪点。

三星 Galaxy S6 Edge, 1000 勒克斯

Google Pixel, 1000 勒克斯

苹果 iPhone 7 Plus, 1000 勒克斯

下方的裁切照片来自在极低光环境中手持拍摄的测试照片样本。由此可以看出,Galaxy S6 拍摄的照片细节模糊并且存在高水平的亮度噪点。

三星 Galaxy S6 Edge, 5 勒克斯, 手持拍摄

Google Pixel, 5 勒克斯, 手持拍摄

苹果 iPhone 7 Plus, 5 勒克斯, 手持拍摄

伪像 (65)

虽然 S6 Edge 整体表现良好,尤其是在明亮的日光条件下,但是速度更快的 f/1.9 镜头在伪像方面并非毫无缺陷。照片的画面边缘附近表现出明显的清晰度损失,此外还存在有待克服的耀斑和轻微畸变,而且天空的某些区域略微偏青色。在高对比度场景中,照片的边缘呈现少许轻微的光晕。

闪光灯 (75)

S6 Edge 的单 LED 闪光灯表现不俗,在除最低光环境外的各种光照条件下均实现了良好的曝光,而且边缘失光现象比较轻微;然而,白平衡在各种光照条件下均呈现同样的偏粉色现象,而且细节保留欠佳。

变焦 (39)

新测试准则中增加了这一分项,S6 Edge 在这方面表现欠佳。在中等距离和远距离下,S6 Edge 拍摄的照片分辨率不佳,而且存在严重的摩尔纹,尤其是在中等距离时。从下方的照片样本可以看出,采用双摄像头的 iPhone 7 Plus 可以拍摄出比 Galaxy S6 清晰度更高、细节更丰富的照片,在极高光环境中亦是如此。

三星 Galaxy S6,1000 勒克斯,中等距离

Google Pixel,1000 勒克斯,中等距离

散景 (15)

由于 S6 Edge 有较大的景深并且无额外的图像算法来改善失焦区域的图像呈现,因此散景评分较低就不足为奇了。

视频评分解析

S6 Edge 获得了 83 分的视频总评分。在本节中,我们将深入了解构成 DxOMark Mobile 最终视频评分的分项评分。

曝光与对比度 (85)

通常,使用 S6 Edge 录制的视频片段在室内或室外高光环境中均曝光良好,在光照条件富于变化的场景中的曝光调整快速而平滑。

此外,在大多数光照条件下,这些视频片段具有充足的动态范围,至少可与接受测试的一些最顶级的、较新的设备相提并论,例如 Google Pixel,但在低光环境中曝光不准确导致评分略有下降。

色彩 (81)

一些视频片段显示, 静态图像中普遍存在非常轻微的色彩渐晕,并且在低光环境中呈现明显的偏暖色,但总体而言,S6 Edge 性能表现不俗。其在高光户外和室内环境中色彩再现良好,白平衡准确,尽管整体色彩饱和度略低。总体而言,拍摄效果真实而赏心悦目。

自动对焦(77)

拍摄视频时,S6 Edge 自动对焦快速、流畅、稳定,即使在光照条件富于变化的户外环境中亦是如此。然而,与 Google Pixel 等最佳设备相比,差距十分明显。 S6 Edge 场景变化追踪能力略显欠佳,场景切换痕迹明显。此外,光线亮度下降时,自动对焦也略显缓慢。

纹理 (47) 和噪点 (70)

S6 Edge 拍摄的视频表现出良好的纹理和细节保留能力,尤其是在高光环境中,而且噪点水平很低。在低光环境中,S6 Edge 存在非常明显的细微纹理和细节损失以及时域噪点,但总体而言,除最低光环境外,S6 Edge 在各种光照条件下的表现均相当不俗。

伪像 (83)

摇拍时,视频片段呈现出明显的抖动效应,在高光环境中振铃效应明显,但整体而言,S6 Edge 的伪像处理能力极佳。

防抖 (66)

S6 Edge 的视频防抖略显薄弱。手持拍摄手法娴熟时,视频稳定性表现良好,但是当存在大幅晃动时,视频稳定性大幅下降,造成轻微的果冻效应以及相邻帧清晰度不均匀。

总结:表现依然可圈可点

三星 Galaxy S6 Edge 静态图像质量和视频质量总体表现非常优异,但总评分从 87 下降至 81 分,这更多是表明新推出的设备相对于其他设备新增了一系列扩展功能。即使不具备散景效果,但它依然是一款能力非凡的肖像摄影和风景摄影设备,其单 LED 闪光灯足够应付社交活动和一般室内用途。

