三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 评测: 高端配置成就顶级性能

99
DxOMark Mobile

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 是韩国厂商的 Galaxy S 高端智能手机系列的最新机型,它配备了与 Galaxy Note 8 相似的双摄像头设置,其主摄像头还配备了一个可变光圈镜头,可在昏暗的环境中使用更大的f/1.5光圈来捕捉最大限度的光线。在较亮的光线下,它会切换到较小的f/2.4光圈值,以获得最佳细节和清晰度。S9 Plus 在副摄像头上添加了2倍光学变焦,并在这一混合中添加了超慢动作视频模式,为当今智能手机成像提供了最全面的功能组合。请阅读我们的完整报告,以了解该摄像头在我们的DxOMark Mobile评测中的表现。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 具有f/1.5 / f/2.4可变光圈镜头,1/2.55英寸传感器的1200万像素主摄像头
  • 具有f/2.4光圈镜头,1/3.6英寸传感器的1200万像素副摄像头
  • 主副摄像头皆配有光学防抖
  • 主摄像头配有双像素相位检测自动对焦
  • LED闪光灯
  • 4K、60 fps 视频
  • 720p、960 fps 超慢动作视频模式

关于DxOMark Mobile测试和评分:DxOMark工程师在受控的实验室环境和室内和户外的自然场景中拍摄并评鉴超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus的DxOMark总体得分为99分,在我们的手机排名中名列榜首,以1分险胜谷歌 Pixel 2。S9 Plus配备了一个没有明显弱点的摄像头,并且在所有照片和视频测试类别中都表现出色。它的照片成绩(104分)是迄今为止我们所见过的最优异的。S9 Plus的视频得分为91分,比照片成绩稍低,但仍然是表现最佳的机型之一,因此它是希望获得最佳静态图像却又不愿意牺牲视频质量的手机用户的理想选择。

高光

Galaxy S9 在所有条件下都能展现明亮的色彩与极少的噪点。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 摄像头在良好的光线和阳光充足的条件下可以拍出色彩鲜艳生动、曝光良好而且动感范围很高的出色效果。它在降噪和细节保留之间也取得了很好的平衡。它的精细细节水平并不是最高的,但还是能很好地呈现精细的纹理,其图像噪点管理也非常出色,蓝天和其他素色区域仅出现了非常少的颗粒。它的自动对焦不是我们测试过的手机中最快的,但它的速度足够快,不会对任何用户构成问题。尽管我们在测试过程中拍摄的数百张样本照片中偶尔有几个失焦图像,但它的性能还是相当可靠,通常可以产生可重复的结果。

S9 Plus的摄像头没有任何严重的弱点,但如果真的要批评的话,那就是伪像的问题:它的高光图像的高对比度边缘出现了紫色边纹和非常明显振铃晕轮。角落的清晰度也比中心稍低,而且我们还在高光下看到了一些轻微的蓝色或粉红色色偏,但这些都是相当小的问题。总的来说,S9 Plus在高光下的表现非常出色。

低光和闪光灯

这款三星手机在较昏暗的条件下的表现同样令人印象深刻。不出所料,当摄像头必须增加光敏性和/或使用多帧堆叠技术来适应较低的光照水平时,其精细细节也会减少,但是S9 Plus在所有照明水平下都可以保持噪点和细节之间的绝佳平衡。在极低光下,它的曝光表现也很好,只有在我们最暗的1勒克斯测试场景中可以观察到轻微的曝光不足,但这与大多数三星的直接竞争机型的表现相当。在低光条件下也可观察到一些轻微的色彩晕影,但这仅在我们的摄影棚测试图中最明显,除此之外,我们在任何真实拍摄中都很难察觉这一问题。

Galaxy S9 Plus在低光条件下的曝光表现相当出色:它的色彩鲜艳,白平衡正确,噪点低,纹理表现也不错。

当光线太低而不得不借助于照明来拍摄时,Galaxy S9 Plus的LED闪光灯也许是在紧急情况下相当实用的选择。利用闪光灯拍出的图像展现了良好的曝光度,其细节/噪点的折衷也与未使用闪光灯拍摄的图像相同。其自动白平衡系统也能产生相当准确的结果,而拍摄人像时使用闪光灯的唯一缺点就是摄像头经常产生红眼效应。

使用闪光灯拍摄的照片的曝光良好,但可以看到红眼效应。

变焦和散景

Galaxy S9 Plus搭载了与我们的变焦类别目前的冠军机型相似的双摄像头设置,与Galaxy Note 8的表现旗鼓相当,因此不出我们所料,新机型在拉近镜头时能够取得优异的变焦效果。在变焦达4倍时,S9 Plus的分辨率和细节表现仍然相当令人印象深刻,而且其变焦图像显然比直接竞争机型更清晰。

在下面的比较中,您可以看到S9 Plus在4倍变焦倍数下可以实现更好的细节,伪像和噪点水平比苹果 iPhone X更低。谷歌 Pixel 2的单镜头摄像头的表现出色,但没有专用的远摄镜头,因此无法与三星和苹果机型相提并论。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 4倍变焦
苹果 iPhone X 4倍变焦
谷歌 Pixel 2 4倍变焦

Galaxy S9 Plus的双摄像头也产生了不错的“散景模拟”图像。其模糊效果同时延伸到场景后方和前景中,并且模糊力度和渐变层次都创造出相当宜人的效果。拍摄对象的隔离也很好,但仔细观察时,可发现前景的拍摄对象周围可能会出现一些轻微的分离伪像,并且动态范围在散景模式中比在标准拍摄模式下要小了些。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 散景模式
苹果 iPhone X 散景模式
谷歌 Pixel 2 散景模式

照片评分说明

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus的总体照片得分为104分,在我们的测试中拿下了静态图像的最高分数。我们在不同的照明条件下测试手机在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试子项目评分并计算总成绩。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每项图像质量的评分。

曝光与对比度 (91)

三星 Galaxy S9 Pus 的摄像头在所有光照条件下,甚至在非常微弱的光线下都可以对拍摄对象提供良好的曝光度。它可以在需要时启用高效的自动HDR系统,因此其动态范围的表现非常出色。在曝光方面,S9 Plus 的唯一不足之处就是拍摄同一场景的一系列图像时会产生轻微的曝光不一致的现象。S9 Plus 拿下了91分,在这个类别中取得了很好的成绩,但上述的曝光不一致是它无法完全比得上谷歌 Pixel 2 (95分)的主要原因。

您可以在下面的示例中比较 Galaxy S9 Plus, iPhone X 和谷歌 Pixel 2的动态范围。三星S9 Plus达到了最宽广的动态范围,尤其在画面的高光位尤为明显,其高光位保留了很多细节。但是在某些场景中,其效果可能非常强烈,因此看起来不太自然,但这仅是个人偏好的问题罢了。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus
苹果 iPhone X
谷歌 Pixel 2

Galaxy S9 很擅长处理高对比度场景,如下面的逆光人像照片所示。它的摄像头奋力在前景景物的曝光度和在明亮背景里的丰富细节保留之间取得了非常好的平衡。

此逆光照片中的拍摄对象的曝光度非常好。在明亮背景和较暗的前景中保留了很多细节。

下面是在1勒克斯的极低光下拍摄的测试图。这些光线条件下,Galaxy S9 Plus 图像稍微曝光不足,但仍然非常可用,其表现与最直接的竞争机型一致。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 极低光(1勒克斯)测试图的曝光效果。

色彩 (81)

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 摄像头通常在所有拍摄条件下均可呈现不错的色彩。它的自动白平衡系统偶尔会在户外场景中产生一些明显的轻微粉色或蓝色色偏。在下面的比较中,三台摄像头的色彩响应都非常相似,其差异主要在于曝光不一致。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus
苹果 iPhone X
谷歌 Pixel 2

色彩晕影对于S9 Plus来说几乎不成问题,只有在一些低光下拍摄的照片中才变得明显,比如右下方我们在摄影棚的20勒克斯钨丝光下拍摄的图表。即使在仔细检查下,高光照片中也没有明显的色彩晕影,如左图的户外场景所示。