视频拍摄者将欣赏它在富于变化的光照条件下可靠、快速的曝光调整能力以及良好的色彩再现和准确的自动对焦。虽然 S6 Edge 可能缺少一些新颖的“附加功能”,但毫无疑问,它依然是一款备受欢迎的名牌手机。

82
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge
81
DxOMark Mobile
photo
83
DxOMark Mobile
video

优点

  • 在高光和室内环境中噪点水平较低
  • 在高光和室内环境中曝光良好
  • 在高光环境中自动对焦速度快、重复性好、准确度高
  • 在高光和室内环境中细节表现能力极佳

优点

  • 动态范围良好
  • 曝光过渡快速、平滑
  • 自动对焦准确度高、重复性好
  • 在室内和高光环境中色彩再现良好

不足

  • 在高对比度场景中动态范围有限
  • 在低光环境中偶尔自动对焦缓慢
  • 变焦时成像质量欠佳
  • 开闪光灯拍摄的照片曝光不足,呈偏粉色
  • 低光环境中存在亮度噪点

不足

  • 自动对焦追踪能力有限
  • 室内环境中存在色彩渐晕
  • 低光环境中白平衡强烈偏暖色
  • 室内和高光环境中存在防抖伪像(果冻效应、帧偏移以及相邻帧存在清晰度差异)
  • 室内和低光环境中噪点水平略高
  • 在高光环境中摇拍存在抖动效应

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge: Retested with the new DxOMark Mobile protocol

82
DxOMark Mobile

Released in March 2015, the Galaxy S6 Edge was Samsung’s top-end smartphone at the time and one of the best smartphones in the DxOMark Mobile rankings in 2015. With a 16MP BSI CMOS sensor, a faster f/1.9 lens, and an optical image stabilization system, its camera specifications were a clear improvement over its predecessor, the Galaxy S5. The S6 Edge achieved good scores across the board back then. Read on to find out how this 2015 model performs when tested under our new and updated DxOMark Mobile test protocol that takes into account zoom, bokeh, low light down to 1 Lux, and motion in the scene.

Key camera specifications:

  • 1/2.6-inch 16MP BSI CMOS sensor
  • 28mm-equivalent f/1.9 lens
  • Optical Image Stabilization (OIS)
  • Single-LED flash
  • 4K, 2160p@30fps, 1080p@60fp video
  • 5MP 22mm-equivalent f/1.9 front camera
  • 5.1-inch QHD display

Please note that for this article we have retested the Samsung Galaxy Edge S6 with our updated DxOMark Mobile test protocol that includes tests for zoom performance and quality of the bokeh, among other improvements. You can still find our original Samsung Galaxy Edge S6 review from April 2015, here.

Test summary

With a new retested score of 82, the Samsung Galaxy Edge S6 remains one of the highest-rated smartphone cameras tested by DxO. It takes third place in the DxOMark Mobile ranking overall, though that’s still seven points behind the Apple iPhone 7 Plus and nine points behind the two current leaders, the Google Pixel and the HTC U11 (with 90 points apiece).  

Highlights of the Galaxy Edge S6 include a strong performance for both stills and video in bright light, with good detail and low noise and generally good dynamic range. It also has fast, smooth autofocus; reliable exposure and white balance; and efficient video stabilization. It’s less convincing in tricky backlit situations and when light levels tumble, however. As a single-lens camera, the S6 Edge also struggles with zoom and bokeh quality, which is reflected in its new DxOMark Mobile ranking, which is slightly lower than in the original protocol.

Bright light

Images taken in bright light display high levels of detail and generally good dynamic range.

The S6 Edge achieves a Photo sub-score of 81, and images taken in bright light conditions are very good, with generally good exposure, high levels of detail, and pleasingly realistic colors. Dynamic range is limited in high-contrast scenes, even with the Auto HDR feature that combines multiple frames quickly and automatically (with the aim of improving both highlight and shadow detail).

In bright light and well-lit indoor conditions, the S6 Edge renders fine structure details well when handheld and when braced on a tripod. The 100% crops below were captured at 1000 Lux. As you can see results compare relatively well to those of rivals, with images showing good detail and low noise levels, albeit with some slight pink cast from the camera’s choice of white balance.

Samsung Galaxy S6, 1000 Lux, handheld

Google Pixel, 1000 Lux, handheld

Apple iPhone 7 Plus, 1000 Lux, handheld

The S6 Edge has fast and reliable autofocus with minimal delay that allows quick acquisition of your subject; however, the optical performance could be stronger. Images show some loss of sharpness in the periphery, occasional lens flare, some geometrical distortion, and slight haloing from moving subjects when shooting in multi-frame HDR mode.