高光照片中也没有明显的色彩晕影。
在摄影棚20勒克斯钨丝灯下拍摄的照片中可观察到轻微的色彩晕影(中心为粉红色,画面边缘则变成了绿色)。

自动对焦 (91)

S9 Plus的自动对焦系统并不是我们测试过最快的,但其表现很接近最杰出的机型,而且也产生了非常可重复的结果,不过,我们在所有光照条件下的样本照片中发现了偶尔失焦的现象。下面的图表显示S9 Plus在低光(20勒克斯)下的自动对焦性能。在两次重新对焦之间使用较短和较长的延迟时,其锐度水平和对焦时间都非常一致。

我们在每次拍摄之间进行散焦后再请求对焦,结果显示:S9 Plus在低光(20勒克斯)下的响应极快,其平均延迟大约为320毫秒。

纹理 (67)

纹理和噪点密切相关,因此我们必须同时考虑两个测试标准。我们可以说,三星摄像头工程师已为 S9 Plus 找到了细节保留和降噪之间的极好折衷方案,一般来说,其细节表现不错,但仔细观察时,可以发现一些更精细的纹理显然被降噪处理抹去了,或变得模糊了。不过,在高光和低光条件下,它的噪点水平相当低,而且整体的折衷效果非常好。

三星在细节和降噪之间的折衷非常出色。
裁剪图

在下面的1000勒克斯比较剪裁图像中,我们可以看到三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 捕捉到非常好的细节,但落后于卓然领先的谷歌 Pixel 2。

1000勒克斯下三星 Galaxy S9的裁剪图
1000勒克斯下苹果 iPhone X的裁剪图
1000勒克斯下谷歌 Pixel 2的裁剪图

在20勒克斯的低光水平下,S9 Plus所拍的的照片是这次比较中最清晰的,而且细节和细腻的纹理水平也比谷歌 Pixel 2高了些。

20勒克斯下三星 Galaxy S9的裁剪图
20勒克斯下苹果 iPhone X的裁剪图
20勒克斯下谷歌 Pixel 2的裁剪图

噪点 (79)

在噪点方面,三星 Galaxy S9 Plus拿下了79分,是迄今为止我们测试过的所有手机中最高的分数。如下面的样本照片所示,在1000勒克斯的高光下,S9 Plus 的图像明显比苹果和谷歌手机更洁净、更光滑。S9 Plus在所有光照水平下均保有其噪点方面的优势,并且底行的5勒克斯图像竟然几乎没有噪点,考虑这是在如此昏暗的条件下拍摄的,其表现令人印象深刻。苹果和谷歌所拍摄的图像显然有更多的颗粒。美中不足的是,三星极端的色度降噪可能抹去了一些精细的色彩细节。

1000勒克斯下三星 Galaxy S9的裁剪图
1000勒克斯下苹果 iPhone X的裁剪图
1000勒克斯下谷歌 Pixel 2的裁剪图
5勒克斯下三星 Galaxy S9的裁剪图
5勒克斯下苹果 iPhone X的裁剪图
5勒克斯下谷歌 Pixel 2的裁剪图

伪像 (62)

Galaxy S9 Plus的图像伪像的情况不糟,但它在伪像类别中的表现是本测试中最薄弱的一环。其高对比度边缘附近出现了几近饱和的紫色边纹,而且放大到100%视图时,振铃晕轮也非常明显。图像角落看起来也有点不清晰,而且有晕影耀斑。然而后两者都是相当小的缺陷,而且在这个类别中的表现没有明显比其他手机差。

在仔细检查下,高对比度边缘的彩色边纹和一些振铃效应相当明显。
裁剪图

闪光灯 (86)

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 摄像头能够在闪光灯下拍出很好的图像,具有良好的细节/噪点折衷、良好的曝光度以及通常不错的白平衡。使用闪光灯拍摄一系列图像时,每帧之间的曝光差异很明显,而在5勒克斯的微弱钨丝灯光下与闪光灯照明相结合时,可以察觉到轻微的色偏。红眼效应时而出现,但总的来说,S9 Plus使用LED闪光灯进行拍摄时的表现非常出色。

没有任何额外光源的闪光灯照片。
5勒克斯钨丝灯照明下的闪光灯照片。

变焦 (65)

三星 Galaxy Note 8 是目前在我们的变焦类别中表现最佳的智能手机,而且S9 Plus的表现比其较大的同级手机相当。新的三星手机在最高4倍放大倍数以下可以实现令人印象深刻的变焦分辨率,因此它是经常使用智能手机摄像头的变焦功能的用户的绝佳选择。其唯一的缺点是,在较高的变焦比例下连续拍摄时,照片之间的细节会出现微小的差异。

如下面的样本图像所示,与高端竞争机型苹果 iPhone X和谷歌 Pixel 2相比,三星 S9 Plus的变焦图像相当出色。在我们的比较中,S9 Plus的图像显然是最清晰的,其细节也是最丰富的。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 在1000勒克斯照明下使用中距变焦拍摄的图像剪裁。
iPhone X在1000勒克斯照明下使用中距变焦拍摄的图像剪裁。
谷歌 Pixel 2在1000勒克斯照明下使用中距变焦拍摄的图像剪裁。

下面的远距(约6倍变焦系数)实景拍摄的结果非常相似。三星搭载了类似于iPhone X的双摄像头设置,但仍然难以从场景中挤出更多细节。Pixel 2无法凭借其单镜头摄像头与其他两个机型竞争。

三星 Galaxy S9 的远距变焦。
苹果 iPhone X 的远距变焦。
谷歌 Pixel 2 的远距变焦。

散景 (50)

Galaxy S9 Plus在散景或人像模式下能够很好地拍出模拟“数码单反相机外观”的图像。与其他竞争机型不同的是,S9 Plus的人像模式图像呈现了相当漂亮的模糊,其平滑的渐变层次也延伸到场景的前景中。美中不足的是,位于前景的拍摄对象的更精细元素的周围经常可看到一些分离伪像,而且在室内低光下会损失很多细节。如果点击完整版本,您可以在下面的示例中发现上述缺点非常显而易见。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 散景模式
苹果 iPhone X 散景模式
谷歌 Pixel 2 散景模式

在高光条件下使用该模式时,细节显然更好,但仍有一些分离伪像,如下图中的拍摄对象的手部附近。

散景模式可以产生宜人的模糊效果,但某些分离伪像通常很明显,例如这张图片中的拍摄对象的手部周围。

视频评分说明

在视频方面,三星 Galaxy S9 Plus拿下了91分,成为了我们测试过的最佳录像智能手机之一。整体视频分数是根据视频下的每个评测项目的分数计算出来的,它可以让我们了解该手机拍摄运动图像时的优点和不足。视频评测项目包括:曝光(83)、色彩(88)、自动对焦(87)、纹理(50)、噪点(74)、伪像(80)、光学防抖(86)。

与静态照片不同的是,S9 Plus并不是视频类别的第一名,但仍然获得了非常好的成绩。它具有鲜艳生动的色彩,其色彩表现是所有测试过的手机视频模式中最出色的;它的拍摄对象的曝光度很好,在光线条件发生变化时可以快速收敛;并且自动对焦系统在所有情况下都可以可靠快速地对焦。测试人员也很欣赏它的防抖;此外,如同静态照片一样,高效的降噪功能是该摄像头的强项之一。

美中不足的是,其录像片段中的细节比不上表现最好的机型,并且经常可观察到振铃和摩尔效应。我们还注意到,在变化的光照水平下收敛曝光时,它偶尔会出现曝光步进的问题,而在录制过程中带着摄像头行走时,防抖系统也不能完全消除所有的运动和晃动。

结论:三星树立绝佳榜样

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus 是一款在摄像头部分没有任何弱点的智能手机。在静态照片和视频模式下,它的表现都很出色,在所有光线和拍摄环境中都能始终如一地拍出出色的照片和视频质量,从而拿下了迄今为止DxOMark Mobile评测的最高分数。再加上S9 Plus具有最好的智能手机变焦镜头和强大的散景模拟模式,因此它是任何重视照片质量的智能手机用户不容错过的机型。三星凭着Galaxy S9 Plus,在2018年树立了绝佳榜样。其他厂商是否会争相效仿?且让我们拭目以待!