Low light and Flash

The S6 Edge’s low-light performance is a little mixed, and not surprisingly, is not quite as convincing as that of some of the newer devices. On the one hand, autofocus is noticeably slower and there’s the occasional focusing inaccuracy. On the other, image quality is good, with relatively good detail and texture retention, as well as good noise control even at 100 Lux — which can be attributed to the built-in stabilization, the fast lens, and the camera’s choice of low ISO.

In very low-light conditions, between 1 and 5 Lux, the S5 Edge struggles. Images display severe underexposure as well as a very noticeable loss of detail, desaturated colors, and high levels of noise, particularly luminance noise. Below you can see 100% crops from images that were taken at 5 Lux handheld.

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, 5 Lux, handheld

Google Pixel, 5 Lux, handheld

Apple iPhone 7 Plus, 5 Lux, handheld

When shooting with flash, the S6 Edge achieves good exposure and reduces light fall-off despite given the single LED; however, the camera’s choice of white balance produces a slight pink-colored cast, and detail drops because of the choice of a high ISO.

Video

With a score of 83 points, the S6 Edge achieves a high overall video score on par overall with the Apple iPhone 7 Plus. The camera’s HDR capabilities are impressive and it has low spatial noise; however, our new protocol measures temporal noise and includes stabilization analysis, two areas in which newer devices outshine the S6 Edge.

Even though temporal noise levels are high by comparison with both the Google Pixel and HTC U11, and the introduction of artifacts from stabilization detract from overall performance, the S6 Edge is still capable of delivering high-quality video clips, especially in bright light.

Photo scores explained

The S6 Edge achieves a total photo score of 81. In this section, we look more closely at the image quality sub-scores that combine to make up the final DxOMark Mobile Photo score.

Exposure and Contrast (78)

Some highlight clipping often occurs in high-contrast scenes.

The S6 Edge delivers mostly reliable exposure in most lighting conditions, except at very low light levels, at which images are severely underexposed. Furthermore, in scenes with high contrast, whether  outdoor or indoor, the dynamic range is limited for a smartphone camera with a BSI CMOS sensor.

Shadows often remain underexposed and devoid of detail, and highlights are easily clipped or “blown out”; and in backlit portraits, faces are underexposed and left in shadow. Adopting the HDR option improves this, but not to the extent seen on the best devices. Overall, the images look realistic, but this is a matter of personal taste.

Color (75)

The Galaxy S6 renders pleasant and vibrant colors in most situations.

The S6 Edge renders color well both in bright sunlight and under artificial light sources, looking both pleasant and realistic. However, white balance inaccuracies are common under all the tested lighting conditions, with images repeatedly showing a pink cast.

Under low levels of incandescent light (both tungsten and fluorescent), images display a green cast in the corners with a pink cast in the center (sometimes referred to as color shading or color vignetting).

A slightly yellowish color cast is sometimes noticeable

Autofocus (73)

In bright light the S6 Edge offers fast and generally reliable and accurate autofocus. In dim light, though, the autofocus slows down noticeably. With a score of 73/100 in bright light, it is, perhaps unsurprisingly, some way from the best devices we’ve seen, such as the newer Google Pixel and the HTC U11.

In lower light, at 300 Lux, the Galaxy S6 autofocus slows down noticeably.

Detail (57) and Noise (66)

S6 Edge images show excellent detail and very low noise in bright light and acceptable noise in low-light conditions (20 lux), but images lack detail and have highly visible noise in very low-light conditions down to 5 Lux.

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, 1000 Lux

Google Pixel, 1000 Lux

Apple iPhone 7 Plus, 1000 Lux

The crops below are from test samples that were captured handheld in very low light. As you can see, the Galaxy S6 image shows little detail and high levels of luminance noise

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, 5 Lux, handeld

Google Pixel, 5 Lux, handeld

Apple iPhone 7 Plus, 5 Lux, handeld

Artifacts (65)

While the S6 Edge performs well generally, especially in bright daylight, the faster f/1.9 lens is not without some shortcomings in terms of artifacts. Images exhibit a noticeable loss of sharpness towards the edges of the frame, and there’s both flare and mild distortion to contend with, as well as a slight cyan shift in certain areas of the sky. In high-contrast scenes, images display some slight halos along edges.

Flash (75)

The S6 Edge does well with its single-LED for flash, with good exposure in all but the lowest lighting and minor fall-off at the edges; however, white balance displays the same pink cast evident in other conditions, and detail preservation is low.

Zoom (39)

This parameter is included in the new protocol, and it’s one for which the S6 Edge fails to impress. Images from the S6 Edge display poor resolution at both mid and far distances, as well as high levels of moiré, particularly at mid-distance. In the samples below you can see that the iPhone 7 Plus with its dual-camera can produce a much cleaner and more detailed result than the Galaxy S6, even in very bright light.