99
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
104
DxOMark Mobile
photo
91
DxOMark Mobile
video

优点

  • 噪点在所有条件下都得到了很好的控制
  • 在户外和室内条件下都拍出了相当好的细节
  • 相当快速准确的自动对焦
  • 在大多数情况下都能够呈现鲜艳生动的色彩
  • 变焦至4倍放大倍率时,仍有出色的分辨率

优点

  • 色彩鲜艳而生动
  • 一般而言,拍摄对象的曝光度不错,曝光转换的速度也很快
  • 稳定快速的自动对焦
  • 所有条件下的降噪效果都很不错
  • 不错的防抖

不足

  • 偶尔有曝光不稳定的现象
  • 明显的振铃效应,彩色边纹景深内的清晰度降低
  • 偶尔会出现可察觉的轻微色偏

不足

  • 曝光收敛时,偶尔可以看见曝光步进
  • 在大多数情况下都损失了精细的细节
  • 明显的整体运动残影
  • 非常强烈的振铃和摩尔效应
We are hiring!

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus review: Premium specs, top-end performance

99
DxOMark Mobile

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus is the latest model in the Korean manufacturer’s Galaxy S line of high-end smartphones. It comes with a similar dual-camera setup as the Galaxy Note 8, but adds a variable-aperture lens on the main camera. In dim conditions, the camera uses a very fast f/1.5 aperture to maximize light capture. In brighter light, it switches to a slower f/2.4 aperture value for optimized detail and sharpness. Add a 2x optical zoom on the secondary camera and a super-slow-motion video mode into the mix, and the S9+ offers one of the most comprehensive smartphone imaging feature sets available today. Read our full report to find out how the camera performed in our DxOMark Mobile test.

Key camera specifications:

  • 12Mp main camera with 1/2.55″ sensor and f/1.5 / f/2.4 variable aperture lens
  • 12Mp secondary camera with 1/3.6″ sensor, 2x tele and f/2.4 aperture lens
  • OIS for both lenses
  • Dual-pixel PDAF on main camera
  • LED flash
  • 4K video at 60fps
  • 720p super-slow-motion video at 960 fps

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

With an overall DxOMark score of 99 points, the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus takes the number one spot in our Mobile ranking, edging out the Google Pixel 2 by just one point. The S9 Plus comes with a camera that hasn’t got any obvious weaknesses and performs very well across all photo and video test categories. The Photo score of 104 points is the best we’ve seen so far. At 91 points the video score is a little lower but still among the best, making the new Samsung an ideal choice for any mobile users who want the best possible still image quality without compromising on video.

Bright light

Galaxy S9 images show bright colors and low levels of noise in all conditions.

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus camera produces excellent results in good light and sunny conditions. Colors are bright and vivid and exposures are good, with a very wide dynamic range. Samsung has also struck a very good balance between noise reduction and retention of detail. The levels of fine detail are not up with the very best, but fine textures are still rendered nicely and image noise management is outstanding, with very limited grain in blue skies and other areas of plain color. The autofocus isn’t the very fastest we have tested, but it’s more than fast enough not to be an issue for any user. It is also reliable and generally produces repeatable results, although we did find the occasional out-of-focus image among the hundreds of sample images captured during our testing.

The S9 Plus camera does not have any serious weaknesses, but if there is one point to criticize, it’s artifacts. Bright-light images show purple fringing on high-contrast edges and pretty noticeable ringing halos. The corners are also a little softer than the center, and we have seen some slight blue or pink color casts in bright light. These are fairly minor issues, however, and overall, the Galaxy S9 Plus is an excellent bright-light performer.

Low light and Flash

The Samsung’s performance in dimmer conditions is equally impressive. As you’d expect, there is a reduction in fine detail as the camera has to increase sensitivity and/or use multi-frame stacking technology to adapt to lower light levels, but the S9 Plus keeps an excellent balance between noise and detail across all light levels. Exposure is also good down to very low light. Only at our very darkest 1 Lux test scene is a slight underexposure noticeable, but that’s no different than for most of the Samsung’s direct competitors. Some minor color shading also becomes visible in low-light shots, but it’s most noticeable in our studio test chart shots and very difficult to detect in any real-life shots.

The Galaxy S9 Plus records nice exposures with vivid color, accurate white balance, low noise, and good texture in low-light conditions.

When the light is too low to shoot without any illumination, the Galaxy S9 Plus’s LED flash can be a useful emergency option. Flash images show good exposure and the same good detail/noise trade-off as non-flash images. The auto white balance system also produces fairly accurate results, and the only real drawback of using the flash in portraits is the camera’s tendency to produce a red-eye effect.

Flash exposure is good, but a red-eye effect can be visible.

Zoom and Bokeh

With a similar dual-camera setup as our current leader in the zoom category, the S9 Plus’s stablemate Galaxy Note 8, it’s no surprise that the new model is capable of achieving excellent results when zooming in. Resolution and detail are quite impressive up to a 4x zoom factor. In addition, the Samsung’s zoom images are noticeably cleaner than those of the direct competitors.

In the comparison below, you can see that the S9 Plus achieves better detail, with fewer artifacts and lower levels of noise at a 4x zoom factor, than the Apple iPhone X. The Google Pixel 2 performs admirably for a single-lens camera, but without a dedicated tele-lens, it cannot compete with the Samsung and Apple models.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus 4x zoom
Apple iPhone X 4x zoom
Google Pixel 2 4x zoom

Thanks to the dual-camera setup, the Galaxy S9 Plus also produces nice “bokeh-simulation” images. Blur extends not only to the back of a scene but also to the foreground, and both blur strength and transitions create a pleasant look. Subject isolation is good as well, but under closer inspection, some minor segmentation artifacts tend to be visible around the foreground subject, and dynamic range is a little more limited in bokeh mode than in standard shooting mode.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus bokeh mode
Apple iPhone X bokeh mode
Google Pixel 2 bokeh mode

Photo scores explained

With a total photo score of 104, the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus achieves the highest score for still images in our testing yet. The overall Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (91)

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Pus camera delivers good target exposure in all light conditions, down to very low light. Thanks to an efficient Auto HDR system kicking in when needed, dynamic range is very good as well. The Samsung’s only only downside in terms of exposure are slight exposure variances when taking a series of images of the same scene. At 91 points, the Galaxy S9 Plus achieves an excellent score in this category, but the aforementioned variances are the main reason it does not quite match the Google Pixel 2’s 95 points.

You can see a dynamic range comparison among the Galaxy S9 Plus, the iPhone X, and the Google Pixel 2 in the samples below. The Samsung achieves the widest dynamic range — especially noticeable in the highlight areas of the frame, where a lot of detail is preserved. In some scenes the effect can be very strong, however, resulting in a slightly unnatural look. This, however, is pretty much a question of personal preference.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Apple iPhone X
Google Pixel 2

The Galaxy S9 Plus deals very well with difficult high-contrast scenes, such as the backlit window shot below. The camera manages to strike a very good balance between exposing the foreground well and maintaining a good amount of detail in the brighter background.

Target exposure in this backlit window is very good. A lot of detail is maintained in the bright background and the foreground.

The test chart shot below was captured at an extremely low light level of 1 Lux. The Galaxy S9 Plus image is slightly underexposed, but is still very much usable and in line with most direct competitors for these light conditions.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus extreme low-light (1 Lux) test chart exposure.

Color (81)

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus camera generally delivers good color in all shooting conditions. Some points are deducted for occasionally visible slight pink or blue color casts in outdoor scenes, caused by the auto white balance system. The color responses of the three cameras in our comparison below are fairly similar, and the differences are mainly due to variance in exposure.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
Apple iPhone X
Google Pixel 2

Color shading is pretty much a non-issue on the Samsung and is noticeable only in some low-light shots, such as our 20 Lux tungsten studio chart capture below on the right. Even under close inspection, no color shading is evident in bright-light shots, such as the outdoor scene on the left.