Samsung Galaxy S6, 1000 Lux, mid-range

Google Pixel, 1000 Lux, mid-range

Bokeh (15)

As the S6 Edge has extended depth of field and no additional processing features to improve the way the image renders out-of-focus areas, it is not surprising to see a low score here.

Video scores explained

The S6 Edge achieves a total video score of 83. In this section, we look closer at the image quality sub-scores that combine to make up the final DxOMark Mobile Video score.

Exposure and contrast (85)

Video clips recorded with the S6 Edge generally show good exposure in bright lighting conditions, whether indoors or out, and adjustment between changing lighting conditions scenes is smooth and rapid.

The clips also have sufficient dynamic range in most light conditions, at least on par with some of the best and more modern devices on test, such as the Google Pixel, but some exposure inaccuracies in low light conditions bring the score down slightly.

Color (81)

Some video clips show the very slight color shading that is prevalent in stills, and a warm cast is noticeable in low light levels, but the S6 Edge generally performs well. It has good color rendering in bright daylight and indoors, with accurate white balance — albeit with slightly low color saturation overall. The result is generally pleasing and realistic-looking.

Autofocus (77)

When capturing video, autofocus in the S6 Edge is fast, smooth, and stable even under changing light outdoors. However, it’s a long way behind the best devices, such the Google Pixel, and the S6 Edge struggles with tracking changes of scene and stepping is visible between scenes. Autofocus is also a bit slow when light levels drop.

Texture (47) and Noise (70)

Video from the S6 Edge shows good preservation of texture and detail especially in bright light, along with low noise levels. A loss of fine texture and detail along with temporal noise is very noticeable in lower light, but overall, the S6 Edge performs reasonably well in all but the lowest light conditions.

Artifacts (83)

When panning, video clips show a noticeable judder effect and ringing is visible in bright light, but the S6 Edge does very good of handling artifacts overall.

Stabilization (66)

Video stabilization is a slight weakness on the S6 Edge. It works well using a good handheld technique, but it’s far less efficient when there’s much more movement involved, resulting in some jello effect and uneven sharpness over consecutive frames.

Conclusion: Still a solid performer

The Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge performs very well overall for both still image quality and video quality, but the fall in the overall score from 87 to 81 points is more a pointer to the extended capabilities of newer devices than anything else. Even without the bokeh effects, it remains a more-than-capable device for portraits and landscape photography, and the single-LED flash provides good coverage for social events and general indoor use.

Video shooters will appreciate the reliable and rapid exposure adjustment under changing light, along with good color rendering and accurate auto focus. It may lack some of the newer “bells and whistles.” but the S6 Edge is sure to remain a favorite among those in the know.

82
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge
81
DxOMark Mobile
photo
83
DxOMark Mobile
video

Pros

  • Low noise levels in bright light and indoor conditions
  • Good exposure in bright light and indoor conditions
  • Fast, repeatable, and accurate autofocus in bright light
  • Very good levels of detail in bright light and indoor conditions

 Pros

  • Good dynamic range
  • Fast and smooth exposure transition
  • Accurate and repeatable autofocus
  • Good color rendering indoors and in bright light

Cons

  • Limited dynamic range in high-contrast scenes
  • Slow and occasionally autofocus in low light
  • Poor image quality with zoom
  • Underexposed flash images with pinkish cast
  • Luminance noise in low light

Cons

  • Limited autofocus tracking capabilities
  • Color shading in indoor conditions
  • Strong warm white balance cast in low light
  • Stabilization artifacts indoors and in bright light (jello, frame shift, and sharpness differences over consecutive frames)
  • Slightly high noise levels indoors and in low light
  • Judder effect when panning in bright light
  • Jayadev Senapathi Kota

    Haha seriously guys..?

  • Bengt-Åke Varg

    This is a very funny review….two year old phone??! Relevant review? Why make the effort? Just to prove an 2 year old mobile camera is worse than new ones or just to be able to say that samsung 2 year old cameras is worse than new ones? I am really struggeling to understand why u choose s6 instead of s8 or the obvious choice of the note 8…is it budget reasons or that samsung havent provided u guys with a free phone?

    • Kevin Shroff

      They have already reviewed those phones, and despite the S6’s age, it actually performed really well and was barely behind the recent flagships. It is a relevant review because customers may be upgrading from/to the S6 and may want to compare their previous/next device’s score to the S6.

  • Nir Shiloni

    Great review! Way to go for walking the distance and make the effort reviewing such a great device which hasn’t aged yet.

    Keep up the good work!
    Nir

    • Kevin Shroff

      Agreed