No color shading is noticeable in bright-light shots.
Slight color shading (pink at the center, green at the edges of the frame) is visible in this studio shot captured under 20 Lux tungsten light.

Autofocus (91)

The Galaxy S9 Plus autofocus system is not the very fastest we have tested, but close to the best, and also produces very repeatable results. That said, we did find the occasional out-of-focus image in our samples in all light conditions. The chart below shows the Samsung’s autofocus performance in low light (20 Lux). Both the level of acutance and the focusing time are very consistent for short and longer delays between refocusing.

Defocusing between each shot and then requesting focus, the Galaxy S9 Plus was quick to respond in low light (20 Lux), with the average delay around 320ms.

Texture (67)

Texture and noise are heavily interlinked, which is why it makes sense to look at the two test criteria in conjunction. And it’s fair to say that for the Galaxy S9 Plus, the Samsung camera engineers have found an excellent compromise between detail retention and noise reduction. Detail is generally rendered nicely, but under close inspection, some finer textures are noticeably smeared and blurred by noise reduction. Noise levels are low in bright light and low-light conditions alike, however, and the overall trade-off is very good.

The Samsung’s trade-off between detail and noise reduction is excellent.
Crop

In the 1000 Lux comparison crops below, we can see that the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus captures very good detail but lags very slightly behind the class-leading Google Pixel 2.

Crop of image from Samsung Galaxy S9 at 1000 Lux.
Crop of image from Apple iPhone X at 1000 Lux.
Crop of image from Google Pixel 2 at 1000 Lux.

At a low light level of 20 Lux, the Samsung captures the cleanest picture of the comparison, but levels of detail and fine textures are again a touch higher on the Google device.

Crop of image from Samsung Galaxy S9 at 20 Lux.
Crop of image from Apple iPhone X at 20 Lux.
Crop of image from Google Pixel 2 at 20 Lux.

Noise (79)

At 79 points, the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus achieves the best score for noise of all devices we have tested so far. As you can see in the sample crops below, in bright light at 1000 Lux, the Samsung image is noticeably cleaner and smoother than the Apple and Google counterparts. The S9 Plus maintains its noise advantage across all light levels, and the 5 Lux image in the bottom row is impressively noise-free, considering the dim conditions. Both the iPhone X and the Google Pixel 2 capture noticeably grainier images. On the downside, the Samsung’s aggressive chroma noise reduction can erase some fine color details.

Crop of image from Samsung Galaxy S9 at 1000 Lux.
Crop of image from Apple iPhone X at 1000 Lux.
Crop of image from Google Pixel 2 at 1000 Lux.
Crop of image from Samsung Galaxy S9 at 5 Lux.
Crop of image from Apple iPhone X at 5 Lux.
Crop of image from Google Pixel 2 at 5 Lux.

Artifacts (62)

Image artifacts on the Galaxy S9 Plus are by no means terrible, but the artifacts category is the device’s weakest point in our testing. Purple fringing on high-contrast edges close to saturation and ringing halos are quite noticeable when zooming in to a 100% view. Images also display slight corner softness, vignetting, and flare. The latter two are fairly minor imperfections, however, and not noticeably worse than for other devices in this category.

Fringing on high-contrast edges and some ringing are fairly noticeable under close inspection.
Crop

Flash (86)

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus camera is capable of capturing good flash images, with a good detail/noise trade-off, decent exposure, and generally decent white balance. Slight variance in exposure is noticeable between individual frames when shooting a series of flash images, and slight color casts can be noticeable when mixing flash illumination with low 5 Lux tungsten light. Sometimes a red-eye effect is visible, too, but overall, the Galaxy S9 Plus performs very well when shooting with the LED flash activated.

Flash exposure without any additional light sources.
Flash exposure at 5 Lux tungsten illumination.

Zoom (65)

The Samsung Galaxy Note 8 is our currently best-performing smartphone in the zoom category, and the Galaxy S9 Plus performs pretty much on the same level as its larger stablemate. Zoom resolution is quite impressive up to a 4x magnification factor, making the new Samsung an excellent choice for those who make frequent use of their smartphone camera’s zoom feature. The only negative point is some small variance in terms of detail between shots taken in succession at higher zoom ratios.

As you can see in the sample crops below, the Galaxy S9 Plus zoom images compare very well against the high-end competition from Apple and Google. The S9 Plus image is noticeably the sharpest and most detailed in our comparison.

Crop of Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus image using zoom at mid-range under 1000 Lux lighting.
Crop of iPhone X image using zoom at mid-range under 1000 Lux lighting.
Crop of Google Pixel 2 image using zoom at mid-range under 1000 Lux lighting.

Results are very similar for the long-range (approximately 6x zoom factor) real-life shots below. The Samsung comes with a dual-cam setup similar to that of the iPhone X, but still manages to squeeze visible more detail out of the scene. With its single-lens camera, the Pixel 2 cannot compete with the other two models.

Samsung Galaxy S9 zoom at long range.
iPhone X zoom at long range.
Google Pixel 2 zoom at long range.

Bokeh (50)

In its portrait or bokeh mode, the Galaxy S9 Plus is capable of capturing images that simulate the “DSLR-look” quite well. Unlike some of its competitors, the Samsung’s portrait mode images show pleasant blur with smooth transitions that also extend to the foreground of the scene. On the downside, some segmentation artifacts are often visible around finer elements of the foreground subject, and there is a strong loss of detail in indoor and low-light conditions. The latter is very visible in the sample below if you click through to the full-sized version.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus bokeh mode
Apple iPhone X bokeh mode
Google Pixel 2 bokeh mode

Detail is noticeably better when using the mode in bright-light conditions, but some segmentation artifacts, such as the ones around the hand of our subject below, remain.

Bokeh mode produces pleasant blur, but some segmentation artifacts are usually noticeable — for example, around the hand of our subject in this picture.

Video scores explained

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus achieves a Video score of 91 points, making it one of the best smartphones for videography we have tested. The overall Video score is calculated using a range of sub-scores to give us some indication of the device’s pros and cons for shooting moving images: Exposure (83), Color (88), Autofocus (87), Texture (50), Noise (74), Artifacts (80), and Stabilization (86).

Unlike for stills, the S9 Plus is not the number one for video, but still delivers very good sub-scores all around. Its bright and vivid colors are the best for all devices tested in video mode; target exposure is good, with fast convergence in changing light conditions; and the autofocus system works reliably and swiftly in all situations. Testers also liked the stabilization; and as with stills, efficient noise reduction is one of the camera’s strong points.

On the downside, fine detail in video footage isn’t on the same level as the very best, and ringing and moiré artifacts are often visible. We also noticed occasional stepping during exposure convergence in changing light levels, and the stabilization system isn’t quite capable of eliminating all motion and shaking when walking with the camera while recording.

Conclusion: Samsung sets the pace

The Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus is a smartphone without any real weaknesses in the camera department. In both still and video modes, it performs well across the board, delivering consistently good photo and video image quality in all light and shooting situations, thus earning itself our highest DxOMark Mobile score to date. Add one of the best smartphone zooms and a capable bokeh simulation mode to the mix, and the Galaxy S9 Plus is difficult to ignore for any photo-minded smartphone user. With the Galaxy S9 Plus, Samsung is setting the pace for 2018. We’ll see if the competition can follow suit.

99
DxOMark mobile
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus
104
DxOMark Mobile
photo
91
DxOMark Mobile
video

Pros

  • Noise is very well-controlled in all conditions
  • Fairly good detail in outdoor and indoor shooting conditions
  • Quite fast and accurate autofocus
  • Bright and vivid colors in most situations
  • Excellent resolution when zooming up to 4x magnification

Pros

  • Brights and vivid colors
  • Generally good target exposure and fast exposure transition
  • Stable and fast autofocus
  • Good noise reduction all conditions
  • Good stabilization

Cons

  • Occasional exposure instabilities
  • Noticeable ringing, color fringing, and loss of sharpness in the field
  • Slight color casts occasionally noticeable

Cons

  • Occasional visible stepping during exposure convergence
  • Loss of fine details in most conditions
  • Visible residual global motion
  • Quite strong ringing and moiré
We are hiring!